Reviews for Grand Iceland in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for Grand Iceland
Submitted 08. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
Our rental experience was great using Grand Iceland. The Landrover was clean, fully functional, good tires, and just what we were looking for to compliment our winter trip in Iceland.
rented a vehicle in February 2020
Submitted 02. Oct 2019
Outstanding!
Our Land Rover Defender 110 from Grand Iceland was well maintained and provided us with reliable 4x4 transportation during our trip. Grand Iceland's customer service was exceptional. They were friendly and accommodating providing transport to pick up and drop off the truck.
rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 25. Sep 2019
Outstanding!
The Defender was an amazing vehicle to use in Iceland. It is well capable on almost all the terrain yet fits in the smalls parking spaces of downtown. The bultin wifi was also a game-changer. This feature allowed us to use our google maps and find lots of amazing things we wouldn't have otherwise have seen. When we landed at the airport, I found someone holding a large sign with my name making it easy to get started. Finally, the transfer to the airport was very simple making the close of our trip very relaxing.
rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 08. Sep 2019
Good
My general experience with Grand Iceland it's positive due we had a great trip, the campervan worked perfectly and the mattress was confortable (slept really well). The man that attended us was talkative and funny. He was really nice giving us tips, recommendations, extra blankets and flexibility with the drop off. Even gave us him phone number to be in contact just in case anything happened. I really appreciated it.
As a cons, I'd say I found a little lack of professionalism since the sink and tab were leaking ( talked to another Grand Iceland user and told me his was leaking too ). Also rented one table and two chairs, noticed they were not on the van and had to go back to Reykjavik the day after. I could not make the table stand more than one feet over the ground since looked like the legs did not belong to that table and both chairs were broken and could not use them ( and huge since you want them small to save space in the van ).
Besides that, if they solve those little cons I would recommend this company to other users.
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 24. Aug 2019
Outstanding!
It was perfect for our requirements and had everything we needed on board. The pick up and drop off service from our hotels was fantastic with polite and helpful staff. The whole experience - booking online, collecting & dropping off van - was easy and flawless.
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 29. Aug 2019
Outstanding!
We rented the Ford Focus camper for a 10 days trip around (the amazing) Iceland. It was perfect, no issue at all. It is easy and comfortable to drive, low fuel consumption (6.7 L /100 km for a 2500km trip) and the facilities are very handy (wifi, sink with water, fridge, heater, gas strove). It was our little house for 10 days. Furthermore, Gudmundur Bjarni was very helpful and kind with us. He replied each and every question we had before and during the trip. We strongly recommend it!
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 31. Aug 2019
Outstanding!
The costumer support was great. we had a few minor issues with the car but they ware resolved very rapidly while we ware 300km away from Reykjavik.
If we'll to return to Iceland one day, we'll book a car with Grand Iceland.
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 17. Aug 2019
Good
Van was cosy and great for touring round Iceland
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 01. Aug 2019
We had a number of problems that would make me not want to use Grand Iceland ever again, but I would definitely consider doing the same trip again with another rental company. I thought that it being one of the smaller companies we would get better customer service, but this was not the case. The camper van itself had a nice design with a sink and a cooler and gas stove, all the essentials for cooking meals. However the sink faucet (plastic) was cracked and leaked water all over our belongings each time we used it and then continued a slow leak even when not in use. We drove back to the company on day 1 when we noticed this and they put tape on the faucet (but it still leaked). We get to the campground and find out that our camping card doesn’t work and we don’t have the camping stove anywhere in the van. So we email and his only response is.... try the card again at the next place and buy a stove which he will reimburse us for when we return. The next morning we wake up with a very flat tire! So we call the closest tire repair company and they come fix the flat (25,000 ISK). We stayed on the marked roads and drove responsibly, the mechanic said we had “shit tires” and recommended they be replaced before driving another 7 days around the country. So we called Grand Iceland but he only wanted to replace 2 of the 4 tires and didn’t want to pay the company we were already dealing with. Instead he told us to drive (now on the recently fixed flat) 45 minutes away to a tire shop. While we waited at the tire shop we figured we would go find a stove to buy so we could cook our meals. No stove to be found (we searched each town for the next 5 days and nothing). If you need any camping gear apparently the only place to buy it is in Reykjavík! To sum it up: Leaking sink, shit tires, invalid camping card, and no stove was quite irritating. We figured maybe they will give us a discount when we return the van for all the troubles.... wrong! We had to argue with the owner to at least reimburse us for the flat that we had to fix (about 200 USD). Overall, we still enjoyed our trip, but they never offered a replacement vehicle or came to our aid with any of our troubles. For this reason I would strongly suggest using another company.
rented a vehicle in July 2019
Submitted 01. Aug 2019
Outstanding!
Very good! I'm satisfied.
rented a vehicle in July 2019
Submitted 22. Jul 2019
Excellent
rented a vehicle in July 2019
Submitted 22. Jul 2019
Outstanding!
We had an awesome 15 days round trip with a Ford Transit Connect Camper provided by Grand Iceland.
We were picked up from our hostel near the Airport (last minute changes of our pick up time was no problem) and taken to Reykjavik for handover of the car. The car and its awesome storage system (for table, chairs, dishes, even a little fridge and sink with a water tank was inside) was perfectly explained and we also got some great suggestions for our trip. The car itself was in good condition and everything (car itself, bed linen, dishes, etc) was clean. We had WiFi in our car, which worked quite well.
Further, a heater was installed, which warmed the car quite fast - although we hardly used it, since we weren't cold.
Gravel roads and road gradients were no problem.
Bringing back the car was easy as well and we were even taken back to our hostel.
We would definitely rent a Grand Iceland car again.
rented a vehicle in July 2019
Submitted 15. Jul 2019
Good
The car was quite new and fresh.
Camping equipment was ok, though we got used gasbottles that didn't last long.
Bedlinen ok, though worn (holes). Matress sheet was wet when we first took it out
rented a vehicle in July 2019
Submitted 06. Jul 2019
Excellent
Airport pick up was great, easily saw the lady with my name on the sign. Friendly staff.
The Nissan ran great and had great gas mileage.
rented a vehicle in June 2019
Submitted 23. Feb 2019
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in June 2019
Submitted 26. Jun 2019
Good
Everything we required. The service was excellent!
rented a vehicle in June 2019
Submitted 08. Jul 2019
Outstanding!
Excellent experience; Grang Iceland team was very friendly and helpful.
All has been perfect with the vehicle during the trip. And this kind of journey was really what we need !
rented a vehicle in June 2019
Submitted 20. May 2019
Outstanding!
All was perfect ! Nothing to add.
rented a vehicle in May 2019
Submitted 08. May 2019
Outstanding!
Perfect!! Highly recommended!!!
rented a vehicle in May 2019
Submitted 07. Oct 2018
Outstanding!
I was realy happy to rent car from them. They were profossional and very helpfull.
rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 06. Oct 2018
Good
E verything I​s​ good​ except the​ first​ day.that​ ​GI.​ pick us up.at.the airport too late.​ (Almost 2​ hour​s​ late)​
rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 05. Oct 2018
Outstanding!
We had a really nice experience with Grand Iceland. Communication with them was always quick and fluent, not only by e-mail but also by phone once we were in Iceland. Also we were given a better car (a bit bigger than the one we had booked) and it was really well equipped, very clean and well maintained. The booking process through Northbound was easy and we had zero problems! We had to make a change in our booking and they did it really fast. I would REALLY recommend Northbound and Gran Iceland and I would definitely rent with them again if I ever go back to Iceland.
rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 03. Oct 2018
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 25. Sep 2018
Good
Greetings, sorry we haven’t gotten back to you sooner. We had a great time traveling around your beautiful country. It was so great to be picked up at the airport by Gummi and brought to Reykjavík. He schooled us about the van and we were on our way. Some of our thoughts were about two issues, one was it would be nice to have a booklet or Manuel explaining how things work. We found that the auxiliary battery was very weak, possibly not working. It was always dead just 5 mins right after we turned it on. That included the cooler also and the heater, then everything started flashing. Several days we had very cold nights and mornings. We booked the van because it was advertised as having a heater and cooler, both which didn’t work very well. We called Gummi after our first night, but he said the battery was only a year old. I feel that maybe the whole system just doesn’t work very well. All in all we had a great time, it was wonderful having WiFi during our driving time. We very much appreciated being taken to our hotel at the end of our trip. Except for those two issues everything worked as expected. I do believe when we come back we will go with a larger van. I also wanted to say that we really appreciated that the van was insulated, because we met other people whose vans were not. That was a nice added bonus. Thank you so much for your service. Hope to see you in the future.
Barbara and John
rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 10. Sep 2018
Good
Our experience in Iceland was wonderful: the landscapes, respect and care of nature, access to camping and services ... a luxury.
rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 13. Sep 2018
Excellent
We really enjoyed our journey with the Nissan NV 200. We will book here again!
rented a vehicle in August 2018
Submitted 31. Aug 2018
Outstanding!
We rented a camper van through northbound (from Grand Iceland) and the whole experience was smooth and completely stress free. It seemed competitively priced relative to other options, on arrival a Grand Iceland representative met us at the airport with our names on a sign and drove us to the collection point (despite being early in the morning). The van was clean and as advertised. They provide us with communication options if anything went wrong and stressed that we could call day/night (fortunately we did not have any issues). The staff were friendly and the entire process was really smooth. I'd recommend both Northbound and Grand Iceland and would gladly use both services in the future.
rented a vehicle in August 2018
Submitted 24. Aug 2018
Good
It was not a Nissan NV200, they gave us a Ford transit connect (we would have prefered the new Nissan model). It work pretty well but WI FI, Radio, Fridge didn't work properly.

It was well equipped and they gave us some extra gas for the gas stove. The camper van was confortable and we slept very well.
rented a vehicle in August 2018
Submitted 21. Aug 2018
Outstanding!
It was a great car. Everything went well and the service was excellent
rented a vehicle in August 2018
Submitted 21. Aug 2018
Outstanding!
Our camper was perfect for us.
The bed comfort was amazing.
We loved everything about it. It took getting organized in the beginning but after two or three days we were totally acclimated to our camper van.
rented a vehicle in August 2018
Submitted 15. Aug 2018
Outstanding!
Everything worked smoothly and the car was perfect for our needs (and exactly as described on the website).
rented a vehicle in August 2018
Submitted 12. Aug 2018
Outstanding!
Great experience, great camper, very comfortable also sleeping (3 adults)
rented a vehicle in August 2018
Submitted 05. Aug 2018
Excellent
It was good. The proprietor was very nice but didn't recommend or push Amy upgrades. He also didn't warn us about parking again the wind. My wife got the basic plan and assumed he would make recommendations once we arrived. But we just got our can and went. We weren't warmed about how to park against the wind and the van got wind damage to the doors which were now have to pay for.
rented a vehicle in July 2018
Submitted 09. Aug 2018
Outstanding!
We had an awesome trip to Iceland. We were worried about getting an porosity Car and a trustworthy rental agency. We couldn’t have been happier with our rental and pricing. We also were greeted by a very friendly rep that helped us know area. The Land Rover was great and Iceland is magical. Thank you.
rented a vehicle in July 2018
Submitted 04. Aug 2018
Excellent
The service was excellent. They came to get us at the airport and at the end drove us to Reykjavik. The camper-van was what we expected, but needs some work on the brakes ( shaking). Oveall, a great experience and we would recommended the company to friends .
rented a vehicle in July 2018
Submitted 09. Aug 2018
Fine
The Ford transit was OK, althought the sink was leaking, so we could not really use it...

Grand Iceland office is far from the city center but the guy said he will give us a lift to our hotel when we return. Finally he was not there and other people from Grand Iceland refused and we had to catch a taxi.
rented a vehicle in July 2018
Submitted 14. Jul 2018
Outstanding!
Was very good~
rented a vehicle in July 2018
Submitted 24. Jul 2018
Outstanding!
Thank you so much. We are completely satisfied. Thanks also for letting us keep our luggage at your place. When we come back to Iceland next year, we will definitely keep you in mind when deciding on a camper rental.
rented a vehicle in July 2018
Submitted 08. Aug 2018
Excellent
The Range Rover Evoque is a fab car and ideal for the F roads. It was tight for luggage space for 4 adults but we managed. Grand Iceland was very helpful and very relaxed to hire from - a good experience and I'd certainly use them again.
rented a vehicle in June 2018
Submitted 24. Jun 2018
Outstanding!
Excellent
rented a vehicle in June 2018
Submitted 09. Jul 2018
Outstanding!
It was a great experience. All went well and we had no problems with the car in any way.
rented a vehicle in June 2018
Submitted 26. Jun 2018
Outstanding!
All was excellent! Picked up at airport as planned and returned to guest house near airport. Van heater was great, stove & cooler worked well. Bed was comfortable. Our parked vehicle was hit while in a mall, the incident was looked after by insurance with no issues and you had all information when we returned. Thanks Northbound and Runar for making our Iceland vacation great. Carolyn and Rob (Alberta Canada)
rented a vehicle in June 2018
Submitted 26. Jun 2018
Outstanding!
Great product. Easy check-in. Very knowledgeable. Very friendly. Thanks for a great experience!
rented a vehicle in June 2018
Submitted 27. Jun 2018
Outstanding!
Fair price for 4x4 rental in Iceland!
rented a vehicle in June 2018
Submitted 23. Jun 2018
Excellent
Good driving, any problem with the car. Almost 2400 km wihout any incident.
rented a vehicle in June 2018
Submitted 19. Jun 2018
Outstanding!
Grand Iceland was great. Everything was exactly as previously described. The van worked well and we did not have a problem. The staff was very friendly. Northbound was a good middle platform, I was a bit suspicious, as all reviews are so positive here and nothing bad. But it worked out alright.
rented a vehicle in June 2018
Submitted 17. Jun 2018
Outstanding!
It was easy to do business with Grand Iceland. We booked on line where I was able to compare rentals easily. We were picked up from our Reykjavík hotel and given touring ideas to compliment our touring itinerary. I choose the Ford Transit because it was compact and fully lined with carpet. The vehicle was reliable and easy to handle for someone driving on the other side of the road to normal.
rented a vehicle in June 2018
Submitted 11. Jun 2018
Outstanding!
Grand Iceland was great. The car was really clean and new. You can tell they take care of their vehicles.
rented a vehicle in June 2018
Submitted 21. Aug 2018
Outstanding!
Absolutely flawless. We booked the small Ford Transit and despite the lack of space it worked perfectly for us for the 2 weeks we had. We will definitely come back again.
rented a vehicle in June 2018
Submitted 13. Jun 2018
Outstanding!
We had a wonderful time touring Iceland in the camper van. The van had no issues. The pickup and dropoff was on time. And the people who we dealt with provided great service. This was our 3rd trip to Iceland (1st time with Northbound) and we would definitely go with Northbound again.
rented a vehicle in May 2018