Reviews for Grand Iceland

Grand Iceland picked us up from our Reykjavík accommodation and took us to their office where we quickly filled out the paperwork. We had no issues with the car and we were able to negotiate returning the car to Keflavik airport as we had a very early morning flight at 0730. All in all a good experience.

Janelle

Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2018 and rented a 2017 Land Rover Range Rover

The experience was great! We enjoyed working with Helmir and our rental went flawlessly.

Philip

Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2018 and rented a 2011 Land Rover Defender

Very good fit for us exploring Iceland in the winter. Be advised the heater used at night when the vehicle is off needs to charge either by driving around a few hours (running the engine) or via the solar panels on the roof.

Devin

Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2017 and rented a 2013 Ford Transit Connect Camper

View all cars from this company

Click here

Everything OK. Was wery well.

Wojciech

Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2017 and rented a 2017 Nissan NV200 Camper

We enjoyed a perfect week in our Grand Iceland rental van. It was well equipt, reliable and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and relaxed and nothing was too much of a hassle. I would highly recommend the company to anyone looking for a rental in Iceland and am already looking forward to my return visit and using them again!

John

Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2017 and rented a 2016 Ford Transit Connect Camper

Our Expererience with Grand Iceland was perfect. The car was clean and everything matched with what we expected. It was a pleasure to drive the Ford transit Connect across Iceland.
Confortable to sleep, convenient to cook in, perfect to enjoy iceland's landscapes !
It was always easy to communicate with the Grand Iceland Staff before, during and after our stay. Thanks to Grand Iceland, our trip to Iceland was fantastic. We're hoping to come back in island one day. For sure, we'll book a vehicule at nothbound !

Sébastien

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2017 and rented a 2016 Ford Transit Connect Camper

Free Cancellation & Amendments

This was my 2nd time around Iceland, and after contacting a number of companies I chose NB. Pickup was waiting for us at the airport, easy pickup and they drove the 3 hour drive to Skaftafell when our alternator broke (it's a car, it happens). Van was so comfy, and it was great having a place to sleep no matter where we were on our journey. Highly recommend.

Rena

Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2017 and rented a 2017 Nissan NV200 Camper

Good

Oscar

Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2017 and rented a 2016 Ford Transit Connect Camper

Perfect and flexible service. I couldn't be happier.

Sven

Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2017 and rented a 2017 Land Rover Range Rover

we had an excellent trip in Iceland thanks to Grand Iceland rental services. We didn't get the Nissan NV200 that we'd booked but got a similar car ( ford transit) but there was no built-in GPS and the Wifi wasn't so great ( just enough for navigation purposes). The car was easy to drive and reliable we had no problem at all during our stay in Iceland. The convertible was really comfortable to sleep on and the van is really well equipped with everything you may need on a road trip. We'd definitely rent again from Grand Iceland and recommend this company to anyone touring Iceland.

Romain

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2017 and rented a 2017 Nissan NV200 Camper

Hicimos ruta en Octubre de 2017 con Grand Iceland alquilando una furgoneta nv200 y todo fué genial, la furgoneta estaba muy bien equipada y las personas que trabajan en la empresa nos trataron muy amablemente, recogiendonos en el aeropuerto (pagamos por ello) y dejandonos luego en el centro de la ciudad sin coste alguno. Son una empresa pequeña, seria y que ofrece un buen servicio/precio

JULIA

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2017 and rented a 2017 Nissan NV200 Camper

The van was great, we drove 3500km in 12 days and saw most of the country. The bed was extremely firm, we didn't sleep more than 4 hours at a time, but it was nice to have a fridge and sink. If there was a way to have a bathroom as well that would be great!! It was challenging finding bathrooms because campsites are only open June-August, and most gas stations were either closed or for staff only.

Jenna

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2017 and rented a 2013 Ford Transit Connect Camper

Our camper van was excellent!! Stocked with blankets, pillows and all the cooking utensils we needed. The solar powered heater at night was a life saver! (we traveled in October where it was starting to get pretty chilly at night). The bluetooth was great to listen to music and make handsfree calls from the steering wheel. And we had wifi almost everywhere, even in the middle of nowhere. I would definitely use Northbound again. Had a wonderful time and no issues... except when returning the vehicle no one was at the office so we needed to get a taxi into town.

Amy

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2017 and rented a 2016 Ford Transit Connect Camper

Hello

We are very happy with our experience with Northbound.

We surrounded the island in a van with no problem. The roads were fine.

We didn't have any mishaps.

I recommend this company to rent a vehicle

Cristina

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2017 and rented a 2017 Ford Custom

very good, good price, best service, very well, highly recommended

Rupert

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2017 and rented a 2017 Nissan NV200 Camper

I didnt get rhe car i booked (it didnt have a built in gps or USB port) but otherwise the car yravelled very well. I was given a gps to make up for not having one inbuilt. Grand iceland were great. Would recommend and use them (and northbound) again.

Robyn

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2017 and rented a 2013 Ford Transit Connect Camper

Free Cancellation & Amendments

My trip to Iceland was amazing! Northbound ensured all my bookings were correct and quickly made revisions to the arrangements upon my request. The camper van from Grand Iceland was better than I could have hoped for too. Well equipped, clean, and very spacious. My only complaint in all of this was the fact the weather didn't hold up during my stay in Iceland. Guess I'll be revisiting and using Northbound and Grand Iceland again.

Brice

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2017 and rented a 2017 Ford Custom

We loved the Ford Transit Connect and our experience with Grand Iceland was totally awesome. The first day, Gummi, e-mailed us to say he could pick us up earlier than we expected. This communication was impressive and made our trip easier. Then we got to have a lovely conversation with him about Iceland: Northern lights, Skyr vs. jogurt, age of lava fields, breweries in Iceland, best geothermal spas to go to.

The Ford Transit was totally comfy, cozy, relaxing and safe! It was such a great way to tour Iceland. And also, a pretty economical option because it allowed us to eat our meals, have a car, and have a hotel each night. At the end of the trip, a Grand Iceland representative drove us back to the airport which was way beyond what we had expected. I also felt happy with the low key, clean typography/design of the camper van (as compared to other companies vans) and felt a kind of affection for this vehicle, almost like how sailors feel about their ships...

Lex

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2017 and rented a 2013 Ford Transit Connect Camper

Everything was great! The car we rented was what we expected : clean, fully equipped... The 2 persons we met from Grand Iceland are very nice. They also picked us up to the bus terminal after the check-out. We can only regret there was no spare tire in the car... But we really had an amazing trip!

Hugo

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2017 and rented a 2016 Ford Transit Connect Camper

We rented from Northbound in August and were pleasantly surprised with how well thought out all of the features were in our Ford Transit. The vehicle was great and the service we received far exceeded our expectations, the person we dealt with was very informative and helpful. We found the Ford Transit to be perfect for two people, comfortable even though one of use is over 6 foot tall, clean and very easy to drive. We are already planning a trip back and will rent from Northbound again.

Michael

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2017 and rented a 2016 Ford Transit Connect Camper

Gummi at Grand Iceland was fantastic. Our van was equipped with everything we could possibly need; we were warm and cozy our whole trip and felt well taken care of from start to finish. Cannot recommend enough.

Mandolin

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2017 and rented a 2017 Ford Custom

Ha sido una conducción muy cómoda y con un precio muy bueno respecto a otras compañías. La calefacción de la camper duraba toda la noche, algo muy importante en Islandia, incluso en verano. El trato ha sido excelente.

MARIA TERESA

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2017 and rented a 2017 Ford Custom

After reading about car rentals in Iceland I was a little anxious but our experience couldn't have been better. From the pickup, the camper itself, the communications with Grand Iceland to the return everything was perfect. Picking up the car was easy, fast, and overall a pleasant experience. The owner gave tips, good advice and walked me through the car on how to use everything. I was on my way within 30 minutes! The car itself was in prime condition, everything worked as intended, the camping and sleep gear was complete and working, the WiFi worked everywhere we went and the car was way more comfortable to drive than I thought it would be! The return was as easy as the pickup, I walked around the car with the employee and after inspection he dropped me off back at my hotel. I would highly recommend both Northbound and Grand Iceland for your vacation in Iceland!

Michiel

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2017 and rented a 2016 Ford Transit Connect Camper

Grand Island was the best. Wonderful customer service and the van was super. Everything we could possibly want. Gummi met us at the airport, drove us to the van. He sat with us and explained the rules of the road and gave us pointers on where to go. Gas mileage in this van was very good and kept our cost down. Refrigerator perfect and sleeping was sound.
All in all, a great trip and would rent again from Grand Island. Thank you.

Nancy

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2017 and rented a 2017 Ford Custom

View all cars from this company

Click here

Very great experience with Grand Iceland. Very good welcome from the arrival at the airport at 2am, a pleasant surprise. The vehicle was conform to its description and our expectations. There was no additional cost or surprise. I highly recommend Grand Iceland and I will take again this company for a future trip in Iceland.

LIONEL

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2017 and rented a 2016 Ford Transit Connect Camper

The camper was very comfy but the tyres where very used and we didn't have a spare one to change it and I think that is very important in a country like Iceland where the roads are not the greatest. Very good service apart from this.

Caterina

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2017 and rented a 2016 Ford Transit Connect Camper

We are very happy with the Grand Iceland. The car was in perfect condition. They explained everything, including many tips where to go, which roads to avoid etc.
Pickup/return on time, no issues. Definitively will start with them if looking for car in Iceland again.

Marcin

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2017 and rented a 2017 Nissan NV200 Camper

A very good experience, from picking up the vehicle (actually a Ford) to returning it 10 days later, and everyday in between. Easy to drive, remarkably comfortable bed, good seating area. The camping stove was a bit erratic at times, but we always managed to get it to do what we wanted! The fridge was a great feature, and the in-van wifi system was brilliant. Altogether a great experience - highly recommended. The website was very easy to use, and we were able to pay-for add-ons in advance, which made the whole process simple and transparent.

Peter

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2017 and rented a 2017 Nissan NV200 Camper

Our trip could have been a completely different experience if it was not for grand iceland. We got a really good camper van and had no trouble whatsoever with the vehicle or GI. The owner was available all the time to answer our queries which eased our worries.
We booked the van from 9 Am, but since out flight came at 5 am, he arranged our pick up at 7 AM, and to our surprise the driver was at the airport at about 630.
I would recomment booking from grand Iceand and be worry free from their side.

Ashwin

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2017 and rented a 2017 Ford Custom

Renting from Grand Iceland was one of the best parts of our trip. The whole experience was incredibly easy and I always felt taken care of. Both Dora and Gummi went out of their way to make sure I had all the info I needed, and were so hospitable even in the ride(s) to and from the airport, and also in taking the time to highlight some good places to visit. They answered emails very quickly. I felt truly welcomed. The van itself was in great shape and very easy to drive. Our van had both a refrigerator and sink, which made camping for the entire 14 days easy. It also had a heater that made sleeping on those colder nights enjoyable. It's size was perfect for sleeping two, camping, parking and fuel economy. Really though, the van itself although perfect, pales in comparison to the amazing customer service, attentiveness, and sincere interest that we were happy and taken care of...

Randi

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2017 and rented a 2017 Nissan NV200 Camper