Reviews for Lava Car Rental in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for Lava Car Rental
Submitted 20. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Hey!
Very nice journey Thanks to you.
Even if the car had more than 185 000 km, it was perfect. Economic (Diesel) and very strong.
I would like to tell you that we were very surprised to find someone speaking french at the front desk. It was very interesting for us. The young Lady gave us very good addresses that we tested. When we come back to Iceland, we certainly choose Northbound again. And we will recommend.
Best regards
Patricia
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 13. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Perfect! This Nissan has everything what we needed.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 20. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
LAVA CAR is very good.
The car was fine.
The staff were very friendly and quick to respond.
The prices were good and the reviews were very good.
I recommend LAVA / Northbound.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 21. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
My experience with Northbound has been great, I could compare prices easily and find best deals. The company to which I made my initial booking has to cancel it and I've received lovely support from Northbound to find the best alternative. I would recommend them with no doubt! Thanks :)
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 31. Aug 2020
Excellent
En global la nostra experiència ha estat bona. Vem tenir problema amb tres dels cotxes però finalment es va resoldre i no han tingut cap problema en arreglar-ho. Han estat molt amables sempre i son molt recomanables.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 03. Sep 2020
Outstanding!
I used the services of Northbound by renting from Lava Car Rental for my trip to Iceland.
I strongly recommend their services for the value for money and they are very serious. I rented a dacia duster in very good condition much cheaper than with international companies.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 07. Aug 2020
Excellent
All in all it was good rental. The car worked flawlessly for the entire roundtrip. The only thing stopping me from giving 5.0 in rating was the inspection at pickup. The images that Lava took barely proved it was a Dacia Duster. The small dents we found were impossible to see on them, thus forcing me to take new pictures the day after. Not the biggest task in the world but still left me with some uncertainty why even taking such bad pictures.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 30. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
Car was great and the service really good.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 08. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
We got an excellent car from Lava Car Rental. We had no problems, the car was clean and comfortable. Pick-up at the airport was very quick and at the office they adapted the original contract to the due to Covid changed plans. Next time we'll use Lava Car Rental again.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 03. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Lava Car Rental is a very good place to rent a car at - great to have a transfer from/to airport, pick up and drop off of the car was easy. I do recommend Lava car rental.

Dacia Duster - it is a good car to rent.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 03. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Nice and clean car, just sufficient for 2 adults. Fairly new and did the job very well. Equipped with all the necessities for a 2 week visit. Will definitely return to both Northbound and Lava rental.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 06. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Excellent service for a reasonable price!
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 04. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Nice and helpfull stuff, good car, smart architecture of interior in a car, easy for using, all equipment for camping included, sleeping bags included...
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 30. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
Good experience with this company, very helpfull and friendly. I recommend them.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 04. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
The car was new and comfortable for 4 persons, and ok to visit the interior of Iceland. The price was reasonable.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 28. Jul 2020
Excellent
It's ok. Dacia is a fairly simply car. Nothing of unexpected has gone!
The GPS was not available on the car and has been replaced with an Internet connection device: not so bad.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 07. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 28. Jul 2020
Good
Mixed feelings! Pick-up at the airport was great and friendly, but the pick-up at the rental counter was without a word and the car had 2 30 cm long (known) cracks in the windshield, which despite having stickers on grew further during our rental. We had also requested a non-diesel car but got a diesel car and no notice of this before or at pick-up. Drop-off was hassle-free and friendly.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 27. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
We booked Toyota Rav4 with Lava Car Rental via Northbound, as they seemed to have the best prices and pretty good automatic transmission car selection. The contact with Northbound prior to pick up was very good. They promptly processed our requests for changes in renal package. We dropped wifi and gps in the end (we decided to go with Tirewire as their offer has unlimited data and is cheaper). The rental was for 16 days in July 2020, we ended up with Kia Sportage instead of Toyota in the end. The car perfomed very well. We were very happy with both Northbound and their partner Lava Car Rental.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 23. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
We are satisfied with reception, hold and bring us from the airport and the car himself.
When we wil come back to Iceland we come back to Lava Car Rental.. It was a good experience.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 17. Jul 2020
Good
The service was very good, including picking up and returning the car. The car we got was not in the best shape, but worked fine. However the door broke, so we got a new one with really good service, but this car could also use a small helping hand, so it was in a better shape, fx the lamp inside was hanging, the breaks-lamp was lightening in the display, the heat in the car only worked sometimes and the doors was not in the best shape either. But all in all the car was very fine and worked as it should, and lava provided good service, so we are satisfied. The transporter in general was a very good choice for driving in Iceland, and sleeping in.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 24. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
Both Northbound and Lava Car Rental provided excellent service. Initially I had booked with another (Solstice) through Northbound, but Solstice cancelled last minute and was not responsive at all. Northbound immediately took action, was very kind and really helped in finding a good alternative which was Lava Car Rental. Lava Car Rental was also very good, they were very responsive, always picked up the phone and were very helpful. So both Northbound and Lava Car Rental I would definitely recommend. We loved the Nissan NV200. You can sit comfortable inside, the bed was good. You could charge your phone, there was a working fridge and you could cook. Also sleeping bags, chairs and table were provided and the car drove well. I would definitely recommend booking through Northbound and with Lava Car Rental.
rented a vehicle in June 2020
Submitted 25. Jun 2020
Good
My experience with Lava rental was really good. They were available for all my questions. The car was in good shape
rented a vehicle in June 2020
Submitted 22. Mar 2020
Good
We had a nice trip with a nice car. Because of the bigger wheels we could go olmost everywhere. Comfertable seats and a 6 gear. In the back enough space for two big suitcases.
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 02. Apr 2020
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 13. Mar 2020
Fine
It was a good experience with Lava Car Rental. The service was fine.
The car drives good, but the exterior had a lot of paint damage. It looked like the car was older than 2017, which we ordered. Fortunately no more damage. we like to come again.
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 14. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
If you are going to rent a car in Iceland in March, rent a 4 wd. The Dacia Duster was reasonably priced and reasonably able for the road conditions we encountered, which included about everything. Good little car and a great trip.
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 09. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
The perfect car for the streets in Iceland.
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 08. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
From start to finish Northbound kept us informed. Although the car was not pristine everything was great and having rented spotless almost brand new vehicles you can end up worrying about the tiniest blemish that may occur so it was perfect for us! Thank you!
rented a vehicle in February 2020
Submitted 06. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
Todo fue perfecto
rented a vehicle in February 2020
Submitted 15. Mar 2020
Good
No problem with Lava Car Rental ; except some details : door of the driver damaged by the wind with the previous driver, and not replaced, then it didn't work properly. Wipers very old, we had to change the one in front of the driver.
rented a vehicle in February 2020
Submitted 27. Feb 2020
Outstanding!
Everything went very well with our car, mutch better than I expected
rented a vehicle in February 2020
Submitted 23. Apr 2020
Outstanding!
Our experience was great...
rented a vehicle in February 2020
Submitted 28. Feb 2020
Outstanding!
Good service from Lava, would use them again
rented a vehicle in February 2020
Submitted 28. Feb 2020
Outstanding!
It was very good car for us.We also was in snowstorm first evening when we drive to akureyri. Lava car rental was really good they have good service and they arranges for us transport from airport and to airport.
rented a vehicle in February 2020
Submitted 21. Feb 2020
Outstanding!
Customer service Wes excellent, pickup From airport was seamless, free coffee was delicious and discount card for gas was a surprise, best company ever!!!
rented a vehicle in February 2020
Submitted 19. Feb 2020
Outstanding!
Overall experience from booking till returning the car was very smooth. Lava team was helpful and there was absolutely no issues during return. With my experience I will rate them as one of the best car rental co.
rented a vehicle in February 2020
Submitted 21. Feb 2020
Excellent
Everything went great with Lava rent a car, from checkin to checkout.
The car was in a great condition, although the in built GPS of the car is not great. All the staff was very helpful. Would definitely use it again.
rented a vehicle in February 2020
Submitted 19. Feb 2020
Outstanding!
The car was perfect for our family of four! Lava Car Rental was a easy process and they’re very helpful and understanding!! Thank you soo much for everything!
rented a vehicle in February 2020
Submitted 19. Feb 2020
Outstanding!
Très bonne expérience !
Prise en charge et retour de la voiture très rapides, transferts aéroport-location sans problème.
Je recommande à 100%
rented a vehicle in February 2020
Submitted 03. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
Perfect!
rented a vehicle in February 2020
Submitted 16. Feb 2020
Excellent
I would rent a car again at Lava. Car was as good as new, clean, well priced and driving nicely white Duster. Airport service worked well. Only point of attention was the mail I received a week before arrival with a payment request. That was not agreed on. I had to pay the remaining amount when picking up the car. They just tried and it was no problem when I reacted.
rented a vehicle in February 2020
Submitted 03. Feb 2020
Outstanding!
Perfect.
Good car for Price.
rented a vehicle in January 2020
Submitted 23. Jan 2020
Outstanding!
We rented our car from LavaCar using Northbound as the agent. We had a great experience without facing any problem from start to end. They are taking you from the airport with a shuttle to another place where the car rental companies are located (5 minutes drive). And of course they drive you back when you bring back the car :) The only problem was the guy asked me to check the car if there are any extra problems than written in the paper but the weather was awful. Car was covered with snow and ice and it was night. So I said OK without checking the car properly. But at the end, there was no problem at all. Thank you for the service with great price.
rented a vehicle in January 2020
Submitted 16. Jan 2020
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in January 2020
Submitted 08. Jan 2020
Outstanding!
Great - good condition, new model, perfect for winter driving and smaller roads.
rented a vehicle in January 2020
Submitted 06. Jan 2020
Outstanding!
Very positive, they were friendly, efficient and accommodating.
rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 05. Jan 2020
Outstanding!
The whole experience was a breeze, right from booking online to being picked up and handed the vehicle and finally being dropped off to the airport at the end of it.
The vehicle itself was in excellent condition and the latest model.
Highly recommend the Lava Rental company and Northbound.
rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 07. Jan 2020
Outstanding!
Perfect car to drive through Iceland in december. I trully recomended Dacia Duster and Lava Car Rental.
rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 30. Dec 2019
Good
rented a vehicle in December 2019