Reviews for Magic Car Rental

Excellent. I would say that it would be important to include "luggage assessment" when planning the car. We had requested a 7 seat vehicle with 7 passengers. In order to fit 7 passengers and their luggage we needed a rack which delayed our departure from the company location.

Stacy

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2019 and rented a 2012 Hyundai IX55

Excellent service. Friendly staff. Great intro to driving in Iceland. thx

Michael

Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2019 and rented a 2012 Honda CR-V

We did love traveling all around Iceland with the Suzuki Jimmy. We are also satisfied on the service and kindness of the staff that supported us on everything
Really recommend this car agency

Andrea

Traveled to Iceland in Apr 2019 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Jimny

Overall a very positive experience. We were picked up at the airport and driven to the depot where a customer service rep had everything ready for an expedient process.
The car was a Renault Traffic (which has even bigger boot space than a Vivaro) which was perfect for 7 travelers all with big suitcases.
The car was not brand new anymore but the rental price was by far the lowest we could find in Iceland.
We drove about 1,000km in 5 days and had no issues whatsoever and the car handled beautifully.
I returned the car the night before we flew out instead of early in the morning and was offered a lift back into Keflavik which was greatly appreciated.

Josephus Johannes

Traveled to Iceland in May 2019 and rented a 2013 Opel Vivaro

Thank you so much for the wonderful customer support!

Adam

Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Jimny

The car was great. The rental process was smooth. My only complaint is that we were an hour late getting picked up from the airport.

Kimberly

Traveled to Iceland in Apr 2019 and rented a 2012 Honda CR-V

Free Cancellation & Amendments

Ha estat una experiència formidable, el Dacia Duster 4x4 a cobert les expectatives i a sigut un acert agafar aquest tipus de cotxe per recórrer la illa.

VICTOR

Traveled to Iceland in Apr 2019 and rented a 2015 Dacia Duster

The pick up at the airport was easy, and we had a great time with the Suzuki Jimny. We did all the coasts of Iceland, driving 2-3 hours a day, and we never had any problems with the car (beause of the winter we didn't went on any F-roads)

Louis

Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Jimny

Everything was ok. Service was good and we didn't have any problem with the car, even if it was not new and with many km

Giuseppe

Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a 2015 Dacia Duster

Great doing business with Magic Car Rental. Recommend them highly.

Catherine

Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a 2012 Honda CR-V

Friendly staff, very helpful. Greatly appreciated the Included GPS and WIFI, with early morning airport drop off. Thank you. Would highly recommend.

Allister

Traveled to Iceland in Apr 2019 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Jimny

My friends and I (6 of us total) visited Iceland in the beginning of March this year. Northbound and Magic Car Rental were great. The SUV was just as described with a wifi and GPS device given to us free of charge. Their employees were very accommodating and gave us nice tips before our trip. All of the fees were stated upfront, there were no hidden fees or surprises. Overall a great trip and would book again with Northbound and Magic Car Rental!

Shannon

Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a 2012 Hyundai IX55

Experience with Magic Car was exceptional from a customer service standpoint. They picked me up from the airport, got me my car, and charges were as expected. I did have issues with the car rented. Online I reserved, and was confirmed for, a 2015 Suzuki Jimny. When I arrived they tried to give me a Honda CRV. My option was to take the CRV or wait for an employee to return with a Jimny. After waiting for over an hour, the Jimny arrived and it was a 2007 model with over 180k kms on it. It's up to you if a 2015 Jimny and a 2007 are equal. Overall, the car worked well, had proper winter equipment and rode well. Really enjoyed the rental and trip to Iceland.

Michael

Traveled to Iceland in Jan 2019 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Jimny

We got off to a bad start when we were picked up 90 minutes late at the airport. Other than a quick apology nothing else was offered for our wasted time. I understand the terms for gravel damage, but I still don't think it's fair. Our windshield had two holes from stones and a fairly large crack, but when we took a hit from a rock we still got hit hard, although we had the gravel insurance. It seems like you can get paid several times for damage that leads to one windshield replacement. It also would have been reasonable to give us a warning that we would need to go online and notify someone when we went through a toll tunnel. There is no indication at any point that the tunnel has a toll so we didn't learn about it until we returned the car. It seems like we will be charged extra for not paying in advance (your employee wasn't sure but he thought that was true)...

Marc

Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Jimny

Luis

Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a 2015 Dacia Duster

It was a VERY used car. Doors wouldn’t stay open because the hinges were worn out. The rear wiper was total worn out and did nothing to clear the window. There was a noise that kept happening with breaking. But the car functioned properly the whole time and was reliable for us.

Stephen

Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a 2012 Honda CR-V

Free Cancellation & Amendments

The car was good and ideal for our trip. We were able to fit 6 people and drive the golden circle and the South coast with no issues. One thing is that you need to ring Magic before they come pick you up from the airport - we had thought that since the company had flight details someone would be waiting at the airport. Suggest you call as you leave the plane and then allow 20mins for pickup

Sam

Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a 2012 Hyundai IX55

Magic Car rental was great. Everything went smoothly, I took care of Jimny so was no issue with a deposit. One thing I need to mention Don't ever rent Suzuki Jimny from anybody. It's a awesome off-road car but a pure nightmare on windy road. With no joke, I've driven 500 000 kilometres in my life in dozens of cars. This on the road and wind is something unbelievable bad. Even if you go 40 km/h you have a big problem to keep this car straight on the road. Magic car rentals services I highly recommend, but for your own sake avoid the Suzuki Jimny from any car. It's not for Iceland.

Peter

Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Jimny

Niklas

Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a 2015 Dacia Duster

Brilliant service ! I don’t have anything to complain about and was pretty easy and organised.

Gospodin

Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a 2015 Dacia Duster

The vehicle was clean and in good condition. We were expecting a larger vehicle (we were 6 people + luggage), the description was for 7 people + 4 suitcases, if I am not mistaken, but it could fit only 6 people + 2 suitcases. Which mean we had to leave the kids at the airport for us to go at the office to sign contract (because we could not fit with the guy from Magic). And we had to do the same when we left. Our plane arrived earlier than schedule (almost one hour), so the fact that we had to wait for pickup (no office at the airport) was not the greatest, and the pickup was 45 minutes late (I had to call, no one was at the airport at the time that was agreed). Plus another 45 minutes to go to the office... Staff was really nice.

Virginie

Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a 2012 Hyundai IX55

I booked a Dacia Duster 4x4, which was totally functional.
Having this car allowed me to go anywhere I wanted to go (as long as the road was open) without any complain.
i was surprised that after a very long trip I drove over Iceland, the car spent much less diesel than I expected

Abraham

Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a 2015 Dacia Duster

Small delay at the airport to be collected but otherwise it was a very warm and sociable welcome. The depot was a short drive from the airport. We had booked a Duster but were upgraded to a Hyundai I55 which was well suited to the roads. Their cars appear to be older models (3-5years old) and ours had 200K kms on the clock but their prices were way way cheaper than their competitors. Out of hours returns to the airport incur a transfer fee but since we booked through Northbound this fee was waived. Would recommend.

Joseph

Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a 2015 Dacia Duster

The whole process went well. The car was ideal and just what we needed at a great price. I have only one minor recommendation, a map of where to return the car to would have been useful.

Timothy

Traveled to Iceland in Jan 2019 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Jimny

Good experience with magic cars. The employees were very nice and explained everything clearly. Everything happened smoothly.

AYOUB

Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a 2015 Dacia Duster

Overall it was fine, we expected a cleaner car and with the direction lined up, there were the 2 things to point out. Otherwise they were attentive, helpful and we had no problem.

Andreia

Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a 2012 Hyundai IX55

Suzuki Jimny reviews were good but our car was older than expected. For our next road trip through Iceland we'll definitely go for a better car.
We sent the details of our flight, as requested during the reservation process, but no one was waiting for us at the airport so we had to call and wait for the pick up.

Davide gabriele

Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Jimny

Satisfied with a service. Good car, gps, wi-fi included. Free transfer from airport to car and back. Recommend.

Tatjana

Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a 2015 Dacia Duster

We were very happy with the car rental. Professional service, well maintained vehicle shuttle service to and from the airport. The staff gave a nice overview of road conditions to watch for as well as the chance of high winds letting us know be aware when opening doors etc. We were upgraded from the Suzuki Jimny to a Honda CRV at no extra charge, which was a nice surprise. GPS and 1GB of free wifi in vehicle worked flawlessly. The only thing our vehicle didn’t have was an ice scraper (we mentioned it to the staff and they apologized, all vehicles normally have one) so it was obviously just a mistake. Being from Canada we just used the tried and tested credit card to scrape the window ... been done a 1000 times at home. Overall an excellent experience with Magic and when we return to Iceland we will definitely rent from Magic again.

Darren

Traveled to Iceland in Jan 2019 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Jimny

The car was great, the customer service was outstanding. I’ve hired a lot of cars from a lot of car hire agencies over the years but this was easily the best customer service experience I have ever had. Maciej was fantastic. He collected us from the airport and dropped us off at the end of the trip. When we got stuck in some snow on a quiet road he even arranged for someone to come and tow us out (at no cost). Highly recommend this company to anyone travelling to Iceland who is looking to rent a car. Thanks Maciej!

James

Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a 2015 Dacia Duster