Reviews for Rent A Wreck

Great easy pick up from and too the airport. Car was great and staff were easy to contact throughout holiday. Thanks guys

Molly

Traveled to Iceland in Jan 2018 and rented a 2014 Dacia Duster

Uunfortunately you ha only 5* because I can give for Rent a wreck 10*!!! They were very correct and fair. We felt ourself In Iceland better than home. Many Thanks for everything

Zsolt

Traveled to Iceland in May 2018 and rented a 2015 Dacia Dokker Camper

The experience with the van was really good. I have to say that the van was not well prepared for the winter. So much wind came inside the van.
Also, I reserved a Diesel Van and they gave me a Gasoline one, spending so much money y gas...

Alejandro

Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2018 and rented a 2015 Dacia Dokker Camper

The experience was good. We had no problem on our trip.
To improve, first we had to wait 45 min at the airport before someone came to pick us up. Secondly we get a grand vitara essence when we booked a jimny diesel to don’t spend so much money in gasoil and have a low consummation on the road.
Appart this, it was all good.

RICHARD

Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2018 and rented a 2011 Suzuki Jimny

My general experience with Rent A Wreck was great!

BURLET

Traveled to Iceland in Apr 2018 and rented a 2015 Dacia Dokker Camper

The vehicle was perfect and had everything I needed for winter camping. I can think of several improvements for an even better experience. It would have been nice to have sheets, pillowcases, and a towel for rental. Also, I would have appreciated a 30-min optional introduction on how to best utilize the camper van, like driving tips in Iceland (when the two-lane road becomes a one-lane), quick tips on how to drive / camp in snow, how the heating system works (how long the battery lasts, if it recharges, remember to turn off after done using it for the night), map of winter campsites with amenities (shower, washing machine, etc). Thank you for a wonderful time in Iceland!

Alexandra

Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2018 and rented a 2015 Dacia Dokker Camper

Free Cancellation & Amendments

The beginning was not so good. There was nobody in the arrivalhall at the airport. After a call from me somebody came. The Suzuki Jimmy was not there, because of an accident a few hours before. We got a Hyundai Tucson. Much bigger car, that was fine. The car was dirty and the right frontdoor made much noise (because of a hard windblow before) and the tank was halffull. We did not have to bring the car back cleaned and also not filled up with benzine, because we did not get the car we rented and because we had to wait so long for the car. Next day we found out that the left frontlight did not work and also the two small lamps in front. So we had that fixed in Borganrnes. The bill of that I left by the keys in the car. After calling Rent a Wreck they tolt me so to do and they would deduct it from the rental charge. Afterall the car was a nice one and did fine. So we had a wonderfull time on Iceland !

Els

Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2018 and rented a 2011 Suzuki Jimny

We had an amazing time in Iceland and the car rental went well. The Dacia Dokker is an amazing car, smooth driving and very cozy to sleep in. There would be one thing that could be improved: delivering back the car as there was no one at the office to receive it. In the end they ordered us a taxi via phone and now I'm waiting for the refund for the fair which was quite a lot - 2350.
Otherwise, the car was great and the guys from Rent a Wreck were helpful with suggestions.
We hope to come back again to Iceland and we will for sure use Northbound again.

Maria Cristiana

Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2018 and rented a 2015 Dacia Dokker Camper

Absolutely brilliant service, we were picked up from the airport and taken to the rental office, we were shown where to buy fuel and didn’t need to return on a full tank, the vehicle was clean & in good condition and being a small light 4x4 handled the F roads perfectly. Great service. Thank you

Jonathon

Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2018 and rented a 2014 Dacia Duster

It was perfect the experience with the camper car rented. If we came back to iceland, we would rent again with Rent a Wreck

DIEGO

Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2018 and rented a 2015 Dacia Dokker Camper

This model was not available so we were given another larger car at no extra cost. Picked up from the airport and returned there at the end of our holiday. We would certainly rent a car through you again.

Liz

Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2018 and rented a 2011 Suzuki Jimny

The support answers in a timely manner and was really helpful so that I was met by the guys even despite of the wrong arrival time marked in the voucher.
The guys were kind well-mannered and gave everything I need to know before rent. Thanks a lot!

Pavel

Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2018 and rented a 2012 Suzuki Grand Vitara

Very friendly staff that picked us up from the airport, drove us to location and helped us get our vehicle. Vehicle itself was very clean and also very dependable driving across country.

Joshua

Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2018 and rented a 2014 Dacia Duster

Very good service, nice staff and good car.

Vincent

Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2018 and rented a 2011 Suzuki Jimny

Everything went well, the car was in great condition and kept us warm the whole trip.

Dalnoki

Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2018 and rented a 2015 Dacia Dokker Camper

It was great! Our experience in Iceland was magic, travelling the country with our Dokker Camper. The heating system worked perfectly.

Pol

Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2018 and rented a 2015 Dacia Dokker Camper

Free Cancellation & Amendments

Everything was OK.

OLEKSANDR

Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2018 and rented a 2014 Dacia Duster

They didn't have a car that we have booked, they send representative of Nordic Car Rental at the aeroport instead ( so we were offered Hyundai Tucson for the same price)

Mirjana

Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2018 and rented a 2011 Suzuki Jimny

It was a good experience. We were picked up at the airport and brought by shuttle to their office 5 mins away. Apparently their partner was not able to fulfil their promised vehicle which was a 2012 Suzuki Vitara and we were given a Toyota Rav 4. The vehicle looked old, had a broken glass tail light(light was still working) and did not comfort my wife. I was mainly concerned with the vehicle reliability. It does look older than 2012 but overall it performed as needed and I was happy with it. I would rent from them again.

Sean

Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2018 and rented a 2012 Suzuki Grand Vitara

Very good experience: pickup at the airport, I have been upgraded to a Dacia Duster (the Jimny apparently didn't start), car in good conditions (except the windscreen wiper to be changed!), clear and easy procedure for car return.
Excellent price for the quality and the service. I would recommend Northbound for further rental.

Bernard

Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2018 and rented a 2011 Suzuki Jimny

Really good experience ,whilst we where not met at the airport a quick phone call to the company soon resolved the problem. We touched lucky with the weather and had blue skies and sunshine so the winter tries where not tested. Car was great, and got us around to see a lot of the sites ,great experience and a truly lovely country .

Andy

Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2018 and rented a 2014 Dacia Duster

Very very poor. Even a rating of 1.0 is too high. I've sent them an email explaining the problems I faced. Happy to forward a copy if you want to be aware of the issues. Please provide an email address that I should forward to if so.

Hemanth

Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2018 and rented a 2012 Suzuki Grand Vitara

Sadly we had issues connecting Rent-A-Wreck on the emergency number. We had to call them at our first night because we had a 12h delay and landed in Reykjavik at 2am. Despite the website said they would monitore the flights and would react to delays they send us an email that they can't provide a car before 5 am (opening time). Noone answered on the emergency hotline till 5:30 and we only reached them cause we tried both available numbers (try the one with -2 at the end), the other one seems dead-ended. The same when we departed from Reykjavik. We had an issue with the parking card / arriving parking lot and needed to catch our flight soon, noone was available at the emergeny numbers. It might be questionable if our cases might be considered "real" emergencys, but what if we would have been stuck in snow in the middle of nowhere maybe with engine problems or if we had an accident and needed to call them? This made me feel kinda unsafe...

Florian

Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2018 and rented a 2011 Suzuki Jimny

They we're unable to fulfill my rental, so the company was switched and I was not notified. This created an issue when my flight was delayed and I tried to call the company when I landed.

Charlie

Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2018 and rented a 2011 Suzuki Jimny

My experience with Rent A Wreck was not good. They did not communicate that they would be late picking me up from the airport. I had to call their office three times before, they were honest with me and told me they were on their way to pick me up. They did not have the car I reserved available for the first day. So I had to drive another car and then switch vehicles later that day. They did lower my reservation cost but only after I negotiated with the associate. The car was old and beat up, which I should have expected, but the wiper were terrible and the engine over heated once climbing a mountain. I would not recommend Rent A Wreck to others travelling to Iceland.

David

Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2018 and rented a 2012 Suzuki Grand Vitara

Wow. What an experience! I was in Iceland on assignment as a photographer with little time to make it around the whole island. When I landed in Keflavik a storm was pounding the west coast of Iceland! All the roads to Reykjavík were closed and it would be hours before I could get my car. Northbound set me up with another company based in Keflavik and I had a car in no time! While others were stuck in the airport for hours on end I was headed South towards grand waterfalls, black sand beaches, and quaint towns on hills over the coast! I will always choose Northbound! 5 stars!

-Santino

Santino

Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2018 and rented a 2012 Renault Kangoo Camper

We were left waiting at the airport to be collected for 30minutes. Then we got a different car to what we had booked, there was an issue with the GPS and the staff wasn't really helpful. The fob wasn't working properly either.

Michalina

Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2018 and rented a 2011 Suzuki Jimny

They did not have the vehicle I reserved, but instead "upgraded" us a Tuscon. It still had 4WD and had more space, but I was looking forward to driving the Jimny and the fuel economy that it offered. The car was pretty beat up and the passenger side window didn't really work right and the speedometer was significantly miscalibrated, but I guess you get what you pay for and we definitely didn't need to worry about any dings we might incur. They gave us the car with the gas tank nearly empty, which is a dirty thing for a rental company to do. They definitely made the last guy pay for the gas that they should've put in the tank and I was faced with a tricky game of trying to run it down low enough that I didn't get stiffed with the cost of any extra fuel that may be left behind.

Jerrid

Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2018 and rented a 2011 Suzuki Jimny

Although we booked a Dacia Duster, manual diesel 4x4, we received a susuki vitara automatic petrol 4x4. On receiving the car it had ZERO fuel in it - we feared maybe not even enough to get to the nearest garage. But the car done it's job, comfortable and spacious enough.

Paul

Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2018 and rented a 2014 Dacia Duster

* Received Dacia Duster instead
Car was good. Only minor problems. The rear wiper didn't work well and needs replaced. Also the warning light for the doors being closed is constantly on.
Apart from that, all good

Patrick

Traveled to Iceland in Jan 2018 and rented a 2011 Suzuki Jimny