Reviews for the Best Car Rentals in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for all companies
Submitted 16. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
Hi, our experience with Icerental 4x4 was very good. Thank you
Davide and friends
rented a vehicle in March 2017
Submitted 17. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
Loved the Dacia Duster, it handled perfectly on the icy, snowy roads. The heated seats and GPS were an added bonus.
rented a vehicle in March 2017
Submitted 13. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
Great! Comfortable car. We never had any problem. And we drove it during the winter.

I was looking for the "perfect" car and also with the rental office located very close to the airport. I did not like the companies that were AT the airport. Northbound was 5mns away. We even got to leave the car at the airport on the way back which made it very convenient as we had to be at the airport by 500 am! Will definitively pick Northbound on our next trip. Also the price was very comparable if not a little bit cheaper.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 16. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
Very good. Quick pickup from the airport for the short ride to the office. No problems with the Subaru and the return was fast and easy.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 13. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
Our experience with Lava Auto was incredible. The Dacia Duster was met our expectations and was as expected in the ad. We love our stay in Iceland and will recommand Lava Auto.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 16. Mar 2017
I have the car for 16 days, and the car is generally fine. One of the staff is very unprofessional in the checkout process. I bought the most experienced insurance package, and the guy warns me that dent, suspension, etc. are not covered. I have rented cars around the world for over 30 years, what's the purpose of buying insurance if none of these things are covered. If they are not, I think it should stated clearly during my online booking, rather than last minute when I am checking out a car and cannot find any other alternative. The car has a faulty flat tire sensor which is on 20 minutes after I drove off the rental location till I return the car. I call the emergency hotline multiple times, no one answered and no one called me back. I was stuck in snow once and called the emergency hotline, no one responded or called me back. I called the downtown office. The agent told me, "I just worked here, please call the emergency line." Luckily, someone drove by and helped me out. I found them unprofessional and unable to help when I needed it. Northbound experience is good, it was fast and easy, but Icerental 4x4 was disappointed. Luckily, I didn't have any other trouble.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 06. Feb 2019
Outstanding!
Fantastic Costumer Service! The camper van was amazing. It had everything you needed for along road trip around Iceland! Warm and Comfortable! Highly Recommended! :)
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 29. Mar 2017
Good
Hi, as it happened we were given a regular, not Grand, Vitara as arranged. Wondering now if some money should have come off the bill? Guys at the office were great, car was fine and was good to have after the giant snow dump on Feb 25-6.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 17. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
Everything was great! The shuttle to and from the airport was convenient. Staff were friendly and helpful. The car was in great condition.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 13. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
Perfect. Simple efficient and issue solving.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 14. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
We received the car we were promised (Toyota RAV4) during the booking. The car was clean, low mileage, no issues. Quite comfortable for 5 adults. Enough space at the back, no transmission bump in the middle, rear seats recline. Picked up and dropped at the airport as promised. Would recommend to others.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 10. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
Very good service, we happened to be collecting the car on Sunday 26th Feb when 50 cm of snow had fallen overnight.
Icerental called and collected us from the hotel, they had dug the Vitara out of the show and warmed it up.
We ventured off and had no issues despite the extreme conditions.
All round excellent service and the vehicle was very good even on the icy/snowy roads.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 12. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
We recently rented a Dacia Duster from Lava Auto and had a fantastic experience!! From being picked up from the airport on time, to being guided through how the car worked, we felt that we were truly cared about. We would 100% recommend renting through them. Furthermore, the car was brand new and fully equipped to navigate the Icelandic terrain. Thanks for such a great experience!
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 23. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
Fantastic experience from start to finish. Upon calling on our arrival to Keflavik, my friend and I were promptly picked up from the airport and taken to the Lagoon Car Rental office, where our 4x4 sat waiting with winter tires (+ studs), as requested. The paperwork was quickly taken care of, and we were given ample opportunity to inspect the car for prior damage before going on our way. The prices seemed competitive/good for Iceland (the entire country is expensive--be prepared), and we opted for both gravel insurance and general insurance for an additional 24 euros/day. Northbound facilitated the rental procedure online and their website was both user-friendly and very straightforward without surprises. Highly recommend!!
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 16. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
Everyone on staff was very congenial and professional - took care of us even though our plane had a flat and came in late. The vehicle was perfect. Small SUV crossover brand new with great STUDDED winter tires. We were there in February so still winter and did have some icy patches but didn't have any problems.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 13. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
My car rental experience with Lava was perfect. From pickup at the airport to drop off, I had zero issues.

At first I was a little concerned because I'm used to booking with one of the bigger companies like Budget or Thifty but Lava proved to be no different when it comes to the entire process, which is a good thing because the price was great! No pressure during the initial paperwork and the Dacia Duster I rented from them was a great car. I'd definitely rent with Lava again.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 13. Mar 2017
Excellent
No one was waiting to pick us up at the airport,no note or message to explain why. Had to call a couple of times as staff advised they'd be there in 20 mins which turned into 50 mins of waiting. This resulted in us being late for our check in at the hotel and had to pay extra for out of hours check in.

Car quality was okay, we didn't have any problems with that. Car return was quick too.

Also, the car was not renault clio, it was hyundai i20.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 14. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
I would totally recommend Rent A Wreck to rent a car in Iceland. Our car - a 4x4 Dacia Duster - was perfect for 4 people and had no problems, even not on snowy forest roads. A few minutes after our arrival a man from Rent A Wreck brought us to the car. Everything was fine. Thank you!
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 11. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
Very good!
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 17. Mar 2017
Excellent
Good. Contact by telephone was easy, practical and friendly. It was however a bit strange we had to leave the car at the airport, without somebody receiving the keys and checking the car.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 06. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
Icerental 4X4 met us at the airport as promised and following a very short transfer we were soon in our Grand Cherokee. Whilst not new the vehicle had good tyres and ran well.
We were glad to have such a vehicle on the Sunday following the highest snowfall in Iceland since 1931. I would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a good value vehicle.
In fact my daughter is visiting in June and will book with Icerental 4x4
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 13. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
Góð þjónusta allt eins og það átti að vera.

Var að vísu boðin auka trygging up á 15eur pr dag sem mér finnst heldur há.
kannski miskilningur af minni hálfu. vissi ekki að tryggingar af einum bíl væri komnar upp yfir 600,000 isl. á ári.

rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 10. Mar 2017
Good
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 06. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
I can recommend Lava Auto without any doubts. Representative greeted us in airport and gave short ride to the office. Rental process went smoothly, no unneeded questions. We got relatively new SUV with very good winter tires. Also we got discount card for fuel.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 11. Mar 2017
Bad service had to wait at the airport for 2 hours and the rental car had a cracked glass which was very dangerous.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 10. Mar 2017
Good
Very good experience but few things we noted:
The return car lot was quite hard to find
GPS garmin, we totally wasted our time finding our location. Upgrading your GPS to google maps would be excellent idea.
Placquard should be bigger when looking for auto renters at the airport.

Otherwise, all was well
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 10. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
Absolutely perfect. Great communication, really friendly, very professional, brilliant car. Best car rental company i've ever experienced. Highly recommended.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 10. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
It was very good, I enjoyed the car and the service.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 19. Mar 2017
Good
I was booking with AWD car,but when the snow stuck me only the left front tire works. Otherwise, it's quick pickup and return.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 10. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
Icerental 4x4 has a great customer service and we got an all time reliable car!
No problems at all and everything for a great price.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 10. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
Hi

A very good experience, the paperwork was quick and efficient, they collected me from the airport, and delivered me back, and even made me a coffee. The car was a Duster which I drive at home, fitted with studs and performed excellently in the bad weather which made the holiday more interesting and the scenery superb, great holiday helped by Lava, prices I felt were good, I opted for the premium insurance policy, and on reflection because of the bad weather was glad I did, it added to the cost but gave me peace of mind. I will be returning to Iceland and will be using Lava.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 10. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
We've rented a Volvo XC60 which we also got as they are the nationwide dealer for Volvo. :-)
I got to say that everything went very smooth at the rental station. Runar was very friendly and helpful. For my next trip to Iceland I would defiantly go through Northbound again. Not only because of great pricing but also because of support and people that you can trust. Thanks guys! You are great! Roman (Switzerland)
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 06. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
I had a great experience with Northbound and Icerental. The gentleman was not at the airport exit because he had to drive another customer, but when I called he assured me he would be right back (it took him only about 10 minutes to arrive). Very prompt service. The rental spot is just 5-6 minutes down the road. It was very easy to get everything signed and situated. We had rented a Dodge durango, but they did not have one so they upgraded us to a bigger Nissan Patrol with a top basket for our extra bag free of charge. It was a great experience overall and the price was fantastic. Would highly recommend and will definitely rebook with them in the future.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 06. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
A happy customer here for Lava Auto in Iceland! It took me absolutely so. very. long. to sort through all the reviews from the plethora of car rentals available at Keflavik airport (thanks northbound.is for reviews as well as trip advisor) and obtain a semblance of satisfaction for making the right choice. But, my gut feel proved right and we couldn't be more pleased with our experience with Lava!! We arrived back home just a few days ago. The staff were friendly, communicative, very informative, and genuinely wanted for us to have a great trip. I feel like we had a more intimate experience due to the company being small and unique. The Dacia Duster we rented was almost brand new and we formed a special bond together, haha. I should say to take note of their hours of operation. Although I said we were arriving at 5am, didn't arrive until six which wasn't specifically communicated to us. I read somewhere that they open at 6am and the driver was at the airport with a sign promptly at 6am, which worked out perfectly for us after spending eons in the Duty Free store, but i wanted to give the heads up for those who may be wondering where the driver is at 5:30am or so. Overall, I would definitely rent from this company again, but ask for clarification for when the pick up would be. The drop of at the airport was swift with great conversation! Also, booking the rental through northbound.is was easy and seamless. We actually found a better rate there than the actual Lava website. Win!
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 09. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
I booked through Northbound for my four-day trip in Iceland and I'm really glad I ended up with Lava, because they have exceptional service and amazing hospitality! Hands down best car rental experience I've ever had, all the employees are very personable and the owner was extremely helpful in orienting me with the country, especially since I was travelling solo. The car was well-maintained and I even got upgraded to an SUV, which was a lot better for driving through the tough weather conditions. I will definitely be renting from you guys again! Thank you so much!
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 13. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
Overall, we had a great experience using Northbound for our vehicle rental during our visit to Iceland. The price was comparably the best we could find while still providing all of the protections and amenities we needed. The rental process with Icerental 4x4 was smooth. They picked us up at the airport and delivered us to their facility in Keflavik, walked us through the checkout process and gave us some excellent driving tips. When we returned the vehicle, the process was just as smooth and we were delivered to the airport without any hassle.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 14. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
Our car rental with Lava car rental through Northbound was absolutely excellent!! We were met at the airport and taken to the office where our suv was waiting all warmed up. The process was simple and smooth. The representative who met us was wonderful and helpful! I have never been so impressed with a car rental agency in my travel life (and I travel a lot) Excellent, excellent !
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 06. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
Good service, no problems with the rental process or the car. The agent was friendly and everything went well.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 06. Mar 2017
Good
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 06. Mar 2017
Good
The staff at Icerental 4x4 are friendly, helpful and prompt with the airport pickups. I hired a Nissan Patrol 2008 model. We traveled quite some distance in the car, with 7 people it was ok albeit a little cramped and we had to use the roof box for 2 items of luggage. The winter tyres were in good condition and we need most days. The only criticism with the car is that the steering head some play in it, which, made driving a little challenging in high winds. Other than that every thing was great and I would use these again. Many thanks to the staff at Icerental 4x4 for a great holiday experience.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 03. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
incredible experience. so easy to deal with, extremely friendly and extremely helpful. spent a week in iceland with my partner and the car was great. had winter tyres on which was brilliant as it was heavy snow while we were there. got picked up and dropped back of at the airport, lovely and personal and didnt have to sit on horrible buses and coaches for transfers. will definitely use these guys again. they were also the cheapest i found for the best vehicle. highly recommend the darcia duster.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 26. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
Good and smooth process.Thank you.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 05. Mar 2017
Excellent
Overall the service was decent. But I would recommend anyone who looking for a car to rent newer models. Iceland roads (especially in winter) can be slippery.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 03. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
Hired a 4x4 from Thrifty for 3days picked up car and was made welcome and everything explained well, our plans changed mid holiday so hired the car for another 3 days everyone was very accommodating and when we gave the car back we were given a lift back to our hotel.
I would throughly recommend Thrifty to friends and family.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 09. Mar 2017
Good
The car was fabulous. But Lagoon was a bit disappointing. They did not have enough people working so when we arrived at 4:30 in the morning we had to wait for over 90 minutes to get a van to the building where we then had to wait for another hour to get our car.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 06. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
Great experience with Lava Auto! Our car was new and very clean. By the time we collected our luggage, we had someone waiting for us to take us to Lava, which was less than a 5 minute drive. Very friendly. We added on the Wifi once we got there with no problem. We returned the car and again, completely professional and friendly service taking us back to the airport. Highly recommend this company!!
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 05. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
Excellent. Great service, car as booked, new clean vehicle. No delay at collection or return and none of the nonsense some of big rental companies go on with.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 06. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
Great service and car. Will rent again in the future if we are going to Iceland.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 13. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
It was so easy to book online,the car Berlingo was a super car for our family of five,so much room in the boot, from the airport terminal shuttle bus to car rental, and staff were very helpful,I have no doubt that I will definitely use this company again
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 08. Mar 2019
Outstanding!
Overall experience was great!! Fantastic customer service and really friendly people. Had an issue due to snow getting into the heating system of the van - no problem at all to change the vehicle at no extra cost and get me back touring asap! Highly recommend these guys!!!
rented a vehicle in February 2017