Reviews for the Best Car Rentals in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for all companies
Submitted 26. Feb 2017
Outstanding!
We had a great experience with IceRental 4x4. Airport pick up was easy, the staff was friendly and 4x4 car took us all of the southern coast easily. We loved it! Their instructions and guidance were very helpful. And when the unfortunate event happened that we got stuck in black since, they quickly dispatched someone to tow us out!
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 20. Feb 2017
Outstanding!
I had a great experience with Lagoon Car Rental. They picked us up from the airport an drove us to the rental office. The car was great and in a quite good condition. It brought us to our destination and back without any trouble. The rental office in Reykjavik was hard to find, but in the end we found it and they drove us back to the hotel.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 17. Feb 2017
Outstanding!
Yes, Brand new car, 4 x 4, studded tyres, Perfect.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 20. Feb 2017
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 21. Feb 2017
Outstanding!
My experience with Northbound was excellent - we ended up with an upgrade to a larger SUV which ended up being a godsend because we had a lot more stuff to haul around the island than we thought.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 03. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
Very professional service renting a Jeep Wrangler in Reykjavik, well prepared car for toughest conditions !
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 17. Feb 2017
Good
The overall experience was good. There were however two minor things that were a bit uncomfortable. First of all, despite the fact that I had requested two baby –seats none was available for the shuttle from the airport to pick-up point and we had to drive with the babies on our laps. Secondly, once we picked up the car we were told that it has to operate constantly on 4X4 for our safety and they were right but it would be good to have known it in advance so as to estimate the respective cost. The car was in a good condition (not perfect) and the personnel were polite.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 17. Feb 2017
Outstanding!
It was very pleasant to hire car from Go Car rental. I was little nervous at morning, will some one come to pick us up as agreed or we will be in trouble. But when i went out from hostel, van was waiting us. Everything was smooth. Car was clean and everything was in working order. What i usually do not like- to stand in line in rental boxes and then walk long distance and search right car. With Go Car rental i didn't experienced such frustrating waiting and walking. So everything as promised!
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 23. Feb 2017
Outstanding!
Had one of the best car rental experiences ever with Lava Auto. We were picked up at the airport and the rental process was smooth and stress free! If you're looking for a place to rent a car from in Iceland, we would 100% recommend Lava Auto!
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 21. Feb 2017
Outstanding!
It was great! The thrifty staff were very accommodating! Would recommend to others.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 18. Feb 2017
Outstanding!
The experience I had with this rental was excellent. I researched online prior to choosing Northbound/Lava rentals and they were by far the best priced option. They arrange to meet you in arrivals then it's a short trip to the branch located just off the airport grounds, on the main road to Reykjavik. The handover was very quick and they are a very laid back company and put a lot of trust you and even asked me to call back in the morning if I did not agree with their assessment on the state of the car as we had arrived in the dark. I was also pleasantly surprised to see that I was upgraded from a duster to a Rav 4. The car was new and in excellent condition.

Returning the car was very easy and the agreement is full to full on the tank which in my view is the best option. Once again there was no quibble on returning the car, simply asked if the car tank was full and if we had a good time. You return the car at the branch and within a few minutes you are dropped off at the airport departures lounge.

I have travelled a lot and hired cars in many countries, And believe me what should always be an easy part of your trip can turn out to be very frustrating, however on this occasion Northbound are exactly what you need in a car rental company, they just made everything very easy for us. I would highly recommend them.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 17. Feb 2017
Outstanding!
Very good experience, car (Duster Dacia) was almost new, well equiped (GPS), comfortable and safe. Pick-up and deposit worked well. Good value for money.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 17. Feb 2017
Outstanding!
The car was great and the price, too. We had a really good time and I can totally recommend the northbound Company. Everyone was friendly and we had no comlications.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 14. Feb 2017
Outstanding!
We had a great experience with Rent a Wreck! The prices were unbeatable and the service was exceptional! Thankfully because they are aware of what time our flights arrived, we called an hour earlier than we originally set up our pickup time and they were actually already arriving at the airport and we got to get our car right then! The car drove well and met all of our expectionals; great experience I would definitely recommend them!
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 14. Feb 2017
Outstanding!
Very good! Very friendly, a little disorganized but it was clear that was because they were very busy, which is understandable. The car and service were both excellent
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 17. Feb 2017
Outstanding!
Friendly staff. Pick up and drop off to the airport promptly.
During my rental period, I have instance at blue lagoon car park when other rental car opened their door, hit my car due to heavy wind, lavaauto handled trouble free to me. Highly recommend. I'll use Lavaauto again next time I visit Iceland.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 17. Feb 2017
Excellent
We had a great experience! As we showed up to pick up our car, we were offered an even better one, because of the weather conditions. The car worked well for our trip along the coast, good for difficult terrain and snow.
As we delivered the car back to Northbound, a very kind employee offered to drive us to the city of Reykjavik and helped us out with storrage of our luggage, as we had a flight later on.

A very good experience, and we would recommend Northbound anytime to others including ourselves renting a car again.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 13. Feb 2017
Excellent
Our experience with northbound was over all very positive. A brand new car (10km on the clock) and a member of staff waiting to greet us off the plane! Everything went very smoothly until it was time to return the car and we couldn't find the office due to lack of signage an the main road. Other than that I would happily recommend this firm.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 07. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
My experience was really great. The vehicle was in wonderful condition, the Go Car Rental employees were incredibly friendly and accommodating, and overall Northbound made our Iceland trip really great!
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 16. Feb 2017
Outstanding!
Everything with our car rental was great.
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 13. Mar 2017
Excellent
rented a vehicle in January 2017
Submitted 13. Feb 2017
Outstanding!
No problems, everything ran smoothly and they were really easy to make changes with. Plus they were the most affordable option.
rented a vehicle in January 2017
Submitted 10. Feb 2017
Outstanding!
so far it is the best. :)
rented a vehicle in January 2017
Submitted 09. Mar 2017
Fine
Originally booked Automatic
The results to the scene change Manual
No way to accept
The front bumper has a small scratch
On-site credit card 600 euros
Afterwards did not tell how to deal with the results
A bit disappointing
thank you very much
rented a vehicle in January 2017
Submitted 11. Feb 2017
Outstanding!
Our experience with Lava Auto was first rate. Friendly and helpful member of staff was waiting for us at the airport and took us straight to the car. Car was immaculate, drove very well with no problems whatsoever. Drop off was easy and we were driven straight back to the airport by another friendly, helpful staff member. Had a great experience and felt comfortable with car and whole service that Lava Auto provided. Would definitely recommend to anybody and use again.
rented a vehicle in January 2017
Submitted 06. Feb 2017
Outstanding!
The car was delivered to our apartment on time and in excellent condition, we chose the vehicle for driving inland on icy roads Runar gave good advice for our journey, and as we were returning the car to the airport , also gave advice on the journey times, he met us promptly and handover was quick and courteous, we would not hesitate to recommend this company.
rented a vehicle in January 2017
Submitted 16. Feb 2017
Excellent
My boyfriend and I loved the car. It was the perfect size and came fully equiped for our needs. We found out late that there was a windshield ice scraper in the car, but we only needed it for one day and borrowed one from our bed and breakfast. I especially liked the winter tires which made us feel more safe. The only thing we found a slight issue if you could even call it that was when we ran out of windshield wiper fluid. We use water back home and had to hunt around a bit to find some. I don't think we would have used all of it if it had been full when we picked up the rental but I just think this should be topped up like the gas before the car is used again. Thank you so much for the experience! We would definitely recommend you to others!
rented a vehicle in January 2017
Submitted 20. Feb 2017
Outstanding!
I have been to Iceland more than a dozen times and my rental from Icerental 4x4 was the easiest, smoothest, best car rental I have had. The car was without problem, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the whole process was ideal. I will definitely use them again and again.
rented a vehicle in January 2017
Submitted 10. Feb 2017
Outstanding!
Good
rented a vehicle in January 2017
Submitted 12. Feb 2017
Excellent
We rent a Toyota Yaris 2016 from Lava Auto. When we drove the car, it was new and great!
rented a vehicle in January 2017
Submitted 10. Feb 2017
Outstanding!
Excellent. Very easy to book.
rented a vehicle in January 2017
Submitted 22. Feb 2017
Outstanding!
this was our first experience in winter in Island and this was more than great because in this winter season , you really need a vehicle to rely on.
The Duster's were great, like brand new ones, with the GPS included , which is by the way very interesting to chase after the hot springs in the country side.
Pick-up upon arrival at the airport by the technicians from LAVA was on time and "gentle" and the drop-off at P1 when returning just close to the departure building is very convenient especially because our flight was very early
Thanks and BR
rented a vehicle in January 2017
Submitted 06. Feb 2017
Good
Generally a pleasant and positive experience for the trip. Picking up the car was a bit slow at the office and in hindsight the rep should have gone over more of the in car features before we left (but we figured out most things on the go). The drop off was for the most part much smoother (although getting in touch with the rep on the Saturday evening as was promised would be no issue) did take some doing. If we were to return to Iceland you would certainly be in the running for our business.
rented a vehicle in January 2017
Submitted 06. Feb 2017
Outstanding!
It was great! We were in and out (both picking up and dropping off) in no time. I was actually surprised how smooth everything went. Thanks!!
rented a vehicle in January 2017
Submitted 10. Feb 2017
Outstanding!
It was a great experience. The car was in really good shape despite the age and definitively suited our needs. We did not have any problem with it and the attention from Northbound personnel was great.
rented a vehicle in January 2017
Submitted 10. Feb 2017
Excellent
It was a very positive experience. Managing the rental was easy and clear and the van was great even in winter conditions, except for the ceiling insulations panels, which started to unglue because of air condensation during cold nights.
rented a vehicle in January 2017
Submitted 03. Feb 2017
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in January 2017
Submitted 03. Feb 2017
Outstanding!
Excellent! Everything about the whole experience was positive and I would not hesitate to use Northbound again. They were truly a pleasure to do business with!
rented a vehicle in January 2017
Submitted 07. Feb 2017
Outstanding!
Keep up the good work!
A wreck is all you need to have a good time in Iceland.
rented a vehicle in January 2017
Submitted 06. Feb 2017
Outstanding!
No hassle at all! Very helpful and available staff, we'll equipped vehicle (studded tires are a lifesaver)
rented a vehicle in January 2017
Submitted 08. Feb 2017
Outstanding!
Efficient airport pickup and return, kind and friendly staff. Good price and great experience
rented a vehicle in January 2017
Submitted 16. Feb 2017
Good
I'd say it was very good overall. Didn't have any issues with the car. Was thankful for their flexibility in the return time as well.
rented a vehicle in January 2017
Submitted 06. Feb 2017
Outstanding!
The best rental car experience I've ever had.

It felt like we were dealing with real people rather than a company trying to screw us over!
rented a vehicle in January 2017
Submitted 03. Feb 2017
Good
Renting a car was super easy. The clerks were not pushy with 'add on' sales or insurances, which is a huge plus. Picking up and dropping off is a cinch.

I was going to do a lot of winter driving so I opted for a 4x4 and chose a Mazda CX-3 because I knew it got upwards of 32MPG. Unfortunately, they didn't' have my reserved vehicle (which happens a lot as I understand it) and I was given a Ford Edge, that even with its eco boost, still only got around 23MPGs or so during my trip. With gas prices being OUTRAGEOUS in Iceland this ended up adding about $40-$50 dollars to my trip.

I think next time I will demand that I get the car I paid for by calling and emailing in advance multiple times.

Other than the car swap issue I would 100% recommend and very likely will do business with again on my next trip.
rented a vehicle in January 2017
Submitted 06. Feb 2017
Good
The experience was quite good, no problems at all with picking up and returning the car and the only problem that we had with the batterie was solved in less than an hour, the guys who attended us where very kind and helpful from the beginning until the end. Thank you for making our time in Iceland happier.
rented a vehicle in January 2017
Submitted 03. Feb 2017
Outstanding!
The guys at Icerental 4x4 were friendly and helpful as were the support team at NorthBound. Best price and very happy with the booking and holiday!
rented a vehicle in January 2017
Submitted 12. Feb 2017
Outstanding!
Great service got picked up from the airport straight away even though we landed early. The dacia duster was great not many miles on the clock. The only problem we found was finding the office to return the car. On a dark Icelandic night we drove past 3 times even though the sat nav took us to the right area. The chap inthe office directed us the last 25m over the phone. Maybe a big sign on the road would help?
rented a vehicle in January 2017
Submitted 26. Apr 2017
Outstanding!
Awesome!! Brand new car!
rented a vehicle in January 2017
Submitted 03. Feb 2017
Outstanding!
We had a stellar rental experience through northbound, who sourced the car through lagoon car rental. Northbound answered my questions quickly (less than 5 minutes!) and were very accommodating. I researched many rental agencies and they were the most competitive for the large SUV that our group of five adults required.
Lagoon was great and provided quick pick up from the airport, even when our flight arrived an hour later than expected.
Our car was perfect; it fit all five of us and our luggage and supplies perfectly. The car was a newer model with all the bells and whistles; the seat warmers were great!

Flawless overall experience!
rented a vehicle in January 2017
Submitted 27. Jun 2017
Outstanding!
We had a great experience with Northbound on our week-long trip to Iceland this January. Our Suzuki was roomy and comfortable on our drives each day as we tried to see as many places as possible. I can't wait to come back to Iceland, and when I do, I'll rent my car again through Northbound. Thanks guys!
rented a vehicle in January 2017