Reviews for the Best Car Rentals in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for all companies
Submitted 23. Jul 2017
Outstanding!
It was a great experience. Although I would have felt more comfortable with a bigger vehicle for some parts of the F-roads.
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 01. Aug 2017
Outstanding!
Everything was OK. The car was good,almost new,the servis was also very good.We were very satisfied and we will recommend it.And Iceland is fantastic.
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 24. Jul 2017
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 23. Jul 2017
Outstanding!
Staff was superfriendly, pickup to and from the airport without any issues. Our jimny was already prepared, take over took just few minutes. Car was clean and without any issues, it allowed us to go through any roads on iceland we wanted, including f roads, fuel consumption was okay, and the tent was perfect, especially in a rain, we didnt have to worry about wet ground.. perfect option when you want to see the iceland, not just race around the ring road with other hundreds of onroad campers only
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 01. Aug 2017
Outstanding!
My experience with Lava Rental was very positiv. The car was in a very good condition and the amenities (cooler, heater,gas stove, readinglights,powerplugin) were very useful. The bed was easy to build up and the sleepingbags were comfy and kept us warm. The car was fuel efficent and easy to drive. The pick up and drop off of the car was quickly done and very uncomplicated. I do recommend Lava Rental, as we were fuöly satisfied with the service.
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 15. Jul 2017
Outstanding!
Hi, it was a fantastic experience. Your company treat us very kindly. The van was perfect for two people, only two things you can improve: a tin opener and two curtains to get more privacy. We highly recommend your company.
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 22. Jul 2017
Outstanding!
It was a very good experience! The car and the root tent are perpect in functionality and really clean! We will advise you to our friends!!
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 04. Aug 2017
Outstanding!
Everything was perfect. Except the return but I think I am partially responsable. I mixed Icerental ( who rent 4X4) with Icerental 4X4. May be you should inform people to be vigilant.
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 22. Jul 2017
Outstanding!
After reading ALL the negative comments I didn't even want to rent a car in Iceland. But I researched reviews and went with Northbound web site broker company and rented with Lava car rental. My rate was cheaper through Northbound than it would have been through Lava. Our plane was 6 hours late and I was worried that Lava would not be at the airport to pick us up. We waited maybe 5 minutes and a welcoming young man greeted us with a huge smile making our first few minutes in Iceland a good one. I purchased the gravel protection as we were traveling the Ring road, due to all the reviews. I videoed the car condition inside and out before we took it off the lot. I was worried the entire time about what hassle and charges I would have to deal with when returning the car. NOT one problem with them at all but I did take it slow driving on gravel roads. Only problem was that the SUV I rented had the horn on the side of the steering wheel and I never knew that, I thought the horn was broke. So trying the get sheep off the road without a horn was a pain. Lava was not pushy at all in trying to up sell me anything although I wished they did try to sell me the car internet as we drove for 2 days without any cell service. It was fine but if we had a problem phone connection would have been nice. A great experience with Northbound and Lava. I would rent from them again. Both were great company's. Lava also gave us a discount gas card for Oli's gas stations which came in handy. When getting gas ALL pumps only take debt cards. If you are using a credit card you have to go inside and pay and some stations do not have people working just a pump so I couldn't get gas there. Also I understand every 6 months all cars have to pass inspection so you car will be in working condition. I also like Northbound/Lava as I was able to cancel I think 24 hours before arrival. rate both company's 5 stars out of 5 stars
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 25. Jul 2017
Outstanding!
From pick-up to drop-off, Icerental 4x4 was very professional and accommodating, plus they were the cheapest 4x4 rental I could find with a good reputation. The Suzuki Grand Vitara that we rented for our 2 week tour of Iceland was in really good condition. We rented an older model, a 2010, because it was cheaper and were a bit nervous that it would have issues due to its age. It ran great for the 3500km we put on it, including several F roads. We found that this vehicle was not really suitable for fording most rivers on the F roads, however. So if you are looking for something you can comfortably cross rivers with, go with something with more ground clearance. Icerental was very clear when giving us the vehicle what was covered with the insurance we purchased and what was not. When we returned the vehicle after our 2 week tour, they looked it over quickly and had us on our way to the airport within 10 minutes. No hassle. Overall we are very pleased with Icerental 4x4 and would definitely use them again if we travel to Iceland again. Also, our booking through Northbound was easy and hassle-free. We added a couple extra rental days just before our scheduled arrival in addition to changing our drop-off location and the customer support was excellent. They added the days and charged my credit card accordingly with basically no extra work to be done on my end.
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 01. Sep 2017
Outstanding!
We have rented 2017 Dacia Duster for 17 days. The car was as advertised, about 7000 km on the odometer, to which we have added another 3500. The guy from Icerental4x4 has waited for us in the airport, took us in the van to their office, explained the insurance conditions etc, and that was it. The on-board navigation in the car was not very suitable for Iceland, as it did not know many places we wanted to visit by their name. We had to look up the place on the map, and then set it as destination. When returning the car, the navigation did not even know the address of the Icerental4x4 office :-). We had no problems when returning the car either - the guy from Icerental4x4 just quickly overlooked the car, and took us in the van to the airport.
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 20. Jul 2017
Outstanding!
I was impressed with the service Northbound provided for my family. I was a bit skeptical at first since the prices are much lower than the competitors. My experience was amazing, we were not expecting to be picked up at the airport and given many tips and even got a discount card where I would get free cofffee at Ollie gas station. Service overall was very professional, I would highly recommend your agency to friends and family. Thank you so much for making part of our experience in Iceland amazing.
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 23. Jul 2017
Outstanding!
The car was excellent and so the service. I appeared at 9.00 in the morning, no other people, so the whole procedure was very quick and straightforward. Thank you very much for the wonderful service. I definitely will recommend your company to our colleagues. I personally will use your company in the future again! Thank you. Pavel, Bulgaria
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 26. Jul 2017
Outstanding!
Our experience with Northbound was really good. The guys gave us useful infos and were uncomplicated and very kind. The Jimny with roof tend was given us in perfekt conditions and after 12 days on the Ring Road, some F-Roads and the roads of the Westfjords we would choose another time Northbound and the sweet/small Jimny.
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 28. Jul 2017
Nous avons eu la mauvaises surprises d avoir des pannes elctriques intermittentes. Pendant les 15 jours de notre voyage, nous avons eu une matinée sans essui glaces, une journée sans pouvoir ouvrir les fenètres, une autre sans clignotants, une soirée sans feu de route. Tout se remettait en fonction au bout de quelques heures, c est pour ça que nous n avons pas eu besion d'appeler l'assistance. Heureusement pour nous la fin de notre voyage s est bien passé. Attention !!! au controle technique de vos véhicules
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 24. Jul 2017
Excellent
Easy online rental. There was no correspondence during the 6 months between reserving the vehicle and the day of the reservation, however Northbound showed up at our hotel on-time and everything was as outlined in the reservation. The drop off and pick up of the rental at our hotel was very convenient. I would rent from Northbound again.
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 22. Jul 2017
Outstanding!
Our Troop of 27 people rented (3) 9 passenger vans from Thrifty via Northbound. Thrifty was great and the vans were as expected. The true hero in our story is Rúnar of Northbound. I was tasked with the effort of pricing this out, to see if it made sense for our troop to pursue. During my search on the internet of various rental companies, Northbound kept coming up with the best prices. The Customer Service while making this decision was top notch and you’d expect it to drop off once the vehicles were booked, but that’s not the case with Northbound. Rúnar and I had a 3 month, long distance e-mail relationship in which he answered every question, dispensed advice, (do check out his pamphlet “Iceland 101”) and remembered our need for cargo space, which in the ninth hour was able to switch our reservation to a different set of vans that provided that space, offered a discount, and came with a higher tier of insurance. Even after I messed up and forgot that when we arrived in Iceland a new day would have had begun and I booked the vans for the date we departed, he was on top of refunding a day’s rental. When my family of 4 decides to return to Iceland, Northbound and Rúnar will be our first contact. Be well, Cheers Nicholas Leary BSA - Assistant Scoutmaster Troop 610 Pelham, NH USA
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 15. Jul 2017
Outstanding!
Lava Auto provided a wonderful experience. All their staff were very friendly and helpful. We received a Toyota Rav4, which was an upgrade from what we had anticipated. The Rav4 was in very good condition and fit our needs perfectly. I would certainly recommend Lava Auto to friends and family travelling to Iceland.
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 25. Jul 2017
Good
General experience with the Thrifty Car Rental is overall pretty good. We had only problem at the beginning of our journey as I didn't know that the car could be payed only via credit card. Very luckily, my two companions had credit cards with 75% of the needed amount of money. The guy at the desk was very helpful as he divided the payment to separate checks so that we could pay 75% of the price using two credit cards and for the rest I was allowed with paying by my debit card. Regarding the car, it was rather new and suitable for 3 persons and lot of luggage. The only downside was that the provided Ford Focus didn't have an automatic cruise control (tempomat) which should be recommended for the Ring road (as there is mostly limit of 90 km/h). Other than that, we are happy that we were provided with the 2015 (fairly new) Ford Focus and we were satisfied with the help of the guy at the desk. If the rating 5 means the best and 1 the worst, I'll rate the service with the 4.
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 01. Aug 2017
Outstanding!
Excellent. Staff very nice and available. Picked us up at the airport and drove us back very helpful.
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 26. Jul 2017
Outstanding!
I rented a sleeper van with Go Campers for a week in July to circumnavigate Iceland. It was a great decision. The vehicle was clean, low mileage, easy to operate (automatic) and got really good gas mileage. We probably ended up spending about $200 on gas for the journey. The van was equipped with basic cooking utensils and the gas burner did a fine job cooking our food. The mattress pads were comfortable enough and the sleeping bags did a great job keeping us warm. There is a small heater in the back of the van which was a life-saver as it did get cold in the evening. The curtains did not totally block the light so we were glad to have brought eye masks to sleep with. The GPS was not useful on the Ring Road - but was in town. Probably would not rent a GPS again.
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 31. Jul 2017
1. The guy who got to pick us up from the airport was 45 minutes late, did not call us though they had my phone number. 2. The Jimny they gave us was very old, broke down after just one day. If you would have to buy such a wreck of a car, the price would be cheaper than the lease for 2 weeks. Fortunately we were still in the Reykjavik area, they brought us a replacement within short time. 3. The replacement car was an even older big car (Nissan Xtrail), very high fuel consumption, never thoroughly cleaned inside - with one exception: the passenger seat was still wet with a brush cleaner or some other acid detergent. My wife got some severe skin inflamnation at her thighs after 2 hrs drive. We covered the seat with a plastic back and a blanket to move on. We probably could have taken legal action for physical injury. 4. Fortunately the Nissan was technically ok and brought us, sometimes over very rough roads, back to Keflavik. 5. One postive point: Friendly people, like almost everybody in Iceland. 6. 1.0 is still a very friendly rating.
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 17. Jul 2017
Outstanding!
I had a very good rental experience with Icerental and Northbound. When I arrived all the staff were extremely friendly and the car was in excellent condition. I had absolutely no issues during the week and the return process was super easy as well. Qudos!
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 15. Jul 2017
Excellent
The experience was good. Due to the high number of arrivals in Reykjavik we didn't connect with the representative immediately but when we did the rest was easy.
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 16. Jul 2017
Outstanding!
First off, I recommend Lava wholeheartedly. It is a young, family-run company that works hard to provide excellent service. I signed up for a manual transmission but at the last minute we realized that my traveling companion, who was to help drive, had never driven manual. Fortunately, Lava had a car with automatic transmission available, and we made the switch quickly and effortlessly. I am glad this involved an upgrade to a small SUV because we drove non-stop, and were comfortable all the way. One other thing: by mistake, I took the keys to the first car to our destination an hour away. Lava was very nice about it, even going so far as to drive to where we were to retrieve the keys so we did not have to go back.
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 21. Jul 2017
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 21. Jul 2017
Good
I have felt disappointed with some aspects of the rental. First, I asked to pay in euros, in order to avoid my bank commissions. I could not, because of the data phone settings, I was told. Secondly, I had to return earlier than I had hired, so I sent an e-mail to communicate this, and I asked, if it were possible, for some money refund. I had no answer for this e-mail sent on my second day of rent. I tried again two days later, and  I had answer: early returns were always allowed, nevertheless, there will be  no money refund. Finally, when I had dropped off the car, since I was been taken to the airport, I was informed that, because of a damage on the windshield, I will be charged with 100 euros, self risk concept. I told that I had all the insurances hired, and I had paid one day extra. I was informed that, because of this extra day paid, I will not be charged with this 100 euros. When I was just landing on my country, I received a message from my bank account. I had a charge of 50 euros. I have had no email from STAR RENTAL to communicate this charge. From my point of view, I must been  informed with any charge on my credit card. ´ I recognize that some of the issues I mention are, in part, my  own mistakes. But I would appreciate some nice gesture. Apart from this, everything was OK
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 09. Aug 2017
Hi there! Well, all seemed go OK at first, but... the car broke down the third day! It was a bit old and got hot. The company Icerental 4x4 responded reasonably well and provided us a new car four hours after our call (we were 200 km away from Reykiavik) , a Dodge Durango a bit old too but it worked correctly the rest of days although it was a bit dirty. _We will rate 1 the first car but 3 the second one.
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 25. Jul 2017
Excellent
The Suzuki was a good vehicle for Iceland, a comfortable ride but still robust enough to handle unpaved roads. One area for improvement - when we arrived at the airport the driver was not there to meet us as expected. We had to call the office to remind them.
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 25. Jul 2017
Outstanding!
The camper was great and perfect for our trip! The camping equipment was very good and handy, the car was easy to drive and even provided an USB-port to charge our phones whilst driving. You only get one stove though, but that wasn't a problem for us since we lent a second one which made cooking much more convenient. Communication with Star Car Rental was very easy and they were super friendly. Would absolutely recommend both Star Car Rental and Northbound!
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 15. Jul 2017
Outstanding!
professional young people, friendly, helpful
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 17. Jul 2017
Outstanding!
It was very good! we had a great trip!
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 15. Jul 2017
Outstanding!
The vehicle was great. The guys were great. The only issue is we waited two hours at the airport but it all worked out.
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 16. Jul 2017
Outstanding!
Runar: Our flight was late by 2 hours, but we called Iceland4x4 after landing and they sent a gentleman over who was an excellent representative of their company. Drove us over to their facility and we were quickly on our way in our 2017 I30 Estate. The car was clean and the gas tank topped off. We called the company the night before as we had an early flight and wanted to let them know. Upon arrival at their facility, the attendant was a bit overwhelmed by all the returns and told us to take the car and leave it at the airport. We would definitely recommend Iceland4x4.
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 20. Jul 2017
Outstanding!
Northbound was great - very communicative and quick to respond to questions in the lead up to the trip. Lagoon Car Rental was also very helpful; they had made a mistake with my reservation and didn't have my car available, but were quick to fix the situation - much appreciated.
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 19. Jul 2017
Outstanding!
I had great experience with Stracta Cars agency!..Personnel was very kindly. Service and organization was very professionally. For every recommendation! 5+
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 20. Jul 2017
Outstanding!
Iceland a heaven on earth and travelling with Nissan NV200 was a great experience. People at Lava Auto car rental were so cool and there was no extra charge. I had to change the headlights during the tour but they did refund the money back for it too. Also while returning the car we didn't have to clean the car rather just throw the bigger trash. Highly recommend Lava Auto Car Rental.
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 19. Jul 2017
Outstanding!
good
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 25. Jul 2017
Outstanding!
Pick-up from and to airport worked very well, car was new 2017 model and brought us secure over all F-streets. Only two hints from my side: I would feel better to have a real spare tire on board instead of an tire repair set! Sharp stones may destroy the tire in such a way no reparable by a repair set! The car was bought in CZ therefore the manual was only in czech language, not a problem for me because most of the things in the car are self explanatory but might be a problem for others!
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 18. Jul 2017
Outstanding!
We had a super experience and are very pleased with everything. The sleeping bags could be a bit warmer but that's the only thing that could have been better. We loved the car and the tent-on-the-roof-solution!
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 17. Jul 2017
I would say it was a disaster! It starting with the pick up at the airport which last forever, due to at least 15 car rental on the same morning dixit the driver! But the worst was to come , when I arrived at Lagoon, Pajero 7 seats was not available due to mechanical problems which can happen of course. So the only car available was a land cruiser 5 seats! Reason for renting a 7 seats was that we were 5 adults with luggages and we didn't want to be too tight in the car as we were making a 2500 km trip in 9 days. Due to this issue, after long talking Lagoon gave us a 343 € discount, but with the promise that Pajero when repaired will be delivered either on the same day or the day after to our hotel. And of course Lagoon will let me know what was the progress of the repair. obviously nobody called me, and I called the customer service who told me they sincerely apologise, they understand my disappointment and they will check with the management to grant an additional discount supposed to be in total 55000 Isk which is much higher than 343€! Supposed to be confirmed if accepted by mail which once again never happen! Finally when returning the car, I have to explain once again to somebody else the whole story. And reply was the car was still not repaired and discount granted was high enough to compensate the category difference between Pajero 7 seats and Land Cruiser 5 seats. For your information I was supposed to pay 1836€ including the 15% advance payment for the Pajero 7 seats and I paid for the Landcruiser 1495,4€ it is a nice discount but it will not compensate the fact that customer service was really deficient and during 9 days, 3 passengers ( my daughter, son and father in law ) who were on the backseats were tighten , which spoiled a little bit our trip. Thanks god, Iceland landscapes are extraordinary! I m used to rent car either for my business or for family vacation, and it is the first time I have such a bad service. Best regards H Chambriard
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 18. Jul 2017
Not a good experience with Lagoon Car Rental. Had puncture and found wheel nuts had been put on so tight it was impossible to get them off with the wheel brace supplied with the car. All Lagoon would do is send out a local mechanic to assist who I had to pay 50,000 ISK direct. If the car had been prepared properly I could have changed the wheel my self and would have cost me nothing. Would not recommend to others and will post my views on social media.
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 19. Jul 2017
Outstanding!
My wife and I had a fantastic experience renting a Duster via Northbound from Lava Car Rental. Their customer service is excellent. Our flight got in early our first morning, and sure enough, someone from Lava came and picked us up early! We only waited about 10 minutes! They were extremely thorough in their inspection of our car before we left, and it genuinely felt like they were looking out for us the whole time. We love Lava!
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 23. Jul 2017
Outstanding!
Je suis très satisfaite de mon expérience avec icerental, la voiture était très bien nous n'avons eu aucun problème
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 15. Jul 2017
Outstanding!
Wonderful experience. We got a good car for a good price and we were nicely treated by the personnel of Icerental. We will repeat.
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 17. Jul 2017
Outstanding!
Service was easy and friendly. Runar picked us up at the early hours of the morning, was always available 24/7, and even delivered my belongings that were left in the rental vehicle. Above and beyond expectations.
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 12. Jul 2017
Excellent
Everything went well. The SUV we had druid break down at our hotel, but we were immediately given a new vehicle. The customer service was excellent.
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 11. Jul 2017
Outstanding!
Everything was top notch. Highly recommend using this rental company! I'm already thinking of when I can visit Iceland again and I without a doubt will be using Lava Auto.
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 24. Jul 2017
Outstanding!
my experience was excellent, we had very glad that you came and pick up us from hotel, it was so helpful. Car was great, clean, tidy, economical and shipshape. we are glad to choosing you. I will recommend for all my friends, who will visit Iceland. Thank You for reliability.
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 15. Jul 2017
Outstanding!
The car with the rooftent from Icerental 4x4 was excellent. We liked the short trip to Iceland very much.
rented a vehicle in July 2017