Reviews for the Best Car Rentals in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for all companies
Submitted 30. Sep 2016
Good
Go campers were vert nice to deal with, no complaints. The van was really too small and the facilities were very limited, but I guess you get what you pay for! Driving around Iceland was fantastic and we really enjoyed it.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 26. Sep 2016
Good
Everything was fine, but I'm giving 4 stars because the email I received said someone from Gesyir would would meet us at the arrival hall. We waited and no one showed up. We got on the rental car bus and it took us to Gesyir no problem. Wouldn't be a big deal but it was inconvenient to wait for someone to not show up. Would not have minded getting on the bus if that's what the instructions said.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 07. Oct 2016
Good
The car was old and well used but clean and reliable. The only gripe is the price they charge to ferry customers to and from the airport it felt a bit steep.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 26. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
Very good service. We were picked up from our Reykjavik hotel and taken to Lagoon's office. Car was in excellent condition and ran very smoothly during the period of our hire. Upon return to the Keflavik rental office, we were taken by a member of staff to our hotel. Overall, an excellent experience.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 10. Oct 2016
Good
great car in good shape, hotel pickup worked fine, everything was done fast.
Unfortunately, at the agreed return-time was no-one at the office, so we just dropped our keys.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 30. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
Great Service! Good car. Have been picked up by the agent when leaving the gate. Car was in front of the terminal. Effortless paperwork, car in good condition and according to discription. Easy to return. Thumbs up!
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 10. Oct 2016
Excellent
The renting process was nice and uncompilcated, pickup at Airport was also nice. General informations about driving in Iceland were provided. We had to refill the window cleaner, but got paid for it.

The car was ok, it is not very good isolated, e.g. you can feel the wind coming through the window open/close buttons. However, heater at night worked. At all, the car felt a little bit cheap, e.g. the Key. Since we were often leaving camping sites early at the morning it was a little bit disturbing that you have to slam the doors to close them, what was very loud. But I think thats normal for a Dacia and can be expected. However, it did it's job.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 23. Sep 2016
Good
We had a pretty good experience with Northbound. The car ran well and we enjoyed driving the vehicle. Staff was courteous and professional. There was a slight mix up with the reservation address so we were delayed being picked up, but Northbound was responsive and quickly fixed the issue. We felt the prices were fair. I would recommend this agency to a friend and would book with them in the future.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 30. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
We had a great experience! The Susuki Jimny worked perfectly in all conditions. The car felt like it was brand new.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 23. Sep 2016
Good
We hired a Hyundai i20 which was good value. It enabled us to visit Vatnajokull Glacier, which is quite amazing. We also saw waterfalls and scenery which were absolutely memorable. When we returned to Reykiavic we were greatly impressed by the city and thoroughly enjoyed whale-watching. We loved Iceland.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 27. Sep 2016
Fine
Three things made my mind to rate as 3 for thrify service. Firstly , I sent email once to your service northbound which is about how can I pick my care when my airplane is landed, and the answer u replied was someone will wait me in the hall of airport, but no one is here... , after a panic waiting for 20mins, I tried to make a call to thrifty, and got the replied plz taking shuttle bus to thrifty by yourself. That is totally different from what you said in mail and very irresponsible service. Secondly, when the staff gave the car to me, he said I dont need to check the car , since I have had the highest insurance with zero self-deduction on SCDW, anyway it makes me a feeling like how well for the car is is not important to my life on the trip, the only thine staff cares is , hey you dont need to pay for damage of car so we dont need to pay attention to waste time to check car. However how ironic is when i return the car, another staff which may be more responsible or it is a standard SOP, he spend 1 mins to check car, much more than prior staff who turning in car to me. The last thing is at the time I picked my car, I found that two tires do not fit the tire rims. More specifically , the position of tire rims has been moved to a place which is not its origin, there is a gap between tire and tire rims, which may be around 1 centimeter. To be honest, I am lack of ability to judge how fit should tire and tire rim be as normal, I can only say I judged by distinguishing others car of thrifty from mine , and none of them is in a similar situation as mine. It looks unstable and unsafe. Unsurprisingly, the staff responded my query which is "It is totally normal situation and there is no way to change another car to me. In my opinion , I would say Thrifty service on staff, and car maintenance only deserves 3 points , and the rental bills I paid is totally much higher than its level.
PS: the car body is dirty when I picked up anyway.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 27. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
It was absolutly perfect. The company gave us ecery information what we had to know about the car and the driving rules in Iceland.
Well the guy was a little bit late, picking us up, but we learned later, that life not really begins before 10 am, and that time was 8 am on a monday. So no problem.
The previous user of the Suzuki lost the front plate of the car, so we only had the back plate, we were a little bit afraid about that, but the guy at the rental calmed us down, as no police cared about it. Well the was the truth.
The car was OK, it is everything that you expect from a Suzuki.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 27. Sep 2016
Excellent
Well at the end we didnt get the Hyundai Tucson, but a Ford Escape. Its mostly in the same category.
I think a little bit better than the Tucson, in performance. It worked well all week long, make it easier than out other car (Suzuki Vitara) on hilly gravel roads. I can recommend this car to everyone.
There was only one little problem with the car, what we did not realize when we get it, that the windscreen washer tank was empty. We fixed that on our own, but that cost the 5.0 rating
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 16. Jan 2017
Outstanding!
we had a great time with the dacia dokker camper!! it was our home for two weeks and we loved it. it had all the space and storage capacities that we needed, as well as camping equipment, fitted into the car in a very clever and inventive way. we needed less fuel than we had expected, and the car was nice to drive. we were happy to have the heater in the cold and rainy nights (at first, i was a little shocked by the weather coming from european summer with a temperature difference of 15 degrees). paperwork was efficient and the people doing the transfer from and to the airport were very friendly!! thank you ;)
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 06. Oct 2016
Excellent
The crew is very friendly. When returning cars, we call to change our pick up location a day before and the crew is more than helpful to find us for I have really difficulty when pronounce the road name. We are satisfy on the service northbound provided. Just a small suggestion, the car interior and the seats is a little bit dirty, (With white spot on it...) but it's not big problem, we use tissue to wipe out.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 12. Oct 2016
Outstanding!
Guy from northbound picked us up at the airport. Handout was quick and smooth. The car was not brand new, but despite the high mileage, has served us bravely through the week. We travelled over 3,000 km through all possible wilderness of Iceland, and our Toyota has functioned flawlessly all the time.
I would rent the car again by northbound!
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 27. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
It was a very pleasant experience to rent car from Arctic Car Rental through Northbound. The representatives from car rental company were very courteous and proved to be quite flexible in handling my requests. A very special mention for Runar from Northbound - he is extremely patient and responsive while answering queries.

I'd happily recommend Arctic Car rental and Northbound to future Iceland visitors.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 23. Sep 2016
Good
The car, checking and out were fine. My only complaint is about the fact you didn't stated clearly - or I may be blind - that your counter was not in the airport but required taking on a bus. I've wasted 40' waiting at the airport exit.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 03. Oct 2016
Good
I have nothing to say about the company Northbound...

however, I have some criticisms of the company Thrifty ! Thrifty would come to take me to my hostel before 9am and they forgot me!

it is only following several calls they are picked up at 10:45! the time to complete the documents, so I had the car at 11:30 and I lost a morning I paid yet ...

Jean-Yves Petit

PS :they gave me a Peugeot, not a ford, but it does not matter

rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 27. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
Renting with Northbound was great. They and Icerental 4x4 were very responsive and helpful in the lead up to our trip and during. It was the best price we found. All went smoothly!
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 23. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
The process of renting from Icerental was really seamless and hassle free. The friendly representative picked us up from the airport at 1 am and we were promptly handed the car with all the necessary documentation and instructions. The car was what was promised. No surprises there! On our return, it was again very smooth and hassle free and we were promptly dropped at the airport.
I would 100% recommend Icerental to anyone looking to rent a car in Iceland with maximum value for money. Also, I would recommend the highly professional Northbound for anyone looking for a one stop shop for their travel through Iceland.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 26. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
Service was perfect. Collected car in the middle of the night in good condition, no fuss about potential damages when returned in the dark (there were no damages, actually!) or fuel gauge.
Suzuki Jimny was the perfect car for "expeditions" to Askja and Sprengisandur, including river crossings - at medium water level, well understood. Price was ok: 943 EUR for 9 days.
Would recommend the car and the rental service!
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 23. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
Good Day
Great service, friendly staff. We where a little at a loss at the BSI Terminal as we did not know that the car will be dropt off. We did try to call and only got a message in Icelandic that we did not understand. After 15 min. the person did stop in to look for us. Everything went smooth with the car and returning it at Kevaflik airport was a breeze. I highly recommend this company, even it is still in the start up phase. Little startup problems is the norm for anybody that runs a business.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 04. Oct 2016
Outstanding!
We where completely happy and satisfied with this rental experience.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 23. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
Hola: muchas gracias por tu interes. El viaje fue estupendo y el coche se porto bien. El unico problema que tuvimos fue a la entrega del coche. En recibo de entrega ponia ( p3, f3) y p3 como tal no existe y tuvimos que preguntar maa de una hora hasta que conseguimos averiguar donde era el siti correcto. Pero bueno creo que lo solventamos y reconocemos nuesteo deficit con el ingles.
Un saludo y hasta pronto
Jose raul aja
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 28. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
Great overall - service, car and website were well-organised and without problems. Two quick thoughts: While booking, there was no mentioning of unlimited km, which was included as far as I understood. Also, someone was waiting for me at the airport, which I didn't know (I went to the street address of the rental car station with the help of a friend). So maybe include that after conformation of the booking.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 23. Oct 2016
Good
The people from Icerental 4x4 were uncomplicated and gentle. Sadly we had a little problem with the lock of our drivers-door, wich was fixed very experimentally and took much of our first day on Iceland to get fixed. A good thing was that we got a reimbursement of that first day without a big discussion. Another thing you could criticize was the mold on the backside of the mattress, because there was no lath floor to enable the air to circulate under the mattress.

Sadly the cruise control didn't work and there was no auxiliar heating system as was stated online when we did our reservation.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 19. Sep 2016
Good
Cleanliness: Clean, Good
Facility: New and sufficient
Cost: Reasonable
Location: OK
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 20. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
Our experience was excellent! The reservation process was easy, Runar or others at Northbound were readily accessible when we had questions, and our car was waiting for us at Thrifty - all at a great price. So glad we found Northbound!
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 23. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
Ice rental looks like to be a small and professional local car rental. I was picked up at the airport as agreed. They charged my card with the exactly amount my Northbound voucher showed. The car (manual Suzuki Vitara) was clean and new. Everything was so easy. Upon return, a quick look on the car, everything was ok and they took us to our B&B for our last night before flying out. Overall, that was a great experience renting from them. Would strongly recommend Icerental 4x4 to anyone going to Iceland.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 25. Sep 2016
Excellent
We had not any problem . The staff who attended us was very friendly and when we returned the van they took us to our hotel for free . The van was just what we needed for our trip ,comfortable, spacious and value for money .I recommend this company to everyone . Really good experience .
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 27. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
The experience with Arctic was very well! The Suzuki Jimny was working perfectly arround the iceland! Great service! We will recommend it.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 28. Sep 2016
Good
The car we rented performed very well and was delivered to us on time at the airport.
We had very good communication prior to our arrival.
We felt that the rates were reasonable compared to other companies.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 24. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
Icerental 4x4 was great! They didn't have the car we rented when we arrived -- instead they upgraded us to a larger, better car! It handled the few F roads we drove on fine, and felt very dependable (though the brakes were a bit squeaky).
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 19. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
I had a really great experience. I especially enjoyed how someone met me at the airport and walked me straight to the rental car in the parking lot. Quick paperwork and I was already driving. Returning the car was just as easy. I would definitely rent from this place again!
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 19. Sep 2016
Car was given to us with defective windshield wipers which made driving in the rain extremely unsafe. Water was smeared everywhere, the rubber on the wipers was visibly shredded and coming apart. We had to change them out ourselves.
Upon returning the car they would not offer any discount for their gross negligence, the excuse being "well we have a lot of cars here"....you are a rental car company, thats your responsibility.

Would not trust any vehicle coming from this company, as clearly their inspections are a joke. Imagine if that had been the brakes that failed.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 07. Oct 2016
Outstanding!
Star car rental was Top service, i will defenitley recomend it they are helpful and trustworthy. having the insurance covered  included in the price was a plus, not many companies do that. and their service is great
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 06. Jun 2017
Outstanding!
This is a long overdue review. My cousin and I visited Iceland back in September. We rented our Mitsubishi through Lagoon Car Rental and highly recommend this company to other travelers. We had some car trouble (I admit it was not the car/company's fault but ours) and the customer rep went above and beyond to help us out. I cannot thank them enough for their patience and service!
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 19. Sep 2016
Excellent
Excellent, the car was easy to drive and was very well maintained
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 26. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
Very pleasure
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 20. Sep 2016
I’m really disappointed with this car and I strongly think that this car should not be available for renting anymore as we are talking about very important safety reasons.

It is true that we are talking about an old car (12 years old) and this is the main reason for this low price. I understand and obviously I can expect some typical things of an old car like scratches, deteriorated paint in external view, tough driving due to not having last advances in driving helps as assisted direction, high petrol consumption, etc… but I have to say that I’ve not been able to enjoy driving this car at any moment as I haven’t felt myself safe any single minute while driving. Let me indicate some examples of my experience.

When I took the car at the arrival, at the very first moment I could felt that every time that I pushed the gas pedal a big sound (a crack sound) came from the engine (it is an automatic car) and each time I passed by a bump the bang was frightening. Moreover, In order to go straight in the road, I had to keep the steering wheel slightly turned into the right (in a 20º angle) but just only when pushing the gas pedal, if I released the gas pedal, direction seemed to take the normal way so the wheels turned to the right and the car started to turn as this was the position of the steering wheel.

Having seen that, after 10 min driving in those conditions I had to go back to the icerental office as I had the feeling that something was going wrong with the car. There, they told me that the big coups (it sounds like if the dumping of the car was broken) and the steering wheel direction issue were normal things that I should get used to the car and drive slower than normal. The said that everything was fine with the car and that it had been revised by a mechanic the previous week and nothing went wrong. However, I had the typical message in the onboard car that maintenance was needed.

I have to say that after 10 days driving this car that is has been the most dangerous thing I’ve ever done. Obviously I didn’t get used to the car, which was completely unstable, unpredictable driving and unsafe feeling. I had to drive always by the middle of the track in order to have enough time to react when the car suddenly turned to a direction, and cannot tell every time I saw a truck coming in the opposite lane (of course they did not reduce their velocity). Besides, I was not able to go more than 60 km/h, what it makes the timing for my holidays even straight because it took me almost the double of time to arrive to each place I went.

Apart from this I have to say that even I can understand that this was an old car (I took it consciously) and I could expect some difficulties (I have a 12 years old car although I know that is not the same a car in Iceland than in other place) or high petrol consumption, the petrol consumption of this car was amazing! I didn’t feel confident of being able to go from Egglistadir to Askja with a full tank so I had to do hitch-hiking to ensure I was going to have enough petrol to arrive to the next gas station. But as I said I could even expect this an nothing would have happened.

Just to finalize, I consider myself a very good driver (I’m 34, so young enough to have good time reaction skills and experienced enough in car driving, 15 years of car license) and I think that mine should be the last trip of this car. If any older person had rented this car instead of me, we could be talking about an accident. I know it sounds exaggerated, I’m reading it and it seems so, but please go there as a ghost customer and try the car by yourself.

I know you are a young company and want to do as better as possible and even your service has been fantastic I would make really sure if use again your company not to rent to irecental anymore in my life.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 16. Sep 2016
Excellent
Very good.
The welcoming was perfect. All the hints were useful during the trip.
Everything about the car was explained properly, except for the switches and the light, but the delay to answer this question by email was fast and clear.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 16. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
great, quick and easy service on collection and drop off. nice cars and great price. I will use again for sure.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 23. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
Everything was fine :)
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 16. Sep 2016
Excellent
Renting a car from Lagoon was very convenient: one of their employees drove the car over to the place we were staying, and at the end of our trip, came by to pick it up. The car itself was fine; it had some difficulty with hills and gravel roads, but overall we had no problems.
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 19. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
Car was quite new, very comfortable and super clean.
Rental process quick and friendly, to recommend.
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 09. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
In general, the experience was good. In only problem, we have to call to Thrifty Car Rental Iceland because they forgot to pickup us in the mcrent office in keflavik. Ten minutes later, we called to thrifty and they arrived to pickup us ten minutes later. The car was great (mazda CX5), and the rest was great. thank you very much.
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 11. Sep 2016
Good
The Blue Lagoon Car Rental service went very well for the most part. The only issue was that we initially set an 8 AM pick-up time, but for some reason there was some miscommunication and we didn't get picked up until 9 AM (after calling and emailing). Other than that, however, I appreciated the customer service we received. We had no problems with the car and everything else went well.

Another suggestion would be to provide printed directions on how to find the Lagoon Car Rental address near the airport. We got lucky and had Google Maps, but it would have been hard to find if we did not have GPS or did not know that it was actually located in Keflavik instead of at the airport terminal.

All in all, I had a wonderful time in Iceland and appreciate that the car was in good condition and did not have any problems.
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 16. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
My wife and I rented the Jeep Cherokee Laredo 4x4 with automatic transmission from Icerental 4x4 and Northbound. Our experience and time in Iceland in the Jeep was amazing! The car came complete with a great GPS, which helped us explore the country, and the other equipment that came was great too. We had a table and chairs for hanging out at the campsite, and all of the cooking utensils we needed for great campsite meals. Sleeping in the Jeep was actually very comfortable and warm with the sheets, pillows, and sleeping bags that came included. All of the employees we worked with at Northbound and Icerental were great to work with. We WILL be back!
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 17. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
hi
car was lovely and served us well. we were very satisfied with the check in and drop off procedures and the guy who came to the airport to hand us the car was very nice and helpfull. overall very happy with your service
rented a vehicle in August 2016