Reviews for the Best Car Rentals in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for all companies
Submitted 24. Oct 2016
Outstanding!
Everything was great. Service was excellent..staff very friendly..the car was almost new.
rented a vehicle in October 2016
Submitted 21. Oct 2016
Excellent
I recently rented a 4x4 from from Northbound. They picked us up from the airport and drove us a short distance to their office to sign the papers. They upgraded us with no charge. In minutes we were ready to go. All went went. The explorer was not new but in great condition. It rained solid for three days and we could have used some new windshield wipers, but all else was fine. Our flight home left at 6am which was before their office was open. They made special arrangements for us to leave the car at the airport. So cooperative and good service. Its great to support small companies. I would definitely rent from them for our next visit.
rented a vehicle in October 2016
Submitted 25. Oct 2016
Outstanding!
My experience was amazing with these guys. I made a mistake when booking and had arranged to pick the car up in Reykjavik when really we needed picked up at the Keflavik airport. I called them and within 10 minutes they were at the airport and drove us to get our car free of charge. They also thought the vehicle we booked was too small for the group (which they were very right) and gave us a free upgrade to a larger vehicle. Would definitely rent again!
rented a vehicle in October 2016
Submitted 17. Oct 2016
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in October 2016
Submitted 25. Oct 2016
Excellent
The 4 wheel drive was great for the local roads. Although we didn’t go on any “F” roads… some of the local ones were scary enough! (plus, they tell you NOT to go on "F" roads... for good reason, trust me!) The GPS is an antique... we got a local SIM Data chip and used that in a smart phone for GPS, which I would recommend. They met us at the Airport and made the transfer really easy...and you just drop it off on the way out in long term parking, also easy. There is a gas station at the right side of the terminal to fill the vehicle up... 4W drives suck gas...but we knew that coming in, and I would say this Santa Fe gets better mileage than my Toyota 4WD. The vehicle is a 2006, but in great mechanical shape and we had no problems... plus, we didn't look like tourists. The drivers in Iceland are super polite and the roads are curvy and narrow enough that you really do not want to speed. Hey, you're there to see the this incredible country anyway... slow down and soak it in. All in all, a great experience and I would highly recommend these guys. KK from Florida
rented a vehicle in October 2016
Submitted 19. Oct 2016
Outstanding!
The car rental was excellent--the staff was friendly and helpful, they provided us will all the information we needed, and they were easy to reach when we had questions. We ended up wanting to extend our reservation, and they were very accommodating. I recommend them highly, and will rent from them again if I return to Iceland (which I very much hope to do someday).
rented a vehicle in October 2016
Submitted 17. Oct 2016
Outstanding!
I liked it a lot. A powerful car! Was great on and off road.
rented a vehicle in October 2016
Submitted 15. Oct 2016
Outstanding!
Excellent service. Really appreciated the delivery to our hotel and that we could drop the car off at any hotel / guest house in Keflavik (and Reykjavik & Akureyri!). Good communication throughout and excellent price. Will use again when next in Iceland and have no hesitation in recommending them.
rented a vehicle in October 2016
Submitted 09. Nov 2016
Excellent
great and helpful staff
rented a vehicle in October 2016
Submitted 15. Oct 2016
Good
THE BAD: Due to a communication breakdown, information regarding my booking had not been received by the car rental company, Lagoon Car Rental. After waiting 30 mins past the pick up time, I finally asked the owners of the hotel to phone the number I'd been given, only to find they knew nothing about my booking. Someone did eventually come and collect me but, as a result of the confusion, my departure from Reykjavic was delayed by over 2 1/2 hours.
THE GOOD: Because of the mix-up, Lagoon Car Rental upgraded me to a Subaru Forester, with GPS. The car proved to be a great vehicle to drive and my overall experience, renting a car in Iceland, was a good one.
(My rating reflects the inconvenience and stress caused by the initial problems with the booking.)
rented a vehicle in October 2016
Submitted 18. Oct 2016
Outstanding!
I had a great experience overall with Grand Iceland. Gunnie (sp??) explained everything very clearly as we picked up the campervan, and provided a lot of additional information that was really helpful for our trip. The van itself was extremely comfortable. Its very well insulated so I was not cold at night at all. It got us through the entire ring road with no issues. Would definitely recommend!
rented a vehicle in October 2016
Submitted 27. Oct 2016
Outstanding!
The service was EXCELLENT! We really enjoyed our time in Iceland and the camper van was perfect for our needs. On our next trip to Iceland, we will rent again with them without hesitation. We definitely recommend Grand Iceland!
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 14. Oct 2016
Excellent
Very nice car in Iceland. The staffs are quite straightforward and provide support for questions
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 24. Oct 2016
Good
The representative from Go Car Rental arrived at the airport on time to take us to pick our vehicle. After a quick familarisation of the car, a check for any external damage and being told where to drop the key when we returned the car we were on our way for 6 days exploring the southern part of Iceland. We hadn't gone very far when we noticed that the interior of the car hadn't been cleaned prior to our pickup but more importantly the warning light indicating that the left front tyre was low on pressure. When we stopped to check the tyres, the pressure in that tyre was correct but the rear right-hand tyre had low pressure. After inflating the tyre the warning light still showed the left front tyre pressure was low. We decide to continue our journey and to frequently check the tyres. This worked well until the morning of our third day when we found the rear right-hand tyre was flat. Staff at the hotel in which were staying were able to direct me to where I could get the tyre repaired at which time I was informed that there was a stone in the tyre causing a leak. Once the tyre was repaired we had no further problems other than the tyre warning light still being illuminated.
I emailed Go Car Rentals explaining the situation and they informed me that they were changing the people they had contracted to clean their cars and that they would reimburse me the cost of the tyre repair which they did in a few days.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 07. Oct 2016
Good
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 19. Oct 2016
Good
The car we rented from Northbound was great. Our only complaint was that it was locked in 4WD mode, as it was explained to us that previous clients had caused accidents by forgetting to use it appropriately. However, we found that driving the car whilst locked in 4WD mode in the city, proved quite frustrating, as the car was difficult to drive, especially when reversing.
We found the central Reykjavik office difficult to locate, but the staff were very helpful & had been trying to contact us while we were looking for them, but we didn't hear the phone.
Great car rental prices & good customer service. I would recommend Northbound to other travellers for car rental in Iceland.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 18. Oct 2016
Outstanding!
Hi Runar-
I was so impressed with how well thought out the camper van was! I had such a good time in Iceland, and was so happy to have the camper for remote viewing of the Northern Lights. What a treat! Thanks again-
Susan
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 07. Oct 2016
Outstanding!
This was a great hassle free car rental! It took a little time checking in and getting the car but this is usual when renting cars! The car was perfect for what we needed and the people at Lagoon Car Rental were nice.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 29. Oct 2016
Major issues.
- it took ages to get our car once we arrived at their shed
- the car already had major damage to doors which was marked down but the passenger door was always difficult to close. It seems that they charge for each new damage to repair the door but they are not doing this.
- I had an unfortunate incident with the wind catching the passenger door and damaging it. I confirm that this was my fault and
- They are also claiming damage to the front bumper where paint has come off but there are no dents or indentations. We had no other incidents with the car. We claim that the paint on this exposed edge was taken off in the severe sand/ash storms we experienced for which we had taken out insurance.
- Ice Rental 4x4 will not reply to my multiple emails to resolve the issue nor provide me with the required documentation for me to make a claim against my travel insurance in Australia.
BEWARE
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 10. Oct 2016
Outstanding!
It was perfect and made my trip to Iceland hassle-free. The rental car was as described and Gummi was a great driver and an excellent tour guide whenever needed. He not only accommodated all our requests, he also brought us to amazing places which we didn't think of visiting due to limited local information and knowledge. I would always and I am already recommending Northbound and Grand Iceland for those who are planning a visit to Iceland. Thank you very much for making my trip to Iceland with my mom and her friends so perfect and memorable!
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 07. Oct 2016
Outstanding!
Our first trip to Iceland was great! After arriving at the airport our first stop was to pick up our rental. Icerental 4x4 picked us up at the airport and drove us a short distance to pickup our vehicle. The Hyundai Tucson as an older vehicle but it got us around and had good gas-milage. We did a lot of driving around Reykjavik and the Golden Circle. The GPS provided came in handy but I highly recommend everyone to download the app 'maps.me' as it will NOT use your data. Neither will the provided GPS but we found the app easier to use etc. All in all, Icerental 4x4 was great. The staff were friendly and were able to answer all of our questions.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 11. Jul 2017
Outstanding!

An excellent experience.
Great professionalism. Our flight arrived in Iceland 3 hours late, and there they were, waiting for us.
The vehicle was in perfect condition and gave us all the directions we needed.
This year I travel again and I'm looking for a vehicle with them.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 03. Oct 2016
Worst ever car renting company, someone should met me at the terminal, after half an hour waiting made a phonecall just to find out we have to catch the bus to the office. No one said where the bus stop is or where to go off the bus. Thankfully car collection went smooth in a rainy day ( thats what i thought anyway) which was a mistake as i found out on return when they charged me 450 euros for very small stone chip which i couldnt even see on wet windscreen. After returning home got email from them telling me that they found some paperwork and it was old damage and they refund money i paid.
Just wonder how many ppl already paid for same damage?
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 07. Oct 2016
Outstanding!
Very quick and easy. Thorough check of the vehicle before and after the rental. The car itself was very nice. Spaceous and comfortable. Overall a very pleasant experience.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 04. Oct 2016
Outstanding!
Go Car Rental service is nice and the staff is very friendly. The car Audi A3 we rented is very new, we had good memory with the car during the trip in Iceland. Highly recommend! :)
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 03. Oct 2016
Outstanding!
Good customer service. I was able to change my booked days easily.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 03. Oct 2016
Excellent
The agent that was supposed to pick up my group was late by 45 minutes. Other than that everything went smoothly. We got our vehicle without further complication, no mechanical break downs during the week, and drop went quickly and effectively. After the first day the staff was able to answer my questions
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 01. Nov 2016
Outstanding!
We were happy with the service and car. We got the Ford edge (although we booked 2014 Volvo XC60 AWD). The car was in the good condition. Our experience with Thrifty Car Rental was fine.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 26. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
Had the Best experience, really Nice staff and professional
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 30. Sep 2016
Good
Go campers were vert nice to deal with, no complaints. The van was really too small and the facilities were very limited, but I guess you get what you pay for! Driving around Iceland was fantastic and we really enjoyed it.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 26. Sep 2016
Good
Everything was fine, but I'm giving 4 stars because the email I received said someone from Gesyir would would meet us at the arrival hall. We waited and no one showed up. We got on the rental car bus and it took us to Gesyir no problem. Wouldn't be a big deal but it was inconvenient to wait for someone to not show up. Would not have minded getting on the bus if that's what the instructions said.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 07. Oct 2016
Good
The car was old and well used but clean and reliable. The only gripe is the price they charge to ferry customers to and from the airport it felt a bit steep.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 26. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
Very good service. We were picked up from our Reykjavik hotel and taken to Lagoon's office. Car was in excellent condition and ran very smoothly during the period of our hire. Upon return to the Keflavik rental office, we were taken by a member of staff to our hotel. Overall, an excellent experience.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 10. Oct 2016
Good
great car in good shape, hotel pickup worked fine, everything was done fast.
Unfortunately, at the agreed return-time was no-one at the office, so we just dropped our keys.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 30. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
Great Service! Good car. Have been picked up by the agent when leaving the gate. Car was in front of the terminal. Effortless paperwork, car in good condition and according to discription. Easy to return. Thumbs up!
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 10. Oct 2016
Excellent
The renting process was nice and uncompilcated, pickup at Airport was also nice. General informations about driving in Iceland were provided. We had to refill the window cleaner, but got paid for it.

The car was ok, it is not very good isolated, e.g. you can feel the wind coming through the window open/close buttons. However, heater at night worked. At all, the car felt a little bit cheap, e.g. the Key. Since we were often leaving camping sites early at the morning it was a little bit disturbing that you have to slam the doors to close them, what was very loud. But I think thats normal for a Dacia and can be expected. However, it did it's job.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 23. Sep 2016
Good
We had a pretty good experience with Northbound. The car ran well and we enjoyed driving the vehicle. Staff was courteous and professional. There was a slight mix up with the reservation address so we were delayed being picked up, but Northbound was responsive and quickly fixed the issue. We felt the prices were fair. I would recommend this agency to a friend and would book with them in the future.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 30. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
We had a great experience! The Susuki Jimny worked perfectly in all conditions. The car felt like it was brand new.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 23. Sep 2016
Good
We hired a Hyundai i20 which was good value. It enabled us to visit Vatnajokull Glacier, which is quite amazing. We also saw waterfalls and scenery which were absolutely memorable. When we returned to Reykiavic we were greatly impressed by the city and thoroughly enjoyed whale-watching. We loved Iceland.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 27. Sep 2016
Fine
Three things made my mind to rate as 3 for thrify service. Firstly , I sent email once to your service northbound which is about how can I pick my care when my airplane is landed, and the answer u replied was someone will wait me in the hall of airport, but no one is here... , after a panic waiting for 20mins, I tried to make a call to thrifty, and got the replied plz taking shuttle bus to thrifty by yourself. That is totally different from what you said in mail and very irresponsible service. Secondly, when the staff gave the car to me, he said I dont need to check the car , since I have had the highest insurance with zero self-deduction on SCDW, anyway it makes me a feeling like how well for the car is is not important to my life on the trip, the only thine staff cares is , hey you dont need to pay for damage of car so we dont need to pay attention to waste time to check car. However how ironic is when i return the car, another staff which may be more responsible or it is a standard SOP, he spend 1 mins to check car, much more than prior staff who turning in car to me. The last thing is at the time I picked my car, I found that two tires do not fit the tire rims. More specifically , the position of tire rims has been moved to a place which is not its origin, there is a gap between tire and tire rims, which may be around 1 centimeter. To be honest, I am lack of ability to judge how fit should tire and tire rim be as normal, I can only say I judged by distinguishing others car of thrifty from mine , and none of them is in a similar situation as mine. It looks unstable and unsafe. Unsurprisingly, the staff responded my query which is "It is totally normal situation and there is no way to change another car to me. In my opinion , I would say Thrifty service on staff, and car maintenance only deserves 3 points , and the rental bills I paid is totally much higher than its level.
PS: the car body is dirty when I picked up anyway.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 27. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
It was absolutly perfect. The company gave us ecery information what we had to know about the car and the driving rules in Iceland.
Well the guy was a little bit late, picking us up, but we learned later, that life not really begins before 10 am, and that time was 8 am on a monday. So no problem.
The previous user of the Suzuki lost the front plate of the car, so we only had the back plate, we were a little bit afraid about that, but the guy at the rental calmed us down, as no police cared about it. Well the was the truth.
The car was OK, it is everything that you expect from a Suzuki.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 27. Sep 2016
Excellent
Well at the end we didnt get the Hyundai Tucson, but a Ford Escape. Its mostly in the same category.
I think a little bit better than the Tucson, in performance. It worked well all week long, make it easier than out other car (Suzuki Vitara) on hilly gravel roads. I can recommend this car to everyone.
There was only one little problem with the car, what we did not realize when we get it, that the windscreen washer tank was empty. We fixed that on our own, but that cost the 5.0 rating
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 16. Jan 2017
Outstanding!
we had a great time with the dacia dokker camper!! it was our home for two weeks and we loved it. it had all the space and storage capacities that we needed, as well as camping equipment, fitted into the car in a very clever and inventive way. we needed less fuel than we had expected, and the car was nice to drive. we were happy to have the heater in the cold and rainy nights (at first, i was a little shocked by the weather coming from european summer with a temperature difference of 15 degrees). paperwork was efficient and the people doing the transfer from and to the airport were very friendly!! thank you ;)
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 06. Oct 2016
Excellent
The crew is very friendly. When returning cars, we call to change our pick up location a day before and the crew is more than helpful to find us for I have really difficulty when pronounce the road name. We are satisfy on the service northbound provided. Just a small suggestion, the car interior and the seats is a little bit dirty, (With white spot on it...) but it's not big problem, we use tissue to wipe out.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 12. Oct 2016
Outstanding!
Guy from northbound picked us up at the airport. Handout was quick and smooth. The car was not brand new, but despite the high mileage, has served us bravely through the week. We travelled over 3,000 km through all possible wilderness of Iceland, and our Toyota has functioned flawlessly all the time.
I would rent the car again by northbound!
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 27. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
It was a very pleasant experience to rent car from Arctic Car Rental through Northbound. The representatives from car rental company were very courteous and proved to be quite flexible in handling my requests. A very special mention for Runar from Northbound - he is extremely patient and responsive while answering queries.

I'd happily recommend Arctic Car rental and Northbound to future Iceland visitors.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 23. Sep 2016
Good
The car, checking and out were fine. My only complaint is about the fact you didn't stated clearly - or I may be blind - that your counter was not in the airport but required taking on a bus. I've wasted 40' waiting at the airport exit.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 03. Oct 2016
Good
I have nothing to say about the company Northbound...

however, I have some criticisms of the company Thrifty ! Thrifty would come to take me to my hostel before 9am and they forgot me!

it is only following several calls they are picked up at 10:45! the time to complete the documents, so I had the car at 11:30 and I lost a morning I paid yet ...

Jean-Yves Petit

PS :they gave me a Peugeot, not a ford, but it does not matter

rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 27. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
Renting with Northbound was great. They and Icerental 4x4 were very responsive and helpful in the lead up to our trip and during. It was the best price we found. All went smoothly!
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 23. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
The process of renting from Icerental was really seamless and hassle free. The friendly representative picked us up from the airport at 1 am and we were promptly handed the car with all the necessary documentation and instructions. The car was what was promised. No surprises there! On our return, it was again very smooth and hassle free and we were promptly dropped at the airport.
I would 100% recommend Icerental to anyone looking to rent a car in Iceland with maximum value for money. Also, I would recommend the highly professional Northbound for anyone looking for a one stop shop for their travel through Iceland.
rented a vehicle in September 2016