Reviews for the Best Car Rentals in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for all companies
Submitted 26. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
Service was perfect. Collected car in the middle of the night in good condition, no fuss about potential damages when returned in the dark (there were no damages, actually!) or fuel gauge.
Suzuki Jimny was the perfect car for "expeditions" to Askja and Sprengisandur, including river crossings - at medium water level, well understood. Price was ok: 943 EUR for 9 days.
Would recommend the car and the rental service!
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 23. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
Good Day
Great service, friendly staff. We where a little at a loss at the BSI Terminal as we did not know that the car will be dropt off. We did try to call and only got a message in Icelandic that we did not understand. After 15 min. the person did stop in to look for us. Everything went smooth with the car and returning it at Kevaflik airport was a breeze. I highly recommend this company, even it is still in the start up phase. Little startup problems is the norm for anybody that runs a business.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 04. Oct 2016
Outstanding!
We where completely happy and satisfied with this rental experience.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 23. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
Hola: muchas gracias por tu interes. El viaje fue estupendo y el coche se porto bien. El unico problema que tuvimos fue a la entrega del coche. En recibo de entrega ponia ( p3, f3) y p3 como tal no existe y tuvimos que preguntar maa de una hora hasta que conseguimos averiguar donde era el siti correcto. Pero bueno creo que lo solventamos y reconocemos nuesteo deficit con el ingles.
Un saludo y hasta pronto
Jose raul aja
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 28. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
Great overall - service, car and website were well-organised and without problems. Two quick thoughts: While booking, there was no mentioning of unlimited km, which was included as far as I understood. Also, someone was waiting for me at the airport, which I didn't know (I went to the street address of the rental car station with the help of a friend). So maybe include that after conformation of the booking.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 23. Oct 2016
Good
The people from Icerental 4x4 were uncomplicated and gentle. Sadly we had a little problem with the lock of our drivers-door, wich was fixed very experimentally and took much of our first day on Iceland to get fixed. A good thing was that we got a reimbursement of that first day without a big discussion. Another thing you could criticize was the mold on the backside of the mattress, because there was no lath floor to enable the air to circulate under the mattress.

Sadly the cruise control didn't work and there was no auxiliar heating system as was stated online when we did our reservation.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 19. Sep 2016
Good
Cleanliness: Clean, Good
Facility: New and sufficient
Cost: Reasonable
Location: OK
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 20. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
Our experience was excellent! The reservation process was easy, Runar or others at Northbound were readily accessible when we had questions, and our car was waiting for us at Thrifty - all at a great price. So glad we found Northbound!
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 23. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
Ice rental looks like to be a small and professional local car rental. I was picked up at the airport as agreed. They charged my card with the exactly amount my Northbound voucher showed. The car (manual Suzuki Vitara) was clean and new. Everything was so easy. Upon return, a quick look on the car, everything was ok and they took us to our B&B for our last night before flying out. Overall, that was a great experience renting from them. Would strongly recommend Icerental 4x4 to anyone going to Iceland.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 25. Sep 2016
Excellent
We had not any problem . The staff who attended us was very friendly and when we returned the van they took us to our hotel for free . The van was just what we needed for our trip ,comfortable, spacious and value for money .I recommend this company to everyone . Really good experience .
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 27. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
The experience with Arctic was very well! The Suzuki Jimny was working perfectly arround the iceland! Great service! We will recommend it.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 28. Sep 2016
Good
The car we rented performed very well and was delivered to us on time at the airport.
We had very good communication prior to our arrival.
We felt that the rates were reasonable compared to other companies.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 24. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
Icerental 4x4 was great! They didn't have the car we rented when we arrived -- instead they upgraded us to a larger, better car! It handled the few F roads we drove on fine, and felt very dependable (though the brakes were a bit squeaky).
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 19. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
I had a really great experience. I especially enjoyed how someone met me at the airport and walked me straight to the rental car in the parking lot. Quick paperwork and I was already driving. Returning the car was just as easy. I would definitely rent from this place again!
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 19. Sep 2016
Car was given to us with defective windshield wipers which made driving in the rain extremely unsafe. Water was smeared everywhere, the rubber on the wipers was visibly shredded and coming apart. We had to change them out ourselves.
Upon returning the car they would not offer any discount for their gross negligence, the excuse being "well we have a lot of cars here"....you are a rental car company, thats your responsibility.

Would not trust any vehicle coming from this company, as clearly their inspections are a joke. Imagine if that had been the brakes that failed.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 07. Oct 2016
Outstanding!
Star car rental was Top service, i will defenitley recomend it they are helpful and trustworthy. having the insurance covered  included in the price was a plus, not many companies do that. and their service is great
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 06. Jun 2017
Outstanding!
This is a long overdue review. My cousin and I visited Iceland back in September. We rented our Mitsubishi through Lagoon Car Rental and highly recommend this company to other travelers. We had some car trouble (I admit it was not the car/company's fault but ours) and the customer rep went above and beyond to help us out. I cannot thank them enough for their patience and service!
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 19. Sep 2016
Excellent
Excellent, the car was easy to drive and was very well maintained
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 26. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
Very pleasure
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 20. Sep 2016
I’m really disappointed with this car and I strongly think that this car should not be available for renting anymore as we are talking about very important safety reasons.

It is true that we are talking about an old car (12 years old) and this is the main reason for this low price. I understand and obviously I can expect some typical things of an old car like scratches, deteriorated paint in external view, tough driving due to not having last advances in driving helps as assisted direction, high petrol consumption, etc… but I have to say that I’ve not been able to enjoy driving this car at any moment as I haven’t felt myself safe any single minute while driving. Let me indicate some examples of my experience.

When I took the car at the arrival, at the very first moment I could felt that every time that I pushed the gas pedal a big sound (a crack sound) came from the engine (it is an automatic car) and each time I passed by a bump the bang was frightening. Moreover, In order to go straight in the road, I had to keep the steering wheel slightly turned into the right (in a 20º angle) but just only when pushing the gas pedal, if I released the gas pedal, direction seemed to take the normal way so the wheels turned to the right and the car started to turn as this was the position of the steering wheel.

Having seen that, after 10 min driving in those conditions I had to go back to the icerental office as I had the feeling that something was going wrong with the car. There, they told me that the big coups (it sounds like if the dumping of the car was broken) and the steering wheel direction issue were normal things that I should get used to the car and drive slower than normal. The said that everything was fine with the car and that it had been revised by a mechanic the previous week and nothing went wrong. However, I had the typical message in the onboard car that maintenance was needed.

I have to say that after 10 days driving this car that is has been the most dangerous thing I’ve ever done. Obviously I didn’t get used to the car, which was completely unstable, unpredictable driving and unsafe feeling. I had to drive always by the middle of the track in order to have enough time to react when the car suddenly turned to a direction, and cannot tell every time I saw a truck coming in the opposite lane (of course they did not reduce their velocity). Besides, I was not able to go more than 60 km/h, what it makes the timing for my holidays even straight because it took me almost the double of time to arrive to each place I went.

Apart from this I have to say that even I can understand that this was an old car (I took it consciously) and I could expect some difficulties (I have a 12 years old car although I know that is not the same a car in Iceland than in other place) or high petrol consumption, the petrol consumption of this car was amazing! I didn’t feel confident of being able to go from Egglistadir to Askja with a full tank so I had to do hitch-hiking to ensure I was going to have enough petrol to arrive to the next gas station. But as I said I could even expect this an nothing would have happened.

Just to finalize, I consider myself a very good driver (I’m 34, so young enough to have good time reaction skills and experienced enough in car driving, 15 years of car license) and I think that mine should be the last trip of this car. If any older person had rented this car instead of me, we could be talking about an accident. I know it sounds exaggerated, I’m reading it and it seems so, but please go there as a ghost customer and try the car by yourself.

I know you are a young company and want to do as better as possible and even your service has been fantastic I would make really sure if use again your company not to rent to irecental anymore in my life.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 16. Sep 2016
Excellent
Very good.
The welcoming was perfect. All the hints were useful during the trip.
Everything about the car was explained properly, except for the switches and the light, but the delay to answer this question by email was fast and clear.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 16. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
great, quick and easy service on collection and drop off. nice cars and great price. I will use again for sure.
rented a vehicle in September 2016
Submitted 23. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
Everything was fine :)
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 16. Sep 2016
Excellent
Renting a car from Lagoon was very convenient: one of their employees drove the car over to the place we were staying, and at the end of our trip, came by to pick it up. The car itself was fine; it had some difficulty with hills and gravel roads, but overall we had no problems.
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 19. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
Car was quite new, very comfortable and super clean.
Rental process quick and friendly, to recommend.
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 09. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
In general, the experience was good. In only problem, we have to call to Thrifty Car Rental Iceland because they forgot to pickup us in the mcrent office in keflavik. Ten minutes later, we called to thrifty and they arrived to pickup us ten minutes later. The car was great (mazda CX5), and the rest was great. thank you very much.
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 11. Sep 2016
Good
The Blue Lagoon Car Rental service went very well for the most part. The only issue was that we initially set an 8 AM pick-up time, but for some reason there was some miscommunication and we didn't get picked up until 9 AM (after calling and emailing). Other than that, however, I appreciated the customer service we received. We had no problems with the car and everything else went well.

Another suggestion would be to provide printed directions on how to find the Lagoon Car Rental address near the airport. We got lucky and had Google Maps, but it would have been hard to find if we did not have GPS or did not know that it was actually located in Keflavik instead of at the airport terminal.

All in all, I had a wonderful time in Iceland and appreciate that the car was in good condition and did not have any problems.
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 16. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
My wife and I rented the Jeep Cherokee Laredo 4x4 with automatic transmission from Icerental 4x4 and Northbound. Our experience and time in Iceland in the Jeep was amazing! The car came complete with a great GPS, which helped us explore the country, and the other equipment that came was great too. We had a table and chairs for hanging out at the campsite, and all of the cooking utensils we needed for great campsite meals. Sleeping in the Jeep was actually very comfortable and warm with the sheets, pillows, and sleeping bags that came included. All of the employees we worked with at Northbound and Icerental were great to work with. We WILL be back!
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 17. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
hi
car was lovely and served us well. we were very satisfied with the check in and drop off procedures and the guy who came to the airport to hand us the car was very nice and helpfull. overall very happy with your service
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 26. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
great car! Fuel efficient
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 13. Sep 2016
Excellent
The car work well for us, we could do everything we had planned perfect! We highly reccomend renting a 4x4 to travel around Iceland and for sure we would reccomend your company. Thanks for the experience Northbound!
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 12. Sep 2016
Excellent
The Suzuki jimmy was the perfect car for two with luggage and run smoothly on the regular highway, fine on the gravel covered roads, but a bit bumpy on washed out gravel roads. The vehicle was clean and in good condition and functioned well. The service was good and the car was ready despite booking the night before. The agent was professional and allowed us some grace time on the return.
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 12. Sep 2016
Good
It was almost perfect except for 2 little details. We didn't get picked up on time and didn't know how to get in touch with lagoon car rental. We finally asked the airport service desk to call them after a half hour of waiting. Also, when we got there, the Subaru was not available. They gave us a kia instead, and I believe they believed it was an upgrade. The guys were very nice and business like. The car was able to go up the mountains with no problem. All in all it was a good experience and Iceland was beautiful!
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 14. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
nice trip! good car!
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 16. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
We were very satisfied with Lagoon Car Rental's services although their guy were a little late for our appointment. Our original reservation was for them to give us a ride from our hotel to their office and then we picked up our rental car from there, but instead, they drove our car to our hotel to save our trip. It was very thoughtful of them to do that. They patiently helped us to park our car at a good parking spot close to the hotel and also showed us how to use the meter for the parking. I would highly recommend to anybody who wants to have a nice road trip in Iceland!
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 09. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
We had a great experience with Go Car Rental. Everything went smoothly and they even refunded the camping gear for the days we decided to come back early. Great car, and reasonable prices. I would use GO rental again when I return to Iceland.
Throughout the booking process, Northbound answered all my queries quickly and efficiently. Adding on my requested extra days, changing pick-up times ect. Northbound gave me the assurance that I needed and I otherwise probably wouldn't have purchased a rental if not for them. I loved the fact that I had the option to cancel my reservation free of charge if I had needed to. Highly recommend!
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 09. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
Loved the truck we rented...had an amazing experience! Customer service was top notch!
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 15. Sep 2016
Excellent
I had a great experience with Lagoon Car Rental. Not only did they deliver our car straight to our accommodation, but we got a free upgrade. The car was clean and ran well. Only the drop off point at Keflavik airport is a bit difficult to find - they take you to the airport via a shuttle and the drop off is at the beginning of what looks like an industrial estate. There was a small sign (which is very easy to miss) to point you in the right direction. The collection of the car was quick and I was in the airport in no time. Overall, a great experience.
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 02. Sep 2016
We had to meet with the car (icerental4x4) at bsi station at 9h o'clock and the icerental4x4 men appeared at 10h. The same when we had to return the car, we had to meet at 9h at the Reikiavik office and icerental4x4 men didn't appeared until 10h after my phone call to keflavik office at 9.10h

After all, the car worked out and all was good but you have to review that point of punctuality. More for people who have to pick buses at bsi in order to return to Keflavik airport!!!
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 12. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
This was a great company. We forgot something in the car and they mailed it back to us in New York City. Highly recommend this company.
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 13. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
Renting a car at Icerental 4x4 was very satisfying! They were very attentive and we were taken to their office to pick the car and also led us to the airport after leaving it. All perfect!
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 06. Sep 2016
Excellent
The car works very well. It's not brand new so we don't have to worry about the scratch from small rocks. The space is big. We can leave some stuff in the car so we don't have to take them with us each time we check in/out to a hostel.
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 12. Sep 2016
Good
Our experience was great! The car was brand new, well equipped and really good even in F roads! The guy of Icerental 4x4 has been really kind he explained us everything we needed to know about the car and so. Also I have to say that I was very happy with chat service of northbound; they reply promptly and they were always very clear.
Only two things to remark related to pick-up and return car procedure:
- pick-up at the airport (near the airport actually) took a little longer than expected (we had to wait in the arrival hall almost an hour) but ok I understand that it was because of the high season;
- about the return, we had to bring the car to Icerental office despite in our booking were indicated that they would picked up the car from any location in the Reykjavík area. However we agreed that somebody would take us to our hotel once returned the car; unfortunately there was nobody at the office even if we went there before closing time, we tired to call them but nobody answered. So we put the car keys in mail box...and had a walk with our (heavy) luggage..

rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 05. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
Excellent, really beautiful country with nice people, amazing landscapes! Driving around and sleeping in the car is a good way if we don't have weeks or months to hike or bike. Grand Iceland was a super service, really kind people. For example, I forgot my glasses in the car and the guy brought it back to me in the evening with his own car!
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 18. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
We were very happy with our trip around Iceland! The staff from northbound was fast and helpful. Our car from Star car rental was perfect for our trip and we enjoyed travelling through Iceland with "our" small camper,  the Dacia Dokker.
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 05. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
Iceland was extraordinary, we had an awesome time! RAS Car Rental has been very efficient and helpfull!
I recommend it sincerely
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 07. Sep 2016
Good
Dodge Durango has been a perfect car for our journey in Iceland; no problem at all even if it is not a new car. The people of the renting office were not too kind.
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 02. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
My experience was very good: it was easy to communicate with NorthBound and the car was exactly the one I chose on internet. Transparent fees and no bad surprises. But I think the best about Northbound is the communication: the chat is always functioning and they're ready to help you to solve any doubt.
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 05. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
We travelled anticlockwise round the island, the opposite to most people, based on the convoys of tourist vehicles coming clockwise. Although it meant that reading the Lonely Planet guide was more difficult (it narrates the clockwise journey), I think it was better travelling for us not being in "convoys"!
The car was great, although it only just fitted us two and our two cases; the advertising suggested it would fit more than two suitcases, but I don't think that's correct! We also found the front spoiler was too close to the ground for some roads (we were astonished by the depth and number of potholes even on major highways....). In retrospect a few more centimetres clearance would be a good thing.
We were very happy with Arctic Car Rentals. They were there for pickup when they said they would be. The only panic moment for us was when we couldn't find the nominated airport return point in the darkness at 4am. By driving around randomly we eventually saw a useful sign in one corner and with thankful hearts, left the car for them. It would have been helpful for them to provide a simple map, because the nominated car park is very large and difficult to find things, particularly in the dark.
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 10. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
Definitely recommend GO Car Rental in Iceland. The car was what we had expected, was well-maintained, comfortable, and excellent throughout our journey around the Ring Road. The information and pictures on their website were clear and easy to use. I made many enquiries via email about the car rental, and each time, the reply from Northbound co-founder Runar Thor was fast, friendly and useful which helped us plan our trip better. Arben (hope I spelt his name right), the staff who attended to us at the collection area at GO Car Rental's office next to Keflavik Airport, was cheerful, helpful and patient with our many questions. He even offered suggestions on the best way to get to Reykjavik, and how to handle the roads in Iceland. Northbound and GO Car Rental are two of the many reasons why we want to go back to Iceland.

YH (Singapore) - 10 Sept 2016
Rented a VW Golf from Go Car Rental in Aug 2016
rented a vehicle in August 2016