Reviews for the Best Car Rentals in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for all companies
Submitted 10. Sep 2016
Excellent
Very good, all was fine, ( except the CD-player). It was a very good, reliable car and a good service from the Northbound.
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 02. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
I wanted to get the best out of my trip around Iceland and I think I got it. I visited the Gold and Diamond ring and some other places in the North west.
Talking about the car, I enjoyed driving this car. I took special care of it when driving in gravel roads and its perfomance was excellent.
I woukd like to complain about the poor information we received from the company. They did not advised us about the car locked automatically and consequently it produced a serious incident that disturbed our trip.
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 05. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
Excellent. Good car. Good price. Good service.
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 06. Sep 2016
Excellent
Everything was OK.
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 17. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
We had a fantastic time with our 4x4 rental. We really appreciated being able to get onto some less travelled roads because we had a 4x4. Iceland is stunningly beautiful and there are plenty of things you will want to see around the ring road, but there are a lot of special places on the 4x4 roads as well. We also enjoyed the fact that we could camp in our car and so we didn't need to pre-book our accommodation and thus had more flexibility to stay longer when something took our fancy, or to move on more quickly when we wanted to. We appreciated that we just had a car, not a Ute with a home strapped on the back because we could drive more rapidly with confidence. We saw plenty of the other style of 4x4 camper traveling at quite slow speeds. The trade off is less space inside the car, but we were very happy with our choice. We found Northbound very pleasant to deal with and they responded very quickly when we had a minor problem with the car and had everything fixed in next to no time, even though we were on the other side of the country at the time.
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 07. Sep 2016
Good
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 15. Sep 2016
Excellent
Our experience with Arctic Car Rental was great. We were met at the airport, escorted to our car and were on our way quickly with all the information we needed. We paid a very good rate for our rental. I would recommend this company to others.
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 05. Sep 2016
Good
Northbound provided excellent service. The car was unexpectedly roomy, but the Suzuki VItara keeps on beeping no matter what, for too many reasons. I suppose the electronics are a little exagerated. The trip with it was good and it behaved quite confortably both on the paved and gravel road.
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 29. Aug 2016
Outstanding!
Everything was ok with the car and we found the rental service really top level.
Iceland was abosolutely gorgeous. Unfortunatelly I cannot describe extensively since just returned a bad earthquake struck Italy and I'm involved in the emergengy in durig these weeks
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 07. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
My wife and I rented a camper van for ten days in August, 2016. The van was small but new, was equipped with everything we needed (a small gas stove, a pot, a pan, cutlery, blankets, bedlinen, dish soap, etc), and everything worked fine. Grand Iceland is a small company and renting from them felt like borrowing a car from a friend. One of the two owners picked us up from the airport and drove us to the office in Reykjavik, where the van was. Returning the van also was completely unproblematic. The owner did not check the car at all. He simply trusted us that we had returned the car in good order (which, to the very best of our knowledge, we had). While he was driving us back to the airport, we had a very nice chat. Overall, it was the most pleasant experience with a car rental we have ever had and we can recommend Grand Iceland wholeheartedly. We would definitely rent a car from them again (we intend to travel to Iceland again because the landscape (glaciers, volcanos, waterfalls) and the animals (puffins, seals, whales, polar foxes) are amazing).
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 07. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
My wife and I rented the Ford Transit mini camper van for a period of 17 days as a means of exploring Iceland and using it as accommodation. The Van exceeded expectation. It was very comfortable to sleep for the two of us even though I am 1.8m. There was plenty of space for our bags, wine and food items. It came with all the cooking and sleeping equipment so we needed no further purchases and a big bonus was the WiFi so we could connect our phones to google maps for navigation. The van was new so was very easy to drive and had no problems on the gravel roads. As a company to deal with Grand Iceland were very helpful in every way and a pleasure to deal with. I Highly recommend this company.
/Mick and Rebecca Toth (Aug 2016)
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 08. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
perfect car for our trip (it was not a new car but was perfect for driving through icelandic roads!). Icerental 4x4 is a small provider but they are very friendly and helpful
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 02. Sep 2016
Good
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 29. Aug 2016
Outstanding!
Got a very good car, Icerental 4x4 is a very good company, everything was ok
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 22. Aug 2016
Outstanding!
Lagoon car rental was great. The car we booked wasn't available so we got a free upgrade. It's a lot better driving yourself than going with the tour guides. Thanks.
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 26. Aug 2016
Good
Hello.
Actually, it wasn't the Toyota Rav4. We decided to contact Arctic Car Rental before the trip to be sure that we're getting the car we ordered. But as we predicted it wasn't available for dates of our trip, so they proposed the Suzuki Grand Vitara (older and automatic). Actually, we weren't glad to hear it, because we wanted the newest car we could afford. But OK, we've agreed on Suzuki Grand Vitara 2013-2014 Automatic.

When we've arrived at Keflavik it occurred that the car is not automatic, but manual. No big difference, but usually the automatic is more expensive than manual. They've explained that Suzuki Grand Vitara Automatic is repairing. Ok, let it be. But this looked as they're deceiving us.

Actually, the car was in bad condition for its age (3-4 years). Maybe, all the cars in Iceland rust so fast, but sometimes it was scary to drive it.

The trip was wonderful, nevertheless! :)
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 26. Aug 2016
Good
Siamo stati accolti all uscita arrivi dell aereoporto da un inpiegato della Artic che ci ha spiegato tutte le procedure e compilato i moduli direttamente nell auto in consegna nel parcheggio,spiegandoci la riconsegna
Tutto molto semplice
compagnia da consigliare
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 30. Aug 2016
Outstanding!
Lava Auto is a smaller family operated business, and that was apparent from their fantastic service! They took great care of me and were very accommodating when I had a scheduling conflict with my arrival. The car I received was new, clean, and in great operating condition. The staff were very friendly upon my return, and were happy to take me to the airport. I'll definitely return to Iceland in the future, and I'll be sure to book my rental car with Lava if possible. Great experience all-round!
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 23. Aug 2016
Good
Hi,
Thanks for your e-mail. We were not planning on giving any feedback, but since you ask, we will.
We were promised the car delivered to us at the airport upon arrival. However, there was no car and nobody from the rental company. After two phone calls ("we'll be there in five min") we waited for more than 45 min.
We were promised pick up and delivery "at the airport". However, it turned out this included a 10-15 min drive from the airport. Thus, we were more than 1 hour delayed at the start of our vacation because of the car rental company. Delays may happen of course, when traveling, but this was a first. We had to reschedule our evening and cancel some of our plans.
Our overall impression of the company is that the people did their best, but it was disorganized and unprofessional.
The size of the car was fine, but it was stiff and it had poor brakes.
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 26. Aug 2016
Fine
Iceland was fantastic. Communication with northbound was easy and perfect. The car rental was "ok". Two bummers: The child seats we had asked for did hardly fit in the car so that it was a bit of a mess to get the boys fixed everytime. This bothered as you get in an out of the car several times a day on the road, in the rain etc. And when we took over the car in Keflavik we were told that the tires were not ok and we had to go into Reykjavik to a repair to get new ones on which all in all took us about an hour. For the price, we thought this was done before we got the car.
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 30. Aug 2016
Outstanding!
I consider my experience with Icerental 4x4 totally positive. The staff was very competent and courteous. The car that I rented (Suzuki Grand Vitara) has had no problem and it turned out great for exploring the fabulous and extensive Icelandic soil. I hope to return soon in the beautiful Iceland and rent again a car with this company.
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 23. Aug 2016
Outstanding!
All worked well, thank you. Will use Orange Car Rental again. Nice to be picked up at KEF by OCR, escape busy airport, deal with car rental in town of Keflavik. Great welcome to Iceland.
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 19. Aug 2016
Outstanding!
It was a great car for traveling around Iceland. We mainly stayed on the main road, but took advantage of the vehicle to get off the beaten path side roads. We had 5 adults and luggage.
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 31. Aug 2016
Good
It was Ok, but the car was very old and noisy, the guy didn't explais us anything about the car and we didn'd know how to change the 4x4 traction, or if it was possible. The glass inside was very dirty on the drivers side. But we end our trip without any complication so it was Ok.
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 24. Aug 2016
Outstanding!
Iceland was great. The weather was good and the nature stunning. We should have hire a bigger car, but we were able to go where we wanted too. The pick-up and the delivery at the airport were easy to manage. Keflavik is not that large.
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 22. Aug 2016
Outstanding!
Company next to the airport keflavic. Delivery of the car in good condition and full tank according to the agreed time and place. The rental price a bit more compared to other companies in the pit area. The only thing is that the day we had to return the car to leave the keys in a mailbox as it was Sunday and had office closed (would be good if there was a responsibility to check that the car was in the same state as delivered ). Still recommend the company.
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 19. Aug 2016
Outstanding!
My experience renting a car with Icerental4x4 through Northbound was absolutely perfect!! Northbound is a ver useful page where you can compare all the rental cars and prices!

I finally decided Icerental 4x4 for their price but my surprise was that not only the price was the best, also the service and car!!! They gave me a brand new Suzuki Vitara (only 2 months old, with 23,000km) whihc was just perfect: big, nice, comfortable, with incorporated GPS, bluetooth, 2 USB to charge the cellphones... The owners were also very friendly and helfulp! Upond arrival (our flight arrived very late at night) they were waiting for us to pick up the car, explained us everything abour roads and insurances, gave us some Icelandic tips and... gave us a free extra driver!!! :)

Im really very happy with our choice of using Northbound and Icerental 4x4!! I truly recommend everyone to follow my choice! ;)
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 15. Aug 2016
Outstanding!
We were happy with the service provided. We were originally surprised we didn’t get a VW as per my order, but it turned out well in the end as the car we got was very economical and had GPS, which was very helpful.
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 16. Aug 2016
Outstanding!
Travel in Iceland as always was perfect. The staff with which we met in the Lagoon Car Renthal were impeccably professional and courteous. The girl who gave us the car was extremely accommodating. We were only surprised by the fact that the car we booked a Toyota Land Kryuyser 2016 in result looked much older and had a damage arount all the car. As a result, imagining how much time and effort will take clarify this situation, we have decided to leave this issue not been solved, and picked up the car in the condition that we were ofered.
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 26. Aug 2016
Outstanding!
We had a fantástico experiencia in Iceland Thank to the camper van we rent. It was the best offer I seen and everything was as we expected.
Thank you very much!!
rented a vehicle in August 2016
Submitted 19. Aug 2016
Outstanding!
We started and ended in Keflavik and went the road Nr. 1 nearly completely around Iceland. It was good to know we have a lot of space in our car and we have enough reserve for all roads in iceland. Anytime my decision would be the same. With icerental4x4 everything worked good and fast. My heartfelt thanks to the friendly people in iceland, who made our holidays to an extraordinary experience!
rented a vehicle in July 2016
Submitted 22. Aug 2016
Excellent
We had a tour of of the Iceland and your service was super super good!
Thanks a lot for all
rented a vehicle in July 2016
Submitted 19. Aug 2016
Outstanding!
I liked very much my experience in Iceland. GO Car Rental gave me a Subaru Forrester instead a Dacia Duster. The Subaru is a very good, new end very confortable car but in isn't a disel car like I'd asked in my reservation. But it doesn't matter much.
rented a vehicle in July 2016
Submitted 22. Aug 2016
Outstanding!
Hi, we really enjoyed our trip. Everything with Go Carrental was really good, from the first meeting, when they picked up us at downtown. The guy was very kind and interested in giving us the necessary advices about driving and car care. Also when we give the car back (it was white, and comes brown :-)), they were very busy because it was Aug 6th, but all of them perfect all the time. Great experience, great country, great driving... We'll repeat for sure. Sincere thanks to all of you, guys...
rented a vehicle in July 2016
Submitted 12. Aug 2016
Good
The overall experience with Lagoon Car Rental is OK, however there are some details what I have to mention:
- The car had minor damages (broken fog light, etc) what was not marked during hand-over. I expect such a thing is pre-marked (thus I'm not going to be charged if I don't notice)
- Vehicle was not properly cleaned inside
- Our booking clearly says it's a 2016 model, however it was a fairly used older one, and we didn't get any discount for this reason.
- Wiper blades were extremely used, it's even a safety issue.
rented a vehicle in July 2016
Submitted 09. Aug 2016
Outstanding!
A perfect experience start to finish. The Northbound booking was refreshingly easy, without all the infuriating hard-sell tactics other outfits use. The team at Geysir was impossibly friendly and efficient. And the vehicle we rented was a dream to drive.

Highly recommended.
rented a vehicle in July 2016
Submitted 18. Aug 2016
Outstanding!
I think Lagoon Car rental service is good though the pick-up have a little delay in the firs day. The car of 2016 Hyundai Tucson(4x4) is new, good performance and spend 12 days with us in Iceland without any problem. I would recommend Lagoon Car rental for everyone who wants to self-driving at Iceland.
rented a vehicle in July 2016
Submitted 15. Aug 2016
Outstanding!
We had a wonderful experience with Arctic Car Rental. A representative met us at the airport, making the pick-up process very easy. The car itself was the perfect companion for our road trip across Iceland.
rented a vehicle in July 2016
Submitted 09. Aug 2016
Outstanding!
Everything perfect
rented a vehicle in July 2016
Submitted 09. Aug 2016
Outstanding!
We had a great time in Iceland and the car was excellent! We would definitely recommend Icerental 4x4 to anyone wanting a nice 4x4 for the whole ring road. The only thing to be improved would be communication about pick up and drop off but overall a great experience.
rented a vehicle in July 2016
Submitted 09. Aug 2016
Outstanding!
Everything was perfect with Star car rental. They were waiting for us at the airport, the quality of the car was perfect. In a word we are satisfied after 2000 km also in the F-roads
rented a vehicle in July 2016
Submitted 12. Sep 2016
Outstanding!
Amazing! So easy. They didn't push the extra insurance as much as I thought they would, which was refreshing. When we returned the car, they gave it a quick once over and that was that. Super easy. No hidden extra charges. Also very reasonably priced. Would definitely recommend this rental agency.
rented a vehicle in July 2016
Submitted 09. Aug 2016
Outstanding!
After been reading horror stories on the Internet about car rental firms on Iceland I must say that Autorental really delivered!
I got the car I book with the GPS and child seats included as promised. The service was more than great both on the pick up and the return of the car.
The car had some scratches but nothing for us to complain about and nothing that brought us any trouble!
rented a vehicle in July 2016
Submitted 11. Aug 2016
Outstanding!
We enjoyed driving the Suzuki Vitara, we were satisfied.
we just waited 30 minutes in our hotel before someone pick us up to the Icerental but anyway we spent good holiday . Iceland is a beautiful country. Such lovely places to visit!
rented a vehicle in July 2016
Submitted 09. Aug 2016
Outstanding!
This form (and the email that the link came it) is fantastic user experience design! I'm not sure if the email was auto-generated (as these things tend to be) but I definitely didn't feel that way when I received it. So thank you for that!

My trip to Iceland was fantastic. My friend and I were able to get around the ring road in about 6 days, and put close to 3000km on the car. Although we reserved a VW Polo, we were actually given a Skoda (can't remember the model). It was a much newer car with only about 10,000km on it, so the swap was not an issue at all. The staff were great at the rental office. The guy that helped us when we picked the car up was a little late (we were scheduled to pick the car up at 9am). We were happy to wait but he apologized and did not charge us for the extra driver for causing an inconvenience. Again, the wait was not a big deal at all, but we appreciated the gesture. Drop-off was simple as well, and the woman who checked the car drove us to a bus stop for the FlyBus.

We obeyed all road signs and never took the car onto F roads or 4x4 areas. If I were doing this trip again I would have definitely saved a bit more money and reserved a 4x4 vehicle. We enjoy exploring (and both have owned Jeep's back in Canada). It would have been great to explore more, even though we feel like we saw a tremendous amount of Iceland!

rented a vehicle in July 2016
Submitted 19. Sep 2016
Excellent
Super nice service og good cars for icelandic roadtrips.
rented a vehicle in July 2016
Submitted 22. Aug 2016
Outstanding!
we had a toyota rav instead of the announced dacia duster, this change was absolutely no problem, it worked well the whole three weeks, we were very happy with this car. at home we have a smaller car for us five people, so it was a really good feeling to have enough space.
rented a vehicle in July 2016
Submitted 17. Aug 2016
Outstanding!
We choosed the option to get our Dacia Duster delivered (and returned) to our hotel, it was very convenient. The car was perfect for me and my wife since we aimed to go around Iceland on road 1 with some detours. Since we had a 4WD we werent afraid to meet the steep gravelroads at some of our detours. The only "problem" we got with the car was that we almost went out of diesel where it was longer distances between the gas stations. When we found a gas station (on the fumes we belived) we still had about 5 litres left. If/when we return to Iceland we probably will use northbound again.
rented a vehicle in July 2016
Submitted 17. Oct 2016
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in July 2016
Submitted 29. Aug 2016
Outstanding!
i have make a good trip but i 'm not satisfait because the car have the right window broken and i can't use them! It's not normal to have a car with a window broken...
rented a vehicle in July 2016