Reviews for the Best Car Rentals in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for all companies
Submitted 30. May 2019
Excellent! We saw four different species, including a humpback feeding near the surface! The hot chocolate was a bit optimistic given the conditions though.
Sebb hathaway rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Very friendly and well organized. Lovely sailboat, all around good atmosphere. We saw multiple whales.
Gondolf 20int rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Great experience and super organisation. The staff is nice and prepared, during the excursion we have seen whales even if it is not the best month.
Claudio belleri rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
The guys on the Boat (Sven and Mar) are awesome. Even on a rough sea they find the whales. We had such a good day and a lot of luck to see as well a Minke-Whale right in front of the harbour.
Go in guys, you do an awesome job on a unique boat.
Dirk benz rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Lovely boat and crew. It's a shame that we didn't see any whales but there was still a lot to see on our trip
Adam peake rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Es un yate muy grande.La tripulación es encantadora.Tienen bar y dos baños,y como es grande si pasas frío fuera puedes estar dentro sentado.Yo no pude ver ballenas(nadie te lo puede asegurar) pero sólo con la vista de la costa desde lejos y los pájaros estuvo genial,y más cuando ves al capitán con todo su entusiasmo buscar y buscar.Te recuerdan a cada momento que si no las ves vuelvas sin pagar de nuevo.No lo dudes, éste es tu sitio
Laura de la rosa rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Wir haben heute einen wundervollen Nachmittag auf diesem tollen Schiff verbracht. Auf unserer knapp dreistündigen Tour haben wir Reykjavik vom Wasser aus gesehen und konnten eine Gruppe Delfine beobachten, die unser Schiff eine ganze Zeit lang begleiteten. Ein absolutes Highlight. Der Trip war sehr entspannend, auch deshalb weil hier im Gegensatz zu allen anderen Anbietern von Wal- und Delfinbeobachtungen nicht auf Massentourismus gesetzt wird, sondern das Erlebnis im Vordergrund steht. Gehen Sie ruhig die paar Meter weiter, vorbei an den Massenanbietern. Es lohnt sich bestimmt. Die Crew ist nett und auch einem netten Gespräch nicht abgeneigt, wobei man nochmal ein paar zusätzliche Informationen und Tipps für seinen Aufenthalt erhält. Alles in allem ein toller Nachmittag. Vielen Dank. Unbedingt empfehlenswert.
Christian richter rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Már ívar henrysson rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
What a great way to see the power of mother earth, fascinating structures created by the lava. Ice stalatites and stalagmites were an unexpected surprise and the sparkling bacteria on the roof of the cave. Also never experienced darkness like it. Well worth a visit.
Lynsey gathercole rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
We had so much fun on this tour through the tunnel! Our guide was very knowledgeable. I consider this my favorite part of my trip! Would recommend to anyone!
Tracy hallo rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
The standard tour was a very enjoyable experience, and easy to walk. We also got to experience total darkness. The guide was good. My guess is the 'extreme' tour might be a little long and you get to see much of the same as with the standard tour. It's also a dead end so it's the same way back.
Vebjørn ohr rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Great guide through the tunnel and an experience i will remember forever. Loved it a lot - if you go there, please remember to respect the tunnel and what is contained it in
Kyle brooker rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Standard venue is short - maybe 500m of tunnel. The lava tunnel is very interesting including the guide man. His speach is full of facts said in interesting and funny way.
Rudolf pazdernaty rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
We had such a wonderful on our Thorsmork and Golden Circle tours! We were looking to go on small group tours and are so glad we went with Activity Iceland. On our Thorsmork tour their were 9 people total, including the guide, and on our Golden Circle tour it was just us and the guide. We are grateful they didn’t cancel, because we experienced that with other tour companies when no one else was booked. We saw the coolest sites and everyone we talked to was so nice! If we ever go back to Iceland we will definitely book with them again!
Darden grubb rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
I booked the Þórsmörk tour from Activity Iceland and had an incredible time. Gisli, whom was my guide, was friendly and highly knowledgable about the area. Being in the Super Jeep and going through some of the glacier run-off rivers in Þórsmörk to some less accessible areas was a highlight of my trip. Definitely ask for Gisli when booking your tour.
Michael jenks rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
We are on the plane back to the US as I write this but I wanted to take the time to say thank you to Activity Iceland for a wonderful trip on Monday, September 10, 2018, when we took the Silver Circle Super Jeep Tour. Magnus was our guide, and I would recommend you request him. Magnus is a native Icelander who has been in the guiding business his entire life, and it shows. He is the real deal and although the vehicle and scenery were impressive having a guide like Magnus is what really made the trip. If you are contemplating another company just stop! Activity Iceland is the way to go, professional and they truly care about your experience you are not just another number.
Vanessa rice rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Norbert zohó rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
David olson rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
We had a great morning doing wet & dry suit snorkelling with Adventure Vikings. Luis & Ivan were very knowledgeable and helpful. Excellent equipment. A must do adventure for those not afraid of the cold!
Kate armstrong rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
We had such a good experience. We did snorkeling and the golden circle tour. Long day but worth every hour. Iceland is amazing and our guide was such a nice guy. Snorkeling was a once in a lifetime experience and I would recommend it to everyone. Please be aware that you do need to feel comfortable in the water cause it's not like a warm swimming pool ;) The dry suits are tight but they really keep you perfectly dry. Thank you so much for this awesome trip!!
Jitske kingma rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
I had rented some surfboards and wetsuits last time I was in Iceland. Adventure vikings couldn't have been more helpful. Between the office coordinating pick ups at there wearhouse for added convenience, the friendliness of everyone I dealt with, and the determination to customer satisfaction. They couldn't have been better.
After renting from them I left a pair of personal wetsuit gloves at there shop outside downtown Reykjavik. I had returned my car at this point. The owner personally drove them into town and made big efforts to personally give me back my gear. It was above and beyond. I would say you are well taken care of when dealing with adventure vikings and will certainly be using there gear or taking a tour with them in the future.

Thanks again guys.
Kfoley rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Adam and Luis were great guides, my wife and myself highly recommend booking with Adventure Vikings if you wish to snorkel at Silfra.
Nic butler rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Excellent customer service. One of our friends backed out last minute, and Adventure Vikings was very understanding and gave us a refund for her ticket. The rest of us went ahead with the excursion, and we had a blast! Adam and Brindis were awesome tour guides and made sure we were properly fitted with our equipment. Towards the end of our tour I struggled with my snorkel not clearing properly, and not a second later Adam was there to help out! Definitely recommend this company for future excursions. Great service and fun crew!
Nica liamzon rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Excellent campground that is in a great location in North Iceland. Easily accessible, but private in a beautiful spot along river. Facilities were clean and geothermal hot tub was a huge plus. Sign in the foyer of guesthouse that a large company wants to dam their rafting river and flood part of the valley the campground is located in to create hydroelectric power facility. Support this great campground and business, hope the natural beauty of this area isn't ruined!
Matthew johnson rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Amazing campsite, very private, quiet and really clean facilities. Plus the heated tubs and pool was nice!
Girlintree샤 rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Can not begin to say enough good things about the river rafting. It was fantastic. We took the “family tour” and it was perfect. Enough adventure and slow pace.

What made it over the top was when we pulled over for hot chocolate. Our guide got the water from a hot spring out of the mountain. It was unbelievable.

The guides were kind and gave us feedback and asked about us.

If you are in the area, go. It is very much worth it.
Christopher bloor rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Amazing rafting trip. Even with 2 novice rafters who were quite nervous. The instructor and guides took their time to make sure everyone understood all directions and safety procedures. 10/10 would reccomend and do again. Not only were the rapids fun to tackle, the scenic views inside the canyon were incredible. A nice bonus was some hot soup at the end and a dip in the hot tubs at the guest house.
Greg st. germain rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Campground is not open before summer, even in mid May. The lodge portion is open, but for some reason not the campground. The website doesn't mention closure of the campground which makes it more frustrating. Call before driving out here.
Caleb killer rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
This is byfar the best tour I have been on in my life
Jón hilmar kristjánsson rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
We really enjoyed this experience. This is definitely a rustic tour but we were able to really be free on the ATV. The course was definitely challenging but this was what made it awesome. I would highly recommend this for anyone looking to get away from commercial tours and experience Iceland on ATV. You will get to see some wonderful views of Reykjavik and you will definitely have an adrenaline rush!
Monika blacha rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Very proff ATV compagny, small groups with excellent guide. Pickup from Reykjavik and low price. I have ride though other compagnies in Iceland, but this was the best 5 ***** Kim Copenhagen Denmark.
Verner christiansen rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Ewa pienkowska rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
We had a blast with Christian. I definitely recommend taking a tour with him.
Dan c rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Absolutely worth it! A wonderful way to experience the stunning beauty and joy that iceland has to offer. So much more than than just any excursion. These guys have a passion and wonderful way of sharing that with others. Thank you to our guide for making the time spent here an inspiration! Anything you're thinking of doing in iceland, do it here, and if you can, do it all!
Emmy santana rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
This is an amazing northern lights tour in the Lake Myvatn area. Our guide knew exactly where to go. We went to several beautiful locations. He was incredibly informative not only regarding the lights but also told us about the culture and was friendly. We got lucky and had an almost perfectly clear night with a lot of aurora activity. It was breathtaking.
Vicki churchwell rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
We took both the 3 Waterfalls Tour and Northern Lights Tour. Our guide was amazing. GeoTravel is not your regular Tour Operator. They are way much more. Not only did we see the sites, but during the drive we learned about the history, land, culture, and the people of Iceland. At each site, our guide helped us with photography tips and helped us take much better pictures. We can't wait to go back and explore more of Iceland with GeoTravel
Jim samuelson rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Well worth braving the cold walk to pool
Margaret bell rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Hands down best travel company in Iceland! Intimate tours with extremely knowledgeable staff. Highly recommend.
Natalie st. john rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
We highly recommend Gateway to Iceland.
We have done a promotional video for them and the tours are amazing.
Very knowledgeable guides and very well organized.
5 stars!
Rogue & roman visuals rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Wonderful Golden Circle & Secret Lagoon tour! Great communication and pick up. Our host Gunnar was very knowledgeable about everything Iceland and a real character! Really added so much to the day. An absolute gent! We had a superb time and the Secret Lagoon was the perfect note to end on! Thank you so much!
Chris payne rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Had a blast with the Hot Golden Tour, and felt we got all of Iceland in a nutshell! In addition to it the guide was knowledgeable and friendly, and mixed the historical and geographic facts with enough of quirky fun facts to keep it entertaining the whole trip!
Erlend ks rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
We did the Glacier Lagoon tour with Stefan as our guide. He was charming and very knowledgeable of the local attractions along the way and some folklore stories.
He even "arranged" for a lovely weather, both when we got to the Waterfall on a snowstorm and a lovely sunny afternoon when we reached the Lagoon and the Lava beach.
It's a whole-day trip but well worth it.
I highly recommend it for getting to see a bit more outside Reykjavik.
Mari yian rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
I went on a day-tour to Jökulsárlón. Not only were the landscape and the attractions where we stopped just wonderful - our tour guide Ian did an excellent job. This tour is long, but a very good choice, absolutely recommendable!
Eduard fraile rented a vehicle
Submitted 24. Jun 2019
Our guide Eleanora was the best! She was so funny, sweet, and helpful. Very patient and thorough. Explained everything that would happen before and answered any and all questions. Made everyone feel very comfortable. Also took great pictures during the tour. Would definitely recommended the Silfra Diving Tour, and Eleanora in particular!
Erica rensing rented a vehicle
Submitted 24. Jun 2019
Awesome team. Very patient and accommodating. Their gear is very good. I will definitely dive with them in my next visit.
Juan pablo barbosa rented a vehicle
Submitted 24. Jun 2019
We had a fantastic experience. Our guide, Deyan, was extremely professional and fun. This was an experience we will never forget! Also, for people afraid of being too cold, we were not cold. Not at all. The dry suits were not difficult to put on, and they functioned perfectly to keep us very comfortable. Highly recommend Dive. IS!
Ann terry rented a vehicle
Submitted 24. Jun 2019
AMAZING EXPERIENCE! Unfortunately due to strong winds our first date was cancelled (safety always first) everything was done to fit us in as our schedule was tight for free time to book us back in. we did our tour 2 days after with Jonas-such a great guy! From start to finish he made us feel safe and comfortable but made sure we had an epic time in and out the water. He was very thorough making sure our equipment was 100% for each individual. Took great photos of us as a family and the whole thing was very chilled and we weren't rushed at all. Communication with questions etc was also very quick and professional.

Definitely use these guys and 100% do this incredible bucket list thing! You won't go home disappointed.
Kaz read rented a vehicle
Submitted 24. Jun 2019
We bought walking and climbing tour with them. The guide named Pete is super friendly and nice. He gives us a lot of info. Small group only 5 people. We all enjoyed the tour. Really recommend
Chanpen teeranon rented a vehicle
Submitted 24. Jun 2019
This trip was amazing. So exciting, fun, educational and breathtaking. It is a trip everyone should do at least once. This trip has inspired me to want to do more.
The guides are true experts - Hendrick was amazing - to be and to tell you stories, folk lore, trackable markers. Show you real inside views and to be make you feel like friends during the hike.
The hike:
It isn't short, nor is it a walk in the park but it also isn't impossible. It is definitely worth it. The views you see, the humbling you feel when you are on the glacier and feel the cold strong winds, to feel the ice to see the clarity of such dense solid ice.
If you visit Iceland take a hike on a glacier and go with them.
Larry cosentino rented a vehicle
Submitted 24. Jun 2019
A wonderful guided tour. Pete took amazing care of our group while teaching us a lot about the park.
Sean brady rented a vehicle