Reviews for the Best Car Rentals in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for all companies
Submitted 20. May 2019
Outstanding!
Amazing experience
Probably you make this tour just once in a life time. Nice and instructive. Clear explanations by nice guide.
Wageningen750 rented a vehicle
Submitted 20. May 2019
Perfect!
Into The Glacier was a great experience , we leaned a lot about a glacier to how they form and their purpose. It was great going on top of the Glacier and then going inside! I would highly recommend.
Jfriia86 rented a vehicle
Submitted 20. May 2019
Perfect!
Into The Glacier was a great experience , we leaned a lot about a glacier to how they form and their purpose. It was great going on top of the Glacier and then going inside! I would highly recommend.
Jfriia86 rented a vehicle
Submitted 20. May 2019
Outstanding!
A MUST-DO EXPERIENCE!!
This was a once-in-a-lifetime tour that I personally think you CANNOT MISS!!! You can even get MARRIED THERE!!!! Who knew!!!???? You are taken care of from the min the tour begins to the very end. They supply you with warm gear if you are not quite dressed for the tour and provide boot covers to keep your feet warm. This in itself was brilliant because you don't always have the proper footwear and certainly don't want to continue your journey with anything wet. They were accommodating to a little girl who was getting some motion sickness as well. I cannot say enough about this tour! EXCELLENT!!!!!
Heather k rented a vehicle
Submitted 20. May 2019
Perfect!
We did a puffin tour followed by a whale tour. There were a ton of puffins at the end of June and we could see them clearly on the island and flying past. Our guide was very knowledgeable, friendly and funny. For whales we got to see three of the four common types (didn't see a humpback whale). Almost all of the whales and dolphins end up near the front of the boat. The top front was packed so we braved the waves and went to the lower deck and had great views of the animals. The day we went out was calm and sunny so it was a delight to be on the water. I recommend this company and just know that you need to be in the front from the start and you will deal with pushy people.
Rachelr235 rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Outstanding!
Our group of five took an ice cave tour through Troll Expeditions in March. We had a wonderful time and our guide, Boris, was excellent. He answered all our questions and showed us the best spots to go for pictures. This tour was well priced compared to similar tours I saw online. I would highly recommend!
Alexandra abram rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Perfect!
Awesome opportunity to see the land off the regular roads, learn about the region, land and the harsh volcano/glacier, and finally to see the amazing creation of nature carved in the massive ice of the glacier. The company of an experienced guide with deep knowledge and skills adds a great amount of value to any trip. Definitely recommended
Michal masek rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Outstanding!
Thanks to Sarah for a great hike and climb. Our younger kids had a blast climbing the ice walls. What a wonderful guide, thanks for the memories.
K nichols rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Outstanding!
We took a day tour of Snaefellsnes. We had a small group (12 people), and very funny tour guide/bus driver - Victor. Very beautiful locales, and incredible views. Weather was great, and we could see icecaps and glaciers in the distance. The trip covers alot of distances, and be ready to do some climbing and lots of walking to fully enjoy the tour. Highly recommended it.
Ariel tamayev rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Outstanding!
We did the Crystal Blue Ice Cave | Super Jeep from Jökulsárlón. We went January 10, 2019. It was amazing. The tour guide (can’t remember his name) was wonderful and very funny. We booked through Iceland Advice and received 10% off. Just be aware that it is not exactly like the photos. You don’t go deep into an ice cave. At least not on the tour we went on. Maybe call Troll directly and see if they have a specific tour like that. Nonetheless it was gorgeous. See pictures below. Also if you’re claustrophobic beware. There is a portion where you explore into the ice through a very narrow path.
Sheldor e rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Perfect!
Recommended!!! My friends and me chose to visit iceland for a photographic travel. We couldn't skip the glacier hike! It was an astonishing experience thanks to the guidance of troll Expeditions team! I will never forget this incredible experience.. We walked on the glacier, looking for caves and listening to Siggie (the super guide) telling us all the curiosities about the glacier story and how Icelandics live this beautiful country! I strongly suggest you to reserve one of the expeditions they provide! You won't regret it at all! Last but not least, you don't have to bring special tools, cause they can give you all you need.
Nicoletta boscarelli rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Enjoyed the golden circle and south coast tours with "your day tours" at the end of March. Both Kevin and Oscar provided stacks of information and humour throughout the days. The tours were so much more enjoyable on a minibus rather than a large coach. We got to places more quickly, it didn't take as long for everyone to get on/off and the itinerary could be changed depending on the time available. Both hosts (NOT drivers - they were SO much more than that) used every available minute to ensure we got the most from the trip. We never felt rushed at any of the stops and the local food and drink samples were a great little extra treat! I would strongly recommend anyone wishing to book an excursion to book with this great little company. May it go from strength to strength - without changing too much!
Bev wiseman rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
We just got back from the golden circle tour from our hotel in Reykjavik.
We were picked up on time and greeted by the very funny Kevin. Kevin told us about the training he'd done for rescues and it was apparent when he drove us through a storm! He kept us entertained the whole way and was very informative at the different points of interest. They even gave us some Icelandic delicacies and music to get a real feel of the culture. Would definitely book with them again! A very safe bet.
Thanks guys
I r rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
We had two tours with Your Day Tours. Both days were great, our guides Kevin and Al were informative, good fun and Kevin did a fantastic job driving through a storm. Pick up was so convenient, right outside our door. Excellent way to get a sense of what Iceland has to offer, highly recommended.
Kath glock rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Our tour guide was friendly and funny, as well as being informative. I had an excellent time, and would definitely recommend this to anyone visiting Iceland.
Keara murray rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Thoroughly recommend this tour company. Highly professional and great staff. Golden Circle tour was good and interesting, with many stops to see the beautiful scenery. Highlights were the geysers, walking through the chasm created by the tectonic plates (the only place in the world that you can actually do this!) and also the Icelandic horses and sheep. The minibuses were very comfortable and they only hold 18 people, so the group was small. I also really enjoyed the Icelandic music!
Andy bruce rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
This is truly a once in a lifetime opportunity. The hike wasn't too bad even with the cold windy rain. We were welcomed by staff at base camp with water, coffee, and hot chocolate! We made our decent and it was truly beautiful. Afterwards we were served some delicious soup before heading back to our departure location. The cost is a little high in my honest opinion, other than that thoroughly enjoyed my experience.
Chris caslake rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
You'll pay an arm and a leg for this and it's worth every penny. It's a nice, casual two mile walk from base to the volcano. We went mid-September and were lucky enough to get some sunshine on our walk. We were also lucky enough to meet their local fox pup who had made his home at the top of the volcano.

Once at the top, you'll descend for about five minutes. Once inside... It's incredible. Pictures cannot describe it. This must be seen in person. It's a once in a lifetime experience.

After about 30 minutes, you ascend from the belly of the beast and go for some hot soup.

Again, they charge an arm and a leg... Worth it.
Lloyd mullen rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Worth the investment! As far as I know, there's nowhere else on earth like this. Just breathtaking. The fresh lamb soup at the end is a nice touch. This is a once in a lifetime opportunity.
Paul czubryt rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Worth the price, very unique experience to get lowered into a volcano. If you're thinking about it, just do it. We went at the tail end of the season and the hike was slushy and a little rougher than I imagined it should have been. Definitely worth dressing warm for.
Tony nunn rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Fun tour and explanations of what we were looking at. Be prepared for a bit of a hike. 3km each way. Mostly flat until the base of the volcano and then a short, semi step climb to the lift that lowers you down into the volcano about 400 meters. Was fairly cold down inside. Dress warm.
Mark valentine rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
My girlfriend and I took the trip up at the end of April. Even though our tour was filled, Tina (our guide) did a fantastic job making us each feel welcome and maximizing our time to and from the glacier site, as well as our time within the glacier itself. Definitely worth the price tag if you have half a day!
Steven griffin rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Amazing experience. Totally unique and enjoyable. Kids (2 and 6) loved it also.
Paul betteridge rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
So amazing! Worth the money. Definitely dress warmly though, you're in ice. Definitely one of the coolest things I've ever done. And our guide Bear (or God Bear as his name translates to) was so informative. Really knew what he was talking about.
Cassie diceman rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Everything about this trip is awesome - from the NATO middle carrier which you travel up to the glacier in, to the fascinating and slightly surreal experience of being tens of metres underneath the surface of a glacier. If you are lucky, the views from to the top are absolutely amazing too. The guides speak extremely good English and are clearly very passionate about their jobs.
Travis bramley rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Great fun for the whole family. Professional and very friendly guides. I would recommend this experience to both locals and people visiting Iceland. My kids had an awesome time.
Asgeir hoskuldsson rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Great Adventure! Beautiful views! Nice experience! Super friendly staff
Ekaterina maximova rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Really enjoyed it! Reuben is a great guide, very chilled out. Would definitely recommend doing this. Perfect if you go in the evening when it’s bright if your tour in the morning finishes early. Or if you go to the blue lagoon for one half of the day and this for the other half as the location is just 5 minutes away and they pick you up. Thanks again!
Maurice dunne rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Absolutely amazing. We were made to feel very welcome, we saw some amazing sights. Absolutely the best thing we've done while we've been here.
Mazzie cain rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Awesome! My wife and 8 year son (sitting in the back) loved it! :-)
Gunnar steingrímsson rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Very easy, no fuss. Equipment worked great. Scenery was unreal in terms of beauty. Staff were extremely knowledgeable and friendly and fun
Cody buchanan rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
I recently took 2 tours with Bustravel Iceland. I'd give 1 star for the Northern Lights tour, and 5 stars for the Golden Circle tour - so I'm giving them a 3 overall.

I booked the Premium Northern Lights tour for the evening of 30 January 2019. We drove out to the national park, and after looking at an unimpressive grey glow along the horizon (not terribly different from the light pollution coming from Reykjavik), our guide decided that though it was technically the northern lights, it was not good enough to be considered "legal" lights, and so we could re-book. We stopped on our way back at our initial stop, and the light was marginally better - we briefly saw a flattened "U" on the horizon. We stopped once more on our way back to town, but no luck there. Because of the slightly better lights on our third stop, our guide decided that we had now technically seen enough northern lights activity that we were no longer eligible to re-book. I agree with the other folks on the bus whose first words on our departure were "unlucky". I understand that we were out to see a natural phenomenon, and so can't count on anything, but more so felt unlucky that the bar was set so low that we weren't able to try again. I would try with another tour operator for the Northern Lights.

On the other hand, I did the Golden Circle Tour with guide "Snow" yesterday, and he was excellent. I would highly recommend that trip, and cross your fingers that your guide is Snow!
Heather smith rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Matthew and Lucas is a amazing pair of tour guide for our Southern Tour. Super engaging and he equipped us with local knowledge, forklores, many many fun facts and jokes. He also took many beautiful pictures for us. We couldn't ask for a better guide. Matthew is definitely one of the best Tour guide I ever experienced in my many years of traveling. Continue the good job, Matthew and Lucas! Thank you for making our trip so enjoyable!
James li rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
We took the Grand Golden Circle tour. Simply excellent, with our funny and knowledgeable tour guide Rokkvi. Staff were very nice, and we recieved a lot of information about the places we stopped, and several different stories about other things as well. Highly recommended
Teitur vestergaard rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Booked 3 tours with them (golden circle, southern island and northern lights). Booking was easy, pickup was well organized and tours were great. Also the tour guides were really nice and had a lot to tell. Can really recommend them!
Felix frantzmann rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
I went on both whale-watching and northern lights tours. Their boats are spacious and comfortable, so even if there is a lot of people you do not really feel it. They also provide pills in case you feel sick on the sea, and my guides were nice and willing to explain any facts and answer any questions!
Eduard fraile rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Great experience. We saw dolphins and whales. Very environmentally conscious. We were hoping to see some puffins.
Shaun cooney rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
We used this service for their Northern Lights tour and was lucky to see one of their best shows this winter. So informative for the couple of hours we were out there the staff were constantly telling us new information about the lights and Iceland. We might be biased because we saw such an amazing show but I would really recommend this company for Northern Lights tours!
Rosie springett rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Excellent! Very knowledgeable guide, she gave us lots of in depth information about the whales, as well as what they do to conserve and study them.

I felt very safe for the whole duration of the trip. The boat was very sturdy and I felt the captain was in full control of the vessel.

We were incredibly lucky that day as there were quite a few whale, porpoise and minke sightings! It was very exciting!
Railey bailey rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
The best company to go whale watching.
We've been in March and the weather was amazing. Megan was our guide for the day. I couldn't have asked for a better guide. She knew so much about Iceland and the ocean and the animals it was so interesting to listen to her. Very well organized trip.
We actually saw whales! But even if we didn't, I would totally recommend this company for you trip!
Dany mii rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Very nice and frendly horsefarm, i can recomend anyone to go on tour with Eldhestar
Christer alexandersson rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Great
Mateusz witoszek rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
The riding group could have been smaller. I guess, I could have been able to continue riding, if there had been any chance (=time) to take a deep breath, very deep one
Sari virtanen rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
So friendly! (The people AND the horses) :)
Lori roes rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Had a great experience, took 2 tours with them, both were perfect.
Coppola sb rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
I am so glad I didn't read any reviews prior to booking! It seems there may be a little issue with their airport transfer service but read this review if you are planning any day trips with them! We chose this tour company because they had a pick up/drop off service to hotels on the outskirts of the city centre, which was perfect for us. We were given a pick up time and a small minibus took us to their main depot to catch a larger bus to start our trips. The first trip we took was the South Iceland And Black Sand Beaches. This was a full day trip but our 2 children (5 and 3) managed this easily as the stops were set out so well over the day. I will not spoil the experience and say everything you will see but it is well worth it! The second trip we took was the Golden Circle And Secret Lagoon. Please pay the extra to go to the Secret Lagoon as it is a very relaxing end to the day (there is an allocated 2 hours at the Secret Lagoon which is a perfect amount of time)! Their transport services are so slick....buses always waiting to transport you and people who had seperate aspects of their day booked had transport ready and waiting for them. The tour guides we had were AMAZING....they were hilarious and informative and they made our children feel so special and included. We spent this time in Iceland for our 10th wedding anniversary and these tours were a brilliant way to see some incredible things! Children under a certain age are free and I think the cost of the adults was extremely reasonable!
Michelle murphy rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
On my visit to Reykjavik, my group sought out this place. You see, we came in May and, even then, nighttime wasn't particularly dark. Knowing we would miss seeing the aurora, this place provided some nice visuals. Sure, it was an also-ran but it was enjoyable and informative, nonetheless.
Neal dixon rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
So glad we went. Interesting. They showed us how to set up our cameras to get the Aurora lights. Thanks or we would never would have gotten the pics!!!
Betty newton rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
There are free coffee and water at souvenir shop. Good collections of all things aurora for gifts and memory. Helpful staffs.
Sl tang rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Fun to visit. Learn about the Aurora on your own pace. Fun photo opportunities inside. Includes VR at the end.
Robert turner rented a vehicle