Reviews for the Best Car Rentals in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for all companies
Submitted 30. May 2019
We came as a group for the RIB Boat tour. It was WILD!
The feeling of speeding on the waves, the wind on your face, the beat in your ears and total control of your equilibrium... I strongly recommend it!
Dimitris nikolopoulos rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
My fiancé and I just topped off our 8-day stay in Iceland with a 2-hour ATV tour with Össi, and we can easily say that it was the highlight of our trip! What a wonderful experience. Black Beach Tours is family-owned and really goes the extra mile. They had coffee and refreshments available on arrival and after our tour, provided all the necessary gear (including balaclavas), even had interesting family photos on the wall. They went out of their way to make our experience memorable, Össi was very knowledgeable and took the time to stop along the tour to point out interesting sites and to offer information on Icelandic history. He even took plenty of amazing photos and videos of us and was kind enough to send them to us free of charge. The tour itself was outstanding, amazing views at every turn and Össi takes your ATV experience and comfort level into consideration when choosing a route. We cannot speak highly enough of this experience and this company! Anyone who wants to have a unique, exciting experience in Iceland absolutely needs to check out Black Beach Tours (and don't even bother looking elsewhere, since their prices were honestly the best that we found).
Lindsay c rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Where do I begin! This tour was absolutely perfect from start to finish. Black Beach tours are an incredible tour operator on the Reykjanes peninsula, located in a coastal town on the south called Þorlákshöfn.

Dealing with Ossi and staff throughout the booking process was a breeze, with Ossi going the extra mile in answering many different questions I had about our trip to Iceland. He even made a few trips to local stores to see if they sold the fuel I needed for my camping stove before we arrived (and managed to locate it!).

Our tour was to begin the morning after our arrival to Iceland, however Ossi gave us a call in the afternoon of our first day, advising us that because the weather was so good right now, and looked bad the following morning, he would recommend that we come and do the tour right away. We took his advice and it was the best decision we could have made - we had such clear beautiful blue skies and it made the views on the tour absolutely magical....and ensured we had the black sand beach to ourselves with the sun setting.

The tour itself was so much fun - those ATV's are awesome and the route Ossi takes you on.....well, you will not believe it unless you do it!

Do not hesitate in booking a tour with these guys - worth every penny and more!

We also stayed one night in their own Guesthouse - a beautiful place to stay and again, highly recommended (I'll review the guesthouse separately).

Ossi - you are a true Gentleman and I thank you again for such a fine service and experience! We WILL be back.
Dave cane rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Black Beach Tours went above and beyond our expectations! It was by far the best experience we spent money on during our vacation in Iceland. They have an incredible setup for preparing you for the trip. We were equipped with high quality gear and offered refreshments both before and after our tour. Our guide was absolutely amazing, personable, and safety-conscious. We did a RIB ride and it was both beautiful and an adrenaline kick. Our guide took pictures and sent them to us afterwards, which wasn't even advertised as a thing. (So awesome!) They bent over backwards to accommodate our tight timeline for booking a tour. Black Beach Tours is family-owned. Even some of the pictures in the waiting room were of the owner's former experience as a captain of a fishing boat and his family. Bottom line: We compared trips with other tours and found nothing close to what we got with Black Beach Tours. Black Beach Tours is an incredible value for the price. Check it out.
Celestina jolley rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
We took the Black Beach ATV tour on a whim when other plans didn't work out. We were very glad it turned out this way, because it was awesome! Ossi from Black Beach Tours was a wonderful host and guide. We liked it so much, we came back 2 days later for the 1 hour Black Beach RIB Boat Tour. That was wonderful too!

The facilities and equipment were great. The full body suits and warm apparel they provided were awesome. Ossi was so hospitable and they provided drinks and snacks as well! It was great to learn so much from them as part of both tours! Hight Recommend!
Mike ohlsen rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
William lam rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
The food walking tour was our favourite day in Iceland. Thor was such a great guide. Knowledgable and friendly. We tried some great food - not sure about the chocolate rose at the end which seemed a bit random but the rest was fantastic.
Hannah edwards rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
My family recently took the Reykjavik Food Tour and it was a wonderful way to get familiar with both the city and local cuisine. Our guide, Woody, was friendly, knowledgeable, and fun, and everyone was talking about the food even days later. We had someone who ended up having to join part way through the tour and he was so accommodating and understanding, it saved the night for our group. Elisabet worked with us on several questions beforehand, and was incredibly kind and responsive. Wake Up Reykjavik even helped with a recommendation and reservation for a special restaurant for another night of our visit. I would highly recommend both the tour and the company!
Erica rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Our party did the walking food tour. Our guide Ben was very informative and made sure everyone had a great time. Restaurant selection gave us a wide variety of local foods. Glad I spent the afternoon on this tour!
Fat roger rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
My husband and I went on the bar crawl with Wake Up Reykjavik our first night in Iceland. It happened to be the Culture night in Reykjavik so everywhere was very busy but our guide (Hara) was lovely. It was her first time hosting the bar crawl and she did a great job making sure everyone was comfortable and having lots of fun. She even took us to a good spot to watch fireworks before the second bar which was a great experience. We were having such a good time we ended up staying out to 4 am with fellow bar crawlers. Thank you Hara and Wake Up Reykjavik for an unforgettable night out!
Grady james parker rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
An absolute must do! Did the food tour with Daniel as the guide. Had an amazing time! The group was fantastic and a perfect size. Lots of wonderful conversations getting to know the other tourists and their experiences so far. Daniel is an incredibly gracious and warm host, dispensing all sorts of fascinating and funny knowledge about the city as we walked from one amazing little meal to another. Very highly recommend this!
Marta wajngarten rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
I vacationed in Iceland during the first week of March 2019. What a beautiful country. The best part of my vacation was the Katlatrack Glacier Tour. This is something that you have to do if you are ever in Iceland. Our guide (nick name, Bessie) was awesome. He made the trip a really fun adventure for us. He is a knowledgeable, local guide, proud of his country with lots of stories and folklore. He likes to joke around and have fun. If you do only one tour in Iceland, this one should be it. I will visit Iceland again and will book other tours with Katlatrack.
Herster10 rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
We loved our Ice Cave tour. The guide was friendly, funny, and very informative. The group size was perfect, with around 6 or 7 of us, and they work with other groups to time the tours so that we were alone for a while on the glacier. I would use them again and highly recommend.
Jamie tobey rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Best trip and tour! Katlatrack really provides the right experience of Iceland. Small enough group, fantastic guide/driver (Bessi) and of course, amazing nature. But to truly enjoy this nature one truly needs the right guides, and Katlatrack offers that to a T.
Patricia bluestein rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
One of the best experiences I had while traveling through Iceland.
The tour guide had plenty of knowledge (local guide) of the place, let everyone be confortable and telling local stories.
Really recommend.
Cássio luisada troiano rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
I do live sailors. I have been trying to find them since shenmue on Dreamcast!! So glad I can put this to rest.
Burn after reading rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Very fun tour. We saw two whales and then a whole bunch of dolphins. Our tour guides were wonderful and informative. If you’re going to do a whale watching tour in Iceland, I’d definitely recommend Reykjavík Sailors. Even in August, it’s a bit cold and very wet and there is no guarantee that you’ll see whales (wild animals and all). The crew will certainly try to find some.
Suzie townsend rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
On our recent and amazing trip to Iceland, my boyfriend surprised me with my first ever helicopter ride. It was the best way to see an incredible country and we loved every minute of it. Reynir, the pilot, was very professional and competent with a great deal of knowledge about Iceland. Fridgeir, who organised everything and then acted as our guide, was charming. We can't thank you both enough for such a fabulous trip and we can't wait to come back!
Liv mather rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
I flew with Reykjavik Helicopters as a photographer. The experience was Excellent. We covered the whole south coast of Iceland.
Jon gustafsson rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
See my full review on Trip Advisor. But this company provides an amazing half day tour.
Lisa gokhulsingh rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
We dropped in on these guys last minute, our last day in Iceland and they were able to accommodate us - and what an amazing trip we took! The pilots were professionals but fun and super informative. I felt safe and well taken care of, and best of all my girlfriend and I have amazing vacation memories that will last a lifetime!
Jason olivero rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
My husband and I booked the Geothermal Adventure tour with Reykjavik Helicopters and we couldn't have been happier with our choice. Thorir, the Sales Rep we dealt with via email before the flight was quick and thorough in his responses. He also picked us up on the day of the flight and he was very friendly and efficient. David, the pilot, was also very friendly and knowledgeable, he pointed out many features of the landscape on the way and allowed us plenty of time at the stop to explore. We highly recommend this company to anyone looking for an amazing experience.
Amanda rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
My girlfriend (fiance after the tour!) and I had a great time on the Reykjavik Summit tour. The team at Norðurflug was super helpful; our pilot Solveig was especially awesome. She's a very talented pilot and gave us a great tour of the city with a landing in a lava field and she even took some amazing photos of us.
Eric stevenson rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
the best team ever!!! and the best way to know Reikiavik
Marco samaniego rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Great pilots, wonderful service, great team!
Mateus dressler de espíndola rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Traumhafte Helikopter Rundflüge mit fantastischen Helikoptern. Freundlicher Service und einmalige Erlebnisse. Unbedingt zu empfehlen
Thorsten hansen rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Artur jensson rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
A really interesting, self-guided tour amongst life-like models of these majestic creatures! Very informative and immersive. Great for adults and kids of all ages. Set in quite an industrial part of town, may need a map to find it!
Tree mccauley rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
The museum is great. It has full size replicas of the whales, you feel so small stood next to them. My son who is 5 loved it. Big open space to run around, very informative and educational. Would definitely recommend it.
Ayesha khaliq rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Life size models of whales, family friendly. Audio guide is a must to fully experience this museum. A bit pricey for the short time you will be there.
Stephanie vranizan rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Quick and pleasant. Definitely if you got kids. Friendly and helpful staff. If you do the hop on hop off it's one if the stops.
Jason murphy rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
What a wonderful tour!!! We highly recommend this amazing experience! Our knowledgeable and kind Captain and crew were so attentive and pleasant! We saw puffins, caught some Cod and then watched our Captain cook a scrumptious feast for us. Thank you again for these wonderful memories! Stéphanie
Stephanie doyle rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
A great trip. Fishing and Puffins.
Family crew very knowledgeable.
Professional and friendly from the outset.
Loads of fish caught. And heaps released given we caught enough of a few different types to enjoy an amazing lunch.
Would throughly recommend.
Brendan maher rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Your guide and captain were lovely. Binoculars provided were very helpful. We had the poor luck of being the last Puffin tour of the season which means we hardly really saw any puffins. Most of them were gone. As a result we sailed to the two islands, checked out the area and pointed to the few puffins still hanging around and came back. Definitely would not recommend you do this in the last half of August.
Suzie townsend rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Sympathetic Captain and crew Anna. Friendly atmosphere on board, a small group of guests. Beginners got a lot of help, so that really everyone caught some big fish: Cod, haddock, sea wolf... Every two minutes someone caught something. Afterwords delicious barbecue on board!
Abo voyage rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Such a great day! We had so much fun and caught enough fish for everyone to take some home even after lunch. Got to see some puffins nesting on the way out. Both crew are very friendly and always helping so you can drop your line straight back in. 10/10!
Chris shoben rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Within minutes of setting out we saw a humpback whale. It kept coming up and we had many views. So lucky. Saw masses of puffins sadly you need a long lens to photograph them.
Jacqueline james rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
We had an amazing trip with North Sailing in March and were lucky enough to see a pod of Orcas! Fantastic company would highly recommend! Can’t wait to come back :)
Laura hooper rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Excellent! We saw four different species, including a humpback feeding near the surface! The hot chocolate was a bit optimistic given the conditions though.
Sebb hathaway rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Very friendly and well organized. Lovely sailboat, all around good atmosphere. We saw multiple whales.
Gondolf 20int rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Great experience and super organisation. The staff is nice and prepared, during the excursion we have seen whales even if it is not the best month.
Claudio belleri rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
The guys on the Boat (Sven and Mar) are awesome. Even on a rough sea they find the whales. We had such a good day and a lot of luck to see as well a Minke-Whale right in front of the harbour.
Go in guys, you do an awesome job on a unique boat.
Dirk benz rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Lovely boat and crew. It's a shame that we didn't see any whales but there was still a lot to see on our trip
Adam peake rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Es un yate muy grande.La tripulación es encantadora.Tienen bar y dos baños,y como es grande si pasas frío fuera puedes estar dentro sentado.Yo no pude ver ballenas(nadie te lo puede asegurar) pero sólo con la vista de la costa desde lejos y los pájaros estuvo genial,y más cuando ves al capitán con todo su entusiasmo buscar y buscar.Te recuerdan a cada momento que si no las ves vuelvas sin pagar de nuevo.No lo dudes, éste es tu sitio
Laura de la rosa rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Wir haben heute einen wundervollen Nachmittag auf diesem tollen Schiff verbracht. Auf unserer knapp dreistündigen Tour haben wir Reykjavik vom Wasser aus gesehen und konnten eine Gruppe Delfine beobachten, die unser Schiff eine ganze Zeit lang begleiteten. Ein absolutes Highlight. Der Trip war sehr entspannend, auch deshalb weil hier im Gegensatz zu allen anderen Anbietern von Wal- und Delfinbeobachtungen nicht auf Massentourismus gesetzt wird, sondern das Erlebnis im Vordergrund steht. Gehen Sie ruhig die paar Meter weiter, vorbei an den Massenanbietern. Es lohnt sich bestimmt. Die Crew ist nett und auch einem netten Gespräch nicht abgeneigt, wobei man nochmal ein paar zusätzliche Informationen und Tipps für seinen Aufenthalt erhält. Alles in allem ein toller Nachmittag. Vielen Dank. Unbedingt empfehlenswert.
Christian richter rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Már ívar henrysson rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
What a great way to see the power of mother earth, fascinating structures created by the lava. Ice stalatites and stalagmites were an unexpected surprise and the sparkling bacteria on the roof of the cave. Also never experienced darkness like it. Well worth a visit.
Lynsey gathercole rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
We had so much fun on this tour through the tunnel! Our guide was very knowledgeable. I consider this my favorite part of my trip! Would recommend to anyone!
Tracy hallo rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
The standard tour was a very enjoyable experience, and easy to walk. We also got to experience total darkness. The guide was good. My guess is the 'extreme' tour might be a little long and you get to see much of the same as with the standard tour. It's also a dead end so it's the same way back.
Vebjørn ohr rented a vehicle
Submitted 30. May 2019
Great guide through the tunnel and an experience i will remember forever. Loved it a lot - if you go there, please remember to respect the tunnel and what is contained it in
Kyle brooker rented a vehicle