Reviews for
Car Rentals in Iceland

11275 Reviews

11275 reviews for Car Rentals in Iceland

Verified reviews from our customers that rented a car on Northbound

Submitted 29. Aug 2019
They advertise they would pick us up from the airport however they were not there when we arrived and we had to call them to get them to show up. When we got to the rental agency we had to wait in the waiting area for over an hour. Mechanically the car was reliable and didn’t give us any problems. The “camper” was a converted station wagon and had insufficient sleeping space in the back for anybody over the height of 5’6, there was much less space than was indicated in their advertising pictures. The rear and side doors were broken and not openable from the inside (which is probably dangerous) we had to climb through the front seat to exit the vehicle in the mornings. We would not recommend anybody to rent from wild campers, Nordic campers or city car rental. (They are all the same company)
Mei ling rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 28. Aug 2019
Outstanding!
Anonymousgajlfom22l rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 31. Aug 2019
Good
The car was good, though the steering wheel was a bit shaky at speeds between 70/80. Furthermore the roof tent was fine but during windy and rainy weather, water came insight and it became wet. In addition, the cooking stove was not really working properly as we were not able to adjust the flame. These are some small drawbacks concerning the equipment - would be good if these would be fixed for the next customer. But in general we are satisfied with your service.
Robert rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 29. Aug 2019
Good
The experience in general was good, a part from two things. I suggest customer to check every optional included in the booking before leaving: we received only one gas canister instead of the two booked. When we checked everything, we were already in the north and not every shop sells the brand campingaz: the third night we couldn’t cook (I don’t think the gas canister they gave us was new and full, but already opened and new). I suggest the company to check the car before give it to new customers: while we were in the north, it has been signaled by the car the absence of AdBlue: the car would have stopped in 1000 km. We had to go to the first “N1” shop to get AdBlue refill. Fortunately, the assistance was really good and they always answered us in short time
Michele mario rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 25. Aug 2019
Outstanding!
We were with 6 people and we had a very good experience with the Ford Tourneo from Nordic Car Rental. Spacious and comfortable. It took us everywhere on our two week tour through Iceland. Pick-up and check-in in Keflavik was good and very friendly. Drop-off in Reykjavik very quick and easy.
Jantine rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 26. Aug 2019
Outstanding!
We had a great experience with Lava Car Rental! They picked us up at the airport when we landed and quickly got us in to our car. I booked the car for noon, even though we landed at 10am (oops), but they were able to accomodate us and get us a car by 11:30. We enjoyed our Dacia Duster. It was the perfect size for 2 people (no more than 2 especially if you have a suit case or 2 each) and was a 4x4 so we could tackle the dirt roads along our adventure. It was a manual car, as most are in Iceland, so make sure you understand that before booking. I recommend getting the windshield insurance as there are lots of rocks flying everywhere and you will most likely need it. When we returned our car, the Lava team quickly inspected our car and took us straight to the airport. It was an easy, quick experience and all of the employees were very friendly and helpful! Their prices are also the best around!
Taylor rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 16. Aug 2019
Outstanding!
The Suzuki Vitara was a great choice for exploring Iceland.
Dale rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 24. Aug 2019
Excellent
It was a good car
Paola rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 27. Aug 2019
Outstanding!
My Experience with Northboud was nice because I could compare different rental agencies and choose the most convenient one from a logistic and economical point of view. My experience with Lava Car Rental was satisfactory because I got an almost new Dacia Duster, very clean both inside and outside, I got useful information when driving close to Akureyri about the need to pay the fee in advance to use the tunnel (in this way it could spend less money).
Diego rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 30. Aug 2019
Outstanding!
Very good experience. The car was very good. We enjoy it a lot. It has a lot of room for the luggage and it is a very comfortable 4x4 car
Dudu rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 29. Aug 2019
Outstanding!
We rented the Ford Focus camper for a 10 days trip around (the amazing) Iceland. It was perfect, no issue at all. It is easy and comfortable to drive, low fuel consumption (6.7 L /100 km for a 2500km trip) and the facilities are very handy (wifi, sink with water, fridge, heater, gas strove). It was our little house for 10 days. Furthermore, Gudmundur Bjarni was very helpful and kind with us. He replied each and every question we had before and during the trip. We strongly recommend it!
Albert rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 22. Aug 2019
Outstanding!
Gervais rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 22. Aug 2019
Excellent
Good service. Quick. No issue at return.
Amelie rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 26. Aug 2019
Good
The vehicle has 120000 km and many scracthes or damages, then we were not sure to have seen all the defects before taking it and were a little worried before return it. Fortunately, Nordic Car Rental seems aware of this fact and does not try to involve us in unseen damages. Considering the vehicle itself, I think it is limited to some F Road and not all due to a limited distance between the ground and the body. In particular, we have avoid tracks with river crossing or rocky path due to this feature. I think I should have rent a real Jeep 4x4 in order to be confident on F Road. Nevertheless, the car works well, we have no troubles and to summarize we are well satisfied of this rental car.
Philippe rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 15. Aug 2019
Outstanding!
After my plane was late and it was the middle of the night, I called for the shuttle and was promptly picked up. The car was serving it’s purpose of getting us around, and the drop off and security deposit refund went smoothly as well. Very great customer service. Highly recommended for Iceland explorers. The gas discount was a nice touch on top of everything!
Pia rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 24. Aug 2019
Outstanding!
Good people where rent a car and good car
Alberto rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 07. Aug 2019
Outstanding!
Wolfgang rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 06. Sep 2019
Excellent
Good car, rugged and really reliable to use. It was a good experience, never did we have any problems throughout our journey. It was in good condition as well
Suhayil rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 28. Aug 2019
Good
Renting a Nordic Camping van has been the perfect choice for our Icelandic vacation, giving us the freedom to plan our itinerary day-by-day. The van had the perfect size for travelling, much smaller than a normal camper, and we found it suited for our family of 4 adults even though some adaptation is required. The van was a bit old but it was ok. Shuttle service from/to airpot has been perfect, as check in and drop off procedures, very gentle staff. I would only suggest to add a table as basic equipment.
Giorgio rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 26. Aug 2019
Outstanding!
The car was perfect and the staff was really nice and helpful. Easy check-in and check-out.
Federico rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 19. Aug 2019
Good
Car was all good. They should remind you when car is due. After a long series of flights, details slip. Took 1 hour to get ride to airport after drop off and they need better office maintenance. Trash overflowing all cans and in bathrooms.
Anne rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 21. Aug 2019
Good
We had An upgrade with a tucson which worked Just fine and It Was delivered to Us earlier.
Francesca rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 18. Aug 2019
Good
Hi , On the whole was pleased. The Subaru car was good. When we arrived we were disappointed that we had to wait 40 mins plus to get a shuttle to the car office. The the driver had to take some people before us , so we just had to sit around at the airport. Other than that it was fine . We chose Lagoon for the car and price .
Andrew rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 22. Sep 2019
Good
The car was fine, just as we expected. We dind't like the service though The guys we met as at the airport of Reykjavìk weren't welcoming at all, and they gave us the impression they were working by using the least efforts they could..
Laura rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 19. Aug 2019
Good
We were met at the airport at the agreed time. We didn’t get a Hyundai i10. It was burning oil and Lagoon suggested that we take some oil with us. We declined this car. Lagoon gave us a Kia Picanto instead. This was fine but the delay cost us half an hour of our holiday. Both cars were covered in scratches so at least we didn’t have to worry about that. The car had done 100,000km already so not even remotely new...The staff were really pleasant. On returning the car everything went smoothly except that the shuttle driver was stressed. We got halfway to the airport and then turned around and went back to pick up some more clients so this took much longer to get to the airport. In the end we arrived in good time but only because we arrived at the car hire place in lots of time.
Christian rented a vehicle in August 2019

Why book through Northbound?

Best Price Guarantee

If you find the same vehicle from the same supplier elsewhere, we'll match the price with no added or hidden fees

No Hidden Fees

We do not add any fees on top of your final price, what you see is what you get!

Free Cancellation

We will cancel your booking on request, no questions asked, provided there are more than 48 hours until the pickup date.

Customer Support

We deliver fast responses to your queries with a very high customer satisfaction rating

Dispute Support

Should a dispute arise between you and the supplier, we serve as an intermediary between the two of you, guaranteeing you a response and a conclusion to the issue.