Reviews for
Car Rentals in Iceland

12284 Reviews

12284 reviews for Car Rentals in Iceland

Verified reviews from our customers that rented a car on Northbound

Submitted 13. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
Me and my girlfriend went on a trip around the Ring Road and had no problems at all with the car nor the service from Northbound and Star Car Rental. When we arrived in the airport in Keflavik at 00.30 AM Star Car Rental were ready to bring us to our car, and provided us with good information according to the different rules about driving in Iceland as well as where to camp around the Ring Road.
Bjarke rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 20. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
Your service for pick up and bring back to Air port was excellent. Very friendly people and easy doing booking. Quick reply and easy copmmunication. Highly rcommented to book via northbound.
Peter rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 20. Jul 2020
Good
Eleonora rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 25. Jul 2020
Fine
I cannot say much about northbound since it forwarded me to the final company where I rented the car, in this case Lava rental. My review about Lava rental is a bit mixed, some good things and some other ones not so good: 1- When I arrived at the airport there was no one there to pick me up. I called them and they arrived in something like 10 minutes. I understand this since they are taking customers back and forth all the time. 2- When I arrived to their offices they treat me well and was attended quickly which was good. The whole process took about 15 or 20 minutes. The car had a few bumps but I guess it's more or less normal for a 4x4 car. 3- The Dacia Duster 4x4 was quite good for driving in roads and F roads but inside cities and towns the first and second gears are two short so it makes driving a bit inconvenient. This is just related to the brand and model and not at all about Lava rental cars but next time I will choose a different car. 4- The passenger window was not working properly. I brought it down once and when I wanted to close it the button was not responding properly. I thought I was not going to be able to bring it up again. This was quite inconvenient for me since I was not able to use this window at all for the whole trip. Lava rentals should warn the customer about this before taking the car. 5- The gps available in the car was utterly useless. I was very annoyed by this. The map was quite outdated and they didn't include F roads. Once I asked for a direction to get to a place about 100Km from where I was, on normal roads and not F roads, and it was sending me around the whole Iceland to get to that point. I could not trust it's directions so I had to use my personal phone and phone connection and data to be able to navigate. You should not advertise this car as having gps since it is useless. 6- The usb sockets available in the car were not powerful enough. I plugged my phone to charge it but since I had to use my phone to navigate the socket was not powerful enough to navigate and charge at the same time. All the battery that was loading was being used to navigate so I was not able to charge my phone when driving. I found this extremely annoying. 7- After a couple of days driving I got a warning sign in the car dashboard. I found out it was related to the pressure of the tires. I got quite worried and went to a petrol station to check the tires. They seemed to be ok. When I called Lava rentals they told me the sensor on the tires doesn't work properly and this problem happens all the time. If this is the case they should warn the customer before taking the car so you don't get worried and had to deviate from your route to solve the problem. 8- Last thing is, the car seems to lock all doors after a few seconds of closing the driver's door. I got worried that if I went outside and the wind closes the door when the key was in the ignition it will lock me out and I won't be able to get in the car. I guess there is some kind of sensor that prevents this but they should also warn about this or how to disable it. I could have also called them to find it out and I didn't so it is partly my fault as well. regards, Enrique
Enrique rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 23. Jul 2020
Excellent
Everything was super nice, from the car itself to the customer service. Only minor complaint was the sleeping bags (which were otherwise great quality), they had a strong unpleasant smell of detergent the first couple of days.
Jakob rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 13. Jul 2020
Fine
I got a Dacia Duster, because a Vitara wasn't available. I had some trouble with that car, 2 days different failures were shown in the pilot monitor which removed the next day again by itself. Who knows why... The first failure was worst...because it wasn't possible to blink left and right. The renter was informed about these failures. Besides that I was very satisfied with the Service of Icelandrental4x4. Also tue roof tent was great and so I had an amazing trip in Iceland.
Stefan rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 29. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
Good car. The only one problem was the doors from the luggage- unfortunately not very good and all our luggage on the finally very dirty... The mirror from the left was broken from the beginning.
Florin rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 15. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
Thanks for the good service and help, when I needed it. Everytime again.
Tatjana rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 16. Jul 2020
Excellent
Because i am too tall, we upgraded to a Suzuki vitara which was great. The car was amazing and had everything you need for a 13 days roadtrip through Iceland!
Sam rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 24. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
My experience with My Car Rental and the Toyota RAV4 GX was excellent. They picked us up at the airport and drived us to the car. The contract was correct as expected) and we were not forced to take extra insurances (what often happens in the US). The car was also the car that we had choosen on the internet. The car was new (5000 km) and luxurious. We had no troubles during our tour. The drop off was also easy, just give the keys at the hotel check in and that's it. We received a reduction of 10% on the rates of the B&B hotel in Keflavik. (The last hotel before returning in the early morning). We were happy to have choosen MyCar Rental.
Jan rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 16. Jul 2020
Fine
Good service and no problems with the driveability, but the car was a bit worn from many years on the icelandic roads. The windshield wipers couldent wipe off the water from the windscreen and the doors couldent hold them selves open. When the roof tent was popped up and it was raining the inside foam in the top was getting wet, which caused the sleeping bags was getting wet too. I will deffitnetly not recomend this tent in bad weather.
Lars rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 20. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
Everything was great. The people at Lagoon were very friendly and promptly picked us up and dropped us off at the airport. The car itself worked great and was in good condition. We had no problems with it. I would be happy to rent via Northbound and Lagoon again. Also, we had to change our plans a few times due to the airline changing our tickets from COVID. Northbound was very understanding when I needed to change our rental dates because of this and didn't add any hidden fees or rate changes because I needed to change dates. To me, this is a sign of a good company that I would be happy to use again as not all companies are so flexible. Nothing is more frustrating than having to argue with a company to change reservations for reasons out of your control (like flight changes from the current COVID pandemic).
Jared rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 24. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
I rarely leave reviews, but those guys deserve one. In a nutshell: 1. Exceptionally friendly customer support. Our flight home was cancelled and we had to return the car good 10 hours later than the agreement time. They okayed that on the phone and didn't charge extra money. 2. We got two flat tires. Yes, day after day. We split the costs with LCR even though our insurance didn't cover tires. 3. They don't care for minor chips or dust. That's the way to do honest business.
Piotr rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 11. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
I had a great time in Iceland, driving around with my three children. The car was perfect for our needs, and with the roof tent we could all sleep in or on top of the car. The service from both Northbound and Camping Cars was excellent, and when going back to this beautiful country I will use your services again. With love, Christina
Christina rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 12. Jul 2020
Good
Var was overall as expected, except transmission did not shift up before +4000 rpm Service was great, and choosed you bevause of Price and good rewievs
Bjørn rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 09. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
We had a brand new car with. Everything was perfect. The pic up was very fast - we got the key and could drive away. The Toyota was great - strong and comfortable, no problem at all in the highlands. Very good tieres It was fun to drive. The return was also very quick. We could hand over the key and could take the shuttle to the airport.
Giovanni rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 09. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
We enjoyed very much our experience with the Dacia Duster. Comfortable for two, versatile, a good drive overall. As a little tip: nights can be rather cold without an overnight heated cabin: 2 sleeping bags + 1 blanket is required Northbound was of great help even when we changed our reservation 4 hours before arriving.
Pascale rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 31. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
Awesome! Nice & clean - perfect for Iceland. And comfortable on long journeys - Thor and all at Star were super helpful & communication was quick & concise. Will definitely use them again!
Mike rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 20. Jul 2020
Excellent
General experience was very good. Booking via the website was straightforward and easy; prices were very good. There was some mix-up when picking up the car (in the confirmation it said we had to pick it up at Harpa, but it turned out that we were meant to pick it up elsewhere), but that was all sorted very well and quickly. Also the initial car had a problem with starting, but that can be understood after the covid-19 period where it may not have been used (much). That too was sorted very well. Contact on the road was also immediate and helpful. Pick-up at the end went smoothly.
Carien rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 17. Jul 2020
Good
Instead of the Toyota, we got an Honda CRV 4WD and automatic transmission, the car itself was ok. When starting our journey, we got a warning, low tire pressure. We returned immediately. Icerental was aware of it and told me, it is a false warning and simply reset it, the warning will come on again after a while. Indeed next day same warning after a drive of more then 200km, but by precaution I checked the tire pressure and found one tire at 20psi i.s.o. 33psi. Contacted the company and they proposed to get it repaired. Since than, no more warnings. Icerental just repaid the invoice and offered me a return trip downtown Keflavik. They could have been a little more proactive, a lot of people would end up with a broken tire and got an hard time to repair it.
Jan rented a vehicle in June 2020
Submitted 10. Jul 2020
Good
Smaller than expected, but finally big enough for my trip.
Stephan rented a vehicle in June 2020
Submitted 15. Jul 2020
Good
Positive : My land cruiser is new and very confortable, is a good choice. Transfers airport are ok Price is ok Negative : We wait more than 1h for prepare the car. I send SMS because 1 tyre is broken on the way, never answer.
Thierry rented a vehicle in June 2020
Submitted 12. Nov 2020
Outstanding!
Everything from start to finish was excellent. It was an unusual time (in COVID June 2020) but also a great time to drive the wilderness and meet Icelanders. The car and roof-tent were in good condition and everything was explained clearly by friendly staff. I managed to cross the Koljur route with Midnight Sun and 4 days of sunny weather (rare in Iceland!) and swam in many hot-pots too. The midge screens on the tent worked very well at keeping out the wee beasties and the Suzuki Jimny coped very well with gravel roads. Takk fyrir allt !
Graham rented a vehicle in June 2020
The Supplier Response:
Dear Graham, Thank you for this great review. We are happy to hear that you had a great time in Iceland and that you our service at Icerental4x4. Best regards Team Icerental4x4
Submitted 09. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
We enjoyed our trip with this Suzuki Jimmy and slept well in the rooftent on top of it!
L. rented a vehicle in June 2020
Submitted 22. Jul 2020
Good
Suzuki Vitara it's a perfect car for road trip on normal roads (paved) and not too bumpy mountain roads. The car is not very high to face real mountain roads The car was recent and well equipped as an option. the checkin and checkout were easy. I recommend and would try to use the same company again on a future trip
Samir rented a vehicle in June 2020

Why book through Northbound?

Best Price Guarantee

If you find the same vehicle from the same supplier elsewhere, we'll match the price with no added or hidden fees

No Hidden Fees

We do not add any fees on top of your final price, what you see is what you get!

Free Cancellation

We will cancel your booking on request, no questions asked, provided there are more than 48 hours until the pickup date.

Customer Support

We deliver fast responses to your queries with a very high customer satisfaction rating

Dispute Support

Should a dispute arise between you and the supplier, we serve as an intermediary between the two of you, guaranteeing you a response and a conclusion to the issue.