Reviews for
Car Rentals in Iceland

12284 Reviews

12284 reviews for Car Rentals in Iceland

Verified reviews from our customers that rented a car on Northbound

Submitted 10. Jun 2017
Outstanding!
Really good
Andres rented a vehicle in May 2017
Submitted 03. Jun 2017
Outstanding!
We were actually given an upgrade to a "Duster". WThe car went well, wad comfortable and reliable.
Donna rented a vehicle in May 2017
Submitted 12. Jun 2017
Outstanding!
We had a brand new Caddy Camper and everything worked out really well. We also wanted some extra chairs, which was also no Problem for Logoon Car to organize. Really good communication und nice staff!
Eva rented a vehicle in May 2017
Submitted 07. Jun 2017
Outstanding!
Excellent and very professional service: friendly approach, time for picking up rented car and return at airport according to time scheduled on reservation, good advices and price for car quality. I recommend IceRental and rent a GrandCherokee 4x4 for discovering Island.
Clement rented a vehicle in May 2017
Submitted 13. Jun 2017
Excellent
Pick up and drop off was good except we had to wait for someone else at the airport who hadn't seen the pick-up sign that the man was holding as they came out of the airport - maybe a bigger,clearer sign may have been helpful. Car met our needs well.
Chris rented a vehicle in May 2017
Submitted 16. Jun 2017
Outstanding!
Very pleased, will recommend. Easy online booking, excellent communications from Northbound. Lava Auto Car: Airport pickup was perfect. Car rental process easy. Car in excellent shape. Staff very nice. Get the feeling of trust from them. Decided to return car day early to avoid 5AM car return to airport or to Lava office (special arrangements could have been made for lift to airport). We could have left the car at airport with keys in it, but we prefer inspection and sign-off before leaving country (years of experience!). They could accommodate either option, given they are not located at airport. Need lots of time at KEF airport as it is a madhouse at 5AM :-)
Andre rented a vehicle in May 2017
Submitted 18. Jun 2017
Outstanding!
Orange Car Rental is amazing. We were greeted at the airport with no wait. Once we were shuttled to the rental car place we were helped by a gentleman who was friendly and very helpful. He gave us a map and highlighted places to go and even wrote down places to visit and eat. We will definitely be renting from them again in the future!
Brandenn rented a vehicle in May 2017
Submitted 11. Jul 2017
Outstanding!
Amazing
Diego rented a vehicle in May 2017
Submitted 03. Jun 2017
Outstanding!
Great service, smooth pick up from the airport and was able to drop off in parking lot at airport for our early flight out. Would rent again if I go back to Iceland.
Brian rented a vehicle in May 2017
Submitted 08. Jun 2017
Fine
We hated it. It was worn, rattly, need a thorough cleaning inside & out, not just a quick wipe down & vacum and did not give us confidence. It had food crumbs in every crevice although it had been vacuumed it needs a quick dry paintbrush sweep of them to just make the next user not feel uncomfortable. When we received the car my comment to the rental agent was this car is a piece of crap. He said this car costs $14,000 here... The passenger front floor mat was worn completely through with a 12" tear. Transmission slipped occasionally and smelled going up long highway hills, rear wiper was missing, cruise controls was broken, rear hatch would not open so we had to drag luggage out thru the seats, air conditioning did not work, heat only came on thru the windshield upper area, so you could not warm or dry your feet. Something rattles underneath the car as soon as you go over even a slight bump. It had dents, dings, window glass chips. We have 2 older cars at home that we drive & keep them clean and well cared for, so it can be done. We felt cheated out of places we would have liked to go. We paid extra and rented a 4x4 and not a sedan so that we could access the many places we had read about without worrying about the car. We stayed off some dirt roads that were being used by sedans because we did not trust the car. All we did was worry that it would break down. I would NOT rent from this company again. We had to drive like we were in an old worn out sedan, and should have been charged for that. With insurance & the rental is was over $1000, for the 11 days.
David rented a vehicle in May 2017
Submitted 31. May 2017
Outstanding!
We had a good experience with Thrifty (via Northbound). We took a quick shuttle from KEF to Thrifty and within minutes we were on our way. Clean, capable car. No issues. I would use your services again!
Jane rented a vehicle in May 2017
Submitted 06. Jun 2017
Good
Our general view was good. There could though be more information on how the car is picked up from the airport. The person coming to take us to the car rental place had already picked up another group and we had to wait at the airport. If possible, the person meeting the customers could wait everyone. Alternatively if there are bigger groups renting a car, there should be more personnel coming to meet them.
Isa rented a vehicle in May 2017
Submitted 06. Jun 2017
Excellent
This car worked out very well for our journey. Although we did pick the cheapest option, I felt that the car didn't need to be super special for what we were going to do. We started along the Ring Road and extended some of our adventures to places like Borgarfjörður Eystri, Þórshöfn, and Siglufjörður. We did not take the car on any F-Roads, but did find quite a bit of gravel and other dirt roads. This just meant taking it slower and easier. The car was just enough space for two people and camping gear. I would recommend the same vehicle for anyone interested in doing a similar trip.
Tyler rented a vehicle in May 2017
Submitted 31. May 2017
Outstanding!
Great price, good service, easy transaction. Recommended for a trip to Iceland!
Brian rented a vehicle in May 2017
Submitted 02. Jun 2017
Outstanding!
We were allocated a Kia Rio car which was wonderful, a 2016 -2 wheel drive model, easy to drive, six gears so fuel efficient, a screen display when reversing, heated seats (lovely on a cold wet morning) and even a heated steering wheel which was very nice in May. Lagoon were wonderful. They met us within 5 minutes of exiting the terminal at KEF and took us to their depot to sort the papers and there was no pressure at all to try and increase the various insurance extras. We dropped the car off the previous night to what we had intended and they drove us and our assorted boots, bags and baggage to the hotel without any fuss. I would certainly recommend and use them again. Please also thank them for the free maps.
Gabrielle rented a vehicle in May 2017
Submitted 14. Jun 2017
Outstanding!
we booked online and someone collected us from the airport. The employees were courteous and helpful. Registration and taking the car out was very quick and efficient. We had any problems at all during all the journey (3 weeks - 5000 km). my overall experience is very good. Thanks!!!
Daniela rented a vehicle in May 2017
Submitted 05. Jun 2017
Outstanding!
It was amazing: the service, the car, the information, everything was perfect!!
Cynthia rented a vehicle in May 2017
Submitted 29. May 2017
Outstanding!
The rental was great! We rented a Suzuki Jimmy with a roof tent and it was perfect. The tent was a great feature which made it easy to set up camp anywhere, but kept the rental affordable compared to the other camper vans. I would, however, only recommend this car for 2 people because it was smaller than expected. For light packers who bring an additional tent, three people may be possible. The rental process was very easy and all of the employees were very nice and helpful. I would definitely rent from this company again!
Nina rented a vehicle in May 2017
Submitted 28. May 2017
Outstanding!
The car and standard of it was as expected (and beyond) - everything worked fine with logistics (got Flybus-vouchers going there and taxi back) Minor things we experienced was that tank was only 3/4 full but we filled it up and got reimbursed. Found out at first night we'd only got bedware for 2 not 4 persons. The rental price was ok/good but some of the extras were a bit pricy (chairs et.c) All in all, good experience from booking through pickup to return.
Adam rented a vehicle in May 2017
Submitted 30. May 2017
Outstanding!
We had a great experience! Would definitely rent through Northbound again. Plus the price was the best we could find.
Gillian rented a vehicle in May 2017
Submitted 01. Jun 2017
Outstanding!
We had a wonderful trip to Iceland with Go Campers. We spent 10 days driving around the ring road and the camper had everything we needed and more! The inside was extremely comfortable, we were able to cook all meals with the materials provided, and we loved the flexibility that the camper provided us. The staff were very responsive to our questions and needs. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking to rent a camper!
Keri rented a vehicle in May 2017
Submitted 02. Jun 2017
Outstanding!
Everything went well. The car, a 2016 Suzuki Vitara, was very comfortable and handled himself very well. Company person was very nice. Great service. No complaints.
Goncalo rented a vehicle in May 2017
Submitted 09. Jun 2017
Excellent
Really enjoyable car to drive across Iceland.
Umair rented a vehicle in May 2017
Submitted 13. Jun 2017
Outstanding!
Great experience. We got the exact car we had asked for - giving us enough room for 4 with luggage. Pick up was easy - the shuttle driver called us and we told him we were delayed in baggage claim. He waited for us. Drop off was pretty easy. They did a very thorough inspection of the car upon return so make sure all dings and paint chips, etc. are noted before you leave the property. We had no problem. Friendly staff and saved quite a bit instead of going with the big name companies at the terminal.
John rented a vehicle in May 2017
Submitted 30. May 2017
Good
In general fine with some limitations: By pickup they did not know what flight we come with and how many persons, at least the driver who was supposed to pick us up. We had to wait 40 min to be be picked up from the airport, they were not prepared for so many arrivals. In spite of confirmation per e-mail, they did not change the car return date. Our camping kit did not contain any pots or pans  so we had to ask them to deliver it on the way. One car did not have functioning water pump and the cable for electricity connection was missing
Wojciech rented a vehicle in May 2017

Why book through Northbound?

Best Price Guarantee

If you find the same vehicle from the same supplier elsewhere, we'll match the price with no added or hidden fees

No Hidden Fees

We do not add any fees on top of your final price, what you see is what you get!

Free Cancellation

We will cancel your booking on request, no questions asked, provided there are more than 48 hours until the pickup date.

Customer Support

We deliver fast responses to your queries with a very high customer satisfaction rating

Dispute Support

Should a dispute arise between you and the supplier, we serve as an intermediary between the two of you, guaranteeing you a response and a conclusion to the issue.