Reviews for
Car Rentals in Iceland

12284 Reviews

12284 reviews for Car Rentals in Iceland

Verified reviews from our customers that rented a car on Northbound

Submitted 16. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
We were a group of 12 people and rented 3 Dacia Dusters. The cars were new and totally in line with their descriptions by the Co. We received an excellent support from Runar Thor even when we were still planning our journey, and would like to thank him dearly for all the efforts he put into making sure our trip went smoothly. Thanks for this!
Roberto rented a vehicle in March 2017
Submitted 16. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
Hi, our experience with Icerental 4x4 was very good. Thank you Davide and friends
Davide rented a vehicle in March 2017
Submitted 17. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
Loved the Dacia Duster, it handled perfectly on the icy, snowy roads. The heated seats and GPS were an added bonus.
Karmela rented a vehicle in March 2017
Submitted 13. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
Great! Comfortable car. We never had any problem. And we drove it during the winter. I was looking for the "perfect" car and also with the rental office located very close to the airport. I did not like the companies that were AT the airport. Northbound was 5mns away. We even got to leave the car at the airport on the way back which made it very convenient as we had to be at the airport by 500 am! Will definitively pick Northbound on our next trip. Also the price was very comparable if not a little bit cheaper.
Beatrice rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 16. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
Very good. Quick pickup from the airport for the short ride to the office. No problems with the Subaru and the return was fast and easy.
Stephen rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 13. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
Our experience with Lava Auto was incredible. The Dacia Duster was met our expectations and was as expected in the ad. We love our stay in Iceland and will recommand Lava Auto.
Celine rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 16. Mar 2017
I have the car for 16 days, and the car is generally fine. One of the staff is very unprofessional in the checkout process. I bought the most experienced insurance package, and the guy warns me that dent, suspension, etc. are not covered. I have rented cars around the world for over 30 years, what's the purpose of buying insurance if none of these things are covered. If they are not, I think it should stated clearly during my online booking, rather than last minute when I am checking out a car and cannot find any other alternative. The car has a faulty flat tire sensor which is on 20 minutes after I drove off the rental location till I return the car. I call the emergency hotline multiple times, no one answered and no one called me back. I was stuck in snow once and called the emergency hotline, no one responded or called me back. I called the downtown office. The agent told me, "I just worked here, please call the emergency line." Luckily, someone drove by and helped me out. I found them unprofessional and unable to help when I needed it. Northbound experience is good, it was fast and easy, but Icerental 4x4 was disappointed. Luckily, I didn't have any other trouble.
Jack rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 06. Feb 2019
Outstanding!
Fantastic Costumer Service! The camper van was amazing. It had everything you needed for along road trip around Iceland! Warm and Comfortable! Highly Recommended! :)
Reece rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 29. Mar 2017
Good
Hi, as it happened we were given a regular, not Grand, Vitara as arranged. Wondering now if some money should have come off the bill? Guys at the office were great, car was fine and was good to have after the giant snow dump on Feb 25-6.
Karen rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 17. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
Everything was great! The shuttle to and from the airport was convenient. Staff were friendly and helpful. The car was in great condition.
Natalie rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 13. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
Perfect. Simple efficient and issue solving.
Marius bella rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 14. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
We received the car we were promised (Toyota RAV4) during the booking. The car was clean, low mileage, no issues. Quite comfortable for 5 adults. Enough space at the back, no transmission bump in the middle, rear seats recline. Picked up and dropped at the airport as promised. Would recommend to others.
Vladimirs rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 10. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
Very good service, we happened to be collecting the car on Sunday 26th Feb when 50 cm of snow had fallen overnight. Icerental called and collected us from the hotel, they had dug the Vitara out of the show and warmed it up. We ventured off and had no issues despite the extreme conditions. All round excellent service and the vehicle was very good even on the icy/snowy roads.
Adrian rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 12. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
We recently rented a Dacia Duster from Lava Auto and had a fantastic experience!! From being picked up from the airport on time, to being guided through how the car worked, we felt that we were truly cared about. We would 100% recommend renting through them. Furthermore, the car was brand new and fully equipped to navigate the Icelandic terrain. Thanks for such a great experience!
Declan rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 23. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
Fantastic experience from start to finish. Upon calling on our arrival to Keflavik, my friend and I were promptly picked up from the airport and taken to the Lagoon Car Rental office, where our 4x4 sat waiting with winter tires (+ studs), as requested. The paperwork was quickly taken care of, and we were given ample opportunity to inspect the car for prior damage before going on our way. The prices seemed competitive/good for Iceland (the entire country is expensive--be prepared), and we opted for both gravel insurance and general insurance for an additional 24 euros/day. Northbound facilitated the rental procedure online and their website was both user-friendly and very straightforward without surprises. Highly recommend!!
Christianne rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 16. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
Everyone on staff was very congenial and professional - took care of us even though our plane had a flat and came in late. The vehicle was perfect. Small SUV crossover brand new with great STUDDED winter tires. We were there in February so still winter and did have some icy patches but didn't have any problems.
Brooke rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 13. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
My car rental experience with Lava was perfect. From pickup at the airport to drop off, I had zero issues. At first I was a little concerned because I'm used to booking with one of the bigger companies like Budget or Thifty but Lava proved to be no different when it comes to the entire process, which is a good thing because the price was great! No pressure during the initial paperwork and the Dacia Duster I rented from them was a great car. I'd definitely rent with Lava again.
Alexander rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 13. Mar 2017
Excellent
No one was waiting to pick us up at the airport,no note or message to explain why. Had to call a couple of times as staff advised they'd be there in 20 mins which turned into 50 mins of waiting. This resulted in us being late for our check in at the hotel and had to pay extra for out of hours check in. Car quality was okay, we didn't have any problems with that. Car return was quick too. Also, the car was not renault clio, it was hyundai i20.
Toma rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 14. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
I would totally recommend Rent A Wreck to rent a car in Iceland. Our car - a 4x4 Dacia Duster - was perfect for 4 people and had no problems, even not on snowy forest roads. A few minutes after our arrival a man from Rent A Wreck brought us to the car. Everything was fine. Thank you!
Martin rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 11. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
Very good!
Richard rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 17. Mar 2017
Excellent
Good. Contact by telephone was easy, practical and friendly. It was however a bit strange we had to leave the car at the airport, without somebody receiving the keys and checking the car.
Marcus rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 06. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
Icerental 4X4 met us at the airport as promised and following a very short transfer we were soon in our Grand Cherokee. Whilst not new the vehicle had good tyres and ran well. We were glad to have such a vehicle on the Sunday following the highest snowfall in Iceland since 1931. I would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a good value vehicle. In fact my daughter is visiting in June and will book with Icerental 4x4
Jeff rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 13. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
Góð þjónusta allt eins og það átti að vera. Var að vísu boðin auka trygging up á 15eur pr dag sem mér finnst heldur há. kannski miskilningur af minni hálfu. vissi ekki að tryggingar af einum bíl væri komnar upp yfir 600,000 isl. á ári.
Sigurdur rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 10. Mar 2017
Good
Kahe augusto rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 06. Mar 2017
Outstanding!
I can recommend Lava Auto without any doubts. Representative greeted us in airport and gave short ride to the office. Rental process went smoothly, no unneeded questions. We got relatively new SUV with very good winter tires. Also we got discount card for fuel.
Marius rented a vehicle in February 2017

Why book through Northbound?

Best Price Guarantee

If you find the same vehicle from the same supplier elsewhere, we'll match the price with no added or hidden fees

No Hidden Fees

We do not add any fees on top of your final price, what you see is what you get!

Free Cancellation

We will cancel your booking on request, no questions asked, provided there are more than 48 hours until the pickup date.

Customer Support

We deliver fast responses to your queries with a very high customer satisfaction rating

Dispute Support

Should a dispute arise between you and the supplier, we serve as an intermediary between the two of you, guaranteeing you a response and a conclusion to the issue.