3 star reviews for all companies

John from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2019 and rented a 2017 Subaru Forester

Hi there! well, how I understand this type of vehicles are used by a lot of people, so it's normal to find some problems with them. On my own experience the problem was vehicle age... even the engine, but again I understand how the people use this vehicles. Maybe the only think that I didn't like was the price for that type of vehicle.

Javier from Spain
Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2019

It was OK. The only thing was the lack of heater, which I asked about several times and was told it was not needed. Night time was HORRIBLE, trembling and shivering all night long. Not feeling your feet and hands was not a good feeling at all.

Jorge from United States
Traveled to Iceland in May 2019 and rented a 2018 Toyota Proace Verso

We had a good experience except for the brakes which were old and tired, and made a strange noise (we had an alert for that on board). I think it would have been a problem if we had to brake suddenly. To have Apple CarPlay was a good thing to use our phone as GPS and for music. Staff was friendly and fast. Good explanations concerning different insurances.

Audrey from France
Traveled to Iceland in Apr 2019 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

Pick-up staff was not very friendly. Felt pressured to take more insurance packages
One tire had a tiny hole that was not reported by the previous renter and was not noticed by you when renting it to us
Car itself was ok, some minor scratches, but good value for your money
Staff at the return-point was friendly and helpful

Ruud from Netherlands
Traveled to Iceland in May 2019 and rented a 2018 Dacia Duster

The car was great, and returning it was fine.
However, the guy picking us up was half an hour late from what was supposed; it was dark and he didnt check properly enough what dents are on the car, we found additional one and were left worried about it. Then another day we were about to make ourselves food and found that the gas stove was missing a middle part, making it completely useless and we spent a day trying to contact them about it and to find where to get one.

Aleksandr from Latvia
Traveled to Iceland in May 2019 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

Free Cancellation & Amendments

Renting from Star Car Rental was an easy process. The Suzuki Jimney is a fine vehicle for 2 people, even if it is a bit small. However, the rear tires had very little tread left on them, and we had a flat tire in the middle of "nowhere", which took us a while to change, since the jack didn't lift up the vehicle high enough to put on the spare. After that we were very hesitant to go anywhere, in case the other side went flat, and we had no spare. Also, the wiper blades just smeared the water and dust across the windshield, making it difficult to see at times. The right one had the tip coming off the blade.

R. Deedee from United States
Traveled to Iceland in May 2019 and rented a 2016 Suzuki Jimny

Very good experience but Insurance was quite unreasonable.

Aumkar from India
Traveled to Iceland in May 2019 and rented a 2013 Suzuki Jimny

Did the job and got us around the island safely. We had ordered specifically a vehicle that was listed as diesel as we knew the prices for diesel was cheaper in Iceland and we get better fuel mileage driving with one as we have diesels at home. But when we went to pick it up it wasn't a diesel and the guy made it sound like oh the prices were all about the same... NO!!! That was not the case everywhere diesel was at least 10 cents cheaper, we spent so much on fuel and constantly filling up ..the fuel mileage was crap. Pretty disappointed we paid for a vehicle thinking it was going to be exactly as specified on the paper work when we got it and it was not. So spent more money in the end.. probably wouldn't go back with Nordic

Naomi from Canada
Traveled to Iceland in May 2019 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

A guy waited for us at the airport and we traveled to the site. The car was clean and in good condition (te car has some dents).
Unfortunately, our car has an aftermarket fuel cap. Due to this any fuel was flowed out. We lost the front license plate, it would be nice to screw that. I hope my insurance will cover that. Actually, it costs 20.000 ISK. There is no boot cover so it was a little bit noisy. The base car floor mats are slippery and it's hard to press clutch. The tires were also overinflated (42-44 PSI instead of 31 PSI) so I have to setup TPMS (Tire Pressure Monitoring System). I didn't know was it intentional or not.

Attila from Hungary
Traveled to Iceland in May 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

The Rav 4 was an excellent vehicle but the service at Nordic was spotty at best, after two days of having the car we discovered a foul odour building up worse and worse each day. To the point where we had to return the vehicle to Nordic, the customer service was a painful experience as I was redirected to 3 different departments before they finally gave me another car. Unfortunately, the car they gave me was smaller than the original Rav 4 and apparently more expensive on top of it all. The issues didn't stop from there as the car we received reeked of a chemical odour to mask the gas smell that it was having due to a bad gas line.

Overall the price was not worth the service of the vehicles or the customer service of the staff. I tried to get clarification and talk to a manager but was never given anything until I paid for my rental in full.

Theodore from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Apr 2019 and rented a 2016 Toyota RAV4

johannes from Netherlands
Traveled to Iceland in Apr 2019 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

It got us around comfortably enough. The experience getting the car from Nordic was not ideal upon arrival. The car wasn’t clean, had puddles on the mats in the front seat. Windows were dirty, door was somewhat broken. The drop off experience was better.

Heather from Canada
Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a 2014 Suzuki S-Cross

It was a VERY used car. Doors wouldn’t stay open because the hinges were worn out. The rear wiper was total worn out and did nothing to clear the window. There was a noise that kept happening with breaking. But the car functioned properly the whole time and was reliable for us.

Stephen from Canada
Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a 2012 Honda CR-V

This time we didn't like the car. The car had more than 300.000 km, the engine light turned on after we started our trip and on the dors was the rubber really loose, so when it was windy, it cames inside the car too.
It was the 3 time that we booked over northbound but this time wasn't that good as the last times.

Silvan from Switzerland
Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a 2011 Suzuki Grand Vitara

We chose Nordic Campers purely because they were the cheapest we could find, and I suppose you get what you pay for.
It was not a bad camper van, it did the job, just don't expect anything fancy. It was an older and a bit beat-up Renault Trafic van. The equipment it came with was rather Spartan and a few more curtains and blinds would have been nice.
Having said that, we didn't have any mechanical problems with it and it got us everywhere we wanted to get to, and in fact we had a brilliant holiday!
I would recommend Nordic Campers for people wanting to do Iceland on a budget.

Aldert from Ireland
Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a Renault Trafic Camper

Free Cancellation & Amendments

The pick up part from the airport was a bit confusing as there were a lot of people with different signs. The driver from Icerental 4x4 was late, which caused some frustration. I would have liked to get an email in advance just explaining the procedure. Even though it’s probably stated somewhere we didn’t know about it at arrival (again my fault, but I’m guessing I’m not the only one with that experience)

The car wasn’t in tip top shape, with multiple chips in the windshield and some rust spots. But besides that everything went well.

I also found it weird that they needed to reserve the whole damage waiver amount on my card. I normally don’t have that much on my card and needed to transfer money around. I know that this probably is stated in the terms somewhere but I have never experienced it from other car rental companies.

I would give Northbound a good rating, but the service and car from Icerental 4x4 wasn’t the best

Thomas from Norway
Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

The vehicle was adequate but was very scratched and dented plus when we opened the front passenger window, it would not go back up automatically. all in all, it was a reasonable price so I was satisfied but I would not pay more for this particular vehicle.

Kevin from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a 2014 Suzuki S-Cross

Medium.

Goof things: the contact with northbound.is was the best part. The contact is really fast and very helpful.

Bad things about Northern lights car rental:
- When I booked with Northern Lights Car Rental, the company say that someone will are waiting for me in the airpot and we go directly to the office take the car. However, this didnt happen. We wait for 10min and no one showed, so I had to do an international call to discover what happen. After I found the employee, we had to wait for other flight (no one tell about this. We had an appointment and we arrived late because first no one from the company was waiting for us and after we needed to wait to other flight. We lost more than 30 min with this confusion).
- the car: was ok, but the left door wasn't good.
- problemas with the car: we have de CDW (damage insurance). According this insures, the car rental company is responsible for any accidents or damage that happens in the car...

helena from Brazil
Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

To be honest, it was a bit unpleasant experience for us because of couple aspects regarding the car rental. First of all, there was nobody waiting for us in the airport and waited around 30 minutes for any potential show up but there was still nobody. Then called the place and received an answer as "She did not see you so left with other customers." So we waited for her to come back to airport for additional 20 minutes. Second of all, We were charged for the mandatory insurance which was not mentioned neither on the website nor the rental confirmation email. It was literally unethical charge which was not pleasant experience for us. In addition, the behaviour of the agent also was not welcoming and the way of his explanation of terms and conditions was like an automated voice so we rather felt as if we are speaking to a robot. We believe that this company should review its customer service quality...

Annika from Estonia
Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a 2016 Toyota RAV4

Suzuki Jimny reviews were good but our car was older than expected. For our next road trip through Iceland we'll definitely go for a better car.
We sent the details of our flight, as requested during the reservation process, but no one was waiting for us at the airport so we had to call and wait for the pick up.

davide gabriele from Germany
Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Jimny

Lava car rentals didn't have any of our details when we arrived at the airport, it was just by chance that someone else was being picked up by them, the reason being is that we booked the day before and so wasn't as yet on the system?! Not good enough, however the driver sorted us out with a vehicle which was good, however the Dacia Duster was a bit of a brute!! ok I guess if you want a 4x4 on the cheap!!!

gillian from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Jan 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

cars are new and well maintain. but customer service needs to improve.

Pang Fei from Hong Kong
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

Can you please next time before you give a car (in this case our Toyota RAV4) to a customer to do a real good check:
We received our car and GPS was not working. (we received after insisting a Garmin)
We left direction to Reykjavik by day, but in the evening we find out that only one light was working (front –driver side) and the front fog lamps did not work.
Due to timing -because this was business trip to Akureyri -we didn’t had the time to come to back to Northbound.

For the rest the car was clean and we were glad to have spikes on it.
Motor and comfort were very good.

I will come back next year in April but I’m not sure that I will rent a car again via your services.
If you can convince me, feel free to do so.

YVAN from Belgium
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2016 Toyota RAV4

The experience picking up the car wasn't pleasant unfortunately. The car was in a very bad state and it took me 15/20mins to mark all the damage on the car which made me uncomfortable. The registration plate had fallen off and there was a piece of cardboard in the boot window with the plate number. On top of this, the car didn't start so I told the agent that I wasn't happy taking this car and asked for it to be changed. They were polite but also very pushy in wanting me to take the original car as they kept assuring me it was ok. After repeatedly explaining that I was not comfortable taking the car, they finally agreed to give me a second car which I was very grateful for. The car was in better condition and was very comfortable to drive along with us having no issues with it along the way. The only thing I will say it both cars were filthy and I was told this was because of the dirt on the roads...

Iliana from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2014 Suzuki S-Cross

not satisfactory

Harish from India
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2017 Mercedes Benz Vito Tourer

The Suzuki Vitara we rented was generally ok. When we picked up the car we found that the dashboard had a number of the lights on. They had recently changed the wheels and the dashboard was saying that pressure wasn’t right. After one day the change oil light came on as the car had to be serviced. We didn’t have any trouble with the car but for a company that is renting cars on a regulat basis I would expect that they are well serviced and checked before they are rented out to customers. The team where very helpful at picking us at the airport and dropping us back to the airport but the rental company is about 10 mins away. I would make sure to leave yourself plenty of time when returning the car as they need to check to car and the driver could also be at the airport picking up other passengers. Overall it was an ok experience but I would definitely get a car with more horse power next time...

Jack from Ireland
Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

The car was fine! However I am quite unhappy with the return service. No one was there to wait for us and confirm that the car has been returned and give us a confirmation.

silvia from Germany
Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018 and rented a 2016 Suzuki Jimny

Stephen from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2018 and rented a 2018 Suzuki Jimny

Not great. The first vehicle we were rented we ended up having to return the next day, as the speedometer was not working. We were told the only solution was to bring the car back--not how we wanted to spend one of our few days in Iceland. When we returned to the car rental location, no one was there. When someone finally showed up, no vehicle was ready for us and we had to wait while they cleaned another vehicle--which had studs on the tires. The gentleman explained that they were illegal, but the company would pay the fine if we got pulled over. This seems like a pretty ramshackle operation. I would not recommend this company.

Hannah from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Jimny