3 star reviews for all companies

The pick up part from the airport was a bit confusing as there were a lot of people with different signs. The driver from Icerental 4x4 was late, which caused some frustration. I would have liked to get an email in advance just explaining the procedure. Even though it’s probably stated somewhere we didn’t know about it at arrival (again my fault, but I’m guessing I’m not the only one with that experience)

The car wasn’t in tip top shape, with multiple chips in the windshield and some rust spots. But besides that everything went well.

I also found it weird that they needed to reserve the whole damage waiver amount on my card. I normally don’t have that much on my card and needed to transfer money around. I know that this probably is stated in the terms somewhere but I have never experienced it from other car rental companies.

I would give Northbound a good rating, but the service and car from Icerental 4x4 wasn’t the best

Thomas from Norway
Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

The vehicle was adequate but was very scratched and dented plus when we opened the front passenger window, it would not go back up automatically. all in all, it was a reasonable price so I was satisfied but I would not pay more for this particular vehicle.

Kevin from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a 2014 Suzuki S-Cross

Medium.

Goof things: the contact with northbound.is was the best part. The contact is really fast and very helpful.

Bad things about Northern lights car rental:
- When I booked with Northern Lights Car Rental, the company say that someone will are waiting for me in the airpot and we go directly to the office take the car. However, this didnt happen. We wait for 10min and no one showed, so I had to do an international call to discover what happen. After I found the employee, we had to wait for other flight (no one tell about this. We had an appointment and we arrived late because first no one from the company was waiting for us and after we needed to wait to other flight. We lost more than 30 min with this confusion).
- the car: was ok, but the left door wasn't good.
- problemas with the car: we have de CDW (damage insurance). According this insures, the car rental company is responsible for any accidents or damage that happens in the car...

helena from Brazil
Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

To be honest, it was a bit unpleasant experience for us because of couple aspects regarding the car rental. First of all, there was nobody waiting for us in the airport and waited around 30 minutes for any potential show up but there was still nobody. Then called the place and received an answer as "She did not see you so left with other customers." So we waited for her to come back to airport for additional 20 minutes. Second of all, We were charged for the mandatory insurance which was not mentioned neither on the website nor the rental confirmation email. It was literally unethical charge which was not pleasant experience for us. In addition, the behaviour of the agent also was not welcoming and the way of his explanation of terms and conditions was like an automated voice so we rather felt as if we are speaking to a robot. We believe that this company should review its customer service quality...

Annika from Estonia
Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a 2016 Toyota RAV4

Suzuki Jimny reviews were good but our car was older than expected. For our next road trip through Iceland we'll definitely go for a better car.
We sent the details of our flight, as requested during the reservation process, but no one was waiting for us at the airport so we had to call and wait for the pick up.

davide gabriele from Germany
Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Jimny

Lava car rentals didn't have any of our details when we arrived at the airport, it was just by chance that someone else was being picked up by them, the reason being is that we booked the day before and so wasn't as yet on the system?! Not good enough, however the driver sorted us out with a vehicle which was good, however the Dacia Duster was a bit of a brute!! ok I guess if you want a 4x4 on the cheap!!!

gillian from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Jan 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Free Cancellation & Amendments

cars are new and well maintain. but customer service needs to improve.

Pang Fei from Hong Kong
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

Can you please next time before you give a car (in this case our Toyota RAV4) to a customer to do a real good check:
We received our car and GPS was not working. (we received after insisting a Garmin)
We left direction to Reykjavik by day, but in the evening we find out that only one light was working (front –driver side) and the front fog lamps did not work.
Due to timing -because this was business trip to Akureyri -we didn’t had the time to come to back to Northbound.

For the rest the car was clean and we were glad to have spikes on it.
Motor and comfort were very good.

I will come back next year in April but I’m not sure that I will rent a car again via your services.
If you can convince me, feel free to do so.

YVAN from Belgium
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2016 Toyota RAV4

The experience picking up the car wasn't pleasant unfortunately. The car was in a very bad state and it took me 15/20mins to mark all the damage on the car which made me uncomfortable. The registration plate had fallen off and there was a piece of cardboard in the boot window with the plate number. On top of this, the car didn't start so I told the agent that I wasn't happy taking this car and asked for it to be changed. They were polite but also very pushy in wanting me to take the original car as they kept assuring me it was ok. After repeatedly explaining that I was not comfortable taking the car, they finally agreed to give me a second car which I was very grateful for. The car was in better condition and was very comfortable to drive along with us having no issues with it along the way. The only thing I will say it both cars were filthy and I was told this was because of the dirt on the roads...

Iliana from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2014 Suzuki S-Cross

not satisfactory

Harish from India
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2017 Mercedes Benz Vito Tourer

The Suzuki Vitara we rented was generally ok. When we picked up the car we found that the dashboard had a number of the lights on. They had recently changed the wheels and the dashboard was saying that pressure wasn’t right. After one day the change oil light came on as the car had to be serviced. We didn’t have any trouble with the car but for a company that is renting cars on a regulat basis I would expect that they are well serviced and checked before they are rented out to customers. The team where very helpful at picking us at the airport and dropping us back to the airport but the rental company is about 10 mins away. I would make sure to leave yourself plenty of time when returning the car as they need to check to car and the driver could also be at the airport picking up other passengers. Overall it was an ok experience but I would definitely get a car with more horse power next time...

Jack from Ireland
Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

The car was fine! However I am quite unhappy with the return service. No one was there to wait for us and confirm that the car has been returned and give us a confirmation.

silvia from Germany
Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018 and rented a 2016 Suzuki Jimny

Stephen from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2018 and rented a 2018 Suzuki Jimny

Not great. The first vehicle we were rented we ended up having to return the next day, as the speedometer was not working. We were told the only solution was to bring the car back--not how we wanted to spend one of our few days in Iceland. When we returned to the car rental location, no one was there. When someone finally showed up, no vehicle was ready for us and we had to wait while they cleaned another vehicle--which had studs on the tires. The gentleman explained that they were illegal, but the company would pay the fine if we got pulled over. This seems like a pretty ramshackle operation. I would not recommend this company.

Hannah from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Jimny

The service was great, the staff were helpful. However, the rental was not good. The jimmy that was provided had almost bald tires all around and he front were summer tires not all season. As well, we paid for a 4 wheel drive vehicle but the jimmy that was provided, the 4 wheel drive option was not working. We didn’t figure that out till half way through the trip and it affected our plans. So overall we did t have a good experience with the rental. Once again good staff bad rentals.

Brendan from Canada
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a Suzuki Jimny

Not bad but i could have been better: there were some items that need to be repaired : window's blinds were broken, main door didn't lock properly and battery didn't charge full (only 50%)

LAURA from Spain
Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018

Free Cancellation & Amendments

It was not awesome. The Jimney was 6 years old and felt much older. Back door did not open from outside and locks did not work from the key fob. The Jeep was rusty and very dinged up when we got it yet we were made to feel like we could be held responsible for preexisting damage. That was stressful.

If you’re going to rent out a beat up car, at least be chill about it.

Michael from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018 and rented a 2013 Suzuki Jimny

We were given a Dacia Duster and not the car advertised and i wouldnt say that it was a similar spec swap either knowing the cost diference and standards of the 2 cars

Matthew from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Grand Vitara

Too shaking and noisy. Had a feeling that the maintance of the car aren't the maximum.

Dror from Israel
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2017 Kia Picanto

Overall the camper was fine. The person before us was late returning the vehicle so firstly we had to wait...(during this time we were warned about the various pitfalls of driving in Iceland and would we require more insurance)...no sign....so we were given a slightly bigger model so we could at least go get something to eat. This of course after we had to do a full check around for chips or cracks on something we had to return within a few hours. Later we were met by a rep with our camper and in semi darkness went through the checks on that. Luckily I spotted a small crack in the windscreen and so we were able to cancel the gravel damage insurance we had added. The camper turned out to be an unleaded model....I'm sure I picked a diesel(which are usually more economical on fuel). Unfortunately winter came a bit early and the camper proved not up to the challenge. The main body being not being insulated got very cold and it was only good sleeping bags which kept us warm...

Patricia from Ireland
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

Airport shuttle was late, we waited 45 minutes. (Nordic Campers) Contact provided in the booking cannot be reached. We dialled like 3 times and no one picked up. When we asked them about the phone number (to check whether it is working or not), they explained to us that sometimes there's a queue, and they have yet to set up an auto reply bot advising caller on the queue.

Pick up process was ok. We were upgraded to the larger Renault Traffic, which we very much appreciate, although it consumed more fuel. The staff didn't care to explain how to use the car, he didn't even bother to walk out with us to inspect the car. We asked about heater (is there one, how to use it), and they can't even answer us properly. We had to figure everything ourselves. Even had our first night sleep without the heater, cause we only figured that out the next day. Pillows were provided but not blanket, we had to pay another 25 EUR extra for sleeping bed rental...

Jeremy from Malaysia
Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018 and rented a 2011 Renault Kangoo Camper

Really the experience was not very good.

We arrived late to the Reykjavik airport, around 1:30 AM and Nordic Campers transfer arrived more or less in time.

Around 2 AM we were ready to leave and when we tried to start the motorhome (Ford), the engine was broken, that means that they didn't review the vehicle to ensure it was working correctly.

They provided us with another motorhome (Fiat). We moved all the luggage to the new van, and then we notice that the second bed in the dining area was very small (around 1.50 meters or less).

Nordic Camper responsible tried to convince us that it was fine and that we could use it as a bed without problems. I had to literally lay down in the bed to show that it was impossible to use.

They didn't have more motorhomes available and the solution that they give us is that we should drive with the new van to the nearest camping (at 3 AM), sleep in the camping and then return at 8 AM when they open the office to get a new van...

Diego from Spain
Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018

Airport pickup was late - we were unable to make contact with the company during this time
Staff - staff member going over rental paperwork was not friendly and said it was our fault the airport pickup was delayed
Emergency - we had an issue on the weekend in which we needed to contact the department nd the emergency hotline was not answered at all, we called 7 times over a two hour span. The regular line to the department took 3 times for an answer, we were lucky we were not in an emergency as this would have been an even more serious issue
The van - the actual van was wonderful with all the amenities we needed! The price was also ideal in comparison

Katherine from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2018 and rented a Renault Trafic Camper

average : check-in took a long time because the requested car was not ready, + I had to buy brake liquid after 3 days ride + noise in a wheel at the end of the ride

Etienne Marie from France
Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2018 and rented a 2016 Toyota Land Cruiser

Hello Runar Thor ,
I am very pleased that I was given the opportunity to express my opinion on the subject of car rental from a company ARCTIC.
First of all, I thank the company that allowed us for the same amount paid to take the car earlier in 3 hours.
I was supposed to take the car to the central bus station, but the landlady where I rented an apartment helped us call the company and it turned out that we would get the car elsewhere in another company called GEYSIR.
On my first reservation I asked for a vehicle from the last two years and got a car with a mileage of 132,000 kilometers in my estimation a slightly older car.
When I received the car I asked 2 first requests that someone would come and explain to me about the car even though I had an active license for the past 48 years and second thing I asked for an address where to return the car at the airport.
When I left the city in the direction of our trip, I noticed an orange light on the central display, and since I was not a mechanic, I was a bit frightened, but since the bulb was orange and not red, I continued the trip until the evening we arrived at the town Hella...

Eli from Israel
Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2018 and rented a 2016 Mitsubishi Outlander

Northbound was a very easy to use car rental comparison site that gave me my best option for my week in Iceland. However the experience with their partner Camping Cars was not so great. Very forceful in selling their insurance - even though I told them I have both my credit card and private travel insurance. They then went on to put a hold of the complete excess on my credit card (~AUD $4,500. A lot of money when you're travelling on top of my week's rental cost). After that, they told me to sign an agreement that I would pay for any damages without showing me a condition report of the car. When asked to see the report, I was advised they take images of the car and keep it on file and they cannot show me the files: I should take my own photos. Very skeptical! Lastly, they told me the car petrol meter was broken and that's why the indicator does not reach the top (where it indicate full...

Yu Ying Denise from Australia
Traveled to Iceland in May 2018 and rented a 2014 Suzuki Grand Vitara

We have picked the car on a Saturday (16th June) and the Icerental 4x4 office was quite overloaded. Our staff was friendly although there was some strange situation with other customers - uncomfortable situation. We were there around 6 pm and it looked like no more car were available. We got a very old car (over 250,000 km...), seats and steering wheel were totally faded and the car quite dirty/old inside. Windscreen had 2 crashes which were not documented in the car papers and we had to ask for the remark. After some days of drive we relized that horn wasn't working neither, also not the highbeams. At the end all was enough to drive through the island and enjoy the holidays but it was definetly not what we expected.

Marius from Germany
Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2018 and rented a 2013 Suzuki Jimny

Booking was easy. When I changed the date of my reservation though, it seemed that there was a miscommunication with Camping Cars because they were waiting for me at the airport on the wrong day. Thankfully it got sorted out and pick up was a breeze. Super friendly and helpful service at pick up and through out the trip, until after I dropped off the car.
At that point, things took a major nose dive.
I returned the car close to empty. I did this because I did not receive the car full and was not told it needed to be filled up before dropping it off. If I had been told that, I would have taken a photo of the gas tank metre when I received it. I also wasn't told that Camping Cars has a discount with Olis, which would have been helpful during my travels. Unfortunately, Camping Cars refuses to give me any credit towards the gas, so I'm stuck paying for a full tank, even though I didn't get one...

Johanna from Canada
Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018 and rented a 2014 Suzuki Grand Vitara

A bit confusing was to wait quite long in the airport and pay for the extra taxi service from the airport to the true rental station by person. And self-check of the car was also unusual. But the car was running well, no complaints.

Jaan from Estonia
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2014 Hyundai i10

Your check in process needs to be revised to reduce 2 1/2 hours to 30 minutes or less. From the moment I took a ticket number when I entered your office to the minute we drove away with a car was 150 minutes. If I had not partially prepaid, I would have considered a nearby competitor.

After receiving the car, everything else was fine.

Paul from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018 and rented a 2012 Suzuki Jimny