3 star reviews for all companies

Is always short of staff. There was one particular staff that could not handle working along and had to wait for a long time to get my vehicle.

Benjamin

Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2020 and rented a 2016 Suzuki Swift

It was a good experience with Lava Car Rental. The service was fine.
The car drives good, but the exterior had a lot of paint damage. It looked like the car was older than 2017, which we ordered. Fortunately no more damage. we like to come again.

Erwin

Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2020 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Hello, I was rented from your company as I am advised to. But unfortunately the car was very old and used much. It did not make us feel good. And we had to wait in the airport, it is so unprofessional. My advise to you to find a way to renting without keep people waiting and get some new cars.

OKAN

Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2020 and rented a 2016 Suzuki Vitara

Our experince with the agency varied from extatic to tottaly disapointing. We waited a while for a pick up at the airport, also for the transport back to the airport to the point that we got worried about catching the plane, even thoug we followed the instructions about timing of the drop off with time to spare.
We got an upgrade of the car, probably since it was a bit off season. They did provide almost all the information, precautions we have to take because of the strong winds and other small print as to what insurance doesn't cover.
Most of the trip went smoothly except only after changing the car did we realise the heating did not work and the weater was not the reason we were cold in the car with the heating almost to full.
Inspite of us being carefull wind broke the rear door.Substituting it near Vik would cost us more then renting a new one - and that was not in the contract - the costs of replacing a broken car...

Spela

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

The car was fine - a little worse for wear (132,000km on the clock), but it ran well. The problem came when we returned it at the end of the holiday. At that point the Ice Rental rep identified some minor marks on the engine hood/bonnet. We do not believe that these were due to any actions on our part, but we could not prove this. These marks were superficial at most, and could without doubt be polished out.

Despite this, we were given a quote of 90,000 Icelandic Krona for repair (i.e. the cost of a respray or new bonnet), which we were in effect forced to pay there and then otherwise it was clear we would not have been given a lift to the airport. We are now trying to resolve this with our insurers, and I am considering raising a complaint through our credit card company.

Whilst the holiday was otherwise fantastic, this experience left a sour taste in our mouths. I would consider using northbound again, but will certainly steer clear of Ice Rental on our next visit to your beautiful country.

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2019 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

I'm rented a 4x4 in December. My flight was postponed until the next day because Keflavik airport was closed ( weather reasons). I had warned Northern Lights Car Rental.
Tomorrow, the agent couldn't no longer find our reservation. Once the car is in possession, after 15 min of driving, two orange LEDs light up. On the phone, we are told that it's nothing serious. Moreover, the wiper (water jet) didn't work. I'm disapointed especially in severe weather alert. It was the second time i came to island and the first time i rent by northern lights car rental

Estelle

Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Free Cancellation & Amendments

Our flight had 3 hours delay, so I informed the rental company about it. However, as we arrived, there wasn´t anybody to pick us up. After 2 calls and ca 1 hour waiting somebody came to drive us to the car rental place. I chose the rental company because of the price and free GPS. But the GPS didn't worked at all. The guy showed us our car, but he did not check if the GPS was working properly. I had to return it 5 times!!! Every time he gave me a new one, it work for 2 minutes and then it shout down. It was because the adapter he gave us was not working, not the display. But he did not try it with us at all (after he gave us the keys, he had new customers and did not bother to help us). He told me, if we have problem with the GPS, he could offer us some discount as soon we return the car, so I gave up and we used our mobile phones whole time. As soon as we returned the car (ca 1,5 hours) before our flight there was no time to discuss the discount because there were 2 other customers waiting...

Veronika

Traveled to Iceland in Jan 2020 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

The car was great and the staff were very nice, however there was some confusion with the pickup and we didn't get picked up until an hour after our designated pickup time. This was rather upsetting as it made us late for plans that we had. One, the sign used for pickup did not say northern lights car rental as the main company, but another company name instead, causing confusion. Additionally, the driver only stayed at the airport for about five minutes and did not ensure that all customers, including us, had been accounted for. I would suggest improving this part of the process.

Lauren

Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2019 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

We had some issues with the car. Luckily it happened on days where we had some time to spare. So it didn't ruin anything, but it was a bit annoying.
When breaking (on any road) and taking turns on gravel roads, the steering wheel started shaking pretty bad. And on gravel roads you could feel the car drifting off.

The battery died after leaving the lights on for 15 minutes when we parked and stayed in the car. It was quite hard to put on the cables right, because the contact points of the battery were corroded.
Then a few days later the cooling liquid was empty and the engine kept overheating. After calling to ask which color liquid we needed to put in, a mechanic was sent to take the car for a checkup. After the checkup we would get a new car the next day. We drove to a camping to stay the night and would meet the driver with the new car the next day. He would be there at 8 but still wasn't there at 9...

Thomas

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2019 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Jimny

We did not get the Ford but it was ok to get another car.
Maybe it's a good idea to check the cars more often.
The car didn't have a full tank of gasoline. Both of the gas
cannisters were almost empty, so i had to buy a new one.
The screenwipers are so bad that i had to drive really slow
when it was raining (really dangerous).
But the most annoying thing was that they told us to use
some kind a of a wrench to flip the chairs. The handles to flip
the chairs were gone... If i rent a campervan i don't want an improvised
car. I want everything to work properly. especially the things you use every day!!
they were really friendly on the phone but told me that everything worked and if i wanted another car i had to wait for a day. We had a really tight schedule so we chose to
keep the car. If it all worked properly it was a great camper, but now i don't know if i
would rent here again.

Harm Jan

Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2019 and rented a 2018 Ford Transit Connect Camper

The car went well and easy to handle. The pick up and drop off was quick. But we are not happy with the GPS. We couldn’t find the places we wanted to go. It always said no result was found. We asked for the refund but was rejected. I strongly feel that I shouldn’t pay for something that didn’t work.

Simon

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2018 Hyundai H1

Mirco

Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2019 and rented a 2019 Dacia Duster

The car was perfect but the quality of service was below expectations for the following reason :
1) In the email prior to departure it said that on arrival an agent would pick us up, so I was expecting to find the agent waiting for us at the door after baggage pickup. But the agent wasn't there and we had to wait for a very long time in the lobby with no instructions as to where to wait or what to do. At some point we even thought the agency had forgotten us.
2) I was forced to take an insurance (actually you don't have to, but if you don't 2700€ are taken from your card and refunded later, but I don't have that much spare money). So the rental cost me almost twice than what I was actually planning on spending, which is pretty annoying considering I chose this agency mainly for the cheap prices.
3) When we asked the guy to help us with the GPS he said he didn't know how to use it cause he has never used it before...

Pierre

Traveled to Iceland in Jan 2020 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

I had mixed experience with this rental.

On the good side, the car was good enough and and the mechanics were in good shape that allowed a smooth 2200km around Iceland. The inner space of the van (sleeping area) was enough for 2 people, but only after reducing the passenger seat to a minimum, and folding them towards the front. This was a cleaver system to enhance in about 30 cm the sleeping area, a must if you are 1,8m height. The Abestos heating system (for the night) was also very usefull and worked properly. Camping gear was in good shape.

However, I also found some negative aspects with the rental. The first was related to the regular heating system of the car; the switch that controls the flow of the warm air was broken and was fixed to the front window. Due the the low temperatures and heavy wind, we had our feet constantly very cold and without any means to warm them up. A simply fix would solve this, but they gave us a car with this problem...

Nuno

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

Unfortunately I`m not really satisfied with renting a car from lava car rental. The Duster I got had a back seat with dirt smudge and one of the front lights didn`t work. As contracted, I wanted to give back the car at the 25.12.2019 at 16:00 o`clock. The station of lava car rental was not in use, I only found an information at the front door, that the clients should take their car to their hotel and leave the key of the car there, so that lava cars could pick up the car there. Normally, that would be o.k. (I know, it was christmas), but in that case it would have been nice, if lava car rental would have informed me about this arrangement, when picking up the car, so I could arrange the last day in iceland in another way. I`m sorry, but I`m dissapointed about lava car rental - that does not mean, that I`m dissapointed about northbound.

Sabine

Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

The car we hired from Icerental 4x4 had some serious problems with the headlights. The plastic was not clear and blocked a good amount of light coming out. In the 3rd day, after driving about 200 km at night and trying my best not to go off the road every time I had a car coming from the front, I contacted the company telling them the problem and asking for a replacement car. They asked me to go back to Keflavik and exchange the car, they did't have anybody to send to Reykjavik (or didn't want to do it). As it was already 10 PM, and I had to rest for the next morning's trip that started at 5:00 AM, I was forced to pass the offer and to keep the car. Although it was my decission, I felt like I was't helped as I should have. I paid in advance, with full insurence, so I expected they would come to me, not me to them on my own time and expense. Anyway, I would like to thank Northbound for the TOP service they provided, and Rúnar for his dedication...

Alexandru Cristian

Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2019 and rented a 2011 Suzuki Grand Vitara

Free Cancellation & Amendments

We came as a group of 8 and were told the expedition would be large enough. We packed all of us with all of our suitcases just to find out the front defrost didn’t work. We had to pile out and rent another vehicle. We ended up with a van which was way better. In the future make sure customers are given vehicles which are large enough to accommodate people and luggage

Dawn

Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2019 and rented a Ford Expedition

we are moderately pleased with nordic camping. firstly the staff do not smile. then, during the first breakfast we realized that the stove was not working. then the second day the vehicle broke down we had to wait 22h at the same place before we come to replace the car. the second vehicle had not been checked before we were entrusted (difficult to open the doors and ventilation problem). what disappointed us the most is the fact of not having an apology or a commercial gesture.

Jérôme

Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2019 and rented a 2006 Ford Transit Connect Camper

The car did the job but had a few faults (mirrors, demisters, etc.). Since our group was so large we didn't have much choice of suitable vehicles from any Iceland rental firm so at least this company had a vehicle that fit the bill! Or pickup experience wasn't great, the driver would not take our whole group to the rental place so we had to leave our kids at the airport while the two adults (nominated drivers) went to fetch the car. Our understanding from the website was that the whole group would be collected.

Gerrard

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2019 and rented a Ford Expedition

The car needs some maintenance. From the windshield wiper (not cleaning properly) to a intermittent bad functioning of the passengers door and a noise of something loose on the back.

Adauto

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2019 and rented a 2017 Mercedes Benz Vito Tourer

Everything was ok during process. easy and clear, they upgrade us with a better car.

However we purchased some insurance items splitted, and when we decided to take the car we did wanted to take some more clauses, meaning that would have been same price as a package that they had, however they did not want to make us pay for the price of the package but all items splitted what meant an increase of the price (35€ aprox) for the same product and it was a bit tricky

But at the end of everything process was easy, they were friendly staff and cheap price for good quality car I will not give them a better rate because of the tricky thing but it is recommendable indeed

RAUL

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2019 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Jimny

Not very good. We were returning the car in Reykjavik and went to the address circled on the rental form. Hours on the door were posted that it opened at 8 am. No one was there. It was extremely windy and after the second attempt we dropped the key in the tube.

Colette

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2019 and rented a 2014 Hyundai i10

I had a Dacia Duster instead...... it was ok but I missed studs on the tires because I went to the west fjords and the roads are icy and with a lot of snow. I did asked this and told about my destination but they say that studs are given in mid November.

Mario

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2019 and rented a 2013 Suzuki Jimny

Bad start; the agent was late. After 2 sprays of windshield washer fluid there was no more, so I had to buy some out of my own pocket . The car was'nt in perfect shape but it did the job over all.

Matthew

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2019 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Jimny

The man from Go Car Rental meeting me at the airport for my car was 1 hour and 15 minutes late past the previously arranged pick up time.
I did not receive any communication regarding an expected delay.
This is unacceptable.

When looking over the vehicle, he pencil whipped the inspection sheet, meaning he quickly filled it in and didn't thoroughly and correctly document all of the vehicle damage I was pointing out.

The rear wiper blade on the car was completely worn out and did not work at all.

The doors, while they did close and latch, did not close tightly. So, when I drove, specifically on any dirt road, the car sounded like it was going to shake the doors off the hinges. This was very loud, annoying, and uncomfortable for a two week rental going around the country.

The windshield washer fluid was not full at the start. It was empty after two days and I had to refill it...

Dion

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2019 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Jimny

Well the car is excellent for 2 people visiting South Iceland however it wasn't in a condition I expected... Air condition was not working at all and I tried any setting of it. Windshield of this car had 4 stone chips already and had probably hit the sand storm before, because there were thousands of micro chips all over it. It wasn't a problem in rainy day, when I collected a car (also I couldn't notice the AC failure as it wasn't needed then). It was serious problem in sunny day, when you had a sun in front of you. Also using wipers+fluid ended up in need of stopping the car and waiting it dries to see anything, because wipers cant wipe from thousands of small holes... I've taken gravel and sand+ash insurance, which is reasonable for Icelandic weather and roads, so before me either someone had same insurance or paid for the damage, so why it wasn't fixed? I thought that's what ppl or insurance company pay for when windshield is damaged...

Piotr

Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2019 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Jimny

The Dacia was Ok
Pretty basic to drive and the fuel guage stopped working but it did no t let us down.

Patrick

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

OK I know that this is a rather cheap option but the first time I saw the car I was speechless. There were two dents, right front door was hard to control when it is opened and a lot of scratches. But when I ended my tour in Iceland I understood the dents, scratches etc. Pretty normal. BUT still I do not deserve to use a dirty car. Imagine this: you arrive your destination after hours of travel then you go to handover your rental and you have more way to drive. Actually if I had time and energy I would reject the car with that funny smell, foot step on the back seat, paper garbage inside the driver's door etc. Desperately, I took over the car. Frankly, car was in good shape, last maintanance was 1000km ago, tires were good and had no problem other than mentioned ones. Check-in and check-out was easy but I recommend Lava to give a document to the customer stating that they took over the car with no problem.

GURKAN

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

This car is incredibly uncomfortable for a person who is 5' 1" in height. However, it was clean and functional with the exception of the wind damaged and repaired passenger door which did not function well.
Your staff seem unhappy with their jobs and don't seem to realize that they are representing Iceland to visitors. One went out of his way to give us advice on driving the Golden Circle which was great and appreciated. However, the one who received the car back ahould have greeted us nicely and given us a brief overview of the steps involved inthe returns process when we arrived. He really was not friendly at all.

Christine

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2017 Nissan Micra

Vehicle's navigation was absolutely useless we had to use our phone for directions.

Dave

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster