3 star reviews for all companies

The communication and the retrieval of the van went smooth.
Northbound is highly recommended!
I just wouldn't chose the Dacia Dokker again, because of the interior noise we experienced. Every night our ears and head hurt due of the constant noise.
I suggested to pay a little bit more and chose a more "silent" car.

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2020 and rented a 2017 Dacia Dokker Camper

All over it was good. But the car had some warninglights on. Engine, inspection, air pressure in the tired. We always checked. The could be in better condition. It is not really able to go on f-roads with it because of the tired. They were down and should be replace. We didn't go to all places we wanted to go.

Martin

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2020 and rented a 2019 Dacia Duster

Hae Thordis.
I know this is simply a standardized form, and that you already know about the issues we experienced with Fara. We didn't end up with this vehicle (the Hyundai), but they swapped out for a Subaru instead which has been better. In the age of COVID travel and people's plans changing unexpectedly, it would be helpful for the rental agencies to allow early returns and at least partial refunds (if not full) of days left on the contract. I understand the problem this may cause them, but it definitely causes problems for the customer and can also cause future customer loss if someone chooses not the rent from them anymore because of this inflexibility. If they do not want to allow early returns, there should be specific language in the rental terms and conditions stating so to avoid confusion and so that the customer can make a choice about whether to rent from them because of it...

Teresa

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2020 and rented a 2017 Hyundai ix35

Before arrival in Island I was asked to look at a shuttlebus schedule and tell wich departure i would like to be on. I told that i would like to be en the 16.20 departure.

When I arrived at the meeting point there was no sign of the driver. When I call the driver I was told that he would be i the airport shortly, but he had to take another family to the car rental facility before us and we had to wait for another 20 minutes.

This is really bad service and I don't understand why they have a timetable if they do not use it. It is a waste of my time to ask me to look at at timetable, if it is not in use. We had to hurry trough the airport to be at the meetingpoint on time and then being told to wait for 20 minutes.

Tom

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2020 and rented a 2020 Toyota Land Cruiser GX

I cannot say much about northbound since it forwarded me to the final company where I rented the car, in this case Lava rental.

My review about Lava rental is a bit mixed, some good things and some other ones not so good:

1- When I arrived at the airport there was no one there to pick me up. I called them and they arrived in something like 10 minutes. I understand this since they are taking customers back and forth all the time.

2- When I arrived to their offices they treat me well and was attended quickly which was good. The whole process took about 15 or 20 minutes. The car had a few bumps but I guess it's more or less normal for a 4x4 car.

3- The Dacia Duster 4x4 was quite good for driving in roads and F roads but inside cities and towns the first and second gears are two short so it makes driving a bit inconvenient. This is just related to the brand and model and not at all about Lava rental cars but next time I will choose a different car...

Enrique

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2020 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

We didnt got Jimny we specifically were looking for but got Dacia Duster which was disappointed. Also because we saw Duster 10.000ISK cheaper at your site and 20.000ISK cheaper at other sites so this was definitely downgrade for us. Also the car wasn't in good condition.

Marek

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2020 and rented a 2018 Suzuki Jimny

Free Cancellation & Amendments

We did not get the guaranteed model but a Suzuki Grand Vitara. I think it was a higher category but used a lot of gas and the car seemed really old and noisy. Some things were obviously broken or worn down.
The camping box included what was described but could have been better quality i.e. the thermos didn't keep the heat, the pan was dirty and there was no sharp knife to cut.
Sleeping bags and roof tent were okay but no high quality, they weren't warm enough for the cold nights and the roof tent didn't keep the rain out for long.
We had a great trip and the car with equipment was okay, it enabled us to go relaxed on all roads.

Jana

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2020 and rented a 2019 Dacia Duster

a old car ! 144000 km ! Impossible to watch windshield because system out of order !
And there was since the departure at the airport a fissure on the windshield ; the man who saw that during the check-in was not worry about that ! 1st time I see that

Cyril

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2020 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

The car was as such in good conditions, only the breaks did not function as expected. The parking Brake had virtually no function and the main break did pull the car slightly to the right. That could be dangerous on soft and slippery ground.

Andreas

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2020 and rented a 2016 Toyota Land Cruiser

Car had some technical flaws and was already on 100k kms. Station is around 10mins from KEF airport and we had some waiting time for the transfer

Alexander

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2020 and rented a 2019 Jeep Compass

average - car really needed a big check up BEFORE the keys were hand over. Too many things weren't checked. Also essentials such as the windshield wipers we had to replace ourselves. There were lots of strange noises in that car and the sun visor at the passengers side wasn't original which made it impossible to decently open OR close it. Returning the car was also a mess because of lack of staff. Only two people there who had to do the documents, check the cars AND drive the busses to the airport. Result: long queue in the office and nobody there because they were at the airport. Neven seen such an bad organisation before.

Rudi

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2020 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

Good service and no problems with the driveability, but the car was a bit worn from many years on the icelandic roads. The windshield wipers couldent wipe off the water from the windscreen and the doors couldent hold them selves open. When the roof tent was popped up and it was raining the inside foam in the top was getting wet, which caused the sleeping bags was getting wet too. I will deffitnetly not recomend this tent in bad weather.

Lars

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2020 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

Ein auto wie ein bratwurst injection lamp Brent verbraucht viel zuviel benzine Und klappert an alle seiten.

Gerrit

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2020 and rented a 2019 Dacia Duster

Very comfortable car but very old with some problems dire tly impacting the safety of passengers.
The roof case was also in really bad conditions.
This car is not a car to cross small rivers and we have had a big issue with the starter.
I am really disappointed about that. And the fact that the sales man didn’t inform us that the road 249 was forbiden.
The only good point is that this car is good for 6 people

Rémi

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2020 and rented a Ford Expedition

Employees and drivers were very nice. office is not so far from the airport and on the way to Reykjavik. When arriving, I waited some time due to some issues with the computer.
They deliver you a car with limited explanation (i realized later that they did not show me the replacing tire ...). Car is not new ... but clean ... fuel was full (8/8) but after 10 kilometers it was already lower (7/8)... Car was very noisy with a lot of vibrations ...

Damien

Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2020 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

It was not what I ordered, one of the car was not cleaned and not filled with gas. But besides that it was good.

Kristín Margrét

Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2020 and rented a 2018 Renault Trafic

Free Cancellation & Amendments

My experience with Icerental 4x4 was frustrating. Upon arriving, I was told there would not be room for my party to travel together in their shuttle to the rental facility (15-minutes away) and that they would need to wait at the airport. My party was my wife, two babies, & I. Following a long international flight, being left in a foreign airport with no means of communication with two young children was not a good start.

When we arrived I asked the representative if chains, a tow strap or shovel was available. He was very short tempered and seemed offended that I asked, despite the fact that it was snowing and that all main roads in the south on road.is were blue, orange, white or closed. Visibly upset, he told me that I "have no business driving anywhere that I would need them and all F roads are closed". As a first-time Iceland tourist, I naively took this to mean we wouldn't need them...

Peter

Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2020 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Grand Vitara

I got a Dacia Duster, because a Vitara wasn't available. I had some trouble with that car, 2 days different failures were shown in the pilot monitor which removed the next day again by itself. Who knows why...
The first failure was worst...because it wasn't possible to blink left and right. The renter was informed about these failures. Besides that I was very satisfied with the Service of Icelandrental4x4. Also tue roof tent was great and so I had an amazing trip in Iceland.

Stefan

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2020 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

Is always short of staff. There was one particular staff that could not handle working along and had to wait for a long time to get my vehicle.

Benjamin

Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2020 and rented a 2016 Suzuki Swift

It was a good experience with Lava Car Rental. The service was fine.
The car drives good, but the exterior had a lot of paint damage. It looked like the car was older than 2017, which we ordered. Fortunately no more damage. we like to come again.

Erwin

Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2020 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Hello, I was rented from your company as I am advised to. But unfortunately the car was very old and used much. It did not make us feel good. And we had to wait in the airport, it is so unprofessional. My advise to you to find a way to renting without keep people waiting and get some new cars.

OKAN

Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2020 and rented a 2016 Suzuki Vitara

Our experince with the agency varied from extatic to tottaly disapointing. We waited a while for a pick up at the airport, also for the transport back to the airport to the point that we got worried about catching the plane, even thoug we followed the instructions about timing of the drop off with time to spare.
We got an upgrade of the car, probably since it was a bit off season. They did provide almost all the information, precautions we have to take because of the strong winds and other small print as to what insurance doesn't cover.
Most of the trip went smoothly except only after changing the car did we realise the heating did not work and the weater was not the reason we were cold in the car with the heating almost to full.
Inspite of us being carefull wind broke the rear door.Substituting it near Vik would cost us more then renting a new one - and that was not in the contract - the costs of replacing a broken car...

Spela

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

The car was fine - a little worse for wear (132,000km on the clock), but it ran well. The problem came when we returned it at the end of the holiday. At that point the Ice Rental rep identified some minor marks on the engine hood/bonnet. We do not believe that these were due to any actions on our part, but we could not prove this. These marks were superficial at most, and could without doubt be polished out.

Despite this, we were given a quote of 90,000 Icelandic Krona for repair (i.e. the cost of a respray or new bonnet), which we were in effect forced to pay there and then otherwise it was clear we would not have been given a lift to the airport. We are now trying to resolve this with our insurers, and I am considering raising a complaint through our credit card company.

Whilst the holiday was otherwise fantastic, this experience left a sour taste in our mouths. I would consider using northbound again, but will certainly steer clear of Ice Rental on our next visit to your beautiful country.

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2019 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

I'm rented a 4x4 in December. My flight was postponed until the next day because Keflavik airport was closed ( weather reasons). I had warned Northern Lights Car Rental.
Tomorrow, the agent couldn't no longer find our reservation. Once the car is in possession, after 15 min of driving, two orange LEDs light up. On the phone, we are told that it's nothing serious. Moreover, the wiper (water jet) didn't work. I'm disapointed especially in severe weather alert. It was the second time i came to island and the first time i rent by northern lights car rental

Estelle

Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Our flight had 3 hours delay, so I informed the rental company about it. However, as we arrived, there wasn´t anybody to pick us up. After 2 calls and ca 1 hour waiting somebody came to drive us to the car rental place. I chose the rental company because of the price and free GPS. But the GPS didn't worked at all. The guy showed us our car, but he did not check if the GPS was working properly. I had to return it 5 times!!! Every time he gave me a new one, it work for 2 minutes and then it shout down. It was because the adapter he gave us was not working, not the display. But he did not try it with us at all (after he gave us the keys, he had new customers and did not bother to help us). He told me, if we have problem with the GPS, he could offer us some discount as soon we return the car, so I gave up and we used our mobile phones whole time. As soon as we returned the car (ca 1,5 hours) before our flight there was no time to discuss the discount because there were 2 other customers waiting...

Veronika

Traveled to Iceland in Jan 2020 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

The car was great and the staff were very nice, however there was some confusion with the pickup and we didn't get picked up until an hour after our designated pickup time. This was rather upsetting as it made us late for plans that we had. One, the sign used for pickup did not say northern lights car rental as the main company, but another company name instead, causing confusion. Additionally, the driver only stayed at the airport for about five minutes and did not ensure that all customers, including us, had been accounted for. I would suggest improving this part of the process.

Lauren

Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2019 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

We had some issues with the car. Luckily it happened on days where we had some time to spare. So it didn't ruin anything, but it was a bit annoying.
When breaking (on any road) and taking turns on gravel roads, the steering wheel started shaking pretty bad. And on gravel roads you could feel the car drifting off.

The battery died after leaving the lights on for 15 minutes when we parked and stayed in the car. It was quite hard to put on the cables right, because the contact points of the battery were corroded.
Then a few days later the cooling liquid was empty and the engine kept overheating. After calling to ask which color liquid we needed to put in, a mechanic was sent to take the car for a checkup. After the checkup we would get a new car the next day. We drove to a camping to stay the night and would meet the driver with the new car the next day. He would be there at 8 but still wasn't there at 9...

Thomas

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2019 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Jimny

We did not get the Ford but it was ok to get another car.
Maybe it's a good idea to check the cars more often.
The car didn't have a full tank of gasoline. Both of the gas
cannisters were almost empty, so i had to buy a new one.
The screenwipers are so bad that i had to drive really slow
when it was raining (really dangerous).
But the most annoying thing was that they told us to use
some kind a of a wrench to flip the chairs. The handles to flip
the chairs were gone... If i rent a campervan i don't want an improvised
car. I want everything to work properly. especially the things you use every day!!
they were really friendly on the phone but told me that everything worked and if i wanted another car i had to wait for a day. We had a really tight schedule so we chose to
keep the car. If it all worked properly it was a great camper, but now i don't know if i
would rent here again.

Harm Jan

Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2019 and rented a 2018 Ford Transit Connect Camper

The car went well and easy to handle. The pick up and drop off was quick. But we are not happy with the GPS. We couldn’t find the places we wanted to go. It always said no result was found. We asked for the refund but was rejected. I strongly feel that I shouldn’t pay for something that didn’t work.

Simon

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2018 Hyundai H1

Mirco

Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2019 and rented a 2019 Dacia Duster