4 star reviews for all companies

Generally a good experience but had issues on arrival due to lack of staff (New years day), I had to leave my group at the airport to travel on shuttle bus (10 mins) to collect car from offices, they said it was due to arrival of 4 other groups at same time, they would only take the drivers back to the office. We did book 3 months in advance so they would have had plenty of notice to arrange a bigger bus or more staff. The turn around time delayed us by around an hour and a half (almost as long as the flight) firstly due to an incorrect vehicle specification (Manual instead of Automatic) being given, then arranging a replacement automatic vehicle. The car ended up being a Suzuki Grand Vitara which was perfect for the job and served us very well for our 7 day trip. My further delay was having to drive back to airport (an additional 20 mins round trip) to collect my group, who by this time were very distressed...

Gary from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Jan 2019 and rented a 2014 Suzuki S-Cross

The car was good, it had already some scratches and bumps, so when you're picking it up make sure to take some photos if there are visible damages. We also had a little trouble with the motor oil cause they forgot to close the cap. Although all this stuff, the Nissan Qashqai did her work very nicely

Lorenzo from Italy
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2011 Nissan Qashqai

You should plan a wait time at the airport Shuttle as well as for the pick it up in the Office. The car was not explained, which made it a bit difficult for me personally, but the service was ok. I would rent again for my next journey.

Iris from Germany
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

Sometimes things don't go as planned, and this is where you really get to know if you're dealing with a company. When I had troubles the helpful staff was very professional and made the process of return easy.

Sofus Amby from Denmark
Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018 and rented a 2013 Dacia Duster

The van we hired was decent for the price. There was an issue with the heater on the first van that we had due to the leisure battery not holding charge, but this was swapped for another van and we were not charged for the repair of a tyre that was punctured in exchange for the hassle which was a reasonable compromise.

Stuart from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2018 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

Overall, the people at Lagoon Car Rental were not very helpful and seemed to not care at all about the customer. When we picked up the car, Gabriel handed us a set of keys and a clipboard and told us to go outside and mark the damage on the car. When I asked which car in the parking lot, he told me to just press the unlock button on the keys until I see the lights come on on the car. He did not show us features on the car, how to insert the floppy disk sort of key, and did not even step foot outside to help us with the car. It felt very impersonal and was poor customer service. When we brought the car back it was similar. There would be employees walking around in the lobby but no one acknowledged us or helped us. Finally after standing there for about 10 minutes, someone actually stopped and asked if we were returning or picking up. I was not impressed with Lagoon Car Rental.

Naomi from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2017 Hyundai i20

Free Cancellation & Amendments

The car was very clean and it had just a few kilometers. It was almost new and it's a great vihicle for 2 persons. Our iceland trip was very good and we had no problems with the caddy. However, some i recommend 2 improvements. 1. The car had summer tires in october. Even if the street conditions were good on our trip, winter tires would feel much better.
The 2. improvement is about the booking page. We dropped the car off one day later, then we booked it. This was a mistake on our side, but the booking page was also very confusing. We thought 00:00 o clock means 'on the end of the day' and not on the evening of the day before.

Beside this 2 points, everything was great and excactly as expected.

Johannes Paul from Germany
Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018 and rented a 2017 Volkswagen Caddy Camper

My experience with Icerental 4x4 was not so good. First of all, they were supposed to meet us at the airport. Even the plane was delayed, they were an hour late and we had to search for them at the airport thinking they had forgotten about us. Secondly, we were told that when returning the car, they only needed 10' to check the car before returning us to the airport. When we came there at the arranged time, the employee was very rude. He told us other cars were before us and that we had to wait for up to an hour! We said we might miss the plane, but his response were that there are others before you. On telling him that we were very pleased with our stay in Iceland up to that point, but that this was the worst customer service we'd experienced, he just responded "Well, I'm not from Iceland"!! (Relatively compact guy of medium height, dark hair, glasses. I have his signature if you are interested)...

Jorid from Norway
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2013 Suzuki Jimny

We were very happy with the service from Northbound. Responsive, punctual and simple to deal with. The only niggle was that they did not mention upfront the deposit we were required to provide (failing paying an additional hefty sum for comprehensive insurance). Had we not had access to more funds than we budgeted for our holiday would have started terribly! The clutch in our vehicle was also faulty and became progressively worse. However, when we contacted Northbound to advise of the problem, they arranged a replacement to our accommodation quickly and without quarrel. I would recommend their service but ask them to please notify upfront about the deposit/insurance fee!!!

EUGENE BARNARD from South Africa
Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Jimny

Good with our 5 days trip. Just nice for two of us. Can fit in 3 luggages.

Yin Ying from Malaysia
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Jimny

The car itself was great, it was exactly what I wanted. I don't need a brand new car to drive around the island, just something reliable and in good shape at a very good price. That is what I got.
I would have given a rating of 5 if it wasn't for the rude van driver that took us back to the airport.
It was raining hard on the return day and I had a lot of luggage to unload so I parked near the front entrance.
Suddenly a van driver came in, very angry at me because apparently I had parked where the minivan is supposed to park. Well that is all good if there was a sign to tell me that or if I had been told before not to park there. I am not a mind reader!!
If you don't like customers to park near the door, then post a sign that will let them know, don't assume they will know! And for the driver, don't drive so aggressively back to the airport, I know you are in a hurry but following a big bus just 1 meter behind, passing him on the double white line and then talking on the phone at the same time isn't the best way to make your passenger feel safe in the van

Gerald from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2016 Toyota RAV4

The rental experience was fine. The issue with your shuttle bus was a little issue and the Ford Explorer is starting to show its years but all was good

Michael from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2011 Ford Expedition

It was OK, suited the purpose for what was needed. A bit battered but the company were more relaxed about picking up any minor chips etc.

Doug from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2011 Suzuki Grand Vitara

All when smoothly in the booking process, but once we landed at the airport the experience was not so good. Lodged a complaint after we returned and this was handled well.

Malik from Canada
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2015 Ford Tourneo

it was good. The car was good, except for few things like back camera was not working at times and few other small issues. Given the scenario in Iceland, I guess whatever we got was a good one.

Phanidhar from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2017 Hyundai Tucson

It was a great car for our trip. The check in was smooth, I didn’t expect a shuttle trip to get to the office but it didn’t take too much more time to get the car or drop it off so that was fine. The staff where very helpful, friendly and polite. My only bad comment is the hold on our visa that we didn’t know had to happen. It seemed a bit sketchy, wish we didn’t have to do that. But besides that it really was a great suv, I drove a lot during our time in Iceland and it was comfortable and easy to use.

Danielle from Canada
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Grand Vitara

Free Cancellation & Amendments

The pick up and the drop-off were easy. The car was in bad shape and dirty but for that price was ok.

Tibor from Romania
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2014 Suzuki S-Cross

The Suzuki Grand Vitara was great and easy to drive. It felt safe to drive with it. Just one comment about the small light, who were very low light power, maybe they needed to be change.

aurelien from France
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2011 Suzuki Grand Vitara

Our experience was very good with Go Campers! The only hiccups were that the water in the van did not work and the wifi often did not work. The van itself was great, no problems. There was one knowledgeable and friendly employee who was helpful.

Anna from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Apr 2018 and rented a 2014 Renault Master Camper

Staff were friendly and helpful. Unfortunately since it was very busy during check in to pick up our rental camper van the representative assisting us had to take several phone calls while trying to help us. The van was as expected but could have been cleaned a bit better from the last renters.

Sara from Canada
Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2018 and rented a 2015 Dacia Dokker Camper

We were not familiar with the Suzuki
But had no problem with it. It was a bit battered but in the storm that was raging when we arrived maybe it was wise not to have a pristine car.

Silvia from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2016 Suzuki Vitara

Everything was perfect with a small issue when returning the vehicle. We arrived at the drop off and no employees was there. We had to call them several time before

Martin from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

The rental went off smooth, both the pickup and drop were on time and prompt. My request is that you should also try and give some mileage information for the cars being rented. I spent almost US$500-600 on filling gas, I know the gas is expensive in Iceland however getting a mileage of 5-6KM/Litre for a suzuki is not common as japanese cars are known for their fuel efficiency. This was somewhat unexpected, I am now thinking that if I had gone for a slightly modern model maybe I would have paid more but got better fuel mileage.

Sandeep from India
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Grand Vitara

Overall good except the car is not fuel efficient at all

Chung Pan from Hong Kong
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Grand Vitara

Great staff, van had everything we needed, built in heater worked amazing on cold nights
- would recommend this to my friends/family
Constructive feedback:
- wireless nova device stopped working but staff were very accommodating at helping solve issues
- would’ve liked more detailed instructions with van i.e. where horn is located, what to do if check engine light goes on (this happened)
- van drop off location was confusing, no signs outside location
- were still awaiting refund for nova device and charging cord we had to buy

Sasha from Canada
Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

The car was amazing, worked super well and we even got upgraded to a better newer car. The reason why i gave this a 3.5 though is because at the airport it was hard finding the company rep. I didnt see my name and also it didnt even have the rental car’s company name; it said iceland 4x4 but we thought it would be under northern lights rental, so this caused major confusion.

Also when renting the car we were basically forced to purchase additional protection for 300 canadian dollars or else they would freeze 3000 dollars on our credit card. This was really inconvenient because this was not addressed to us when we rented car off the site. Had we not brought our credits we would have been screwed for the trip due to something we weren’t even aware about. So please becareful and bring additional cash just incase!

Stephanie from Canada
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2016 Suzuki Jimny

Airport pickup was within 30 minutes of arrival, the staff in the office were friendly, the car unfortunately was not what I’d ordered, it was still a 4x4 but I’d asked for an automatic vehicle due to the anticipated amount of driving we’d planned on our trip. The drop off back to the airport was almost immediate, which was great, other than the cars functionality I’d use the company again.

John from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2014 Suzuki S-Cross

The car was good and the service was very friendly if a little slow. We waited about 29 minutes for the shuttle at Keflavik airport. When we got to the rental office (about a 12-minute drive away on the old USAF base), there was only one employee checking in customers with hand-written contracts. If they invest in a printer I think it will go faster! The car though was perfectly good and the price was unbeatable.

Daniel from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

Pick-up and Drop-off was great, the same i can say about the staff. I rented a 2011 Suzuki Jimny for 6 days. I could not drive more than 80 kmh, i mean it was not safe because of the strong winds that wanted to blow me sideways, due the fact that is not a heavy car and not very aerodinamic. Left front light was sometimes on sometimes off and i had rear lights, but no brake lights,which i bought from my money,but it didn't work anyway. And no antenna, so no radio. But for the money i pay for the car, was worth it.

Ionut from Germany
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2011 Suzuki Jimny

Chep but comfortable!
I recommend it!!

Simone from Italy
Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018 and rented a 2017 KIA Rio