5 star reviews for all companies

The people at the desk were welcoming, the papers were already done when i got there, it all went fast and i got plenty of info, enough to drive safe in Iceland. The price was good, i got an upgrade, and when i dropped the car of, it all went smooth.

Vlad

Traveled to Iceland in May 2021 and rented a 2018 Volkswagen Polo

Well, it wasn’t a Hyundai it was Dacia. It’s a basic, no frills, stick shift car. It was perfect for our needs and the price was right!

George

Traveled to Iceland in May 2021 and rented a 2020 Hyundai i20

Excellent services

Ciprian

Traveled to Iceland in May 2021 and rented a 2018 Dacia Duster

For a fairly high mileage, older car, it was in very good condition. It served our purposes very well. I could find cheaper cars and newer cars to rent online, but Northbound offered the best overall value of car quality and price. Also, the people at the pick-up and drop-off were really friendly and helpful.

Northbound mailed some information about insurance and about driving in Iceland before our trip. Everybody should read the info and watch the video! (and maybe watch other online videos to get a good sense of what driving is like in Iceland's diverse terrain and very dynamic weather conditions - it snowed 5 out of 8 days we were there in March). Customer support before and during the trip were really good.

I would definitely rent from Northbound again.

Traveled to Iceland in Apr 2021 and rented a 2019 Toyota RAV4 GX

Amazing and quick customer service! We got upgraded to a better car for free and we had no problems during the trip.

Anne-Marie Kragh

Traveled to Iceland in Apr 2021 and rented a 2020 Hyundai i20

Josep

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2021 and rented a 2016 Dodge Ram Camper

Free Cancellation & Amendments

Uncomplicate, kind, walking-distance to the airport.

Gabriela

Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2021 and rented a 2018 Dacia Duster

Didier

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2021 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

We got antother car from Lava Car Rental: a newer Kangoo Maxi

Nikolai

Traveled to Iceland in Apr 2021 and rented a 2018 Nissan NV200 Camper

We had a good experience with Lava Car Rental. The service was quick and the entire procedure of renting and returning the car, was simple and went smooth. We received a Renault instead of the Nissan, which was quite similar. The only downside was that the side door did not open from the inside, just the outside, maybe this could be addressed in the future. The car and its accessories were clean and in good condition. Altogether, we had an amazing time and recommend Lava Car Rental to future travelers.

Maria Cristiana

Traveled to Iceland in Apr 2021 and rented a 2018 Nissan NV200 Camper

The experience con Icerantal was more then posiive
Initially I should have gone in July 2020. And then arrived Covid .....
The company give me a voucher for another trip, and when I decided to come in february 2021 (obviously a less expensive month) they give me a refund for the excess and box the next car
I decided to book a Toyota RAV 4x4 (february in Iceland?? Better to be prepared!)
They waited for me at keflavik airport and the check in of the car was easy end fast
I decided on a Silver Insurance for my week driving on the South Coast , and the car was exactly how i was expecting
I didn't have any problems (tip: drive slooooowly in the strong winds and you'll never have problems , and the rain with the winter tires is not a trouble. Idem for the ice)
I returned the car and the check out was more than easy
When I'll return to Iceland I'll be sure to rent another car from them

Norma Virginia

Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2021 and rented a 2016 Toyota RAV4

Kirsten

Traveled to Iceland in Jan 2021 and rented a 2018 Dacia Duster

Everything went well, we get picked up at the airport and dropped at the my car office near by, we quickly get our car, nice and clean, we easily drop off the car in Reykjavik.

Yann

Traveled to Iceland in Jan 2021 and rented a 2020 Toyota Yaris

I had a really good experience with my Suzuki Vitara from Nothern Lights Car Rental. They were all sooo super friendly and will always help and answer you to everything. So from me its definitely a

Marie Christine

Traveled to Iceland in Jan 2021 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

Icerental 4x4 has provided a car that was almost new. The whole rental process was fast and hassles free. On the return the staff checked only if the car was severely dameged whiteout trying to force any additional payment.

Maciej

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2020 and rented a 2019 Dacia Duster
Supplier response:
Dear Maciej,

Thank you for this great feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoy'd our service at Icerental4x4.

Best regards
Team Icerental4x4

The car was great even though had some serious damages outside. We felt safe all the time.

Moritz

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2020 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara
Supplier response:
Dear Moritz,

We are glad to hear that the car served you well for your trip. Thank you for choosing Icerental4x4.

Best regards
Team Icerental4x4

Free Cancellation & Amendments

The general expirience with Icerental was great. The staff were very friendly and patientlys explained everything to us. The car( Suzuki Vitara) was very goog and i really enjoyed driving with it. One day the oil lamp on our car was on but we were helped very quickly.
I would book my car there again at any time.

Susanne

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2020 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara
Supplier response:
Dear Susanne,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are happy to hear that you enjoy'd our service here at Icerental4x4 and that the Vitara treated you well for your trip. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to meet you again here in Iceland!

Best regards
Team Icerental4x4

Everything from start to finish was excellent. It was an unusual time (in COVID June 2020) but also a great time to drive the wilderness and meet Icelanders. The car and roof-tent were in good condition and everything was explained clearly by friendly staff. I managed to cross the Koljur route with Midnight Sun and 4 days of sunny weather (rare in Iceland!) and swam in many hot-pots too. The midge screens on the tent worked very well at keeping out the wee beasties and the Suzuki Jimny coped very well with gravel roads. Takk fyrir allt !

Graham

Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2020 and rented a 2018 Suzuki Jimny
Supplier response:
Dear Graham,

Thank you for this great review. We are happy to hear that you had a great time in Iceland and that you our service at Icerental4x4.

Best regards
Team Icerental4x4

The Suzuki Vitara 4x4 was excellent, a comfortable car suitable for Iceland's gravel roads. Of course, you cannot cross rivers, but I guess that's not allowed with any rental car for obvious reasons.
The people at Northbound are very friendly and easy-going. They picked us up at the airport and drove us to our rental car - very comfortable! Also returning the vehicle was extremely easy. We had an early morning flight so we could simply leave the car at the airport parking garage with the keys and the parking ticket inside.
Absolutely recommend!!!

Martina

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2020 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara
Supplier response:
Dear,

Thank you for this wonderful review. We are thrilled to hear that you had a great experience with us at Icerental4x4 and Northbound.

Best regards
Team Icerental4x4

All went very smoothly with Blue Car Rental. Our car was upgraded, and we were able to change the drop off location to Reykjavik (from Keflavik) for no additional cost, which suited our plans much better. Very pleased.

Kit

Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2020 and rented a 2018 Dacia Duster

The car was in a super neat condition, the team are very nice, kind and supportive even at off hour. Very trustworthy and highly recommended.

Chartree

Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2020 and rented a 2019 Jeep Compass

Hey the Dacia duster used was just perfect for us, Clean, comfortable easy to drive and cheap! I need to rent a car once a month in Reykjavik so I will do it with Northbound again! Thank you

Rudy

Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2020 and rented a 2018 Dacia Duster

Everything good with the car and the utilities.
The only problen was in delivery, they daley it 2 hours.
I was trying to call several diferent numbers to know whats was happening and wasnt able to skpek with anyone. Until they emailed me and I asked then to call me.
After that was everithing fine.

Bruno

Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2020 and rented a 2018 Nissan NV200 Camper

Amazing experience and amazing car. There was a small issue about blue car couldn't find me in the system and i had to wait longer. But i was given a better car so im happy.:D

Martin

Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2020 and rented a 2018 Dacia Duster

We had a great experience with Northbound and Fara, no complaints!

Oscar

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2020 and rented a 2017 Hyundai ix35

Great car, lived up to all expectations for a tour around the Island including F-roads and bumpy backroad adventures. It had everything you would want such as seat and wheel heating. Good service provided and well organised organisation,

Jorrit

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2020 and rented a 2019 Jeep Compass

Vehicle was great except for quite a bit of wind noise from the front door seals. Service both on collection and return of the vehicle was excellent

Andrew

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2020 and rented a 2017 Hyundai ix35

Good experience with Northern, answers with chat on website very fast !

Florian

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2020 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

it was mazing the experience with northbound nordic car rental campers!im living in iceland and always I thought to do that with a camper, and this car for two person its enough for 10 days , you can do it with other camper bigger than Dacia but with Dacia dokker it was amazing too , i recommend and I will do it again!

Jesus

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2020 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

Finally we have got a Toyota Rav 4, it was quite to drive and able to passe different kind of roads (F roads included).
The company was very efficient and helpful when we asked for an help or just so small changes.

Francesco

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2020 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster