Reviews for Solstice Campers

It was great on all roads. The bed was very comfortable. The back door(due to previous damage) stuck closed or wouldn’t close at times. Overall, no major issues.

Melissa

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2019 and rented a 2018 Ford Transit Connect Camper

This was the most affordable camper van price we found for an automatic vehicle, which not all rental companies in Iceland carry. It was comfortable (for 2 people) and had everything we needed for our 5 days/5 nights loose itinerary with long drives. The storage underneath the bed easily fits one large duffel bag, two carry-ons and a couple more small bags/items. We liked that it was well-equipped without add-on costs like other companies that charge extra per item, so it was great to have it all included, especially the WiFi hot spot! The only thing that didn’t work was the inverter/converter charging port. Luckily I had brought my own USB charging port for mobile phones and we easily charged other batteries and devices at camp grounds. We also liked that the vehicle was unmarked with the company logo. There is no heating system for the back but we were provided with 2 sleeping bags and 6 blankets, both to cover windows and warm us up...

Patricia

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2018 Ford Transit Connect Camper

I really enjoyed my first visit to Iceland, and our camper was one of the reasons. It was very clean, and in very good conditions. Thanks to Solstice Campers for the opportunity to travel securely and comfortable!

Adriana

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2018 Ford Transit Connect Camper

View all cars from this company

Click here

Sadly our experience wasn‘t the best- we had to wait and make phone calls to get the camper, there were stone damages in the front window, but no park heating as booked and no cutlery.
The sleeping bags an the blankets were good. Also the car itself (driving, engine, power).

Anna-Lena

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2018 Ford Transit Connect Camper

We had an excellent experience with Solstice Campers. Our campervan had everything we needed and was easy to pick up and find. It was clean and comfortable, very cozy too! It made our trip to Iceland unforgettable.

Alannah

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2018 Ford Transit Connect Camper

Communication wasn't always as smooth with Solstice Campers, but they arranged everything the way we expected, the campervan was great, and the overall experience was amazing.

Stephanie

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Dokker Camper

Free Cancellation & Amendments

Everything went smooth

Svitlana

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2019 and rented a 2018 Ford Transit Connect Camper


Everything was okay. When we`d had questions, they were answered helpfully and quickly.The Automatic Ford is an excellent vehicle to discover Iceland.
Many thanks to you and your team.
Klaus and Hendrik

Klaus

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2018 Ford Transit Connect Camper

Great experience, easy to pick the car. Everything was according to the options I selected.
Easy to drive and very comfortable van to sleep.
Would definitely recommend!

Matias

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2018 Ford Transit Connect Camper

The general experience with the car and its equipment was good. We found it easy to use and it proved reliable.

However, we have comments on the responsiveness and overall costumer support by Solstice Campers. They were almost non-responsive to our questions via emails and provided the data on car pick-up at the very last moment. The fact that this information is supplied only two hours before the agreed time of a pick up, should have been provided beforehand. Also, inthree days since the return of the car no confirmation has been provided yet.

On pick up we also had to specifically require camping chairs and a table, since it was not provided as announced in the contract. No sheet was provided.

Fortunately, costumer support by Northbound was seamless.

Ales

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Dokker Camper

The camper was fine, the service good (got an extra sleeping bag at no extra cost), but the communication needs (a big) improvement. Often, it took days (after a reminder) to got answers on simple questions.
Camper 4 stars, service 5 stars, communication 2 stars.

Arthur

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2019 and rented a 2018 Ford Transit Connect Camper

Nous étions satisfaits du véhicule même si lors de notre arrivée il manquait quelques équipements mais le personnel a rapidement trouvé une réponse à notre problème.
Nous recommandons ce service !

Siméon

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Dokker Camper

Solstice Campers are great value for the money. The camper is well equipped (table, stove, chairs and utensils), and it all fits into a small camper that is easy to drive. There was plenty of sleeping space and enough storage for our two small carry on bags. This camper was perfect for our needs.

Mary-Lynn

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2018 Ford Transit Connect Camper

it was a ford transit diesel at the end and it was excellent.

Mario gregorio

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Dokker Camper

The car drove great and the accommodations were wonderful.
The charging ports did not work at all in the vehicle which was very frustrating but that was our only complaint!

Amanda

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2018 Ford Transit Connect Camper

We had an amazing time driving around Iceland. Our Dacia camper van was great. Came with everything we needed, was comfortable and easy to set up. Solstice Campers was a good company to deal with. Slight issue with checking in was resolved very quickly. Highly recommended. Thanks for a great adventure!

Stephen

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Dokker Camper

Free Cancellation & Amendments

Solstice Campers is in my opinion a very reliable rental company, they were very helpfull and they will provide a very fair solution if you have some issue like we had.

Sander

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2019 and rented a 2018 Ford Transit Connect Camper

Vetter than excpected ! Good value. Your solution for bed/dinner/back-seat conversion i brilliant! Didn’t see anything else that matched that along the way.

If you’d like to improve the design further, construct something that can extend outside the trunk, like two stools to sit on outside the back compartment. Overall, super smart use of all the space in the van!

Jonatan

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Dokker Camper

It was a very easy experience. The location isn’t clearly listed or explained but if you go to the address there should be an open garage towards the back where you may see other campers. Aside from having a hard time finding that, every thing else was perfectly normal! Super easy checking out and returning camper. No complaints! There isn’t a massive amount of room for your luggage once you lay the seats down to make the bed so keep that in mind! If you pack light you’ll be fine.

Thomas

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Dokker Camper

Our experience with Solstice Campers was great!
We booked a 2018 Automatic Ford Mini Van but instead we got an automatic Ford Transit Connect from 2014. Although it wasn't exactly what we had chosen in the first place our experience was still amazing. The car came with all the features that we requested and it still managed to take us on an adventure of more than 4'000 km that we will never forget!
Also, I think that Northbound offers a really affordable price compare to other car rentals companies. Iff you arrive at Keflavik Airport Solstice Campers offers you vouchers for the Fly Bus that takes you to the BSI Bus Terminal in Rejkiavik in which you will find your rented car.

GABRIELE

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2019 and rented a 2018 Ford Transit Connect Camper

Good camper in excelent condition with wifi onboard and an international charging device that make it very convinient to travel around Iceland.
The matress, sleeping bags and sheets were clean and confortable for two.
The camping cooking kit had everything we needed to make a hot meel. Communication with Solstice Campers was simple and fast as everything was done via email. The pick up was simple as well. We received flybus voucher to get from the airport to the bus station, then simply get the camper key in a locker at the bus station and were ready to go. No waiting, no waste of time, no trouble, simple, fast and easy!

Marc-André

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2019 and rented a 2018 Ford Transit Connect Camper

Chris

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2019 and rented a 2018 Ford Transit Connect Camper

Excellent pricing, reliable vehicle, stocked with everything you need. Pick up and drop off we’re fast and easy! Great response times as well. Thank you!

Emily

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Dokker Camper

Communication with Solstice Campers was easy at all moments. The camper was in perfect conditions and the mattress was truly comfortable. Would repeat!

Andres

Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2019 and rented a 2018 Ford Transit Connect Camper

View all cars from this company

Click here

This rental was a really great experience with very easy and convienient check in and check out. Sleeping in the car was very comfortable and provided sleeping bags were really warm. We had no problem to travel around Iceland with this car. I would definitely recommend Solstice Campers and reservation through Northbound!

Malgorzata

Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Dokker Camper

Hi Northbound.

Booking through you was fine, and the camper was great. There were a few hurdles I faced with Solstice - they first asked me to cancel the booking as they'd over booked. Then when we arrived they said the camper wouldn't be ready for 1.5 hours. That said, when we challenged them on each point they were able to resolve the issue for us. When we arrived first at the BSI terminal as well the city bus to Solstice that they'd recommended we took also wasn't running.

Alexander

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Dokker Camper

The contact with the company was sufficient. The first van I had broke down after only a day of use, leaving me stranded outside of any town without any warning. The company brought me a replacement van about 16 hours later. The check in and drop off process were easy enough.

Cooper

Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2019 and rented a 2018 Ford Transit Connect Camper

It was wonderful! Room enough for the two of us, easy pick up and drop off, and having the chairs, sleeping bags, blankets, dish ware provided was absolutely fantastic!

Hayley

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2019 and rented a 2018 Ford Transit Connect Camper

Si,mucho. Muy cómoda y práctica, con todas las comodidades q se podrían pedir a la furgoneta (muy bien preparada, equipamiento completo)

MERCEDES

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Dokker Camper

We were upgraded to an automatic which for me was a great bonus. The Van was well equipped and got up easily everywhere we needed to go. The mattress and sleeping bags were comfortable too. It was hard to find places to store suitcases and cooler which meant a lot of moving things around to front seats. Also, there is a divider between the front and back with only a smalll pass through window. This made it hard to get something from the front without opening up the back and letting all the heat out. That’s a vehicle issue though and not the provider. All and all and good rental

Carson

Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2019 and rented a 2018 Ford Transit Connect Camper