Reviews for Solstice Campers

It was awesome! I own Dacia Dokker myself, so I am a bit biased. But the camper variant was really great for travelling Iceland with.

Michal

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2019

Our Dacia 2017 camper van was the best value of the camper van's that we could find for our Iceland ring road trip.

The reason I give a 4.5 / 5.0 rating is that we found Solstice Campers hard to get a hold of by telephone when we had trouble with a tire and a jack. Although when we got back to Reykjavik and went to their location, their service was very good.

Jan

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Dokker Camper

Everything was just great - super easy collection of car, it was equipped with everything we needed. Northbound made it super easy to find the car and rent it. 100% recommend and would definitely use this again when coming back to Iceland.

Helena Juta

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Dokker Camper

View all cars from this company

Click here

The Dacia 2017 was all included as they said. We could continue simply our journey.
The only thing were some signals, but after contact with Solstice we could ignore this and continue our way. The sleeping bags should be sufficient for -16 degrees, they said. That was far beyond our experience. Temperature outside was about 2-3 degrees (7-14 oct) and even with our skiwear on we could't keep us self warm enough. (Solstice, we are no Vikings ;) So think about thicker sleeping bags during winter period.
After 2 days our headlights didn't work. We repair this in a garage and they sent the bill directly to Solstice. (great service)
Arrived at Akureyri, we didn't have a parking disc in the car and unfortunately we got a parking fine of 3.000 ISK (Solstice, you should add a parking disc, for your customers)
So our experience with Solstice / Northbound is okay and they are reliable, hopefully for you they take over our recommendations...

Rikus

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Dokker Camper

I had a wonderful experience with Solstice Campers. They are an excellent company and very easy to work with. They communicated with me very quickly when I had questions. I highly recommend this company!

David

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2019 and rented a 2018 Ford Transit Connect Camper

My general experience was mediocre - I found the pick-up and drop-off cumbersome and the vehicle was in poor condition. It ran fine and the seat heater was nice, but it was dirtier than I would expect and I had a light go out during the rental period.

Patricia

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2019 and rented a 2018 Ford Transit Connect Camper

Free Cancellation & Amendments

La experiencia fue bien, aunque con algunos detalles a mejorar como por ejemplo la recogida y retorno de la camper en el aeropuerto y no en la ciudad sería más cómodo. Una de las luces frontales estaba fundida, los cargadores iniciales no funcionaban (que fueron recambiados al dia siguiente) y la camper condensaba la humedad con facilidad. Aún así, pasamos una buena estancia y tienen una buena atención al cliente.

RAQUEL

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2019 and rented a 2018 Ford Transit Connect Camper

Everything was OK except for an email or emergency phone.(our phones do not have access in your country)...? We were not sure how to reach you in case of troubles or accident.
Also,the charger for the phone was dysfunctional.
We like that you provided the equipment for the food+ chairs, tables.
Thanks very much, we are happy with the packages provided.
It was a very competitive price for what we' very got.
Iceland is a fantastic country....Hope to come back!
Thanks for trusting us!

Maribel

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2019 and rented a 2018 Ford Transit Connect Camper

Quinn

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2019 and rented a 2018 Ford Transit Connect Camper

Our experience with northbound was very great, we received answers quickly at every time we had a doubt. We can't say the same about solstice campers. They didn't answer, never. The camper was a Ford with lots of dents and with the steering wheel left damaged. Also, they didn't tell at any time that we would have to pay for a locker for the keys of the camper the day of the return.

Coral

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Dokker Camper

The camper van was a great way to see Iceland. We drove around at our own pace, stopped where we liked and did our own thing. There were no problems with the van and it was even quite comfortable to sleep in. It's a great way of combining mobility and accommodation. It's also cheaper than paying for separate accommodation.

Philip

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Dokker Camper

It was great on all roads. The bed was very comfortable. The back door(due to previous damage) stuck closed or wouldn’t close at times. Overall, no major issues.

Melissa

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2019 and rented a 2018 Ford Transit Connect Camper

This was the most affordable camper van price we found for an automatic vehicle, which not all rental companies in Iceland carry. It was comfortable (for 2 people) and had everything we needed for our 5 days/5 nights loose itinerary with long drives. The storage underneath the bed easily fits one large duffel bag, two carry-ons and a couple more small bags/items. We liked that it was well-equipped without add-on costs like other companies that charge extra per item, so it was great to have it all included, especially the WiFi hot spot! The only thing that didn’t work was the inverter/converter charging port. Luckily I had brought my own USB charging port for mobile phones and we easily charged other batteries and devices at camp grounds. We also liked that the vehicle was unmarked with the company logo. There is no heating system for the back but we were provided with 2 sleeping bags and 6 blankets, both to cover windows and warm us up...

Patricia

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2018 Ford Transit Connect Camper

I really enjoyed my first visit to Iceland, and our camper was one of the reasons. It was very clean, and in very good conditions. Thanks to Solstice Campers for the opportunity to travel securely and comfortable!

Adriana

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2018 Ford Transit Connect Camper

Sadly our experience wasn‘t the best- we had to wait and make phone calls to get the camper, there were stone damages in the front window, but no park heating as booked and no cutlery.
The sleeping bags an the blankets were good. Also the car itself (driving, engine, power).

Anna-Lena

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2018 Ford Transit Connect Camper

We had an excellent experience with Solstice Campers. Our campervan had everything we needed and was easy to pick up and find. It was clean and comfortable, very cozy too! It made our trip to Iceland unforgettable.

Alannah

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2018 Ford Transit Connect Camper

Free Cancellation & Amendments

Communication wasn't always as smooth with Solstice Campers, but they arranged everything the way we expected, the campervan was great, and the overall experience was amazing.

Stephanie

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Dokker Camper

Everything went smooth

Svitlana

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2019 and rented a 2018 Ford Transit Connect Camper


Everything was okay. When we`d had questions, they were answered helpfully and quickly.The Automatic Ford is an excellent vehicle to discover Iceland.
Many thanks to you and your team.
Klaus and Hendrik

Klaus

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2018 Ford Transit Connect Camper

Great experience, easy to pick the car. Everything was according to the options I selected.
Easy to drive and very comfortable van to sleep.
Would definitely recommend!

Matias

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2018 Ford Transit Connect Camper

The general experience with the car and its equipment was good. We found it easy to use and it proved reliable.

However, we have comments on the responsiveness and overall costumer support by Solstice Campers. They were almost non-responsive to our questions via emails and provided the data on car pick-up at the very last moment. The fact that this information is supplied only two hours before the agreed time of a pick up, should have been provided beforehand. Also, inthree days since the return of the car no confirmation has been provided yet.

On pick up we also had to specifically require camping chairs and a table, since it was not provided as announced in the contract. No sheet was provided.

Fortunately, costumer support by Northbound was seamless.

Ales

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Dokker Camper

The camper was fine, the service good (got an extra sleeping bag at no extra cost), but the communication needs (a big) improvement. Often, it took days (after a reminder) to got answers on simple questions.
Camper 4 stars, service 5 stars, communication 2 stars.

Arthur

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2019 and rented a 2018 Ford Transit Connect Camper

Nous étions satisfaits du véhicule même si lors de notre arrivée il manquait quelques équipements mais le personnel a rapidement trouvé une réponse à notre problème.
Nous recommandons ce service !

Siméon

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Dokker Camper

Solstice Campers are great value for the money. The camper is well equipped (table, stove, chairs and utensils), and it all fits into a small camper that is easy to drive. There was plenty of sleeping space and enough storage for our two small carry on bags. This camper was perfect for our needs.

Mary-Lynn

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2018 Ford Transit Connect Camper

View all cars from this company

Click here

it was a ford transit diesel at the end and it was excellent.

Mario gregorio

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Dokker Camper

The car drove great and the accommodations were wonderful.
The charging ports did not work at all in the vehicle which was very frustrating but that was our only complaint!

Amanda

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2018 Ford Transit Connect Camper

We had an amazing time driving around Iceland. Our Dacia camper van was great. Came with everything we needed, was comfortable and easy to set up. Solstice Campers was a good company to deal with. Slight issue with checking in was resolved very quickly. Highly recommended. Thanks for a great adventure!

Stephen

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Dokker Camper

Solstice Campers is in my opinion a very reliable rental company, they were very helpfull and they will provide a very fair solution if you have some issue like we had.

Sander

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2019 and rented a 2018 Ford Transit Connect Camper

Vetter than excpected ! Good value. Your solution for bed/dinner/back-seat conversion i brilliant! Didn’t see anything else that matched that along the way.

If you’d like to improve the design further, construct something that can extend outside the trunk, like two stools to sit on outside the back compartment. Overall, super smart use of all the space in the van!

Jonatan

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Dokker Camper

It was a very easy experience. The location isn’t clearly listed or explained but if you go to the address there should be an open garage towards the back where you may see other campers. Aside from having a hard time finding that, every thing else was perfectly normal! Super easy checking out and returning camper. No complaints! There isn’t a massive amount of room for your luggage once you lay the seats down to make the bed so keep that in mind! If you pack light you’ll be fine.

Thomas

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Dokker Camper