Reviews for Thrifty Car Rental

Very good. I think it was my fault, but I would have liked to have the pick-up at the ship pier better understood. I did not know where or when to wait for the pick-up . Everything went well and we enjoyed ourselves.

Paul

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2018 and rented a 2018 Ford Fiesta

Excellent. Car was great and we even got an upgrade

Ramona

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018 and rented a 2018 Citroen Berlingo

The rental process was quick and easy. The car worked great, however there was a sign attached to the dashboard that stated that the car was only a passenger car and not a 4x4. This was confusing.

Katie

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018 and rented a 2018 Mazda CX-3

View all cars from this company

Click here

Everything went very smoothly, though it would have been helpful to have had instructions about dropping off the car at Akureyri. It was pretty confusing as to what to do.

Ken

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018 and rented a 2018 Ford Fiesta

Very efficient and friendly.

Eyal

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2018 and rented a 2018 Ford Mondeo Station

Excellent, quick. Staff helpful. Car was perfect for our family trip.

Yael

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2018 and rented a 2018 Citroen Berlingo

Free Cancellation & Amendments

Worked well. Large enough for 6 adults and luggage. Only downside was price. All car rentals are expensive in Iceland, but this was too much.

David

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2018 and rented a 2017 Citroen Spacetourer

The handover and return was very good; we got exactly the car we had indicated. The Volvo XC60 AWD was a perfect and very reliable car for our tour; in addition, diesel consumption was pleasantly low at an average of 7 litres per 100 kilometres.

Christian

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2018 and rented a 2018 Volvo XC60

Great service and great vehicle for a large family group. Have rented from others in the past but will only use Thrifty in Iceland in the future.

Well run business.

Kind regards

Rod Gillis

Rodney

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2018 and rented a 2017 Citroen Spacetourer

Just an okay experience renting from Thrifty. Rented a Citroen Berlingo through Northbound.is for 14 days. Perfect size for 5 people with considerable amount of baggages. Dealing with the front desk upon car pickup and return was a breeze. The reason why I rated only 3.5 was because, I think the adblue diesel additive wasn’t filled up properly and gave me a warning sign on the 10th day of driving. Luckily enough, I’ve already covered most of the mileage in our itinerary when the alarm came on. Interesting enough adblue is not available all over Iceland and only sold in certain locations. Made me worry at some point.

Ali

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2018 and rented a 2018 Citroen Berlingo

Great!! The people working there were very friendly and helpful. I really appreciated the ride back into town after I returned my rental. The car was perfect. Great condition, new, and so clean. Would definitely rent from them again!

Kathryn

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2018 and rented a 2018 Ford Fiesta

very positive, the process of getting the car and returning the car was fast and simple. car was outside your rental office, no need to walk somewhere to get the car. also the car was great to drive (you upgraded me to mazda cx-5) and was easily handled Iceland F roads. this was by far better experience than I had last year I was visitning Iceland also and rented a car from avis I think... they gave me a damaged 4x4 car. it was a nightmare...
with your company it was a very positive experience and will for sure for my next time in Iceland will rent from you :)
thank you

Gilad

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2018 and rented a 2018 Mazda CX-3

Cars were excellent and suited our requirements perfectly

Mary

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2018 and rented a 2018 Ford Fiesta

we drove with it around iceland and loved it. a great car. very comfortable and easy do drive even on long Strachan of road. it is a pity that the language compartment was missing
on our way back, in reykjavik I booked a Ford

Jehuda

Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2018 and rented a 2018 Ford Kuga

Generally good, but the sales representative (1) failed to include the damage inspection report in the documentation and this had to be requested; (2) did not explain the large deductible on the Thrifty third party insurance included in the rental agreement.

Robert

Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2018 and rented a 2018 Ford Fiesta

Very reliable comfortable car, not for unpaved roads.

Lauren

Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2018 and rented a 2018 Ford Fiesta

Free Cancellation & Amendments

Fine

Jonathan

Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2018 and rented a 2018 Mazda CX-3

The car was great for my family of 5. We received a Ford Kuga, not the Citroen Berlingo, but it was great for what we needed. The booking process on Northbound was simple and fast. I chose all the insurances which made accepting and returning the car fast and easy. If I am fortunate to return to Iceland, I will definitely rent from Northbound again!

Kenneth

Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2018 and rented a 2018 Citroen Berlingo

Leuna

Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2018 and rented a 2018 Ford Fiesta

A very good experience, we were well taken car of . Got a car quickly and staff were most helpful. We needed a shuttle from the cruise ship and Northbound took car of that as well be sending a van for several of who had rentals.

Peter

Traveled to Iceland in May 2018 and rented a 2018 Mazda CX-3

Everything worked fine, happy that i had my car from Northbound

Tauno

Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2018 and rented a 2018 Mazda CX-3

Excellent experience renting from Northbound. It was easy to get to the office from the airport and I really appreciated that the price we were quoted was the price we paid with no hidden charges. The vehicle was great very clean and perfect for what we needed. Would highly recommend this company.

Mark

Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2018 and rented a 2017 Ford Tourneo

Overall, the experience was good. We decided the night before to rent a car for the day. I went online, found your site, and booked a car. The only thing I wasn’t clear about was that pickups in the city are only at half past the hour. I think the site said “on the half hour” which I interpreted to mean x:00 and x:30. When the pickup didn’t come at 9:00, I called and learned it was coming at 9:30.

Philip

Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2018 and rented a 2018 Ford Focus

Very Happy, service was quick and easy and the car was perfect for our requirements

Samuel

Traveled to Iceland in May 2018 and rented a 2018 Ford Fiesta

View all cars from this company

Click here

The Citroen worked out perfect for us, with 6 adults. It was roomey, plenty of space for us and in back for our luggage. The great thing was that both doors on the side of the vehicle opened. Easy n easy out. Also the the gas mileage was excellent. The only downfall was it doesn’t do well in extreme wind conditions, moderate ones ok. The vehicle is also comfortable n easy to view out for the back passengers.

Colleen

Traveled to Iceland in May 2018 and rented a 2017 Citroen Spacetourer

good car, pick up was great, fast reception - very good!

Nicol

Traveled to Iceland in May 2018 and rented a 2018 Ford Focus

The car worked for us and the service was fine.

James

Traveled to Iceland in May 2018 and rented a 2018 Citroen Berlingo

very easy to handle, spacious, smooth drive all the way
highly recommended

King yoon

Traveled to Iceland in May 2018 and rented a 2018 Ford Mondeo

Seamless arrangement, nice cars, very helpful staffs. The memories you will collect are priceless. I am very much thankful to Northbound for very competitive price and thankful to Thrifty for nice cars and amazing staff.

Maksim

Traveled to Iceland in May 2018 and rented a 2018 Mazda CX-3

Everything was excellent!!!

Maksim

Traveled to Iceland in May 2018 and rented a 2018 Ford Kuga