Reviews for the Best Car Rentals in Iceland

아이슬란드 최고의 렌트카 가격

Reviews for all companies
Submitted 09. Sep 2020
Hae Thordis.
I know this is simply a standardized form, and that you already know about the issues we experienced with Fara. We didn't end up with this vehicle (the Hyundai), but they swapped out for a Subaru instead which has been better. In the age of COVID travel and people's plans changing unexpectedly, it would be helpful for the rental agencies to allow early returns and at least partial refunds (if not full) of days left on the contract. I understand the problem this may cause them, but it definitely causes problems for the customer and can also cause future customer loss if someone chooses not the rent from them anymore because of this inflexibility. If they do not want to allow early returns, there should be specific language in the rental terms and conditions stating so to avoid confusion and so that the customer can make a choice about whether to rent from them because of it. For convenience sake when I return to Iceland next year I will not use Fara (and also for the car quality issues), but rather will look for an agency with more flexible date policies in the event of changes and also an agency that is located at the airport for the convenience of not having to be shuttled from farther away. I used Lotus last year and they were better in both regards.

All of that being said, my review of you and Arnar is 5/5. You have gone out of your way to get discounts where possible and make things right. I very much appreciate you! Very excellent customer service. While I will not use Fara, I will definitely use Northbound to help me find another car rental agency.

Terri
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 18. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Everything was great: the car was in good conditions, the rental staff was kind and professional, we didn’t have any trouble. We found the best price on northbound for the same kind of car.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 16. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
The car was excellent, although not the one we originally reserved (we booked a Hyundai Tucson and got a Kia Sportage). We had to wait a bit at the airport at pick-up, but then we were served quickly. In general we are fully satisfied with the service and price (we recommend buying the platinum insurance, very convenient and valuable for Iceland roads). We were also very satisfied with Northbound support service, who always replied to our emails and phone calls within minutes.
Marco
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 19. Aug 2020
Good
the experience with Lava camper was good with very competitive prices compared to other rentals. the only points that can be improved are: 1) would need darkened side windows or curtains as they are not present. 2) to go off road it is better to put big wheels that soften the impact with the ground. quality and competitive prices with other rentals.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 17. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
VERY GOOD
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 21. Aug 2020
Excellent
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 23. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
It was really good and the staff was helpful and nice.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 22. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
This Campervan is a really good option for two people: simple, easy, comfortable... good value for money! Also Northbound and Go Campers teams were kind and helpful.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 15. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Everything West perfect
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 25. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Car pickup was I bit hasty and staff seemed impatient, but it was busy in the shop. Otherwise we got our Suzuki in a good state and well cleaned, together with a complete damage report form from previous car damage to the outside car. Drop-off was hassle-free and friendly. Very convenient that dropoff and airport shuttle was possible at 5AM already.
Communication with Northbound was quick and easy.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 16. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
We are very satisfied with the service and the car.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 28. Aug 2020
Good
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 19. Aug 2020
Excellent
First the Nissan NV200 was not available whe we arrived. So they gave us a Dacia Dokker. As we did'nt agree on that point, they decided to deliver us a Toyota PROACE the day after our arrival. But we had Heater problems with the Toyota. So we switch again for the Dacia for 3 days during the Toyota Heater repair. At least the Toyota was delivered again and we did appreciate this new car with the heater functioning correctly.
The people in contact with us during this period were very watchful, reactive and relentless to find the solution for us and be sure every thing was ok. We did appreciate a lot their kindless and their devotion.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 20. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Hey!
Very nice journey Thanks to you.
Even if the car had more than 185 000 km, it was perfect. Economic (Diesel) and very strong.
I would like to tell you that we were very surprised to find someone speaking french at the front desk. It was very interesting for us. The young Lady gave us very good addresses that we tested. When we come back to Iceland, we certainly choose Northbound again. And we will recommend.
Best regards
Patricia
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 17. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
The Dacia Dokker was for us an excellent choice. We slept well in it and we were able to rest any time during the day with it! Although this option did not have a “living room” space in the back (only the bed), we were provided with a folding table and chairs. We often stayed at camping sights that costed 10€ per person and had a common kitchen for us to cook. For us this model was the best quality-cost ratio as well to stay in a hostel-hotel or Airbnb can have spiking prices. Also I often suffer of far sickness and despite the long driving days this car never gave a problem with it. The car seems also to be convenient with its gas consumption, we did the entire ring-road trip spending about 150€ of gasoline. Star Car Rental is a family business and everybody was very welcoming, professional and understanding. I would definitely recommend them!
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 23. Aug 2020
Good
good experience with this funny but efficient car
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 01. Sep 2020
Outstanding!
wonderful experience, excellent service and more than a car, the ideal partner !
thanks so much, in particular Thordis for her availability and relevant advices , without you this amazing trip wouldn’t have been so fabulous !
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 18. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
It was great. Everything worked well and the staff was great.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 16. Aug 2020
Good
L'auto è un po' datata ma confortevole, unico problema impossibile connettere il telefono al sistema audio, nè via bluetooth nè via cavo (abbiamo provato con android ed iphone).
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 20. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
We were very satisfied with the service we experienced. The airport shuttle was on time. The handover of the car was quick and very kind.
Our car was in a pretty good shape (A little dirt in the doors... but hey that´s a Landcruiser :P)
We had absolutely no problems with the car during our 15 day trip through Iceland. The Landcruiser was spacious enough for 4 people (two of them over 1.90 m) and our luggage.
We would absolutely recommend !
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 22. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Great car, GPS didn't work very good but we brought our own. Would rent here again.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 18. Aug 2020
Hi Thordis,
I will be direct to the point: the experience was below terrible. I think 3 cars in 10 days is really not a good ratio, to be honest. The first Dacia, the screws of the wheel got loose while driving - not 1 but 3 of them - and the other was completely lose and about to pop. Imagine if this wheel pops out, hit another vehicle at 90km/h while I lose control of my car? Doesn't look good right? Bonus: the car had NO TOOLS (no car jack, no screw key, no TRIANGLE!) Second Dacia: everything seems normal. We are driving, the car dies mysteriously. So what was wrong with this one? Well, apparently the sensor to measure the diesel level is somehow broken, and it tells us that we still have diesel when we don't. The car died on the highway, in a foggy day, again no triangle, and we could only hope that nobody would hit it. Bonus: we had a snowmobile tour scheduled for just before the car broke but all plans for that day had to be canceled. At this point, Blue car employees already seemed embarrassed. We were kindly offered an upgrade and a refund of half of our bill. We got a nice 3rd car for our last days in Iceland and guess what? The car had overheated transmission, probably old fluids and lack of maintenance. I refuse to accept that blue car rental car's undergo maintenance! One good thing about all this? I met a LOT of people with problems with Blue Car Rental, it creates a sense of community, that we are all together f*cked :) When I contacted Northbound to say "hey I have problems with Blue Car Rental" they said "hey contact Blue Car Rental" :)))
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 13. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Perfect! This Nissan has everything what we needed.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 17. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 19. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
We get an upgrade what is always good!! Thanks for that.
We spent 2 weeks with this car and without issues, only our mattress get wet because of the rain. Lotus Car rental contacted us bud the next days it was dry and also the mattress was dry very soon! Great experience Thanks a lot.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 18. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
everything was fine and as we exspected it.
It would be good if it ould be possible to book additional a complete sleeping kit. We could only book sleeping bags. The Team from GO Campers was very friendly.
Greetings Thomas
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 13. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Perfect little Aygo, took us all the way up to the north and back. Perfect service, left my wallet in the car at delivery, locked it and threw the key in the box, but within 10 minutes I was helped out . Much appreciated and well done.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 20. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
LAVA CAR is very good.
The car was fine.
The staff were very friendly and quick to respond.
The prices were good and the reviews were very good.
I recommend LAVA / Northbound.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 21. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 22. Aug 2020
Good
The car was similar but not a Hyundai Tucson but it worked. It was a Honda CR-V with 168.000 km
A lot of damages were already existing, when we took over the car. The checkout was without problems. Take a photo or video before start.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 12. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Smooth renting process, great service, no issues at all. I would definitely use this company again.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 13. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
It was great! Very fuel efficient and comfortable.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 15. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Blue car rental were very easy to deal with and had the best offer I could find on the market. If they have more cars, they also seem very flexible if you want to change it.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 23. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Car was clean, new, in perfect conditions: everything went as smoothly as possible and Lotus car rental offered full time support for our every need concerning the car. 4500+kilometers without any problem or issue doing just everything we wanted onroad and offroad.
Great service on Northbound's part and very competitive prices
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 19. Aug 2020
suzuki did not work: no power and the door in the back was locked. The receptionist have changed the car.
The shuttle was not available from airport to rental office and we waited about 40 minutes to starting the service
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 14. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 21. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
My experience with Northbound has been great, I could compare prices easily and find best deals. The company to which I made my initial booking has to cancel it and I've received lovely support from Northbound to find the best alternative. I would recommend them with no doubt! Thanks :)
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 17. Aug 2020
Good
Although we couldn't get the diesel car, we had booked, the car turned out to be good and did not consume much more petrol we had been afraid of. It worked well even on tough F-roads, where we definitely kept the rules, where we were allowed to drive. The staff was helpful and with the full insurance did not charge us for a flat tire the roads had caused us. Luckily there was an extra full size tire in the car, what we could use on the second half of the tour.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 20. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
I just returned from my 2020 Iceland trip and want to thank Northbound.is and MyCar car rental for a great rental car experience. When I had trouble with credit card processing MyCar still gave me the car while I figured out the payment details on the road. The car worked very well and I had no issues. Northbound.is was patient with me as I had to make car rental reservations many times before the trip. I plan to use them again in the future.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 17. Aug 2020
Good
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 19. Aug 2020
We were disappointed with the rented vehicle: the handbrake did not work, there was no more washer fluid. We did appreciate the heated seats, however ;-)

The procedures for taking the vehicle are simple, we would have appreciated that the inventory of fixtures be established jointly with the lessor and this, to facilitate the inventory of fixtures when the vehicle is handed over at the end of the rental.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 23. Aug 2020
Good
Good experience!
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 24. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Our experience with Icerental 4x4 was excellent ! We had a small leak in the tent and the company provided us with a new one within 90 minutes...although we were on the other side of the country.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 19. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
I was a bit worried about using Blue Car rental for our two week Iceland adventure, but it turned out to be a good decision. I'd originally booked with one of the big hire companies, but was tempted to switch to Blue when I saw their price was over £300 cheaper for the same car. Separately, I took out excess cover with an insurance company, just to be safe (around £40 for annual cover - why haven't I done this before?!!). When I picked up the car we were upgraded from a Dacia Duster to a Nissan Quashqai. There was no hard sell on extra cover when I told them I had my own, and the process was very quick. Our bags barely fit in the car (3 young kids means a lot of stuff) but a guy came out and helped - he suggested taking out the two base boards in the boot, which meant we could just about fit everything in, and we were away. After two weeks we returned the car. I was told to leave the keys on a desk and I would receive a condition report on the car. I was slightly worried as we had left it in a bit of a muddy, crisp-crumbed state inside and out but the report came back an hour or so later via email saying everything was fine. So overall an excellent company that I can highly recommend. I don't usually write long reviews like this but I wanted to reassure those - like myself - who agonise over car hire decisions (endless scrolling through tripadvisor!) that this company is legit and, in my experience, offer an excellent service.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 18. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Great car, good price and good service.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 18. Aug 2020
Good
Good experience. Thé suzuki grand Vitara (2011) was old but rent like that so not a surprise. Not new but on the island roads it s à good thing because you are not stressed by the gravel from the other car. V6 motor (sp95/98), powerfull but too much gourmand.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 16. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
The car was good for the trip. No problem to ride around the Island on 4*4 roads. Clean. Team was nice and easygoing
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 16. Aug 2020
Good
It was my first experience with a Camper car and I really enjoyed my travel with this Dacia. Everything worked and you have really space to put your luggage.
The only unconfortable thing was a fey water the roofcar and sometimes it was a little bit wet.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 21. Aug 2020
Good
Overall a very good experience and great price. Getting the vehicle with the voucher was no issue and we could start our trip right away.
The only issue we had was a flat tire which was not the actual problem. Unfortunately our car did not come with a car jack so we luckily could borrow one from other tourists. The support from Lotus Car Rental however was very helpful and they even gave us a small refund for the missing jack.

The car itself was sufficient for all roads including F-roads (we did not cross any rivers). The insurance package (Platinum) was a good choice considering the flat tire as well as it came with free Wifi.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 13. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
I rented a Duster 2016. It had various smaller damages, but nothing serious.
I received the car very fast without a lot of documents to fill out additionally, and the return was also easy. Also I liked, that the did not try to sell me more insucrance.
rented a vehicle in August 2020