Reviews for the Best Car Rentals in Iceland

아이슬란드 최고의 렌트카 가격

Reviews for all companies
Submitted 15. Aug 2020
Good
From the organisatory point of view, we were very happy with Star Car Rental, we experienced an amazing client support with a very fast response rate. Especially because we had several changes in our arrival date due to the Corona-virus. The pick-up as well as the return of the rental car went also pretty smooth. The only minor drawback were two points with the car that we noticed during our trip. Both the breaks as well as the tires were too outworn and should both have been replaced much earlier. Everything else with the car worked out perfectly.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 15. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Both pick up and drop off were friendly and efficient, pointing out the various minor bodywork blemishes.
Minor suggestion, they are so close to the airport that walking directions, rather than reference to a non operating shuttle bus would be preferable.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 14. Aug 2020
Excellent
The dacia Duster is sufficient for easier f-roads. The roof tent is well suited for 2 normal size people.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 08. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 14. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
I loved it! Much more comfortable than I had expected and also powerful in the steep parts of the road
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 07. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Everything was perfect. Only thing to mention was that there was not an agent waiting for us on the airport when we arrived. But we called the number from the voucher and agent came in like 15mins. No problem. Next time I would choose you again.
We had no issue drive so - didnt need any extra service (like car towing, replacement car) or insurance. Thats where you would have to prove your quality service.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 11. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Excellent experience. They picked up us at the airport on time and the car hadn't got any problem.
I suggest it
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 11. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Everything worked, we were happy with the support!
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 05. Aug 2020
Good
The Jimny was great for short trips not exceeding 60km/h. Around 80km/h the steering wheel would start to shake and the Jimny became wobbly over the road. Roof tent was excellent, easy to use and setup was a matter of seconds. We chose for the additional kitchen box. The two gas canisters provided were empty so we didn't make use of the cooker.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 20. Aug 2020
Good
The car was technically ok, but could have been cleaner, especially the inside of the windshield. The dimensions of the rooftop tent could be pointed out more clearly. I'm 190cm and could not stretch fully.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 10. Aug 2020
Good
Pick up at the airport was a little bit slow. Not enough drivers/cars to transfer all people from the airport to the rental company. We received a great car (not the one that was reserved) but gps was no good. After a couple of days the dashboard of the car mentioned that a check up was necessary. Called the company and they told us not to worry. Drop off was not that smooth. Only two people present who were driving people from their office to the airport while no one was in the office taking care of people who wanted to bring back their cars.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 25. Aug 2020
Good
A good experience on quite all points. Friendly staff, no problems with the car, good price and quick check in/out.
Just, credit cards are not common in France (only debit cards) and the money debited for bail generated unexpected fees (change rate)
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 11. Aug 2020
Excellent
Easy to find, good communication pre-rental. The car is rather new with not much mileage. When we pick it up, some part of it are not so clean compared with rentals in other countries. But after driving around Iceland especially in F-roads, I understand how difficult it is to get a thorough clean of the entire car.
The cigarette lighter socket did not work and we noticed it only the day after we pick it up. It is not a big deal but would be great if we are informed when we pick it up.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 04. Aug 2020
Good
Mjög góður bill, æðislegt að keyra hann og gott rúmpláss. Aftur á móti gleymdi skutlarinn að ná í okkur á réttum tima, áttum bókað 9:30 en hann kom kl 11. Svo var kæliboxið fullt af grænu sulli/vökva ofaní þannig við vildum ekki notað það.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 28. Aug 2020
Excellent
Almost everything is good.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 03. Sep 2020
Outstanding!
I used the services of Northbound by renting from Lava Car Rental for my trip to Iceland.
I strongly recommend their services for the value for money and they are very serious. I rented a dacia duster in very good condition much cheaper than with international companies.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 17. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 17. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Car was top - new and it was the larger model (7 seats instead of 5 seats) with no extra charge. Super Service by MyCar Rental, Airport Shuttle (to the Rental Office in Keflavík) at any time as agreed (and flexible as we arrived earlier than planend). Super qick handover of the car (too qick? - as they forgot to hand us over the WFI rooter - we got it than immediately by the Reykjavík office after our request call). Car return was also very fast. So far so good! We didn‘t had any troubles - so we cannot judge on Problem dealing.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 19. Aug 2020
Good
Das Auto war unseren Anforderungen entsprechend. Enttäuscht waren wir allerdings von dem Dachzelt, da es nach 5 Regentagen nicht mehr bewohnbar war. Die Abdichtung am Heck des Zeltes war undicht und die Matratze konnte man auswringen.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 13. Aug 2020
Good
The service is good, but the car is old, whose mileage has over 180000 km. So the car always broke. It’s windows lost control, the battery always broke that I can not set up the car. In half of the trip, the car alert us for maintenance. I think that such a situation shouldn’t happen. The company should check it more frequently.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 15. Aug 2020
Excellent
Freundlicher Service, Rückfragen im Vorfeld schnell beantwortwortet.
Mit unserem Dacia Duster waren wir sehr zufrieden, hat auch schwierige Streckenabschnitte zuverlässig gemeistert. Leicht zu fahren.
Lediglich das Dachzelt hatte leichte Mängel. Die Nähte teilweise nicht mehr gut und eine Stelle wäre bei Regen vermutlich nicht dicht. Ansonsten ist ein solches Zelt sehr zu empfehlen. Würde bei Northbound wieder buchen.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 10. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 09. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Our Jimny was the perfect balance between comfort and versatility: while the "camping" part is quite simple, with a comfortable bed and a reliable rooftop tent, but almost nothing more, having a 4x4 allowed us to drive some beautiful F-Roads, giving our holiday an additional value.
I'd absolutely suggest this solution, as soon as you know this is far from a motorhome. Might not be for everybody then, but with some adaptability I think it's the best deal.
I'd only suggest to Icerental 4x4 to add few improvements for space organization in the car, mainly in the back (i.e. back seats are not useful at all).
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 01. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
We were very impressed with the service provided. The Free pickup in the airport and the Quick service to get our vacation started could not have been better. We would highly recommend this company and will be using it again if we visit Iceland again in the future :)
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 20. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Very good service, great overview of the market, competitive pricing. I found it extremely helpful!
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 20. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Tout était parfait. Voiture propre et en très bon état. Loueur disponible ponctuel et disponible pour la prise en charge et le retour du véhicule (Nissan 200)
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 24. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Excelent
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 07. Aug 2020
Excellent
All in all it was good rental. The car worked flawlessly for the entire roundtrip. The only thing stopping me from giving 5.0 in rating was the inspection at pickup. The images that Lava took barely proved it was a Dacia Duster. The small dents we found were impossible to see on them, thus forcing me to take new pictures the day after. Not the biggest task in the world but still left me with some uncertainty why even taking such bad pictures.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 01. Sep 2020
Good
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 15. Aug 2020
Excellent
Good car and roof top sleeping was great. We got new sleeping bags.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 16. Aug 2020
Good
Our Suzuki Vitara from Northern Lights Car Rental took us where we wanted to go. We drived the N1 as well as the F35 (Kjoler) with no problem.
The rental company provides you with pointers how to drive in Iceland and how to take into account the weather.
The window at the passenger side was malfunctioning and the GPS either was not up-to-date or couldn't find smaller places or streets.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 22. Aug 2020
Good
The car was okay and everything what we needed. The Suzuki Jimny has not a lot of power but needs a lot of gas. The roof tent was big enough and good as long as the weather was not super bad. It leaks a little bit if there is a lot of rain. But everything together was as expected and we could everything do what we wanted to do with it.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 12. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Everything was easy and I got, what was offerd without any problems. During Corona times I was in E-Mail touch and all questions were answered right away and helpfull hints were given.
The pick up/drop at the airport was fine. Everybody was friendly and helpfull. There was no long waiting . The car was fine.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 05. Aug 2020
Good
I do not like the policy regarding insurance. You show ridiculously high rates for different types of damage that can occur, you offer expensive insurance that doesn't cover all the damage that can occur, and worst, you don't repair damage on the campers. That would be my major reason not to rent with Touring Cars Iceland again.
Second thing is that the internal communication in your company may be improved. I've sent a message, indicating our changed arrival time, you've sent me a new voucher that confirmed that arrival time, but when we arrived there was nobody there and the person that picked us up told us we were expected at a different time.
On the contrary, we really did like the camper. It was comfortable, and you have thought about the silly little details as well. Like the thermos that keeps my coffee warm all day.
Last suggestion: please include an inventory of stuff that is included with the rental, that makes it easier to pack things that are needed and leave home what is not needed.
The short summary: change your ridiculous policy regarding damage and we'll definitely rent with you again next time.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 04. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Northern Lights Car Rental has a very good customer service, they picked us up on the airport on time, the procedure for taking the car was short and quick, the car we rented was new and well maintained and the whole experience was too good! Also, Northbound website was very easy to use and the prices were the best I could find. The customer service was too helpful too! Keep your excellent job!
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 28. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
Nice small and agile car. Ideal for my one day weekend trip out of town
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 04. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 05. Aug 2020
Good
Bilen er en rigtig god type bil til formålet med familien på Island.
At batteriet til bilnøglen ikke virkede var irriterende.
At vinduesviskeren var slidt og dårlig (larmede) var irriterende
At den ene billygte foran var slået i stykker (rusten, gammel skade) dels ulovligt , dels ubehageligt at vide at modkørende ikke kunne se bilen.
"småting" er svære at sætte tal på, men det reducerer bedømmelsen fra 4,8 til 3,5
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 02. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Excellent communication
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 10. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
We had an amazing trip in Iceland.
Glad we had a 4DW, so it was really easy to get to Holaskjol Highlandcenter.
Everything went really well!!
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 30. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
Car was great and the service really good.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 04. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
have allredy made a coment on your site
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 11. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Great experience with Northbound for our road trip around Iceland.
We could pick up the car at our first guesthouse then drop it at the second one before leaving. We could even change our plans without any problem, Thordis was always kind and reactive. A good car too, perfectly clean and well-equiped. To be recommanded
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 01. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
For a manual driver it served as a good way to transition to Iceland left hand steering. On the whole an excellent experience.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 15. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Hi
Our experience with northbound and mycar was outstanding : due to Covid19 our flight has been rescheduled several times and Northbound did adjust our booking accordingly, with a great level of service to us.
Mycar is very good too and the car we got was brand new (244 km) - they were also good adviser about the road conditions !
Thanks to both of them we have had a great time in Iceland without fearing any matter
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 08. Aug 2020
Good
The Suzuki was quite good. Just that the radar brake was most times automatically disabled when it rains and the navigation system was out of date.

The communication and the customer support was quite good.

A few topics to improve:
- Transport capacity between airport and northern lights...we had to wait more then one hour
- At the end we had to park the car directly at the airport. A short notice via mail would have saved us the way to northern lights
- Maybe we missed it but a notice about the deposit would have been good to know
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 04. Aug 2020
Good
We rented a Dacia Duster and went for the westfjords. The car was totaly suited for all roads we traveled. The rental and return were quite easy and quick. Would rent again.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 01. Aug 2020
Good
Car suited us and ran well... particularly for a car with nearly 200k on the clock.
Unfortunately only the driver was taken To collect the car after waiting for 20 minutes and then I had to drive back to the airport to get my kids. But overall it was ok
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 08. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
We got an excellent car from Lava Car Rental. We had no problems, the car was clean and comfortable. Pick-up at the airport was very quick and at the office they adapted the original contract to the due to Covid changed plans. Next time we'll use Lava Car Rental again.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 06. Aug 2020
Good
We had a great time.
Picking up car was a little weird. Only one person could get the car and then I had to drive back to the airport.
Tire looses pressure after only 1 day....okay bad luck I guess. Had to go to the garage after a few days.
But for the rest of the journey we had a great time. Drove 2800 km in 12 days!
Hope to come back to Iceland next year!!!
rented a vehicle in July 2020