Reviews for the Best Car Rentals in Iceland

아이슬란드 최고의 렌트카 가격

Reviews for all companies
Submitted 29. Aug 2021
Excellent
Rental experience overall was fine, due to the extreme shortage of cars available we booked super early and price was still crazy. The car had just been turned in the night before with a softball-sized smash in the windshield that they didn't have time to fix, but they included insurance and a wifi thing to compensate, and the guy was polite and apologetic. It wasn't in great shape overall, a 2017 with 160,000 km and many many strange rattles, but made it across lots of crazy F-road drives. PS a Jimny is smaaaaaaallllllllllll.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 09. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
Our tours went well. The vans were perfect. We will be running a tour next August and will be needing two vans for approximately 12 days. We look forward to working with you on next years tour as well. We will be in contact for reserving the vehicles in late Nov. Thank you again
sincerely
Colin and Mike Nat Expo Tours
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 28. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Everything went well. We had a great off-road experience. The Suzuki Jimny is a great little Jeep. Good service at Northbound
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 26. Aug 2021
Excellent
Along with two friends we made a last-minute decision to go around Iceland. For this we needed to rent a car and were immediately shocked by the costs of renting a car for 12 days on all of the sites we could find. The cheapest 4x4 car we could find cost EUR4000. After some intense searching, we finally found Northbound, where the Toyota Land Cruiser GX 4x4 was still available at only EUR2500 - waaaay cheaper than all of the other sites. We booked it quickly and we never looked back, as the car delivered everything we needed.
There was a hiccup two days prior to our departure - we received an e-mail that our booking had been canceled due to the rental car provider (My Cars). Supposedly the vehicle was no longer available. After a couple of minutes of anxiety and mini heart attacks, we received an e-mail from Anna from Northbound's customer support, apologizing for the mess and together we were able to solve the issue - the car became available again, she booked it immediately so that we were not left without it, and she took us through the process of confirming the booking in order to make it official and avoid any problems in the future.
So the customer experience was excellent (problems like the one described above can happen, but I appreciate the way Anna handled it). Would've been better, if that did not happen, but not much I can do about it.
MyCar Rental also organized a pick-up at the airport, which was there, albeit we had to wait for about an hour. We did provide the flight information in advance, so they could've prepared better. Thankfully, I was able to reach them on the phone and their office was a couple of minutes away, so it wasn't a long wait after that. MyCar Rental stickers cannot be found anywhere at the airport (all the other companies are there, however), but the lady at the information desk was able to give us the information we needed.
After arriving at the MyCar Rental office, we got the vehicle quickly, and had a look around the car, took photos of the couple of scratches (which were already reported). We only noticed the 2cm crack in the middle of the windshield later that day and took photo of that, just in case. The crack didn't affect visibility at all.
Other than that, the car was in great condition and never let us down. We also received a pamphlet for N1 gas stations around the country where we could get 6 free coffees, and some discount for gas. What we weren't told, however, was that the only way we could get the discount on gas, would be to go to the cashier, show them a magnetic key attached to the ignition key, and then fill up the tank - we were told that we can use the magnetic key on the pump itself, but all we got was "Unauthorized" error message and no discount. N1 is the most common gas station around Iceland, but they're not always the cheapest, so while the discount is nice, paying attention to the prices on other stations was also something started doing a couple of re-fills down the road.
All in all, I'd say we had a great experience with the Toyota that we rented.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 20. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Quick, simple, good.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 19. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Seamless service with a quality car!
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 24. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
The car was great! Definitely well-used, but perfect for our needs. We did worry at how safely/well the roof rack was attached to the roof, but it seemed to hold steady.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 24. Aug 2021
While the price was good, we were quite disappointed by the customer service we received. Despite booking well ahead of time through Northbound and arriving with all the instructed voucher numbers and documentation printed out, Icerental 4x4 had no record of our reservation. They gave our group a very hard time about fulfilling the reservation, and we arrived prior to Northbound's opening hours so no one was available to confirm our reservation or help. Eventually Icerental 4x4 did honor the reservation, for which we were grateful. When we left the parking lot, our car had a squeaking sound in the wheel that got progressively worse as we drove along the ring road. When we called for a mechanic, Icerental quickly responded with a traveling mechanic which was great. Unfortunately though, Icerental expected US to pay for the mechanic even though the problem existed before picking up the car. Would not rent from them again.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 27. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Everything was great. Somebody was waiting for us at the airport and brought us to the car in about 5 minutes. In another 10 minutes everything was arranged and we could leave with the car. Staff is nice and helpfull. The car was good enough for 2 persons the drive through Iceland.
We could leave the car at the parking of the airport because we had an early flight.
Maybe they could explain more precisely where to park the car. We were doubting and went back to the day before ( we were very close to the airport) to ask. We had to leave the car at the long term parking instead of the car rental parking.
We should definitely book here again!
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 24. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
It was cheap, made fancy noises when driving faster than 50 km/h, had many scratches. Exactly what we paid for, a reliable cheap car.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 02. Sep 2021
Excellent
This car got us where we needed to go. It was roomy for 4. It didn’t have cruise control. Headlight and tail light went out during our 21 day rental. Bonus was the unlimited hot spot. Check in and check out was easy. I would rent here again.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 20. Aug 2021
Excellent
Great experience with Lava car rental, competitive prices, reliable vehicles and competent staff. I don’t rate 5 only for the prolonged wait for the shuttle transport upon arrival at the airport.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 19. Aug 2021
Good
Thank you so much for the service you provide us. Pick up and drop of to airport was in perfect time. The assistance before we start our trip was very clear. About the car (Suzuki Jimny 4x4 manual 2013) we can say that is a good car to travel Iceland (small and smart) but our Jimny was very old (more than 200.000 km) and it was very strong and hard to drive, with a lot of Moisés and some parts damaged. We are a couple that adapts to everything, but surely driving a car that conveyed more safety would have been better.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 21. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
It was a great car in good condition. The James baroud tent was great. Also was the kitchen kit. The actual rental company had good service and we had no problems with them.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 12. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
A great rental car. Comfortable, stored all our gear, easy to handle and love that it was a hybrid.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 19. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
This was my second time renting from this company and I will be giving you my business again! Everything always goes so smoothly, and the customer service is great! Thank you :)
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 25. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Greta car for Iceland! Needed a wheel alignment but other than that was perfect for a round the country trip!
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 28. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Everything was perfect, like in the description.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 23. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
The car was very good. The pick-up was also very good. Northbound (Star Car Rental) is highly recommended.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 16. Aug 2021
old car , but clean.

*locks didn't lock (at night), while driving open and closes sometimes
*car used lots of oil (13 liters / 2500 km , normal is 1 liter/10000km), i had to buy extra oil on the road, and waiting to get a refund for this 3000isk
*not al the mentioned kitchensupplies were there (cuttingboard, glasses,...)
*car was dented everywhere and missing pieces , windscreen was sandblasted and was difficult to clean
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 22. Aug 2021
Excellent
Everything went well actually, the car was good, the service was good
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 21. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
I loved my campervan!!! So easy to use, super comfy bed, great gas mileage!!
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 17. Aug 2021
The whole experience with Fara Ehf was just a MESS. First of all the car that was delivered to me was nothing like the car I booked. I Got a Volvo that was 5 years older than the Subaru Forester that I was supposed to get, other than that the Volvo was DIRTY inside and all the dashboard, controls and GPS was in german (wich I dont know) and therefore DANGEROUS for me to not be able to know if anything would be WRONG with the car, for example the brakes wich could be LETHAL. The Volvo I got did not have the common tools, books or kits that you would expect in a normal car and specially in Iceland. The one time I had to use the hook in the front to get a tow, the hook was so BEND that it was too hard to attatch. I will not recommend renting any vehicle from Fara Ehf, most of all because the price you are presented in the booking is not what you are actually paying in the end at all and the rent doesn't even include road-service.. It can for sure RUIN your trip to Iceland as it did for me.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 18. Aug 2021
Excellent
Excellent experience with the car. It would have been helpful having some more explanation on the use of 4w block on the roads and please check wipers of car before renting because it is very important for a safe journey.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 26. Aug 2021
Good
Communications was really good. Had to wait an hour for the car to be ready (cleaning) and some issues with getting things to work. It would have helped if there was a manual for the basics like heating and the cooler. Also heads up how difficult it is to get the tank filled unless you have a pin code for your credit card. Heater barely worked, windshield fluid system did not work neither did the USB for the WiFi. I would think a Monoxide detector should be mandatory it was a bit worry some with a questionable heating system. With all that said the car was actually a really good runner.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 15. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Thank you Northbound and My Car. We had a great car rental experience from start to finish. The vehicle was clean and exactly as described when booked. Well done!
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 17. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 06. Sep 2021
Good
Although it wasn't a brand new car, it was good for our trip. A little bit dirty inside the car at the pick up. With little more care about details it would have been perfect.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 24. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Perfect car for a family camping road trip! The car has a lot of room in the trunk and is very sturdy. The car was like new (6000km), and very clean. Nice your staff that work at MyCar. Highly recommended!
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 15. Aug 2021
Good
Process was easy.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 26. Aug 2021
Good
El servicio de pickup en el aeropuerto fue correcto. Nos recogieron a la 1AM. El coche Dacia Duster 4x4 tenía muchos kilómetros (200000) pero no tuvimos ningún problema con él y pudimos hacer todas las rutas por las carreteras de montaña islandesas.
Nos pareció excesivo un bloqueo en tarjeta de 350000 ISK (más de 2500 euros) durante 2 semanas . No sabíamos que la cantidad era tan alta, tuvimos que usar 2 tarjetas diferentes porque las nuestras no permitían pagos de más de 2000 euros. Hemos realizado otros alquileres en Islandia (camper y motorhome) y no nos han bloqueado nada en la tarjeta. Quizás deberían revisar ese tema, nosotros llevábamos un seguro adicional para cubrir los 350000 de franquicia.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 28. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Our rental experience with Camping Cars was great! Their service was top notch. I did have to borrow someone's cell phone to call them for pick-up upon our arrival, as they did not reply to the e-mail i sent upon landing... but the staff was very kind and accommodating! We were concerned about the battery upon receiving the rental and they took the time to put a brand new one in before sending us off. The rooftop tent was very comfortable and convenient! Just be aware of any wind storms that may be coming thru... it gets too loud to sleep if the winds get heavy. Would rent from Camping Cars again!
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 17. Aug 2021
Excellent
Everything was great: the car was in good condition, with everything we needed and the Affordable Camper’s guys are really kind and helpful.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 09. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Really nice little van with plenty of space for 2 adults, the pictures don't do it's justice, as there were space to pull down a table, heater and indoor lights, which was a nice surprise

Kuku were very friendly, and gave us good tips for our journey!

Also, remember to take pictures of your van before travelling and be thorough when checking the van for damage! You have to note down any issues of the van before you use it, and we didn't see some of the scratches it had, so we hadn't noted them down. Luckily our pictures showed the damages were before our rental :)

There's also a table to share food and other things, which people can take feely from, really nice!
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 13. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
it is a nice car
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 21. Aug 2021
The 2016 Dokker was adequate for our needs but was certainly on the lower end of quality. The sleeping area was a plywood platform with thin patio furniture cushions. The electric heater was built to face a small compartment underneath the sleeping platform so it only heated up a tiny space instead of the entire van. The camping gas was nearly empty although the booking stated it included an extra full canister. The staff at Nordic were not going to give us blankets or a "camping box" (dishes, utensils, fuel/burner) until we showed them our booking which listed these as included. Service at Nordic was chaotic and people were reporting about a 2-hour wait time to pick up their vehicles when we were there. If booking a vehicle from Nordic, screenshot everything to be included at the time of booking because this information is not available in any of the receipts after booking!
Northbound, the service that we booked through, was very easy to deal with when we had to make a couple of changes. We asked to add an extra day to our booking and the Northbound agent spent all morning trying to reach Nordic with no success, so we appreciated that we went through Northbound rather than dealing directly with the rental company. I would book through Northbound in the future but would avoid Nordic and choose another of the companies they deal with.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 19. Aug 2021
Fine
Start of the rent was really bad. We had to wait at the Airport and only one of us was allowed to go to the rental office. We received a 2016 Dacia instead of 2017 (this was compensated by a day free rental). There was no WiFi and GPS so we needed to drive back to the rental office. Then the tire pressure notification started to burn. Back again and then they said to ignore this.
After this start it went better. The car was old and bumpy but brought us everywhere we wanted.
The return of the car was very friendly and accurate.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 15. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Very good car (large enough to accommodante 5 pax). Very good services with quick check in and check out procedures
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 10. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
My wife and I had an EXCELLENT experience renting a 4x4 from Northbound for our 10 year anniversary trip this past week. Customer service was unparalleled. We’ve never had such a positive experience renting a car.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 12. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
This car was great for our week driving around Iceland. Loved that it was a hybrid and more fuel efficient. The trunk was bigger than I expected it to be and actually fit a very large suitcase and another bag.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 15. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Yes so much. The car was good and comfortable. And the service of northbound was great !!!!
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 08. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Completely satisfied with the vehicle and with the outstanding customer support.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 13. Aug 2021
Excellent
This vehicle was just fine for my journey all around Iceland.
It had several dents, etc all around. Rental agent took IPad photos and so did I, there were no issues with returning the vehicle in same condition. No tire issues, yeah!
This vehicle is not intended for gravel roads as most small vehicles it rides low.
It did not have backup camera, this model may not have had that option in 2015
Here's a couple of items that should be watched. The tire warning light was on after the 2nd day, I watched the tires carefully and there were no issues for 10 days of driving.
The yellow check engine light also came on, this was concerning.
A local car expert explained this happens and is not a concern.
Maybe it needed an oil change??
Need more staff at pickup for both prompt airport shuttle & actual hand off of vehicle. The airport wait was VERY long & concerning at 8 AM on Mon.
First : Very good drop off experience, I was concerned after the pickup experience. I arrived at 530 Mon. waited about 5 min and agent reviewed the return. emailed me paperwork. Put my suitcase in large van and soon a small group was delivered to airport by 6 ish.

Pickup was also very long 30 min average for customer signing docs. plus time to review the vehicle.
There were maybe 30 already people waiting when our shuttle arrived.
I'm not sure total checkout time but in excess of 2 hours & maybe longer, had there been other agency vehicles available I'm sure most if not all of my shuttle would have canceled.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 17. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
The car is like new.
MyCar were friendly and efficient.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 17. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Renting a car through Northbound.is was easy and convenient. Website is with clear information about the rental cars. Communication was very well. Northbound may provide additional discount (which you may not get if booked directly at the rental company).
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 10. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
We were upgraded to an 2018. It was comfortable but the engine had no pickup- meaning, it struggled to get up hills. It was a bit smaller than our original rental.

Overall, customer support before the trip was excellent. I had to adjust the day and time of our pickup, and it was handled very smoothly.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 08. Aug 2021
Our car was a bit of a beater - scratched and dented all over the place, and the plastic covering for the trunk latch had broken off, exposing the mechanism. Also, what we thought was a stain or hardened resin on the windshield.

It was a little off putting. I'd paid nearly $100 a day on the most budget option, although I knew car rental prices had skyrocketed.. Still, it worked and we had no mechanical problems. The Aygo is a small and feeble budget car, so we stayed on the main roads and drove conservatively. Seats were also quite uncomfortable, but in the end it worked fine for us. The gas mileage was good, so we could save on gas.

Check in was fine, but Blue has a system I'd never encountered, where they tell you to take photos of any damage, then can discuss afterwards. This was a bit strange - especially because, as mentioned, the car we got was damaged on multiple areas. So we took photos of everything we saw. I actually asked if they wanted to look with me, given all the damage, but the check in woman said no, it was fine, just take photos.

The return experience was the worst I've ever had. I've rented dozens of cars over the years, and have never had a problem. When we returned the car, the woman at the desk did an inspection... And that stain we saw on the windshield turned out to be a rock chip. It had been there when we picked up the car, but then they claimed we had caused it and insisted on us paying about $544.

Since we didn't realize it was damage, we hadn't taken a photo on pick up.

Obviously, since this wasn't out fault, we argued. It turns out they themselves never noticed or documented the broken trunk, so had to admit they hadn't done a thorough job themselves, and we didn't end up paying.

I'm not sure if they were trying to scam us, or if they were careless, but either way Blue car rental is terrible, and I will never deal with them again if given the choice. They have a predatory business model where they try to find undocumented damage afterwards and charge massive fees - see other reviews on tripadvisor.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 16. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
Great car, no problems.
I booked often Icerental 4x4 and it was always a good experience. Kind staff.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 12. Aug 2021
Worst rental experience ever. Picked up the car on Friday July 30. Started to drive the Golden Circle at 2:00 PM. Car broke down at Laugarvatn at 17:30. Called 24/7 service number. They said they needed permission from NordicCarRental to do anything. Repeatedly called and emailed NordicCarRental. No response. Ending up staying in a local guesthouse which was within walking distance. NordicCarRental did not call us until 11:30 on July 31-18 hours later. By that time we had arranged a Taxi to Reykjavik which cost $375. We had to rent another car from another company, and because it was last minute ended up spending $4000 for two weeks. No apology for NordicCarRental. I would give them minus stars if I could.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 08. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Thank you Northbound for everything when I needed you to change dates or some had some other problems due to flight changes you were always there for me and always replied promptly . thank you so much and I will definitely recomand you.
Joseph
rented a vehicle in July 2021