Reviews for the Best Car Rentals in Iceland

De Beste Prijzen voor Huurauto's in IJsland

Reviews for all companies
Submitted 05. Jan 2022
Excellent
The car and service was good for the price.
rented a vehicle in December 2021
Submitted 31. Dec 2021
Outstanding!
It was so amazing renting a car here. Every body were so nice and kind. Explain everything clearly of how to stay safe on the road and keep checking the road conditions. The car also very nice, clean, easy to drive and very safe when drove through the snow. And the camping is very easy to open and close, super convenient. I love it! If have a chance to go visit Iceland again I will definitely use your company again!
rented a vehicle in December 2021
Submitted 31. Dec 2021
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in December 2021
Submitted 25. Dec 2021
Outstanding!
good shuttle service, very friendly employees and in our specific case the car was very comfortable and well prepared for the trip, totally recomendable
rented a vehicle in December 2021
Submitted 14. Feb 2022
Outstanding!
Rental was great. The staff were very friendly and were even able to provide us a bigger car that fit our baggage better.
rented a vehicle in December 2021
Submitted 22. Dec 2021
Good
The check in and pick up at airport were easy and fairly quick.
The car worked well.
At pickup we told the company that we would drop off the car at 5:00am, their opening time. When we arrived, there was no one at the office. We called and no one answered. We emailed and no response. In the end we decided to drive to the airport and park the car there.
We have not received an response to date. This is unacceptable.
rented a vehicle in December 2021
Submitted 26. Dec 2021
Outstanding!
Airport service was perfect. Super good conditions and service.
rented a vehicle in December 2021
Submitted 18. Dec 2021
Fine
The staff were very kind but when we arrived we were forced to upgrade our car that I had already paid for in full, which cost extra. I felt like everything was designed to cost more money when you got there so the price I found online didn’t matter at all and that was very frustrating.
rented a vehicle in December 2021
Submitted 20. Dec 2021
Outstanding!
Only our Problem is we came early in the Morning , and your office open at 10.00am, but you Pick us early. I did not check the Time , my Fault too. But Van was good for 6 people with Luggage and comfortable ride.
good experience. will Recommend to friends. Thanks.
rented a vehicle in December 2021
Submitted 21. Dec 2021
Outstanding!
My MyCar Rental experience was excellent. I was able to pick up my vehicle from the downtown Reykjavik location, and drop it off at KEF, and both were seamless and easy. The desk representatives at both locations were friendly and helpful. And the vehicle itself was clean and comfortable.
rented a vehicle in December 2021
Submitted 14. Dec 2021
Outstanding!
Renting from Northbound was a very good experience. Communication was great, they responded in a few minutes and had a shuttle from the airport to the rental. Great car, very friendly staff and probably the most beautiful office of a rental car company we have seen.
rented a vehicle in December 2021
Submitted 12. Dec 2021
Good
the car did its job except that it had some damage to the exterior of the car, otherwise it behaved as expected. on the other hand the transfer has been correct both from the airport to the office and vice versa and fast
rented a vehicle in December 2021
Submitted 23. Dec 2021
Outstanding!
Had a great experience with my car rental. Was able to drive to all the spots I had on my Iceland itinerary. They were very helpful with giving me the information I needed for a safe winter visit to Iceland!
Thank you!
rented a vehicle in December 2021
Submitted 18. Dec 2021
Outstanding!
Lava Car rental employees we’re easy to work with, the car was perfect for winter driving. Felt solid on the road when there was ice /snow, the studded tires and 4 wheel drive were perfect. I would definitely use this company again.
rented a vehicle in December 2021
Submitted 13. Dec 2021
I was disappointed by the experience with Fara. When picking up, Northbound had indicated that the supplier would wait outside of the airport, but Fara required a call for them to pick up at the airport. Once the agent for Fara picked us up and drove us to the location in Keflavik, he proceeded to take about 45 minutes to prepare our paperwork, which included a call to someone else when their computer system wasn't working as expected. He also pressured us to get add-on insurance at about $50 US per day, saying that Iceland winds and weather could be unpredictable (even though the sign on their desk said that wind damage would not be covered with this type of insurance). I declined as I did not feel that this would normally be worth it. He showed us a collection of pictures of the vehicle in its current state and also suggested to take pictures of the vehicle when the light was better (we arrived at 8am, but sun didn't rise until about 10:30am).

When we returned the car, the agent who checked us out found a dent on the interior rear door, in an area where the first agent did not take a picture. The drop off agent said that not all agents were as thorough as him when inspecting. When I said that I wasn't sure how that dent would have gotten there, he said that since there was no photo of the interior of the door before, that we would have to pay 60,000 ISK for it to be repaired. I understand that I am technically liable for this damage, and that I should have done a more thorough inspection of the vehicle before driving it off, but I imagine if I had waited a few hours for the sun to rise to take pictures, there would still have been an opportunity for plausible deniability for Fara that I had caused that damage in the intervening time.

Anyways, the car itself worked well, and it held up in the Icelandic winter. I appreciated the integrated GPS system and studded winter tires, which both worked well.
rented a vehicle in December 2021
The Supplier Response:
Dear Michael,

Thank you for your feedback. However, there are a few things that need to be mentioned.

On the voucher from Northbound, there is information:
‘’ PICK UP: AFTER obtaining your luggage, please call the
FARA SHUTTLE SERVICE on +354 537 2018. The
SHUTTLE DRIVER will normally arrive within 10-20 minutes
to collect you from the KEF AIRPORT ARRIVALS HALL.’’
We are very sorry. If somehow we mislead you.

Our customer service standards are top quality. We are doing our best to proceed through all the paperwork as fast as possible so our customers can start an incredible journey in Iceland asap.
Unfortunately, sometimes computer systems decide to don’t cooperate. I’m sure we did everything we could to finish the paperwork as fast as possible, even though we are very sorry for the inconvenience. Fortunately, a situation like this is extremely rare.

Iceland is a very unpredictable country, and in some conditions, it is easy to damage the car (even if you are not aware of it). That’s why we recommend our customers complete their protection package to be protected against most of the damages.

Best Regards
Fara Team
Submitted 12. Apr 2022
Outstanding!
Very helpful . Great service . Will definitely use them again when we return later this year
rented a vehicle in December 2021
Submitted 07. Dec 2021
Outstanding!
Good Car, handling fast en good. perfect shuttle service.
rented a vehicle in December 2021
Submitted 08. Dec 2021
Outstanding!
It was a Mitsubishi but very similar to RAV4. It was an excellent car, heated everything, studded tires. Made us feel safe and warm on our adventures. Ivar was a pleasure to do business with and showed sincere interest in making sure we had everything we needed. If we are fortunate enough to return to Iceland, he has absolutely earned our return business.
rented a vehicle in December 2021
Submitted 06. Dec 2021
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 07. Dec 2021
Outstanding!
Easy service. The car was great. Everything was perfect.
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 05. Dec 2021
Bad. You gave me a very old car more than 360000 km. The lights were very bad, noisy and you had to drive with the wheel moved to the left to follow straight .
I lost 3 hours changing it .
The workers there said that they knew the problem of that car, a lot of people change that car... so why do they give me that car??? We are in low seasson ...
After that was ok
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 20. Dec 2021
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 29. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
Excellent car in excellent condition.
The guys were very professional and thoroughly recommend this company.
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 29. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
Excellent service from Fara Ehf--the gentleman helping us at check-in and check-out gave superb customer service and ensured all our questions were answered. He also promptly picked us up and dropped us back off at the airport. The vehicle itself was comfortable and safe to carry six people. The costs also cannot be beat with these larger sized vehicles, so definitely recommend this place!
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 02. Dec 2021
Outstanding!
The treatment and management have been very satisfactory, and the vehicle we have rented has not caused us any problems and has responded to expectations.
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 28. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
The car worked well and nice to drive. The only problem was the cruise control did not work properly.
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 27. Nov 2021
Excellent
Really good value vehicle. We ran into some interesting weather, snow, ice, fog and rain and the car was really rock solid. It had obviously seen plenty of tourists like myself but was still a sound vehicle. Only fault was that there was no screen wash in the vehicle.
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 26. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
Northbound gave a very professional service as my agent, Anna was a great help, professional and also fiendly.
My experience with Go car hire started poorly but ended on a good note.
Firstly I was asked to pay almost double the agreed bill. Very strange or even suspicious but after showing my bill from Go he said he would amend the charge.
I paid cash but he was unable to produce a receipt but rather said he noted it on my file.
The car had a plastic trim in the drivers footwell that was not attached and twice jammed my foot on the accelerator.
Things improved on my return the young man on duty was very professional offering us coffee and was polite. Luca was the driver back to my accommodation. Later I received a call from him to say that I left my drone in the car which I needed early the following day. Luca drove back the half hour round trip in his own time to ensure it was returned to me safely.
Good customer service saved the day.
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 30. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
We booked a Nissan X-Trail for 7 seaters from Lava Car Rental through Northbound during the week of Thanksgiving. First time of using both companies, in general the experience was really good. Booking process with Northbound was easy and clear. Received email confirmation right away after booking.
On November 22, our flight arrived 30 minutes earlier than scheduled, we were picked up within one hour by Lava Rental rep and were driven to the rental office, which is not far from the airport. The office appeared well set up, no waiting line and the check in process was smooth. At the first, the car appears to be smaller than the typical 7-seater SUV at home, and we struggled a bit to consolidate all the bags and settle 6 people in it. I did ask if there was another bigger car available and was told that was the last one. It was dark outside, we used the iPhone flashlight to check the car around and found two dents on both side of the door, we notify the office that they said a note was made for that.
For the next six days, we drove the car in the southern part of the island, it worked very well, no complains. There was some snow and ice on the road, but with 4X4, no issues at all. We stopped at N1 gas stations for diesel, there is a discount card on the key chain, but somehow it didn’t work properly. Maybe we should’ve asked about how to use it.
The return process to the rental office was quick and easier too, we were able to fill the gas tank full before returning it and make it to the office one hour earlier.
Overall, the experience was much better than expected, comparing to some scary stories heard over internet.
We plan to go back to Iceland again in a different season and would like to use the same service again.
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 29. Nov 2021
Good
The car was fine, the cost of total insurance was excessive and doesn’t seem necessary considering what not included in the insurance.
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 28. Nov 2021
Excellent
Not bad for a ten year old car.
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 29. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
Very positive experience and a great car
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 24. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
Good, roomy vehicle
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 28. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
I liked the Ford Puma rental. It handled the Iceland weather and road very well.
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 20. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
Best customer services provider in the area! Stop by this place if you want to rent a camper van for your adventure in Iceland.
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 20. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
Everything was perfect!
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 21. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 22. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
Staff were very efficient and made whole rental process very easy. I want to change my booking to extend rental period and Anna Heiða made this very easy by email. Pick up and drop off was seamless. We decided to drop the car off night before as we heard mornings were busy and we chose to stay nearby and they gave us a lift to our hotel. Simple and easy booking process, would recommend.
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 19. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
Perfect van life
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 12. Dec 2021
Outstanding!
I loved the Jimny and GO Car Rental was great. We were provided with a newer model of the Jimny than expected. It seems Go Car Rental upgraded our rental simply because the newer model was also available. The staff were very helpful, such as describing the Iceland and Reykjavik driving experience as an orientation when we picked up the Jimny.
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 24. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
Car was very good and served we need. It had enough room for 3 of us and our luggage. It had sufficient power for get us through the winter road in Iceland.
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 19. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
Great experience, friendly staff.
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 16. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
We loved our car! It was perfect for the November weather conditions in Iceland. We felt very safe all the time. And we loved that the interior warmed up very quickly and also had heated seats in the front!
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 14. Nov 2021
Excellent
FARA - Great at pick up ( David) Great at drop off ( Dominic )
Customer service was really good
The CAR - Perfect for long journeys, made driving easy and made you feel safe. Took the car becasue of Satelite Navigation BUT broke or got switched off within 1st hour and FARA were contacted. No suggestions on what to do so didnt have Radio or SAT NAV for entire journey :(
I have let FARA know of my thoughts and await. However, i would still book with them again
BUT great drive in the Mazda Cx-30.
Price was competitive BUT went for FULL insurance which i thought was a little pricey BUT gave me peice of mind
Suggestio - It would be nice if someone was waiting with a board as i did not have a phone and used someone else's
Would i use NORTHBOUND - YES
Would i use FARA - YES
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 14. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
Verry good experience with Icerental4x4 with Northbound. The vehicle was perfect for our trip in south Iceland! No problem to declare on arrival as departure, treatment fast and efficient and really attractive price.
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 21. Nov 2021
Dear northbound Team,

thanks for the opportunity to comment.

The land and the people were fantastic. I really did enjoy my time in Iceland, even though the weather wasn't always kind during the trip.

Unfortunately I have to raise a few points regarding my rental. From a riding perspective the car was doing more or less a fine job, even though the rainsensor for the wipers was broken, so the wipers only knew stop or full throttle. In a little bit of rain this was very infuriating, as you had to manually adjust all the time. Additionally the breaking pads in the front were faulty and were gone after a few hundred kilometers which made the onwards journey not only a bit nervewrecking, but looking back also a bit dangerous.
This was also a big part, why I ended my trip two days early and gave the car back on the 18th of November and not as booked on the 20th.

Overall the condition of the car was not completely as I imagined.
In the windshield there was a gravel damage which if it was not properly handled beforehand, could have easily damage the windshield further. Additionally the car had on both front doors damages from overextending the doors from wind, as well as different other damages on the chassis. Considering the overall condition of the car, looking back I would not choose the same insurance package again...

Also:
The lighting in the back was not working. Not the two small booklamps and not the light on the ceiling, which was supposed to be the main light in the back. The only light working was the one for the back door which was linked with the car main battery, which always runs the danger of depleting the main battery.

Also the interiour was very dirty and moldy. This did have an impact on breathing. And I never fully felt comfortable.

The camping gear provided with the rental was in parts faulty or broken. Case for the gas stove was broken, one chair provided etc.

I am not an overly picky person, but all in all I expected something a bit different.

As I was already a few kilometers into my journey when I noticed all these things, I decided to keep going, but with faulty breaks during the challenging weather on a roundtrip of whole Iceland I did no longer feel safe. Therefore the earlier return.

I raised these concerns very early to Lava Car Rental, but never got a reply or a comment. When I returned the car and raised my points again in person the clerk in charge assured me, that he would have his boss look over my concerns. Until now, I did not get any amendmend from their side.

Also the interiour of the car was very spartanic and not at all as I imagined it. As it was functional this was no great concern, but there was a only a cheap fitout of the car with wooden boards with no insulation whatsoever, which made it necessary to run the heating system the whole time and to position oneself away from the outside walls, which were blank metal.

Summary:
- The car was functional, but faulty in parts; maybe even dangerous with faulty breaks and also with the mold an health hazard

Best regards
Bastian
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 15. Nov 2021
Voilà bien la pire voiture qu'il nous a été donné de louer! Et nous n'avons pas payé peu cher. Une vieille Dacia qui a un stop and go qui ne fonctionne plus et qui s'arrête donc à chaque stop et à chaque feu rouge. La consommation s'en voit donc augmentée ( 500 km avec un plein de 70 euros...). Le bruit du démarrage équivaut à celui d'un camion, etc. Très mauvaise affaire. De plus qu'un 4x4 n'est pas forcément nécessaire même en novembre. Le service ça a été par contre (rapidité, politesse, explications), sauf qu'il n'ont pas écouté les commentaires sur la voiture, estimant qu'on ne savait pas faire avec le stop and go, ce qui est faux.
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 15. Nov 2021
Fine
Camper was as expected, however there was damage to door on return we got charged 900$CAD after inspecting photos of pick up we notice the damage was already there we just missed it in the initial inspection. now we are in the process of getting are money back
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 24. Nov 2021
Good
We had a few issues with the car.

- The doors in the back wouldn’t stay open which made it tough to get our daughter in and out.
- The overhead light didn’t work in the back of the car which made it difficult to locate things in the back seat at night.
- The oil light came on mid-way through the ten day trip which caused unnecessary stress as we didn’t know the seriousness of it.
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 10. Dec 2021
Avoid at all costs!!! Terrible experience! We rent a Dacia Duster, the car condition was miserable >200000km. The driving experience really difficult. Headlights blurry, steering, brakes, gear box, everything in really bad condition. Believe me this isnt something you want on icelandic roads.

As this wasn’t enough we had an accident. We ran into a sheep which was trying to cross the road. It was dark and we show it at the last second. The sheep survived, our car didn’t. We had to call the car rental service. They told us to go to the nearest garage and have the car checked. They told us we would pay for the service and the we would receive a refund from the car rental company. We went to the garage, the people there were really friendly and helpful. Because of a problem with the left light (broken because of the collision and thus nomore waterproof) we had to change cars. We paid at the garage (120€) and made our way to the car rental company. The guys an the garage told as the same thing, that we would get a refund from the car rental company.
As we arrived at the car rental we were far from welcomed. The guy who took care of the car exchange was far from friendly. When we told him that we would like our refund he refused rudely to give us the money we paid for the service and didn’t want to discuss about it. I told him that on the telephone his co-worker told me that we would get a refund and he answered with a rude tone “i won’t give you any money back”!!!
We didn’t make a scene because we had already lost a lot of time and wanted to go on with our trip. We paid the for the car damage( thank god we had the silver insurance package and paid only 730€, there were other couples with no insurance who had to pay 3000€ und 3500€)
Another point that we were told that we would shortly receive a detailed description of the damage and the repair costs. Should the costs be less than 730€, then we would get a refund. I can tell you that today 1 month after our trip we haven't received anything. I contacted them and asked for the car repair bill and they told me that they don't normally send the bill and anyway the car isn’t yet repaired. ( i think 1 month for such a small damage is too long especially for a car rental company which needs its cars rolling)

Nevertheless the choice of the car rental company is free. I would personally never book with them again as they try to make as much money as they can from you, and unfortunately this isn’t because they offer top service. The exact opposite!! We had the best time in Iceland, we would totally go again. The only black spot was the car rental.. Make your decision responsibly!
rented a vehicle in November 2021