Reviews for GO Car Rental in Iceland

アイスランドのレンタカーのベスト価格

Reviews for GO Car Rental
Submitted 26. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
Northbound gave a very professional service as my agent, Anna was a great help, professional and also fiendly.
My experience with Go car hire started poorly but ended on a good note.
Firstly I was asked to pay almost double the agreed bill. Very strange or even suspicious but after showing my bill from Go he said he would amend the charge.
I paid cash but he was unable to produce a receipt but rather said he noted it on my file.
The car had a plastic trim in the drivers footwell that was not attached and twice jammed my foot on the accelerator.
Things improved on my return the young man on duty was very professional offering us coffee and was polite. Luca was the driver back to my accommodation. Later I received a call from him to say that I left my drone in the car which I needed early the following day. Luca drove back the half hour round trip in his own time to ensure it was returned to me safely.
Good customer service saved the day.
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 12. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
Northbound Car Rental (aka Go Car Rental) was wonderful! 5 stars for the vehicle, pricing and customer service. We will definitely rent with them again on our next trip to Iceland! Prior to our trip they were very communicative and picked us up at the hotel upon our arrival and dropped us off at the BSI bus terminal to get back to the airport. Easy!
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 03. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
Just perfect!
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 05. Sep 2021
Good
reliable car, well suited as a 4x4, the gears are very short so that driving in a town is not the best. Very good gas consumption, diesel at 5.5 l / 100 km.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 07. Sep 2021
Excellent
Car was a great companion on my 3 week Icelandic summer adventure. It didn’t accelerate as quickly and smoothly as I would have liked but held its own on many types of roads and weather situation so I’m happy.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 29. Aug 2021
Excellent
Rental experience overall was fine, due to the extreme shortage of cars available we booked super early and price was still crazy. The car had just been turned in the night before with a softball-sized smash in the windshield that they didn't have time to fix, but they included insurance and a wifi thing to compensate, and the guy was polite and apologetic. It wasn't in great shape overall, a 2017 with 160,000 km and many many strange rattles, but made it across lots of crazy F-road drives. PS a Jimny is smaaaaaaallllllllllll.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 16. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
The Northbound representative originally misunderstood my order and cancelled my car. When they booked it again, it was double the price. When I informed them, they ordered the car again and also gave me the original price. That is great customer service. We picked up the car, but it was not available so they upgraded our car. The experience at GO Car went well too! The person who checked us in was nice. I returned the car and everything was great!
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 17. Jul 2021
Good
I was a little disappointed because I got a Renault Clio instead of the VW Polo I had booked, but when I got used to it, it was OK.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 20. Jul 2021
Fine
We traveled to Iceland on a family vacation and rented two cars: a Mitsubishi Pajero and a Dacia Duster. We were unsatisfied with both cars.

The interior of our Mitsubishi Pajero was dirty, the windshield was full of scratches and cracks, it had worn shock absorbers .The car was supposed to be model year 2017, but the documentation that was in the car showed it was imported in 2016, made for the Eastern European market. The car looked more than 5 years old as rust was visible everywhere.
We have at home a VW Sharan, 16 years old, and looks better than 4 years old Mitsubishi Pajero.
If the car is really 4 years old, it means that the car has been maintained very poorly.

At pick-up, we pointed out that the Duster 's display indicates: the car needs to be taken to a car repair shop. But it was claimed that everything is fine with the car. While driving, it turned out that the car could not drive uphill at normal speed. We lost a day while we were waiting for bring us a new car. The new car had a flat tire after two days. The tire was not punctured, probably the tire valve was leaking or the tire was too old.
We have been visiting Iceland almost every year since 2009 and I must say that this year was the worst as far as car rental is concerned.
Best regards
Family Dalla Valle
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 16. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
My husband and I were very satisfied with our car choice. The office for pickup and drop off was very close to the airport. We didn't have any issues when on the road.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 25. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
Great car! And a guy from GO Car Rental was waiting for us upon arrival so we were able to get on the road quickly.
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 09. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
Nice car. Very good service front Go Car Rental. We will rent again.
rented a vehicle in February 2020
Submitted 02. May 2020
Outstanding!
Hey! I went to Iceland on March (before covid) for holidays. It was a great experience. GO Car had frequent airport pickup. The vehicle behaved perfectly (Dacia Duster). Price was alright. They offered a ride back to our hotel the day we had to return the car. The one thing that could have been better is to inform beforehand about the payment sistem for the tunnels (I didn't know about the online payment of the tunnel to the north of Akureyri and they charged me an additional tax)
rented a vehicle in February 2020
Submitted 26. Feb 2020
Outstanding!
Excellent service and value, we were met at the arrivals lounge with the car waiting in the carpark. The car was superb and made are holiday in Iceland epic.
rented a vehicle in February 2020
Submitted 03. Oct 2019
Outstanding!
Our experience with Go Car was hassle free and very straight forward. Our flights were delayed but there was still someone who met us at the arrivals hall to take us to the car. Their prices were definitely the best value and the 2019 jimny was a great little 4x4.
rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 19. Sep 2019
Outstanding!
we liked it very much.
rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 13. Sep 2019
Outstanding!
Experience was great. Quick and simple. Car was inexpensive. I would use again.
rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 13. Sep 2019
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 10. Sep 2019
Outstanding!
New car great experience
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 01. Sep 2019
Good
We had a "similar" car which was Subaru xv. Car was very nice and good. Only remarkable difference was that I rent diesel and subaru was petrol. Fuel consumption was a bit bigger. I rent also two camping mattress with car and those were quite poor. Gps, sleeping bags and cooling box was good. Service was good. Thanks :)
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 20. Aug 2019
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 22. Aug 2019
Good
At first the rental company said they did not receive confirmation for my reservation and told us the car is not available, but there were going to get a call to their boss and see what they can do. After 30 to 40 minutes they come back and told us they found us a new vehicle so everything worked out fine at the end, but there was some time of stress and uncertainty in the beginning. We got a little bigger car than reserved which was nice, as for the vehicle everything was fine. The person from the car rental company was kind and explain everything needed. The drop of procedure was very easy as we just needed to leave the car at their parking spots and the airport.
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 21. Aug 2019
Good
We had An upgrade with a tucson which worked Just fine and It Was delivered to Us earlier.
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 25. Aug 2019
Excellent
Excellent service. I would suggest them. Closed To the airport.
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 18. Aug 2019
Outstanding!
Absolutely fantastic!

Only suggestion we have to improve service, is we we're not aware that a representative would greet us upon exit from arrivals hall.

We exited, and began searching for a Go rental booth along with the other providers.

Perhaps a clarity in the confirmation email in bold letters "A GO representative will greet you as you exit the arrivals hall..."

rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 14. Aug 2019
Outstanding!
Easy car rental process. We were met at the airport with our car after getting our bags. The VW Golf was the perfect size for 3 of us with 3 bags and 3 backpacks. To return the car you just drop it off at the car rental return area and leave the keys in the car. You can easily walk to the airport from there. My only concern was there was no one to check the car over when we dropped it off. I did take a video of our car upon return to be sure I am not charged for any damage that wasn’t there when I dropped it off. Other than that it was a great experience!
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 22. Aug 2019
Good
Great car, the only down was that tire pressure was not checked (and air pressure warning was on since the beginning of the rental). So I had to add air pressure the first day of the rental.
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 15. Aug 2019
Excellent
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 09. Aug 2019
Outstanding!
It was great, and much roomier than I thought it would be - held 2 large suitcases in the back plus a smaller suitcase and a lot of STUFF!! We all rode comfortably and it seemed like gas mileage was really good.
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 09. Aug 2019
Outstanding!
It was absolutely amazing, the car got us everywhere we wanted to go. We needed up driving something like 2,400 kilometers and never had any problems with the car, even once.
rented a vehicle in July 2019
Submitted 15. Aug 2019
Outstanding!
Finally, we got a Nissan Qashqai 4x4
rented a vehicle in July 2019
Submitted 08. Aug 2019
Fine
Bad start; the agent was late. After 2 sprays of windshield washer fluid there was no more, so I had to buy some out of my own pocket . The car was'nt in perfect shape but it did the job over all.
rented a vehicle in July 2019
Submitted 26. Jul 2019
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in July 2019
Submitted 04. Aug 2019
Good
Starts when on. No breakdown. This is a prerequisite. On top of that : pretty bumpy car, not quite stable, air con out of order (would have been helpful on 08.02).
Staff very friendly at drop off and lift to appartment appreciated. Conversely, pick up could be improved.
rented a vehicle in July 2019
Submitted 05. Aug 2019
Outstanding!
Goooood! Very nice , not pushi, helpfull people. The car was not old, although there were some chips and cracks showing it was used for purpose it was built. F roads. This is the car that will never let you down even in complicated situations. Nothing happened during our 9 day trip, but I was sure Go guys are ready to help if I would need one.
rented a vehicle in July 2019
Submitted 26. Jul 2019
Outstanding!
Go car rental was great, the prices were by far the best and the staff were lovely. The process of collecting and dropping off the car was very simple and convenient. The car itself has some troubles in terms of stalling at unexpected times.
rented a vehicle in July 2019
Submitted 26. Jul 2019
Excellent
rented a vehicle in July 2019
Submitted 07. Aug 2019
The man from Go Car Rental meeting me at the airport for my car was 1 hour and 15 minutes late past the previously arranged pick up time.
I did not receive any communication regarding an expected delay.
This is unacceptable.

When looking over the vehicle, he pencil whipped the inspection sheet, meaning he quickly filled it in and didn't thoroughly and correctly document all of the vehicle damage I was pointing out.

The rear wiper blade on the car was completely worn out and did not work at all.

The doors, while they did close and latch, did not close tightly. So, when I drove, specifically on any dirt road, the car sounded like it was going to shake the doors off the hinges. This was very loud, annoying, and uncomfortable for a two week rental going around the country.

The windshield washer fluid was not full at the start. It was empty after two days and I had to refill it.
Also, the passenger side washer fluid nozzle stopped working after a week, which caused the passenger side of the windshield to get very dirty.

I was not fully satisfied with the vehicle or the service at the time of pick up.
rented a vehicle in July 2019
Submitted 23. Jul 2019
Outstanding!

I had a wonderful trip with the vehicle. The service was perfect. Again with Northbound.
rented a vehicle in July 2019
Submitted 15. Jul 2019
Outstanding!
Everything went as expected with the rental car. The car was exactly as promised, and in good shape. The representative from GO met us at the airport after we arrived, and took us to pick up the car. Everything went perfectly, and the price was the best i found after much research. Would definitely use again!
rented a vehicle in July 2019
Submitted 23. Jul 2019
Outstanding!
Had an excellent experience with them. Perfect car, very good service. Don't hesitate to contact them if you're looking for a rental car.
rented a vehicle in July 2019
Submitted 20. Jul 2019
Outstanding!
The car was excellent. But when we returned the car, I tried to call Go Car rental three times for shutteling us from the Parking area to the Airport. We couldn‘t reach the Company. At the parking area we have seen that it isn‘t far from there to the Airport but I think for a company it is better to answer incomming calls.
rented a vehicle in July 2019
Submitted 14. Jul 2019
Outstanding!
It was perfect with everything we needed
rented a vehicle in July 2019
Submitted 15. Jul 2019
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in July 2019
Submitted 12. Jul 2019
Outstanding!
I had a fantastic time with the company and everything went smoothly. Thanks so much for the shuttle to and from Reykjavik! My only, very small, suggestion is make sure to tell the person everything looks good with the car when they drop it off and maybe even have both them and the person taking the car back in sign a form. I'm always a bit anxious about later hearing I'm going to be charged thousands of dollars for something that never happened and then not be able to refute it because of there not being a paper trail saying the car passed the intake check. That said, I had a lot of fun driving a much newer version of the car I already own back home and felt like I could reach back out to the company if anything went wrong.
rented a vehicle in July 2019
Submitted 14. Jul 2019
Well the car is excellent for 2 people visiting South Iceland however it wasn't in a condition I expected... Air condition was not working at all and I tried any setting of it. Windshield of this car had 4 stone chips already and had probably hit the sand storm before, because there were thousands of micro chips all over it. It wasn't a problem in rainy day, when I collected a car (also I couldn't notice the AC failure as it wasn't needed then). It was serious problem in sunny day, when you had a sun in front of you. Also using wipers+fluid ended up in need of stopping the car and waiting it dries to see anything, because wipers cant wipe from thousands of small holes... I've taken gravel and sand+ash insurance, which is reasonable for Icelandic weather and roads, so before me either someone had same insurance or paid for the damage, so why it wasn't fixed? I thought that's what ppl or insurance company pay for when windshield is damaged... Also 2WD made some disturbing noises that I've found temporary solution to avoid later, but it was solution for few minutes and the noise was always coming back... I've reported all issues but unfortunately was far away from Reykjavik already to sacrifice whole day, to (maybe) have car replaced for better one. I've chosen GO because it had great rating and it wasn't the cheapest offer... Now I feel I should have taken the cheapest one from any company and could probably have the same result... Collecting and returning car was easy and comfortable.
rented a vehicle in June 2019
Submitted 19. Jul 2019
Outstanding!
The pick-up was easy, and it was easy to add extra insurance for gravel and an extra driver. The vehicle was suitable for driving on rougher roads in the Westfjords. The price was good. We would book again.
rented a vehicle in June 2019
Submitted 02. Jul 2019
Outstanding!
We had a great experience with Go Car Rental. They picked us up at the airport, took us to our car, explained everything and off we went. We also had a super easy time dropping the car back off. Overall excellent.
rented a vehicle in June 2019
Submitted 02. Jul 2019
Outstanding!
Très bonne expérience avec GO Car Rental. L'agent de location était à l'heure à l'aéroport, nous a conduit sur le parking de l' agence, donné les explications relatives aux conditions d' assurances nous avons payé le complément dû en rajoutant une assurance contre les risques causés par les gravillons. Effectivement la route principale est en travaux par endroits les itinéraires de delestage en cailloux. Je recommande un 4/4 plutôt qu une berline trop basse. Prise en mains facile.
rented a vehicle in June 2019
Submitted 01. Jul 2019
Excellent
GO Car Rental was overall great to work with. However, there was one problem at the beginning of the rental: we were supposed to be picked up at 9AM at the Alda Hotel, but GO sent a car to the airport, instead. The hotel called on my behalf, and GO sent a car to pick us up, but that mean we were late by about 45 minutes. GO told me that the information is typed in manually to their system, so it must have been an error on their side.

Other than that, the Skoda Octavia was pretty good to drive. It performed well and we had very few issues. The day before we were to return the car, we started hearing a loud squealing/clanging coming from the driver's side front tire. We called GO several times to ask about this. They were patient with us, and advised us to take off the tire and try to remove gravel from the brake pad. This worked, but I imagine it would have been difficult for people who were not as mechanically-inclined (or could not lift a tire) to do so.

Overall, we received very good customer service from GO and would rent from them again.
rented a vehicle in June 2019