Reviews for GO Car Rental in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for GO Car Rental
Submitted 11. Jan 2023
Outstanding!
The member of staff at GO Car Rental in Keflavik was excellent. He explained the various additional insurance options but without being pushy. The information provided in the days leading up to pick up was the best experience I've had from any car hire company. Lots of useful information about driving in Iceland, particularly road.is and vedur.is as well as things to be wary of. Depsite encountering tricky road conditions on one trip, the car and particularly the studded winter tyres coped admirably.
rented a vehicle in January 2023
Submitted 07. Jan 2023
I got a mitsubishi eclipse, not a Subaru XV as I pre-booked - indeed I knew that the road conditions could be very poor in Island in this period of the year - which would be a Real AWD. There was a double charge on my credit card by the rental for the rental fee which was refounded upon my request to go car rental.
rented a vehicle in January 2023
Submitted 31. Dec 2022
Outstanding!
Renting a car through Northbound was really simple. No problem whatsoever, very convenient website, I highly recommend :)
rented a vehicle in December 2022
Submitted 01. Jan 2023
Outstanding!
very good experience with go car renthal, compliant car just wipes additional hs. key box system for efficient departure and return.
rented a vehicle in December 2022
Submitted 09. Jan 2023
Excellent
Our vehicle was perfect for our trip and handled being in the snow no problem. Staff were friendly and were helpful in giving some tips on driving in the wintery conditions....and didn't even try and hard sell the additional insurance. During the winter we didn't expect the car to be clean on the outside, but inside was spotless. Our only "complaint" is there were no clear instructions to head over to the GO Car Rental office as we were expecting to be met. It was an interesting 10 minute walk across the snowy car park and roads to get there, but will know for future as we plan to head back in September to visit the areas we couldn't get to because of the weather conditions.
rented a vehicle in December 2022
Submitted 28. Dec 2022
Fantastic!
The car was ok. For a 2022 car I was expecting an onboard gps, but the car did it's main job perfectly, drive ne around. No complaints there.
rented a vehicle in December 2022
Submitted 23. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
It was a good car for traveling around the country.
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 16. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
Our experience with northbound was great, no issues at all. A little confusing on the whole pickup situation but otherwise all good. Thank you.
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 10. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
Good morning Mr. Ívar, the car was pratically perfect but there was a small crack in the rear light (but very very small 😊). The staff in the office is wonderfoul ad very professional, congratulation!!! If I come back in Iceland I will come back to you for rent a car e and I will recommend your rental car 😉. Thanks for everything end see you soon…I hope!! Best regards Tommaso.
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 19. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
The review states for a 2019 Volkswagen Polo but I actually ended up with a Hyundai i20. Overall I was very happy with the car, it served me well and was a great little car. The collection was great, even though I arrived an hour earlier than expected the guys had the car ready and after a brief chat about the roads and conditions in Iceland I was on my way. Very happy with the service, I just wish I'd known the collection point was a 5 minute walk from the terminal. I ended up getting the bus but it would have been quicker for me to just walk over but this is no way is the fault of Go Rental as it was only when I dropped the car back off again I realised how close it was. I probably wouldn't have found the collection point if I had just walked from the airport but it is a very short distance.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 05. Nov 2022
Good
The car has met our needs during our trip , we have appreciated the roof box. The only small problem is that we had to inflate the tyres from the third day. The drop-off at Go Car Rental into the night at the airport was not clear, I’ve never reiceved a code for the Keycafe system. So I put the key into the letter box next to the Keycafe boxes, I hope it’s OK for Go Car Rental.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 30. Oct 2022
Good
We ended up switching to a Mercedes Van. The first can had a damaged tyre/wheel and we had to drive it on a spare to the main office to swap for another vehicle. This prevented us from making it to the Westfjords which was disappointing and cost us the $350 USD rental for a house for that night. The second van had to have air replaced in one of the tyres daily.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 30. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
The car was great. Big, steady, with a good view on the road. Made us feel comfortable and safe as a family. The 4x4 is a handy option when you drive on newly added dirt roads or so. The price of the car is very need. The service was good, for instance refunding a repaired flat tire.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 06. Nov 2022
insurance too expansive person at the reception on our arrival at 16:30 on Sunday Bad reception impossible to get an invoice
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 24. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
It all went really well with the car, both collection and delivery. The car fully lived up to expectations. I would like to recommend Northbound and GO Car to others. Kind regards, Anette
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 30. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
We had a great experience with our car rental. I needed to make a change to our reservation and there was a quick response and great customer service. It made a great trip even better. We’ll rent with GO Car again when we return to Iceland.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 20. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
A very solid car, well maintained. Good handling, low consumption and clear. Sufficient space for four people, including luggage (2 large suitcases, 2 sports bags, 1 carry-on suitcase and 3 backpacks). Overall very satisfied.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 17. Oct 2022
Very Good
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 09. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
Everything as descripted. Friendly staff. Recommended.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 13. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
This was the easiest rental experience with competent staff and the best price. The car handled Icelandic weather and F roads so well that I'm considering buying one. The heated seats and heated steering wheel were unexpected and appreciated perks. Jan warned customers via email about gale force winds in the forecast, with no driving conditions all over Iceland on a day I was planning to drive into the worst of it: "I usually recommend spending the day at the swimming pool, but this is one of the biggest storms I have seen in my lifetime! Staying inside some facilities seems to be the best option. Don't forget to park facing the wind and to hold your doors when opening them! Try to find a spot that is announced green on the forecast." It was that bad and I'm grateful I heeded the warning. Thanks Northbound!
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 09. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
We had a good trip with this Jimny, especially for photo & clip with this beautiful car!
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 26. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
We had an incredible trip through Iceland, the car rental was part of this. It provided all the comfort and all facilities we needed. The only thing we faced was the fact that the car was equiped with summer tires (driving it around in October). For most of the trip this was absolutely fine, but we faced a (snow) storm as well. Those two days I feel that winter tyres (even the ones without spikes) would have provided us more grip on the snowy surfaces. In addition, an extra compliment for the storm warming that we received 2 days prior to the storm. This timely helped us to stock up on supplies and to park the car in a clever spot regarding the issues that could be caused by the storm. Thanks!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 10. Oct 2022
Excellent
Car was nearly new. Support was very good and replied very fast. Only the tire pressure of the car was not OK and needed to be adjusted by us. Moreover there was a box on the roof of the car that needed to be removed. Therefore we had to take a longer route through Reykjavik which wasn’t in our plan for that day.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 06. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
GO Car Rental is outstanding!!! D.J. helped me with everything! He took the time to show me different maps for navigation and weather, he took the time to walk me threw the vehicle, explained in full detail what to expect with Icelands weather and driving, cool places to go to and more. When I returned the vehicle he greeted me with a smile, was extremely easy to work with. Go Car Rental was awesome...but DJ is what made the experience extraordinary!!! I have traveled to several different countries and never had such a wonderful rental agent to work with. I will forever be a customer of Go Car Rental because of DJ! Thank you, DJ, for everything... You made a wonderful adventure even more extraordinary! Thank you! Megan USA
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 02. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 09. Oct 2022
Excellent
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 26. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 05. Oct 2022
Very Good
Good experience. Maybe the tyres not in the best condition for F_roads
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 26. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 20. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Very satisfied with car and service
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 28. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Muy bien todo. No tuvimos ningún problema. Quizás podrían bajar un poco los precios. Gracias.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 03. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
The car was very easy to drive… a nice experience…
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 22. Sep 2022
Great
There was some waiting during both pick up & drop off, due to limited staff in the office. The staff didn't explain clearly about the gasoline discount from N1, not the tunnel charge, so I ended up missing both of them. The car I got was different from what I have booked, and it had a lot scratches, and a few body damages. Also a couple warning lights stayed on, but the staff said I could just ignore them.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 14. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
I want to recommend Northbound because of nice Staff. They explain everything easly. I was satisfied !! Highly recommend!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 19. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Zuverlässig, freundlich, toller Service. Alles bestens abgelaufen! 👍🏼👍🏼
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 16. Sep 2022
Good
We just returned from a lovely trip driving around Iceland on the ring road, making some detours to hit the major attractions. We booked a all-wheel-drive (Suziki Jimny) as it wasn't clear if we'd be on any F-roads. The Jimny was old and the tires weren't aligned so the car pulled toward the center of the road. It was also not a very smooth ride 'though we're used to sedans. The staff was very nice and we were able to trade the car in the next day for a brand new Renault. Chances are that you may not need an all-wheel drive unless you're going off the main roads or traveling in snow/ice/flood conditions.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 13. Sep 2022
Excellent
The car got us where we needed to go so overall it was a decent experience, especially at the price. I will say that our car radio did not work, which meant we did not have a working USB charging port and no music (we ended up purchasing a cigarette lighter charging USB port and just playing music from our phone speakers). We are also not convinced that the 4WD actually turned on/worked as nothing changed on the dash or the feel of driving when we attempted to turn it on. The steering wheel was also misaligned which was slightly concerning. Other than these few issues, it did the job and we had tons of fun!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 11. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Everything was great. The car was there and ready when we arrived. No wait time to check the car out. It was the car we had booked months earlier. The car was in great shape and performed perfectly. Returning the car was simple and quick.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 06. Sep 2022
My first experience wasn't that good. the agent at the airport gave me a car that was 250,000 Km old, AC did not work and the car was shaking on highway. Not to mention the Tire pressure light was ON and the agent just asked us to ignore it . i had booked specifically a 2019 car. i had to then drive back half hour after i left the airport to the reykjavik location which was closest in my trip , wait for more than an hour and then get a replacement. i would give you guys 1 start if it wasn't for Jan at the reykjavik location who helped me get a replacement car. I dont trust your agent at the Airport and will advice my friends to be VERY careful dealing with him.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 27. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
GO Car Rental gave us a different car (Mitsubishi hybrid) but we still enjoyed it. The staff made the process of pickup and dropoff very easy.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 25. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
The car was great and the service was excellent. I changed my pickup point twice and they were very accommodating. I wanted to buy a detailed map and was told to just take it and leave it in the vehicle at no charge. That would never happen in the USA.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 28. Aug 2022
Good
Got pushed into an "upgrade" instead of the Subaru. I didn't consider an AWD Mitsubishi an upgrade over the 4WD Subaru but we accepted it just to get out the door. Very glad I purchased insurance. A rock from another vehicle cracked my windshield.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 28. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
Good experience, the car worked perfectly and was clean. There are only two people in the office (it’s a small company) so if there are a lot of people waiting, pickup and drop off can take a long time.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 17. Aug 2022
Good
The car was ok and help me to drive in the F-roads
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 18. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
Our experience was excellent. Rented from downtown location. We were picked up at our hotel & driven 10 minutes to the car rental location. The car provided was clean & comfortable. Plenty of room for 4 adults & our luggage (1 large suitcase & 3 roller bag carryons plus 4 backpacks). Car rental return at the airport was convenient as the office is located near the terminal. Pick up & drop off was quick & easy.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 16. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
The car was great! Perfect for traveling around Iceland. Didn’t use a lot of gas and was a smooth ride. The people GO Car Rental were also great!
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 14. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
Thank you for providing such a perfect car for our adventures around Iceland. The rental facility was a quick walk from the airport. The staff was helpful in orienting us to the vehicle, sharing helpful tips about driving in the country, how to navigate gas stations, and provided clear information for what to do in an emergency. The car itself was clean and ran great. It was the perfect size for our family of 7 to see everything from coastal puffins to the volcano! We would definitely use and recommend Northbound to other travelers.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 09. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
Everything went fine! Little hint: in the Mail is written, that we should get the key inside the airport. Please correct this into „Office at the rear of the hotel“. :-)
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 09. Aug 2022
Excellent
I did not get the Subaru I was hoping for, but the Mitsubishi was acceptable. Apparently the Mitsubishi is a plug in electric car. The people at Go told me that this feature was unavailable because of a lack of charging infrastructure. I found this to be untrue. Northbound was excellent, but Go did not get the notice of the rental extension in their computer and charged me for an extra day I had already paid for. They corrected this upon return of the vehicle.
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 08. Aug 2022
Great
rented a vehicle in July 2022