Iceland Car Rentals Reviews

Reviews for the Best Car Rentals in Iceland.Real Reviews From Real Customers

Icerental 4x4

I was very satisfied with the Toyota Rav car and the service we got from 4x4 Icecarental company

Amikam  •  20. Jul 2018 Rented a Toyota RAV4 from Icerental 4x4 in July 2018
Nordic Campers

The van we rented was perfect for the ring road! It came with lots of cooking supplies, a comfortable mattress, a great heating system for nights, the car handled well, and it was very clean. Plus, the staff was very nice and accommodating. 10/10 would recommend!

Jeffrey  •  19. Jul 2018 Rented a Dacia Dokker from Nordic Campers in July 2018
Lava Auto Car Rental

Our experience with Lava Auto Car was very good. We got a real good 4x4 car and the service for taking us to the final accommodation the night before the return flight was also very good.

Yolanda  •  19. Jul 2018 Rented a Dacia Duster from Lava Auto Car Rental in June 2018
Lagoon Car Rental

Very good experience, good service.

Chaim  •  19. Jul 2018 Rented a Hyundai Tucson from Lagoon Car Rental in July 2018
Go Campers

GoCampers had excellent service throughout our trip. We were able to call them and get help at anytime. The van came fully equipped and did not give us a single problem throughout the trip. The bed was pretty comfortable also. They only thing they could improve on is offering a shuttle to the airport. The location of the GoCampers building is about 40 minutes away from the airport and it would be nice to not have to worry about getting to and from that location.

Michael  •  18. Jul 2018 Rented a Citroen Berlingo from Go Campers in July 2018
GO Car Rental

We had a great experience renting a Subaru XV from GO Car Rental. The pickup and dropoff process was as smooth as possible, and the car itself was new, clean, and drove great. Highly recommend this company!

Stacey  •  18. Jul 2018 Rented a Subaru XV 4x4 from GO Car Rental in June 2018
Lagoon Car Rental

It was a wonderful experience. Everything went smoothly and according to our plans. Your prices were the best. Definitely would recommend to others.

Francis  •  18. Jul 2018 Rented a Volkswagen Caddy Camper from Lagoon Car Rental in July 2018
A Car Rental

Very easy! Met at the airport with the car and left with it. Loved the service - friendly, timely and thorough. Would rent through Northbound again. Thank you!

Rhett  •  18. Jul 2018 Rented a Suzuki Jimny from A Car Rental in July 2018
Go Campers

Go Campers was a great company. The camper was very nice and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Dalton  •  18. Jul 2018 Rented a Dacia Dokker Camper from Go Campers in July 2018
Geysir Car Rental

Very good

Dirk  •  18. Jul 2018 Rented a Renault Megane from Geysir Car Rental in July 2018
Route 1

Really good, the staff were very helpful and clear in their instructions for the car. The car was very good and clean, although the steering pulled to the right hand side, but that didn't take away from an amazing time.

Henry  •  17. Jul 2018 Rented a Suzuki Grand Vitara from Route 1 in July 2018
Icerental 4x4

We had a great experience with northbound.is and Icerental 4x4. We were a group of students from Scotland conducting a research expedition up in the north-east. As we were on a budget, we were delighted to find these companies who had by far the best deals. The were extremely helpful, consistent, quick to reply, and interested in what we were doing. Highly recommended

Kara  •  17. Jul 2018 Rented a Renault Trafic or similar from Icerental 4x4 in June 2018
Geysir Car Rental

Geysir had a relatively fast check out and return process, and the coffee and WC available inside was great after an early arrival and departure. They also had a shuttle bus locater on the TV so you don't have to wait outside in the cold for the shuttle bus back to the airport.

Elizabeth  •  17. Jul 2018 Rented a Renault Megane from Geysir Car Rental in July 2018
Lava Auto Car Rental

Very positive. Communication was excellent through Liam as I had to amend the dates of our rental. The pick up at the airport by the driver is a great feature as he was waiting and easy to identify displaying a card with our name on it. The Duster was a perfect vehicle to navigate the roads of Iceland. Thanks for making our trip hassle free for our transportation needs.

Anthony  •  17. Jul 2018 Rented a Dacia Duster from Lava Auto Car Rental in July 2018
Lagoon Car Rental

Rental process was excellent . Met at airport and brought via bus to office . Drop off was very quick and we were driven back to airport in our rental which meant we didn't have to transfer luggage etc ..

Anthony  •  17. Jul 2018 Rented a Renault Trafic from Lagoon Car Rental in July 2018
Lava Auto Car Rental

Absolutey great experience with Lava Auto. The car was exactly as described and the company was so helpful and nice. They arranged for the car to be brought to us downtown rather than the airport (for a fair charge) and were very transparent. I highly recommend northbound services and especially lava auto. We had such a smooth first time car renting experience!

Olivia  •  17. Jul 2018 Rented a Hyundai Tucson from Lava Auto Car Rental in July 2018
Icerental 4x4

Loved the car. Had no problems with the agency or the car. No complaints here.

Benjamin  •  16. Jul 2018 Rented a Suzuki Vitara from Icerental 4x4 in July 2018
Star Car Rental

They were very responsive via email and interaction with them was very smooth. The car was in good shape.

Srinivas  •  16. Jul 2018 Rented a Suzuki Vitara from Star Car Rental in July 2018
Lagoon Car Rental

We were very satisfied with the services of Northbound and Lagoon Car Rental. The car we chose did in fact work perfectly well on the streets of iceland. The staff was more than welcoming and helpful. In comparison to other car rental agencies, we all know, Lagoon Car
Rental provided its service to a moderate rental rate. I can only recommend Northbound / Lagoon Car Rental to other pontential customers.

Felix  •  16. Jul 2018 Rented a Hyundai Tucson from Lagoon Car Rental in July 2018
Lagoon Car Rental

I really loved that we were picked up at our accommodation in Reykjavik and taken to the rental office. The girl who checked us in was very friendly and helpful. We had a small upgrade of vehicle to a Kia Rio and everything went quickly and smoothly with the rental. We really enjoyed driving the car. I returned the vehicle at the Keflavik office, but I was very unhappy that I couldn't find the office and wasted about 30 minutes driving around looking for it! I asked three other car rental businesses where it was, and they didn't know and told me the wrong directions. Please put a Lagoon sign up on this street!! I was very stressed in getting to the airport later than I wanted to. Luckily the young man at the office was very helpful and kind and rushed me to the airport. I would definitely recommend Lagoon, but please help your customers with large signs at your Keflavik office.

Karen  •  16. Jul 2018 Rented a Hyundai i10 from Lagoon Car Rental in July 2018
Lagoon Car Rental

Great! Prompt service, loved the coffee:), and were thorough about reviewing contract

Jennifer  •  16. Jul 2018 Rented a Hyundai i20 from Lagoon Car Rental in July 2018
Lava Auto Car Rental

Our experience with Lava Car Rental was fantastic. They picked us up at the airport and shuttled us back at the end of our trip. We had no issues at all. The vehicle was clean and there were no mechanical issues. We would highly recommend them to other travellers.

Tara  •  16. Jul 2018 Rented a Hyundai Tucson from Lava Auto Car Rental in July 2018
Lava Auto Car Rental

very nice, Friendly peoble an verry good Service

Carsten  •  16. Jul 2018 Rented a Dacia Duster from Lava Auto Car Rental in June 2018
Thrifty Car Rental

very positive, the process of getting the car and returning the car was fast and simple. car was outside your rental office, no need to walk somewhere to get the car. also the car was great to drive (you upgraded me to mazda cx-5) and was easily handled Iceland F roads. this was by far better experience than I had last year I was visitning Iceland also and rented a car from avis I think... they gave me a damaged 4x4 car. it was a nightmare...
with your company it was a very positive experience and will for sure for my next time in Iceland will rent from you :)
thank you

Gilad  •  16. Jul 2018 Rented a Mazda CX-3 AWD (or similar) from Thrifty Car Rental in July 2018
Lava Auto Car Rental

All was perfect.

Martin  •  16. Jul 2018 Rented a Dacia Duster from Lava Auto Car Rental in June 2018
Lagoon Car Rental

The experience was a genuinely great one! There was a little mix up in the vehicle we were suppose to get but they quickly directed us to where we can see another facility they had that was close to our place where we stayed so we could swap the cars out. The staff was extremely nice and helpful and even gave us a Wi-Fi hotspot for the troubles of having to swap out the vehicle. I highly recommend using this company for their service and amazing staff.

Neil  •  15. Jul 2018 Rented a Hyundai H1 from Lagoon Car Rental in July 2018
Lagoon Car Rental

Very good. Even though we started having problem with breaks (plate) we received help over the phone and when the break plate was blown off on our last day (Reykjavil) we had a new car within 2 hours.

Marek  •  15. Jul 2018 Rented a Kia Sportage from Lagoon Car Rental in July 2018
Lava Auto Car Rental

Every thing was OK.

Irena  •  15. Jul 2018 Rented a Toyota Rav4 from Lava Auto Car Rental in June 2018
Lagoon Car Rental

Overall experience was great! The staff were helpful and courteous, the car was clean, ready and properly equipped, and the vehicle itself was perfect for camping around Iceland. No complaints.

Joseph  •  15. Jul 2018 Rented a Volkswagen Caddy Camper from Lagoon Car Rental in July 2018
Lava Auto Car Rental

Great, special acknowledgement for the LAVA RENTAL service, we picked up our car with 12 hours delay at 00;00 with a kind welcome. The car 4x4 was perfect, even on tracks , excluding crossing deep rivers, very confortable, and consume a little fuel. Return kind and efficient with a rapid shuttle to the aeroport. At the end, value for money was very good for this vehicule in this country .

Philippe  •  15. Jul 2018 Rented a Dacia Duster from Lava Auto Car Rental in July 2018
Lagoon Car Rental

Excellent customer service. Very accommodating. Listened to concerns and took immediate action. Would highly recommend.

Julie  •  15. Jul 2018 Rented a Volkswagen Caddy Camper from Lagoon Car Rental in July 2018
Nordic Campers

Chan Shen  •  15. Jul 2018 Rented a Dacia Dokker from Nordic Campers in July 2018
Grand Iceland

Was very good~

Jong  •  14. Jul 2018 Rented a Mercedes Benz Sprinter from Grand Iceland in July 2018
GO Car Rental

Very good! Pick up and drop off procedures were clear. When we had questions, the crews were friendly.

Andrea  •  14. Jul 2018 Rented a Volkswagen Golf Automatic from GO Car Rental in July 2018
Icerental 4x4

Alexandre  •  14. Jul 2018 Rented a Suzuki Jimny from Icerental 4x4 in June 2018
Nordic Car Rental

Paul   •  14. Jul 2018 Rented a Nissan Qashqai from Nordic Car Rental in July 2018
Lagoon Car Rental

Excellent. Everything ran seamlessly.

Eduardo  •  14. Jul 2018 Rented a Kia Ceed Sportswagon from Lagoon Car Rental in July 2018
Thrifty Car Rental

Great!! The people working there were very friendly and helpful. I really appreciated the ride back into town after I returned my rental. The car was perfect. Great condition, new, and so clean. Would definitely rent from them again!

Kathryn  •  14. Jul 2018 Rented a Ford Fiesta (or similar) from Thrifty Car Rental in July 2018
Ice Rental Cars

We rented an excellent car from Northbound--very well taken care of and low mileage. We arrived late at the airport and were picked up and off with our car in good time. Great experience.

Pamela  •  14. Jul 2018 Rented a Peugeot 5008 7 Seater from Ice Rental Cars in June 2018
Nordic Campers

Very nice, convinient and comfortable pick-up with name tag from the airport. Same for departure. Car in good conditions as described. Small derivation with chairs and table was solved easy. Well overall experience

Fabian  •  13. Jul 2018 Rented a Dacia Dokker from Nordic Campers in July 2018
Lotus Car Rental

So far everything went well. I have not checked my CC statement yet. Hope there are no surprises :).

Swati  •  13. Jul 2018 Rented a Volkswagen Polo from Lotus Car Rental in July 2018
Lava Auto Car Rental

LAVA was outstanding. We have already been recommending them on the Iceland FB Pages we are a part of. We had no troubles checking in or out. We were able to get a hold of a customer service rep whenever we needed help on the road (flat tires). We had excellent coverage Tire Insurance Protection (SO happy we purchased it). No excess was charged despite all the horror stories we heard online about different car rental companies in Iceland. The Dacia Duster SUV 4WD handled 2400miles over 3 weeks utilizing many F and gravel roads. The only thing we suggest is that Lava put a tire gauge inside each car. Not all air machines were functioning or included tire gauge and it's pretty important to know if your tire is at the right level with the types of roads we were driving. We wonder if this contributed to the two flats we got (on our parties two cars). Northbound handled the reservation efficiently and even helped us change it when we researched a better contract early on (we secured this reservation through Northbound 6 mos. prior to travel).

Winston  •  13. Jul 2018 Rented a Dacia Duster from Lava Auto Car Rental in June 2018
Geysir Car Rental

Quick, efficient and reasonably priced. Received vehicle requested, not “or similar”.

Clifford  •  13. Jul 2018 Rented a Subaru Outback from Geysir Car Rental in July 2018
Lava Auto Car Rental

Excellent. Well looked after by the team

Paul  •  13. Jul 2018 Rented a Hyundai Tucson from Lava Auto Car Rental in July 2018
Lava Auto Car Rental

The car rental experience was great. We waited a while at the airport when we arrived and had to phone to check we were going to be met but that was not a big problem. The car was good also. We had a flat tyre while driving in the Western Fjords and had the tyre replaced. The mechanic said it wad not a puncture but was a faulty tyre and that we should be refunded by Lava Autos. On returning the car and producing the report from the mechanic we were refunded without any argument. Good service and well located for proximity to the airport. We would definitely recommend your company to friends visiting Iceland.

Christopher  •  12. Jul 2018 Rented a Dacia Duster from Lava Auto Car Rental in June 2018
Nordic Campers

I am very satisfied with the company and the excellent service. The car is a good budget option and i had no issues with it. we slept in it better than expected :)

Zdravko  •  12. Jul 2018 Rented a Dacia Dokker from Nordic Campers in June 2018
Lagoon Car Rental

very good experience, i can only recommend Lagoon car rental.

Giovanni  •  11. Jul 2018 Rented a Hyundai i10 from Lagoon Car Rental in July 2018
Wild Campers

The whole experience was amazing. We loved our camper van. The bedding was clean and we had equipment to cook. Renting camper van gave us the flexibility of changing our itinerary due to weather conditions then bring stick with hotel reservation. Me and my wife enjoyed every but of it, starting from pickup from airport to drop off to airport it was AWESOME!!

Saurabh  •  11. Jul 2018 Rented a Camper Dacia Dokker 2016 w/heater from Wild Campers in July 2018
Lagoon Car Rental

Overall process was great, someone met us at the airport and took us to the office to pick up the car. the only problem we had was the front 2 tires were eroded and had to be replaced during mid trip, luckily we were in a big city and it only took 30 minutes to get everything done. Lagoon car rental said they would reimburse us for the 2 tires that were replaced. outside of that car was great

Fahad  •  11. Jul 2018 Rented a Hyundai Tucson from Lagoon Car Rental in June 2018
Lagoon Car Rental

The staff at Lagoon was very helpful, giving us valuable information and answering all our questions. Excellent experience from pick up to return!

Karen  •  11. Jul 2018 Rented a Kia Picanto from Lagoon Car Rental in July 2018