Iceland Car Rentals Reviews

Reviews for the Best Car Rentals in Iceland.Real Reviews From Real Customers

Lagoon Car Rental

I had a great experience with Lagoon Car Rental. The staff was friendly and was efficient. We spent a total of 20 min in the office from the point of car pick up to car drop off. The free transport to and from the airport was very conivient.

Mackenzie  •  21. May 2018 Rented a Hyundai i20 from Lagoon Car Rental in May 2018
Camping Cars

Excellent! Very good experience. The wifi worked perfectly, very nice car to drive, pop up tent was easy to use, very comfortable car.

Lily  •  21. May 2018 Rented a Suzuki Grand Vitara +Roof Tent from Camping Cars in May 2018
Lagoon Car Rental

A great, easy going experience.

Keir  •  21. May 2018 Rented a Hyundai i10 from Lagoon Car Rental in May 2018
Thrifty Car Rental

The car worked for us and the service was fine.

James  •  21. May 2018 Rented a Citroen Berlingo (or similar) from Thrifty Car Rental in May 2018
Lagoon Car Rental

Excellent - we were happy with the car as well as the service

David  •  19. May 2018 Rented a Dacia Logan from Lagoon Car Rental in May 2018
Ice Rental Cars

The car was in good condition and the staff that helped us were very nice and helpful. We had 6 guys (25-30yo) and a bag for each person. We fit everything and us pretty comfortably. Could not have done it without the 3rd row. Also price was good.

Kanav  •  18. May 2018 Rented a Peugeot 5008 7 Seater from Ice Rental Cars in May 2018
Northern Lights Car Rental

It was a good suv to rent.

George  •  18. May 2018 Rented a Suzuki Vitara from Northern Lights Car Rental in May 2018
Lagoon Car Rental

Lagoon Car rental was amazing! We rented a Hyundai and set off. The windshield wipers didn't work properly so we turned around and went back. They gave us a Kia, and threw in our cooler for free. The car was fantastic. We also rented the internet with the car which I highly recommend. (we were always able to get directions- even when hiking!) . At the end of our trip the gas tank stopped opening. We went back with a half tank of gas rather than the expected full tank. They didn't charge us anything extra. Their customer service was the best!

Virginia  •  17. May 2018 Rented a Hyundai i20 from Lagoon Car Rental in May 2018
Orange Car Rental

Hi,
Rental and experience was a great. If we will travel around Scandinavia a choose you again because you have great price and good advices to download before journey. Only suprise was that I needed a credit card pay for it. So I have only debit card and I had to pay next taxes. Car was amazing and it was ok that we got similar car then was wrote before journey.
Thank you very much. It was our first experience with a rental car.

We wish you the best

Martin and Katka

Martin  •  17. May 2018 Rented a Suzuki Vitara from Orange Car Rental in May 2018
Northern Lights Car Rental

Very good

Nelson  •  17. May 2018 Rented a Suzuki Jimny + Roof Tent from Northern Lights Car Rental in May 2018
Icerental 4x4

My experience was super. Thank you.

Stratulat  •  17. May 2018 Rented a Dacia Duster from Icerental 4x4 in May 2018
Icerental 4x4

I had a great rental experience with Northbound. My wife and I were picked up at the Reykjavík airport then to the Northbound office to pick up the rental vehicle. The paperwork was straightforward as I did the reservation online. At the time I actually sat inside the vehicle it snowed a little bit so I had to check the tires and windshield wipers just to make sure the vehicle would not give me any problems along the way. The vehicle was great, it’s Suzuki Vitara Allgrip, so I’m even thinking of getting one myself since it’s mountain tested on different weather situations. It’s an amazing vacation because the vehicle brought us to some of the most beautiful spots in Iceland. Thank you Northbound and thank you Runar.

Edison  •  17. May 2018 Rented a Suzuki Vitara from Icerental 4x4 in May 2018
Icerental 4x4

We had a good experience with Icerental 4x4. The pickup was promptly at the time requested and the vehicle was clean and ready to go. Drop off went well too and we waited about 15 minutes for a drive to the airport. I would recommend them.

Christopher  •  16. May 2018 Rented a Toyota RAV4 from Icerental 4x4 in May 2018
Thrifty Car Rental

very easy to handle, spacious, smooth drive all the way
highly recommended

King Yoon  •  16. May 2018 Rented a Ford Mondeo (or similar) from Thrifty Car Rental in May 2018
Lagoon Car Rental

My girlfriend and I travelled to Iceland in early May. Our experience with Lagoon Car Rental was excellent. Right when we came to the arrival hall a representative was there to greet us immediately. Filling out the paperwork did not take long at all, and we were upgraded to a Kia Sportage for free. The car was excellent, we travelled over 1600 miles throughout Iceland without any concerns at all about the reliability of the vehicle. Lagoon Car Rental also provided us with a fuel chip and a map of where all the Olis gas stations were located for free, which was very helpful and a nice touch. At the end of our trip, returning the car did not take long at all and shortly after checkout a shuttle took us back to the airport. We hope to return to Iceland someday and if we do, we will definitely use Lagoon Car Rental again! Booking through Northbound was a very easy process as well, and it was more convenient for us since they accept more credit cards.

Benjamin  •  16. May 2018 Rented a Renault Talisman from Lagoon Car Rental in May 2018
Thrifty Car Rental

Seamless arrangement, nice cars, very helpful staffs. The memories you will collect are priceless. I am very much thankful to Northbound for very competitive price and thankful to Thrifty for nice cars and amazing staff.

Maksim  •  16. May 2018 Rented a Mazda CX-3 AWD (or similar) from Thrifty Car Rental in May 2018
Thrifty Car Rental

Everything was excellent!!!

Maksim  •  16. May 2018 Rented a Ford Kuga AWD (or similar) from Thrifty Car Rental in May 2018
Star Car Rental

Joe  •  15. May 2018 Rented a Dacia Dokker Camper from Star Car Rental in April 2018
Lagoon Car Rental

I had a great experience with Lagoon Car Rental! The staff was helpful and friendly. They picked us up from the airport and everything went smoothly!

Lucy   •  15. May 2018 Rented a Hyundai i20 from Lagoon Car Rental in October 2017
Nordic Car Rental

Very satisfied with renting a car through Northbound. The car was not the same as I booked but a similar one that was just as fine. Pick-up with shuttle bus worked well and was on time. Would definitely consider renting from them again.

Andreas  •  15. May 2018 Rented a Nissan Pulsar from Nordic Car Rental in May 2018
Lagoon Car Rental

Everything was great!

Sławomir  •  15. May 2018 Rented a Hyundai i10 from Lagoon Car Rental in May 2018
Lagoon Car Rental

It was great! An unforgettable trip made possible thanks to a good car in good conditions. Easy and practical. 100% recommended

Jorge  •  15. May 2018 Rented a Dacia Duster from Lagoon Car Rental in May 2018
Northern Lights Car Rental

The service was very good. The off road car was in a real good condition and did ist job very well. I will order Northbound the next time.

Nevertheless some notes for zero-cost optimization your business with new, first and unexperient Iceland travellers to prevent some irritations: It's note necessary that your driver waists time. Clear note in the booking documentation for possible waiting time for the shuttle at Airport. But if you write that somebody is waiting then I expect it. With a note of possible max waiting time of e.g. half an hour or a short call it would ok totally. For much used cars with many small body damages you should concentrate the existing damage on major points but count them more clearly. The idea to mark the damage with buttons is very good. But a general button on a side for several small damages tells nothing. Than it's better to write a general note in document.

Ulrich  •  15. May 2018 Rented a Suzuki Jimny from Northern Lights Car Rental in April 2018
GO Car Rental

Excellent. We got upgraded to a Subaru Forrester that took us round Iceland. Trustworthy.

Joyce  •  14. May 2018 Rented a Subaru XV 4x4 from GO Car Rental in April 2018
Northern Lights Car Rental

Great prices--Northern Lights Car Rental was great, and Northbound made it easy to book and provided a clear explanation of the process upon landing and for returning the car. Great experience!

Simeon  •  14. May 2018 Rented a Suzuki Jimny from Northern Lights Car Rental in May 2018
Nordic Car Rental

Very good experience .

Sharathreddy  •  14. May 2018 Rented a Hyundai i10 from Nordic Car Rental in May 2018
Lagoon Car Rental

Very good service!

Bjørn  •  14. May 2018 Rented a Dacia Duster from Lagoon Car Rental in May 2018
Nordic Car Rental

Great company. Perfect service. The car was even better than i expected. Thank you for the fantaatic service witch made our hollydays in Iceland comfortable and nice.

Martynas  •  13. May 2018 Rented a Suzuki Jimny from Nordic Car Rental in May 2018
Lagoon Car Rental

Everything was perfect as expected!

Silviu Ioan Catalin  •  13. May 2018 Rented a Suzuki Jimny - Older model from Lagoon Car Rental in May 2018
Lagoon Car Rental

Lagoon rental was a good choice - very good contact, good car and great customer service. They gave us a lift to the hotel after we returned the car - the guy actually insisting on bringing us to the hotel door! We will definitely go to them again!

Cornelis  •  13. May 2018 Rented a Dacia Duster - Older model from Lagoon Car Rental in May 2018
Camping Cars

I am very happy with the service offered by Camping Cars. They were very kind and gave us a lot of possibilities to pick up the car and to leave it because my arrival and departure flights were very eary in the morning and the office was not opened at that time.
I had always the possibility of keeping contact with Bogi and it was very nice because it was my first time in Iceland and i was a bit nervous about the car and everything.
The car was excellent and we had a lot of fun!
What else could I ask for?

Natalia  •  13. May 2018 Rented a Suzuki Grand Vitara +Roof Tent from Camping Cars in May 2018
Northern Lights Car Rental

Car was fine, little shakey on motorways but perfect on all other roads.

Christopher   •  13. May 2018 Rented a Suzuki Jimny from Northern Lights Car Rental in March 2018
GO Car Rental

I really enjoyed the process and ease of pickup and drop off, the car was fantastic and performed extremely well. The mobile WIFI was fantastic, did not require the GPS that much but it was good to have. Outside of that I have no complaints and when I return for my next adventure in Iceland I will be renting through Northbound.

Micheal  •  13. May 2018 Rented a Subaru XV 4x4 from GO Car Rental in May 2018
Orange Car Rental

The service and car was very good!

Chetan  •  12. May 2018 Rented a Ford Transit 2017 from Orange Car Rental in May 2018
Lagoon Car Rental

Nice, interested people, who wanted to make the best out of our trip.

Tom  •  12. May 2018 Rented a Volkswagen Caddy Camper from Lagoon Car Rental in April 2018
Lava Auto Car Rental

The car was fantastic and service great! I would highly recommend Lava Auto Car Rental.

Morag  •  11. May 2018 Rented a Hyundai Tucson from Lava Auto Car Rental in May 2018
Icerental 4x4

Great - we returned to your company two days later when we picked up 2 more passengers; we could NOT fit all of our luggage in the car but after some rearranging - and some coaching by your staff, we did. Your staff even offered us to unload the clothes out of the suitcases and leave it there for storage if we needed. We appreciate the honesty about getting a REALLY large vehicle, the expense (two week rental) and the offer. Additionally, the checkout was quick. Thanks, Ramona

Ramona  •  11. May 2018 Rented a Toyota RAV4 from Icerental 4x4 in April 2018
Geysir Car Rental

Fantastic! Great jeep, great staff in the office, easy airport shuttle.

Michael  •  11. May 2018 Rented a Suzuki Jimny from Geysir Car Rental in April 2018
Nordic Car Rental

Very good

Francisco  •  10. May 2018 Rented a Nissan Qashqai from Nordic Car Rental in May 2018
Lava Auto Car Rental

Great service, great 4WD SUV, and a great price.

Timothy  •  10. May 2018 Rented a Dacia Duster from Lava Auto Car Rental in April 2018
Lagoon Car Rental

Lagoon was great! The car was perfect for getting around town and road tripping through rain and snow. We never had an issue and felt secure wherever we went. The guys at the rental place were all nice as well. Would use them again.

Jennifer   •  10. May 2018 Rented a Dacia Duster - Older model from Lagoon Car Rental in May 2018
Orange Car Rental

Quick shuttle to and from the airport.
Staff spoke excellent English which helped my limited Icelandic.
They were upfront with the charges and costs and provided helpful guidance towards which insurances we needed and which we didn't.

Michail  •  09. May 2018 Rented a Nissan Micra from Orange Car Rental in April 2018
Kuku Campers

Miguel  •  09. May 2018 Rented a Renault Trafic from Kuku Campers in May 2018
Thrifty Car Rental

The rental was great. Check in and picking up the car was very easy from the airport and dropping off was just as easy.

Joseph  •  09. May 2018 Rented a Ford Fiesta (or similar) from Thrifty Car Rental in May 2018
Icerental 4x4

Very good experience. No hassles with pickup and dropoff. Quick communication (we had to change pickup place and time). Car in good condition. Insurance packages clearly explained.

Pawel  •  09. May 2018 Rented a Suzuki Vitara from Icerental 4x4 in May 2018
Nordic Car Rental

The process of picking up the car to handing over was very easy , staff where very good . The car drove brilliantly and very efficient . Would always come back again .

Kauser  •  09. May 2018 Rented a Suzuki Vitara from Nordic Car Rental in May 2018
Northern Lights Car Rental

It was covenient to drive a small car. Tjank you for your support and arrangement.

Mizuho  •  08. May 2018 Rented a Suzuki Jimny from Northern Lights Car Rental in May 2018
Magic Car Rental

We were hesitating. Renting our 4WD car with a big name or going with a local enterprise . We went with Northbound (Magic Cars) and thé experience was perfect! Great service, flexible options, caring employees . My best renting experience!

Josée  •  08. May 2018 Rented a Suzuki Jimny 4x4 from Magic Car Rental in May 2018
Lava Auto Car Rental

Привет Runar!
Спасибо, всё прошло удачно, мы намотали на машине 3 тысячи км и она нас не подвела. В аэропорту нас встретили, оформили быстро документы. Поэтому всё ок. В следующий раз воспользуемся ещё раз.

Valerii  •  07. May 2018 Rented a Dacia Duster from Lava Auto Car Rental in April 2018
Icerental 4x4

I can definetelly recommend this car rental! Really helpful and nice stuff, no problems by car return. When we had a problem with the burnt out bulbs, they advised us during our call where we can change them and they gave us money back when we gave back the car. Thank you for nice experience!

Błażej  •  07. May 2018 Rented a Dacia Duster from Icerental 4x4 in April 2018