Iceland Car Rentals Reviews

Reviews for the Best Car Rentals in Iceland.Real Reviews From Real Customers

Lava Car Rental

I hightly recommend. Everything was set up perfectly and staff was very nice!

Paweł  •  19. Sep 2018 Rented a Dacia Duster from Lava Car Rental in September 2018
Lagoon Car Rental

The company is ran well with great customer service. Friendly staff with a can do attitude! The time waiting on someone to pick us up at the airport to bring us to the rental was made up with the quick paperwork! We were on our way to see the beautiful country in no time!

Jonann  •  19. Sep 2018 Rented a Kia Rio Diesel Manual from Lagoon Car Rental in September 2018
GO Car Rental

Petur Frank   •  19. Sep 2018 Rented a Volkswagen Golf Automatic from GO Car Rental in September 2018
Lagoon Car Rental

We had a very positive experience renting with Lagoon. The truck and camper were exactly what we needed for our adventure. It was reliable and comfortable. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They picked us up promptly from the airport. I appreciated that they didn't have big loud graphic logos all over the vehicle. It helped me feel not so touristy! Overall and excellent experience.

Stephanie  •  19. Sep 2018 Rented a Isuzu D-Max Mountain Camper from Lagoon Car Rental in September 2018
Icerental 4x4

The car we got was in good condition, just as the tent. Everything was clean and complete. Good service (they picked us up at our hotel) and open 24/7 so you can plan the most optimal trip for you. I would recommend!

Tim  •  19. Sep 2018 Rented a Suzuki Jimny + Roof Tent from Icerental 4x4 in September 2018
Thrifty Car Rental

I had a great experience renting from Thrifty in Iceland. They were very professional; I didn't have to wait long in line; and I was able to rent an automatic car.

Helga  •  19. Sep 2018 Rented a Ford Fiesta (or similar) from Thrifty Car Rental in September 2018
Orange Car Rental

Orange upgraded the car to Dusty and it eas wonderful. The car worked really well alk the time we were using it. The only problem we had was tires pressure were unbalanced on all 4 of them which was quite dangerous. Luckily we got them fixed by a petrol station assistant. The rental process was easy and returning the car was hassle free. I love hiw it was handled. Overall it was great

Faizah  •  18. Sep 2018 Rented a Suzuki Grand Vitara (Manual) from Orange Car Rental in September 2018
A Car Rental

Easy and pleasant experience. Simple and pleasant experience. The man from the company and the car is at the airport when we arrived, just getting ready to drive after reviewing the rental terms. When we were leaving we returned the car at the airport again.

Sigmund  •  18. Sep 2018 Rented a Suzuki Jimny Auto from A Car Rental in September 2018
Route 1

Except from the fact that the actual rental company I dealed with was called Geysir Car Rental and not Route 1 (never read this name anywhere) my experience was absolutely great. I read a lot of bad reviews and stories about car rental companies in Iceland and I am very happy that it all turned out so well! Thank you very much. I will definitely recommend you guys!

Niklas  •  18. Sep 2018 Rented a Suzuki Jimny Older from Route 1 in September 2018
Lagoon Car Rental

The vehicle was in excellent shape and very clean. The staff at check-in at Lagoon, Alexandra and Sebastian were helpful. The TDI Caddy got good mileage and was quite powerful.
Unfortunately there were no Wifi Hotspot devices available at Lagoon Car Rental when I arrived. This was very disappointing, I was unable to locate any other rental locations for the Hotspot device. Lagoon Car rental directed me back to the airport to try and rent a device. However, the kiosk at the airport where devices can be rented at the Dunkin Donuts was not working. Therefore, I was without wifi during my entire trip except when I could find a wifi spot at a cafe or gas station. I highly recommend that you emphasize that wifi devices should be reserved in advance due to the limited availability.
Also, campgrounds were extremely crowded which detracts from the camping experience. Iceland needs to build more campgrounds with individual parking spaces with picnic tables at each site.

John  •  18. Sep 2018 Rented a Volkswagen Caddy Camper from Lagoon Car Rental in September 2018
Nordic Campers

My experience was awesome. I loved the mini-camper van and its great flexibility. I will definitely return to the Land of Ice and Fire and rent again from Nordic Campers . . .

Julian  •  18. Sep 2018 Rented a Dacia Dokker from Nordic Campers in September 2018
Lagoon Car Rental

Great experience

Angie  •  18. Sep 2018 Rented a Hyundai i20 from Lagoon Car Rental in September 2018
Ice Rental Cars

This was a very decent car. It “fits 7” but it doesn’t fit 7 and their luggage. So really the car fits 5 with minimal luggage. However, I can’t say enough good about the staff- they were incredible helpful and friendly.

Jaime  •  18. Sep 2018 Rented a Peugeot 5008 7 Seater from Ice Rental Cars in September 2018
Lagoon Car Rental

We absolutely loved our experience with Lagoon Car Rental! I Could not rate it highly enough! The vehicle we hired was just as it looked on the website it was in very good condition.
All the staff where very helpful, fast to respond to emails and Enquiry’s and very helpful with other information about our travels.

Hannah  •  18. Sep 2018 Rented a Volkswagen Caddy Camper from Lagoon Car Rental in September 2018
Nordic Car Rental

We rented an older car which, as it turned out, had a LOT of milage on it. The car was well cared for and performed well. We read that travelers should purchase gravel insurance, as well as about six different kinds of coverage. This is part of why we chose an older vehicle, since much of this was included in the price. Sudden wind and road gravel are very real perils in Iceland.

Airport pick-up was excellent. When we arrived just before four o'clock in the morning to drop it off (we had early flight out of Iceland) they were there and working. Return to the Keflavik was as easy as the pick up.

Please respect the rules, don't try to drive through a river of water, don't drive on the F roads (stick to the main roads) etc. After you've driven there, you will appreciate why they need these rules.

All in all - an excellent experience. Nice job, guys!

Francis  •  17. Sep 2018 Rented a Hyundai i20 from Nordic Car Rental in September 2018
Lagoon Car Rental

They seemed professional and the rented car was better than expected.

northbound prices where the best and also seemed trustworthy.
(instead of a dropdown selection you could also used a checkbox) :)

thanks for the service.

Hugo  •  17. Sep 2018 Rented a Dacia Duster - Older model from Lagoon Car Rental in September 2018
Icerental 4x4

We loved it. It had all we needed

Ramon  •  17. Sep 2018 Rented a Dacia Duster + Roof Tent from Icerental 4x4 in September 2018
Fara Touring Vehicles

Very good service from Fara, Vehicle upgrade ( Hyundai IX35 )
Picked up and run to the nearby office. Clear explanation on the vehicle and confirmation on options for drop off. Hire included a discount tag for fuel. All went smoothly

Christopher  •  17. Sep 2018 Rented a SUZUKI VITARA 4X4 AUTO SUV Free GPS/4G Wifi Box from Fara Touring Vehicles in September 2018
Icerental 4x4

Our experience renting with Icerental4x4 through Northbound was perfect.
We had rented a Suzuki Jimny from 2011 but they gave us one brand new from 2018 instead for the same price.
The car was in perfect conditions and the service from Icerental4x4 was great. We had a GPS included in our rental, they didn't have one available but they provided us with portable WiFi, that was indeed a better option.
We would totally recommend renting with them.

Magdalena  •  17. Sep 2018 Rented a Suzuki Jimny + Roof Tent from Icerental 4x4 in September 2018
Nordic Campers

Very good experience . Nordic campers showed great courtesy in hospitality and great professionalism. We were very satisfied with the free pick-up service at the airport and the efficiency of the vehicle.

Maurizio  •  17. Sep 2018 Rented a Renault Trafic from Nordic Campers in August 2018
Lagoon Car Rental

Avishai  •  16. Sep 2018 Rented a Kia Sportage from Lagoon Car Rental in September 2018
Icerental 4x4

Very good friendly delivered what we ordered

Isidoro  •  16. Sep 2018 Rented a Renault Trafic or similar from Icerental 4x4 in September 2018
Icerental 4x4

We had a great experience. Our flight got delayed & I emailed & they were there to pick us up at the new time with no issues!

Amanda  •  16. Sep 2018 Rented a Suzuki Vitara from Icerental 4x4 in September 2018
Lagoon Car Rental

Everything about the car went perfectly! Thanks

Alberto  •  16. Sep 2018 Rented a Dacia Duster - Older model from Lagoon Car Rental in September 2018
Go Campers

excellent. no problems at all.

Ondrej  •  16. Sep 2018 Rented a Dacia Dokker Camper from Go Campers in September 2018
Icerental 4x4

We had a great experience with Icerental. Very personable and helpful workers; prompt and thorough service without pressure to buy extras we didn't need. Would rent again.

Karen  •  15. Sep 2018 Rented a Suzuki Grand Vitara from Icerental 4x4 in September 2018
Lava Car Rental

We had a great experience with Lava car rental. Booking was easily done online and price was reasonable. Someone was waiting for us at the airport and he was very gracious when we were late because of spending some time in the duty free shop...thank you. Checking in and pickup was easy and fast. Our 2018 Hyundai Tucson performed perfectly, even on the famous Icelandic nonpraved roads. We had the car for two weeks so spent a lot of time in the car on the ring road. It was comfortable for four and handled all our luggage. We rented a diesel and staff went over the car thoroughly and showed us how to use the navigator and other features. We were pleasantly surprised at the gas mileage we got. Lava provided us with a gas discount card and we had no problem finding gas stations along the route..even got a free cup of coffee at the gas stations

James  •  15. Sep 2018 Rented a Hyundai Tucson from Lava Car Rental in August 2018
Icerental 4x4

amazing car

Livio  •  15. Sep 2018 Rented a Suzuki Grand Vitara from Icerental 4x4 in August 2018
Orange Car Rental

Good service provided by your staff and the car conditions are great. Keep it up

Kwong  •  15. Sep 2018 Rented a Ford Transit 2017 from Orange Car Rental in September 2018
Star Car Rental

Great experience. Easy to book and make modifications online to add cooler box and location for pickup. Campervan clean comfortable large bed. Would add a coffee press and a coffee mugs for three to the basic supplies. Would use This service again.

Christine  •  14. Sep 2018 Rented a Toyota Proace 3 Person Camper from Star Car Rental in August 2018
Lotus Car Rental

We liked it very much. Just the right car for us.

Edna  •  14. Sep 2018 Rented a Volkswagen Polo from Lotus Car Rental in September 2018
Icerental 4x4

Very happy with the Jimny. Loved to ground clearance which is very important due to the road conditions. Very friendly, professional and prompt service. Extremely helpful staff who gave great advice on driving conditions and what potential problems you could encounter when driving in Iceland.

William  •  14. Sep 2018 Rented a Suzuki Jimny from Icerental 4x4 in September 2018
Icerental 4x4

Me and my girlfiend took a duster with roof tent and had a great time! The duster Is realy nice, was good in gravel and 4x4 roads, and in general worth the money. The roof tent was great as well, even in cold, windy and rainy weather we find it as realy convinent sulotion and had a great time!

Ido  •  14. Sep 2018 Rented a Dacia Duster + Roof Tent from Icerental 4x4 in August 2018
Lava Car Rental

Very good experience generally. They are just two things that could be improved: (1) the tire repair kit in the car was useless: rounded wrench because of very low quality. We got 2 flat tires during our 3-week trip and both times we had to wait for another car to come and ask them to lend us their wrench to unscrew our tire and replace it with our spare tire. (2) The person at the reception of Lava Auto was a bit unfriendly when we gave back the car. Professional yes, but a bit rude. Except from that the car was clean and in good condition, and we really enjoyed the Olis tag that allowed us to get free coffee in their stations.

Nicolas  •  14. Sep 2018 Rented a Dacia Duster from Lava Car Rental in August 2018
Camping Cars

We had a great experience with Camping Cars. The car we had booked online wasn't ready when we arrived, so we got a different one and they gave us a discount on the final price. Everyone we spoke to was super helpful not just with the car itself but also giving us tips and lots of information for our route. Good price for a good car that I would definitely recommend.

Clara  •  14. Sep 2018 Rented a Suzuki Grand Vitara +Roof Tent from Camping Cars in September 2018
Orange Car Rental

Great car and customer service. It’s be great to have a tutorial on the key fob system, as it’s different than what we’re used to and took some figuring out.

Stephanie  •  14. Sep 2018 Rented a Suzuki Grand Vitara (Manual) from Orange Car Rental in September 2018
Nordic Car Rental

Pretty fine service from Northbound: commited a mistake compiling the booking web form (erroneous pickup date due to round-midnight flight), written a mail to Northbound in the evening, problem fixed the next morning.
Nordic Car Rental provided a good service too: prompt pick-up at Keflavik Intl Airport, fine car, nearly brand-new, no problem at all during our 1-week trip around Iceland, so I cannot comment about their technical assistance in case of failure (they gave me a reference number to call active 24h a day).

Giampiero  •  14. Sep 2018 Rented a Hyundai i10 from Nordic Car Rental in September 2018
Nordic Car Rental

The car hire was entirely smooth both for pick up and drop off. It was great.

Elizabeth  •  14. Sep 2018 Rented a Dacia Duster from Nordic Car Rental in September 2018
Lagoon Car Rental

Car ok, assistance friendly, everything good.

Siegfried  •  14. Sep 2018 Rented a Hyundai i20 from Lagoon Car Rental in September 2018
Orange Car Rental

I miscalculated our arrival date - and booked the car for a day earlier than required. But this provided us with an upgrade to a bmw diesel which fit the 5 of us and our luggage well. It was also super for mileage. Our rental experience was very good, thank you.

Marianne   •  14. Sep 2018 Rented a Suzuki Vitara from Orange Car Rental in September 2018
Nordic Car Rental

The staff was very friendly. The car was good. I'll rent from them again on my next trip.

Ayman  •  12. Sep 2018 Rented a Dacia Duster from Nordic Car Rental in September 2018
Orange Car Rental

We used Northbound to rent a vehicle through Orange Car rental which has now been bought by Geysir car rental and everything went flawlessly. We received the best rate possible using Northbound and I was extremely happy with everything. I would highly recommend this company.

Jerry  •  12. Sep 2018 Rented a Suzuki Grand Vitara (Manual) from Orange Car Rental in September 2018
Icerental 4x4

Absolutely perfect customer support! They even bought us new sleeping bags, because the temperatures were dropping lower than expected. They have always been very kind and were responding extremely quick to every mail that I have sent to them. I highly recommend northbound to everyone who wants a great adventure in iceland!

Marcus Aurelius Antonius  •  12. Sep 2018 Rented a Dacia Duster + Roof Tent from Icerental 4x4 in August 2018
Lagoon Car Rental

Pick up was convenient and very friendly. Car was alright and everything went smoothly. Thanks!

Max  •  12. Sep 2018 Rented a Dacia Duster - Older model from Lagoon Car Rental in September 2018
Route 1

The Jimny is a great vehicle to rent for two people. The back seats fold down and you can fit 4 luggages, no problem! Good for any road.
The Jimny we had developed mechanical issues shortly after we left Route 1. We contacted the emergency line, Vala answered and she had a driver deliver us another vehicle within the hour! An inconvenient circumstance, but Route 1 promptly resolved the issue and even upgraded us to a Duster for the inconvenience.

Mike  •  12. Sep 2018 Rented a Suzuki Jimny Older from Route 1 in August 2018
Nordic Car Rental

Our rental car experience with Northbound went fantastic ! The staff was very personable and efficient. Pickup from the airport makes everything very simple (only wish the sign the person held said “Northbound” rather than “Nordic rentals” because we were a little confused) - besides that it was an overall great experience and would not hesitate to use this company again.

Taylor  •  12. Sep 2018 Rented a Kia Picanto from Nordic Car Rental in September 2018
Camping Cars

The staff was very nice and helpful. Very quick to keep us informed and answer emails. Airport pickup worked out great. The car and wifi worked great the entire time. The tent was excellent, even in Icelandic weather. I highly recommend!

Jonathan  •  11. Sep 2018 Rented a Suzuki Grand Vitara +Roof Tent from Camping Cars in August 2018
Lotus Car Rental

Good experience and would choose Lotus again.

Catherine  •  11. Sep 2018 Rented a Volkswagen Polo from Lotus Car Rental in August 2018
Lotus Car Rental

We looked at several rental companies prior to our 2 week vacation driving the ring road in Iceland. We were happy with our decision to use this company and very very happy with our SUV choice (Dacia Duster). It handled well on all surfaces and was excellent on gas consumption (we figured around 40 MPG). It was convenient to get the car as it was an easy walk from the airport. For our second week we had 3 adults with luggage and large backpacks. It was tight yet doable. I would highly recommend this company and car for cost, convenience and car performance.

Michael  •  11. Sep 2018 Rented a Dacia Duster from Lotus Car Rental in August 2018
Icerental 4x4

Perfect 4x4 car with roof tent that allow you to drive for all the island. We only recommend that they improve the quality (temperature) of sleeping bags. For the rest the experience was incredible. Many thanks

Javier  •  11. Sep 2018 Rented a Suzuki Jimny + Roof Tent from Icerental 4x4 in August 2018