Iceland Car Rentals Reviews

Reviews for the Best Car Rentals in Iceland.Real Reviews From Real Customers

Lagoon Car Rental

Great! Very professional and super helpful

Adithya  •  17. Dec 2017 Rented a Subaru XV from Lagoon Car Rental in November 2017
Icerental 4x4

Great communication, very helpful

Marta  •  16. Dec 2017 Rented a Hyundai Tucson from Icerental 4x4 in December 2017
Route 1

Easy, quick and painless. Pick up was prompt and convenient. Staff were helpful and friendly.

Ben  •  16. Dec 2017 Rented a Hyundai i10 from Route 1 in December 2017
GO Car Rental

Everything with GO Car Rental was very easy. It was simple to pick from a wide variety of cars on their website. When we flew in to the airport it was easy to spot the GO Car Rental representative who was waiting for us outside of baggage claim. The Rep was holding a GO Car Rental sign, friendly, and knew our names. He escorted us to our Subaru XV and drove us over to the car drop-off parking lot close to the airport. He full explained the car rental contract and we did a good walk around the car inspecting any damages. We noted a small ding on the passenger door. The Subaru XV itself was in great shape. It was was clean inside and had no smoke smell or any signs of past abuse from other renters. Also, GO Car Rental had already switched from summer tires to winter tires which really helped driving on some of the ice covered roads we encountered. The next day when we saw the car in daylight my wife nice a rock chip in the window that was missed during the inspection of the car the previous night. We took a picture and emailed it to the GO Car Rental Rep so that it could be noted and we had no issues after the fact. The car drop-off went smooth. It was kind of strange leaving the car in the drop-off parking lot without meeting anybody to re-inspect the car. I would 100% recommend to anyone I know visiting Iceland to use GO Car Rental. Prompt, Friendly, and a Great Value.

Jason  •  15. Dec 2017 Rented a Subaru XV 4x4 from GO Car Rental in December 2017
Icerental 4x4

Great general experience with icerental 4x4. They offered me to upgrade the Tucson for a bigger car for free! it was such a great trip, everything went well. I strongly recommend a 4x4 with studded tires if you want to drive around iceland during winter, it's called ICEland for a reason ;) and the wind can get very intense. I did the «ring road» in 9 days, i believe it's one of the most beautiful roadtrip you can ever do in your life in that period of time, every day was so amazing, the landscapes in iceland are out of this world

Jean-Félix  •  15. Dec 2017 Rented a Hyundai Tucson from Icerental 4x4 in December 2017
Ace Car Rental

Fantastic

Victor Manuel  •  15. Dec 2017 Rented a Dacia Dokker Camper from Ace Car Rental in December 2017
Lava Auto Car Rental

Excellent even in case of emergency they gave us a quick feedback.

Federico  •  14. Dec 2017 Rented a Dacia Duster from Lava Auto Car Rental in December 2017
Thrifty Car Rental

Best

Loreta  •  14. Dec 2017 Rented a Mazda CX-3 AWD (or similar) from Thrifty Car Rental in December 2017
Geysir Car Rental

We had a rather new car with about 46.000 km and including tires with spikes (standard), which we certainly needed.
By checking damages before leaving, I discovered four different spots which were not reported. It seemed to me the company didn’t do that on purses and they made a sincerely excuse. I was glad to show them the problem before otherwise it would have brought me on high costs after bringing back the car. The second day I discovered a bad wiper, so I had to drive back to the airport of Keflavik. There the company changed all wipers for new ones. Because of losing half a day, it influenced unfortunately our planned trip.
The employers were very friendly all the time and the car was running fantastic. Together with the very friendly people of Iceland and its country, we have nevertheless had a great time.
Tip one: we missed an ice scratcher in the car.
Tip two: within 5 minutes you easily can walk for the airport to the car rent. Instead of waiting for the bus shuttle.
Next time we would rent at the same company of Northbound / Geysir again.

Frank  •  13. Dec 2017 Rented a Hyundai i30 from Geysir Car Rental in December 2017
Thrifty Car Rental

Car was great, everything ok, besides that company who rented us the car had a windshield crack and they did not write it in the protocol at the beginning. When we were returning the car they wanted us to pay for the damage. Luckily we had a video on our phone right after we left the company where they could see that the crack was already there. Finally, they agreed but we had to argue a bit with them. Tomas

Tomas   •  13. Dec 2017 Rented a Volvo XC90 AWD (or similar) from Thrifty Car Rental in December 2017
Icerental 4x4

We actually recieved a free upgrade to a jeep grand cherokee. It was a fantastic vehicle and the people at ice rental 4x4 were incredibly helpfull. From pick up to drop off all was easy and smooth.

Renee  •  13. Dec 2017 Rented a Subaru Forester from Icerental 4x4 in December 2017
Icerental 4x4

Excellent. Rapid check -in and out . Car was fine with no problems . When we were checking in the guys left it running to warm it up, we drove off and when we got to the destination we didn't know where they had put the key fob! A quick phone call resolved that ! We would certainly recommend Icerentalm4x4.

Paul  •  13. Dec 2017 Rented a Suzuki Vitara from Icerental 4x4 in December 2017
Thrifty Car Rental

Excellent. Smooth checkin and able to use lockbox for after-hours drop off.

Charles  •  12. Dec 2017 Rented a Ford Focus (or similar) from Thrifty Car Rental in December 2017
Geysir Car Rental

My experience was perfect! Here you can find an article about the ring road and my experience with the beautiful Dacia Duster that I rented. https://erasmusu.com/it/erasmus-reykjavik/cosa-fare/the-ring-road-11018#p56423
It is written in italian but there are a lot of beautiful picture that everybody could and should see!

Roberta  •  12. Dec 2017 Rented a Dacia Duster from Geysir Car Rental in November 2017
Arctic Car Rental

We got an upgrade to a Grand Vitara. That was a great luck as we drove more than 3000 km and the Vitara was very comfortable. Great service, no problems at all, fast handover at the airport. 100% recommendation ;-)

Ralf  •  11. Dec 2017 Rented a Suzuki Jimny 4x4 (Older model) from Arctic Car Rental in September 2017
Stracta Cars

Fantastic service all made easy by the team that work at Stracta.
I frustratingly can’t remember our contacts name but he made the process so easy by collecting us from the airport to all the useful tips given whilst staying in Reykjavik.
I would recommend this car hire. Clean, reliable cars which you feel safe in.
Thanks for the rental

Kayley  •  10. Dec 2017 Rented a Dacia Duster 4x4 FREE GPS from Stracta Cars in November 2017
GO Car Rental

Overall, it was a great experience. Upon arrival to Keflavik, our ride was slightly late which we decided to call the company for confirmation of receiving the car. The car ran smoothly and was well maintained. The customer support was very flexible. Upon dropping the car off, there was confusion of where to drop the car off. It was helpful to contact customer support where personal arrangements were made. I am highly satisfied with the professionalism. I plan to book with this company in the future and recommend it to friends that will visit as well.

Keano  •  10. Dec 2017 Rented a Subaru XV 4x4 from GO Car Rental in December 2017
Lagoon Car Rental

Excellent experience, especially when I asked to change my car before the holiday. Great speedy communication, would highly recommend.

Leah  •  06. Dec 2017 Rented a Hyundai i10 from Lagoon Car Rental in November 2017
Thrifty Car Rental

Amazing everything was good from day one until i returned the car.

Mirhashmat  •  06. Dec 2017 Rented a Volvo XC90 AWD (or similar) from Thrifty Car Rental in November 2017
Thrifty Car Rental

Great service car was perfect for the conditions as we arrived in deep snow so the awd and studded tyres were perfect office staff were very helpful indeed

Frederick  •  05. Dec 2017 Rented a Volvo XC60 AWD (or similar) from Thrifty Car Rental in November 2017
Icerental 4x4

Great and simple online renting experience. Amazing customer service and amazing staff. They were very friendly and had great knowledge.

Aakar  •  04. Dec 2017 Rented a Suzuki Vitara from Icerental 4x4 in November 2017
Lagoon Car Rental

Good service, quick administration,, friendly staff

Tamas  •  03. Dec 2017 Rented a Suzuki Jimny from Lagoon Car Rental in November 2017
GO Car Rental

Great agency & car to rent in Iceland. Affordable, and the right size for two people. The rental came with studded, winter tires, which I was very grateful for. The person who met us at the airport, and then brought us to our vehicle was most helpful. She gave us a heads up about winter road conditions in Iceland, what to expect, how to prepare, and resources to use. Our experience with this company was great, and I would rent from them again. A word of caution about the Jimny is it's a light vehicle that can really feel the force of the winter winds.

Lauren  •  02. Dec 2017 Rented a Suzuki Jimny 4x4 Automatic from GO Car Rental in November 2017
Icerental 4x4

Very good. The car provided is the most economical option among other car rental companies. Pickup and drop off is easy. Read a lot about insurance issues. We didn't buy insurance from icerental but from a third party. No issues at all. When we went off the road and stucked in the snow, we called icerental and they provided contact no for the toll truck. Very helpful

Min Ting  •  02. Dec 2017 Rented a Hyundai Tucson from Icerental 4x4 in November 2017
Stracta Cars

Great and safe road trip in Iceland despite the difficult weather conditions we faced at times. Good prices and very supportive and polite staff.

Eirini Eleni  •  01. Dec 2017 Rented a Dacia Duster 4x4 FREE GPS from Stracta Cars in November 2017
Lava Auto Car Rental

The rental experience was great. Lava Auto was great to work with and the car itself drove very nice. Perfect for the Icelandic Winter. Would definitely book again.

Vanick  •  01. Dec 2017 Rented a Hyundai Tucson from Lava Auto Car Rental in November 2017
Lava Auto Car Rental

The experience was amazing. We chose northbound not only because of the price but because of the customer support. Everytime we had a doubt they answer immediately and solved our worries.

Aitor  •  01. Dec 2017 Rented a Nissan NV200 from Lava Auto Car Rental in November 2017
Stracta Cars

Great! Rúnar was prompt in picking us up at the airport and had the car all ready to go when we arrived at the vehicle lot. Rúnar also provided us with maps and pointed out some great places for sightseeing.

James  •  01. Dec 2017 Rented a Hyundai i10 from Stracta Cars in November 2017
Thrifty Car Rental

HI ,

The car was really awesome and good service ,when we exchanged the car for another one, you where very responsive, coming to the trip in iceland, great country with naturnal beauty and nature at its best with beautiful snowy mountains and lakes and beaches and thermal waters,valcanos, i am sure would like to do another trip in summer too , to see the sunny part of it .

Sai Kumar  •  01. Dec 2017 Rented a Volvo XC90 AWD (or similar) from Thrifty Car Rental in November 2017
Lava Auto Car Rental

Great price for the car we got. Excellent customer service and attention throughout all the procedures of the rental.

The condition of the tyres were great, and we had a very safe driving in hard conditions. The overall condition of the car was very good, even though the driver's door was damaged before we had the car, and we had to take great care while opening the car as it didn't have any longer a "click" stop half way, and it opened much wider that expected (probably a previous customer had some incident while opening the door in windy conditions) .

After we passed by LAVA for dropping the car, and we only found a notice to drop the car at the airport and send the location by email, we lack a little feedback after the email. We never got a notice to tell that everything went ok with the dropping procedure, and that we left the car in perfect conditions.

We had a very good trip. He are soooo happy we al the experienced we had. Thank you very much.

Jesus & Marta

Jesus  •  01. Dec 2017 Rented a Nissan NV200 from Lava Auto Car Rental in November 2017
Rent A Wreck

Everything was really convenient, friendly and easy to sort any issues. Picked up and dropped off at the airport with no hold ups. No issues with the car- in fact it survived some pretty crazy weather! Iceland is an incredible place and being able to explore it according to our own interests and at our own pace was just fantastic.

Jennifer  •  30. Nov 2017 Rented a Suzuki Jimny from Rent A Wreck in October 2017
Lava Auto Car Rental

Everything went smoothly with the car rental. The whole process went well and I would go through Lava Auto Car Rental again. The Dacia Duster was the perfect car for Iceland in November.

Natalie  •  30. Nov 2017 Rented a Dacia Duster from Lava Auto Car Rental in November 2017
Lagoon Car Rental

My experience with Lagoon was outstanding from start to finish. Upon arrival at Keflavik, they were already there waiting for me as promised. Our shuttle driver assisted with luggage and got us quickly to the rental office where another staff member walked us through the rental process thoroughly but didn't oversell the additional insurance coverages or dissuade us from taking pictures of the car; in fact, he encouraged it. The car was essentially new, immaculate, and clearly well cared for. Upon return, we alerted the young lady on duty at the time that we were VERY late for our departing flight.... The shuttle had just left BUT she offered (we accepted of course as we only had 30 minutes before our flight departed) to take us in the car we were returning. Not only did we make our flight but we didn't need to move the luggage yet again. After having been burned in the past with other rental car companies, I can't say enough about how above board Lagoon Car Rental operates and how well they treat their customers. I only wish I remembered everyone's names to publically praise them!

Robert  •  29. Nov 2017 Rented a Nissan Qashqai from Lagoon Car Rental in November 2017
Rent A Wreck

Great service, reasonable price

Peter  •  29. Nov 2017 Rented a Hyundai i30 from Rent A Wreck in November 2017
Icerental 4x4

No problems with my rental experience. Car was suitable for icey roads in November. Friendly staff. Note they do put a large hold on your credit card. Not an issue, you just need to be prepared for it.

Heidi  •  29. Nov 2017 Rented a Suzuki Vitara from Icerental 4x4 in November 2017
Rent A Wreck

Car was in a good condition, but I was able to lock only one doors and bag. Three dors was still open (something with central locking and remote control). Because from car I was able to lock it by button on console.

But expect this, everything was ok. I can recomended this car.
Thanks for rent :)

Matej  •  27. Nov 2017 Rented a Hyundai i30 from Rent A Wreck in November 2017
Thrifty Car Rental

Great service, booking through Northbound was easy and cheap. Thrifty service was very good too

Monica  •  27. Nov 2017 Rented a Mazda CX-3 AWD (or similar) from Thrifty Car Rental in November 2017
Icerental 4x4

we had a good experience with Icerental 4x4. The truck was clean and functional and worked quite well for what we needed. There was not an excess of paperwork to be filled out and returning the vehicle was easy they took me straight to my hotel afterwards.

Robert  •  27. Nov 2017 Rented a Ford Expedition from Icerental 4x4 in November 2017
Arctic Car Rental

There were no issues, everything went smoothly from airport pick-up to return.

David  •  27. Nov 2017 Rented a Hyundai I-20 from Arctic Car Rental in September 2017
Lagoon Car Rental

Our rental experience through Lagoon could not have gone much smoother. We arrived earlier in the morning and our shuttle was earlier as well. It took a minute to find them among all the other companies. The car was in great condition with good winter tires. Previous dings and scratches were well marked and they even gave us a flash light to assist us while we verified the condition of the car. We choose to use our own insurance through our credit card and there was no hassles with that as well. The car performed perfectly and when we returned the car it was only a five minute shuttle back to the airport. One note - make sure you have some form of insurance. The weather changes constantly and I feel that with the other tourists on the roads your chances of an incident is high. 5 stars for Lagoon.

Clinton  •  26. Nov 2017 Rented a Subaru Outback Diesel from Lagoon Car Rental in November 2017
Geysir Car Rental

We received good service from Northbound and Geysir and the price was very good for Iceland. The car was in good condition, although in future I would get a car with air conditioning as it got quite steamy on the windows when it was cold outside and we were wet. The insurance add one was reasonable in price, but buying through a broker and not from Geysir direct meant that in the event of an accident you would have to pay it and claim it back which wasn't made very clear at the time of purchase (or I probably just didn't read the small print). There were no issues with our rental though and I would use both companies again. Also, don't bother waiting for the bus at the airport - just walk as it literally takes 5 minutes.

Michael  •  26. Nov 2017 Rented a Hyundai i10 from Geysir Car Rental in November 2017
Icerental 4x4

The experience was generally good. The pickup was a little delayed as 4x4 had only one staff that afternoon but once we were attended to, all went very soonly. The return of the car was supposed to be at the company at 530am but we were early (430am, estimated travel time wrongly) and car the customer service hotline. The staff was very helpful and told us to leave the car at P3 carpark with the keys in the glove compartment, leaving the car unlock. It was a short 3 min walk from P3 to the departure hall.
Overall, it was an excellent experience with 4x4 and northbound! Thank you!

Casey Wai Kuan  •  25. Nov 2017 Rented a Ford Expedition from Icerental 4x4 in November 2017
Lagoon Car Rental

Excellent from start to finish. The man who collected us from the airport was friendly and welcoming. Our chosen vehicle was upgraded at no extra cost and the Kia Sportage we got was brand new and fantastic. The vehicle collection was straightforward, efficient and completed quickly. We would definitely use Blue Lagoon/ Nortbound next time we visit beautiful Iceland and recommend to any family/friends thinking about hiring a vehicle.

Harriet  •  25. Nov 2017 Rented a Renault Kadjar from Lagoon Car Rental in October 2017
Lagoon Car Rental

I got a good deal on a great reliable car from Northbound. I highly recommend this Northbound for the car rentals.

Abhishek  •  25. Nov 2017 Rented a Suzuki Jimny - Older model from Lagoon Car Rental in November 2017
Grand Iceland

Everything OK. Was wery well.

Wojciech  •  24. Nov 2017 Rented a Nissan NV 200 from Grand Iceland in November 2017
Grand Iceland

We enjoyed a perfect week in our Grand Iceland rental van. It was well equipt, reliable and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and relaxed and nothing was too much of a hassle. I would highly recommend the company to anyone looking for a rental in Iceland and am already looking forward to my return visit and using them again!

John  •  24. Nov 2017 Rented a Ford Transit Connect from Grand Iceland in November 2017
GO Car Rental

GO Car Rental made everything easy, from pick-up at the airport to the simple drop-off process. Informative and helpful, and the car itself was excellent (4WD Nissan Qashqai). Definitely helped to make our trip a smooth one!

Codi  •  23. Nov 2017 Rented a Dacia Duster 4x4 w.GPS from GO Car Rental in October 2017
Camping Cars

I did a good research about some of the rental companies and I feel I made the right decision picking Camping Cars. They were completely professional from the beginning ever since I made reservations. Communicating with me, Coming on right time and picking me from the airport, and providing all the information I was looking for.

The WiFi they provided was a life safer and I used that to communicate to outside world while staying at places and driving all around. I was provided with extra blankets as it was cold. The car was great with a tent on top.

I already told several of my friends, and they will be looking forward to talk to Camping cars. I gave my feedback right away to Camping cars while returning the cars to get bigger Campers :), because I will be visiting Iceland again with family.

If you are thinking to rent from Camping Cars, go for it in a heartbeat.

Bobby  •  22. Nov 2017 Rented a Ford Escape +Roof Tent from Camping Cars in November 2017
Icerental 4x4

Excellent service.
Our airport pick up was efficient and accommodating.
Drop off was right on time. Our car was in excellent shape and suited our needs perfectly.
Highly recommended. Will use again.

Gerald  •  22. Nov 2017 Rented a Suzuki Jimny from Icerental 4x4 in November 2017
Stracta Cars

My wife and I were extremely happy with Northbound and Stracta Cars. Runar met us at the airport at 6 a.m. and was very friendly and helpful. We took a short ride to the office to get our Duster, which was a great car for driving around the countryside.

Bobbie Jo  •  22. Nov 2017 Rented a Dacia Duster 4x4 FREE GPS from Stracta Cars in November 2017