Iceland Car Rentals Reviews

Reviews for the Best Car Rentals in Iceland.Real Reviews From Real Customers

Lava Auto Car Rental

Lava Auto Car Rental is great place to go. They pick you up at the airport any time. We didn't have any problems.

Tomas  •  21. Jun 2017 Rented a Dacia Duster from Lava Auto Car Rental in June 2017
Icerental 4x4

Good

Birthe  •  21. Jun 2017 Rented a Suzuki Grand Vitara from Icerental 4x4 in June 2017
Icerental 4x4

It was a realy good lessor. I had no problems and i would evertime rent again.

Sven  •  21. Jun 2017 Rented a Dacia Duster + Roof Tent from Icerental 4x4 in June 2017
Lava Auto Car Rental

We had a great experience with Lava Rental. We were picked up from our early morning arrival and shuttled promptly to our car. We were not pressured to buy an extras but were kindly offered options. Returning the care went quick and smoothly and we were quickly shuttled back to the airport. Both parties we dealt with were friendly and helpful. I would definitely rent from Lava again

Ariel  •  21. Jun 2017 Rented a Hyundai i10 from Lava Auto Car Rental in June 2017
Northern Lights Car Rental

Definitely the right vehicle for the adventure. Tent pops up with ease, holds the heat at night, and is surprisingly spacious. 4x4 on the Jimny handed the rough gravel roads and mountain paths like a champ.

Michael  •  20. Jun 2017 Rented a Suzuki Jimny + Roof Tent from Northern Lights Car Rental in June 2017
Icerental 4x4

The vehicle was excellent for us and well priced.

Rodger  •  20. Jun 2017 Rented a Subaru Forester from Icerental 4x4 in May 2017
GO Car Rental

everyone was extremely friendly and helpful, would definitely recommend Go Car Rental!

Samuel  •  20. Jun 2017 Rented a Subaru XV 4x4 from GO Car Rental in June 2017
Icerental 4x4

Northbound was extremely easy to deal with. We had a trouble free rental. Thanks Northbound. Icerental 4x4 were easy to deal with, the car was very well presented and they couldn't have done more for us. Northbound & Icerental 4x4 were an excellent team.

Alan  •  20. Jun 2017 Rented a Dacia Duster from Icerental 4x4 in June 2017
Lava Auto Car Rental

Our experience was fantastic. Everything went smoothly and we could enjoy the country thanks to the set up van. Very comfortable.

Maria Carmen  •  20. Jun 2017 Rented a Nissan NV200 from Lava Auto Car Rental in June 2017
Icerental 4x4

The expierience to choose northbound was very good. The car was in a good condition. The service was perfect. Somebody pick us up at the airport and drive in 10 minutes to the office for the rest of formality. All defects on the car has been marked in the documents. A perfect choice for a Icelandtrip with gravel roads.

Filip Jacek  •  18. Jun 2017 Rented a Suzuki Grand Vitara from Icerental 4x4 in June 2017
Lagoon Car Rental

Great just missing a sponge in the cooking tools and a blue disk for parking. Check out time was too long, especially if you re short on timing with the airplane. Pickup and drop off service was great. Car and all the equipment was great, very low gas consumption.

Génika  •  18. Jun 2017 Rented a VW Caddy Camper from Lagoon Car Rental in June 2017
Orange Car Rental

Orange Car Rental is amazing. We were greeted at the airport with no wait. Once we were shuttled to the rental car place we were helped by a gentleman who was friendly and very helpful. He gave us a map and highlighted places to go and even wrote down places to visit and eat. We will definitely be renting from them again in the future!

Brandenn  •  18. Jun 2017 Rented a Toyota Auris from Orange Car Rental in May 2017
Lava Auto Car Rental

The Dacia Duster was perfect for our family of 5. The manual transmission was very easy to shift
and we seemed to get very good mileage with the diesel fuel. It was a tight squeeze with our 5 pieces of 26" luggage, but Lava helped us out and held a couple of our bags for us temporarily. Our flight was late and it did take awhile to get our bags and exit the airport, so there was no one waiting for us and it did take a bit to get a ride. Not a big deal though and found the return very easy as well. Would use Lava again.

Lawrence  •  17. Jun 2017 Rented a Dacia Duster from Lava Auto Car Rental in June 2017
Lava Auto Car Rental

Hi, been to Iceland this June, and need to say the country is absolutely a magical place and would recommended for everybody to come and enjoy Iceland. To see the most of Iceland renting a car was the best option and we had a great experience with Northbound finding a best deal and a suitable car. We rented Dacia Duster from Lava Auto Car rental and it showed to be the prefect choice. The staff was very helpful, they meet us at the airport and it took just a short drive to their office where we picked up our car. As we arrived late in the evening and was a bit dark the guy just gave us the car and said if you notice anything wrong different than stated in the contract don't worry just take some pictures and send them by email. As we did the next morning when we found some scratches and when returning the car everything was alright. The car was new and it was just a pleasure to use it exploring Iceland. This was my first experience renting a car and it was a great choice. For some next trip to Iceland I'm definitely using the same company and hopefully the same car.

Denis  •  17. Jun 2017 Rented a Dacia Duster from Lava Auto Car Rental in May 2017
Lava Auto Car Rental

Lava Car Rental was by far the most responsive and easy to work with company I have yet to work with. Their team was full of genuinely caring people whose priority was making sure my experience was as good as it could be. Would recommend their services to anyone.

Alden  •  16. Jun 2017 Rented a Dacia Duster from Lava Auto Car Rental in June 2017
Rent A Wreck

Great! It was quick and easy to find the Rent a Wreck employee at the airport who walked us out to the car. We got a free vehicle upgrade since they didn't have the original car we reserved and it was absolutely adequate. Plenty of space and we did a decent amount of driving on unpaved roads and it held up like a champ. It was also convenient to be able to drop the car off at the airport at the end of our trip and be on our way. Plus it was marginally less expensive than the other car rental companies I looked at.

Chase  •  16. Jun 2017 Rented a Suzuki Jimny from Rent A Wreck in June 2017
Icerental 4x4

In general, it was great! The car was the one we had selected, and it everything was in perfect / new condition.

David  •  16. Jun 2017 Rented a Dacia Duster + Roof Tent from Icerental 4x4 in June 2017
Go Campers

Awesome, renting a campervan is the way to go!

Carson  •  16. Jun 2017 Rented a Dacia Dokker Camper from Go Campers in June 2017
Lava Auto Car Rental

Very pleased, will recommend. Easy online booking, excellent communications from Northbound. Lava Auto Car: Airport pickup was perfect. Car rental process easy. Car in excellent shape. Staff very nice. Get the feeling of trust from them. Decided to return car day early to avoid 5AM car return to airport or to Lava office (special arrangements could have been made for lift to airport). We could have left the car at airport with keys in it, but we prefer inspection and sign-off before leaving country (years of experience!). They could accommodate either option, given they are not located at airport. Need lots of time at KEF airport as it is a madhouse at 5AM :-)

Andre  •  16. Jun 2017 Rented a Toyota Aygo from Lava Auto Car Rental in May 2017
Lava Auto Car Rental

Amazing car and service. The duster was incredible for fuel efficiency. Shuttle too and from airport was perfect and on time

Jason  •  16. Jun 2017 Rented a Dacia Duster from Lava Auto Car Rental in June 2017
Lava Auto Car Rental

I hadn't heard of either Northbound nor Lava before booking, but took a chance based on them being the best price i found. We booked a Dacia Duster 4x4 for 2 and a half weeks. It fit me, my husband, my mom, our 2 kids (with car seats!), and all of our camping gear. Tight fit but worked great for our budget! The car was very new (we doubled its kms). THe staff at the office were amazing- super friendly, relaxed and helpful. Free pick up (we arrived at 4am!) and drop off at the airport too! would definitely recommend :)

Katarzyna  •  15. Jun 2017 Rented a Dacia Duster from Lava Auto Car Rental in May 2017
Icerental 4x4

Everything was perfect, good Support and Car. We had an very good time in Iceland.

Sebastian  •  15. Jun 2017 Rented a Suzuki Jimny from Icerental 4x4 in June 2017
Lava Auto Car Rental

Really pleased with the car rental service from Lava.Car was like brand new and drove really nicely.Would definitely recommend and next time I am visiting Iceland I won't be spending hours searching for the car rental agency as Lava will be my one and only choice!

Djordje  •  14. Jun 2017 Rented a Hyundai i10 from Lava Auto Car Rental in June 2017
Icerental 4x4

we booked online and someone collected us from the airport.
The employees were courteous and helpful. Registration and taking the car out was very quick and efficient. We had any problems at all during all the journey (3 weeks - 5000 km). my overall experience is very good. Thanks!!!

Daniela  •  14. Jun 2017 Rented a Suzuki Vitara from Icerental 4x4 in May 2017
Go Campers

The campervan was in perfect state and they were very helpful with all our needs. We didn't have any problem.

Oriol  •  14. Jun 2017 Rented a Dacia Dokker Camper from Go Campers in June 2017
Icerental 4x4

My experience with Icerental 4X4 was excellent from start to finish. We were picked up from the airport promptly and taken to the rental location to pick up our vehicle which took the worry out of our travels. The person who picked us up and got us started was great, friendly and ready to offer any tips and knowledge he had to answer our questions. When we arrived, we were offered a newer model, which was a great plus. We had a great experience driving through the Island. When it was time to return the vehicle, the drop off process was smooth and quick. Would absolutely recommend and use in the future.

Corinne  •  13. Jun 2017 Rented a Suzuki Grand Vitara from Icerental 4x4 in June 2017
GO Car Rental

Our experience with GO Car Rental was very good. our Skoda Octavia was in fine condition and drove very well. The pickup of the car was very easy and drop off went well too. When we return to Iceland, we will definitely use GO Car Rental again.

John  •  13. Jun 2017 Rented a Skoda Octavia from GO Car Rental in June 2017
Go Campers

I really can recommend GoCamper! The staff was super friendly and caring (especially the free shuttle service to the busstation) and the car was reliable and comfi. We really enjoyed our trip.

Anja  •  13. Jun 2017 Rented a Dacia Dokker Camper from Go Campers in June 2017
Icerental 4x4

Great experience. We got the exact car we had asked for - giving us enough room for 4 with luggage. Pick up was easy - the shuttle driver called us and we told him we were delayed in baggage claim. He waited for us. Drop off was pretty easy. They did a very thorough inspection of the car upon return so make sure all dings and paint chips, etc. are noted before you leave the property. We had no problem. Friendly staff and saved quite a bit instead of going with the big name companies at the terminal.

John  •  13. Jun 2017 Rented a Toyota RAV4 from Icerental 4x4 in May 2017
Lava Auto Car Rental

We are SO happy to have found Lava Auto. They helped make our entire experience smooth an enjoyable, while also being economical. Crazy right? After visiting Iceland the first time we vowed if we were ever able to return, we would travel in a camper van as too many hours were lost trying to get to where we were sleeping. After doing a ton of research we found Lava. The booking process was a breeze, they met us at the airport with our name on a sign and brought us to their location. Check in was simple and we were on our way. The van was simply furnished but had everything we needed like a gas stove, a pan, bedding etc. When we returned they quickly got us back to the airport for our departure. The staff was super friendly and very helpful. I highly recommend them and will be using them again if we are ever fortunate enough to visit a third time!

Michelle  •  13. Jun 2017 Rented a Nissan NV200 from Lava Auto Car Rental in June 2017
Thrifty Car Rental

Good experience, well staffed for an early morning arrival. Easy to get going right away and very easy return. Car worked great the entire time.

Anna  •  12. Jun 2017 Rented a Ford Fiesta (or similar) from Thrifty Car Rental in June 2017
Lagoon Car Rental

We had a brand new Caddy Camper and everything worked out really well. We also wanted some extra chairs, which was also no Problem for Logoon Car to organize. Really good communication und nice staff!

Eva  •  12. Jun 2017 Rented a VW Caddy Camper from Lagoon Car Rental in May 2017
Camping Cars

Camping Cars was exactly what my friends and I were looking for. The roof top tent on the Ford Escape 4WD worked perfectly for our 8 day trip around the country. Camping Cars was extremely helpful in giving advice about what to see and do while in Iceland, along with the services they provide. Highly recommended!!!

Hunter  •  11. Jun 2017 Rented a Ford Escape +Roof Tent from Camping Cars in May 2017
Northern Lights Car Rental

NL Car Rental has been a great experience.
Applying online for the car was easy. Once We landed at 6:20 am, a gentleman called me to ask where I am. The amazing thing is; we asked for the car at 9:00am since that was the earliest. They went out of their way to find out our landing time and to make sure we had the car quick and easy.
They offered great service and are extremely friendly.
I would 100% rent a car from NL again.
Someone who also rented a Jimny said to me; "Jim is friendship". That experience will always stick.
Thank you!
Zachary Corr.

Zachary  •  11. Jun 2017 Rented a Suzuki Jimny from Northern Lights Car Rental in May 2017
Rent A Wreck

Really good

Andres  •  10. Jun 2017 Rented a Suzuki Jimny from Rent A Wreck in May 2017
Rent A Wreck

My experience was really good. We really appreciate all your help and service

Karla  •  10. Jun 2017 Rented a Hyundai i30 from Rent A Wreck in May 2017
Thrifty Car Rental

Northbound made it easy to review different car options – Thrifty's ended up being the cheapest, once I added the insurance I wanted (would recommend, as many main highways in Iceland had some gravel). The experience with Thrifty was smooth, and I had no issues.

Gabrielle  •  09. Jun 2017 Rented a Ford Fiesta (or similar) from Thrifty Car Rental in May 2017
Lagoon Car Rental

Service is fast, responsive, and convenient. We will definitely use this company again. Every time when I have a question via email, I get responses within half an hour. Friendly staff! Saves me time for picking up the car at airport. Very impressed with this company.

Philip  •  08. Jun 2017 Rented a KIA Sorento 7 seat from Lagoon Car Rental in June 2017
Lava Auto Car Rental

Lava rental were great from pickup at the airport through to drop off at the end of the hire. Great company would recommend if you want to hire a car in Iceland.

Michael  •  07. Jun 2017 Rented a Dacia Duster from Lava Auto Car Rental in May 2017
Icerental 4x4

Excellent and very professional service: friendly approach, time for picking up rented car and return at airport according to time scheduled on reservation, good advices and price for car quality. I recommend IceRental and rent a GrandCherokee 4x4 for discovering Island.

Clement  •  07. Jun 2017 Rented a Jeep Grand Cherokee from Icerental 4x4 in May 2017
Lagoon Car Rental

This is a long overdue review. My cousin and I visited Iceland back in September. We rented our Mitsubishi through Lagoon Car Rental and highly recommend this company to other travelers. We had some car trouble (I admit it was not the car/company's fault but ours) and the customer rep went above and beyond to help us out. I cannot thank them enough for their patience and service!

Judy  •  06. Jun 2017 Rented a Mitsubishi ASX from Lagoon Car Rental in September 2016
Thrifty Car Rental

It was good. We got a Mazda Cx-5. There was a problem about cigar lighter. We drove to Thrifty office in town (not the one we pickup the car), they changed a new car to us right away.

Wen-Chen  •  06. Jun 2017 Rented a Ford Kuga AWD (or similar) from Thrifty Car Rental in May 2017
Lagoon Car Rental

It was amazing: the service, the car, the information, everything was perfect!!

Cynthia  •  05. Jun 2017 Rented a Isuzu D-Max Mountain Camper from Lagoon Car Rental in May 2017
Lava Auto Car Rental

Our first trip to Iceland was such a great experience ! Northbound was very good to deal with, Friendly and courteous. The Duster got us us everywhere we needed to go, and was great on fuel for the longer trips. With the exception of F roads, I highly recommend this vehicle for touring icelands spectacular attractions.

Art  •  05. Jun 2017 Rented a Dacia Duster from Lava Auto Car Rental in May 2017
Lava Auto Car Rental

Scott  •  05. Jun 2017 Rented a Dacia Duster from Lava Auto Car Rental in May 2017
Lava Auto Car Rental

I found that the most enjoyable part about Northbound was how comprehensive the site was. It seemed to overview every detail and incorporate as many rental companies as possible. It was comforting that I didn't have to jump and try to find the best price from twenty different sites.
Keep in mind that this is biased as I was mainly looking for 4x4's and not compacts.

Gilbert  •  05. Jun 2017 Rented a Dacia Duster from Lava Auto Car Rental in May 2017
Icerental 4x4

Overall excellent experience with the Dacia Duster we rented. Only problem was that we thought the horn was broken when, in fact, we learned after the rental was over that the horn was located on the turn signal stalk, not on the steering wheel. Also, the owners manual was in a different language, so it was difficult to discern some of the warning lights and other controls. Nevertheless, it did not hinder our travel and we were very satisfied with the car and our pickup and return experience.

Robert  •  05. Jun 2017 Rented a Dacia Duster from Icerental 4x4 in May 2017
Rent A Wreck

Rent A Wreck was GREAT! Very easy and straight forward reserving g online and even easier in person. Our service provided was very informal extremely welcoming. I would recommend anyone going to Iceland to check them out, they have the perfect vehicle for Froads that can help you journey be smooth and safe. I give these guy 10 stars. Please check them out!:)

Sameer  •  04. Jun 2017 Rented a Suzuki Grand Vitara from Rent A Wreck in May 2017
Icerental 4x4

Great service, smooth pick up from the airport and was able to drop off in parking lot at airport for our early flight out. Would rent again if I go back to Iceland.

Brian  •  03. Jun 2017 Rented a Honda CR-V from Icerental 4x4 in May 2017
Lagoon Car Rental

We were actually given an upgrade to a "Duster". WThe car went well, wad comfortable and reliable.

Donna  •  03. Jun 2017 Rented a Dacia Logan from Lagoon Car Rental in May 2017