Iceland Car Rentals Reviews

Reviews for the Best Car Rentals in Iceland.Real Reviews From Real Customers

Lava Auto Car Rental

Really enjoyed the customer support. We were delayed at the airport due to delayed luggage, but their representative called us to inform us that they would wait for us. They explained everything to us and the portable wifi was perfect

Alexander  •  16. Oct 2017 Rented a Hyundai i10 from Lava Auto Car Rental in October 2017
Fara Touring Vehicles

vert nice staff, car looks new and clean, renting price also reasonable as well

Ching-Yi  •  16. Oct 2017 Rented a Hyundai IX55 Luxury from Fara Touring Vehicles in October 2017
Lagoon Car Rental

Great experience overall. Good car, clean and no issues over the 1800km driven in a week. Very welcoming people at reception.

Gregory  •  16. Oct 2017 Rented a VW Golf from Lagoon Car Rental in October 2017
Rent A Wreck

Everything was just right.

David  •  16. Oct 2017 Rented a Suzuki Jimny from Rent A Wreck in September 2017
Lagoon Car Rental

I was hoping to have a smooth rental experience for my trip in Iceland, and that's exactly what I got with Lagoon! Super easy-going, no-nonsense, hassle-free car rental experience. Really glad I went with them. I would gladly use them again.

Collin  •  16. Oct 2017 Rented a Hyundai i20 from Lagoon Car Rental in September 2017
Lava Auto Car Rental

All was exellent, Iceland was just fantastic! I am totally happy for rent with Lava.
I`ll be back ;)

Andrey  •  16. Oct 2017 Rented a Dacia Duster from Lava Auto Car Rental in October 2017
Thrifty Car Rental

The Ford Kuga through Thrifty was in excellent condition and perfect for our needs. Great price when including insurance coverages and one-way drop off!

Matthew  •  16. Oct 2017 Rented a Ford Kuga AWD (or similar) from Thrifty Car Rental in October 2017
Lava Auto Car Rental

I had a great experience renting a vehicle from Lava. The staff were nice, helpful, and had some great advice for a first time visitor to Iceland.

Joseph  •  15. Oct 2017 Rented a Dacia Duster from Lava Auto Car Rental in October 2017
Go Campers

Worked out great.
Got extras that overall worked well.
Only thing that was a problem was the wifi unit. Had all kinds of trouble with that, but after talking to worker he refunded money for the unit. Great staff (when around).

John  •  15. Oct 2017 Rented a Mitsubishi Pajero Camper from Go Campers in September 2017
Lagoon Car Rental

Perfect

Michal  •  15. Oct 2017 Rented a Renault Trafic from Lagoon Car Rental in October 2017
Icerental 4x4

We had a very pleasant experience. As a party of 4 adults, we arrived with more luggage than the car would hold. The staff was able to find us a bigger car and were extremely kind and helpful. At one point during our journey, the car wouldn't start and we ended up having to buy jumper cables. Icerental reimbursed us for that, no questions asked. I was very happy with my experience.

Lori  •  15. Oct 2017 Rented a Suzuki Vitara from Icerental 4x4 in October 2017
Camping Cars

Great service! Everyone was very friendly and went above and beyond to help us when we encountered some unexpected difficulties on the road. The tent was very spacious and kept us dry during rainy weather. The mattress it came with was quite comfortable and we didn't end up needing the sleeping pads we brought with us. The car handled well and we were very satisfied with our experience!

Nicole  •  15. Oct 2017 Rented a Ford Escape +Roof Tent from Camping Cars in September 2017
Lagoon Car Rental

Everything went well and all services worked fluently with Northbound and Lagoon car rent. It was nice that I got discount for booking earlier and also had to pay most of the cost in the renting place.

Mihkel  •  15. Oct 2017 Rented a Dacia Logan from Lagoon Car Rental in October 2017
CampEasy

CampEasy was great! Everything went smoothly, from pickup to dropoff. They provided helpful information, made sure we felt confident and safe, walked us through everything we needed to know to take off and enjoy Iceland. We'd recommend CampEasy in a heartbeat!

Jacob  •  15. Oct 2017 Rented a Easy Clever from CampEasy in October 2017
Icerental 4x4

It was great. We had a really good experience with both Northbound who we booked the car through and 4x4IceRental who provided the car. The Grand Vitara was perfect for what we wanted to do around Iceland.

Ebony  •  15. Oct 2017 Rented a Suzuki Grand Vitara from Icerental 4x4 in October 2017
Lava Auto Car Rental

The vehicle ran very well. We had no problems at all. It was comfortable and ecenomical on gas. I would definitely rent it again.

Jenina  •  14. Oct 2017 Rented a Dacia Duster from Lava Auto Car Rental in October 2017
Lagoon Car Rental

Seamless experience, great car

Sanjay  •  14. Oct 2017 Rented a KIA Sorento 7 seat from Lagoon Car Rental in September 2017
GO Car Rental

All the process is quit simple form booking throuh car pick up and drop off. Even though there's no office in the airport car rental center, things was still all easy. The car itself is quite clean , new with no any problem. We're very satisfied of the " Go car rental"

Nuttawan  •  13. Oct 2017 Rented a Volkswagen Golf Automatic from GO Car Rental in October 2017
Camping Cars

Probably the best experience that we have with a car rental company. Good service and good price.

Thank's!

Enric  •  13. Oct 2017 Rented a Ford Escape +Roof Tent from Camping Cars in October 2017
Icerental 4x4

Excellent service and attention. We will definitely rent from them again when we return.

Roland  •  13. Oct 2017 Rented a Dodge Durango from Icerental 4x4 in August 2017
Ace Car Rental

It has only been a few days since we have been home but everything went well with Ace, the car was clean, full and the model we selected when booking.

Nicole  •  13. Oct 2017 Rented a Suzuki Vitara from Ace Car Rental in October 2017
Camping Cars

The staff at Camping Cars was extremely helpful when picking up the car, and although the car was an older model, it worked well. Maybe we could have found a cheaper price elsewhere but Northbound was an extremly convenient way to compare prices.

Nicole  •  13. Oct 2017 Rented a Ford Escape +Roof Tent from Camping Cars in October 2017
Rent A Wreck

One word: Amazing. Our pick up from the KEF airport was very smooth and the guy that rented the vehicle to us was extremely welcoming and thorough with his explanation of the vehicle. I felt like I had support 24/7 whenever I need it and I cannot emphasize how much the campervan has been such a great addition to our experience in Iceland. Will definitely recommend it to anyone considering this option!

Derrick  •  12. Oct 2017 Rented a Renault Kangoo from Rent A Wreck in October 2017
Grand Iceland

very good, good price, best service, very well, highly recommended

Rupert  •  12. Oct 2017 Rented a Nissan NV 200 from Grand Iceland in August 2017
Lava Auto Car Rental

Simply put. Northbound has the best prices, straightforward use, and quick process to navigates

Brad  •  12. Oct 2017 Rented a Dacia Duster from Lava Auto Car Rental in September 2017
Thrifty Car Rental

We booked a 2015 Ford Focus at Keflavik's Thriffty depot through Northbound. The bus from the airport to the car rental was quick. We got the extra Grand Collision Damage waiver and when we inspected the car, the clerk felt the tires were a little slim on the threads so after a bit of discussion she upgraded us to a 2017 Ford Kuga AWD with GPS, free of charge.

The only gripe we had was that most gas stations are "automats" which only accept credit cards (ours, from Canada, didn't work for some reason), although this had nothing to do with the rental itself.

Nicolas  •  11. Oct 2017 Rented a Ford Focus (or similar) from Thrifty Car Rental in August 2017
Lava Auto Car Rental

We arrived early at the airport, so there was a more than an hour wait before anyone from LAVA showed up. But once they arrived, everything went smoothly, all the way to returning the car. The car is small but working fine except that there is no A/C. We surely don't need the A/C for cooling but sometimes I need it to defog the window from inside for better visibility.
Btw, when I pay for the gas, I am happy I got a small car :)

In-Chang  •  11. Oct 2017 Rented a Hyundai i10 from Lava Auto Car Rental in October 2017
Ace Car Rental

Great experience.
The Dacia Dokker's heating system was especially appreciated, and the equipment furnished with the van (included) is a camper's paradise : small table, chairs, cooking gear, cutlery, kitchen paper. We had absolutely no problems with the car who functioned really well for a very decent price. Would recommend this car from Ace Car Rental in a second!

Camille  •  11. Oct 2017 Rented a Dacia Dokker Camper from Ace Car Rental in September 2017
Lava Auto Car Rental

We had a good experience with northbound.is and Lava Auto - would definitely recommend! Great communication and smooth process all around.

Jessica  •  11. Oct 2017 Rented a Hyundai Tucson from Lava Auto Car Rental in October 2017
Icerental 4x4

The car is ok. Not the best one, but for that price is realy normal.
Icerental 4x4 guys were very fast polite. It was no problem with car return at all.

Aleksandr  •  11. Oct 2017 Rented a Suzuki Jimny from Icerental 4x4 in October 2017
Lagoon Car Rental

The staff in the Keflavik office were exceptionally helpful and very polite. We’re quite happy with the service we received. The Dacia Logan was very comfortable to drive and suited our needs perfectly. The one issue we ran into was that the beeps and dashboard notifications were not easily understood. So it wasn’t always clear what issue a light is sound related to. Other than that, everything was wonderful.

Mike  •  11. Oct 2017 Rented a Dacia Logan from Lagoon Car Rental in September 2017
Icerental 4x4

All was good.

Petr  •  11. Oct 2017 Rented a Suzuki Grand Vitara from Icerental 4x4 in October 2017
Thrifty Car Rental

hi, Rúnar, Thrifty's Volvo xc90, which you borrowed through your company, was in good condition and the staff was friendly. If you visit Iceland next time, I will use your company again. Thank you. Rúnar

Eunbae  •  11. Oct 2017 Rented a Volvo XC90 AWD (or similar) from Thrifty Car Rental in September 2017
Lagoon Car Rental

Very friendly and effective. Service staff is helpfull. We will rent again from this company

Bruno  •  10. Oct 2017 Rented a Hyundai i20 from Lagoon Car Rental in October 2017
Lava Auto Car Rental

We were delighted with our experience with Lava. When our plane to Keflavik Airport was delayed by several hours, they quickly made the adjustment to pick us up late at night (11:30 pm). Instead of hitting us with a sales pitch about all the extras we could/should pay for, they had us in and out of their office in no time flat, i.e., we signed a couple of forms and got our keys. They also gave us an extra GPS (no additional charge) in case the one in the car wasn't good enough. We had recently rented a car for one day in Austria and wound up paying around 33% more than anticipated. Although we feared we'd have similar problems in Iceland, this was not true with Lava. The car was also great - sturdy and with great pick-up. It was perfect for our long drives in and out of Reykjavik.

Laurie  •  10. Oct 2017 Rented a Toyota Yaris from Lava Auto Car Rental in October 2017
Icerental 4x4

We were met at the airport promptly and returned to the airport quickly after returning the car.
The car had a lot of power and we were very pleased with your company

Stephanie  •  09. Oct 2017 Rented a Hyundai Tucson from Icerental 4x4 in September 2017
Lagoon Car Rental

Everything was perfect! The staff is friendly, the car in great condition. I would definitely use their service again and will recommend it to my friends!

Tomas  •  09. Oct 2017 Rented a Hyundai i20 from Lagoon Car Rental in October 2017
Lava Auto Car Rental

We booked our car through northbound and Lava Auto Car Rental. The whole booking process was very fast and easy. The rental company was great. They were very helpful with any needed assistance. They answered to my emails, phone calls and made the car available one day earlier then scheduled at last minute. We rented a Hyundai Tucson 4WD for 2 weeks. The car was new and worked perfectly, taking us safely and effortlessly through asphalt, gravel an mud roads.
I definitely recommend both Northbound and Lava Auto Car Rental!

Roberto  •  09. Oct 2017 Rented a Hyundai Tucson from Lava Auto Car Rental in September 2017
GO Car Rental

Pickup process was prompt and easy. Car provided was as described. No issues with the car whatsoever. Easy drop off process.

Chuong  •  09. Oct 2017 Rented a Subaru Forester 4x4 from GO Car Rental in September 2017
Icerental 4x4

Great little suv!

Sarah  •  08. Oct 2017 Rented a Suzuki Grand Vitara from Icerental 4x4 in September 2017
CampEasy

Our experience was completely amazing. Never once an issue with anything. Best experience for first trip to Iceland. Will use you again and would highly recommend you to others!

Chris-Ann  •  08. Oct 2017 Rented a Easy Fun from CampEasy in September 2017
Icerental 4x4

We had a great time driving around iceland with the Suzuki Vitara from Icerental 4x4. The service and support were very good. And their price is very reasinable.

Yik Bun  •  08. Oct 2017 Rented a Suzuki Vitara from Icerental 4x4 in September 2017
Icerental 4x4

Went well with the szreets in iceland. Enough hoursepower for every street. Just for some cases I wished to have bigger wheeles like the Iceland cars.

Kerstin  •  08. Oct 2017 Rented a Suzuki Grand Vitara from Icerental 4x4 in September 2017
Northern Lights Car Rental

Had a good experience. Had an issue with the first tent and the boys looked after us right away. Would recommend.

Sean  •  08. Oct 2017 Rented a Suzuki Jimny + Roof Tent from Northern Lights Car Rental in September 2017
Icerental 4x4

Was very happy with how we were treated by IceRental4X4 and the vehicle was great. Only small issue was they were not there at the airport waiting as we were told they would be, had to call the office from the information desk, but was not a problem for us as one of our party had left something on the plane, so by the time our shuttle arrived we were just ready to go. Another little glitch was that we were told that they did not have a Duster available for us, but had a Toyota Rav 4 that we could be upgraded to, which worked out great for our party of 5 as it was a slightly larger vehicle. It gave us great service as were tripped around Iceland and handled the steep passes with ease. Was a no hassle check-in when returned and were treated with respect by all involved. Definitely would book again with IceRental4X4 and the savings by using Northbound made it one of the best car rental experiences I have yet had.

Colin  •  08. Oct 2017 Rented a Dacia Duster from Icerental 4x4 in September 2017
Lava Auto Car Rental

If you need a rental car in Iceland, Lava Auto Car Rental is the way to go!!! After researching dozens of different rental sites, Lava had amazingly competitive rates and tons of options. The customer service was amazing- picked up from the airport with our own greeter and then returned later... everything was a breeze. Thank you Lava Auto Car Rental!!!

Aubrey  •  07. Oct 2017 Rented a Hyundai Tucson from Lava Auto Car Rental in October 2017
Stracta Cars

We had an excellent experience with Stracta Cars and the Dacia Duster performed perfectly. We had a small scare at the last hour when a red light came on, but it turned out to be a reminder that the jeep needed an oil change, not surprising as we had put over 2000 Km on it in two weeks.

Andres  •  07. Oct 2017 Rented a Dacia Duster from Stracta Cars in September 2017
Lava Auto Car Rental

This was a great company to work with. Our reserved vehicle was upgraded due to the fact the one we reserved was not available. It was an acceptable exchange. The staff was very helpful and kind. We would definitely recommend this company and would use them again.

Teresa  •  06. Oct 2017 Rented a Hyundai i10 from Lava Auto Car Rental in October 2017
GO Car Rental

My experience with GO Car Rental was pleasant. We got picked up right on time at Keflavik at 6AM. The gentleman that picked us up was friendly and laid back. Although we didn't get the initial car we picked, we were given a better car in it's place. Drop off was a breeze without any problems. Overall highly satisfied with the service!

Adrian  •  06. Oct 2017 Rented a Volkswagen Polo Automatic from GO Car Rental in September 2017
GO Car Rental

Great experience. They helped with our bags and reviewed paperwork thoroughly When we returned the car, they drove us to airport so we didn't have to wait on the bus. Car was in good shape. Would use them again.

Kristina   •  06. Oct 2017 Rented a Suzuki Jimny 4x4 Automatic from GO Car Rental in September 2017