Iceland Car Rentals Reviews

Reviews for the Best Car Rentals in Iceland.Real Reviews From Real Customers

Lagoon Car Rental

I´m very pleased with the proffesional service I got from Lagoon Car Rental.
They picked me up and delivered me at the airport in Reykjavik and it only took about 7-8 min. driving to and from their office. The car was in very good condition and everything went perfekt on our trip.

Erla  •  17. Oct 2018 Rented a KIA Sorento 7 seat from Lagoon Car Rental in October 2018
Nordic Car Rental

I'm glad I picked this company. Very smooth pick up and handove.
We weren't tricked into paying any extras like some other car rental companies do.
I would definitely use it again and would also recommend to my friends.

Moonika   •  17. Oct 2018 Rented a Suzuki Vitara from Nordic Car Rental in October 2018
Nordic Car Rental

Support was great. The car was affordable and ran perfectly. The inverter did not work for us, but they kindly refunded the cost without being asked.

Jeffrey  •  17. Oct 2018 Rented a Dacia Duster from Nordic Car Rental in October 2018
Thrifty Car Rental

Outstanding, reliable and more. Courtesy shuttle service was exceptional and really made the trip. The staff are helpful and informed us of how to drive best in Iceland (keeping in mind black ice, tips on managing traffic circles, etc.) Very helpful and responsive in booking and adjusting my booking. Price was reasonable for the vehicle and quality of the car.

Giovanna  •  16. Oct 2018 Rented a Ford Galaxy 7 seat Minivan (or similar) from Thrifty Car Rental in October 2018
Lagoon Car Rental

Great service.

Lindsay  •  15. Oct 2018 Rented a Dacia Duster from Lagoon Car Rental in October 2018
Northern Lights Car Rental

It was fine, no problems, prompt pick up and drop off when they said they would. Only thing I didn't like was that we arrived at 4:30a.m. in the dark and rain and were told to look over the car to make note of any dents and scratches; very hard to do under those conditions without lights and trying to use a cell phone light but at least they had a paper where some of the marks were
located. It didn't turn out to be a problem. Would rent again from them.

Michael  •  15. Oct 2018 Rented a Suzuki Jimny from Northern Lights Car Rental in October 2018
Icerental 4x4

It was a great vehicle. I had no issues whatsoever.

Shawn  •  15. Oct 2018 Rented a Suzuki Vitara from Icerental 4x4 in September 2018
Lava Car Rental

My experience with Northbound is very positive. Once I chose the SUV, at a very reasonable price, I received a confirmation letter from the company. The SUV was exactly what I was looking for and as described by the company. A well done job. Many thanks. I will use your services again. Cheers. Avi, Canada.

Avraham  •  15. Oct 2018 Rented a Hyundai Tucson from Lava Car Rental in October 2018
Star Car Rental

Star Car Rental is a very customer-oriented company! Car rental as well as car return in the middle of the night (11:30 pm or 10:30 pm, respectively) was not a problem for them - a huge plus for those travelling with Germania. The car was in a great condition, heating was working quickly, the camping equipment was complete, neat and clean. Nice and friendly staff, too. Thank your very much for making our short trip possible!

Uta  •  15. Oct 2018 Rented a Dacia Dokker Camper from Star Car Rental in October 2018
Stracta Cars

We rented a car for our first time in Iceland and the whole experience was fantastic. The car was great on fuel, clean and great for travelling the whole island. Northbound arranged pick up from the airport on our early AM flight to take us to the car about 5/10 minutes away. I’d definitely reccomend using this rental service! Thanks for the great service & great price.

Ashley  •  15. Oct 2018 Rented a Suzuki Swift from Stracta Cars in October 2018
Route 1

Our experience with Route 1 was fantastic. The vehicle was all by new, the staff were friendly and helpful, pick up and return super easy. The only one comment I have is that the Route 1 logo is NOT included on the shuttle bus sign from the airport terminal, so it's a little confusing (it's the 3rd stop), but other than that a great experience.

Blake  •  14. Oct 2018 Rented a Toyota LandCruiser 150 from Route 1 in September 2018
Star Car Rental

Our experience was seamless. We were picked up from the airport and took a short 5 min drive to pick up our car. It was exactly what we booked a 2017 Suzuki Vitara, and it worked perfectly for our needs. Drop off was just as seamless. Would definitely recommend this company.

Brittany  •  14. Oct 2018 Rented a Suzuki Vitara from Star Car Rental in September 2018
Icerental 4x4

Voiture en bon état avec 65000km au compteur. Parfais pour la famille.
Nous avions le GPS en plus.

Hugues  •  14. Oct 2018 Rented a Dacia Duster from Icerental 4x4 in October 2018
GO Car Rental

We had a very positive experience. Go car were more then accommidating. The fCia Logan was a nice and fuel efficient.

Nancy  •  14. Oct 2018 Rented a Dacia Logan w.GPS from GO Car Rental in October 2018
Lagoon Car Rental

The experience went very well. They met us at the airport, as promised. Renting the car was an easy process and the car was perfect! Did very well in all conditions.

Kelly  •  13. Oct 2018 Rented a Kia Picanto from Lagoon Car Rental in October 2018
Lagoon Car Rental

My wife and I did a full lap around the island over the course of seven days with one of a Volkswagen Caddy Camper. We could not have been more impressed with how comfortable, reliable, and convenient the camper was for our trip. We used a camp stove to cook out the back, found great places to park for free along the way, and had access to amazing views quickly because of the camper. I couldn't recommend this camper and this company higher.

Caleb  •  13. Oct 2018 Rented a Volkswagen Caddy Camper from Lagoon Car Rental in October 2018
Lagoon Car Rental

Super stoked on the rental + process with Lagoon/Northbound. From the initial renting online and getting picked up fairly promptly from the airport to getting our camper (driving the entire ring road in a week) and returning/getting dropped off back at the airport - everything was made super easy and comfortable. It was a great way to start off and finish our journey in a foreign country as wild as Iceland. Definitely recommending to anyone I can!

David  •  13. Oct 2018 Rented a Volkswagen Caddy Camper from Lagoon Car Rental in October 2018
Orange Car Rental

We like the Ford Transit with automatic gear very roomy good enough for 9 passengers with luggage . Very good customer service . They satisfied our request for changing winter tires in Lake Myvatn .

Michael   •  13. Oct 2018 Rented a Ford Transit 2017 from Orange Car Rental in October 2018
Star Car Rental

We had such a great experience renting our van! Staff picked us up from the airport and were very friendly. The van was so clean and suited our needs perfectly. They had the best price and most inclusive insurance policy. I will definitely be renting from them again, as we will certainly be returning to beautiful Iceland!

Marissa   •  13. Oct 2018 Rented a Dacia Dokker Camper from Star Car Rental in October 2018
Go Campers

The experience with a mini-camper was just awesome! If I could do it again, I would opt for the same product as well as the service(department) of northbound. Thanks for everything!

Sophie  •  12. Oct 2018 Rented a Dacia Dokker Camper from Go Campers in September 2018
Geysir Car Rental

Service was quick and easy. Car ran great! Great value.

Alexander  •  12. Oct 2018 Rented a Hyundai i10 from Geysir Car Rental in September 2018
Nordic Car Rental

It was perfect. It was easy and super affordable

Kaitlin  •  12. Oct 2018 Rented a Suzuki Vitara from Nordic Car Rental in October 2018
Icerental 4x4

Hi,
My experience with Northbound was excellent. Easy to navigate website, own account. I made few changes to my booking and Liam kept me updated and had responded to my queries almost immediately. You are doing great job and I will definitely use Northbound for any of my future bookings in Iceland.
Now, my experience with Icerental 4x4 - unfortunately, the car I booked wasn't available and I was given a Hyundai Tucson. When queried about this I was told that the Company made the decision to withdraw all of its Santa Fe's. I understand that it is difficult to guarantee exact model (when booking it states "or similar"), but I was a bit disappointed that I was given a car which costed less and wasn't from the same category. I wasn't given any refund. Car in itself was in very good condition, clean and well equipped, but I wanted something bigger. Service at Icerental 4x4 was very good, staff friendly and I didn't have to wait long for pick up or drop off. The other thing was that the front tires of the car were very close or at a legal limit. The car was equipped with summer tires and although I didn't have problems with this, I was a bit worried when driving in a snowy conditions. Other than that everything was very good.

Marcin  •  12. Oct 2018 Rented a Hyundai Santa Fe (Premium) from Icerental 4x4 in October 2018
Icerental 4x4

Very positive experience, both the car was a good drive and the staff in the office was helpful. I am a returning customer and will be back again.

Wojciech  •  12. Oct 2018 Rented a Toyota RAV4 from Icerental 4x4 in October 2018
Nordic Campers

Nordic campers is an amazing car rental company. It provided us an amazing experience in Iceland. We rent a Dacia Dokker camper van and it was perfect for two people. I am a photographer, which means I normally travel with a lot of gears and I found out that Dacia Dokker provided a comfortable space for me and my gears. It was cold to travel Iceland in Winter but luckily the car heating system worked perfectly.

Xiangyu  •  12. Oct 2018 Rented a Dacia Dokker from Nordic Campers in September 2018
Magic Car Rental

Had the pleasure to rent Honda CRV from Magic car rental for 8 days in Iceland. Honestly, car was an older model however it drove amazing on roads (did not drive F roads). Doesn't matter if it was snowing, raining or hailing, it drove great. We did not get stuck in snow with probably all season tires, we did not have any difficulties driving through unpaved road. The car itself have essential features, eg: aux, heated front seat, heat and AC. The only disappointment was there was no aux-cord provided and we forgot ours, therefore we drove in silent for most days. Inside of the car is not the most cleaned, each customer has to clean/vacuum before returning, but it is hard to be 100% clean. The price was the most affordable when we compared many other companies prior renting from Magic Car.
They include a 4G wifi box, get it if you have a party more than 3. We had it for unlimited and it was definitely worth for all of us to use, instead of all of us getting a temporary phone plan, which would had cost more for us.
If you don't mind a little scratches or little dirtiness, I would without a doubt recommend renting this Honda CRV. PS they also do shuttle pick up and send off, which worked perfectly for us.

Margaret Ya Ning Hsieh  •  10. Oct 2018 Rented a Honda CR-V from Magic Car Rental in September 2018
Go Campers

It was a great experience and it had everything that you could wish for! Really genius solutions for storage and overall the perfect way to explore Iceland and its landscape with treasures! I would definetly rent it again if i would have the chance to visit Iceland again! Thanks for a great time!

Sven Hampus  •  10. Oct 2018 Rented a Dacia Dokker Camper from Go Campers in September 2018
Nordic Car Rental

For being an off-site rental, it was relatively quick to pick up and drop off the vehicle. Our vehicle performed well for the 9 days we were in Iceland. I would consider using Northbound again in the future.

Michele  •  10. Oct 2018 Rented a Toyota RAV 4 Toyota from Nordic Car Rental in September 2018
Icerental 4x4

I had a really great experience with Icerental 4x4 and will absolutely be booking with them when I come back to Iceland. The prices are the best I could find, but beyond that, based on other reviews they seemed trustworthy and fair. This was exactly the case. I actually did not get the Suzuki Jimny, they upgraded me to another car upon arrival. Any car you get with them, you will be happy.

Jessica  •  10. Oct 2018 Rented a Suzuki Jimny from Icerental 4x4 in September 2018
Nordic Car Rental

The car was great and allowed us to see the most of Iceland during our time. It was a comfortable ride.

Gibran  •  10. Oct 2018 Rented a Hyundai i10 from Nordic Car Rental in October 2018
Camping Cars

I am so happy my husband and I chose Camping Cars. They met us at the airport to bring us to our car. They were also very helpful with giving tips on where to shop and general tips about traveling in Iceland. We will definitely be using Camping Cars again.

Blaire  •  10. Oct 2018 Rented a Suzuki Grand Vitara +Roof Tent from Camping Cars in October 2018
Nordic Car Rental

Very good experience!

Marie-Michèle  •  10. Oct 2018 Rented a Suzuki Vitara from Nordic Car Rental in October 2018
Lagoon Car Rental

Wonderful experience! Very upfront of pricing and other fees. Will definitely use them in the future!

Mark  •  09. Oct 2018 Rented a KIA Sorento 7 seat from Lagoon Car Rental in October 2018
Nordic Car Rental

Well we had a great experience with Nordic Car rental, at first they were really busy and understaffed so we waited quite a bit but I guess our patience paid off, the first car we originally rented was not in good condition so they offered they upgraded us to a newer better car and it was an automatic we originally rented a manual so that was a plus. Our return was very fast and straight forward. I recommend them and will definitely be using them again when we return to Iceland.

Rabab  •  09. Oct 2018 Rented a Suzuki SX4 from Nordic Car Rental in October 2018
Camping Cars

Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Would highly recommend and rent from again.

Joseph  •  09. Oct 2018 Rented a Suzuki Grand Vitara +Roof Tent from Camping Cars in October 2018
Star Car Rental

Great

Fanny  •  09. Oct 2018 Rented a Toyota Proace 3 Person Camper from Star Car Rental in September 2018
Thrifty Car Rental

Very good service, amability and quick response

Carlos  •  08. Oct 2018 Rented a Ford Focus Station (or similar) from Thrifty Car Rental in October 2018
Northern Lights Car Rental

Renting here was quick and easy. The communication from the members of the company is very good. They were very friendly and made everything so easy. Also, the vehicle was very nice, clean and affordable for what we needed. I would definitely rent from here again.

Shaquita  •  08. Oct 2018 Rented a Suzuki Jimny from Northern Lights Car Rental in October 2018
Lagoon Car Rental

Excellent services overall.

Ang  •  08. Oct 2018 Rented a KIA Sorento 7 seat from Lagoon Car Rental in September 2018
Icerental 4x4

We made a 10-day TOUR of Iceland with Toyota RAV4, hired by Icerental 4x4. This is the best price for this car I was able to find.
The car is a 2016 model. We were 4 adults with 4 suitcases. There was no problem collecting our luggage.
The company's staff were very polite. They met at the airport, gave us the car and sent us back in 10 days.
I sincerely recommend Icerental 4x4.

Vladimir  •  08. Oct 2018 Rented a Toyota RAV4 from Icerental 4x4 in September 2018
Lagoon Car Rental

Paperworks were fast and clear, the car was in a perfect condition.
But tires on the car had little issues - 3 of 4 were significantly more worn than 1 left

Serhii  •  08. Oct 2018 Rented a KIA Sorento 7 seat from Lagoon Car Rental in September 2018
Lava Car Rental

We loved it. Perfect for our trip around the island! Had everything we needed. Price was really great for what we got. I would definitely recommend it!

Slavena  •  08. Oct 2018 Rented a Dacia Duster from Lava Car Rental in September 2018
Lagoon Car Rental

Got everything as promised and friendly service.

Anders  •  08. Oct 2018 Rented a Dacia Duster from Lagoon Car Rental in September 2018
Grand Iceland

I was realy happy to rent car from them. They were profossional and very helpfull.

Jaka  •  07. Oct 2018 Rented a Ford Transit Connect from Grand Iceland in September 2018
GO Car Rental

Experience was great, we were really happy with the rental and the interactions we had with Go Car Rental. No problems with the car or on the road. Northbound was really helpful too to be able to compare companies. I will definitely recommend you to the people I know if they plan a trip to Iceland!

Matthieu  •  07. Oct 2018 Rented a Suzuki Jimny 4x4 Automatic from GO Car Rental in September 2018
Kuku Campers

Our experience with KuKu Campers was awesome. They were kind, friendly, and informative about everything we needed to know about the camper. I highly recommend this company.
Northbound made this process so simple and easy to understand. They found me the camper and the company who provided exactly what we needed.

Jeffrey  •  07. Oct 2018 Rented a Renault Master from Kuku Campers in September 2018
Lava Car Rental

Everything was smooth. Even when I called about check engine sign, they assured me that everything should be ok and let us keep the car for the rest 3 days

Arunas  •  07. Oct 2018 Rented a Dacia Duster from Lava Car Rental in September 2018
Thrifty Car Rental

I highly recommend using Thrifty Car Rental for your trip to Iceland. I did everything on-line and all was set upon our early morning arrival at the airport. We had a great car and received excellent customer service from everyone at Thrifty (at both pick up and drop off). Thank you for being a part of our wonderful holiday in Iceland!

Debra  •  07. Oct 2018 Rented a Ford Fiesta (or similar) from Thrifty Car Rental in September 2018
Nordic Car Rental

Everything went well. The customer service was very warm and welcoming, quick and smooth. The car was good, but someone had sprayed a lot of silicone spray on the dashboard of the car between customers, which was a bit unpleasant, but we wiped it off.

Tõnis  •  07. Oct 2018 Rented a Suzuki SX4 from Nordic Car Rental in October 2018
Icerental 4x4

Everything great.

João  •  06. Oct 2018 Rented a Dacia Duster from Icerental 4x4 in September 2018