Iceland Car Rentals Reviews

Reviews for the Best Car Rentals in Iceland.Real Reviews From Real Customers

Lagoon Car Rental

Rental process was excellent . Met at airport and brought via bus to office . Drop off was very quick and we were driven back to airport in our rental which meant we didn't have to transfer luggage etc ..

Anthony  •  17. Jul 2018 Rented a Renault Trafic from Lagoon Car Rental in July 2018
Lava Auto Car Rental

Absolutey great experience with Lava Auto. The car was exactly as described and the company was so helpful and nice. They arranged for the car to be brought to us downtown rather than the airport (for a fair charge) and were very transparent. I highly recommend northbound services and especially lava auto. We had such a smooth first time car renting experience!

Olivia  •  17. Jul 2018 Rented a Hyundai Tucson from Lava Auto Car Rental in July 2018
Icerental 4x4

Loved the car. Had no problems with the agency or the car. No complaints here.

Benjamin  •  16. Jul 2018 Rented a Suzuki Vitara from Icerental 4x4 in July 2018
Lava Auto Car Rental

very nice, Friendly peoble an verry good Service

Carsten  •  16. Jul 2018 Rented a Dacia Duster from Lava Auto Car Rental in June 2018
Thrifty Car Rental

very positive, the process of getting the car and returning the car was fast and simple. car was outside your rental office, no need to walk somewhere to get the car. also the car was great to drive (you upgraded me to mazda cx-5) and was easily handled Iceland F roads. this was by far better experience than I had last year I was visitning Iceland also and rented a car from avis I think... they gave me a damaged 4x4 car. it was a nightmare...
with your company it was a very positive experience and will for sure for my next time in Iceland will rent from you :)
thank you

Gilad  •  16. Jul 2018 Rented a Mazda CX-3 AWD (or similar) from Thrifty Car Rental in July 2018
Lava Auto Car Rental

All was perfect.

Martin  •  16. Jul 2018 Rented a Dacia Duster from Lava Auto Car Rental in June 2018
Lagoon Car Rental

The experience was a genuinely great one! There was a little mix up in the vehicle we were suppose to get but they quickly directed us to where we can see another facility they had that was close to our place where we stayed so we could swap the cars out. The staff was extremely nice and helpful and even gave us a Wi-Fi hotspot for the troubles of having to swap out the vehicle. I highly recommend using this company for their service and amazing staff.

Neil  •  15. Jul 2018 Rented a Hyundai H1 from Lagoon Car Rental in July 2018
Lagoon Car Rental

Very good. Even though we started having problem with breaks (plate) we received help over the phone and when the break plate was blown off on our last day (Reykjavil) we had a new car within 2 hours.

Marek  •  15. Jul 2018 Rented a Kia Sportage from Lagoon Car Rental in July 2018
Lava Auto Car Rental

Every thing was OK.

Irena  •  15. Jul 2018 Rented a Toyota Rav4 from Lava Auto Car Rental in June 2018
Lagoon Car Rental

Overall experience was great! The staff were helpful and courteous, the car was clean, ready and properly equipped, and the vehicle itself was perfect for camping around Iceland. No complaints.

Joseph  •  15. Jul 2018 Rented a Volkswagen Caddy Camper from Lagoon Car Rental in July 2018
Lava Auto Car Rental

Great, special acknowledgement for the LAVA RENTAL service, we picked up our car with 12 hours delay at 00;00 with a kind welcome. The car 4x4 was perfect, even on tracks , excluding crossing deep rivers, very confortable, and consume a little fuel. Return kind and efficient with a rapid shuttle to the aeroport. At the end, value for money was very good for this vehicule in this country .

Philippe  •  15. Jul 2018 Rented a Dacia Duster from Lava Auto Car Rental in July 2018
Lagoon Car Rental

Excellent customer service. Very accommodating. Listened to concerns and took immediate action. Would highly recommend.

Julie  •  15. Jul 2018 Rented a Volkswagen Caddy Camper from Lagoon Car Rental in July 2018
Nordic Campers

Chan Shen  •  15. Jul 2018 Rented a Dacia Dokker from Nordic Campers in July 2018
Grand Iceland

Was very good~

Jong  •  14. Jul 2018 Rented a Mercedes Benz Sprinter from Grand Iceland in July 2018
Lagoon Car Rental

The staff at Lagoon was very helpful, giving us valuable information and answering all our questions. Excellent experience from pick up to return!

Karen  •  11. Jul 2018 Rented a Kia Picanto from Lagoon Car Rental in July 2018
Nordic Car Rental

I would definitely recommend Nordic Car Rental! The service and personnel are excellent :)

Yauhen  •  11. Jul 2018 Rented a Dacia Duster from Nordic Car Rental in June 2018
Star Car Rental

Our experience with Star rentals was smooth and perfect. I’d booked a discovery sport but was upgraded to a Toyota Land Cruiser for 4 of us. We were met at the airport and taken to Stars office a few minutes away and had no issues with the car or travelling around Iceland. The car was dropped off at one of northstars rental houses and we were driven back to departures a few minutes away. In addition there is a fuel station Close to the house to fill up prior to drop off. I would have no hesitation in using again.

Martyn  •  11. Jul 2018 Rented a 4x4 2017 from Star Car Rental in July 2018
Nordic Campers

Pick up, drop off, and the airport shuttle were convenient and we loved our camper van. We were able to explore so much of Iceland at our own pace and comfortably. Thank you Northbound!

Jessica   •  11. Jul 2018 Rented a Dacia Dokker from Nordic Campers in July 2018
Orange Car Rental

Didn't have to wait more than a couple of minutes for the shuttle, car was as expected. Portable wifi unit was so helpful, the GPS not so much. Better to rely on Google Maps offline. Had to do a claim for a chip in the windshield on the return, but that's part of driving in Iceland. Would use again and would recommend.

Beau  •  11. Jul 2018 Rented a Suzuki Jimny (older model) 2012 from Orange Car Rental in June 2018
Star Car Rental

My experience with Star Car Rental was phenomenal. The pick up and drop of service at KEF international was smooth and helpful, especially after a long flight. The 3-person van was almost brand new and perfect for our adventures around the ring road. Three pillows, a sheet, cooking supplies and bins for food were included with the vehicle. There was plenty of storage under the bed for luggage and adventure materials. We slept three in the back without any problems, of course there was some snuggling, but the body heat was helpful!

Overall, a great experience with the people and a great vehicle to travel around Iceland.

Kyle  •  10. Jul 2018 Rented a Toyota Proace 3 Person Camper from Star Car Rental in June 2018
Fara Touring Vehicles

Great experience with renting the car. They had the best prices and communication in the weeks before our arrival was perfect. Also loved the driving hints/places to visit that were sent to us. GPS was outdated - was easier to use our own phone to get around.

Kimberly  •  10. Jul 2018 Rented a SUZUKI VITARA 4X4 AUTO SUV Free GPS/4G Wifi Box from Fara Touring Vehicles in June 2018
Icerental 4x4

Absolutely PHENOMENAL experience with Northbound on our Iceland vacation! The Suzuki Grand Vitara + Roof Tent deal was such a great deal, a considerably more affordable option to allow the three of us to drive around the Ring Road and see all the great waterfalls/sights. We fit the three of us (28, 22, and 22 years old) guys in the Roof Tent. It was a snug fit, but we made it work. The "dinner box" included was also very helpful, containing a lighter, among other equipment necessary for camping/cooking. Can't say enough about this company, extremely pleased with our experience!

Matthew  •  10. Jul 2018 Rented a Suzuki Grand Vitara + Roof Tent from Icerental 4x4 in June 2018
Geysir Car Rental

Excellent , everything was great !

Mohammed  •  10. Jul 2018 Rented a Chevrolet Suburban from Geysir Car Rental in July 2018
Lagoon Car Rental

We had a great experience with Lagoon car rental! The communication is quick and smooth, the shuttle service to/from the airport is perfectly on time, and checking the car in/out is super fast! We will definitely rent from Lagoon next time we are in Iceland!

Lei  •  10. Jul 2018 Rented a KIA Sorento 7 seat from Lagoon Car Rental in July 2018
Nordic Car Rental

Cristian  •  10. Jul 2018 Rented a Dacia Duster from Nordic Car Rental in June 2018
Nordic Campers

Perfect.i will recomend your service yo my friends

Fernando   •  10. Jul 2018 Rented a Dacia Dokker from Nordic Campers in July 2018
Lagoon Car Rental

Everything was excellent, the staff was very friendly! They piccked up us on time and the drive back was also very good arranged! Our Golf was very suitable for driving on the small roads. We warmly recommend your company!

Michaela  •  10. Jul 2018 Rented a VW Golf from Lagoon Car Rental in July 2018
Lagoon Car Rental

Everything was fine. Very good car. Everything went smoothly. A bit strange that you have to check the car all by yourself. Easy to miss a dent or scratch!

Robertus   •  10. Jul 2018 Rented a Subaru Outback from Lagoon Car Rental in June 2018
Lagoon Car Rental

The woman that rented the car to us was super great.

My only suggestions would be to print a one page handout that indicated the meaning of signs and lines found on the roads. We were able to figure out most of them, a few we never did understand. Would definitely rent from you again based upon the great service we received.

Joseph  •  09. Jul 2018 Rented a Hyundai i20 from Lagoon Car Rental in June 2018
GO Car Rental

I had a great experience with Go Car Rental. The car was in really good condition and the accommodation drop off was really helpful. The only issue was that it was quite complicated to put the car into reverse so it would’ve been helpful to be given instruction on that before being left with the car.

Eliza  •  09. Jul 2018 Rented a Nissan X-Trail (5+2) 4x4 from GO Car Rental in July 2018
Thrifty Car Rental

Cars were excellent and suited our requirements perfectly

Mary  •  09. Jul 2018 Rented a Ford Fiesta (or similar) from Thrifty Car Rental in July 2018
Grand Iceland

It was a great experience. All went well and we had no problems with the car in any way.

Frans  •  09. Jul 2018 Rented a Ford Custom from Grand Iceland in June 2018
Lava Auto Car Rental

Stephen  •  09. Jul 2018 Rented a Dacia Duster from Lava Auto Car Rental in June 2018
Orange Car Rental

You gave us a Nissan (name?) and it drove great!

Annette Pui Sin  •  09. Jul 2018 Rented a Suzuki Vitara from Orange Car Rental in June 2018
Icerental 4x4

The savings we had by using Northbound was significant! Much more than half the price of the other rentals. There was a mild inconvenience having to take a bus to an off site location but they were professional and it was worth it. Our car served us very well for our travels in Iceland and we would use it again.

Melissa  •  09. Jul 2018 Rented a Suzuki Vitara from Icerental 4x4 in June 2018
Nordic Car Rental

good experience

Tauseef Ahmad  •  09. Jul 2018 Rented a Hyundai i20 from Nordic Car Rental in June 2018
GO Car Rental

Everything went extremely smoothly for our rental. The Nissan was a nice little SUV that seemed well-suited to the terrain we encountered. The only trouble we had was a flat tire due to some sharp rocks, but the Nissan was well equipped with the tools and spare we needed, and GO rental answered our call and directed us to a repair center (a small miracle, considering we were truly in the middle of nowhere). I wouldn't hesitate to use them again.

Thomas  •  09. Jul 2018 Rented a Nissan X-Trail (5+2) 4x4 from GO Car Rental in June 2018
Nordic Car Rental

Joanna  •  09. Jul 2018 Rented a Suzuki SX4 from Nordic Car Rental in June 2018
Lava Auto Car Rental

Excellent service, very friendly and at a good price!

Matthew  •  09. Jul 2018 Rented a Dacia Duster from Lava Auto Car Rental in June 2018
Nordic Car Rental

We had an absolutely great experience with Nordic Rental Car, from the ease of booking the vehicle, to the airport shuttle, to picking up the car. Upon returning the car, I realized there was some confusion on my part about the return time, but I was not charged additionally. We would definitely recommend Nordic Car Rental!

Stephanie  •  09. Jul 2018 Rented a Hyundai i20 from Nordic Car Rental in June 2018
Lava Auto Car Rental

It's a superb car and your service was outstanding from the beginning, starting with our delay because of missing luggage, the handover and the absolutely stunning procedure of returning the car - it was no doubt the best experience I've ever made with rental cars!!!

Martin  •  08. Jul 2018 Rented a Toyota Land Cruiser Prado from Lava Auto Car Rental in June 2018
Geysir Car Rental

I ended up with a different car due to a couple of issues with the one reserved, but the team at Geysir did everything you could expect to get us going quickly. Would happily rent from them again.

Jacob  •  08. Jul 2018 Rented a Renault Megane from Geysir Car Rental in June 2018
Lagoon Car Rental

Everything was perfect. We were met at the airport within minutes of arriving, and driven the short distance to the Lagoon base. The car (4x4 Dacia Duster) was excellent, and easily accommodated the four of us plus luggage. Although we had to drop off the car for our return flight at 5.30 am, there were no problems and again we were taken to the airport with no wait at all.

Christopher  •  08. Jul 2018 Rented a Dacia Duster from Lagoon Car Rental in July 2018
Lava Auto Car Rental

Our Lava auto rental went smoothly. They offered the best price on a newer vehicle and pickup and drop off at the airport. Vehicle was GPS equipped. Would highly recommend Northbound.

Jennifer  •  08. Jul 2018 Rented a Dacia Duster from Lava Auto Car Rental in June 2018
Lagoon Car Rental

We actually ended up with a Subaru Outback which turned out well! I guess it's in the same class but it was a good car.

Lagoon were good to deal with and no problems with pickup or dropoff.
Northbound service was amazing and so was the live chat and support I received. I am a photographer and had tried to get Lagoon to perhaps do a trade for photos for a discount but they never replied. Liam from Northbound however tried for me and I was very impressed.

We actually stayed an extra week and hired a camper but unfortunately the pricing and allocation wasn't as good on Northbound for that rental. However I definitely will look to you first when we visit Iceland again!

Are you thinking of expanding elsewhere in the world?

Thanks!

Jack

P.S it would be great to select multiple options from the drop-down below about choosing northbound!

Jack  •  08. Jul 2018 Rented a Hyundai Tucson from Lagoon Car Rental in June 2018
Lava Auto Car Rental

Jessica  •  07. Jul 2018 Rented a Hyundai Tucson from Lava Auto Car Rental in July 2018
Lava Auto Car Rental

We had an excellent experience with Lava Auto. Pick up from airport was on time and smooth, car was great. Drop off was smooth with no issues. Would definitely use again when we return to Iceland.

James  •  07. Jul 2018 Rented a Dacia Duster from Lava Auto Car Rental in June 2018
Icerental 4x4

My husband and I had a great experience renting from Icerental 4x4. Our flight arrived a little early and I wasn't sure where to go for pickup, so I called them and they came and got us right away. We rented a 2017 Dacia Duster with a roof tent, which came with a camping kit, including sleeping bags and pillows, a table and chairs, a stove (which admittedly didn't work very well), gas canister, 2 pots and a pan, a cutting board, 2 cups, plates, bowls, silverware, soap, a sponge and a towel. I had originally reserved an older Jimny with a roof tent but decided to upgrade when I discovered that my credit card would insure any damages (Northbound was really helpful in making the change), and I'm glad that I did. The Duster was spacious enough that we didn't have to block the back window with our gear and it was a really comfortable ride, which in light of the many unpaved roads, rocks and water crossings we encountered made a big difference. The fuel efficiency with the tent wasn't great (we averaged less than 30 mpg, which hurts when gas is $9/gal), and we weren't going to win any races up long hills, but on the whole it made for a great road trip.

The tent was also really nice. We were in Iceland from June 10-24th. It was pretty cold the whole time (35-45F), and it it's kind of always raining. The tent (a James Baroud Discovery model) took about 30 seconds to set up and take down, and we were able to leave our pillows and sleeping bags inside. Camping is chilly, but the sleeping bags were warm (we also brought liners, which were nice), and the tent was plenty dark enough to sleep. It seemed pretty impervious to wind and rain, though we didn't have to use it in any really heavy weather. Two ladders would have been nice, but we managed without killing each other.

The staff was really friendly and helpful. It isn't a huge operation, and some things seemed a little messy around the edges compared with bigger companies, but they were really attentive to our questions and concerns. We will definitely rent from them again the next time we come to Iceland.

Rosalie  •  07. Jul 2018 Rented a Dacia Duster + Roof Tent from Icerental 4x4 in June 2018
Nordic Campers

We loved driving the Dacia Dokker around Iceland. It's easy to drive and since it's little, it's also easy to park. It was very comfortable to sleep in with the big cushions they provide and by scooting the seats forward, it is plenty long to lay flat. The kitchen compartment had all we needed, including extra fuel. When we needed the cabin heater, we folded the cushion back to better feel the heat, since the fan blows below the sleeping platform. It was easy to return the camper at the end of the trip and get a shuttle back to the airport. They were quite busy when we picked up the camper, but did take a minute to tell us what we needed to know before we headed out.

Claire  •  07. Jul 2018 Rented a Dacia Dokker from Nordic Campers in June 2018
Lava Auto Car Rental

Excellent choix, le service est parfait : accueil et dépôt à l'aéroport, véhicule propre et en parfait état correspondant à ce que nous avions demandé, ouverture à 5 heures du matin, idéal quand on reprend l'avion tôt.

Daniel  •  07. Jul 2018 Rented a Dacia Duster from Lava Auto Car Rental in June 2018