Reviews for all companies

Daan from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

troubleless pick up at airport and transfer to the office and fast return

Reinhard from Austria
Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

Excellent service!!! Very polite communication!!!
Car in very good condition without any problems!!!!
Recommended with pleasure!!!!!

George from Greece
Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

Icerental 4x4 is a very small rental agenency. It takes a little bit of time to get to their place but they will pick you up at the airport and bring you back. The office is 24/7 open but if you will come in the middle of the night, like we are, you have to wait till somebody will be there. However, the car was okay and the price also. If you only purchase the basic insurance, they will block 2500€ on your credit card. You can avoid the blocking if you purchase a premium insurace wich will cost 13€ more per day.

Stefan from Germany
Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a 2011 Suzuki Grand Vitara

Too small for 5 Adults.
Hard to find your office when returning the car. Big signs, please!

Roland from Sweden
Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a 2011 Suzuki Grand Vitara

Great to work with. Easy process

Ruth from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Free Cancellation & Amendments

William from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Brilliant service ! I don’t have anything to complain about and was pretty easy and organised.

Gospodin from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a 2015 Dacia Duster

Car renting was a fine experience. Only issue was finding the location site to return the car. Minimal signage on the building would be nice, especially when renting or returning the car st night. Otherwise, helpful employees and clean functional cars.

Christian R from Canada
Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

in general when we pick up the van everything was good, what i dont like its the way how we give us the details about the truck, no body explain how works the truck in relation with the gas, water, doors or all what the van had. I do by my self the check of the details of the van if had any crash or something like that. When i drive really feels insecure because had a lot of problems with the gearbox, when i brake the wheel have a strong vibration and feels strange

paulo from Mexico
Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a Renault Trafic Camper

James from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a 2016 Suzuki Jimny

Great service since we arrived at the airport. Everything was very well explained, from the vehicle thru the climate and weather of Iceland. The vehicles were on excellent conditions and great to drive on the weather and Iceland roads.

Thanks for the great service.

Isaias from Puerto Rico
Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a 2016 Toyota Land Cruiser

Excellent service, nice car, great staff--very helpful. I would certainly recommend Northbound to anyone visiting Iceland.

Geoff.W from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a 2018 KIA Sportage

Good, solid car, perfect for the winter weather.

Luis from Luxembourg
Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a 2016 Dacia Duster

We've been given a car in the same category (Hyundai I-20, automatic). The experience was good, easy and quick pick up of the car and easy drop off on our last day. We got all necessary information from both the car rental company and Northbound. I'd definitely recommend to use Northbound is you travel to Iceland!

Alicja from France
Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Swift

Renting a car was the best choice for our Iceland trip - no doubt! We rented the gorgeous Mitsubishi Pajero 2016 which is just a monster of a car and wonderful to drive in the bad snow conditions on the north of Iceland. It's also a nice bedroom and kitchen at the same time. We spent two weeks driving around all of Iceland and it's been one of the best trips of my life. Lived the car. Loved Iceland. And the crew at go campers were really cool and gave us very good information to start with. Thanks!

Anton from Sweden
Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a 2016 Mitsubishi Pajero Camper

Free Cancellation & Amendments

Very poor equipment in the van

Wayne from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a 2018 Ford Transit Connect Camper

No representative at the airport to meet us, but not a major issue as we contacted them by phone. Everything else ran very smoothly.
Decent car which did everything we needed.
We even managed to see the Northern Lights, although I don't think we can credit Nordic with that.

Colin from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a 2014 Suzuki S-Cross

It was my first trip to Iceland and on planning we searched for a place to rent a car and Northbound came up. We looked them up and ordered the car with fairly short notice but received a reply and shortly thereafter approval for the car. Upon arrival we took the bus to the busstation where the car stood waiting for us and the key was in the nearby safety depositboxes. The car in itself was a Ford Transit 2018 van with a bed in the back. It was perfect for our use. The only thing that could have been better was the camping stove supplied for its power was not enough to warm water in the cold wind that is very prevalent on Iceland, it being the third most windy place in the world. We drove around Iceland for 5 days and had a blast, the little car was our most trustworthy companion during that time, not once did we feel unsafe anywhere. So a 4.5 rating from us (the stove and the wind was the only detractor here)

Morten from Denmark
Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a 2018 Ford Transit Connect Camper

We had a Toyota RAV4 and it was perfect to drive through the snowy country, but a little more explanation about the use of the 4x4 buttons would have been helpful .... But we had a great time and a lot of fun and that's the most important.

Guido from Belgium
Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a 2016 Toyota RAV4

Perfect experience! The price, the service everything was honest, made sense and was organized very well! Will book again with these guys next time!

Bob from Netherlands
Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a 2016 Toyota RAV4

The experience was good. We had four wanderfull days around the south-east of Iceland. The van was ok but some things didn't work as the behind Door.

Mauro from Italy
Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a 2008 Renault Trafic Camper

The pick up part from the airport was a bit confusing as there were a lot of people with different signs. The driver from Icerental 4x4 was late, which caused some frustration. I would have liked to get an email in advance just explaining the procedure. Even though it’s probably stated somewhere we didn’t know about it at arrival (again my fault, but I’m guessing I’m not the only one with that experience)

The car wasn’t in tip top shape, with multiple chips in the windshield and some rust spots. But besides that everything went well.

I also found it weird that they needed to reserve the whole damage waiver amount on my card. I normally don’t have that much on my card and needed to transfer money around. I know that this probably is stated in the terms somewhere but I have never experienced it from other car rental companies.

I would give Northbound a good rating, but the service and car from Icerental 4x4 wasn’t the best

Thomas from Norway
Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

Excellent service first class car that performed perfectly in the winter conditions that we encountered could not ask for anything better. Looking forward to using Northbound next time I'm in Iceland.

PETER from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a 2011 Suzuki Grand Vitara

The staff was all very friendly, helpful, and courteous and the rental car was perfect for our needs! Great experience.

Caitlin from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a 2016 Dacia Duster

I was very happy with the experience, the only thing that I would say is it would be an idea when possible to show how the night heater works etc. Our heater didn't work, and Our water stopped working as well. Staff were very good and service overall was good and I would book again if and when I come back

Thomas from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a 2006 Ford Transit Connect Camper

The pick up process from the airport was very simple although with only one person manning the desk at the rental centre it took a short while to collect the car, although not excessively slow. However, he was friendly and efficient when it came to it. My only comment would be that some fairly explicit music videos were being played on the wall of the rental office which I wasn't too keen on my 3 year old watching!

The car itself was in good condition and was ideal for the often challenging weather and roads in Iceland.

The drop off process we were particularly impressed with. As the guy was checking the car over he noticed that our children were asleep in the back so he offered to drive the car to the airport rather than us get into the shuttle bus, allowing them to sleep for an extra 20mins or so. Excellent customer service.

All in all, change the channel on the TV but otherwise a very smooth rental process with no issues at all...

James from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

It was a Tucson but,it was great!

Victoria from Romania
Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

The vehicle was clean and in good condition. We were expecting a larger vehicle (we were 6 people + luggage), the description was for 7 people + 4 suitcases, if I am not mistaken, but it could fit only 6 people + 2 suitcases. Which mean we had to leave the kids at the airport for us to go at the office to sign contract (because we could not fit with the guy from Magic). And we had to do the same when we left. Our plane arrived earlier than schedule (almost one hour), so the fact that we had to wait for pickup (no office at the airport) was not the greatest, and the pickup was 45 minutes late (I had to call, no one was at the airport at the time that was agreed). Plus another 45 minutes to go to the office... Staff was really nice.

virginie from Canada
Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a 2012 Hyundai IX55

Everything with Icerental 4x4 went great but I highly suggest you take pictures of the car before leaving the facility. One of our side mirrors had a crack that was not noted on the inspection form but because we had picture proof it was there when we picked it up, we were not held liable. The Suzuki Grand Vitara was perfect for driving all over Iceland in March!

Kendele from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a 2011 Suzuki Grand Vitara