Reviews for all companies

5 stars all around for Northbound and Ace/Star Car Rental! We had a lot of options for our rental, but attractive prices and excellent reviews helped us make our choice, and it did not disappoint! Customer support before our arrival via e-mail was extremely efficient and friendly when we had to add extras and change the drop-off point (Hurray for custom drop-off points!) shortly before we arrived. We got picked-up at the airport and shuttled to their offices, where paperwork was quick and painless, with helpful tips. The campervan was in excellent condition (a few scratches here and there, nothing to write home about), no mechanical problems to deplore, clean inside and outside, and had a full tank. We didn't get to use it, but they had even stocked a bit of gas in the camping gas stove which I found nice and provident (especially since it is written black-on-white that you have to provide your own gas)...

Julia from France
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

coline from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

The rental experience was fine. The issue with your shuttle bus was a little issue and the Ford Explorer is starting to show its years but all was good

Michael from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2011 Ford Expedition

Good family car, good company

David from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2017 Nissan X-Trail

It was OK, suited the purpose for what was needed. A bit battered but the company were more relaxed about picking up any minor chips etc.

Doug from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2011 Suzuki Grand Vitara

We had a very positive experience renting a 4x4 from Icerental 4x4. The price was reasonable. The vehicle was very dependable and performed flawlessly. We faced some windy and icy conditions and vehicle handled it all very well. The communication was prompt. The transfers between the airport and the vehicle pick up and return point were prompt and the drivers were very helpful and curtious. We were very satisfied.

Terry from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Quick responses and pick up/drop off from the airport. Friendly and helpful staff, car was in good condition and perfect for what we needed. Thank you!

Alison from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Grand Vitara

Booking was easy, I was able to see the car make, model and year, and what insurance packages were included and what was extra. We were picked up at the airport and driven to the rental office. This process was quick and efficient and we were on the road very soon after landing. The car (Toyota Rav 4) was clean and comfortable. There were only 2 of us but would suit up to 4 people with cabin luggage. We stuck to mostly tarmac roads but did use the gravel roads too, and drove in a blizzard. The car handled well throughout. Much better value to rent a car than to book Northern lights/golden circle/South Iceland tours. Would use your company again, and recommend to friends.

Caroline from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2016 Toyota RAV4

All when smoothly in the booking process, but once we landed at the airport the experience was not so good. Lodged a complaint after we returned and this was handled well.

Malik from Canada
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2015 Ford Tourneo

Very good support for the car. Thankfully I did not need to call the hotline but all the contact numbers were provided for in the event I got into an accident. Excellent customer support!

Dean Amir from Singapore
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Grand Vitara

it was good. The car was good, except for few things like back camera was not working at times and few other small issues. Given the scenario in Iceland, I guess whatever we got was a good one.

Phanidhar from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2017 Hyundai Tucson

We liked the car a lot. It was nice and spacious, nice cargo space, handled well on the road. The car rental place was nicely located to the airport.

Joseph from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Great service, very helpful staff, everything was really well organised. We had no serious problems with the car apart from the codrivers window that could not be closed once it was opened all the way down. I would definately reccomend it!!

ELENI from Greece
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2014 Suzuki S-Cross

Joshua from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

It was a great car for our trip. The check in was smooth, I didn’t expect a shuttle trip to get to the office but it didn’t take too much more time to get the car or drop it off so that was fine. The staff where very helpful, friendly and polite. My only bad comment is the hold on our visa that we didn’t know had to happen. It seemed a bit sketchy, wish we didn’t have to do that. But besides that it really was a great suv, I drove a lot during our time in Iceland and it was comfortable and easy to use.

Danielle from Canada
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Grand Vitara

You will not find a better or easier car company to rent from in Iceland. Our driver met us as we exit the baggage claim, took us five minutes away to the car pick up, and 10 minutes later we were on our adventure. I had not heard of this company before this trip, I will definitely use them again and recommend them highly.

Frederick from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2017 Subaru Forester

Our experience was very good. The car went well and was a good size for the 2 of us.
One criticism is that we were warned that we should bring back the car with 90% fuel which is the level it was delivered to us at or we would be charged. We brought it back with 100% but there was no credit.
Also, there was some damage inside the door when we collected the car but we were not shown this - and didn't think to ask. The doors were not opened when we were recording damage with your representative. However on our return the doors were opened and the fault identified. We were not charged. As far as we could see the door worked fine all week. The different levels of inspection before and after the hire seemed unfair.

Angus from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2014 Suzuki S-Cross

Prompt pick up and drop, excellent service, Friendly and very informative staff
We had taken all the insurances and had no issues with the car, the car features matched exactly what we had booked. GPS isn't handy , better to use the google offline maps

Ajay from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018 and rented a 2016 Toyota RAV4

All was very good, I would certainly recommand Icerental 4X4 !

Barbaro from France
Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018 and rented a 2011 Suzuki Grand Vitara

Very good service, vehicle was in good condition. Very convenient service to and from the airport

Andrew from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

Everything about my experience with Icerental 4x4 was as to be expected. I chose to rent with them because I wanted a 4WD vehicle because I was not sure about the driving conditions in Iceland in November. They were the best priced option. They were waiting for my group when we landed at 4am and shuttled us straight to their off-site location. The paperwork process was reasonably quick and we were on our way in no time. The vehicle was great. Fairly new, clean, no mechanical issues--everything worked for the entirety of our trip. Drop off and check-out process was also smooth and they got us right to the airport without much of a wait. I would recommend Icerental 4x4 to anyone looking for a 4WD rental to explore Iceland!

Steven from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

My experience was very good. The customer service was excellent.

Sandra from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2016 Citroen Berlingo


The service we were offered was great, great shuttle service and very friendly and helpful staff. The vehicle was in good condition and allowed us to travel all over the south of Iceland. Great experience.

Barbara from Italy
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2015 Mitsubishi Outlander

The pick up and the drop-off were easy. The car was in bad shape and dirty but for that price was ok.

Tibor from Romania
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2014 Suzuki S-Cross

We had a good experience. The staff was very helpful and offered solid knowledge of camper traveling through Iceland. The camper itself was spacious enough for two adults and two children requiring car seats. The heater and mobile hotspot never failed while going through the entire island. Only thing I would change is for the company to offer some sort of wind damage insurance because the island can get violently windy. On one of the first days in, the wind was so strong it about pulled me out of the camper and damaged the door itself. This subsequent charges would not have been avoided by any of the insurances offered, but other than that it was an awesome time in Iceland with Go Campers.

Astrid C from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2018 Renault Master Camper

We enjoyed renting from Nordic Car Rental. They were the most affordable with all insurances included and the staff was very helpful. Highly recommend renting from this company!

Jennifer from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2014 Suzuki S-Cross

The experience was smooth and excellently maintained vehicle. Will recommend to my friends in the future.

Nijamudeen from Singapore
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2016 Suzuki Vitara

Great car for Iceland. Everyting was organiced without any problems. The car was in good conditions

Ueli from Switzerland
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2016 Mazda CX-3

Simply great rental company :) We've arrived to the airport in Keflavik where one of the guys from Lava Car rental has been waiting for us. The renting didn't take long and we got a coffee from them as well, what a nice touch to the whole experience. The car was nice, clean, so overall experience was great. I highly recommend this company to get a car in Iceland! Thanks again!

Lukas from Czech Republic
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

The rental experience was quick and no fuzz the car was a little dinged up but this didn't pose any issues. The Car was also equipped with Apple integration which proved very use-full for GPS. Considering the prices we're very competitive this was a good deal.

Michael from Sweden
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara