Iceland Car Rentals Reviews

Reviews for the Best Car Rentals in Iceland.Real Reviews From Real Customers

Go Campers

Everything was great, the experience was incredible.

Pilar  •  18. Aug 2017 Rented a Renault Master from Go Campers in August 2017
Northern Lights Car Rental

We had the best time ever on Iceland. The pick up at the airport and then hand over of our Jimny with roof tent was more than easy, friendly, helpful and quick. Book with Northbound!!!

Jelka Ninja  •  17. Aug 2017 Rented a Suzuki Jimny + Roof Tent from Northern Lights Car Rental in August 2017
Lava Auto Car Rental

Really good folks, great car from Lava Auto!

Stephen  •  17. Aug 2017 Rented a Hyundai i10 from Lava Auto Car Rental in August 2017
Icerental 4x4

In one word - great!

Filip  •  17. Aug 2017 Rented a Hyundai i30 Wagon from Icerental 4x4 in July 2017
Lagoon Car Rental

Everything that was promised to us was delivered! Someone met us at airport , just as they said they would. The car we reserved was practically brand new and very clean and ran well. Dropping it off at the location by the cruise terminal worked out great. We are very happy with Lagoon Car Rental. Hope we get to return to Iceland, if we do, Lagoon Car rental will be our choice!

Johnny  •  16. Aug 2017 Rented a Hyundai Tucson from Lagoon Car Rental in August 2017
Geysir

Attila  •  16. Aug 2017 Rented a Toyota Land Cruiser Diesel from Geysir in August 2017
GO Car Rental

They were very responsive when I had questions and everything worked out as described. Everyone was friendly and helpful!

Johanna  •  15. Aug 2017 Rented a Suzuki Jimny 4x4 from GO Car Rental in August 2017
Lava Auto Car Rental

Very good experience. They picked us up at the airport, the formalities were very fast. I added a second driver at a very reasonable price. Quick and efficient also at car return

Claudio  •  15. Aug 2017 Rented a Dacia Duster from Lava Auto Car Rental in July 2017
Icerental 4x4

The car was fantastic and we did not have any issue with it. It was easy to drive, handed well, and was great off-roading. the roof tent was very comfortable and easily slept my brother and me. Coming from the United States, it made planning a lot easier knowing I would not have to worry about the camping equipment. All the camping equipment that was included in the rental was in great condition, worked well, and it made camping easy.

It was my first time renting a car, and the Icerental 4x4 made the process easy and efficient. There employees were friendly, knowledgeable, and answered every question I had. I was especially impressed with there customer service. They responded to inquiries and emails quickly, and made sure we were getting the right car for the type of activities we wanted to do while in Iceland.

I would certainly recommend Icerental 4x4 and this car for anyone who is looking to go camping in Iceland.

Steven  •  15. Aug 2017 Rented a Suzuki Grand Vitara + Roof Tent from Icerental 4x4 in July 2017
Icerental 4x4


Very good, worked out nicely for four of us with lots of luggage. Ice rental 4x4 was at the airport to greet us, then drove us to their office to pick up the car. No issues upon return.

Robert  •  15. Aug 2017 Rented a Suzuki Vitara from Icerental 4x4 in August 2017
Icerental 4x4

We have just returned from a 2 week- trip to Iceland. We hired a 4 x4 car (Dacia Duster + roof tent) through Northbound. They were great to deal with and very helpful at all times. We did a lot of research before booking with Northbound and we found prices were actually cheaper with them than with other car rental companies. Customer Service was great and staff were very friendly, efficient and professional. Every e-mail was replied straight away with surprisingly detailed answers. The car and the tent were perfect and exactly as promised! Highly recommended!!

Elisa  •  15. Aug 2017 Rented a Dacia Duster + Roof Tent from Icerental 4x4 in July 2017
Icerental 4x4

Car ran fine, no issues. It was pleasantly quiet to drive and fuel-efficient. Returning the vechicle went fine as well. The rental was actually Renault Megane Estate (2017), not Hyundai i30 Wagon, but I think it was better than Hyundai would have been.

Olger  •  15. Aug 2017 Rented a Hyundai i30 Wagon from Icerental 4x4 in August 2017
Orange Car Rental

Everything was perfect! The Jimny was grown up to a Toyota Rav 4. I asked for a free GPS - an Orange Car gave it to me! The guy who brought us the car to the hotel was very very friendly an gave us very helpful tips about iceland. My wife an me - we both were positive surprised! Thank you.

Helmut  •  15. Aug 2017 Rented a Suzuki Jimny from Orange Car Rental in August 2017
Icerental 4x4

dacia duster was very enjoyable to drive, especially on the gravel roads, the roof tent was easy to set up and kept us dry in rainy nights, icerental 4x4 employees were helpful and nice, the airport transfer was fast and uncomplicated 10/10

David  •  15. Aug 2017 Rented a Dacia Duster + Roof Tent from Icerental 4x4 in August 2017
Go Campers

Go Campers are super friendly and professional. They also offered some great tips for traveling around Iceland. The van, our home away from home, was perfect for camping and off-the-beaten-path sightseeing.

Darlene  •  14. Aug 2017 Rented a Dacia Dokker Camper from Go Campers in August 2017
Icerental 4x4

Perfect! We were picked up at the airport on time, the employees were friendly and helpful and the vehicle was in great condition. They did not have the SUV we had originally booked, but accommodated us with a very nice alternative, so there was no issue. We loved having the freedom of the 4X4 and the roof tent. We would love to come back to Iceland and would definitely book with Northbound/Icerental 4X4 again!

Meredith   •  14. Aug 2017 Rented a Dacia Duster + Roof Tent from Icerental 4x4 in August 2017
Icerental 4x4

I can only tell the best about Icerental 4x4. Pickup at Airport worked, it took a bit time to get the car, but they had just received it back an had to clean it. The car itself is from 2008, has more than 300,000 km, and it looks as well that old. And that is a good thing, because you don't have to be carefull on Icelands gravel roads. We were 4 persons with 4 suitcases - the trunk is built for only 3. When we returned the car in Reykjavik we were driven to the Bus station by the Manager in his private car. In general: You get more you can expect.

Arne  •  14. Aug 2017 Rented a Hyundai Tucson from Icerental 4x4 in July 2017
Icerental 4x4

My experience with Icerental 4X4 was great. Picking up the car was easy in Reykjavik and the person who helped me fill out the paperwork was professional and very easy to deal with. (Sorry I forgot his name) I had to change my pickup location and drop off time during our trip and Icerental helped me very quickly, both by email and phone. The drop off was a bit hard to find, but once found the people there were excellent and drove us to the airport immediately. Outstanding customer service! I will absolutely recommend Icerental 4X4 to friends. Thank you.

Christian  •  14. Aug 2017 Rented a Suzuki Vitara from Icerental 4x4 in July 2017
Arctic Car Rental

Everything was very good. Even if we had to change our pick-up time due to flight cancellation, the agent came at the new arrival time with our car, which was very clean and in good condition. He explained everything and made sure everything was clear to us and OK. We didn't have any trouble during our trip and the car run well on all the roads. It was a good experience overall.

Rosa  •  14. Aug 2017 Rented a Suzuki Jimny 4x4 (Older model) from Arctic Car Rental in July 2017
Lava Auto Car Rental

Everything was perfect : the car, the team and the trip !

Raphael  •  14. Aug 2017 Rented a Toyota Aygo from Lava Auto Car Rental in August 2017
Go Campers

Quick, helpful,without complications

Gerhard  •  14. Aug 2017 Rented a Mitsubishi Pajero Camper from Go Campers in July 2017
Lava Auto Car Rental

It was a perfectly experience, a
good company of rental car .

Silvia  •  14. Aug 2017 Rented a Hyundai i10 from Lava Auto Car Rental in August 2017
Arctic Car Rental

The trip in Iceland was very nice, because of primera flight cancel it was too short.
We were very satisfied with Arctic Car Rental...New car economic just what we needed.
The agent was waiting for us with the car keys, he explained us everything and at the we returned the car at the airport.

Stanislav  •  14. Aug 2017 Rented a Hyundai i10 from Arctic Car Rental in August 2017
Stracta Cars

Everything went smoothly and according to plans. The two guys we met were very friendly.
The rental office is a bit detour but that is more than compensated by the price.

Laszlo  •  14. Aug 2017 Rented a Opel Corsa from Stracta Cars in August 2017
GO Car Rental

I liked that there was a person at the airport waiting for us when we arrived. She brought us to the car and filled the tank with gas. Everything was really nice. The car was perfect, the only thing that i missed was cruise control. Other than that, great service :)

Erko  •  13. Aug 2017 Rented a Volkswagen Golf Automatic from GO Car Rental in August 2017
GO Car Rental

Excellent ! Thanks u for the upgrade with the Subaru XV. Excellent car !

Alexy  •  13. Aug 2017 Rented a Suzuki Jimny 4x4 from GO Car Rental in August 2017
Lava Auto Car Rental

Lava was great ! Very friendly and uncomplicated people at LAVA car rental. We can recommend your and their service and support.

Jörg  •  13. Aug 2017 Rented a Nissan NV200 from Lava Auto Car Rental in July 2017
Lava Auto Car Rental

We were very happy with our car rental from Lava. They were there to pick us up and take us to their business. They were very friendly and the car was great!! We had no problems at all. I was very glad I'd decided to order a gps with the rental, it was more than worth the price. I was also very happy I had run into Northbound when reading reviews in Trip Advisor. The information that you sent was very helpful and informative. Thank you

Michael  •  13. Aug 2017 Rented a Hyundai i10 from Lava Auto Car Rental in August 2017
Stracta Cars

Great ! Simple, professional, good car, nice services.

Migeon  •  13. Aug 2017 Rented a Dacia Duster from Stracta Cars in August 2017
Orange Car Rental

My experience was very good. Easy and very qualified pick up at the airport and excellent assistance and advisor regarding Iceland driving policies and roads.
Car was clean and in good conditions.
Highly recommended

Fabrizio  •  13. Aug 2017 Rented a Dacia Duster from Orange Car Rental in July 2017
Thrifty Car Rental

Brilliant!
total waiting time = 5 minutes, almost new car and the exact car we've ordered, helpful and charming staff

Andreas  •  12. Aug 2017 Rented a Citroen Berlingo (or similar) from Thrifty Car Rental in July 2017
Lagoon Car Rental

Easy, convenient; wonderful to be able to pick up in Reykjavik and drop off in Keflavik or the other way around. Friendly staff, good car. I've used others and prefer Northbound. We shopped around and they were the most affordable for our compact car needs, so it was nice to get quality for less. We do not really mind other inconveniences (for example rude employees or out-of-the-way rental locations) We base our choices on price alone. So again, this was a win-win.

Matthew  •  12. Aug 2017 Rented a Hyundai i20 from Lagoon Car Rental in August 2017
Ice Rental Cars

Ice Rental guys were laid back, and flexible. Traveled with a baby, they helped with the carseat. Dropped us off at our hotel. Thanks!

Raymond  •  12. Aug 2017 Rented a Peugeot 108 Active from Ice Rental Cars in July 2017
Grand Iceland

Grand Island was the best. Wonderful customer service and the van was super. Everything we could possibly want. Gummi met us at the airport, drove us to the van. He sat with us and explained the rules of the road and gave us pointers on where to go. Gas mileage in this van was very good and kept our cost down. Refrigerator perfect and sleeping was sound.
All in all, a great trip and would rent again from Grand Island. Thank you.

Nancy  •  12. Aug 2017 Rented a Ford Custom from Grand Iceland in July 2017
Camping Cars

Christoph  •  12. Aug 2017 Rented a Ford Escape +Roof Tent from Camping Cars in July 2017
GO Car Rental

The car was in good condition and delivered to us on time. We had a tire pressure issue during our tour of Iceland and unfortunately, it occurred on a Sunday. We changed to our spare tire and drove to the next town. But, since the following day was a national holiday as well, we had to be quite cautious while driving but managed to finish our tour without even the slightest incident and all this was possible only because of best support and assurance/guidance from GO Car Rental. It was a wonderful experience.

Karthik Ramanan  •  11. Aug 2017 Rented a Dacia Duster 4x4 from GO Car Rental in August 2017
Icerental 4x4

We recently rented a car in Iceland. We were very pleased with the car and the service we received!

Dianne  •  11. Aug 2017 Rented a Hyundai i30 Wagon from Icerental 4x4 in July 2017
Lagoon Car Rental

Very good. It was very comfortable to be picked up at the guesthouse in Reykjavik by your collagierte and driven to the car rental bureau as well as the service at Keflavik with the Shuttle to the airport. Thank you very much!

Angela  •  11. Aug 2017 Rented a Hyundai i20 from Lagoon Car Rental in August 2017
Go Campers

Awesome. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. 100% recommended.

Khoo  •  11. Aug 2017 Rented a Dacia Dokker Camper from Go Campers in July 2017
Lava Auto Car Rental

On a ten hour layover, we had rented from another company two weeks prior. Taking the shuttle to their office was, quite frankly, a crowded, time consuming hassle.
For this part of our holiday in Iceland, we were delighted with the guy standing at the airport with our name and the personal ride to the Lava rental office. It was fantastic! Being dropped off to go home was equally as efficient and easy.
The Dacia Duster was certainly not a high end automobile, but we knew that and it served it's purpose. lol
I would not hesitate to book through Northbound and Lava in the future!

Carrie  •  10. Aug 2017 Rented a Dacia Duster from Lava Auto Car Rental in August 2017
Icerental 4x4

Excellent. The car was perfect for the roads we had to travel on , it was comfortable and we had no trouble at all. We appreciated how simple it was to check in and out.

Pierre  •  10. Aug 2017 Rented a Suzuki Grand Vitara from Icerental 4x4 in July 2017
GO Car Rental

Mi sono trovato molto bene con Northbound (di fatto un intermediario) e con Go Car Rental, la società che ci ha effettivamente affittato l'auto. Entrambi i soggetti sono stati molto disponibili nel fornire info su quale auto scegliere e sulle strade che potevamo fare fra le "F" (le piste interne all'isola), su come affrontare guadi evitando di metterci nei guai non avendo noi alcuna esperienza di fuoristrada. Raccomando vivamente!

Enrico  •  10. Aug 2017 Rented a Subaru Forester 4x4 from GO Car Rental in July 2017
Go Campers

We had the most fantastic week in Iceland using GoCampers. The van was perfect for exploring the country with everything we needed to cook, sleep and drive through this amazing country. Northbound and GoCampers were super helpful throughout and would highly recommend.

Anthony  •  10. Aug 2017 Rented a Dacia Dokker Camper from Go Campers in July 2017
Lagoon Car Rental

Lagoon was great. Personnel was so helpful . And the outback we rented was outstanding. On future trips to Iceland we will stay with Lagoon.

Jennifer  •  10. Aug 2017 Rented a Subaru Outback Diesel from Lagoon Car Rental in July 2017
Ace Car Rental

I was thoroughly satisfied with my rental experience with Ace Car Rental. The pick up and drop off were seamless and the vehicle was clean and well equipped. It also didn't hurt that their price was significantly more affordable than comparable rentals through the larger chains. I would definitely book through them again if I ever make it back to Iceland.

Mike  •  10. Aug 2017 Rented a Dacia Dokker Camper from Ace Car Rental in July 2017
Stracta Cars

My experience with Stracta was great. They picked us up at the airport and took us offsite to their office where we completed the paperwork. We were given maps and even recommendations on where to go and what to do. When it was time to return the cars, we drove to their office where they proceeded to drop us off at the airport. The staff was extremely friendly. Stracta is also one of the few companies that will let you rent a car for one day or less. The Hyundai i10 was clean and in great condition. I'm very happy I chose Stracta and would highly recommend them.

Oliver  •  09. Aug 2017 Rented a Hyundai i10 from Stracta Cars in July 2017
Thrifty Car Rental

We had a very good experience with Thrifty and renting a car from them via Northbound. Picking up the car and returning it took very little time. The car was in great shape, yet at the same time, Thrifty had meticulously detailed any minor scratches so there was no issue upon return that we had caused any damage. After examining several rental car websites for Iceland that frankly were very confusing and the subject of some negative reviews, I would highly recommend using the Northbound site. It was easy to understand, easy to compare prices, and it seemed like they had taken the time to make sure they only had quality, reliable cars on their search results. After booking the car, I received a very friendly, personalized note from Northbound letting me know that they were there to answer any questions. We never had any, but it was reassuring to get a note from Northbound when renting a car in a country that we had never visited before.

Patrick  •  09. Aug 2017 Rented a Ford Focus (or similar) from Thrifty Car Rental in August 2017
Lava Auto Car Rental

No problems. Picked us up at the airport and drove us to the hotel after returning the car. Personal was friendly.

Elmar  •  09. Aug 2017 Rented a Toyota Rav4 from Lava Auto Car Rental in July 2017
Lava Auto Car Rental

Very good. We had a problem with the gps in the auto and returned for some help. When they could not make a quick fix they gave us wifi for free and sent us on our way. They were at the airport when we arrived and quickly transported us back to the airport when we returned. The car was in very good shape and exactly as advertised. I would not hesitate to use them again. We had an excellent experience with your site and the actual rental company.

John Fletcher

John  •  08. Aug 2017 Rented a Dacia Duster from Lava Auto Car Rental in August 2017
Lagoon Car Rental

J'ai loué un camper à northbount. Super expérience. Le camper était neuf et très pratique c'est une expérience très intéressante. Et assez confortable. Nous y avons dormi une semaine moitié en camping , moitié en sauvage. Les paysage sont extraordinaires et donc ce genre de véhicule est très adapté à ce voyage.

Nathalie  •  08. Aug 2017 Rented a VW Caddy Camper from Lagoon Car Rental in July 2017