Reviews for all companies

We appreciated the car we rent, but we are very disappointed by the behaviour of Lava Car Rental. We had to change a flat tyre by a new one. We paid for it, we did it with Lava approval. As we subscribed insurances, we sent the invoice to Lava, and we asked to be refunded, but we didn't receive any answer to our 3 mails. Therefore, we will not recommend Lava Car Rent.

VIVIAN

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2020 and rented a 2019 Hyundai Tucson

The Suzuki Vitara 4x4 was excellent, a comfortable car suitable for Iceland's gravel roads. Of course, you cannot cross rivers, but I guess that's not allowed with any rental car for obvious reasons.
The people at Northbound are very friendly and easy-going. They picked us up at the airport and drove us to our rental car - very comfortable! Also returning the vehicle was extremely easy. We had an early morning flight so we could simply leave the car at the airport parking garage with the keys and the parking ticket inside.
Absolutely recommend!!!

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2020 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

Everything from start to finish was excellent. It was an unusual time (in COVID June 2020) but also a great time to drive the wilderness and meet Icelanders. The car and roof-tent were in good condition and everything was explained clearly by friendly staff. I managed to cross the Koljur route with Midnight Sun and 4 days of sunny weather (rare in Iceland!) and swam in many hot-pots too. The midge screens on the tent worked very well at keeping out the wee beasties and the Suzuki Jimny coped very well with gravel roads. Takk fyrir allt !

Graham

Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2020 and rented a 2018 Suzuki Jimny

Amazing experience and amazing car. There was a small issue about blue car couldn't find me in the system and i had to wait longer. But i was given a better car so im happy.:D

Martin

Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2020 and rented a 2018 Dacia Duster

We had a great experience with Northbound and Fara, no complaints!

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2020 and rented a 2017 Hyundai ix35

The car was OK. The service was bad. PICKUP from the Airport after 2 calls (we and others had to wait 1 hour). They had only one car running for pickup but 2 persons from the staff and therefore only space for 6 persons. No help with baggage.
We had a wheel damage during our journey. We took the most expensive insurance. After a call with LAVS Cars we had the wheel repaired at our own costs. After 6 weeks we are still waiting to receive our money back. DISAPPOINTING
Up to you if you would like to order a car with LAVA Cars.

Cornelia

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2020 and rented a 2019 Dacia Duster

Free Cancellation & Amendments

Great car, lived up to all expectations for a tour around the Island including F-roads and bumpy backroad adventures. It had everything you would want such as seat and wheel heating. Good service provided and well organised organisation,

Jorrit

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2020 and rented a 2019 Jeep Compass

Vehicle was great except for quite a bit of wind noise from the front door seals. Service both on collection and return of the vehicle was excellent

Andrew

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2020 and rented a 2017 Hyundai ix35

Good experience with Northern, answers with chat on website very fast !

Florian

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2020 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

it was mazing the experience with northbound nordic car rental campers!im living in iceland and always I thought to do that with a camper, and this car for two person its enough for 10 days , you can do it with other camper bigger than Dacia but with Dacia dokker it was amazing too , i recommend and I will do it again!

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2020 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

Finally we have got a Toyota Rav 4, it was quite to drive and able to passe different kind of roads (F roads included).
The company was very efficient and helpful when we asked for an help or just so small changes.

Francesco

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2020 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Good

João Paulo

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2020 and rented a 2014 Mercedes Benz Vito Tourer

We were upgraded by northern lights Free of charge to a Suzuki gran vitara. The car and service from northern lights was fantastic. Northbound were great throughout at arranging our car rental, including accommodating changes at last minute to suit amended flights. We would highly recommend both companies.

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2020 and rented a 2013 Suzuki Jimny

Hi Thordis,
I will be direct to the point: the experience was below terrible. I think 3 cars in 10 days is really not a good ratio, to be honest. The first Dacia, the screws of the wheel got loose while driving - not 1 but 3 of them - and the other was completely lose and about to pop. Imagine if this wheel pops out, hit another vehicle at 90km/h while I lose control of my car? Doesn't look good right? Bonus: the car had NO TOOLS (no car jack, no screw key, no TRIANGLE!) Second Dacia: everything seems normal. We are driving, the car dies mysteriously. So what was wrong with this one? Well, apparently the sensor to measure the diesel level is somehow broken, and it tells us that we still have diesel when we don't. The car died on the highway, in a foggy day, again no triangle, and we could only hope that nobody would hit it. Bonus: we had a snowmobile tour scheduled for just before the car broke but all plans for that day had to be canceled...

Corentin

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2020 and rented a 2018 Dacia Duster

When we arrived at the airport we waited a bit before the guy from the company showed up, but disappeared very fast, so had no chance to go with him. Ended up calling and had to wait for him coming back, so all in all a wait of 1 hour.
The car we had was very damaged. We understood that it is normal with the roads in Iceland, but this seemed a lot more than other cars we met on the road and that our friends had leased at other companies, and this made us doubt the safety of it. Furthermore the window in the front right side did not work, USB port was destroyed, and generally the car was just old and in a bad shape.
Luckily I took photos of each damage and scratch, cause some damages were questioned when we came back, and I could document that there was no new scratches.
The personal was not very service minded - they were short in their replies, and made you feel a bit more like a problem than a customer...

Julie

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2020 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

Finally we didn’t rent a toyota rav4 because company hadn’t any available. Instead of toyota they gave us a suzuki t cross. So we are very disappointed about this. Northbound was an excellent company though.

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2020 and rented a 2016 Toyota RAV4

Free Cancellation & Amendments

Good service but first car had a broken windscreen, which we refuse to take. Friendly service and rather bad communication. They didn't tell us in advance that the office wasn't open when we should return the car. They should have informed us, we shouldn't have to ask.

Åke

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2020 and rented a 2019 Hyundai Tucson

We had a great experience renting through Northern Lights car rental. The whole process went very smoothly, and when we had to modify our dates (because of plane cancelations), we had no issues at all, they were very accommodating and helpful.
I will definitely use their services next time we come back, and would recommend renting through them!

Amelie

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2020 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Although the car wasn’t that new , 200.000 km, we didn’t have any trouble during our 3,5 week tour. Seats were good. The only thing was that the engine started to smell after going uphill for a while . That didn’t give any problem. Highly recommended .


any troubleshooters


Johanna

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2020 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Very positive experience, friendly staff, dependable rental. I was hesitant to rent from a smaller company as it is a bit more of an "unknown", but my experience was overwhelmingly positive. The staff was friendly, helpful, and the car was great!

Christine

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2020 and rented a 2019 Dacia Duster

Free upgrade for Hyundai Tucson. Thank you!
Come again twice next year and will book a car from northbound. Sorry about some changings before because of canceled flights. Hope you will come through this bad times and wish you many new bookings.
Kind regards
Gabriela

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2020 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Excellent Service and support.

Kasimir

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2020 and rented a 2018 Dacia Dokker Camper

The car was very low. For me it wasn't enough for F-roads. I expected a higher car. We had a breakdown during our trip. We crossed a river and the car stopped due to water damage. When I called the Mycar hotline, I learned that water damage was not covered even though we had selected a fully comprehensive insurance package. While we were picking up the car, we were not told that, although we asked several times whether everything was covered. The employee said only the underside of the car was not covered. And said nothing about water damage. This is not a good service. Mycar obviously tries to hide this and does not provide any information about such damage. After it has happened and the customer finds out something like that, it doesn't help. In the end we received an invoice for almost 11,000 euros. And threatened to pay us immediately before we leave the country...

Bugra

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2020 and rented a 2020 Toyota RAV4 GX Hybrid

everything fine

Guido

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2020 and rented a 2019 KIA Rio

Very positive experience. Free upgrade to automatic. No problems with the car whatsoever

Kit

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2020 and rented a 2018 Ford Focus

A few days before our rental we informed if an upgrade to a 4WD would be possible but unfortunately we didn't receive reaction before our rental pick up time. When we showed up at the address were we would pick up our car it turned out the office had moved to the domestic airport (due to corona) and after a few calls we got a ride there. Geysir said this was Northbounds fault but Northbound said this was Geysirs fault. The Dacia Duster now wasn't available so that was a bummer. I must say things didn't start great, but we received a compensation from Northbound which we appreciated. I think we just had bad luck, but it wasn't quite what we'd expected.

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2020 and rented a 2017 Hyundai i10

I would say it was not so good, not so bad.
First of all, we went to collect the van, and the one they gave us was not the one we asked. We asked F. Transit Connect with a special distribution in the back and they wanted to give us a Docker without the space more than the bed. The Docker was very new but the back space was less. As far as we told them we asked about the Transit 2006, they showed us the van... it was so old!! This van cannot be for rental any more!! It has problems with the gas deposit...So, we told them that if we have any problem, I will claim and show it in their web. At last, they reconsidered the subject and give us a newer F. Transit (for 3 people) that they have available so after the fight they do it ok.
During our trip, the front wiper stopped working and we called to 24h service. They told us they agency will call us but they never did. We wait one full day more, calling again to 24h...

Ainhoa

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2020 and rented a 2006 Ford Transit Connect Camper

The communication and the retrieval of the van went smooth.
Northbound is highly recommended!
I just wouldn't chose the Dacia Dokker again, because of the interior noise we experienced. Every night our ears and head hurt due of the constant noise.
I suggested to pay a little bit more and chose a more "silent" car.

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2020 and rented a 2018 Dacia Dokker Camper

The car was in poor condition. Halfway the journey the battery went dead. Northern lights told us that we probably left the lights on, which is not true. They would look for someone who would be able to give us a jumpstart but we were ofcourse on the other side of the island. There were no starter cables present in the car so after looking for a long time we found someone willing to help who also had starting cables. Since northern lights had not yet reached out again. Later that day the car wouldn’t start again, we bought our own starting cables and found someone willing to help.
I told northern lights and they told us to go to a repairshop in Akureyri. There they could tell us that it was a cable which was connected poorly and got loose and disconnected the battery from the car.
Furthermore the cooling fluid was empty. As in totally empty. We had to refill it with water while traveling...

Ferdy

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2020 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Jimny

All over it was good. But the car had some warninglights on. Engine, inspection, air pressure in the tired. We always checked. The could be in better condition. It is not really able to go on f-roads with it because of the tired. They were down and should be replace. We didn't go to all places we wanted to go.

Martin

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2020 and rented a 2019 Dacia Duster