Reviews for all companies

The car was OK. The service was bad. PICKUP from the Airport after 2 calls (we and others had to wait 1 hour). They had only one car running for pickup but 2 persons from the staff and therefore only space for 6 persons. No help with baggage.
We had a wheel damage during our journey. We took the most expensive insurance. After a call with LAVS Cars we had the wheel repaired at our own costs. After 6 weeks we are still waiting to receive our money back. DISAPPOINTING
Up to you if you would like to order a car with LAVA Cars.

Cornelia

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2020 and rented a 2019 Dacia Duster

We appreciated the car we rent, but we are very disappointed by the behaviour of Lava Car Rental. We had to change a flat tyre by a new one. We paid for it, we did it with Lava approval. As we subscribed insurances, we sent the invoice to Lava, and we asked to be refunded, but we didn't receive any answer to our 3 mails. Therefore, we will not recommend Lava Car Rent.

VIVIAN

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2020 and rented a 2021 Hyundai Tucson

The experience con Icerantal was more then posiive
Initially I should have gone in July 2020. And then arrived Covid .....
The company give me a voucher for another trip, and when I decided to come in february 2021 (obviously a less expensive month) they give me a refund for the excess and box the next car
I decided to book a Toyota RAV 4x4 (february in Iceland?? Better to be prepared!)
They waited for me at keflavik airport and the check in of the car was easy end fast
I decided on a Silver Insurance for my week driving on the South Coast , and the car was exactly how i was expecting
I didn't have any problems (tip: drive slooooowly in the strong winds and you'll never have problems , and the rain with the winter tires is not a trouble. Idem for the ice)
I returned the car and the check out was more than easy
When I'll return to Iceland I'll be sure to rent another car from them

Norma Virginia

Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2021 and rented a 2016 Toyota RAV4

Kirsten

Traveled to Iceland in Jan 2021 and rented a 2018 Dacia Duster

Everything went well, we get picked up at the airport and dropped at the my car office near by, we quickly get our car, nice and clean, we easily drop off the car in Reykjavik.

Yann

Traveled to Iceland in Jan 2021 and rented a 2020 Toyota Yaris

I had a really good experience with my Suzuki Vitara from Nothern Lights Car Rental. They were all sooo super friendly and will always help and answer you to everything. So from me its definitely a

Marie Christine

Traveled to Iceland in Jan 2021 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

Free Cancellation & Amendments

Hi, our trip was superb! But Suzuki was too old actually. It’s brakes were not working well. But guy from the rent company super friendly. Thank you very much.

Gözde

Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2018 and rented a 2014 Suzuki Grand Vitara

Northbound was a very easy to use car rental comparison site that gave me my best option for my week in Iceland. However the experience with their partner Camping Cars was not so great. Very forceful in selling their insurance - even though I told them I have both my credit card and private travel insurance. They then went on to put a hold of the complete excess on my credit card (~AUD $4,500. A lot of money when you're travelling on top of my week's rental cost). After that, they told me to sign an agreement that I would pay for any damages without showing me a condition report of the car. When asked to see the report, I was advised they take images of the car and keep it on file and they cannot show me the files: I should take my own photos. Very skeptical! Lastly, they told me the car petrol meter was broken and that's why the indicator does not reach the top (where it indicate full...

Yu Ying Denise

Traveled to Iceland in May 2018 and rented a 2014 Suzuki Grand Vitara

Booking was easy. When I changed the date of my reservation though, it seemed that there was a miscommunication with Camping Cars because they were waiting for me at the airport on the wrong day. Thankfully it got sorted out and pick up was a breeze. Super friendly and helpful service at pick up and through out the trip, until after I dropped off the car.
At that point, things took a major nose dive.
I returned the car close to empty. I did this because I did not receive the car full and was not told it needed to be filled up before dropping it off. If I had been told that, I would have taken a photo of the gas tank metre when I received it. I also wasn't told that Camping Cars has a discount with Olis, which would have been helpful during my travels. Unfortunately, Camping Cars refuses to give me any credit towards the gas, so I'm stuck paying for a full tank, even though I didn't get one...

Johanna

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018 and rented a 2014 Suzuki Grand Vitara

It was really great, easy to drive and extremely comfortable seats for the long drives. We also found the tent to be way more spacious and comfortable than I thought it would be to sleep in. Although we did get wet one night after heavy rain as it pelted against the lining of the tent.

Whitney

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2019 and rented a 2014 Suzuki Grand Vitara

Icerental 4x4 has provided a car that was almost new. The whole rental process was fast and hassles free. On the return the staff checked only if the car was severely dameged whiteout trying to force any additional payment.

Maciej

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2020 and rented a 2019 Dacia Duster
Supplier response:
Dear Maciej,

Thank you for this great feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoy'd our service at Icerental4x4.

Best regards
Team Icerental4x4

The car was great even though had some serious damages outside. We felt safe all the time.

Moritz

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2020 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara
Supplier response:
Dear Moritz,

We are glad to hear that the car served you well for your trip. Thank you for choosing Icerental4x4.

Best regards
Team Icerental4x4

The general expirience with Icerental was great. The staff were very friendly and patientlys explained everything to us. The car( Suzuki Vitara) was very goog and i really enjoyed driving with it. One day the oil lamp on our car was on but we were helped very quickly.
I would book my car there again at any time.

Susanne

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2020 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara
Supplier response:
Dear Susanne,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are happy to hear that you enjoy'd our service here at Icerental4x4 and that the Vitara treated you well for your trip. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to meet you again here in Iceland!

Best regards
Team Icerental4x4

Finally we didn’t rent a toyota rav4 because company hadn’t any available. Instead of toyota they gave us a suzuki t cross. So we are very disappointed about this. Northbound was an excellent company though.

Maria Christina

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2020 and rented a 2016 Toyota RAV4
Supplier response:
Dear,

Thank you for the feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our service at Icerental4x4. We do advertise our vehicles 'or similar' but we always try our best to provide the vehicle booked.

Best regards
Team Icerental4x4

Everything from start to finish was excellent. It was an unusual time (in COVID June 2020) but also a great time to drive the wilderness and meet Icelanders. The car and roof-tent were in good condition and everything was explained clearly by friendly staff. I managed to cross the Koljur route with Midnight Sun and 4 days of sunny weather (rare in Iceland!) and swam in many hot-pots too. The midge screens on the tent worked very well at keeping out the wee beasties and the Suzuki Jimny coped very well with gravel roads. Takk fyrir allt !

Graham

Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2020 and rented a 2018 Suzuki Jimny
Supplier response:
Dear Graham,

Thank you for this great review. We are happy to hear that you had a great time in Iceland and that you our service at Icerental4x4.

Best regards
Team Icerental4x4

The Suzuki Vitara 4x4 was excellent, a comfortable car suitable for Iceland's gravel roads. Of course, you cannot cross rivers, but I guess that's not allowed with any rental car for obvious reasons.
The people at Northbound are very friendly and easy-going. They picked us up at the airport and drove us to our rental car - very comfortable! Also returning the vehicle was extremely easy. We had an early morning flight so we could simply leave the car at the airport parking garage with the keys and the parking ticket inside.
Absolutely recommend!!!

Martina

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2020 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara
Supplier response:
Dear,

Thank you for this wonderful review. We are thrilled to hear that you had a great experience with us at Icerental4x4 and Northbound.

Best regards
Team Icerental4x4

Free Cancellation & Amendments

All went very smoothly with Blue Car Rental. Our car was upgraded, and we were able to change the drop off location to Reykjavik (from Keflavik) for no additional cost, which suited our plans much better. Very pleased.

Kit

Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2020 and rented a 2018 Dacia Duster

The car was in a super neat condition, the team are very nice, kind and supportive even at off hour. Very trustworthy and highly recommended.

Chartree

Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2020 and rented a 2019 Jeep Compass

Hey the Dacia duster used was just perfect for us, Clean, comfortable easy to drive and cheap! I need to rent a car once a month in Reykjavik so I will do it with Northbound again! Thank you

Rudy

Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2020 and rented a 2018 Dacia Duster

Everything good with the car and the utilities.
The only problen was in delivery, they daley it 2 hours.
I was trying to call several diferent numbers to know whats was happening and wasnt able to skpek with anyone. Until they emailed me and I asked then to call me.
After that was everithing fine.

Bruno

Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2020 and rented a 2018 Nissan NV200 Camper

Amazing experience and amazing car. There was a small issue about blue car couldn't find me in the system and i had to wait longer. But i was given a better car so im happy.:D

Martin

Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2020 and rented a 2018 Dacia Duster

We had a great experience with Northbound and Fara, no complaints!

Oscar

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2020 and rented a 2017 Hyundai ix35

Great car, lived up to all expectations for a tour around the Island including F-roads and bumpy backroad adventures. It had everything you would want such as seat and wheel heating. Good service provided and well organised organisation,

Jorrit

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2020 and rented a 2019 Jeep Compass

Vehicle was great except for quite a bit of wind noise from the front door seals. Service both on collection and return of the vehicle was excellent

Andrew

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2020 and rented a 2017 Hyundai ix35

Good experience with Northern, answers with chat on website very fast !

Florian

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2020 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

it was mazing the experience with northbound nordic car rental campers!im living in iceland and always I thought to do that with a camper, and this car for two person its enough for 10 days , you can do it with other camper bigger than Dacia but with Dacia dokker it was amazing too , i recommend and I will do it again!

Jesus

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2020 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

Finally we have got a Toyota Rav 4, it was quite to drive and able to passe different kind of roads (F roads included).
The company was very efficient and helpful when we asked for an help or just so small changes.

Francesco

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2020 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Good

João Paulo

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2020 and rented a 2014 Mercedes Benz Vito Tourer

We were upgraded by northern lights Free of charge to a Suzuki gran vitara. The car and service from northern lights was fantastic. Northbound were great throughout at arranging our car rental, including accommodating changes at last minute to suit amended flights. We would highly recommend both companies.

Craig

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2020 and rented a 2013 Suzuki Jimny

Hi Thordis,
I will be direct to the point: the experience was below terrible. I think 3 cars in 10 days is really not a good ratio, to be honest. The first Dacia, the screws of the wheel got loose while driving - not 1 but 3 of them - and the other was completely lose and about to pop. Imagine if this wheel pops out, hit another vehicle at 90km/h while I lose control of my car? Doesn't look good right? Bonus: the car had NO TOOLS (no car jack, no screw key, no TRIANGLE!) Second Dacia: everything seems normal. We are driving, the car dies mysteriously. So what was wrong with this one? Well, apparently the sensor to measure the diesel level is somehow broken, and it tells us that we still have diesel when we don't. The car died on the highway, in a foggy day, again no triangle, and we could only hope that nobody would hit it. Bonus: we had a snowmobile tour scheduled for just before the car broke but all plans for that day had to be canceled...

Corentin

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2020 and rented a 2018 Dacia Duster