Reviews for Lagoon Car Rental in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for Lagoon Car Rental
Submitted 13. Jul 2020
Excellent
My general and over all experience with the car and Northbound was good. I can recommend this firm and will contact them again myself if renting is needed.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 20. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
Everything was great. The people at Lagoon were very friendly and promptly picked us up and dropped us off at the airport. The car itself worked great and was in good condition. We had no problems with it. I would be happy to rent via Northbound and Lagoon again. Also, we had to change our plans a few times due to the airline changing our tickets from COVID. Northbound was very understanding when I needed to change our rental dates because of this and didn't add any hidden fees or rate changes because I needed to change dates. To me, this is a sign of a good company that I would be happy to use again as not all companies are so flexible. Nothing is more frustrating than having to argue with a company to change reservations for reasons out of your control (like flight changes from the current COVID pandemic).
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 24. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
I rarely leave reviews, but those guys deserve one. In a nutshell:
1. Exceptionally friendly customer support. Our flight home was cancelled and we had to return the car good 10 hours later than the agreement time. They okayed that on the phone and didn't charge extra money.
2. We got two flat tires. Yes, day after day. We split the costs with LCR even though our insurance didn't cover tires.
3. They don't care for minor chips or dust.
That's the way to do honest business.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 12. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
We had an excellent experience even thought the duster we initially rented started to get some issues with the 4wd system. After a quick call and mail they decided it would be fit to replace the car with an even more rugged kia sportsage which proved to be a seriously good car. I would recommend anyone to maybe leave the duster for what it is and go with something a bit more capable (like the sportage)
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 05. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
Our experience with Lagoon car rental was great! The staff were super nice and attentive. In fact, they were easily reachable by email whenever I needed them. The car we originally rented had been damaged by a previous renter so we had to settle for a car that was two years older. They gave us a router (we didn't use) for free. The Dacia Duster was amazing! We felt safe with the studded tires that we gave a workout to since the weather was very snowy. I am very thankful to have had such a great experience with Lagoon. I would use them again if I am ever lucky enough to return to the beautiful land of Iceland! I also loved the "Iceland 101" booklet that Northbound gave us online. I printed it and both my husband and I read it. Lots of useful information! We even brought it with us on our trip!
rented a vehicle in February 2020
Submitted 04. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
I really liked iceland even so i couldn't see the northern lights but I will come back probably next year

I really like your costumer service and for sure next time I will rent a car from you (a 4x4 for sure) since you offer a good price and nice customer service
rented a vehicle in February 2020
Submitted 12. Jan 2020
Outstanding!
Originally went for a small car, was a very simply process online to get an upgrade before flew over. Very friendly staff, apologised for any delay in pick up, was given a Kia Sportage upon arrival was very pleased with this, no issues with the car, very easy process! Would definitely go through northbound to hire a car again!
rented a vehicle in January 2020
Submitted 11. Jan 2020
Excellent
Dear Lagoon Car Rental members,
I've had an excellent experience with your company.

I have booked nice All Wheel Drive car for a good price which was good for winter conditions driving in Iceland.
Lagoon Car Rental provided transfer from airport to car rental location which was very convenient. Car was very clean as washed just before providing to me.

Overall I am happy with services.
As improvement points I would highlight:
- Windscreen wipers have been frozen when car provided to me (please, make sure they are dry after car has been washed);
- Difficult to check car conditions outside in winter time;
- It would be nice if car rental service member meet you on booked car from airport;
rented a vehicle in January 2020
Submitted 08. Jan 2020
Outstanding!
Instead of KIA Sorento, we got Nissan X Trail, because of some unexpected circumstances. For us even better. The car was fantastic.
rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 01. Jan 2020
Outstanding!
Everything went smooth. Good price, great service.
rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 03. Dec 2019
Outstanding!
Customer service was good. My advice to travelers is to check with your insurance company and think ahead about the level of coverage you want in Iceland.

The two vehicles we used were well maintained. We visited in the winter and I recommend you rent a vehicle studded tires during those months.

Johnny
rented a vehicle in November 2019
Submitted 05. Nov 2019
Outstanding!
Great service, pick up and drop off very quick and efficient. Driver from airport very friendly and helpful. Would be glad to use again.
Thank you!
rented a vehicle in October 2019
Submitted 31. Oct 2019
Outstanding!
The rental company was very accommodating. The previous renters had returned the vehicle in a damaged condition so they worked with us on a solution. Their resolution was very fair and agreeable.

The shuttle was easy to use, though we did have to wait longer than 20 minutes in the AM. I suspect that was due to the poor condition the previous re tees left the vehicle and was extenuating circumstances. I called the number as instructed and was greeted with a friendly voice that provided an accurate update.

I would certainly use this company again and recommend to others
rented a vehicle in October 2019
Submitted 28. Oct 2019
Excellent
The car rental was very easy and the price was pretty good compared to the competition. Friendly service, very little waiting, overall experience was great. The only mark against Northbound is that their shuttle van is not clearly marked so you are not sure who is picking you up until the driver gets to you inside the airport (which isn't a bad thing if the weather is nasty outside). With that being said once that was figured out the rest was quick and simple.
rented a vehicle in October 2019
Submitted 21. Oct 2019
Outstanding!
seamlessly. I recommend
rented a vehicle in October 2019
Submitted 13. Oct 2019
Outstanding!
车子不错,车行工作人员也很热心,推荐
rented a vehicle in October 2019
Submitted 20. Oct 2019
Excellent
The picking up and return of the car is so smooth, no hard sale on the add on insurance.
the car is a little bit wear out although it is a 2018 model. the overall experience is quite good.


rented a vehicle in October 2019
Submitted 16. Oct 2019
Outstanding!
Lagoon Car Rental was a great company. They answered all my questions quickly when I sent emails. The Sorento was perfect vehicle for our group
rented a vehicle in October 2019
Submitted 07. Oct 2019
Excellent
The Lagoon car was in good shape and ran well. Picking up the car was a fairly smooth process. The personnel running the shuttle and handling the turnover were polite and efficient, and were well-prepared to deal with the seven people in our party and the large amount of luggage. The only small problem was that we had been told we would be met at the gate when we arrived, not that we would be need to wait for a shuttle. Fortunately, one of your competitors at the gate let us know to expect that the shuttle would be arriving soon. Once the shuttle arrived, all went well.

Dropping off the car was a short and efficient process. We appreciated the representative's willingness to drive us from the office to the airport in the rental car rather than making us transfer to the shuttle.

We also appreciate the guidance we got from the Northbound rep Thordis on car selection, and her help in canceling the reservation I had made for a car that would have been too small. Northbound's customer service was quick and very helpful.
rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 05. Oct 2019
The customer service was not very good. They were late in picking us up. When got to the car rental place the outback we got had duct tape on front grill and made all kinds noise from underneath the car. We had rented a GPS and asked three different people to help us with it but none did. You needed the Icelandic words to input into the GPS. We did not use the GPS we used my phone for GPS. Do not rent the GPS is was a waste of money. They only had one van shuttling people between the airport, we had to wait for the shuttle to make another trip for us because we did not have enough room in the first shuttle. We waited 45 minutes from when we arrived at office to when we got on shuttle. Give yourself extra time to get to airport.
rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 04. Oct 2019
Good
Hey- I had a great experience in Iceland. I will say the guy at the counter when I first picked up the car could use some customer service tips: 1. Letting me know there is a helpful video to watch perhaps while I wait. 2 walking out with me to show me the car and go over any details that I might need to know- like making sure that I am familiar with reverse on that particular model. 3. Provide me with a map maybe of Reykjavik. 4. An indicator light came on during the trip and the manual suggested that I get the car to a dealer. I called and the person who answered told me that it was probably okay and that if I had trouble with the car they would suggest a garage.
The folks when I delivered the car back were wonderful and overall the car was fine but driving alone around the country with the indicator light on was a little disconcerting. Pick up at the airport was great. Communication was great via email. Hope this helps. I will recommend the company.
rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 06. Oct 2019
Outstanding!
Everything went fine
rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 01. Oct 2019
Outstanding!
The Renault Trafic was perfect size for our group of nine. It has plenty of room for our luggage. The large windows aloud all of us to witness the beauty of lceland.
The staff are very friendly and helpful as well
rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 22. Oct 2019
Good
Our experience with Lagoon Rental was good overall, but our arrival experience was quite stressful. We had arrived after a very long day of travel and two flights and waited quite a long time for their shuttle driver to come. We had to call several times and this was difficult as we did not have roaming for Iceland. They kept saying the person was coming, or had come, but it is a very small arrival area and their meeting place was in our sight the entire time. It is very hard when you have others in your group and you just want to get the car and get to your accommodations. When the shuttle driver did arrive there were several other people waiting and not everyone could fit in their van. They really need to do something about that. We advised them repeatedly that we were four adults with luggage. People in another group stayed behind and their driver was going to come back to get them. You do have to be very meticulous about identifying every tiny scratch or dent on the car. We had no problems with the car at all and the return was uneventful and we got a quick ride to the terminal but given our arrival situation, we had allowed over an hour for the return process. Our car was fine and in good condition. We had brought our own GPS but we discovered that the car actually had its own and it worked but the company never said a word to us about that.
rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 29. Sep 2019
Good
Good car corresponding we booked
rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 19. Sep 2019
Outstanding!
We had a perfect, very capable, 4x4 car without the unnecessary f-road restrictions some other rental companies impose. The vehicle was exactly what we expected. The short shuttle from and back to KEF was easy and convenient. The staff were friendly and helpful, and did not try to oversell unnecessary insurance, etc. We would definitely rent with Lagoon again.
rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 15. Sep 2019
Outstanding!
Everything was as expected, and we had no problem on the road with the car.
rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 10. Sep 2019
Outstanding!
everything cool! thank! but in the future I would like to be able to park my car in the airport parking lot
rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 19. Sep 2019
Good
The staff were busy on pickup and could have taken longer to explain things about the camper and how things worked. On the journey we discovered that there was no wrench to change the tire which we thought we would need as the warning indicator went off. Fortunately we were able to limp into town to get the tire fixed. We also found there was no curtain for the back window which meant we had lighter nights than we should but it wasn't really a problem. The camper also had three summer tires and one winter tire and it snowed on the last weekend. Overall a bit of attention to detail was lacking. The staff were very good on drop-off paid for the wrench and gave us half a day discount for the inconvenience.
rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 10. Sep 2019
Good
Hello,
All ok, the car worked with no major issues. The transfer from/to the airport was ok even when we arrived in a quite late flight.
As a recommendation, the 'low tire pressure' light turned on the second day, seems it is something common on the Dacia, so perhaps if the staff can advice in advance, the user does not worry if it happens.

BR
Benito
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 06. Sep 2019
Outstanding!
It was great except I never found the cruise control on this vehicle. Did it have cruise control?
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 03. Sep 2019
Outstanding!
To bad I could not bring back my car the last day to the city centre. for the rest good service. and lovely people.
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 01. Sep 2019
Outstanding!
I came across Lagoon Car Rental through Northbound.is so I’m not sure if they are related but, from the tons of options to rent a car, this one was the cheapest and the easiest to book. You can pre-book a car paying a very small amount and it has the best rates in the market for a 2WD Car as well as 4X4. I chose a 2WD (Kia Rio) and I ended getting a 2WD (Hyundai i20) which is similar. The car was great, maybe with some scratches, but it’s because it was white, and in iceland the wind is extremely heavy, so it’s easy to get hit by some stuff when you are on the road. The pick up at the airport was smooth, and the customer service amazing. I highly recommend this website and this Car Rental.
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 02. Sep 2019
Vehicle was OK. It was old and in pretty beat up condition. The front tires should not be in that vehicle as the drivers side was almost bald and the passenger side not much better. Hi nice you got over 85 km it would shake. I never really noticed due to the bad weather until the start of day 3 that was the problem. We had a short period of time to tour the island and I was not going to waste time trying to get a vehicle changes out when we were in the north east. I informed the rental peon when dropping by off and they made a very small concession in regards to waiving a $30 admin fee for missing the tunnel fee but otherwise was not really given any compensation for that part which was a fairly significant safety issue and slowed us down appt.
Keith
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 30. Aug 2019
Good
Car was just right for our needs.
Lagoon car rental were v helpful.
We were not offered any additional insurance which when we hired the car was ok. But we got a chip in the windscreen and it turns out this is a common thing in iceland, 5 cars a week at Lagoon. I had to pay 700eur. I would have liked to have been made aware of the high risk and the extra insurance available. This could have saved me over 600eur.
We went camping it would have made it easier to filter the facilities at each campsite so we could easily see those with kitchens and cooking facilities.
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 29. Aug 2019
Fine
The car went well and easy to handle. The pick up and drop off was quick. But we are not happy with the GPS. We couldn’t find the places we wanted to go. It always said no result was found. We asked for the refund but was rejected. I strongly feel that I shouldn’t pay for something that didn’t work.
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 27. Aug 2019
Good
We had a great experience in Iceland with Blue Lagoon Car Rental. When arrived at the Keflavik airport (at night, 00:30 am)we didn't see anyone of the rental so we called them and in less than 5 minutes they came to pick up us. The car was equipped with all we requested, the guy at the desk clearly gave us some important information about the driving in Iceland. Before picking up the car, we were able to check and flag in a paper all the scratches, dents, cracks, missings, exc already present in the car to avoid future misunderstanding.
The only flaw encountered during our trip was that the grill was unusable because of incorrect gas bottle dotation (however price of this service was not significant). We are happy to suggest Blue Lagoon to whoever wanna take a "on the road" trip in Iceland.
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 07. Sep 2019
Excellent
Everything went well. I think that your insurance policy must be enhanced. Too many options and some of them difficult to understand by someone that not knew Iceland and the country routes before.
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 24. Aug 2019
Good
It was okay considering it was an older used model. Perhaps some cleaning could be improved before renting to other customers
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 22. Aug 2019
Outstanding!
It was great. We were met promptly at airport and taken directly to the car rental site. The Kia Sportsge we rented was in great shape and perfect for my fanciful 5.
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 24. Aug 2019
Good
The Dacia Duster 4x4 was ok for Iceland. It is the right car also for route F.
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 29. Aug 2019
Good
The experience in general was good, a part from two things.
I suggest customer to check every optional included in the booking before leaving: we received only one gas canister instead of the two booked. When we checked everything, we were already in the north and not every shop sells the brand campingaz: the third night we couldn’t cook (I don’t think the gas canister they gave us was new and full, but already opened and new).
I suggest the company to check the car before give it to new customers: while we were in the north, it has been signaled by the car the absence of AdBlue: the car would have stopped in 1000 km. We had to go to the first “N1” shop to get AdBlue refill.
Fortunately, the assistance was really good and they always answered us in short time
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 19. Aug 2019
Good
Car was all good. They should remind you when car is due. After a long series of flights, details slip. Took 1 hour to get ride to airport after drop off and they need better office maintenance. Trash overflowing all cans and in bathrooms.
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 18. Aug 2019
Good
Hi ,
On the whole was pleased. The Subaru car was good. When we arrived we were disappointed that we had to wait 40 mins plus to get a shuttle to the car office. The the driver had to take some people before us , so we just had to sit around at the airport. Other than that it was fine . We chose Lagoon for the car and price .
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 19. Aug 2019
Good
We were met at the airport at the agreed time. We didn’t get a Hyundai i10. It was burning oil and Lagoon suggested that we take some oil with us. We declined this car. Lagoon gave us a Kia Picanto instead. This was fine but the delay cost us half an hour of our holiday. Both cars were covered in scratches so at least we didn’t have to worry about that. The car had done 100,000km already so not even remotely new...The staff were really pleasant.
On returning the car everything went smoothly except that the shuttle driver was stressed. We got halfway to the airport and then turned around and went back to pick up some more clients so this took much longer to get to the airport. In the end we arrived in good time but only because we arrived at the car hire place in lots of time.
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 26. Aug 2019
Fine
We have received a standard category service from Lagoon. The car was in good condition and the procedure was fast. We haven't had any problems, so I don't know if the attention would have been good. I must make an observation: I do not understand the reason why the cost of renting a standard roof box is 430 euros, when you can buy it in a store for less than 100 euros. It seems abusive.
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 21. Aug 2019
Outstanding!
Excellente location, voiture très agréable à conduire. Parfaite pour le camping et y dormir. Prise en charge rapide et efficace à l'arrivée et au retour de l'aéroport. Et personnel souriant et sympathique.
Aucune mauvaise surprise, je recommande !
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 15. Aug 2019
Good
The 2018 Dacia Duster that I was supposed to get had over 130 000 km on the meter! Assuming it had been in service since the end of 2017 - say for 700 days - this means 186 km EVERYDAY all year round... Car however robust, with a rather good suspension, but noisy. Staff at drop-off completely understaffed (no one at arrival at the Keflavik office, the guy was returning from his shuttle service to the terminal, with no one else in the office!)
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 16. Aug 2019
Excellent
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 19. Aug 2019
Outstanding!
It was great, everything worked fine.
rented a vehicle in August 2019