🌋 For the latest information on Iceland's volcanic activity click here

Reviews for
Lagoon Car Rental in Iceland

925 Reviews
9.08

Reviews

9.08
925 total reviews
Excellent
5-Star
77%
4-Star
18%
3-Star
3%
2-Star
2%
1-Star
0%

925 reviews for Lagoon Car Rental

Verified reviews from our customers that rented a car from Lagoon Car Rental

Submitted 13. Jul 2020
Excellent
My general and over all experience with the car and Northbound was good. I can recommend this firm and will contact them again myself if renting is needed.
Brian rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 20. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
Everything was great. The people at Lagoon were very friendly and promptly picked us up and dropped us off at the airport. The car itself worked great and was in good condition. We had no problems with it. I would be happy to rent via Northbound and Lagoon again. Also, we had to change our plans a few times due to the airline changing our tickets from COVID. Northbound was very understanding when I needed to change our rental dates because of this and didn't add any hidden fees or rate changes because I needed to change dates. To me, this is a sign of a good company that I would be happy to use again as not all companies are so flexible. Nothing is more frustrating than having to argue with a company to change reservations for reasons out of your control (like flight changes from the current COVID pandemic).
Jared rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 24. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
I rarely leave reviews, but those guys deserve one. In a nutshell: 1. Exceptionally friendly customer support. Our flight home was cancelled and we had to return the car good 10 hours later than the agreement time. They okayed that on the phone and didn't charge extra money. 2. We got two flat tires. Yes, day after day. We split the costs with LCR even though our insurance didn't cover tires. 3. They don't care for minor chips or dust. That's the way to do honest business.
Piotr rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 12. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
We had an excellent experience even thought the duster we initially rented started to get some issues with the 4wd system. After a quick call and mail they decided it would be fit to replace the car with an even more rugged kia sportsage which proved to be a seriously good car. I would recommend anyone to maybe leave the duster for what it is and go with something a bit more capable (like the sportage)
Bram rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 05. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
Our experience with Lagoon car rental was great! The staff were super nice and attentive. In fact, they were easily reachable by email whenever I needed them. The car we originally rented had been damaged by a previous renter so we had to settle for a car that was two years older. They gave us a router (we didn't use) for free. The Dacia Duster was amazing! We felt safe with the studded tires that we gave a workout to since the weather was very snowy. I am very thankful to have had such a great experience with Lagoon. I would use them again if I am ever lucky enough to return to the beautiful land of Iceland! I also loved the "Iceland 101" booklet that Northbound gave us online. I printed it and both my husband and I read it. Lots of useful information! We even brought it with us on our trip!
Bethany rented a vehicle in February 2020
Submitted 04. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
I really liked iceland even so i couldn't see the northern lights but I will come back probably next year I really like your costumer service and for sure next time I will rent a car from you (a 4x4 for sure) since you offer a good price and nice customer service
Kassami rented a vehicle in February 2020
Submitted 12. Jan 2020
Outstanding!
Originally went for a small car, was a very simply process online to get an upgrade before flew over. Very friendly staff, apologised for any delay in pick up, was given a Kia Sportage upon arrival was very pleased with this, no issues with the car, very easy process! Would definitely go through northbound to hire a car again!
Jack rented a vehicle in January 2020
Submitted 11. Jan 2020
Excellent
Dear Lagoon Car Rental members, I've had an excellent experience with your company. I have booked nice All Wheel Drive car for a good price which was good for winter conditions driving in Iceland. Lagoon Car Rental provided transfer from airport to car rental location which was very convenient. Car was very clean as washed just before providing to me. Overall I am happy with services. As improvement points I would highlight: - Windscreen wipers have been frozen when car provided to me (please, make sure they are dry after car has been washed); - Difficult to check car conditions outside in winter time; - It would be nice if car rental service member meet you on booked car from airport;
Roman rented a vehicle in January 2020
Submitted 08. Jan 2020
Outstanding!
Instead of KIA Sorento, we got Nissan X Trail, because of some unexpected circumstances. For us even better. The car was fantastic.
Grzegorz rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 01. Jan 2020
Outstanding!
Everything went smooth. Good price, great service.
Ruben rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 03. Dec 2019
Outstanding!
Customer service was good. My advice to travelers is to check with your insurance company and think ahead about the level of coverage you want in Iceland. The two vehicles we used were well maintained. We visited in the winter and I recommend you rent a vehicle studded tires during those months. Johnny
John rented a vehicle in November 2019
Submitted 05. Nov 2019
Outstanding!
Great service, pick up and drop off very quick and efficient. Driver from airport very friendly and helpful. Would be glad to use again. Thank you!
Anwen rented a vehicle in October 2019
Submitted 31. Oct 2019
Outstanding!
The rental company was very accommodating. The previous renters had returned the vehicle in a damaged condition so they worked with us on a solution. Their resolution was very fair and agreeable. The shuttle was easy to use, though we did have to wait longer than 20 minutes in the AM. I suspect that was due to the poor condition the previous re tees left the vehicle and was extenuating circumstances. I called the number as instructed and was greeted with a friendly voice that provided an accurate update. I would certainly use this company again and recommend to others
Sarah rented a vehicle in October 2019
Submitted 28. Oct 2019
Excellent
The car rental was very easy and the price was pretty good compared to the competition. Friendly service, very little waiting, overall experience was great. The only mark against Northbound is that their shuttle van is not clearly marked so you are not sure who is picking you up until the driver gets to you inside the airport (which isn't a bad thing if the weather is nasty outside). With that being said once that was figured out the rest was quick and simple.
Joshua rented a vehicle in October 2019
Submitted 21. Oct 2019
Outstanding!
seamlessly. I recommend
Michaela rented a vehicle in October 2019
Submitted 13. Oct 2019
Outstanding!
车子不错,车行工作人员也很热心,推荐
Lan rented a vehicle in October 2019
Submitted 20. Oct 2019
Excellent
The picking up and return of the car is so smooth, no hard sale on the add on insurance. the car is a little bit wear out although it is a 2018 model. the overall experience is quite good.
Koon fung rented a vehicle in October 2019
Submitted 16. Oct 2019
Outstanding!
Lagoon Car Rental was a great company. They answered all my questions quickly when I sent emails. The Sorento was perfect vehicle for our group
Celia rented a vehicle in October 2019
Submitted 07. Oct 2019
Excellent
The Lagoon car was in good shape and ran well. Picking up the car was a fairly smooth process. The personnel running the shuttle and handling the turnover were polite and efficient, and were well-prepared to deal with the seven people in our party and the large amount of luggage. The only small problem was that we had been told we would be met at the gate when we arrived, not that we would be need to wait for a shuttle. Fortunately, one of your competitors at the gate let us know to expect that the shuttle would be arriving soon. Once the shuttle arrived, all went well. Dropping off the car was a short and efficient process. We appreciated the representative's willingness to drive us from the office to the airport in the rental car rather than making us transfer to the shuttle. We also appreciate the guidance we got from the Northbound rep Thordis on car selection, and her help in canceling the reservation I had made for a car that would have been too small. Northbound's customer service was quick and very helpful.
William rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 05. Oct 2019
The customer service was not very good. They were late in picking us up. When got to the car rental place the outback we got had duct tape on front grill and made all kinds noise from underneath the car. We had rented a GPS and asked three different people to help us with it but none did. You needed the Icelandic words to input into the GPS. We did not use the GPS we used my phone for GPS. Do not rent the GPS is was a waste of money. They only had one van shuttling people between the airport, we had to wait for the shuttle to make another trip for us because we did not have enough room in the first shuttle. We waited 45 minutes from when we arrived at office to when we got on shuttle. Give yourself extra time to get to airport.
Frank rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 04. Oct 2019
Good
Hey- I had a great experience in Iceland. I will say the guy at the counter when I first picked up the car could use some customer service tips: 1. Letting me know there is a helpful video to watch perhaps while I wait. 2 walking out with me to show me the car and go over any details that I might need to know- like making sure that I am familiar with reverse on that particular model. 3. Provide me with a map maybe of Reykjavik. 4. An indicator light came on during the trip and the manual suggested that I get the car to a dealer. I called and the person who answered told me that it was probably okay and that if I had trouble with the car they would suggest a garage. The folks when I delivered the car back were wonderful and overall the car was fine but driving alone around the country with the indicator light on was a little disconcerting. Pick up at the airport was great. Communication was great via email. Hope this helps. I will recommend the company.
Traci rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 06. Oct 2019
Outstanding!
Everything went fine
Dorothee rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 01. Oct 2019
Outstanding!
The Renault Trafic was perfect size for our group of nine. It has plenty of room for our luggage. The large windows aloud all of us to witness the beauty of lceland. The staff are very friendly and helpful as well
Jodi rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 22. Oct 2019
Good
Our experience with Lagoon Rental was good overall, but our arrival experience was quite stressful. We had arrived after a very long day of travel and two flights and waited quite a long time for their shuttle driver to come. We had to call several times and this was difficult as we did not have roaming for Iceland. They kept saying the person was coming, or had come, but it is a very small arrival area and their meeting place was in our sight the entire time. It is very hard when you have others in your group and you just want to get the car and get to your accommodations. When the shuttle driver did arrive there were several other people waiting and not everyone could fit in their van. They really need to do something about that. We advised them repeatedly that we were four adults with luggage. People in another group stayed behind and their driver was going to come back to get them. You do have to be very meticulous about identifying every tiny scratch or dent on the car. We had no problems with the car at all and the return was uneventful and we got a quick ride to the terminal but given our arrival situation, we had allowed over an hour for the return process. Our car was fine and in good condition. We had brought our own GPS but we discovered that the car actually had its own and it worked but the company never said a word to us about that.
Mark rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 29. Sep 2019
Good
Good car corresponding we booked
Audrey rented a vehicle in September 2019

Why book through Northbound?

Best Price Guarantee

If you find the same vehicle from the same supplier elsewhere, we'll match the price with no added or hidden fees

No Hidden Fees

We do not add any fees on top of your final price, what you see is what you get!

Free Cancellation

We will cancel your booking on request, no questions asked, provided there are more than 48 hours until the pickup date.

Customer Support

We deliver fast responses to your queries with a very high customer satisfaction rating

Dispute Support

Should a dispute arise between you and the supplier, we serve as an intermediary between the two of you, guaranteeing you a response and a conclusion to the issue.