Reviews for Arctic Car Rental

Hi, we were satisfied with the car, and the service.

Jacqueline from Israel
Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2019 and rented a 2017 Toyota Yaris

Great customer support and service on my recent rental from Attic Car Rental. The car was exactly what we requested, clean and full of gas. Everyone was super friendly and and the pick up and drop off process was quick and efficient. I'll be renting from them again on my next trip to Iceland.

Jordan from Canada
Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Efficient and good value. Nice car in good condition.

Kenneth from New Zealand
Traveled to Iceland in Apr 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

View all cars from this company

Click here

Excellent! Pick up to and from the airport was quick and easy. Staff were quick and friendly . We would definitely use them again

Nicola from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Jan 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Overal it was a pleasant experience and we are very satisfied with the car and friedlyness of the staff, the hand over of the car and the return of the car was quick and easy. A few points to improve: At the airport you cannot see artic signage on the noticebaord where all the rental car company are listed nor had the shuttle bus driver any idea where your company was located only after we enquired with several people. By that time the bus was full and we where left out in the cold and had to wait another 20 minutes for the next bus. Another annoyance was the orange wrench which showed up when you turned on the car together with another sign. I asked your staff and they mentioned it need some service to change oil at 31.000 km and the car had only about 23.900 km. Later when we checked the information booklet it said it was the tire pressure which we could not reset nor do it at the gas station...

Agnes from Germany
Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a 2017 Hyundai i20

We had an upgrade to a Jeep Renegade instead - it had everything we needed (including a heated steering wheel!)

Claire from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Free Cancellation & Amendments

Renting through Northbound was not only less expensive than any of the other rental companies I found in Iceland, the vehicle was great, the staff was professional, and the entire process was convenient. I would absolutely recommend renting through them and will 100% be renting through them on my next trip to Iceland. Thanks Northbound!

Patrick from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Jimny

Northbound and Arctic Car Rental were both great. I’d read hundreds of reviews from people having had horror stories with car rental companies around Keflavik airport and I honestly can’t see how that could have happened. Our experience was seamless. Arctic were professional and great value. Northbound provided a great rental comparison service and I will recommend this method to everyone. Only minor comment is that the Arctic Car Rental logo doesn’t show up on the many signs around the airport, only on the shuttle bus itself. However, they share an office with (or are possibly a subsidiary of) Geysir so just follow those signs instead!

Adam from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Hello Runar Thor ,
I am very pleased that I was given the opportunity to express my opinion on the subject of car rental from a company ARCTIC.
First of all, I thank the company that allowed us for the same amount paid to take the car earlier in 3 hours.
I was supposed to take the car to the central bus station, but the landlady where I rented an apartment helped us call the company and it turned out that we would get the car elsewhere in another company called GEYSIR.
On my first reservation I asked for a vehicle from the last two years and got a car with a mileage of 132,000 kilometers in my estimation a slightly older car.
When I received the car I asked 2 first requests that someone would come and explain to me about the car even though I had an active license for the past 48 years and second thing I asked for an address where to return the car at the airport.
When I left the city in the direction of our trip, I noticed an orange light on the central display, and since I was not a mechanic, I was a bit frightened, but since the bulb was orange and not red, I continued the trip until the evening we arrived at the town Hella...

Eli from Israel
Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2018 and rented a 2016 Mitsubishi Outlander

Not Good:
- The checking of the car must be improved before leaving it to customers. It is not normal to get a car with a tyre completely out of order. In our case, a tyre exploded 1 day after getting the car. It happens as we were at low speed, but it could have been much more dangerous at 90 km/h. We saw with the garage manager that the tyre was was really very worn.

Good :
- web site for booking the car
- organization to get and return the car
- agreement with garage in case of issue.

herve from France
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

We rented two Dacia Dusters for a week. Both were good cars andere Ideal for Iceland.
We rented at Arctic. Good to know the pick-up is at the building from Geysir.

Sander from Netherlands
Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

It was fine, just what we needed.

Joanne from United States
Traveled to Iceland in May 2018 and rented a 2017 Hyundai i10

Elrick from Canada
Traveled to Iceland in May 2018 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Actually i didn't get the Suzuki Grand Vitara, instead we did get a Toyota RAV4. But it was a great car, we were able to go anywhere we wanted without any problems.

Joris from Netherlands
Traveled to Iceland in May 2018 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Grand Vitara

We were a bit disappointed when the consultant at your check in desk tried to get us to hire a GPS as an extra, when there was an inbuilt satnav fitted to the vehicle. Also the passenger side windscreen wiper was torn, making it unsuitable for clearing the constant rain from the window and the headlights were badly misaligned. These faults were quite an oversight from your maintenance technicians.

Leigh from Australia
Traveled to Iceland in Apr 2018 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

The reviews were really impressive but I wasn't blown away or anything. I thought it would be more smooth with the entire rental process from start to finish. Not that it wasn't smooth but I thought it'd be super amazing because of all the reviews. Also, our USB conked out in the middle of the week and so we couldn't play music anymore. Also, we didn't have a Toyota Yaris, it was "upgraded" to a Toyota Auris.

Stefany from Canada
Traveled to Iceland in Apr 2018 and rented a 2017 Toyota Yaris

Free Cancellation & Amendments

Our flight was nearly an hour late but the shuttle transport driver was waiting for us. Great first impression. He was polite, friendly and courteous. Rare qualities. On arrival at the pick-up office it turned out he was a member of the staff behind the counter, not just a driver looking for a tip. Everything was explained in perfect English and off we went. Driving to Geysir I noticed a warning light on the dashboard that indicated a tyre problem. I rang the office and was directed to a nearby garage. The mechanic checked the Duster, took it for a test drive and stated "There's nothing wrong, these cars do that!". Seven uneventful (car wise) days later I was waiting outside the office at 4.30am to drop the car off at 5am and a member of staff was arriving for work. I explained I had an early flight and asked if I could get my paperwork done first. "I can do that now" she said...

Robert from Ireland
Traveled to Iceland in Apr 2018 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

We got an upgrade to a Grand Vitara. That was a great luck as we drove more than 3000 km and the Vitara was very comfortable. Great service, no problems at all, fast handover at the airport. 100% recommendation ;-)

Ralf from Germany
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2017

There were no issues, everything went smoothly from airport pick-up to return.

David from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2017 and rented a 2017 Hyundai i20

Evewrything as expected, very nice handover of car at the airport. Will certainly recommend to others.

Ketil from Norway
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2017 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Grand Vitara

good service
car at the hotel the morning of arrival
we rent a dacia duster, very good small 4WD no problem during our 3 weeks journey in Iceland, very low gasoline consomption

jean marc from France
Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2017 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

It was excellent, I strongly recommend renting from this company. Although I made a mistake on pick up time, the company accommodated the change rapidly.

Elizabeth from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2017

I am happy with the decision I made renting the Hyundai i10 but I would like to mark that first days of my trip I had some problems with the air pressure on the tyres.
Even after few stops at the gas station to fix the problem with the air pumps, the warning signal on the dashboard continued enlighted. Fortunately, it seems that after two days, the problem was solved and I had no more issues with the car.

Jorge from Spain
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2017 and rented a 2017 Hyundai i10

Everything was fine, we could easily find a person from company after arrival (even it was late night) and car which had was great after all. Half star down is for that, we had different car (new Grand Vitara) then we order (older Suzuki Jimmy) - actually it worked for us, but might not for others. Better to let us know that this car is not availible in advance then be surprised than try to persuade us that giving us better model.

Stepan from Czech Republic
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2017

View all cars from this company

Click here

Everything was fine. We picked the car up at the airport and even got a free upgrade to a Vitara, instead of the Jimny. Left the car at the airport on our way back, very easy procedure.

Jennifer from Germany
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2017

We had a friendly pick up at the airport from Arctic. The car was as described. We rented the car for 4 weeks and received a discount. The contact by email with Northbound was fast and friendly. We would choose Northbound and Arctic car rental again.

Marco

Marco from Germany
Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2017 and rented a 2015 Toyota RAV4

Very good, easy

Nicholas from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2017

It went well. The car was a little small as we had a lot of gear, but it was fine.

Tim from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2017 and rented a 2017 Hyundai i10

Very satisfied with experience of both Northbound and Arctic Car rental from choice of cars, prices and to agent meeting us at airport, taking us to our car and explaining all the necessary information new drivers to Iceland need to know. Car was very good and returning was easy just dropping off just outside departures at Keflavik airport. Would definitely use this service again. Steven

Steven from Singapore
Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2017 and rented a 2017 Hyundai i20

Good, the car was delivered right on time and performed perfectly.

Michael from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2017 and rented a 2016 Nissan Qashqai