Reviews for Arctic Car Rental in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for Arctic Car Rental
Submitted 13. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Perfect little Aygo, took us all the way up to the north and back. Perfect service, left my wallet in the car at delivery, locked it and threw the key in the box, but within 10 minutes I was helped out . Much appreciated and well done.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 22. Aug 2019
Excellent
Good service. Quick. No issue at return.
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 22. Aug 2019
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 13. Aug 2019
We were not informed, that our booked car was not available due to an accident they day before. We got ‘slightly’ smaller car for 40€ less. But the smaller car was too small for our intentions so we asked for a swap. We were offered a bigger car in Reykjavik Downtown. So we had to re-arrange all our plans to get the car. The new car was a Ford Kugar in a very bad shape!!! Front tires extremely worn down to a minimum (which I told on return, but the assistant only asked if it was flat, if not, there wasn’t a problem). Seems like there is no rain, no wet roads, no aquaplaning on Iceland? The whole car was squeaking form inside. The fuel usage was enormously, 11l/100km while normal driving at 90km/h maximum! Half a fuel tank lastet for about 150-200km. Rear brakes where squeaking and making scratching metal noises also a lot. We choose intentionally a local rental company to support local rental companies. Never again Geysir Rental!!!
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 26. Aug 2019
Good
We had a Ford Kuga
Was alright, enought space and easy to drive.
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 17. Aug 2019
Outstanding!
Our experience was very good. The procedure to take the car was quick and easy. The car was ok and we had a very good trip with our Nissan Qashqai. The only problem we faced is the fact that we could not find Arctic Car Rental offices (despite the fact that the name appeared on the shuttle bus that took us from the airport) and we were told that is now GEYSIR. We advise you to inform customers about this change. Moreover I want to say that your price was very competitive.
rented a vehicle in July 2019
Submitted 25. Jul 2019
Good
It was ok. One problem was that a building taking care of arctic rental did not have "Arctic" sign at all. So, it was a bit confusind to find right building. Car was a bit weared, it had engine Light on and something was maybe loose in front suspension. But, car was a budget car, I guess, so kind of ok for me as I am very experienced person with cars. Someone else could complain...
rented a vehicle in July 2019
Submitted 05. Aug 2019
Excellent
The car was very good. The right choice for the highlands.
rented a vehicle in July 2019
Submitted 30. Jul 2019
Good
rented a vehicle in July 2019
Submitted 15. Jul 2019
Fine
I was overall happy with the customer service provided and I ordered an I20 or equivalent but I received a Fiat Panda which in my mind is not an equivalent car to an I20. Much smaller. I raised this with the person who served me to be only told it was an upgrade! Service and communication was good though so my only negative comments was the car I received which in my mind was not an equivalent.
rented a vehicle in July 2019
Submitted 24. Jun 2019
Outstanding!
Great customer support and service on my recent rental from Attic Car Rental. The car was exactly what we requested, clean and full of gas. Everyone was super friendly and and the pick up and drop off process was quick and efficient. I'll be renting from them again on my next trip to Iceland.
rented a vehicle in June 2019
Submitted 23. Jun 2019
Outstanding!
Hi, we were satisfied with the car, and the service.
rented a vehicle in June 2019
Submitted 08. Apr 2019
Outstanding!
Efficient and good value. Nice car in good condition.
rented a vehicle in April 2019
Submitted 14. Mar 2019
Outstanding!
We had an upgrade to a Jeep Renegade instead - it had everything we needed (including a heated steering wheel!)
rented a vehicle in March 2019
Submitted 24. Feb 2019
Excellent
Overal it was a pleasant experience and we are very satisfied with the car and friedlyness of the staff, the hand over of the car and the return of the car was quick and easy. A few points to improve: At the airport you cannot see artic signage on the noticebaord where all the rental car company are listed nor had the shuttle bus driver any idea where your company was located only after we enquired with several people. By that time the bus was full and we where left out in the cold and had to wait another 20 minutes for the next bus. Another annoyance was the orange wrench which showed up when you turned on the car together with another sign. I asked your staff and they mentioned it need some service to change oil at 31.000 km and the car had only about 23.900 km. Later when we checked the information booklet it said it was the tire pressure which we could not reset nor do it at the gas station. Either they didn't have the the tool or it was looked somewhere. We where a bit worried as we drove through isolated roads and areas. It would be nice if your staff would fix this kind of problem before rentign it out or hand out another car to your clients.
rented a vehicle in February 2019
Submitted 18. Feb 2019
Fine
Actually was a dacia duster. No snow tires.
rented a vehicle in February 2019
Submitted 20. Feb 2019
Outstanding!
Renting through Northbound was not only less expensive than any of the other rental companies I found in Iceland, the vehicle was great, the staff was professional, and the entire process was convenient. I would absolutely recommend renting through them and will 100% be renting through them on my next trip to Iceland. Thanks Northbound!
rented a vehicle in February 2019
Submitted 15. Feb 2019
Outstanding!
Excellent! Pick up to and from the airport was quick and easy. Staff were quick and friendly . We would definitely use them again
rented a vehicle in January 2019
Submitted 15. Nov 2018
Outstanding!
Northbound and Arctic Car Rental were both great. I’d read hundreds of reviews from people having had horror stories with car rental companies around Keflavik airport and I honestly can’t see how that could have happened. Our experience was seamless. Arctic were professional and great value. Northbound provided a great rental comparison service and I will recommend this method to everyone. Only minor comment is that the Arctic Car Rental logo doesn’t show up on the many signs around the airport, only on the shuttle bus itself. However, they share an office with (or are possibly a subsidiary of) Geysir so just follow those signs instead!
rented a vehicle in November 2018
Submitted 17. Sep 2018
Not Good:
- The checking of the car must be improved before leaving it to customers. It is not normal to get a car with a tyre completely out of order. In our case, a tyre exploded 1 day after getting the car. It happens as we were at low speed, but it could have been much more dangerous at 90 km/h. We saw with the garage manager that the tyre was was really very worn.

Good :
- web site for booking the car
- organization to get and return the car
- agreement with garage in case of issue.
rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 26. Aug 2018
Excellent
We rented two Dacia Dusters for a week. Both were good cars andere Ideal for Iceland.
We rented at Arctic. Good to know the pick-up is at the building from Geysir.
rented a vehicle in August 2018
Submitted 17. Jul 2018
Fine
Hello Runar Thor ,
I am very pleased that I was given the opportunity to express my opinion on the subject of car rental from a company ARCTIC.
First of all, I thank the company that allowed us for the same amount paid to take the car earlier in 3 hours.
I was supposed to take the car to the central bus station, but the landlady where I rented an apartment helped us call the company and it turned out that we would get the car elsewhere in another company called GEYSIR.
On my first reservation I asked for a vehicle from the last two years and got a car with a mileage of 132,000 kilometers in my estimation a slightly older car.
When I received the car I asked 2 first requests that someone would come and explain to me about the car even though I had an active license for the past 48 years and second thing I asked for an address where to return the car at the airport.
When I left the city in the direction of our trip, I noticed an orange light on the central display, and since I was not a mechanic, I was a bit frightened, but since the bulb was orange and not red, I continued the trip until the evening we arrived at the town Hella.
The subject of the orange bulb gave me no rest and with the help of the hotel I was in, they called the company and the company said it was a sign that the car should be treated soon. I think whoever gave the car should have let me know. In addition the car made noises in all kinds of places, because in my opinion I got a relatively old car. The trip ended after nearly 2800 km we were happy that everything went well with the car, because we were a little worried throughout the trip,
Geyser gave us the wrong address to return the car in the field, but thanks to another rental company that helped and called where to return the car. We returned the car at the airport 25 minutes later, to our delight we received confirmation that the vehicle was OK.
In summary: Apparently you have to pay more for a good new car.
Please note that the people who give up the vehicle please do not send the renanl alone to the car, but always accompany the renanl to explain to mention the defects, because it shows a serious company that cares about the renants.
rented a vehicle in July 2018
Submitted 04. Jun 2018
Outstanding!
It was fine, just what we needed.
rented a vehicle in May 2018
Submitted 27. May 2018
Excellent
rented a vehicle in May 2018
Submitted 24. May 2018
Excellent
Actually i didn't get the Suzuki Grand Vitara, instead we did get a Toyota RAV4. But it was a great car, we were able to go anywhere we wanted without any problems.
rented a vehicle in May 2018
Submitted 30. Apr 2018
Excellent
The reviews were really impressive but I wasn't blown away or anything. I thought it would be more smooth with the entire rental process from start to finish. Not that it wasn't smooth but I thought it'd be super amazing because of all the reviews. Also, our USB conked out in the middle of the week and so we couldn't play music anymore. Also, we didn't have a Toyota Yaris, it was "upgraded" to a Toyota Auris.
rented a vehicle in April 2018
Submitted 21. Apr 2018
Outstanding!
Our flight was nearly an hour late but the shuttle transport driver was waiting for us. Great first impression. He was polite, friendly and courteous. Rare qualities. On arrival at the pick-up office it turned out he was a member of the staff behind the counter, not just a driver looking for a tip. Everything was explained in perfect English and off we went. Driving to Geysir I noticed a warning light on the dashboard that indicated a tyre problem. I rang the office and was directed to a nearby garage. The mechanic checked the Duster, took it for a test drive and stated "There's nothing wrong, these cars do that!". Seven uneventful (car wise) days later I was waiting outside the office at 4.30am to drop the car off at 5am and a member of staff was arriving for work. I explained I had an early flight and asked if I could get my paperwork done first. "I can do that now" she said. Polite, friendly, courteous. Apparently this is a new company! I couldn't recommend them highly enough. It was a pleasure to deal with them.
rented a vehicle in April 2018
Submitted 24. Apr 2018
Good
We were a bit disappointed when the consultant at your check in desk tried to get us to hire a GPS as an extra, when there was an inbuilt satnav fitted to the vehicle. Also the passenger side windscreen wiper was torn, making it unsuitable for clearing the constant rain from the window and the headlights were badly misaligned. These faults were quite an oversight from your maintenance technicians.
rented a vehicle in April 2018
Submitted 25. Sep 2017
Good
I am happy with the decision I made renting the Hyundai i10 but I would like to mark that first days of my trip I had some problems with the air pressure on the tyres.
Even after few stops at the gas station to fix the problem with the air pumps, the warning signal on the dashboard continued enlighted. Fortunately, it seems that after two days, the problem was solved and I had no more issues with the car.
rented a vehicle in September 2017
Submitted 27. Nov 2017
Outstanding!
There were no issues, everything went smoothly from airport pick-up to return.
rented a vehicle in September 2017
Submitted 04. Oct 2017
Outstanding!
Evewrything as expected, very nice handover of car at the airport. Will certainly recommend to others.
rented a vehicle in September 2017
Submitted 21. Sep 2017
Excellent
Everything was fine, we could easily find a person from company after arrival (even it was late night) and car which had was great after all. Half star down is for that, we had different car (new Grand Vitara) then we order (older Suzuki Jimmy) - actually it worked for us, but might not for others. Better to let us know that this car is not availible in advance then be surprised than try to persuade us that giving us better model.
rented a vehicle in September 2017
Submitted 19. Sep 2017
Outstanding!
Everything was fine. We picked the car up at the airport and even got a free upgrade to a Vitara, instead of the Jimny. Left the car at the airport on our way back, very easy procedure.
rented a vehicle in September 2017
Submitted 11. Dec 2017
Outstanding!
We got an upgrade to a Grand Vitara. That was a great luck as we drove more than 3000 km and the Vitara was very comfortable. Great service, no problems at all, fast handover at the airport. 100% recommendation ;-)
rented a vehicle in September 2017
Submitted 15. Sep 2017
Outstanding!
Very good, easy
rented a vehicle in September 2017
Submitted 13. Sep 2017
Excellent
It went well. The car was a little small as we had a lot of gear, but it was fine.
rented a vehicle in August 2017
Submitted 09. Sep 2017
Outstanding!
I had a great experience with Northbound rentals. We were upgrade to a Grand Vitara upon arrival as they were a bit late with the airport pick up. But everything went smoothly and the pick up and drop off at the airport was so easy! Will definitely rent from them again!
rented a vehicle in August 2017
Submitted 29. Sep 2017
Outstanding!
It was excellent, I strongly recommend renting from this company. Although I made a mistake on pick up time, the company accommodated the change rapidly.
rented a vehicle in August 2017
Submitted 09. Sep 2017
Outstanding!
Good, the car was delivered right on time and performed perfectly.
rented a vehicle in August 2017
Submitted 08. Sep 2017
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in August 2017
Submitted 30. Aug 2017
Good
Great thing was that the agent was waiting for us at the airport with the car keys,and we returned the car at the airport without any problems. but we have rented car 2015 Hyundai I-20 or similar, so we thougt what car will be of second generation, but it was of first. also car tyres was about 1mm of tread and i think that its not enough because rainy roads, but agent said its ok.
rented a vehicle in August 2017
Submitted 06. Sep 2017
Outstanding!
I must say that your service is amazing. The prices were the best I could find on the web.
I have always received prompt and clear answers to my questions.
The car was in perfect condition and I will reccomend this service to all the people who are intended to rent a car in Iceland.
rented a vehicle in August 2017
Submitted 11. Sep 2017
Outstanding!
Very satisfied with experience of both Northbound and Arctic Car rental from choice of cars, prices and to agent meeting us at airport, taking us to our car and explaining all the necessary information new drivers to Iceland need to know. Car was very good and returning was easy just dropping off just outside departures at Keflavik airport. Would definitely use this service again. Steven
rented a vehicle in August 2017
Submitted 24. Aug 2017
Outstanding!
Everything was excellent, we got a car right time and right place and we didnt have any problem with car and services.
rented a vehicle in August 2017
Submitted 28. Aug 2017
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in August 2017
Submitted 02. Sep 2017
Excellent
My general experience was good. The checkin was smooth and quick. The car was in great condition and gave no problem throughout my rental.
The only area of improvement is the car return. As per instructions, I left the car in the parking with keys on: although "it is assured against theft", anyone could have taken it for a ride, use the fuel or damage it, park it back, and I would be liable for all they do. This is not good, and I recommend you set up a safer method for returning the car; I understand you cannot have personnel there all the time, but maybe just a safe box where to leave the keys upon return would do. If you don't have an office there, perhaps you could have an agreement with one of the bars/shops in the airport: all you need is a small box, and then you can collect keys at your convenience.
rented a vehicle in August 2017
Submitted 26. Aug 2017
Outstanding!
Very good car for a five persons family road trip in Iceland.
rented a vehicle in August 2017
Submitted 01. Oct 2017
Outstanding!
good service
car at the hotel the morning of arrival
we rent a dacia duster, very good small 4WD no problem during our 3 weeks journey in Iceland, very low gasoline consomption
rented a vehicle in August 2017
Submitted 15. Sep 2017
Outstanding!
We had a friendly pick up at the airport from Arctic. The car was as described. We rented the car for 4 weeks and received a discount. The contact by email with Northbound was fast and friendly. We would choose Northbound and Arctic car rental again.

Marco
rented a vehicle in August 2017
Submitted 14. Aug 2017
Outstanding!
The trip in Iceland was very nice, because of primera flight cancel it was too short.
We were very satisfied with Arctic Car Rental...New car economic just what we needed.
The agent was waiting for us with the car keys, he explained us everything and at the we returned the car at the airport.
rented a vehicle in August 2017