Reviews for Arctic Car Rental

Northbound and Arctic Car Rental were both great. I’d read hundreds of reviews from people having had horror stories with car rental companies around Keflavik airport and I honestly can’t see how that could have happened. Our experience was seamless. Arctic were professional and great value. Northbound provided a great rental comparison service and I will recommend this method to everyone. Only minor comment is that the Arctic Car Rental logo doesn’t show up on the many signs around the airport, only on the shuttle bus itself. However, they share an office with (or are possibly a subsidiary of) Geysir so just follow those signs instead!

Adam from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Hello Runar Thor ,
I am very pleased that I was given the opportunity to express my opinion on the subject of car rental from a company ARCTIC.
First of all, I thank the company that allowed us for the same amount paid to take the car earlier in 3 hours.
I was supposed to take the car to the central bus station, but the landlady where I rented an apartment helped us call the company and it turned out that we would get the car elsewhere in another company called GEYSIR.
On my first reservation I asked for a vehicle from the last two years and got a car with a mileage of 132,000 kilometers in my estimation a slightly older car.
When I received the car I asked 2 first requests that someone would come and explain to me about the car even though I had an active license for the past 48 years and second thing I asked for an address where to return the car at the airport.
When I left the city in the direction of our trip, I noticed an orange light on the central display, and since I was not a mechanic, I was a bit frightened, but since the bulb was orange and not red, I continued the trip until the evening we arrived at the town Hella...

Eli from Israel
Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2018 and rented a 2016 Mitsubishi Outlander

Not Good:
- The checking of the car must be improved before leaving it to customers. It is not normal to get a car with a tyre completely out of order. In our case, a tyre exploded 1 day after getting the car. It happens as we were at low speed, but it could have been much more dangerous at 90 km/h. We saw with the garage manager that the tyre was was really very worn.

Good :
- web site for booking the car
- organization to get and return the car
- agreement with garage in case of issue.

herve from France
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

We rented two Dacia Dusters for a week. Both were good cars andere Ideal for Iceland.
We rented at Arctic. Good to know the pick-up is at the building from Geysir.

Sander from Netherlands
Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

It was fine, just what we needed.

Joanne from United States
Traveled to Iceland in May 2018 and rented a 2016 Hyundai i10

Elrick from Canada
Traveled to Iceland in May 2018 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Actually i didn't get the Suzuki Grand Vitara, instead we did get a Toyota RAV4. But it was a great car, we were able to go anywhere we wanted without any problems.

Joris from Netherlands
Traveled to Iceland in May 2018 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Grand Vitara

We were a bit disappointed when the consultant at your check in desk tried to get us to hire a GPS as an extra, when there was an inbuilt satnav fitted to the vehicle. Also the passenger side windscreen wiper was torn, making it unsuitable for clearing the constant rain from the window and the headlights were badly misaligned. These faults were quite an oversight from your maintenance technicians.

Leigh from Australia
Traveled to Iceland in Apr 2018 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

The reviews were really impressive but I wasn't blown away or anything. I thought it would be more smooth with the entire rental process from start to finish. Not that it wasn't smooth but I thought it'd be super amazing because of all the reviews. Also, our USB conked out in the middle of the week and so we couldn't play music anymore. Also, we didn't have a Toyota Yaris, it was "upgraded" to a Toyota Auris.

Stefany from Canada
Traveled to Iceland in Apr 2018 and rented a 2017 Toyota Yaris

Our flight was nearly an hour late but the shuttle transport driver was waiting for us. Great first impression. He was polite, friendly and courteous. Rare qualities. On arrival at the pick-up office it turned out he was a member of the staff behind the counter, not just a driver looking for a tip. Everything was explained in perfect English and off we went. Driving to Geysir I noticed a warning light on the dashboard that indicated a tyre problem. I rang the office and was directed to a nearby garage. The mechanic checked the Duster, took it for a test drive and stated "There's nothing wrong, these cars do that!". Seven uneventful (car wise) days later I was waiting outside the office at 4.30am to drop the car off at 5am and a member of staff was arriving for work. I explained I had an early flight and asked if I could get my paperwork done first. "I can do that now" she said...

Robert from Ireland
Traveled to Iceland in Apr 2018 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

We got an upgrade to a Grand Vitara. That was a great luck as we drove more than 3000 km and the Vitara was very comfortable. Great service, no problems at all, fast handover at the airport. 100% recommendation ;-)

Ralf from Germany
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2017

There were no issues, everything went smoothly from airport pick-up to return.

David from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2017 and rented a 2016 Hyundai i20

Evewrything as expected, very nice handover of car at the airport. Will certainly recommend to others.

Ketil from Norway
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2017 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Grand Vitara

good service
car at the hotel the morning of arrival
we rent a dacia duster, very good small 4WD no problem during our 3 weeks journey in Iceland, very low gasoline consomption

jean marc from France
Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2017 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

It was excellent, I strongly recommend renting from this company. Although I made a mistake on pick up time, the company accommodated the change rapidly.

Elizabeth from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2017

I am happy with the decision I made renting the Hyundai i10 but I would like to mark that first days of my trip I had some problems with the air pressure on the tyres.
Even after few stops at the gas station to fix the problem with the air pumps, the warning signal on the dashboard continued enlighted. Fortunately, it seems that after two days, the problem was solved and I had no more issues with the car.

Jorge from Spain
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2017 and rented a 2016 Hyundai i10

Everything was fine, we could easily find a person from company after arrival (even it was late night) and car which had was great after all. Half star down is for that, we had different car (new Grand Vitara) then we order (older Suzuki Jimmy) - actually it worked for us, but might not for others. Better to let us know that this car is not availible in advance then be surprised than try to persuade us that giving us better model.

Stepan from Czech Republic
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2017

Everything was fine. We picked the car up at the airport and even got a free upgrade to a Vitara, instead of the Jimny. Left the car at the airport on our way back, very easy procedure.

Jennifer from Germany
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2017

We had a friendly pick up at the airport from Arctic. The car was as described. We rented the car for 4 weeks and received a discount. The contact by email with Northbound was fast and friendly. We would choose Northbound and Arctic car rental again.

Marco

Marco from Germany
Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2017 and rented a 2015 Toyota RAV4

Very good, easy

Nicholas from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2017

It went well. The car was a little small as we had a lot of gear, but it was fine.

Tim from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2017 and rented a 2016 Hyundai i10

Very satisfied with experience of both Northbound and Arctic Car rental from choice of cars, prices and to agent meeting us at airport, taking us to our car and explaining all the necessary information new drivers to Iceland need to know. Car was very good and returning was easy just dropping off just outside departures at Keflavik airport. Would definitely use this service again. Steven

Steven from Singapore
Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2017 and rented a 2016 Hyundai i20

Good, the car was delivered right on time and performed perfectly.

Michael from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2017 and rented a 2016 Nissan Qashqai

I had a great experience with Northbound rentals. We were upgrade to a Grand Vitara upon arrival as they were a bit late with the airport pick up. But everything went smoothly and the pick up and drop off at the airport was so easy! Will definitely rent from them again!

Nicholas from Canada
Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2017

Henk from Netherlands
Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2017 and rented a 2016 Mitsubishi Outlander

I must say that your service is amazing. The prices were the best I could find on the web.
I have always received prompt and clear answers to my questions.
The car was in perfect condition and I will reccomend this service to all the people who are intended to rent a car in Iceland.

Leonardo from Italy
Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2017 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Grand Vitara

My general experience was good. The checkin was smooth and quick. The car was in great condition and gave no problem throughout my rental.
The only area of improvement is the car return. As per instructions, I left the car in the parking with keys on: although "it is assured against theft", anyone could have taken it for a ride, use the fuel or damage it, park it back, and I would be liable for all they do. This is not good, and I recommend you set up a safer method for returning the car; I understand you cannot have personnel there all the time, but maybe just a safe box where to leave the keys upon return would do. If you don't have an office there, perhaps you could have an agreement with one of the bars/shops in the airport: all you need is a small box, and then you can collect keys at your convenience.

Claudio from Italy
Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2017 and rented a 2016 Hyundai i10

Great thing was that the agent was waiting for us at the airport with the car keys,and we returned the car at the airport without any problems. but we have rented car 2015 Hyundai I-20 or similar, so we thougt what car will be of second generation, but it was of first. also car tyres was about 1mm of tread and i think that its not enough because rainy roads, but agent said its ok.

Viktor from Lithuania
Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2017 and rented a 2016 Hyundai i20

Baerbel from Germany
Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2017 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Very good car for a five persons family road trip in Iceland.

Jean-Francois from France
Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2017 and rented a 2017 Toyota Land Cruiser