Reviews for MYCAR in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for MYCAR
Submitted 09. Jan 2023
Outstanding!
Everything was really good. The car was in perfect condition, and the attention at the office was very good. They also take us to the airport when we drop-off the car. Really good experience. I would rent again with you for sure if I go back to Iceland.
rented a vehicle in January 2023
Submitted 08. Jan 2023
Outstanding!
Timing of the withdrawal from the Airport and location of the rental office were perfect. The car was clean and the provided service was as expected. Thanks for all the suggestions
rented a vehicle in December 2022
Submitted 04. Jan 2023
Outstanding!
The experience with Northbound has been good. Fast replies and easy processes. Mycar have also been really helpful and fast with their replies. We really appreciated their warnings about the weather and that they let us pick up the car in an office which was closer to where we were. The Toyota Yaris has been a great companion. Even in the middle of a snowstorm it didn't leave us behind.
rented a vehicle in December 2022
Submitted 11. Jan 2023
Outstanding!
The 2022 Toyota Land Cruiser was outstanding - exactly what we needed. It had all the cargo space to get us and our 4 large suitcases (plus small bags) to and from the airport area. We stayed in Slefoss, and the reliability of such a sturdy vehicle became essential when two different snow storms came in. We passed multiple smaller vehicles that had gone off the road but ours stayed the course. We were able to get off and see the things we wanted to see despite less than ideal conditions. The my car support team was wonderful getting us to and from the airport and super on top of everything.
rented a vehicle in December 2022
Submitted 02. Jan 2023
Outstanding!
Great service great car
rented a vehicle in December 2022
Submitted 02. Jan 2023
Outstanding!
Everything was excellent. The car was like we expected. The shuttle service to pick up us and drop of at the airport was accurate and punctual.
rented a vehicle in December 2022
Submitted 02. Jan 2023
Outstanding!
We had the best experience and we really were so happy we rented such a car cause of the snow storm we suffer these days. We felt protected and safe driving the car around such a snowed roads. And your staff was pretty nice and friendly. I’ll always rent with you any time I’ll step in Iceland.
rented a vehicle in December 2022
Submitted 20. Dec 2022
Excellent
The procedure of car body condition check should be more transparent. In my opinion at the car pick-up a staff member should participate in car inspection and indicate to customer every known scratch or damage. Then a corresponding protocol should be signed. At the car drop-off analogical procedure should be observed - a staff member should inspect car condition and compare with the pick-up protocol and then reflect the actual state in drop-off protocol. This way the customer would know whether they should expect any charges for damage or not. All other services were at high level.
rented a vehicle in December 2022
Submitted 10. Dec 2022
Outstanding!
My service with Northbound was exceptional from being picked up at the airport and delivered to my new SUV to drop off back at KEF was perfect. I’ve been a Hertz customer for over 40 years so tend to go with “the big guys” so I’m very glad I chose Northbound for my Iceland adventure. I will chose them again on my next visit. Your driver was very nice, polite and professional.
rented a vehicle in December 2022
Submitted 12. Dec 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in December 2022
Submitted 06. Dec 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 10. Dec 2022
Fantastic!
The 2022 Toyota RAV4 was an awesome car and a joy to drive in Iceland. We drove to a many places in the South and had no issues at all. The cost of rental was reasonable even with the additional insurance coverage. Pickup of the car could be improved. I had to find the car in the carpark. Would have been better if the staff showed me the car and went through some key functions. Would also be good for the staff and I to visually confirm the condition of the car prior to signing off on the rental. Overall, it was a good experience and would rent again if I visited Iceland again. Cheers.
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 30. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
Have used Northbound 3 times now and every time I go with MyCar, the Land Cruiser was a excellent pick for driving the Westfjords and the South Coast, we usually rent the RAV4 but went with something bigger this time and it was worth it! Handles great in the rain and snow. Going back to MyCar again when we go back!
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 28. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
Renting our 4x4 Rav 4 from Northbound was easy and transport to and from the airport from the rental car location was quick and efficient.
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 13. Dec 2022
Outstanding!
Northbound.is was and did exactly as promised, from collection in Keflavik Airport at the agreed time, via our shuttle taxi to delivery and signing in for our rental Toyota RAV-4 Hybrid from MYCAR - with studded mud and snow tyres - excellent bonus, although we didn't need the studs with the weather at 6 - 9C for all our six days. Return to MYCAR was very clear and exactly as described, with the shuttle back to Keflavik all as described. The Toyota RAV4 was excellent for four adults and their luggage (3 large cases, 2 small cases and 2 rucksacks. We probably could have got a fourth large case in, but it would have obscured the rearview mirror's view. By the way, we did consider exactly the size of the boot/trunk at a local dealer in Sheffield before we organised the rental car from Northbound.is. Therefore, it was highly important that we got the exact car that we booked and not 'or equivalent' which is what many car rental companies do. For information, this was the official details of rental car pick-up: MYCAR Airport office is located at Hotel Asbru about 15 minutes away, with a complimentary shuttle service to and from the Airport Terminal 24/7. You need to re-confirm your flight number and how many passengers will need a seat on the shuttle, and at what time? Departures from the airport – Once every hour – 24/7 00:20 - 01:20 - 02:20 - 03:20 - 04:20 - 05:20 - 06:20 - 07:20 - 08:20 - 09:20 - 10:20 - 11:20 - 12:20 - 13:20 - 14:20 - 15:20 - 16:20 - 17:20 - 18:20 - 19:20 - 20:20 - 21:20 - 22:20 - 23:20. 1. Pick up location: Airport information desk, located in the arrival hall - it's clearly marked by the exit doors 2. Direct number to shuttle: +354 855 1717 The driver will come inside to the information desk holding a sign with the MYCAR logo. All happened exactly as it was described above. Definitely hire from Northbound.is! Thank you, Ivar and Thordis
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 29. Nov 2022
At the end of the rental, the company identified a small dent in the driver’s door which they attributed to my rental period. As the dent is so minor and without any damage to the paintwork it is impossible to spot whether it was present prior to rental even though I had taken photos and video of the car prior to rental. A charge of 132.000isk was then taken against me based on a workshop quote for which more than half the quote is for paintwork despite no damage to the paint work. Even in the photos which MYCAR have sent as evidence does not show the dent visibly except for the fact that they had pointed it out when I returned the car so it’s visible only when magnified significantly on the specific area. I had not experienced any incidents and traveled on paved roads the entire rental so I am neither convinced that the damage was caused by my rental nor that the rate is fair.
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 20. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
All Good
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 15. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
Great service - from the product itself to the staff. Proper car for affordable price and very helpful staff. Would use again.
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 14. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
The land cruiser was perfect for my family of 5 plus luggage. I was able to pick up a car seat for my toddler as well from the rental center and they even rent out this wifi adapter that plugs into the car so you have wifi in most areas. Pick up and drop off was easy and I would definitely recommend this rental agency to others.
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 15. Nov 2022
Excellent
Everything was fine. The car was as described, clean and well maintained. The only thing to keep in mind is that there are fixed times for picking you up from the airport and back.
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 12. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 06. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
Comfortable! Very easy to handle.
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 25. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
Renting with Northbound was super easy and clear to know what I was getting, how much it would cost, and how to pick up my vehicle. The RAV4 I rented to drive the Route 1 in November was in excellent condition and was equipped with snow tires and could handle all of the snow and ice conditions along the way. Staff was friendly and were responsive to answer any questions I had. I will definitely go with them again when I can return to Iceland!
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 18. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
Overall, everything worked well, from the transfer (pick-up) at the airport to the rental station and the return at the rental station or transfer to the airport. Pick up and drop off at the rental station is short and sweet. The car was very clean and well maintained.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 07. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
The car was wonderful and easy to use. It handled the unpaved road to our cabin very well. The wireless access point that was provided was a real lifesaver.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 07. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
Vehicle collected at tip top condition, handover was smooth and Northbound team has been really responsive. The rental was the best we could found too. We had fun, smooth and memorable trips with this Toyota Proace Verso across the south island, it fits comfortably for 6 adults full of big luggage and huge jackets. All of us are really satisfied with the service and vehicle provided by Northbound, thank you.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 01. Nov 2022
Excellent
This was a great car and perfect for our holiday. The rental company was easy to work with and everything went smoothly. Would recommend!
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 01. Nov 2022
Great
Hello, the car was fine. A bit creaky and there was a crack in the windscreen (that wasn't dangerous but grew larger). The doors didn't seem fully closed for some reason and sounded like they were open at times. In terms of the customer service – that was excellent. Pick up, I called and was asked to wait until 2.20pm, whereas we were the only customers being collected, maybe we could have been picked up quicker? Understand they may have been busy. Overall, good experience.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 27. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
We had a really good experience with Northbound. Everything went smoothly and as expected. Would recommend!
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 27. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
Great car for family's you can put in large isofix car seats in and fit suit cases in easily. Easy to drive, we didn't take any F roads (and didn't intent to) but it handled the long gravel tracks to the remote cabins easily.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 30. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
Very happy with car, with discount gas fobs, with check out process and return.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 30. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
I am very happy with all aspects of this booking. The staff at MyCar were amazing, when it became apparent that our luggage and wheelchair were not going to fit in the RAV4, they upgraded us to a Landcruiser at no extra cost! I also witnessed some very patient customer service with another customer who was being quite awkward and picky. The vehicle was clean, well maintained and performed perfectly throughout the trip. Airport pick up and drop off were prompt and efficient too. All in all, excellent!
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 31. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
The car is very smooth , the trunk is big enough room for 4 people with many luggage. Highly recommend, will book again in next time Ann Nguyen
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 28. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
I like the 2022 Toyota RAV4 GX automatic car because it is hybrid, however it would be better if it is a driver power seat, it is easier to adjust driver seat when switching driver.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 30. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
Northbound is an excellent rental car company operating in Iceland. If you have the opportunity to come to Iceland don't hesitate to choose it. I have rented the 2022 Toyota Yaris Automatic and it was the best option for the Ring Road: comfortable, excellent driving experience and low fuel consumption (4,2 L /100km). The customer sopport was also fantastic: fast reception in the airport and the same for the return. Thank you for making my 9 days in Iceland a great experience. I would recommend it to everyone. 100/100 🇮🇸✨
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 28. Oct 2022
Good
MyCar could use minor improvements. There wasnt enough room for the whole group that arrived around same time, in the airport transfer to their "office." I volunteered to stay back and they said it would be back in 20 minutes. I waited about 45 minutes and then they did come back for me. Their office seems a tad thrown together. Although it may be legitimate... they could use better signage and more professional facilities. The car itself was great. I had no problems. The return to their city location was ok, but confusing to find due to signage and exact location of their office entry. Return was quick on e I found the location. He helped me get a cab back to my hotel. I dont know what portions fall with Northbound, but MyCar could use experiential improvements
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 23. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 20. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
Everything about Northbound was great! Everyone I talked to was helpful and friendly. Pick up and drop off was so fast and convenient. Iceland is the most beautiful place I’ve ever been, and I got to see so much of it thanks to Northbound!
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 28. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
We didn't get the RAV4. You were awesome and upgrade us to a Land Cruiser. The car work wonderful and ran well for the roads we drove in Iceland. We drove almost 3km and never had worry about gas since had a huge miles. I would definitely support this company when coming back. The customer service was helpful the whole time. Thank you.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 27. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
Great car for Iceland weather. Save me a lots of gas renting hybrid
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 30. Oct 2022
Fine
The worst experience in my life: 1 hour waiting for an agent to pick us up at the airport They didn't know Id already paid full rent and they were to charge the fee twice. They charged 193.000 ISK from my card for "damages" without any explanation or report.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 19. Oct 2022
I hope you are doing well! Thank you for this opportunity to give FB! We enjoyed the car as a good option. Some things that surprised us: - high fuel consumption despite being a hybrid - intransparent procedure of insurance purchase during booking process Unfortunately, Mycar charged us the FULL ISK 350 000 deductible due to a damage to 1 out of the 3 rear bumper panels and signal light. Upon requesting feedback why the charge for the damage was this high, I was told that Iceland is an expensive country and that the final cost will be much higher any way. I mentioned that there was no warning signal from the car when I drove backwards out of a parking lot. I was told this doesn’t matter and that I need to pay regardless. Mind you not that I come from Switzerland, which is not a cheap country. We get a full rear bumper replaced on premium cars such as BMW or Mercedes for 1 000 to 1 500 EUR, not 2 400 EUR for one plastic panel as claimed by Mycar. The outrageous charge and handling by the local agent put a very bad taste and memory to our trip. We will make sure to put this experience online to warn other travelers.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 17. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
The whole trip went well. some of the petrol terminals were magnetic strip only and took a few tries to understand this. In the UK most cards disable this in an app as it's old technology. A heads-up would have been good.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 20. Oct 2022
Fine
The staff was a bit unfriendly at first and just gave us the keys, documentation and asked us to take photos of the car before leaving. The car was pretty dirty, but apart from that we had an overall good experience with it, but I guess that's more merit to Toyota than the rental company itself. I would try another company on my next visit to iceland.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 07. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
MYCAR was wonderful to work with, they checked in with me before we even left home to confirm all details. We were picked up promptly at the airport at the time we were given. The staff were all very pleasant to work with, they made sure we understood how Iceland weather could change so quickly and provided discount cards for fuel which was really appreciated. During our travel a storm was predicted, and they provided updates during the storm to help keep us safe. This company really cares about their customers, and I will use them again.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 12. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
Mycar picked us up on time from the airport, the communication was perfect, they did not offer us the car we had rented, but a slightly superior one, practically new and of high quality.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 16. Jan 2023
Outstanding!
Hi - we had a great experience renting the car. It was great we could get a hybrid without paying exorbitant costs. Everyone from Northbound, the shuttle drivers, and admin staff, were great! We will definitely rent here again for our next visit to Iceland.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 10. Oct 2022
Very Good
The car was nice! To bad there were no winter tires on it, we needed them!
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 09. Oct 2022
Very Good
On arrival in Iceland there was a delay in pick up, we had to ring the office 3 times and there was a delay of 2 hours before we were collected from the airport to pick up the car. This took the shine off the beginning of the trip. Once picked up and at the office things were much better. The car ran smoothly throughout the trip and had all the features we had hoped for.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 10. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
The car was great! We had no troubles. The light went off for one of our tires we filled it up and it never went off again. Gas mileage was awesome
rented a vehicle in October 2022