Reviews for MyCar Rental in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for MyCar Rental
Submitted 29. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
This was a great car rental experience. No wait or line during pick up or drop off! The car was great and the portable wifi was amazing to have.
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 28. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
It was great! Easy to find and easy to rent. There is no line, no complicated paperwork, the customer service is very good. I'd highly recommend it.
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 23. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
Easy communication and reasonable pricing.
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 01. Oct 2021
Outstanding!
MyCar Rental team was awesome - we decided to extend our rental and they were able to accompany us so we could see more of Iceland. The car was newer and as advertised. Overall a great experience.
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 23. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
Our car rental experience was smooth and the car itself was very nice. I liked how new and updated the car was (hybrid, Apple car play compatible, heated seats). The shuttle to and from the airport was very convenient as wel. Will for sure book with them again, they are a great price compared to other companies!
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 23. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
We had a great experience with MyCar. When we landed in Reykjavik I called the number and they sent a shuttle that arrived within 10 minutes. The car was in pristine condition and included insurance and an additional driver. We also rented a hotspot from MyCar for about $60 for the week which was AMAZING. We had wifi access and GPS everywhere we went. I can't recommend MyCar enough.
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 14. Sep 2021
Good
Good car bur office hours in Reykyavik very limited
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 20. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
The car itself was amazing, practically brand new with all the bells and whistles. Cruise control, speed limiter, 4x4 capability, dual climate control, heaps of space and the you can connect your phone maps/gps straight to the car console and operate google maps from your phone. Guidance was spot on everytime and we never got lost once. Car ride is super comfortable. Team from MyCar picked us up from the airport arrivals area and took us to the depot and we were driving away no hassles within fifteen minutes. Cant recommend the team and car high enough.
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 19. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
Vera much
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 19. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 20. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
Great car! Great service! Free shuttle to and from airport. I highly recommend.
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 23. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
Rental from my car was the easiest and convenient. My misunderstanding on my part as to pick up location, but was corrected for drop off. Was able to drop off at hotel by airport. Outstanding, will definitely recommend and use again with no hesitation.
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 09. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
Fantastic experience with MyCar. Car was super comfortable with incredible mileage. Really appreciated the included airport shuttle! Would definitely book with MyCar again.
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 06. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
Hello,

My experience with MyCar was flawless. The car was perfect, clean and responsive. Both guys at the desk were very clear on their explanations and helpfull.

Thanks
Riccardo
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 09. Sep 2021
Excellent
Northbound was an incredible Value. The car was great and the value of the service was paralleled. The Northbound team was also very responsive. My only suggestion is to have the shuttle from the airport more frequently. I absolutely understand that this is a function of the number of customers, so I hope you grow as you deserve to.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 12. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
Check in/out was fast and convenient, model was as promised at booking. Car was very clean and in excellent condition.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 06. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
This is the must drive vehicle if your plan is to go off the path for those hidden treasures of Iceland. Highly recommend!
Room for 4 with luggage and some space to spare!
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 16. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
Everything was excellent.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 15. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
Northbound is a very reliable company. I have enjoyed its prompt and friendly service with excellent car condition. Toyota RAV4 is sturdy in dynamic Icelandic weather and very responsive to challenging road conditions. It has strong horsepower and an excellent break to drive uphill and snake roads very safely. Without the reliable service of Northbound and Toyota RAV4, My 17 days of Ring Road journey would have been miserable. Northbound and Toyota RAV4 will be my choice again in the next Iceland trip.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 11. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
I had a very nice experience with MyCar. I got the same car as the one I booked and it had an excellent fuel consumption (~4.2l/100km for the 2021 Toyota Yaris Hybrid Automatic). MyCar stuff were very friendly and responded to my emails very quickly. I would definitely recommend MyCar to anyone who wants to rent a car in Iceland.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 07. Sep 2021
Good
Hi, Car was absolute ok and in clean condition. Handover was delayed by 45 minutes, circumstances would have been avoidable. On the other side drop of the car at Asbru-Hotel very convenient. A short introduction the Landcruiser would have been nice, but we found everthing. GPS is terrible, no F-roads, very bad addresses, so nearly impossible to enter the target adress, always a work around.
Tires with very low profil, not good in the sandy passages on the F-road near Askia.
But so summerize: everthing ok with some room for improvement.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 10. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
We are very satisfied! The car was great, the entire transaction uncomplicated and the service immediately available in case of queries. We would book a car with Northbound or MyCar again at any time.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 09. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
I loved this vehicle. For the mostpart I lived out of it for two weeks, driving many F-Roads and tracks, while hiking, backpacking, and camping. This was the perfect vehicle for these purposes. I was sad to give it back.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 11. Sep 2021
Good
We liked the car. No issues.

Prior to the trip, your customer service was excellent. I made a couple of changes to the reservation, and you got back to me right away. Thanks for that.

My only complaint was the pick-up shuttle from the airport when we arrived. We had reservations for the 7:20 shuttle. Driver came in around that time and said "someone will be here in a couple of minutes". A couple of minutes stretched out to at least 20 min. And then when he came back and found us and another couple, he only had 3 seats for 4 people because there was also a large family group, so the other couple had to wait some more. It would have been more helpful if the first driver had said it would be 20 minutes. Then our expectations would have been set accordingly and we wouldn't have been standing there looking for someone the whole time. And then the rental desk was very slow also. There was 1 person ahead of us, and it took at least 15-20 min for our turn.

The good news is that the return (14:00) went much more smoothly and the shuttle took us back to the airport at the promised time. Thanks for that.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 11. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
Great car, super performance on the F-roads
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 29. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Our MyCar Rental experience was perfect; their customer service outstanding. Our rental car was in excellent condition. We couldn’t be more pleased.
The folks at Northbound we’re most helpful and a pleasure with whom to do business. We look forward to visiting Iceland again, and will be in touch soon.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 27. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Rented this car for a week when I solo traveled to Iceland. I liked it a lot, the fact that it comes with apple carplay made my trip more fun. I didn’t have any problem with it driving around Iceland. Also, the price is unbelievable. This company is cheaper than other. Definitely recommend it!
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 20. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Very nice car, easy to drive, clean.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 25. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Great experience with MyCat. Picked up and dropped off very efficiently. Definitely would rent from them again.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 21. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
We had an amazing experience with our RAV4. The car was brand new and very very comfortable. The people working there were also very friendly. I would recommend MyCar to everyone that wants to live a wonderful on the road experience! :)
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 31. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Almost brandnew car, people off MyCar were very friendly, very good rental conditions.
I would certainly recomend MyCar rental
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 05. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
Very good!!!
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 09. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
Our tours went well. The vans were perfect. We will be running a tour next August and will be needing two vans for approximately 12 days. We look forward to working with you on next years tour as well. We will be in contact for reserving the vehicles in late Nov. Thank you again
sincerely
Colin and Mike Nat Expo Tours
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 26. Aug 2021
Excellent
Along with two friends we made a last-minute decision to go around Iceland. For this we needed to rent a car and were immediately shocked by the costs of renting a car for 12 days on all of the sites we could find. The cheapest 4x4 car we could find cost EUR4000. After some intense searching, we finally found Northbound, where the Toyota Land Cruiser GX 4x4 was still available at only EUR2500 - waaaay cheaper than all of the other sites. We booked it quickly and we never looked back, as the car delivered everything we needed.
There was a hiccup two days prior to our departure - we received an e-mail that our booking had been canceled due to the rental car provider (My Cars). Supposedly the vehicle was no longer available. After a couple of minutes of anxiety and mini heart attacks, we received an e-mail from Anna from Northbound's customer support, apologizing for the mess and together we were able to solve the issue - the car became available again, she booked it immediately so that we were not left without it, and she took us through the process of confirming the booking in order to make it official and avoid any problems in the future.
So the customer experience was excellent (problems like the one described above can happen, but I appreciate the way Anna handled it). Would've been better, if that did not happen, but not much I can do about it.
MyCar Rental also organized a pick-up at the airport, which was there, albeit we had to wait for about an hour. We did provide the flight information in advance, so they could've prepared better. Thankfully, I was able to reach them on the phone and their office was a couple of minutes away, so it wasn't a long wait after that. MyCar Rental stickers cannot be found anywhere at the airport (all the other companies are there, however), but the lady at the information desk was able to give us the information we needed.
After arriving at the MyCar Rental office, we got the vehicle quickly, and had a look around the car, took photos of the couple of scratches (which were already reported). We only noticed the 2cm crack in the middle of the windshield later that day and took photo of that, just in case. The crack didn't affect visibility at all.
Other than that, the car was in great condition and never let us down. We also received a pamphlet for N1 gas stations around the country where we could get 6 free coffees, and some discount for gas. What we weren't told, however, was that the only way we could get the discount on gas, would be to go to the cashier, show them a magnetic key attached to the ignition key, and then fill up the tank - we were told that we can use the magnetic key on the pump itself, but all we got was "Unauthorized" error message and no discount. N1 is the most common gas station around Iceland, but they're not always the cheapest, so while the discount is nice, paying attention to the prices on other stations was also something started doing a couple of re-fills down the road.
All in all, I'd say we had a great experience with the Toyota that we rented.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 12. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
A great rental car. Comfortable, stored all our gear, easy to handle and love that it was a hybrid.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 22. Aug 2021
Excellent
Everything went well actually, the car was good, the service was good
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 15. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Thank you Northbound and My Car. We had a great car rental experience from start to finish. The vehicle was clean and exactly as described when booked. Well done!
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 17. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 24. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Perfect car for a family camping road trip! The car has a lot of room in the trunk and is very sturdy. The car was like new (6000km), and very clean. Nice your staff that work at MyCar. Highly recommended!
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 15. Aug 2021
Good
Process was easy.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 15. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Very good car (large enough to accommodante 5 pax). Very good services with quick check in and check out procedures
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 12. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
This car was great for our week driving around Iceland. Loved that it was a hybrid and more fuel efficient. The trunk was bigger than I expected it to be and actually fit a very large suitcase and another bag.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 17. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
The car is like new.
MyCar were friendly and efficient.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 14. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
The 2020 Land Cruiser GX was Awesome and performed well including on a few moderate F-road adventures. It was in great shape with less than 10,000 km when we started and ran well for us. With the Rocketbox we had room for 5 adults for 12 days around the Ring Road. Northbound was great to work with!!
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 05. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
I read a lot of reviews of car rental companies in Iceland before selecting Northbound and MyCar. The online experience of renting the car, a 2021 RAV4, was very smooth, and the folks at MyCar responded quickly to my emails. When we arrived in Iceland, a MyCar van picked us up at the airport and took us to the nearby MyCar office. The process of finalizing the rental and receiving the car was quick, the MyCar staff were very friendly, and we were soon on our way. We had the car for nine days and drove completely around Iceland on the Ring Road, with many side trips. The car performed great and the GPS system got us to all of the places we wanted to visit. Turn-in of the car at the end of the trip was also very smooth and we were soon transported to the airport for our early morning departure. All in all, it was a great experience.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 30. Jul 2021
Good
The car was great, perfect for a family. My only complaint is that upon returning the car was the person taking the keys said he was going to have to charge me for a tank of gas. I had literally filled it up just on the outside of Keflavik prior to returning it. I told him this, and he said the gas line had to be above the last line. So instead of being charged an entire tank of gas, I went back out with my kids, and proceeded to place another $2 of gas. Seriously. What is that, 250 ISK. Seriously?
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 26. Jul 2021
Good
Negatives:
- We were initially not informed that MyCar Reykjavik office is not open on Weekends
- WiFi didn't work.
- Coming from the US, none of our credit cards has pins. MyCar didn't know that we need to buy prepaid cards at pumps. We were informed of this at a pump, but only after we run into problems for not having credit cards with pins.
Positives:
- The car served us well.
- On one occasion we run into a problem with starting the car. MyCar immediately answered our call, and helped.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 27. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
The initial pickup at the airport wasn't fully easy, and I needed to call, which wasn't explained in the email. The rest of the process was quick and easy. The vehicle was clean and in good condition. No issues at all. Thank you!
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 02. Aug 2021
Excellent
The Car was as described and MyCar was very easy to deal with. Good customer support, efficient pickup and drop off and timely shuttles to and from the airport. I'd rent fro MyCar again.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 15. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
My car rental experience with My Car was very good. It was very easy to rent and employees were very helpful even though I had to make changes to my reservation several times.
I got a 2021 Toyota Corolla Hybrid and it’s a great car to have In Iceland, very fuel efficient.
rented a vehicle in July 2021