Reviews for Rental Car In Iceland in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for Rental Car In Iceland
Submitted 22. Sep 2022
Fine
Cuando dejé el vehículo se me obligó a pagar una sanción de 35.000 ISK por fumar dentro del vehículo. En ningún momento lo hice, nada más un par de cigarros con la puerta abierta mientras tomaba un café. El precio de la sanción, justa o no, me parece desproporcionado, teniendo en cuenta además que entregué el coche en perfectas condiciones y lo cuidé como si fuera mío. Absolutamente desproporcionado. Fue imposible conseguir una rebaja en la sanción.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 21. Sep 2022
The car was designated for inspection and had to be rechecked shown trough a green number on the license plate. Also there were some issues which were not speaking well of the rental company.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 24. Sep 2022
Good
The car was okay. It’s the cheapest 4x4 you can get. So don’t have to high expectations and the car will do what it has to do. Only thing I didn’t like while driving the car was that it really pulls itself to the right side of the road. The wheels weren’t properly lined out.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 13. Sep 2022
Excellent
Smooth experience, nice car and helpful staff. All you need when traveling away from home.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 24. Sep 2022
Fine
Pneus usagés, mais pas que (portière qui fermait mal, signal lumineux de mal fonction, capot mal fermé, 260000km au compteur...). Nous avons crevé rapidement et ce cas est évidemment non couvert par l'assurance. Au retour, malgré la preuve de pneus trop usagés, il nous a été dit de faire une réclamation par email, sur lequel bien évidemment il nous a été répondu que la crevaison n'était pas prise en charge. Ne pas louer chez ce loueur si vous envisagez de rouler sur des routes F en Islande, si on vous donne une voiture comme la nôtre, vous êtes quasiment certains de crever. A l'inverse, pour une utilisation sur route uniquement, pourquoi pas, mais la sécurité de la voiture laisse à désirer.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 10. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
everything perfect. Thank you
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 28. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
Everything went very 🙂, Lava rental was perfect and a dacia duster is a great choice to drive true Iceland.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 30. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
Actually rented the Suzuki automatic, which was great
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 19. Aug 2022
Good
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 17. Aug 2022
Still waiting for an answer to the problem we had. We got a nail in one wheel and not only did they never give us any solution and we had to renounce to several excursions in our trip but for our astonishment they charged us for a new wheel
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 19. Aug 2022
Great
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 04. Sep 2022
Worst Rental Car in Iceland 2 hour wait at the agency to pick up the vehicle. Vehicle broke down with a displayed autonomy of 200km remaining, no assistance despite the insurance paid. Vehicle with a hydraulic cable problem, non-functional handbrake downhill, twisted steering wheel, non-functional headlight, water infiltration in the car when it rains. We had to drive 4 hours to change vehicles at our cost. We were the first to arrive at the agency to drop-off the vehicle, and the last to be taken to the airport, we almost missed our plane. I will not recommend this rental.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 15. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
Everything worked just fine. The car had no problems at all luckily, and the customer care was super: I was answered pretty quickly to all my requests via email and I was sent all the necessary info. The shuttle service from and to the airport was right on time. I would definitely recommend this rental car service.
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 07. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
economic and efficient car for the routes in Iceland. thank you. Pierpaolo Testoni (Italy)
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 03. Aug 2022
Good
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 01. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
Everything was great, car was used but clean, ran perfectly. A few scratches and dents, but we were in island! When we picked up the vehicle only had a half a tank of gas, so returned it that way, and know issues there. Truly a hassle free experience, would use again, thanks for making exploring your beautiful country a breeze!!!
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 30. Jul 2022
Great
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 04. Aug 2022
We got a car with worn out front tires. We lost 3 days of our trip waiting for the reparation. It has been a big inconvenience and a huge risk for our security.
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 29. Jul 2022
Excellent
The AWD Ducia Duster exceeded our expectations. It worked excellently, and we could get everywhere we wanted. The battery of the car had to be replaced during the trip, but Lava Car Rental solved the problem quickly.
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 02. Aug 2022
Fine
I got Hyndai Tuscon instead, i'm not sure from which year but it's definitely not new. I didn't like the service from Lava since they gave us the keys then disappeared, and didn't give us any instruction for the car. The seat next to the driver is non-adjustable. The windshield wipers are not good enough so they couldn't clean it. and we tried to call them they didn't respond. Also we didn't know that we should contact them before in order to coordinate the pick-up, so we had to take another transportation with the help of other company to reach the office.
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 29. Jul 2022
Fine
El 4x4 tal como se comenta en la página es del 2017, por lo tanto cargado de km. No recomendable, por un poco más de dinero tendreis un coche más cómodo (los asientos delanteros no lo eran). La tercera marcha rascaba, se encendian las luces de freno, la carroceria estaba abollada en diferentes puntos, el stop-start se calaba. En general el coche funcionó pero no con la tranquilidad que nosotros hubieramos esperado.
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 18. Jul 2022
Good
The car was very old (Around 250000km) and had many bumps
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 16. Jul 2022
Good
I would still like to send some comments. We rented two dacia dusters 4X4. One car was ok. But the other car was definitely not. After the fact that there were several dents in the car, the brake was also definitely not ok. In addition, a light constantly appeared in the dashboard that the tire pressure was not ok (even though we checked the tire pressure twice on the road). Considering the high mileage of the car (230.000 km), and the condition of the car, it is definitely not ok to ask the same price for this not safe car!
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 04. Jul 2022
Good
Great company with a great staff, everything was fine.
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 01. Jul 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 19. Jun 2022
Good
Location d'un Duster un peu ancien qui roulait encore bien Très compliqué de trouver la navette à l'arrivée car le loueur s'appelle LAVA et non car rental Récupération et rendu véhicule facile
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 01. Jun 2022
Fantastic!
For the family of five, of which are 3 small children, the car felt good on the road and some unpaved paths. It was easy to drive. The cas has built in navigation, but it is a little outdated and it is hard to use because touch screen wasn't responding. If traveling with small children, we recommend at least booster seats because the back seats are very deep and children have hard time looking through the window. And in a country as beautiful and with so many wonders as Icelanda, you are ripping them off of breath-taking scenary.
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 27. May 2022
Very Good
Well, everything turned out fine. Friendly staff. However I would take a Moment to help future renters of cars feom you in Iceland. The. Ompany was Lava car rwntals. Nowhere was that mentioned. Owing in at midnight we just got lucky a girl knew Northbound probably meant Lava and she found it online. A driver was outside but we had no way of knowing it was Lava car rental. Please let future travelers know. Thanks. Ron meyr fl
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 23. May 2022
Great
Overall, I am satisfied with the whole experience. I was always informed, for example when there was a change of the phone number etc. The vehicle had dents and other smaller damages, but these were explained when I picked the car up and there were no further issues with it. There was somekind of a warning symbol in the dashboard, but it was probably due to somekind of sensor failure, meaning it really wasn't an issue. And if I wanted, I could have called about the issue, but it didn't seem problematic and it really wasn't.
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 30. Apr 2022
Good
Far From Perfect But Did the Job. We have hired many a hire car before but never had one in such an old beaten up condition as this. It did not fill us with confidence on pick up. It was obviously well used, many thousands of km on the clock, bashed, scratched, the rear doors felt like they might fall off, the power sockets were a bit unreliable/rusty, etc - I could go on…….. Having said that, it did the job perfectly and went everywhere we wanted to go without incident (and we travelled a long way, used F roads etc). So maybe looks aren’t everything. It was reliable and that’s the most important thing. The Lava guys were very helpful and efficient too. I would recommend.
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 24. Apr 2022
Good
PROS: El precio es correcto (al menos comparado con precios Islandeses). El coche suficiente para dar la vuelta, se comporta bien. CONTRAS: El estado del coche es el peor que me he encontrado en alquileres de coche: 274.000 Km., el freno de mano no funciona, el volante había que tenerlo un poco girado para que vaya recto y todo el viaje con luces de error de motor, error electrónico y error de presión de ruedas. Aún así, el coche ha funcionado bien y ha hecho su trabajo, pero cada día con la intriga de si nos podría dejar tirados en cualquier momento.
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 17. Apr 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 03. Apr 2022
Excellent
La voiture était un peu vielle mais roulait correctement. C'était largement suffisant pour moi.
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 31. Mar 2022
Outstanding!
Excellent deal! Everything work as promissed
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 28. Mar 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 30. Mar 2022
Excellent
Quick and easy Pick up, and the car took us through storm and snow 2.300 km around Iceland so OK.
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 14. Mar 2022
Good
Super car. Perfect for snowy roads. Nice pick -up at the AirPort.
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 09. Mar 2022
We waited at the airport about two hours for pickup because voucher doesn’t show which rental company we have, anyone doesn’t pickup phone (rental noted in voucher and also northbound). Then we got car with broken doors on the passenger side, it doesn’t open properly sometimes doesn’t open at all. Even if was close, car was beeping and signals on the dash showed open door. If we opened window, it doesn’t close. In the end free gps was useless.
rented a vehicle in February 2022
Submitted 27. Feb 2022
Outstanding!
It was right decision that i took a Dacia car..4x4.It is like a tank in war...IPerfect car for your's roads in this time.
rented a vehicle in February 2022
Submitted 16. Feb 2022
Terrible experience!!! A representative of LAVA car rental supposed to waiting for me at the airport with my name sign. At the time of the booking I had provided my flight number and landing time. In reality nothing from above happened, no one was at the airport. I waited 20 min. and give the rental company a call, they said that I need to wait another 15 min. After that given time I rang them again and they said to wait another 15 min. After 20 min I tried to call one more time and no one pick up this time and machine answering come in place. I definitely thought that this a scam!! I’m spending already 1 1/2 hours at airport after my plane was landed, eventually someone with sign LAVA come to airport and I started asking questions. The
rented a vehicle in February 2022
Submitted 31. Jan 2022
Outstanding!
The service was very good. Everything went well. Lava Car Rental helped us with everything and were very flexible. We would definitely book this service again.
rented a vehicle in January 2022
Submitted 03. Jan 2022
Outstanding!
Excellent service. The car was great on the roads during bad conditions. Very economical for the amount of driving that we done. Very pleasant to deal with, helpful, very easy to collect and return with options. Prompt pick up and delivery to the airport. Would definitely use this company again when we return.
rented a vehicle in December 2021
Submitted 05. Jan 2022
Excellent
The car and service was good for the price.
rented a vehicle in December 2021
Submitted 22. Dec 2021
Good
The check in and pick up at airport were easy and fairly quick. The car worked well. At pickup we told the company that we would drop off the car at 5:00am, their opening time. When we arrived, there was no one at the office. We called and no one answered. We emailed and no response. In the end we decided to drive to the airport and park the car there. We have not received an response to date. This is unacceptable.
rented a vehicle in December 2021
Submitted 24. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
Good, roomy vehicle
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 01. Nov 2021
Fine
An old car.
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 08. Nov 2021
Excellent
Rented through Lava car rental. Reliable, low-consumption Duster for your worry free road trip around Iceland's Ring Road. Included free GPS, although we all know that only Google maps are actually useful. The only downside is that the car already had a lot of bumps and bruises.
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 26. Oct 2021
Outstanding!
We were happy with the car…it had a few bumps and bruises, but nothing that effected the drive. It was a great price, so not pristine…no problem!!
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 21. Oct 2021
Outstanding!
Northbound.is took wonderful care of us and and answered all my questions. Lava car rental was helpful and top notch. I will use Northbound for my future visits to this amazing place.
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 18. Oct 2021
Excellent
Everything was fine, good car, quick check-in and check-out, good price, Duster is perfect for 4 persons, driving some gravelroads
rented a vehicle in October 2021