Reviews for Nordic Car Rental Campers

I would say it was not so good, not so bad.
First of all, we went to collect the van, and the one they gave us was not the one we asked. We asked F. Transit Connect with a special distribution in the back and they wanted to give us a Docker without the space more than the bed. The Docker was very new but the back space was less. As far as we told them we asked about the Transit 2006, they showed us the van... it was so old!! This van cannot be for rental any more!! It has problems with the gas deposit...So, we told them that if we have any problem, I will claim and show it in their web. At last, they reconsidered the subject and give us a newer F. Transit (for 3 people) that they have available so after the fight they do it ok.
During our trip, the front wiper stopped working and we called to 24h service. They told us they agency will call us but they never did. We wait one full day more, calling again to 24h...

Ainhoa

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2020 and rented a 2006 Ford Transit Connect Camper

We have several complaints regarding the camper:
The refrigirator did only work on gas and it was very difficult to start. Every time we should start it we used between 15-30 minuts.
The blind curtains did not work.
The heatet over heated so it smelled ekectrical burned.
The camper door was very difficult to open/close.
The key to the camper was half brooken.
The camper also had a hole in the tavle and the plate to cover the gas was missing.
So in total, I am not happy at all. I did expect something better due to the cost I paid to rent the camper.

Helle

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2020

The car was great. We had no issues with the car.
The only problem was, that there was nothing to hang clothes on.

Maximilian

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2020 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

View all cars from this company

Click here

It was not the Ford, it was Dacia Dokker. So it was a little different than what we expected.
Some features of the car are not very appropriate for this kind of use, like: you can not open the back door from inside; you have to change the seats before sleeping...

Klaus Friedemann

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2020 and rented a 2006 Ford Transit Connect Camper

Everything West perfect

Leonardo

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2020 and rented a 2006 Ford Transit Connect Camper

Go to Iceland. But don’t rent your car here.

1) We didn’t get the car that we rented. We got a way smaller car.

2) The car that we got had to be opened with the key in each door.

3) We had to pay 312 € in insurance when we came to Iceland. This was a huge surprise as we we’re not informed about this anywhere. The guy from Nordic Car Rental Campers couldn’t not explain why we had to pay for this insurance. This insurance we apparently had to pay even though we paid a deposit on 2730 €.

4) The gas can to the stove ran out of gas after one meal and two cups of coffee. We asked the guy at Nordic Car if we should buy an extra from Nordic Car so we wouldn’t run out of gas. However the guy insured us that there would be enough gas.

Sebastian

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2020 and rented a 2006 Ford Transit Connect Camper

Free Cancellation & Amendments

I had a great experience, starting with pick up from the airport, to drop off. Sleeping and 'kitchen set' amenities were great. I had no problems with the car. I definitely recommend and will surely use your services next time!

Krzysztof

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

I loved the camper! It was nice and cozy, and perfect for one person to sleep in (two of you’re both short and don’t mind getting cuddly!) I was travelling alone, so it was small enough that I could keep it warm at night. The only thing I found is that you need to let the camper heat up with the heater while the bed is still in “couch mode”, since the vent is underneath the bed and the heat gets trapped down there. Mind you, I went in February, so if you go in warmer months it shouldn’t be a problem. Anyways, everything was great! I loved this vehicle.

Anna

Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2020 and rented a 2006 Ford Transit Connect Camper

We did not have any issue with the car while we were travelling. However, the car was dirty when they gave it to us. The bedsheets were smelling very badly like they have been left in the car and not being washed. For the drop off, we picked the time 6am on the website but what a surprise to realise, when we arrived there, that the office only opened at 7am. Also, every time we had to call their emergency number nobody replied. Finally, we had to remind them the features we have paid extra for as they did not even check our booking.

Juliette

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2019 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

Ramiro

Traveled to Iceland in Jan 2020 and rented a 2008 Renault Trafic Camper

Nice cars

Esteban

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2019 and rented a 2008 Renault Trafic Camper

we are moderately pleased with nordic camping. firstly the staff do not smile. then, during the first breakfast we realized that the stove was not working. then the second day the vehicle broke down we had to wait 22h at the same place before we come to replace the car. the second vehicle had not been checked before we were entrusted (difficult to open the doors and ventilation problem). what disappointed us the most is the fact of not having an apology or a commercial gesture.

Jérôme

Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2019 and rented a 2006 Ford Transit Connect Camper

We had a great time in Iceland and the Dacia Dokker never let us down. The Webasto heater was great and kept us warm during the night. We only had to turn it on for 1 - 2 hours each night. One day though we couldn't lock the car with the keyless entry system (The button you press on the key so it locks/unlocks). It suddenly started working again after a day. I am 1.86m and could sleep inside with no problems.

However I do feel that the car in general could use a little bit more maintenance: A dashboard light was on during our entire trip (A quick phone call assured us that is was no direct problem) and one headlight was broken. We didn't use the cutlery, stove and pots and pans but they seemed okay.

Overall it's a great deal and would rent it again!

Jeroen

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2019 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

This company was great, easy to work with for our campervan rental. Transport to and from the airport was quick. Picking up and returning the van was easy and fast. The campervan may not have been brand new but we found the ease of working with them was more important and made our vacation more enjoyable.

Cole

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2019 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

Great service, was able to pick up the camper and was on the road very quickly. Drop off was the same. The camper was well equipped and gave me no issues

William

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2019 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

Very disappointed upon arrival, we wasted 3hrs getting the caravan for an engine light to come on 2 miles down the road. We returned it and then had to argue that we didn't want the same campervan which took another 1hr30mins to sort out. Overall I was very disappointed with the organisation and that we missed out on a number of locations on our route due to this.

It would take some convincing to book with you again after this experience, this was a scout for future visits and I feel let down. People were nice but that only is part of the experience the rest was terrible. We met another Camper from the same company broken down waiting hours to be helped, we witnessed cars being given out that needed to be jump started.. Not good.

Llewellyn

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2019

Free Cancellation & Amendments

The vehicle that we ordered was not available when we arrived to Nordic campers. So we got upgraded to a larger vehicle. Our first vehicle, died in the first night and would not start the next morning and we spent the rest of that day trying to get it started and drove back to the office 3 hours away to get a different car. The heater also was not working at all and we were freezing all night.

Our second car was what we reserved and everything was great until the third night. While driving a main road up a slope in the east fjords we almost ran into a guard rail. Our tire completely lost traction and spun out. The vehicle stalled out and we began to slide backwards. It took about 45 minutes to get away from the guard rail so we can go back down the hill and take a much longer route. This morning I was able to see the tires were completely worn down and the tire wires were exposed and of course the spare tire is broken too...

Asah

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2019 and rented a 2006 Ford Transit Connect Camper

We found Nordic Campers excellent during our time in Iceland. Right from when they picked us up from the airport, the staff were super helpful and gave us lots of info on travelling in Iceland. They worked very hard to get a large number of people sorted and out into their cars and campers as quickly as possible. We arrived into Iceland late, and spent the night in the Nordic campers yard after watching the Northern Lights just down the road. Staying in their yard was really helpful. In the morning we spoke to the staff who gave us an extra windscreen blind and a box to keep our food in, both were very handy. We also found a tail light was out which they fixed really quickly and got us on the road. There is are two big supermarkets just around the corner too which was convenient. The camper itself was clean and tidy, and included all the basic cooking implements we needed for our 9 day stay...

Matthew

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2019 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

Very good

Francisco

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2019 and rented a 2008 Renault Trafic Camper

We had a good experience with Nordic Campers, including shuttle from airport upon arrival and return. The Dacia Dokker is a perfect format for 2 people travelling on a camping mode. The space inside is just enough, and the company also provide the basic for camping equipment including stove, kitchen dishes etc.. The car was on diesel and its consumption not crazy at all! It was an overall great experience!

Joannie

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2019 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

Jane

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2019 and rented a 2008 Renault Trafic Camper

I chose you because of a special discount I found on a Nordic Campers vehicle. I decided to buy thanks to the good reviews you have on the internet.

Alberto

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2019 and rented a 2008 Renault Trafic Camper

all is well, just gave the car a burning light “Check Engine”, which is not very good

Vladimir

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2019 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

Honestly, it was not that great. The condition was very poor. It had obviously been involved in a collision and was 'tired' and dirty with many things broken or missing, despite only having some 80,000km on the clock. I found Nordic Campers very unsatisfactory to deal with, obviously understaffed, rushed and unmotivated, all except Robert provided truculent, reluctant service and failed to meet customers' eyes. It was absolutely not worth the money.

Robert

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019

View all cars from this company

Click here

Anders Eichler

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2019 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

Renting a Nordic Camping van has been the perfect choice for our Icelandic vacation, giving us the freedom to plan our itinerary day-by-day. The van had the perfect size for travelling, much smaller than a normal camper, and we found it suited for our family of 4 adults even though some adaptation is required.
The van was a bit old but it was ok.
Shuttle service from/to airpot has been perfect, as check in and drop off procedures, very gentle staff.
I would only suggest to add a table as basic equipment.

Giorgio

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2008 Renault Trafic Camper

We are very happy about the travel. The car works perfectly and the stuff inside were complete for cook and slip. It's very comfortable sleep inside the car compared to the tent when the wind is strong or when it rain. Super recommended for camping and save a lot of money compared to hotel!

Stefano

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

I was looking for a camper van with heating system and found good deal from Nordic Campers. Everything went wrong from day one.
- First night we woke up around 6 a.m. because of strong gas smell from heater inside the cabin, we opened windows, restarted it and smell dissapeared.
- Second night heater just stopped working around 4 a.m. and didn't restart afterwards, we had to call breakdown service and managed to restart it after few attempts
- Third night heater died around 2 a.m. we had to sleep fully clothed in a cold car.
- The whole next day we tried to restart it, called breakdown service, they told us to search for a mechanic in towns nearby, but when we found someone who knew how to fix heater, everything was closed already. After 30 minutes speaking with breakdown service and trying to fix it we gave up. There was a storm this day so we had to go to nearest guesthouse and take a room there...

Maxim

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2006 Ford Transit Connect Camper

This was my first time renting with Nordic Campers and it will be my last.
The company seemed disorganized upon arrival and it took them a very long time to get us our vehicle. It seemed like our reservation was overlooked because my name was not on their list (they assumed I was another person that had a surname of oriental origin) even though I had paid a deposit already and had receipts with the time and date of arrival for confirmation. The people behind the desk tried to charge me more because of the new exchange rate amounts but the receipt already stated the outstanding balance owing so I informed them I would only pay that amount and the reluctantly agreed to it.

Their Renault Van was just an old and outdated van from their competitor Happy Campers with a cheap paint job to cover the old logo and the vehicle had damages that they did not seem to care to repair i.e. a dented in bumper in the front and a 4 way button that did not work...

Simon

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018 and rented a 2008 Renault Trafic Camper

We booked an campervan at nordic campers. At first we got a too small one which we hadn’t booked. After that we got a bigger one. But we have several complaints!
1. One tier was damaged before we got the van, but your engineer told us it’s fine. After 5 days we weren’t able to continue driving so we had to change it, but the jack was to small so we couldn’t lift up the car and we spend half a day looking for a suitable jack!
2. The water tank was leaking so the mechanic an came and fixed it, but after 5 more days it was leaking again and the whole floor was full of water.
3. When we got the camper, everything was very dirty especially the facilities. There was brown dirt coming out of the shower outflow, the toilets were yellow and it was dirty on the floor.
4. The heater at the front seats isn’t working. We are only able to use the 4 level, which is very annoying especially if you drive a lot like us!
5...

John

Traveled to Iceland in Apr 2019