Reviews for Nordic Car Rental Campers in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for Nordic Car Rental Campers
Submitted 05. Oct 2021
The rental camper we requested was not available. The company Nordic Rental planned to give us a six person camper, which was quite a bit bigger than what we had asked for. They also told us that, because of high winds, we would be waiving the insurance we paid for if we decided to take the camper van and recommended against us renting it. It would have been very helpful to know the risks associated with winds this time of year before getting to the rental company. Additionally, we had ordered a wifi hotspot that they were out of. The motorhome was generally not in great shape (check oil light turned on when we drove away), and upholstery had rips, etc. We ended up returning the motorhome and asking to switch for a rental car due to the condition of the motorhome, it being larger than what we had reserved, and the high winds. It was a difficult start to our trip. I would not rent again from this agency.
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 04. Oct 2021
It was a really bad experience, they give to us a 6 person motorhome when we are only two person, because they say that IT was the unique avaible and we don't want it. Furtheremore they give to us two bottle gas almost empty when We pay for 1 full bottle gas, and they said that they don't Have It a full one. In addition, at first they give to us two bottle gas more empty than two last ones and we Have to ask for the New ones, so IT was a desaster at all.
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 04. Oct 2021
Nordic Rental is a SCAM ARTIST and there should be a criminal investigation! I watched several couples get the same treatment. One honeymoon couple was in tears!!! My experience was terrible. Wrong car, wrong equipment, had to put $3700 deposit or forced to take $50 per day add on insurance. My car broke down. NO ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE!!!! Never deal with these scumbags!!! Terrible Terrible Terrible I currently am disputing my rental charge because I returned the broke down vehicle within 5 hours of renting it. I want my money back!!! I only kept the Ford transit for 5 hours and it was broken down on the side of the road for 3 of the 5 hours. One hour driving to Rek and 3 hours waiting for Nordic to call back and 1 hour to find the REK Nordic Office and return the junker to its owner!!! 5 hour rental $2000
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 02. Oct 2021
I was disappointed about their service. checking out the car at their office took 1.5 hours since there were many customers waiting and the employee was unable to handle all tasks. they brought us the camper and inspected outside and handed a key to us. That was all. I wanted to rent an inverter for USB charger but the cost was more than double price of the other renter and we gave up. There was no guide or explanation of how to use the things in the car. No instructions on how to use the car. it took about 15 minutes to get the answer to find out whether it was gas-run or diesel-run. The inside of the car was not clean. the sink was dirty and covered with lust that we decided not to use it at all. The broken refrigerator was not removed and was just taking a space there. There was unpleasant smell of urine in the car from the beginning and we couldn't figure out where it was coming from. The plastic tank underneath of and connecting to the sink was filled with waste water and we guessed that the smell could be coming from there (maybe somebody peed in the sink before). The plastic covering of the side of driver seat was broken and was not fastened by screw. It fell off from the seat once in a while and i was watching it all the time not to loose it which was annoying. The dashboard maintenance indicator showed engine sign from day 1 and we were concerned that there might be a maintenance issue with the car. That worry was with us all along the entire trip and we wish that they checked the engine before they rented it out to the customers. One day, we went to a remote campsite and there was no kitchen facility and we had to lighter. The lighter we found in the kitchen utensil's box provided by the Nordic car rental was not working and we had a lot of trouble to get the lighter. we contacted the owner of the campsite and, thankfully, the owner brought one from her home.
Our experience with Benz Vito wasn't too good. I think that was not the car itself (it was a good car) but the Nordic Car Rental who didn't care about it.
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 20. Sep 2021
We booked a Renault Camper from 2008. We expected a somewhat worn down camper van but is functional as described in the advert. However, after a couple of day travelling it turned out it was a unaceptable car: we got a van with moldy curtains, moldy drivers cabine, the cooking gear was incomplete and the gas stove was not working properly, the heater did not work, the sliding doors were not working properly at any time, the sliding window (drivers side) was not working at all times, ...
When we noticed all these mayor and minor shortcomings, we were too far away to change the car and we offered to keep the car for the whole two week trip. We got 50 % discont in the end and mixed feeling if this was a good deal.
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 13. Sep 2021
Not all rentals car company are made equal and this one is for sure on the worst side.
The airport pickup was done in a van on really bad condition, that’s the first bad impression of the company. On vehicle Pick up the receptionist were being rude to simple client’s questions and request and on the long wait on the queue I have seen at least 3 costumers leaving with a really bad impression.
At pickup simple things like need of gas for the system were not explained and does not sound correct to rent a motorhome without gas as it cannot function on many of its futures. Motorhomes should be always be rented with gas included, not as extra. Fuel tank was told to be 6/8 when it actually was empty on with reserve light on, and the feeling is that this is a tricky scam as the receptionist had no clue on the actual diesel tank status. Just want a number to complain and charge extra later on delivery or to keep some extra diesel if client didn’t manage to plan / use correct amount of fuel. Fuel policy should be pickup and delivery with fuel tank. Overall the feeling that we had was to go out of that shithole as quick as possible.
The function of the motorhome was explained by an employee with very poor English skills who could not communicate properly the futures. The car had bad smell, smoke smell, bad was broken, water pump was not working and overall it was very dirty. Then the car was replaced with other one which was functioning better but was still full of issues like ventilation system only working on maximum with high noise (4/4), passenger widow not opening, electric mirrors not working, stove cover and storage cabinets with loose closing vibrating a lot when driving, gas hose leaking. Maintenance and cleaning of the car is done very poorly.
I do not blame employees individually because on the time I’ve spent on your office it was clearly a working culture, it is responsibility of the management to ensure employees know what they are doing, are respectful with clients and have a minimum knowledge of how to deliver and communicate a service to client. Right now the company looks rotten where everyone does the minimum and the end result is terrible, it can be seen on all aspects from airport pickup, reception, car delivery, communication, car maintenance, and cleaning of both the office and the car.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 31. Aug 2021
The car was not available on arrival. we had to stay one night in a hotel to pick the car up on the next day. Sadly also the next day it was not available. In the afternoon the next day they gave us a replacement vehicle.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 16. Aug 2021
old car , but clean.

*locks didn't lock (at night), while driving open and closes sometimes
*car used lots of oil (13 liters / 2500 km , normal is 1 liter/10000km), i had to buy extra oil on the road, and waiting to get a refund for this 3000isk
*not al the mentioned kitchensupplies were there (cuttingboard, glasses,...)
*car was dented everywhere and missing pieces , windscreen was sandblasted and was difficult to clean
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 21. Aug 2021
The 2016 Dokker was adequate for our needs but was certainly on the lower end of quality. The sleeping area was a plywood platform with thin patio furniture cushions. The electric heater was built to face a small compartment underneath the sleeping platform so it only heated up a tiny space instead of the entire van. The camping gas was nearly empty although the booking stated it included an extra full canister. The staff at Nordic were not going to give us blankets or a "camping box" (dishes, utensils, fuel/burner) until we showed them our booking which listed these as included. Service at Nordic was chaotic and people were reporting about a 2-hour wait time to pick up their vehicles when we were there. If booking a vehicle from Nordic, screenshot everything to be included at the time of booking because this information is not available in any of the receipts after booking!
Northbound, the service that we booked through, was very easy to deal with when we had to make a couple of changes. We asked to add an extra day to our booking and the Northbound agent spent all morning trying to reach Nordic with no success, so we appreciated that we went through Northbound rather than dealing directly with the rental company. I would book through Northbound in the future but would avoid Nordic and choose another of the companies they deal with.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 30. Jul 2021
It was an extremely frustrating experience from start to end. We were to be picked up from the airport. After waiting for more than an hour, they show up and will only take two of us to the rental office while my 3 kids had to wait for the next pickups. Once in office, we had to wait 2 more hours only to be told that they don't have our motorhome and the dealer they were getting it from didn't get it as they had planned. So we were told to wait more until someone else returns their motorhome. After an hour more, they finally get the motorhome. It was a beaten up version of what was expected. The seats had big spots from previous spills so much so that no one would sit on that. We were given sheets to cover them. We were to check the motorhome to see if everything is working but we couldn't check anything. Water was not running in the taps since it needed the battery to be charged which will happen at night when we plug it in the electrical outlet of a campsite. The stoves were not working since they were on gas and viola, they do not provide you with any gas cylinders. We were told to buy our own gas cylinder from an N1 station, something that cost us $100. The freezer was either on gas or electricity/battery but since there was no electricity, the battery was discharged and no gas, it wasn't working. Now for the body condition, the windshield glass had huge cracks going in from both ends and the rest of the windows also had the glass cracked. It was a hazard condition to rent but since it was 1pm at that time, six hours since we landed and we had no other option and no where to go, we had to take the rental. The stove remained in a bad working condition throughout the rental. Sometimes one of the burners would light up after trying for a long time but the three burners never worked at the same time. It was the nastiest experience after paying top price for the rental.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 25. Jul 2021
I should say first that all the people we encountered at Nordic Car Rental were very nice and patient. However, it took way too long (several hours) from landing at the airport to finally driving off with our camper van. They appeared to be overwhelmed with the number of people arriving to get rentals, causing long waits to get picked up at the airport (my family and I had to separate and go in two separate trips), and waiting again at the rental counter. Waiting aside, the real problem was with the van itself. Even though we were 'upgraded' to a somewhat newer model, the van had a lot of problems. 1) The main door could not be closed completely. As a result, we had to put up with incessant beeping warnings telling us the door was open. When it would rain hard, water would also leak in through the cracks around the door, and also through a hole in the roof, getting parts of our sleeping area wet. 2) The passenger door also developed problems to the point where we stopped using it for fear it would break off, and instead, had everyone load in from the driver side. 3) The tires were all low on pressure, but one tire was dangerously low. After putting air in the tires we were thankful that the pressure seemed to hold. This is an obvious thing that should be checked before renting out any car! 4) One of the wiper blades appeared to be bent and was only making contact with half of its length. Luckily, I was able to reinstall it, and managed to get it to stay in place for the remainder of our trip. Again, something that obviously should have been checked before renting out a car in Iceland! Its true I probably should have called and tried to get a replacement, but as we were already several hours away before the problems started presenting themselves, we were reluctant to turn back. Driving such a vehicle in Iceland made me nervous (what if the door flung open with my kids in the back!), and added to the stress of the trip. I feel fortunate the engine, battery, and brakes didn't have any such problems. While we saved money by picking an older model vehicle, I did not expect basic functionality and safety to be compromised.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 29. Aug 2021
Don't book with Nordic Car Rental Campers!
Pick-up lasted more than 3 hours. Already there we realized many customers complaining about serious technical issues with the rented cars. Same experience when we dropped the car.

We wanted to rent in addition camping chairs and a table. Renting fee was highter than the price of new equipment! (around 80 EUR, other companies charged aroung 15 EUR). Therefore we did not rent, but were charged for table and chairs anyway as we saw it later on the receipt.
No response on mails, no response on the phone. Still have not received any response to get the wrongly charged fee back.

The camper itself had several issues:
It was disgustingly dirty when we received it. After a complaint we finally got it cleaned.
Doors sometimes locked by themselves, sometimes it was not possble to open some of the doors. Especially when the backdoor did not open we had to dismount the bed to get to the stuff in the trunk.
Water to clan the windscreen was missing. Drive belt was squeezing. In total our worst experience after plenty of years renting cars all over Europe.
If you have any chance - book with another company!
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 12. May 2021
Good
Overall good. The interior was good. The car and motor are too old and heavy.
rented a vehicle in May 2021
Submitted 02. Nov 2020
Outstanding!
it was mazing the experience with northbound nordic car rental campers!im living in iceland and always I thought to do that with a camper, and this car for two person its enough for 10 days , you can do it with other camper bigger than Dacia but with Dacia dokker it was amazing too , i recommend and I will do it again!
rented a vehicle in October 2020
Submitted 06. Oct 2020
Excellent
Good
rented a vehicle in September 2020
Submitted 01. Sep 2020
Good
It was not the Ford, it was Dacia Dokker. So it was a little different than what we expected.
Some features of the car are not very appropriate for this kind of use, like: you can not open the back door from inside; you have to change the seats before sleeping...
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 19. Aug 2020
We have several complaints regarding the camper:
The refrigirator did only work on gas and it was very difficult to start. Every time we should start it we used between 15-30 minuts.
The blind curtains did not work.
The heatet over heated so it smelled ekectrical burned.
The camper door was very difficult to open/close.
The key to the camper was half brooken.
The camper also had a hole in the tavle and the plate to cover the gas was missing.
So in total, I am not happy at all. I did expect something better due to the cost I paid to rent the camper.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 31. Aug 2020
Good
The car was great. We had no issues with the car.
The only problem was, that there was nothing to hang clothes on.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 15. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Everything West perfect
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 24. Aug 2020
I would say it was not so good, not so bad.
First of all, we went to collect the van, and the one they gave us was not the one we asked. We asked F. Transit Connect with a special distribution in the back and they wanted to give us a Docker without the space more than the bed. The Docker was very new but the back space was less. As far as we told them we asked about the Transit 2006, they showed us the van... it was so old!! This van cannot be for rental any more!! It has problems with the gas deposit...So, we told them that if we have any problem, I will claim and show it in their web. At last, they reconsidered the subject and give us a newer F. Transit (for 3 people) that they have available so after the fight they do it ok.
During our trip, the front wiper stopped working and we called to 24h service. They told us they agency will call us but they never did. We wait one full day more, calling again to 24h. The person at the phone was astonished and he called again to the agency to call us back (they never did). Meanwhile, 1 day waiting, we asked in the town we were if there was a car repairing place because we were almost sure that it was just a fuse, easy ro repair. And, after talking again to the 24h service, we agreed to repair it by our own, pay it, and give the invoice when returning the van to Nordic rental to pay it us. As it was not so much they paid us without any problem but never asked about nor give us any explanation why they never called us. So, as you can see, everything became fine but just because the subjects were not so important.
So, rating not so good.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 24. Jul 2020
Go to Iceland. But don’t rent your car here.

1) We didn’t get the car that we rented. We got a way smaller car.

2) The car that we got had to be opened with the key in each door.

3) We had to pay 312 € in insurance when we came to Iceland. This was a huge surprise as we we’re not informed about this anywhere. The guy from Nordic Car Rental Campers couldn’t not explain why we had to pay for this insurance. This insurance we apparently had to pay even though we paid a deposit on 2730 €.

4) The gas can to the stove ran out of gas after one meal and two cups of coffee. We asked the guy at Nordic Car if we should buy an extra from Nordic Car so we wouldn’t run out of gas. However the guy insured us that there would be enough gas.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 26. Feb 2020
Outstanding!
I loved the camper! It was nice and cozy, and perfect for one person to sleep in (two of you’re both short and don’t mind getting cuddly!) I was travelling alone, so it was small enough that I could keep it warm at night. The only thing I found is that you need to let the camper heat up with the heater while the bed is still in “couch mode”, since the vent is underneath the bed and the heat gets trapped down there. Mind you, I went in February, so if you go in warmer months it shouldn’t be a problem. Anyways, everything was great! I loved this vehicle.
rented a vehicle in February 2020
Submitted 13. Jan 2020
Excellent
rented a vehicle in January 2020
Submitted 24. Nov 2019
we are moderately pleased with nordic camping. firstly the staff do not smile. then, during the first breakfast we realized that the stove was not working. then the second day the vehicle broke down we had to wait 22h at the same place before we come to replace the car. the second vehicle had not been checked before we were entrusted (difficult to open the doors and ventilation problem). what disappointed us the most is the fact of not having an apology or a commercial gesture.
rented a vehicle in November 2019
Submitted 19. Oct 2019
Good
Nice cars
rented a vehicle in October 2019
Submitted 14. Oct 2019
Outstanding!
Great service, was able to pick up the camper and was on the road very quickly. Drop off was the same. The camper was well equipped and gave me no issues
rented a vehicle in October 2019
Submitted 13. Oct 2019
Outstanding!
This company was great, easy to work with for our campervan rental. Transport to and from the airport was quick. Picking up and returning the van was easy and fast. The campervan may not have been brand new but we found the ease of working with them was more important and made our vacation more enjoyable.
rented a vehicle in October 2019
Submitted 15. Oct 2019
Excellent
We had a great time in Iceland and the Dacia Dokker never let us down. The Webasto heater was great and kept us warm during the night. We only had to turn it on for 1 - 2 hours each night. One day though we couldn't lock the car with the keyless entry system (The button you press on the key so it locks/unlocks). It suddenly started working again after a day. I am 1.86m and could sleep inside with no problems.

However I do feel that the car in general could use a little bit more maintenance: A dashboard light was on during our entire trip (A quick phone call assured us that is was no direct problem) and one headlight was broken. We didn't use the cutlery, stove and pots and pans but they seemed okay.

Overall it's a great deal and would rent it again!
rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 30. Sep 2019
Outstanding!
Very good
rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 30. Sep 2019
The vehicle that we ordered was not available when we arrived to Nordic campers. So we got upgraded to a larger vehicle. Our first vehicle, died in the first night and would not start the next morning and we spent the rest of that day trying to get it started and drove back to the office 3 hours away to get a different car. The heater also was not working at all and we were freezing all night.

Our second car was what we reserved and everything was great until the third night. While driving a main road up a slope in the east fjords we almost ran into a guard rail. Our tire completely lost traction and spun out. The vehicle stalled out and we began to slide backwards. It took about 45 minutes to get away from the guard rail so we can go back down the hill and take a much longer route. This morning I was able to see the tires were completely worn down and the tire wires were exposed and of course the spare tire is broken too. Now I've driven several hours to the next town to find a mechanic. I thank God we noticed the tires were bad before they blew out while we were driving on the main road. And they can't pay the mechanic to replace them so I have to pay and wait for a refund.

We have literally risked our lives renting from this company with how bad these tires were. It's obvious with both cars that they do no safety inspection and there's zero quality control. And when we shared all these problems with the employees they didn't seem to care and said if I wanted a refund I had to email the CEO
rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 25. Sep 2019
We did not have any issue with the car while we were travelling. However, the car was dirty when they gave it to us. The bedsheets were smelling very badly like they have been left in the car and not being washed. For the drop off, we picked the time 6am on the website but what a surprise to realise, when we arrived there, that the office only opened at 7am. Also, every time we had to call their emergency number nobody replied. Finally, we had to remind them the features we have paid extra for as they did not even check our booking.
rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 23. Sep 2019
rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 21. Sep 2019
Outstanding!
We had a good experience with Nordic Campers, including shuttle from airport upon arrival and return. The Dacia Dokker is a perfect format for 2 people travelling on a camping mode. The space inside is just enough, and the company also provide the basic for camping equipment including stove, kitchen dishes etc.. The car was on diesel and its consumption not crazy at all! It was an overall great experience!
rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 16. Sep 2019
Very disappointed upon arrival, we wasted 3hrs getting the caravan for an engine light to come on 2 miles down the road. We returned it and then had to argue that we didn't want the same campervan which took another 1hr30mins to sort out. Overall I was very disappointed with the organisation and that we missed out on a number of locations on our route due to this.

It would take some convincing to book with you again after this experience, this was a scout for future visits and I feel let down. People were nice but that only is part of the experience the rest was terrible. We met another Camper from the same company broken down waiting hours to be helped, we witnessed cars being given out that needed to be jump started.. Not good.
rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 30. Sep 2019
Outstanding!
We found Nordic Campers excellent during our time in Iceland. Right from when they picked us up from the airport, the staff were super helpful and gave us lots of info on travelling in Iceland. They worked very hard to get a large number of people sorted and out into their cars and campers as quickly as possible. We arrived into Iceland late, and spent the night in the Nordic campers yard after watching the Northern Lights just down the road. Staying in their yard was really helpful. In the morning we spoke to the staff who gave us an extra windscreen blind and a box to keep our food in, both were very handy. We also found a tail light was out which they fixed really quickly and got us on the road. There is are two big supermarkets just around the corner too which was convenient. The camper itself was clean and tidy, and included all the basic cooking implements we needed for our 9 day stay. We found the camper good to sleep in, warm, comfortable and quiet. The heater was great too. The Dacia Dokker was also super economic on fuel, but still plenty powerful when needed.
rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 18. Sep 2019
Outstanding!
I chose you because of a special discount I found on a Nordic Campers vehicle. I decided to buy thanks to the good reviews you have on the internet.
rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 11. Sep 2019
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 18. Sep 2019
Good
all is well, just gave the car a burning light “Check Engine”, which is not very good
rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 16. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
I had a great experience, starting with pick up from the airport, to drop off. Sleeping and 'kitchen set' amenities were great. I had no problems with the car. I definitely recommend and will surely use your services next time!
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 01. Sep 2019
Honestly, it was not that great. The condition was very poor. It had obviously been involved in a collision and was 'tired' and dirty with many things broken or missing, despite only having some 80,000km on the clock. I found Nordic Campers very unsatisfactory to deal with, obviously understaffed, rushed and unmotivated, all except Robert provided truculent, reluctant service and failed to meet customers' eyes. It was absolutely not worth the money.
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 28. Aug 2019
Good
Renting a Nordic Camping van has been the perfect choice for our Icelandic vacation, giving us the freedom to plan our itinerary day-by-day. The van had the perfect size for travelling, much smaller than a normal camper, and we found it suited for our family of 4 adults even though some adaptation is required.
The van was a bit old but it was ok.
Shuttle service from/to airpot has been perfect, as check in and drop off procedures, very gentle staff.
I would only suggest to add a table as basic equipment.
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 23. Aug 2019
Outstanding!
We are very happy about the travel. The car works perfectly and the stuff inside were complete for cook and slip. It's very comfortable sleep inside the car compared to the tent when the wind is strong or when it rain. Super recommended for camping and save a lot of money compared to hotel!
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 06. Aug 2019
Outstanding!
It was a Ford Katamarano
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 11. Aug 2019
Good
The campervan served its purpose very well. It is not a 4x4, but we felt safe driving everywhere, including gravel roads. In total we drove around 2500 kms in 13 days. We were traveling with a 15 month old toddler, he was in his childseat between my wife and I, and we had just enough room.

The tires were winter tires, and we did have one flat tire, which we had to get repaired. These were not in the best condition, and the 4 tires were all from different brands - so that could have been better. I called nordic campers, and they could provide with assistance when we had that problem.

We had a sink in the car. After the first night we noticed it was leaking, so we had to go back to get it fixed. In the second to last day (day 12 of 13 total rental days) it started leaking again.

Thank you for the car and for the assistance, during and before our trip!
rented a vehicle in July 2019
Submitted 28. Jul 2019
Outstanding!
An incredible experience with a serious and friendly company that from the first day helped us in everything we needed. 100% recommended!!
rented a vehicle in July 2019
Submitted 19. Jul 2019
Outstanding!
It was a great vehicle, the whole process was very professional, with great staff to deal with.
rented a vehicle in July 2019
Submitted 26. Jul 2019
The experience with nordic campers was terrible and i've written the an e-mail about it.
They didn't pick us up at the airport as they ought to, they didn't show us anything about the car but simply handed us keys. The car was in very bad condition, not even close to what the pictures had given the impression of. Not entirely pumped tires, backdoors unable to open, sidedoor-pulls screwed on and half loose, seats and beds were loose, steering wheel was not aligned and gas stove did not work properly.
rented a vehicle in July 2019
Submitted 26. Jul 2019
Excellent
Great for the trip to iceland, low gas consommation,
rented a vehicle in July 2019
Submitted 20. Jul 2019
My husband and I have traveled many times by motorhome from Canada to New Zealand so when we decided to holiday in Iceland we thought the only way to see your beautiful country would be to do the same. We arrived at the airport where we were told we would be picked up, which we were, after waiting for an hour and two phone calls later, this should have been a warning sign that we were not dealing with professionals. After arriving at your premises the paperwork was done quickly and efficiently but then we were informed that although we had hired a vehicle with cooking facilities we had to pay an extra 100euros for the gas to use it, ok we had to pay. We were then shown the motorhome and how it worked along the the explaination that the bathroom door had been broken but there was a knack to closing it and he showed us how, also the toilet was a bit smelly but if we kept the seat down we wpold not be able to smell it. He then went indoors to bring us the bedding package we had paid for, not neatly ironed and in a plastic bag like we had been used to from other hire firms but rolled up in a bundle and bumped on the bed. As we have hired motorhomes before we know they are never perfect and a few minor problems have to be expected, with this in mind we were ready and excited to begin our holiday and excepted the keys.
Now the nightmare begins. As my husband went to drive off the knob of the gear stick came off in his hand, he showed it to the member of staff standing by the window who just shrugged his shoudlers, but no worries there were shops nearby so off we went to buy some superglue and oh did we need it. Superglue and gear knob glued on we went to our first campsite. Having arrived I went to make us a hot drink only to have the tap knob come off in my hand, more superglue. I then went to make up the bed only to find that the sheet provided was still wet and must have been wet for some time as it was stinking of dampness and we could'nt use it, it was put into the broom cupboard until I gave to your staff member to smell when we returned the vehicle. That first evening before going to bed we went to close the blinds when the one above the table (where our daughter was sleeping) fell off, my husband fixed it but it was obvious that the holes were too big for the screws, it came off again in the morning while trying to bring it down and this went on for two more days before our daughter asked us to leave it of as she was afraid it might fall on her during the night, it went into the same cupboard as the sheet. After day two I asked my husband to please take out the toilet cassette and rinse it out as keeping the seat down had not stopped the smell permeating through the vehicle, we has'nt used it as we use the site bathrooms and would only ever use the vehicle one in emergencies but when he took it out he said it did not smell, I went into the bathroom to discover it wasn't the toilet that stunk but the bathroom itself. Half an hour and almost a whole bottle of cleaning product later the bathroom no longer had a smell and was spotless, all it needed was a good clean which it is obvious it had not had in a long long time, I even poured hot water though the drains for the next three days as that is where most the smell was coming from, it did not smell at all when we returned it. Because of the state of the toilet I spent the next two hours cleaning the whole vehcle, emptying all the cupboards, on my hand and kness with a scourer scrubbing the floor only to realise the whole place was filthy.
All of these things were annoying but really minor problems and if only they had been the worst we might have said nothing but the worst is still to come. The passenger seat that swivels would not lock into a forward postion so every time went round a sharp corner I had to hold onto the door handle to stop the seat from moving. On day three while on the east side of the island where the roads are not the best and can be a bit bumpy my daughter let out a scream and as I turned around to see what was wrong I saw the bathroom door had fallen off and had just missed hitting her. My husband pulled over to side of the road at the first oppertunity and manged to fit it back on only to find that the middle hinge was totaly broken and the bottom hinge was only held on by one screw as the other one could not be fitted ( which is why the door would not shut properly when we were given it and you knew this) After this the bathroom was out of bounds and the door was only ever opened when I went in to clean the drains. We also discovered that the front windscreen leaks in heavy rain and the water drips over the dash electrics so wh had to travel with a cloth over the dash. But the worst thing of all was the wall next to the table which was also the space our daughter was meant to sleep at. We had noticed that the original inner wall had come off and it had been covered up with some cheap stick on liner but after a few days this had started to peel off and revealed the damp mouldy wall behind it, mould which our daughter was expected to breath in all night while sleeping and sit beside while traveling, thats disgusting and you are disgusting for knowly allowing that. This dampness is also why the blind would not stay on as the wall is soft and the screws won't hold. All of these things were told and shown to your staff member when we returned the vehicle. After complaining when we returned a female staff member went through to the back premises and returned some time later to say the manager was'nt in to talk to us, I do not for one second believe this, I believe he just wouldn't come through.
I am absolutely appalled with the horrendous condition of the vehicle you rented to us and had you not contacted us I was most certainly going to email you along with an email to the Iceland Tourist Board, tripadviser, twitter, Facebook and all the websites I find your company being advertised on or any promoting your company. This vehicle should never have been on the road.
You are a disgrace to your country and Iceland should be embarrassed that you represent it.
L J Kelly
J Kelly
rented a vehicle in July 2019
Submitted 29. Jul 2019
Good
Easy booking incl. additional services likes insurance, WiFi router, bedding, although not always clear what is really needed if one is not familiar with travelling with a motorhome in Iceland. Easy pickup and return with friendly staff on site. The motorhome was an older model as described in the booking process, but all worked fine. The only thing what made us nervous were some control lamps of the car which indicated errors but were probably only reflecting problems with the sensors, and uncertainty about the battery's charge status. Kind shuttle from/to airport or whereever needed in Keflavik.
rented a vehicle in July 2019