Reviews for Nordic Campers

We had a great time in Iceland and the Dacia Dokker never let us down. The Webasto heater was great and kept us warm during the night. We only had to turn it on for 1 - 2 hours each night. One day though we couldn't lock the car with the keyless entry system (The button you press on the key so it locks/unlocks). It suddenly started working again after a day. I am 1.86m and could sleep inside with no problems.

However I do feel that the car in general could use a little bit more maintenance: A dashboard light was on during our entire trip (A quick phone call assured us that is was no direct problem) and one headlight was broken. We didn't use the cutlery, stove and pots and pans but they seemed okay.

Overall it's a great deal and would rent it again!

Jeroen

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2019 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

This company was great, easy to work with for our campervan rental. Transport to and from the airport was quick. Picking up and returning the van was easy and fast. The campervan may not have been brand new but we found the ease of working with them was more important and made our vacation more enjoyable.

Cole

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2019 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

Great service, was able to pick up the camper and was on the road very quickly. Drop off was the same. The camper was well equipped and gave me no issues

William

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2019 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

View all cars from this company

Click here

Very disappointed upon arrival, we wasted 3hrs getting the caravan for an engine light to come on 2 miles down the road. We returned it and then had to argue that we didn't want the same campervan which took another 1hr30mins to sort out. Overall I was very disappointed with the organisation and that we missed out on a number of locations on our route due to this.

It would take some convincing to book with you again after this experience, this was a scout for future visits and I feel let down. People were nice but that only is part of the experience the rest was terrible. We met another Camper from the same company broken down waiting hours to be helped, we witnessed cars being given out that needed to be jump started.. Not good.

Llewellyn

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2019

The vehicle that we ordered was not available when we arrived to Nordic campers. So we got upgraded to a larger vehicle. Our first vehicle, died in the first night and would not start the next morning and we spent the rest of that day trying to get it started and drove back to the office 3 hours away to get a different car. The heater also was not working at all and we were freezing all night.

Our second car was what we reserved and everything was great until the third night. While driving a main road up a slope in the east fjords we almost ran into a guard rail. Our tire completely lost traction and spun out. The vehicle stalled out and we began to slide backwards. It took about 45 minutes to get away from the guard rail so we can go back down the hill and take a much longer route. This morning I was able to see the tires were completely worn down and the tire wires were exposed and of course the spare tire is broken too...

Asah

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2019 and rented a 2006 Ford Transit Connect Camper

We found Nordic Campers excellent during our time in Iceland. Right from when they picked us up from the airport, the staff were super helpful and gave us lots of info on travelling in Iceland. They worked very hard to get a large number of people sorted and out into their cars and campers as quickly as possible. We arrived into Iceland late, and spent the night in the Nordic campers yard after watching the Northern Lights just down the road. Staying in their yard was really helpful. In the morning we spoke to the staff who gave us an extra windscreen blind and a box to keep our food in, both were very handy. We also found a tail light was out which they fixed really quickly and got us on the road. There is are two big supermarkets just around the corner too which was convenient. The camper itself was clean and tidy, and included all the basic cooking implements we needed for our 9 day stay...

Matthew

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2019 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

Free Cancellation & Amendments

Very good

Francisco

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2019 and rented a 2008 Renault Trafic Camper

We had a good experience with Nordic Campers, including shuttle from airport upon arrival and return. The Dacia Dokker is a perfect format for 2 people travelling on a camping mode. The space inside is just enough, and the company also provide the basic for camping equipment including stove, kitchen dishes etc.. The car was on diesel and its consumption not crazy at all! It was an overall great experience!

Joannie

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2019 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

Jane

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2019 and rented a 2008 Renault Trafic Camper

I chose you because of a special discount I found on a Nordic Campers vehicle. I decided to buy thanks to the good reviews you have on the internet.

Alberto

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2019 and rented a 2008 Renault Trafic Camper

all is well, just gave the car a burning light “Check Engine”, which is not very good

Vladimir

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2019 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

Honestly, it was not that great. The condition was very poor. It had obviously been involved in a collision and was 'tired' and dirty with many things broken or missing, despite only having some 80,000km on the clock. I found Nordic Campers very unsatisfactory to deal with, obviously understaffed, rushed and unmotivated, all except Robert provided truculent, reluctant service and failed to meet customers' eyes. It was absolutely not worth the money.

Robert

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019

Anders Eichler

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2019 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

Renting a Nordic Camping van has been the perfect choice for our Icelandic vacation, giving us the freedom to plan our itinerary day-by-day. The van had the perfect size for travelling, much smaller than a normal camper, and we found it suited for our family of 4 adults even though some adaptation is required.
The van was a bit old but it was ok.
Shuttle service from/to airpot has been perfect, as check in and drop off procedures, very gentle staff.
I would only suggest to add a table as basic equipment.

Giorgio

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2008 Renault Trafic Camper

We are very happy about the travel. The car works perfectly and the stuff inside were complete for cook and slip. It's very comfortable sleep inside the car compared to the tent when the wind is strong or when it rain. Super recommended for camping and save a lot of money compared to hotel!

Stefano

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

I was looking for a camper van with heating system and found good deal from Nordic Campers. Everything went wrong from day one.
- First night we woke up around 6 a.m. because of strong gas smell from heater inside the cabin, we opened windows, restarted it and smell dissapeared.
- Second night heater just stopped working around 4 a.m. and didn't restart afterwards, we had to call breakdown service and managed to restart it after few attempts
- Third night heater died around 2 a.m. we had to sleep fully clothed in a cold car.
- The whole next day we tried to restart it, called breakdown service, they told us to search for a mechanic in towns nearby, but when we found someone who knew how to fix heater, everything was closed already. After 30 minutes speaking with breakdown service and trying to fix it we gave up. There was a storm this day so we had to go to nearest guesthouse and take a room there...

Maxim

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2006 Ford Transit Connect Camper

Free Cancellation & Amendments

This was my first time renting with Nordic Campers and it will be my last.
The company seemed disorganized upon arrival and it took them a very long time to get us our vehicle. It seemed like our reservation was overlooked because my name was not on their list (they assumed I was another person that had a surname of oriental origin) even though I had paid a deposit already and had receipts with the time and date of arrival for confirmation. The people behind the desk tried to charge me more because of the new exchange rate amounts but the receipt already stated the outstanding balance owing so I informed them I would only pay that amount and the reluctantly agreed to it.

Their Renault Van was just an old and outdated van from their competitor Happy Campers with a cheap paint job to cover the old logo and the vehicle had damages that they did not seem to care to repair i.e. a dented in bumper in the front and a 4 way button that did not work...

Simon

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018 and rented a 2008 Renault Trafic Camper

We booked an campervan at nordic campers. At first we got a too small one which we hadn’t booked. After that we got a bigger one. But we have several complaints!
1. One tier was damaged before we got the van, but your engineer told us it’s fine. After 5 days we weren’t able to continue driving so we had to change it, but the jack was to small so we couldn’t lift up the car and we spend half a day looking for a suitable jack!
2. The water tank was leaking so the mechanic an came and fixed it, but after 5 more days it was leaking again and the whole floor was full of water.
3. When we got the camper, everything was very dirty especially the facilities. There was brown dirt coming out of the shower outflow, the toilets were yellow and it was dirty on the floor.
4. The heater at the front seats isn’t working. We are only able to use the 4 level, which is very annoying especially if you drive a lot like us!
5...

John

Traveled to Iceland in Apr 2019

Since nothing special happened at the end the experience was slightly positive. The best was the competence and clarity of explanation from your mechanic.
But then I have to say the camper was not definitely in the best condition being quite old and having a lot of flaws and damages internally.
The worst was the very high deposit I had to immobilize in my credit card that, summed with the rental cost, immediately saturated the plafond ("normal" credit card has a plafond of 5000€) and I was forced to buy additional insurance to halve the deposit itself. Luckily I had an additional credit card that allowed me and my family to survive in an expensive country like Iceland!

Nicola

Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2019

In general ok but I must point out the below:
- the interior of the camper is not in a very good condition, to name a few: 1. The seat cushions are quite dirty; 2. The ladder to the upper bed did not fit with the holding slots, making the ladder useless; 3. The sleeping kits were handed over to me in a way I don’t feel they are clean (just grabbed by your staff from the garage, without proper packing). Concerned camper is PDU57, please check.
- when doing the booking I thought I have chosen the insurance package with the highest protection (I.e. driver does not bear any liability in case of damage, which is common with other rental company), however when I picked up the camper I was told that I still need to be responsible for the damage up to ISK25000, could this be changed in the future?
- during the driving the rear car plate was ripped off and at the end I was charged EUR70, with the reason “the car plate was dropped when I was renting / driving”...

Kwan Hang

Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2019

It was pretty good for driving, but not for sleeping. Advertising it as a vehicle in which 3 people could sleep was very, very optimistic. The first nights we tried to do it and one of us had to sleep in a corner with half of the body outside the mattress. Also, we were promised that the heating system would last for about 8 hours, and in the best of the cases it was lasting 5. In the middle of the trip, after a short stop, the engine was suddenly not starting again. There was no way to reach the emergency line of Nordic Campers, they were only answering the phone when we called the airport pick up service. They left us completely unattended, saying the breakdown was our responsibility (afterwards even the mechanic said it wasn't) and that we had to pay for the transfer to the closest mechanic, which was hours away. In the end we could drive ourselves to the mechanic thanks to some locals that towed our car and made it possible to start the engine again...

Pablo

Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a 2008 Renault Trafic Camper

My experiece was overall good!
We got picked up pretty fast from the airport (waited 15-20 min max).
The car was a bit older but we had no problems during our whole visit.
Our checkout was super easy too :)

The people that worked there were super nice and informative!! :)

I recommend renting form northbound.is.

We didnt have a VISA credit card so we had to put down a 1700 Euro deposit cash. We got it back 2 days after we returned the car, so no harm done. But its something to keep in mind if you rent from this place.

Lisa

Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2019 and rented a 2008 Renault Trafic Camper

I think the motorhome we hired was sub standard and would not have been acceptable in England.
There were many faults with it on collection such as toilet door would not open without much effort. All blinds were torn or stuck in position. The block out screen for the front would not fit so I had to use a sheet.
Overall I was not very impressed with the quality of the van.

D

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2019

My husband and I have traveled many times by motorhome from Canada to New Zealand so when we decided to holiday in Iceland we thought the only way to see your beautiful country would be to do the same. We arrived at the airport where we were told we would be picked up, which we were, after waiting for an hour and two phone calls later, this should have been a warning sign that we were not dealing with professionals. After arriving at your premises the paperwork was done quickly and efficiently but then we were informed that although we had hired a vehicle with cooking facilities we had to pay an extra 100euros for the gas to use it, ok we had to pay. We were then shown the motorhome and how it worked along the the explaination that the bathroom door had been broken but there was a knack to closing it and he showed us how, also the toilet was a bit smelly but if we kept the seat down we wpold not be able to smell it...

James

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2019

View all cars from this company

Click here

I coudn't get this car in Nordic Camper . When we arrive to piick it up, the car was not ready. A crap, old and very dangerous motorhome was ofered instead of the high roof. With no options, we have to take it. We have to drop it the next day because of the danger of driving this car because is slides in te road at every movement of the driving wheel. The third place for my child was unsafe and I will guess to say that ilegal (at least in Spain you can't drive with this dangerous place) A old, dirty hig roof was ofered this day, but engine problems made us take a trafic camper (not ofered at the begining) with no hig roof at the same price than the hig roof, when we know (and told to the employee atvthe moment), that this vehicle was cheaper than the high roof. But again, we doesn't have no optios. The renault trafic had good engine, but all the doors were in very bad conditions...

Alfonso Carlos

Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2019 and rented a 2008 Renault Trafic Camper

Some feedback about our experience:
- the car was in quite bad shape outside, lots of damages and scratches all over
- the car was not clean inside
- the rear door lock was missing some bolts, so it was a bit difficult to lock
-the drivers door handle was not working correctly (some spring broken/missing inside?)
-side door was damaged, so needs a lot of force to close it
-in contract fuel was marked 75%, but when we started the meter was showing 40%. We went back and they corrected it.
- the plates were quite ”wear out”
- in airport we waited some 30-40 min and not anybody with any ”Pick-up sign”. We need to call them and wait some time.

BUT our overall experience of Iceland was VERY good and also car was working despite of all the above negative notes!

Risto

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2019 and rented a 2008 Renault Trafic Camper

The experience with nordic campers was terrible and i've written the an e-mail about it.
They didn't pick us up at the airport as they ought to, they didn't show us anything about the car but simply handed us keys. The car was in very bad condition, not even close to what the pictures had given the impression of. Not entirely pumped tires, backdoors unable to open, sidedoor-pulls screwed on and half loose, seats and beds were loose, steering wheel was not aligned and gas stove did not work properly.

Isak

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2019 and rented a 2008 Renault Trafic Camper

The campervan served its purpose very well. It is not a 4x4, but we felt safe driving everywhere, including gravel roads. In total we drove around 2500 kms in 13 days. We were traveling with a 15 month old toddler, he was in his childseat between my wife and I, and we had just enough room.

The tires were winter tires, and we did have one flat tire, which we had to get repaired. These were not in the best condition, and the 4 tires were all from different brands - so that could have been better. I called nordic campers, and they could provide with assistance when we had that problem.

We had a sink in the car. After the first night we noticed it was leaking, so we had to go back to get it fixed. In the second to last day (day 12 of 13 total rental days) it started leaking again.

Thank you for the car and for the assistance, during and before our trip!

Estuardo José

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2019 and rented a 2008 Renault Trafic Camper

It was a Ford Katamarano

Eric

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019

Easy booking incl. additional services likes insurance, WiFi router, bedding, although not always clear what is really needed if one is not familiar with travelling with a motorhome in Iceland. Easy pickup and return with friendly staff on site. The motorhome was an older model as described in the booking process, but all worked fine. The only thing what made us nervous were some control lamps of the car which indicated errors but were probably only reflecting problems with the sensors, and uncertainty about the battery's charge status. Kind shuttle from/to airport or whereever needed in Keflavik.

Joachim

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2019