Reviews for Kuku Campers in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for Kuku Campers
Submitted 22. Sep 2022
Fantastic!
Back in Mexico digesting our experience with Kuku Campers and another renting company. Kuku left only good memories in our hearts and we really felt in love with the car, "Bonsai" we calles it de to a bit bonsai painting on it. A nice experience!
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 04. Sep 2022
Fantastic!
Everything went great!
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 29. Aug 2022
Very Good
Fast and friendly support! Will consider trying again. The car was a bit more basic than expected (usually newer 2019 cars have usb, apple car play etc) but this didn’t. It was ok in all other aspects though.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 28. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 25. Aug 2022
Good
It took a little long to pick up the van. Busy time of day? Very convenient to be picked up at the ship dock and taken to the office! It was a 30 minute ride from the dock to the pick up office. The taxi line was hours long! Very friendly staff. Explained everything well and went over the vehicle before leaving.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 19. Aug 2022
Good
We got a Renault Kangoo. It was ok. The mattress could have been better though. More than one cooking pot would have been good. But over all, all good!
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 20. Aug 2022
Very Good
Young and friendly company (KuKu campers). Great service, precise and timely from the pick up at the airport to the camper delivering. The camper was very basic and with more than 175.000 kms, but everything went perfectly fine during our 9 days trip. We had a little crack on the car window which was fully covered by the insurance. Recommended
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 16. Aug 2022
Good
Hello, The van works well during the trip. But the mobile wi-fi we rented is defective which caused headache for us. It would be nice for Kuku to test the equipment before renting out.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 19. Aug 2022
Excellent
Everything went great. Vehicle was outfitted as described, performed well the whole trip. Kuku staff were friendly, informative, and efficient at pickup, drop off, and during a call which solved a road service issue over the phone.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 12. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
Personale cordiale e competente, che ci ha ben consigliato e spiegato ogni dettaglio delle strade Islandesi, campeggi, ed altre informazioni e precauzioni da non sottovalutare. Il camper era così come è stato prenotato. Quindi tutto ok.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 08. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
This was my first experience with campers. And it was amazing!
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 31. Aug 2022
Good
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 10. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
great experience! very well organized car. excellent efficiency of your team, we had a problem with the camper and it was replaced in a few hours with a refund of 2 days of rental, congratulations! all positive, thanks and hopefully see you soon!
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 05. Aug 2022
Good
We had some issues. The biggest issue was the cooler. It was not able to cool down the food. Also the water tank was found really dirty and with a bad smell and taste on day one. Unfortunately the heater stopped working one day due to bad relay. But it was quickly solved on a workshop the next day.
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 29. Jul 2022
Outstanding!
We really liked the camper. We had a few difficulties with the GPS included in the car, it's not user friendly. Everything else was great.
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 04. Aug 2022
Very Good
It was good but the space for sleeping was a little tight. We reserved a camper that said it slept 4 and the photo had a roof top tent. The camper our friend picked up and drove 45 minutes to pick us up in had no roof top tent and all 3 of us slept inside side by side. This ended up being fine but I think we over paid based on the amount it looks like we would have if we just went straight through Kuku Campers and got the van we got.
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 29. Jul 2022
Good
It's ok !!
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 27. Jul 2022
Outstanding!
We got an upgrade to a Renault Master due to wrong indications concerning seat number on the booking site. The Renault Master was in perfect condition, clean, no problems while driving and the people at Kuku campers were super nice. Thank you for a wonderful time in Iceland
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 22. Jul 2022
Outstanding!
First time renting a camper for 2 of us. Picked the Renault Traffic from Kuku because of the larger bed and the arrangement within the camper. Very much enjoyed having a table inside for some meals and to play cards. It was a perfect sized unit-large but easy to drive. Kuku staff were great explaining the features and high energy. I would very HIGHLY recommend Kuku Campers and the Traffic van!!!!
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 16. Jul 2022
Good
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 12. Jul 2022
Outstanding!
The experience was seamless and very easy to book. We were able to travel Iceland with ease and enjoyed knowing we had the support of northbound before our travel and during our travel with any questions.
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 10. Jul 2022
Fantastic!
It was a pleasure to rent the car at Kuku. The staff was highly helpful and friendly that we could start with a really good feeling our roadtrip. The car was in good conditions. Do recommend the Kuku team and their cars ;-)
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 08. Jul 2022
Outstanding!
We loved our Kuku Campers campervan! It was such a fun way to tour around Iceland. The staff at Kuku campers were really nice and fun to interact with. The heater in the van worked exceptionally well and kept us nice and warm during the night. The way they set up the storage space in the van so that all the storage is below your bed was really nice and made for a much better experience than our friends who rented a similar campervan from another company. Both my wife and I brought large suitcases and there was plenty of space for them in the van. We just had to move them up to the front seat when we slept. We also loved the setup in the van for cooking inside. That came in handy on really cold nights. As far as driving goes, the campervan worked pretty well, though it struggled a lot going up hills (like, getting passed up by semi-trucks going uphill), but I get the sense that problem was specific to our car as I saw other Kuku campervans of the same model do just fine going uphill.
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 28. Jun 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 23. Jun 2022
Outstanding!
The vehicle was exactly as described, all was fine, next time I will try to get car with diesel engine because gas consumption of Dacia Dokker is relatively high
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 08. Jun 2022
Fantastic!
Kuku campers had good and reliable service.
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 11. Oct 2021
Outstanding!
Great experience with Kuku Campers. Very convenient and professional service. I would definetly rent their van again.
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 21. Sep 2021
Good
I tried to rent a AB model but i make a mistake booking and the camper was an A model. It’s not a bad car but it’s a little unconforttable to sleep inside. Anyway the didn’t have any mechanical problem.
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 19. Apr 2021
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 09. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Really nice little van with plenty of space for 2 adults, the pictures don't do it's justice, as there were space to pull down a table, heater and indoor lights, which was a nice surprise Kuku were very friendly, and gave us good tips for our journey! Also, remember to take pictures of your van before travelling and be thorough when checking the van for damage! You have to note down any issues of the van before you use it, and we didn't see some of the scratches it had, so we hadn't noted them down. Luckily our pictures showed the damages were before our rental :) There's also a table to share food and other things, which people can take feely from, really nice!
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 23. Oct 2019
Outstanding!
The staff were helpful and great to work with.
rented a vehicle in October 2019
Submitted 08. Aug 2019
Outstanding!
Just perfect for our ring road trip. It allowed us to explore off the beaten track places we did not plan to see and we loved those roads the best. The Panjero was just roomy enough for two people and all our luggage.
rented a vehicle in July 2019
Submitted 24. Jul 2019
Our Toyota Hiace was a bit old, but it worked well. We wanted a car that could drive F-roads, but inside this car was written that Toyota Hiace is not allowed for F-roads. After 10 days we had a problem with the car (it was very slow, no speed anymore) , but Kukucampers gave us imediately a new one, this time a Mercedes Vito. That car was very good and was also allowed for F-roads! After all we had a great journey and i would definitely recomend Kuku-Campers!
rented a vehicle in July 2019
Submitted 21. Jun 2019
Outstanding!
Excellent value for money and service
rented a vehicle in June 2019
Submitted 11. Jun 2019
Outstanding!
The camper was great! Super experience to discover Iceland.
rented a vehicle in June 2019
Submitted 12. Jun 2019
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in June 2019
Submitted 11. Jun 2019
Outstanding!
We had a great experience with our rental. Northbound and Kuku both also have awesome customer service. There was a slight mixup with what was included in our rental, and they very quickly had it sorted out. Would definitely recommend!
rented a vehicle in June 2019
Submitted 08. Jun 2019
Outstanding!
Kuku Campers was awesome. Staff was super friendly, the van was clean, spacious and just what we were looking for. Prices were fair too.
rented a vehicle in May 2019
Submitted 16. May 2019
Outstanding!
Kuku Campers is the way to get around Iceland. Incredible staff, awesome vans, and all at an amazing price. These people will give you the info on all the cool spots and things to do, whether it be around the city or across the country. Going with this company made my trip and if I ever repeat will be going with Kuku Campers again.
rented a vehicle in May 2019
Submitted 15. May 2019
Outstanding!
There are quite a few companies to rent campervans from and Northbound has it all for your convenience. All on the same website :) I did quite a lot of research prior booking and im so happy I went with Northbound. They offer big variety of rental companies and they are basically work like a hub, connecting you with all possible options. Also, you have a chance to pay small deposit as a reservaion. Its very convenient if you don't wanna pay full amount all at ones. Not to mention, I actually got my campervan for like 20$ cheaper then renting directly from Kuku. Some companies require you to deposit enormous security deposits btw. But not all of them. This is one of the reason I picked Kuku. They are very cool and easygoing team. No pressure selling you extra ensurances etc (Although, i'd recommend getting at least Gravel protection due to some gravel roads that you will drive ocasionally). I picked a camper from KUKU and I've had such an amazing experience renting with them. Northbound organized pickup from the airport with a person waiting for us with a poster with names. Very cool ! Rental procedure was easy and smooth and the team is nice and helpful. Campers are great and have that wicked graphics on their vans. Camper was in great condition and included basic stuff you'd need for the road. Overall if you're planning on renting a camper in Iceland then Northbound is the easiest and most convenient place to go. No hussle. Its simply convenient and they have wonderful customer support who answers email fast and ready to help you. All professionally done. Most definitely will book with them again. Northbound got so many good reviews on Google, now they got one more ;) Iceland is must visit country ! And traveling with campervan/motorhome is THE best way to see this gorgeous country.
rented a vehicle in May 2019
Submitted 08. May 2019
Good
The car was rather well worn, bad tyres and windscreen wipers. But its was the cheapest one, and I guess you get what you pay for. We are pleased with what we got and I think I could recommend your services to my friends. Cold and crowed, we froze a lot. But that`s our own planning!
rented a vehicle in April 2019
Submitted 29. Apr 2019
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in April 2019
Submitted 18. Apr 2019
Outstanding!
The Renault Traffic was very good to drive and comfortable car for camping.
rented a vehicle in April 2019
Submitted 07. Apr 2019
Good
Everything was great. We had some trouble with communicating - nobody picked up our phone calls on the day of our arrival. Fortunately we were able to get respond from rental company by email. Traveling was great. Weather was rough sometimes. But we enjoyed our trip!
rented a vehicle in March 2019
Submitted 12. Nov 2018
Outstanding!
Everything was great , the pick up, the time which KuKucampets spend to explain everything and the car itself. we were on snow as well as strong wind but car was great in action. if you manage the thermostat of the heater correctly it will give you nice temperature for more than 8 hours even in November.
rented a vehicle in November 2018
Submitted 07. Oct 2018
Outstanding!
Our experience with KuKu Campers was awesome. They were kind, friendly, and informative about everything we needed to know about the camper. I highly recommend this company. Northbound made this process so simple and easy to understand. They found me the camper and the company who provided exactly what we needed.
rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 03. Oct 2018
Fine
Overall the camper was fine. The person before us was late returning the vehicle so firstly we had to wait...(during this time we were warned about the various pitfalls of driving in Iceland and would we require more insurance)...no sign....so we were given a slightly bigger model so we could at least go get something to eat. This of course after we had to do a full check around for chips or cracks on something we had to return within a few hours. Later we were met by a rep with our camper and in semi darkness went through the checks on that. Luckily I spotted a small crack in the windscreen and so we were able to cancel the gravel damage insurance we had added. The camper turned out to be an unleaded model....I'm sure I picked a diesel(which are usually more economical on fuel). Unfortunately winter came a bit early and the camper proved not up to the challenge. The main body being not being insulated got very cold and it was only good sleeping bags which kept us warm. We also had some problem with condensation from the inside roof. However we're camping outdoor types and did not let these drawbacks hold us back and we had a great holiday. In all we covered about 3000km and got some good photos along the way. I know we picked the basic model but it should provide a basic level of comfort. Also given the camper had 90000 on the clock already you could probably ease off on pushing for extra insurance.
rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 23. Sep 2018
Outstanding!
Kuku helped me understand things I didn't know before I left with the rental. They were very helpful.
rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 17. Jun 2018
Outstanding!
They were very helpful and provided great information. The camper was the model as promised, and everything worked. It was clean and on-time.
rented a vehicle in June 2018
Submitted 25. Jun 2018
Outstanding!
Very friendly and helpful business, the camper was comfortable and a very good way to travel around Iceland allowing us to explore day by day as we felt.
rented a vehicle in June 2018