Reviews for Nordic Car Rental

Renting from northbound was very easy and streamlined, everything from the pick of up from the airport, car rental/return and drop off back at airport was smooth and hassle free.
We hired one of the order landcruisers but it was excellent, didn’t miss a beat the whole trip and got us everywhere we wanted to go while in Iceland.
I highly recommend the Nordic car rental team( who were fantastic) and their cars.

Jamie from Australia
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2012 Toyota Land Cruiser

The airport service was on time and professional. The car was well maintained and as mentioned in the description.

Raymond from United Arab Emirates
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2016 Toyota RAV4

A slight misunderstanding on the pick up as the voucher stated that someone would be waiting at the airport with my name on it. Aside from that everything is perfect. The car is in good condition and the staff are very helpful.

Joven from United Arab Emirates
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2016 Toyota RAV4

View all cars from this company

Click here

Right from the pickup at the airport everything was smooth and easy. On our 3rd day the car Was making a funny noise and we were hours away from the car rental. We called and within 10minutes a mechanic showed up to look at it. I was very impressed! The car had problems so they sent out a replacement. It was there in just over and hour! That’s incredible service and would definitely use them again and again!

Jason from Canada
Traveled to Iceland in Jan 2019 and rented a Suzuki Jimny

The Mitsubishi Outlander was good and it didn't give us any trouble at all during our entire trip which we drove around for 4068km. The only issue we had was the 4x4 tyres didn't have enough air pressure and we had to drive back to the shop to have them inflated properly.
The service was generally good and prompt. The only concerning aspect was that there isn't any no-liability insurance. I would patronize Northbound again if I were to come back for another visit visit.

Choong Cheok from Malaysia
Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018 and rented a 2015 Mitsubishi Outlander

This is Bill Bowser, the driver, Julie’s husband. Our family car in Australia is a Suzuki Grand Vitara. I am impressed by your Suzuki with its low centre of gravity. Ground clearance was satisfactory in the snow but more would be nice. It’s economy also impressed me - 6.4litres per 100km. Left hand drive was challenging at times. Insurance was expensive but I understand why.

Julienne from Australia
Traveled to Iceland in Jan 2019 and rented a 2014 Suzuki S-Cross

Free Cancellation & Amendments

It was a great experience with Nordic Car Rental. The staff there helped out with a few questions that we had regarding the vehicle. The vehicle was very spacious and comfortable.

Ruzshanth from Canada
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2012 Toyota Land Cruiser

Spacious, good to drive, had a cool name

Rebecca from Australia
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2015 Dacia Logan

Great vehicle and easy pick-up/drop-off serve.

Kate from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Jan 2019 and rented a 2014 Suzuki S-Cross

The car was really great, nice to drive, no troubles during our ca. 4300 km, very stable on road and by wind. For light offroad ok, for a little bit harder offroad or rivercrossing is an another, bigger SUV recommended.
In the first RAV4 we got from Nordic Car Rental the ESP didn´t work properly and it made some laud noises, so we had to change the car (1-2 hours extra), but the second car was than really ok. I can really just recommend this car for Island. Negative of Nordic Car Rental: We had to wait about 30 Minutes at the airport for pick-up-service.

Michal from Germany
Traveled to Iceland in Jan 2019 and rented a 2016 Toyota RAV4

The car ran great. Went through some sketchy winter weather and had no problems:)

Lili from Canada
Traveled to Iceland in Jan 2019 and rented a 2014 Suzuki S-Cross

Generally a good experience but had issues on arrival due to lack of staff (New years day), I had to leave my group at the airport to travel on shuttle bus (10 mins) to collect car from offices, they said it was due to arrival of 4 other groups at same time, they would only take the drivers back to the office. We did book 3 months in advance so they would have had plenty of notice to arrange a bigger bus or more staff. The turn around time delayed us by around an hour and a half (almost as long as the flight) firstly due to an incorrect vehicle specification (Manual instead of Automatic) being given, then arranging a replacement automatic vehicle. The car ended up being a Suzuki Grand Vitara which was perfect for the job and served us very well for our 7 day trip. My further delay was having to drive back to airport (an additional 20 mins round trip) to collect my group, who by this time were very distressed...

Gary from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Jan 2019 and rented a 2014 Suzuki S-Cross

The car was good, it had already some scratches and bumps, so when you're picking it up make sure to take some photos if there are visible damages. We also had a little trouble with the motor oil cause they forgot to close the cap. Although all this stuff, the Nissan Qashqai did her work very nicely

Lorenzo from Italy
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2011 Nissan Qashqai

Sometimes things don't go as planned, and this is where you really get to know if you're dealing with a company. When I had troubles the helpful staff was very professional and made the process of return easy.

Sofus Amby from Denmark
Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018 and rented a 2013 Dacia Duster

Hello Rúnar,

We had a wonderful second trip to Iceland but as mentionned to Nordic car rental and Líam, we were very disappointed with the car. I wont repeat myself again but you can ask them.

We asked for a discount as the car was in really bad shape. Nordic car rental doesn’t seem to be willing to do so.

We will never do business with them again but I need to say that the employees were really awesome.

Thanks,

Sophie

Sophie from Canada
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2014 Hyundai i10

The car was excellent, we were told by Nordic Car Rental to take out time and take pictures of scratches, dents, chips etc. on the car for insurance purposes.

Thomas from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2011 Nissan Qashqai

Free Cancellation & Amendments

The car itself was great, it was exactly what I wanted. I don't need a brand new car to drive around the island, just something reliable and in good shape at a very good price. That is what I got.
I would have given a rating of 5 if it wasn't for the rude van driver that took us back to the airport.
It was raining hard on the return day and I had a lot of luggage to unload so I parked near the front entrance.
Suddenly a van driver came in, very angry at me because apparently I had parked where the minivan is supposed to park. Well that is all good if there was a sign to tell me that or if I had been told before not to park there. I am not a mind reader!!
If you don't like customers to park near the door, then post a sign that will let them know, don't assume they will know! And for the driver, don't drive so aggressively back to the airport, I know you are in a hurry but following a big bus just 1 meter behind, passing him on the double white line and then talking on the phone at the same time isn't the best way to make your passenger feel safe in the van

Gerald from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2016 Toyota RAV4

Nordic were brilliant from start to finish. They rang us before we left to check the pick up time. The hand over was quick and efficient and the agent gave us great tips for driving in Iceland. We got useful weather bullitens by e-mail. The car was great. The return process was easy. All in all one the best car rental experiences I have ever had.

David from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2013 Dacia Duster

Overall experience was good, but windshield wipers needed replacing. I had to clean the windshield by hand a couple of times.

Aaron from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2011 Hyundai ix35

Nordic Car Rentals was superb to deal with before and during the trip around Iceland. They were quick to respond to emails, picked us up and dropped us off to the airport. The car was fantastic and was really good for driving around the country.

Joseph from Australia
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2014 Suzuki S-Cross

It was a great experience from beginning to end, thanks!

Joey from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2014 Suzuki S-Cross

Nordic Car Rental was honest, professional, and friendly. Definitely get full insurance and make sure you look at all details of the car.

Jacqueline from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2011 Nissan Qashqai

Overall a very good experience. Only issue I experienced was that I was unable to contact the company through its listed phone number as i waited for pickup from the airport (I had an EE number from London not sure what was wrong, another fellow traveller also had the same issue). However, they were very quick in replying by email. I got an upgrade at no charge as my booked car was not available at the time which was great. Staff was friendly and courteous. Will book again through this company.

Kiam Sin Jonathan from Canada
Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018 and rented a 2014 Suzuki S-Cross

We had a fantastic experience with Nordic Car Rental. They picked us up promptly from the airport and we were driving away within half an hour. During our trip we had an emergency with some travel documents and we had to have them shipped priority to Iceland, they didn't arrive in time and the team at Nordic Car Rental helped us contact DHL and even drove us to the sorting centre so we could try and find them - unbelievably helpful and friendly! I would absolutely recommend using this company for your trip to Iceland.

Jennifer from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a Suzuki Jimny

View all cars from this company

Click here

Booking was easy, I was able to see the car make, model and year, and what insurance packages were included and what was extra. We were picked up at the airport and driven to the rental office. This process was quick and efficient and we were on the road very soon after landing. The car (Toyota Rav 4) was clean and comfortable. There were only 2 of us but would suit up to 4 people with cabin luggage. We stuck to mostly tarmac roads but did use the gravel roads too, and drove in a blizzard. The car handled well throughout. Much better value to rent a car than to book Northern lights/golden circle/South Iceland tours. Would use your company again, and recommend to friends.

Caroline from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2016 Toyota RAV4

All when smoothly in the booking process, but once we landed at the airport the experience was not so good. Lodged a complaint after we returned and this was handled well.

Malik from Canada
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2015 Ford Tourneo

Great service, very helpful staff, everything was really well organised. We had no serious problems with the car apart from the codrivers window that could not be closed once it was opened all the way down. I would definately reccomend it!!

ELENI from Greece
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2014 Suzuki S-Cross

Our experience was very good. The car went well and was a good size for the 2 of us.
One criticism is that we were warned that we should bring back the car with 90% fuel which is the level it was delivered to us at or we would be charged. We brought it back with 100% but there was no credit.
Also, there was some damage inside the door when we collected the car but we were not shown this - and didn't think to ask. The doors were not opened when we were recording damage with your representative. However on our return the doors were opened and the fault identified. We were not charged. As far as we could see the door worked fine all week. The different levels of inspection before and after the hire seemed unfair.

Angus from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2014 Suzuki S-Cross

Prompt pick up and drop, excellent service, Friendly and very informative staff
We had taken all the insurances and had no issues with the car, the car features matched exactly what we had booked. GPS isn't handy , better to use the google offline maps

Ajay from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018 and rented a 2016 Toyota RAV4


The service we were offered was great, great shuttle service and very friendly and helpful staff. The vehicle was in good condition and allowed us to travel all over the south of Iceland. Great experience.

Barbara from Italy
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2015 Mitsubishi Outlander