Reviews for Nordic Car Rental in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for Nordic Car Rental
Submitted 17. May 2021
Outstanding!
The i10 was fine for city and golden circle but was a little light for the hwy 1 winds in the south. My rental experience was excellent with fast response from the staff, great price with everything included and no high pressure upsell like others.
rented a vehicle in May 2021
Submitted 16. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
We are very satisfied with the service and the car.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 23. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
The car was excellent.
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 17. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 19. Mar 2020
Excellent
Great customer service and prices are very affordable. We did not get the Dacia Duster but a similar car which was equally reliable. Pick up and drop off process were smooth also.
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 14. Mar 2020
Good
The welcoming was rather harsh and stressed but the car was nice and the drop off also was very easy and kind.
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 10. Mar 2020
Is always short of staff. There was one particular staff that could not handle working along and had to wait for a long time to get my vehicle.
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 26. Feb 2020
Outstanding!
Very friendly pick up, smooth transfer and quick paperwork and pick up of hire car.
rented a vehicle in February 2020
Submitted 29. Feb 2020
Good
Never had a Duster before. Good car, which was perfect for our drives/tours.

Only one point was disappointing. We needed two times jumper cables to restart the car. Luckily we always found friendly locals to help. Was the battery aged and not strong enough anymore to withstand the cold? All potential power users were switched off carefully every time.
rented a vehicle in February 2020
Submitted 20. Feb 2020
Outstanding!
nice people, nice car, every thing was oke. we will come back to you to rent a car.
rented a vehicle in February 2020
Submitted 08. Feb 2020
Fine
Hello, I was rented from your company as I am advised to. But unfortunately the car was very old and used much. It did not make us feel good. And we had to wait in the airport, it is so unprofessional. My advise to you to find a way to renting without keep people waiting and get some new cars.
rented a vehicle in February 2020
Submitted 24. Feb 2020
Excellent
We appreciated the simplicity of the formalities before taking the car AND also when delivering it at the end, your reactivity to answer to all our questions on internet.
The car was well adapted to our travel.
Thank you
rented a vehicle in January 2020
Submitted 01. Feb 2020
Good
Hello experience feedback for car rental. We waited 1 hour for our shuttle to the airport the evening we arrived. And the car we had was relatively older over 190,000km which is perhaps normal in Iceland? And the full was not done which forced us to calculate for our return level. It was a little caught up by the free loan of a wifi box so our appreciation is pretty correct. Thank you
rented a vehicle in January 2020
Submitted 27. Jan 2020
Good
Hi.
The Dacia Duster was just fine. The whole trip went great. The thing that bothered me was the deposit that is as high as the price of the car. That was a bummer when we arrived in Iceland. We had to pay additional assurance to be able to go with 720 euros deposit. So i have to add that issue to this review.
rented a vehicle in January 2020
Submitted 19. Jan 2020
Excellent
It was just perfect for my friend and me. Just a nice small car to drive is through the south of Iceland
rented a vehicle in January 2020
Submitted 19. Jan 2020
Outstanding!
My girlfriend and I had an awesome all around experience with Northbound. They thoroughly educated us on the things to look out for while driving in Iceland during the winter (January specifically). The Duster was in great condition and didn't have any trouble with the weather conditions which included a lot of wind and snow. The pickup and drop-off process was very easy with a shuttle to and from the airport. Definitely recommend!
rented a vehicle in January 2020
Submitted 15. Jan 2020
Good
Le Jimny Super, l'accueil Northbound superficiel, retard pour venir nous chercher a l'aéroport et pour finir un tarif élevé
rented a vehicle in January 2020
Submitted 08. Jan 2020
Outstanding!
The Suzuki Jimny we had booked wasn't available so we were upgraded to a Dacia Duster which was great - heat seats are a definite perk in the middle of winter! We had no problems with the car and everyone at the Rental Company was really friendly and helpful. We would definitely rent from the same place again when we return to Iceland.
rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 29. Dec 2019
Outstanding!
We can highly recommend Nordic. Our car a Toyota Rav4 was nice to drive and very clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 13. Dec 2019
Outstanding!
Dealing with Northbound was fantastic, easy to deal with and very good communication. Fantastic service.
Nordic was also quite good to deal with and provided a quality service.
rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 10. Nov 2019
Outstanding!
It went really well! The car was in decent condition and we were fine driving with the Icelandic conditions. Didn't expect the deposit but at least we got it all back as we were careful with the vehicle.
rented a vehicle in November 2019
Submitted 07. Nov 2019
Good
We actually had a Dacia Duster. It was good.
rented a vehicle in October 2019
Submitted 07. Nov 2019
Outstanding!
It was a great little car. Good fuel milage. Had no problems.
rented a vehicle in October 2019
Submitted 30. Oct 2019
Outstanding!
Staff were helpful and friendly, upgraded our vehicle free of charge to save us waiting an hour for our original car to be ready, shuttle drivers were friendly and safe. Would recommend to anyone I know looking to hire a car if travelling to Iceland and would use again if I returned.
rented a vehicle in October 2019
Submitted 26. Oct 2019
Fine
Not very good. We were returning the car in Reykjavik and went to the address circled on the rental form. Hours on the door were posted that it opened at 8 am. No one was there. It was extremely windy and after the second attempt we dropped the key in the tube.
rented a vehicle in October 2019
Submitted 28. Oct 2019
Outstanding!
All perfect, fast check in and out, friendly staff and car was good.
rented a vehicle in October 2019
Submitted 19. Oct 2019
Outstanding!
Easy check in process with friendly employees. The car performed as expected, however, we were no able to use the GPS that I added because it would not charge. I tried both power ports. Also, a map with directions on where to turn the car in at the airport in Keflavik would have been immensely helpful. Yes, I would rent a car from Northbound in the future.
rented a vehicle in October 2019
Submitted 19. Oct 2019
Outstanding!
Dear Nordic Car Rental,

My experience with Suzuki Grand Vitara was more than great!!
The ride was smooth, four wheel drive was awesome.
The staff was friendly and whatever I needed they where avaliable.
I sincerely recommend it...Nordic Car Rental.

Greetings,

Rok
rented a vehicle in October 2019
Submitted 23. Oct 2019
Outstanding!
We did very well with our 4X4. The car was great, and reliably got us across many gravel roads. Both the price and the support from Northbound were great.
Price: I looked at many, many different rentals before deciding on Northbound. We were in Iceland in October, so it was off-season, with a risk of bad weather. Northbound was the perfect choice because we got a comfortable 4X4 that could go anywhere, and paid less than most people paid for two wheel drive sedans. We drove around Iceland for 13 days, and the car went everywhere.
On Service: Before we rented the car, I had two interactions with support, and they were both excellent. While confirming my rental, the Northbound representative informed me that I could get a much better car for the same amount, which was great...likely more paperwork for them, and no cost to me, for a better vehicle.
Also, we had a minor problem while on the road, that had nothing to do with the particular vehicle, or Northbound. We were able to solve it on our own, but Northbound was willing to drive a replacement vehicle to the opposite side of the island, if need be.
rented a vehicle in October 2019
Submitted 23. Oct 2019
Good
All good good.
rented a vehicle in October 2019
Submitted 04. Oct 2019
Outstanding!
Easy service for pick up and drop off. Friendly and helpful staff. No issues.
rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 02. Oct 2019
Good
It was really good. The service and people were excellent. The car was fine, the only thing to consider is the alignment of the car, you should check that up. I general it was a very good experience.
rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 26. Sep 2019
Outstanding!
Everything with Nordic Car Rental was great. An easy pickup in downtown Reykjavik not far from our where we were staying. The drop-off was very convenient as well with a shuttle right to the airport minutes after dropping off the Toyota. All the staff at Nordic were great and for sure I would use them again.
rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 01. Oct 2019
Outstanding!
Our car rental went wonderfully. Very easy check in and out. No problems. The car was just what we expected and worked exceptionally well for us. Thank you Nordic.
rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 03. Oct 2019
Good
I hired a car from northbound for about 10 days with some friends. The car had some issues (a faulty window and door from a previous accident that wasn’t repaired, and an unrelated faulty wing mirror ). The tyres and engine seemed to be in good shape.

The price was reasonable and pick up and drop off processes easy and convenient. I would use this company again. Would have preferred a full to full tank policy as much easier to estimate that 5/8 of a tank when filling up (seems to be common around Europe though).
rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 30. Sep 2019
Outstanding!
My experience with the customer service at Nordic car rental is excellent. Staff is very thorough and prompt. However, I did not like the Suzuki SX4. We even doubted if it’s even a 4x4. It’s probably the brand/model but I would be more confident driving my Toyota RAV4 in the ragged roads of Iceland.
rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 17. Sep 2019
Outstanding!
The team at Nordic Car Rental was great - willing to even adjust our pickup time when our plans changed that morning. And returning the van was just as smooth. One suggestion - make sure your larger vehicles have a heater vent in the back! Whoever sat in the third row seat was always cold (yes, it was cold and rainy most of our rental period).
rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 22. Sep 2019
Fine
It had an electronic problem but the staff said it was normal. Although, each time the road was climbing, we had a loss of power consequent,
rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 20. Sep 2019
Fine
Car was best choice for the Icelandic roads, since it is compact and in same time equipped with four wheal drive, and all the basic essential function needed, but it was obvious the car was frequently used and seen better days, from the state of it and malfunctions during driving process. Nevertheless it got the job done, where other type of cars struggled on the road.
rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 23. Sep 2019
Fine
Personnel of this company are professional, but the 4x4 was not in good condition and it is not the car we have rent.
rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 24. Sep 2019
Good
rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 18. Sep 2019
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 14. Sep 2019
Excellent
The car did hold up well during the whole trip. Getting the car and returning were easy. My emails were promptly answered, I had a nice trip.
rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 11. Sep 2019
Good
Nordic Car Rental on the whole has been pretty good for us in our recent trip to Iceland. We were picked up where they mentioned us prior with a little delay. The delay is understandable because the driver is driving back and forth to the Airport/Car Rental place.

The thing which was little annoying was the wait at the Car Rental office itself. We came out the airport at 9:15 and the by the time we were handed over the car it was 11:30 AM. We were asked to wait after taking a ticket in the office and nobody called us until an hour. At that point when couple of other customer inquired they mentioned they did not realize that we were waiting for car pickup! I think that was unacceptable part.

Because of the above reasons I rate 4. But I think I would recommend them to anyone because it is mostly, probably an misunderstanding on the counter personnel part. The drop off was smooth and quick.
rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 11. Sep 2019
Excellent
Excellent value for money, the Landcruiser was great on every road in Iceland. Quick response by e-mail, good service at the offices in Reykjavik and Keflavík.
rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 11. Sep 2019
Excellent
Very good. Car was in good shape. Oil light was flashing during rental, as was 'key fob battery low'. Both were of minor concern. Waited 20 min for return shuttle to airport from Nordic facility, which was a bit nerve wracking. I wanted to get a bigger car with 4x4, and going with a somewhat older vehicle (100km on the odometer) allowed me to do that.
rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 06. Oct 2019
I really liked the web page, looked clean, nice and easy to use.
But the given provider, Nordic Car Rental was terrible. We had to wait for almost two hours in the middle of nowhere to finally get the car. And the car was in the worst shape I have ever experienced for a rental car. It was old, broken and extremely dirty.
The staff was unfriendly, unhelpful and unprofessional. The driver from the airport was driving like crazy, making phone calls on the way, while searching for a key in his pocket. Worst experience ever with a car rental company. Please do not cooperate them anymore! I will not choose Northbound until I there is a chance to get them as the car supplier!
rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 18. Sep 2019
Fine
The car was definitely not the one pictured on the website & there is no point having a 4x4 that's as low as a hatchback.
rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 16. Sep 2019
Good
Good experience - only downside was that we almost got a car without working front lights, as a replacement we got another car in very bad shape (tons of scratches) but it was fine for us. Unit we discovered that this time back lights doesn't work at all. It took additional 1h to get another car - also in a bad external look but once again - we were glad to have a working car. Last downside was that probably due to age of the car and bad shape noise isolation on driver's doors was "leaking" a lot of wind noise (minor issue). Return of the car was fast, also pick up and delivering to returning flight was spot on and without issues. Probably would use again.
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 31. Aug 2019
Outstanding!
It was actually a Hyundai... but it was easy... good visibility.... no problems at all. Of course the GPS was totally worth it
rented a vehicle in August 2019