Reviews for Nordic Car Rental

Booking was easy, I was able to see the car make, model and year, and what insurance packages were included and what was extra. We were picked up at the airport and driven to the rental office. This process was quick and efficient and we were on the road very soon after landing. The car (Toyota Rav 4) was clean and comfortable. There were only 2 of us but would suit up to 4 people with cabin luggage. We stuck to mostly tarmac roads but did use the gravel roads too, and drove in a blizzard. The car handled well throughout. Much better value to rent a car than to book Northern lights/golden circle/South Iceland tours. Would use your company again, and recommend to friends.

Caroline from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2016 Toyota RAV4

All when smoothly in the booking process, but once we landed at the airport the experience was not so good. Lodged a complaint after we returned and this was handled well.

Malik from Canada
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2015 Ford Tourneo

Great service, very helpful staff, everything was really well organised. We had no serious problems with the car apart from the codrivers window that could not be closed once it was opened all the way down. I would definately reccomend it!!

ELENI from Greece
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2014 Suzuki S-Cross

Our experience was very good. The car went well and was a good size for the 2 of us.
One criticism is that we were warned that we should bring back the car with 90% fuel which is the level it was delivered to us at or we would be charged. We brought it back with 100% but there was no credit.
Also, there was some damage inside the door when we collected the car but we were not shown this - and didn't think to ask. The doors were not opened when we were recording damage with your representative. However on our return the doors were opened and the fault identified. We were not charged. As far as we could see the door worked fine all week. The different levels of inspection before and after the hire seemed unfair.

Angus from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2014 Suzuki S-Cross

Prompt pick up and drop, excellent service, Friendly and very informative staff
We had taken all the insurances and had no issues with the car, the car features matched exactly what we had booked. GPS isn't handy , better to use the google offline maps

Ajay from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018 and rented a 2016 Toyota RAV4


The service we were offered was great, great shuttle service and very friendly and helpful staff. The vehicle was in good condition and allowed us to travel all over the south of Iceland. Great experience.

Barbara from Italy
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2015 Mitsubishi Outlander

The pick up and the drop-off were easy. The car was in bad shape and dirty but for that price was ok.

Tibor from Romania
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2014 Suzuki S-Cross

We enjoyed renting from Nordic Car Rental. They were the most affordable with all insurances included and the staff was very helpful. Highly recommend renting from this company!

Jennifer from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2014 Suzuki S-Cross

The experience was smooth and excellently maintained vehicle. Will recommend to my friends in the future.

Nijamudeen from Singapore
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2016 Suzuki Vitara

The car had a broken door, water going through when it rained. The person who i returned the car to was rude

Nina from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2016 Suzuki Vitara

I came across Nordic Car Rental while researching different options for renting a 4x4 SUV for 10 days in October 2018. My wife and I were planning to drive Ring Road and wanted four wheel drive just to be safe. I researched every single rental car booking site I could find, probably at least 15-20 different sites or apps. Nordic had BY FAR the best prices. I booked a 4x4 Suzuki Vitara with snow tires and included all available insurance, for $200 less than the cheapest 4x4 SUV (without snow tires or insurance) that I could find. I would absolutely 100% recommend Nordic Car Rental again to anyone and everyone I give suggestions to when traveling to Iceland.

Trevor from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018 and rented a 2016 Suzuki Vitara

The staff were great and very helpful, made everything clear and gave us lots of advices on various topics such as cheap fuel, places to visit and roads to avoid etc..
The car was in great conditions and ran very smoothly.
Overall we are very happy with the services provided and would definitely recommend Nordic Car Rental.

Echraf from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2011 Nissan Micra

Really good prices. Cars are a little older but that doesn’t matter and mechanical condition seemed very good. I was able to pick up from Reykjavík and drop off near airport as I wanted to which not many companies couldn’t offer. Short shuttle offered from airport location to airport itself.

Nicholas from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2013 Dacia Duster

The Dacia was good to drive for the price, and we found Northbound have the most competitive prices. The customer service was very nice and helpful and made everything so easy! Thanks

isabel from Spain
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2013 Dacia Duster

The car was really new and clean. One of the doors had a few marks and we could hear and feel a little bit of air entering. Nothing serious, it didn't affect our trip and everything went totally fine from our pick up on the airport to the last minute.

I would recommend Nordic Car Rental and would give 5 stars if the car was 100%.

Advan from Brazil
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2016 Suzuki Vitara

The car was great, we didn't have any problems. Our car was from Nordic Car Rentals: I thought I had booked an airport pickup but I guess I didn't and had to pay a fee on arrival, so a clearer booking process would be good. Also where to leave the car after hours at the Reykjavik office was unclear and we had to call to clarify.

Elizabeth from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2011 Hyundai ix35

Katie from Ireland
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2014 Suzuki S-Cross

We were not familiar with the Suzuki
But had no problem with it. It was a bit battered but in the storm that was raging when we arrived maybe it was wise not to have a pristine car.

Silvia from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2016 Suzuki Vitara

Everything was exactly as descibed on the website. Pickup and drop off went absolutely well.
We had a problem with a chipped windshield, but the gravel insurance protected us.
Really excellent service at an incredible price!

Giacomo from Italy
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2011 Suzuki Jimny

Can you please next time before you give a car (in this case our Toyota RAV4) to a customer to do a real good check:
We received our car and GPS was not working. (we received after insisting a Garmin)
We left direction to Reykjavik by day, but in the evening we find out that only one light was working (front –driver side) and the front fog lamps did not work.
Due to timing -because this was business trip to Akureyri -we didn’t had the time to come to back to Northbound.

For the rest the car was clean and we were glad to have spikes on it.
Motor and comfort were very good.

I will come back next year in April but I’m not sure that I will rent a car again via your services.
If you can convince me, feel free to do so.

YVAN from Belgium
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2016 Toyota RAV4

My experience with Nordic car rental was very good, the car was excellent and the staffs very friendly

Hudson from Ireland
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2013 Dacia Duster

Cheap and cheerful

Christopher from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2011 Suzuki Jimny

All good!

Bjarte from Sweden
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2014 Suzuki S-Cross

Everything went for, the car was exactly what we rented.

Andrea from Italy
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2013 Dacia Duster

The experience picking up the car wasn't pleasant unfortunately. The car was in a very bad state and it took me 15/20mins to mark all the damage on the car which made me uncomfortable. The registration plate had fallen off and there was a piece of cardboard in the boot window with the plate number. On top of this, the car didn't start so I told the agent that I wasn't happy taking this car and asked for it to be changed. They were polite but also very pushy in wanting me to take the original car as they kept assuring me it was ok. After repeatedly explaining that I was not comfortable taking the car, they finally agreed to give me a second car which I was very grateful for. The car was in better condition and was very comfortable to drive along with us having no issues with it along the way. The only thing I will say it both cars were filthy and I was told this was because of the dirt on the roads...

Iliana from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2014 Suzuki S-Cross

We are very happy to rent Suzuki Vitara from Nordic Car rental. Service is very good. One employee from Nordic picked up us from airport on time. This rental car includes all necessary insurance. The windshield was hit by a couple small stones and had a chip on the it when we drove to Vik. This is insured by Gravel protection insurance which is included in the rental fee. The car is very good. We drove around 2000KM without problem. Will recommend this company to friends.

Jun from Canada
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2016 Suzuki Vitara

Great service.
Smooth running car hire from start to finish.
Very competitive price.
Would definitely recommend

Peter from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2013 Dacia Duster

Excellent customer service, explained and charged exactly what was quoted. Prompt and efficient airport pick up and return.

Carole from Canada
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2011 Suzuki Jimny

Excellent Customer Service. Would recommend to family and friends.



Rocchino from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018 and rented a 2016 Suzuki Vitara

We had a great week in the Jimny; it was perfect for two with big suitcases. We did a lot of driving and the jimny was best of both worlds fuel efficient and 4x4 available when needed.

Krista from Canada
Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2018 and rented a 2011 Suzuki Jimny