Reviews for Icerental 4x4

Great!

Maud from France
Traveled to Iceland in May 2019 and rented a 2018 Suzuki Jimny

When I arrived, there were violent storms. That's why there was so much chaos at the airport.
I expected the Icerental to adjust to it. But that was not the case, the handover staff - only two Pwrsons - was totally overtaxed. I had to wait at the airport for one hour for the shuttle, and then in the office for another hour until I received the car. That was an imposition. Im strömenden Regen unterwegs stellte ich fest, dass alle Scheibenwischer kaputt waren. Auf meine Nachfrage hiess es, ich könne sie an jeder Tankstelle ersetzen. Ich musste dann über 150km weit fahren, um den linken Wischer voren zu ersetzen. Den rechts und hinten fand ich während zwei Monaten nicht, auch nicht in Reykjavik. Zudem war das Handbuch auf Polnisch. Das Auto selber ist super gefahren, ich hatte sonst keinerlei Probleme. Das Abgabepersonal (ein Herr aus Albanien) war enorm freundlich!

Barbara from Switzerland
Traveled to Iceland in Apr 2019 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

Sehr günstiger Preis für einen (alten, aber gut funktionierenden) Geländewagen. Sehr schnelle Hilfe, als einmal (meine eigene Schuld) die Batterie leer war. Ein Mitarbeiter hat einige Telefonate geführt und nach einer halben Stunde kam jemand und hat mir Starthilfe gegeben. Übernahme und Abgabe des Fahrzeugs ohne lange Wartezeiten und ohne Probleme. Beschädigungen am Wagen wurden bei der Übernahme vermerkt.

Gabriela from Germany
Traveled to Iceland in May 2019 and rented a 2011 Suzuki Grand Vitara

View all cars from this company

Click here

Elizabeth from United States
Traveled to Iceland in May 2019 and rented a 2018 Renault Trafic

Christina from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2019 and rented a 2019 Dacia Duster

General experience with Icerental 4x4 was ok. Airportservice. Friendly people. Fine car.
No different than other carrentals in trying to sell you all kind of expansive insurances. Same goes for trying to scare you about the risks if you do not take these insurances. That together with own risk in almost everything including vulcanic ash-dammage and the repair/newbuy of flat tyre a is a bit much. But then again the rent-price is low. All and all fine.

Job from Netherlands
Traveled to Iceland in Apr 2019 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

Free Cancellation & Amendments

We had a good experience except for the brakes which were old and tired, and made a strange noise (we had an alert for that on board). I think it would have been a problem if we had to brake suddenly. To have Apple CarPlay was a good thing to use our phone as GPS and for music. Staff was friendly and fast. Good explanations concerning different insurances.

Audrey from France
Traveled to Iceland in Apr 2019 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

It was very good. We got a brand new vehicle which was awesome and everything worked very well. The only complaint I have is that when they did up the paperwork and the transfer of the car to us. There was very little communication about things and we were never sure what the next step was. A little information and explanation would go along ways. Example: “ I think that is everything we need so you can step over here and we will bring your vehicle to you.” Instead if they stood up and walked away and we weren’t sure what to do next

Lucas from United States
Traveled to Iceland in May 2019 and rented a 2019 Dacia Duster

We had a smooth trip with Icerental 4x4. The car was working fine!

Adam from Hungary
Traveled to Iceland in May 2019 and rented a 2013 Suzuki Jimny

Upon arrival, Icerental 4X4 did not have the vehicle we had reserved (a Renault Trafic van). Instead, they put us in a rusty 2008 Dodge Durango with 281,000 km. While the staff was professional and friendly, I would not rent from them again.

Brad from United States
Traveled to Iceland in May 2019 and rented a 2018 Renault Trafic

The reservations system was great. Unfortunally tha car was in real poor conditions. I do understand that these cars are used in some extreme conditions but, as I also paid 360 euros for extra insurance, I suppose that sometimes the should fix them. The car was scratched all around, one loosing back light, one light in the front not working, the tent wasn’t sealing properly so air was coming inside during the night. Anyway the car did it’s job.

fabrizio from Italy
Traveled to Iceland in May 2019 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

It was a comfortable and save car to drive.

Kanaha from Australia
Traveled to Iceland in May 2019 and rented a 2018 Hyundai Tucson

It was great driving around Iceland with Renault Trafic! Big enought for six adults and big bags. Easy to drive and good views from windows. And the wifi worked perfect for us so we could navigate by google map. Everything was perfect and I couldn't be happier!

Anu from Finland
Traveled to Iceland in May 2019 and rented a 2018 Renault Trafic

Great car, not too tough on gas. Good service. Took a bit to get the pickup at the airport but overall, I would recommend.

Jean-Francois from Canada
Traveled to Iceland in May 2019 and rented a 2018 Renault Trafic

Overall a good car to travel through Iceland with a friend. Kind of annoying with the trunk not being able to stay open itself + the back doors not doing it so as well (with the back doors it might be an insurance because of the high wind on the isle, idk) so the car was already pretty old and damaged. (lots of holes and scratches on it) Pretty high safety you still had to take. 350000 isk (2550€). Probably not even worth that amount of money anymore)
If you didn't enhanced your credit card limit before, you aren't able to depose it and have to pay for an insurance that keeps the amount of money you've to pay in case of any damage at 100000isk (730€) + you don't have to pay the safety anymore. Another additional 2000 isk (15€) per day for an insurance you don't really need, expect you forgot to enhance your credit card limit.
Overall a good money maker for them but on the other hand a good option for you to get your car annyways...

Jan from Germany
Traveled to Iceland in May 2019 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

luca from Italy
Traveled to Iceland in May 2019 and rented a 2018 Hyundai Tucson

Free Cancellation & Amendments

Incredible vehicle and service. Tent was an exceptional option, surprisingly spacious and comfortable. Loved every minute.
Would definitely recommend both Northbound and Icerental 4x4 to anyone, no issues whatsoever!

Patrick from Australia
Traveled to Iceland in May 2019 and rented a 2018 Suzuki Jimny

I had an amazing trip. I think this was one of the best experiences I had. Is not for everyone, not as comfortable as sleeping in other kind of campers, but definitely worth for adventurers. The jumny is a great car. I am even considering getting one! Icerental was fantastic and supportive. I'll be back in January for the second part

Francisco from Spain
Traveled to Iceland in May 2019 and rented a 2018 Suzuki Jimny

It was reliable. Nothing fancy but got us around.

Emma from United States
Traveled to Iceland in May 2019 and rented a 2011 Suzuki Grand Vitara

The car we got was of 2011. Everything was perfect in what to engine and transmission of it. Hovewer, the car body - is close to what commonly the people describes by the word “rubbish”. I seriously doubt the car dempfers, doors etc. has passed any kind of repair, painting or restoration even. In this case, to my mind, it is not seems honest claim the people for any damage to body elements caused by gravel, sand or ash and insist on “gravel protection” (€15/day), “sand & ash protection” and so. I guess for years in exploitation (the car is of 2011), only these “additives” could cover fully the total cost of the car I used.
But, the travel experience was great obviously.

Andrei from Belarus
Traveled to Iceland in May 2019 and rented a 2011 Suzuki Grand Vitara

Great service, pick up from the airport was prompt, setting up and getting the rental was quick and easy, honest details when going through the insurance options etc, all questions via email answered quickly.

I would highly recommend!!

Cameron from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Apr 2019 and rented a 2011 Suzuki Grand Vitara

It was pretty good. The GPS was a little outdated but worked for the most part, and the car had a little bit of difficulty going uphill. Still, it carried us through the entire Ring Road comfortably through both wind and snow, and we had a great time.

Ann from United States
Traveled to Iceland in May 2019 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

I had a wonderful experience with Northbound and Icerental 4x4. Due to unforeseen circumstances, I had to make a last minute car rental booking prior to my arrival in Iceland and the Northbound website provided with me with many options and great prices. The car that I rented from Icerental 4x4 was just as listed on the website and was in perfect condition upon arrival. Both the rental and return process was smooth. There was a pick-up to and from the airport through Icerental 4x4 as well. Communication was fast both through e-mail and phone and the Icerental 4x4 office was open 24/7. I would highly recommend Northbound and Icerental 4x4.

Marta from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Apr 2019 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

Car was great same as jurney. Thanks

Mateusz from Iceland
Traveled to Iceland in Apr 2019 and rented a 2011 Suzuki Grand Vitara

View all cars from this company

Click here

Everything went to plan, straight forward, excellent service

John from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Apr 2019 and rented a 2018 Renault Trafic

Hi, everything was ok. No complains about anything.
All the best

Vito from Slovenia
Traveled to Iceland in Apr 2019 and rented a 2011 Suzuki Grand Vitara

Inge from Netherlands
Traveled to Iceland in Apr 2019 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

Very good experience with the car and the welcoming people that took us from the airport and drived us to thé hotel at the end.

stephanie from France
Traveled to Iceland in Apr 2019 and rented a 2018 Renault Trafic

I trusted the reviews online about Northbound and Icerental 4x4 and I did right.
The guys were very helpful, the car (dacia duster 4x4) was perfect for the icelandic roads, comfortable and very safe.
Everything was perfect. If i could go back to Iceland I will choose them again for sure.

Eleonora Anastasia from Italy
Traveled to Iceland in Jan 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

The car has a noise in the second and third gear. Also, there was a light of a problem in the engine allí The time. Apart from that, everything was fine.

Raul from Spain
Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a 2011 Suzuki Grand Vitara