Reviews for Icerental 4x4

Everything went smoothly! Though we did not get a Hyundai Tucson at the Keflavik airport, but a Kia Sportage, we later learned that this is more or less the procedure: you rent the type of the car and not the car itself. The thing is, Kia was perfect and we were really happy afterwards! Nice car, safe, comfortable, easy to drive. The Northbound staff, especially Runar, was very helpful all the way, even before our trip, answering to every question. If you are visiting Iceland, choose Northbound to rent a car!

NIKOLAOS

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2018 Hyundai Tucson

First car we picked up had a engine car problem, appeared with a yellow light on the control panel. We had to go back and change the car. Then, with the new one, experience was good and we hadn't any problem with the second car.

Ricard

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2011 Suzuki Grand Vitara

It wasn't good , i didn't reacived the car that i rent .... In the first day i got a manuel car and after that ant automtic 4x4 old car

Angelika

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2018 Hyundai Tucson

View all cars from this company

Click here

First of all at the arrival we got a different car, because the Suzuki Gran Vitara was not available. Anyway it was not bad because we got a Hyundai Tucson. The car had a strong perfume of something used as a sort of spray to clean the car, but after a few minutes we understood that it was meant to cover a very very bad smell that was in the car. Like something was poured out and removed, but the smell was still there. That was a very annoying issue because it is not acceptable to rent a car in this status, most of all when you have to drive long distances. Anyway, the worst thing was the attempt to cover the issue and cheat the customer. We contacted the Nothbound Customer Service (very responsive and kind) but Icerental never tried to get in touch with us.
Only positive remark was that we got a refund of 10% at the end.

In summary the experience with Icerental 4x4 was bad, they were not at all professional and trustworthy...

Alex

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Grand Vitara

Found it difficult to close, especially since we are short. First night the zipper on one side broke so we couldn’t close it. Sleeping bags first provided were not warm enough. Second car we got was an old Jeep. Rear windshield wiper didn’t work. Was very disappointed in this rental! Would not recommend them.

Diane

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

When we arrived to Keflavik rental agent told us that there is problem with roof box that they cannot attach it to Toyota RAV4 even if they have it as option on Northbound and also on their website. I also sent an email to them 2 days before arriving to ask if it´s everything okay with car and if it is prepared with roofbox. Reply was: "Car is okay". So we were expecting what we booked. We were offered Dacia Duster. That was just a big joke because you cannot compare Toyota to Dacia. Only because we say that we cannot accept Dacia and noticed that on the end of cars there was Nissan Patrol we got better car. It was old model but served well and we managed to get everywhere.

Michal

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018 and rented a 2016 Toyota RAV4

Free Cancellation & Amendments

We were greeted on time at the airport and driven to Ice Rental 4x4's office. The driver was very nice. The vehicle we requested was not available and we were given a larger and older vehicle. While we appreciated the Jeep Cherokee on the gravel roads, it definitely used a lot more gas and struggled a lot going up hills. As well, a tail light was out, which we didn't realize until after we left and had to go back to tell them. We were told it was a fuse issue and would be fine. On our trip we also came to learn that only one lighter plug was working, which is an issue when you are relying on a gps and cell phones to guide you and the gps wouldn't work unless it was plugged in. And we couldn't charge our phones or keep our food cold in the electric cooler we rented. The rear windshield wiper and defrost also did not work. There were good and bad things about our experience...

Jennifer

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2011 Suzuki Grand Vitara

Office staff were very rude and not helpful. This was the only experience we had in Iceland that was unpleasant. I would never recommend renting from here.

Terri

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

We loved il but back tyres were too old and should have been changed. Driving with this car was fun and allowed us to drive where we wanted to. Would definitely recommend renting a 4x4 to enjoy Iceland.

Laure

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018 and rented a 2013 Suzuki Jimny

I didn't get support to use GPS from Icerental4x4 . We paid for GPS and the GPS is not user friendly, it only knows few places and couldn't put the address I wanted to go to. The people at the rental office are not cooperative to show how to use it and one guy suggested to use POI and was horriable experiance to go from one place to another.
We ended up to come to the office by selecting Drop off option from the list and asked to drop us to our hotel as wecouldn't put the address to the hotel and we paid extra to go to airport next day

Helen

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Grand Vitara

Hi Runar,

Thank you for asking. The experience with Icerental 4x4 was not so good as expected.

1. Provided car was overused 140 000 km for Subaru Forester 2018
2. We had oil exposure within motor tank. In Rejkyavik I was seen some oil signs on the car, I have opened motor tank and saw there a lot of oil, we have contacted support, they checked and tell us that someone forgot to close oil tank, I have closed it manually.... I was a bit confused to listen it, why it was NOT checked...
3. Receiving a car was so slow...... we arrived at 1:00 a.m. and got car just around 4:00 a.m.
4. At the end we have paid 1100 euro for 2 scratches..... I still didnt get response from them, what is the real price and if I should get refund
5. The last one they charge deposite 3000 euro. First time I got such practice. Money still not returned to me

Appreciate your interest, hope they will improve the service...

Yevgeniy

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2019 and rented a 2018 Hyundai Tucson

The check in was fine. They accommodated to out early pick up request. However, the check out took quite sometime. After surrendering the key we had to wait for awhile. We became a tad worried as we had quite a number of things to do b4 we actually head to the boarding gate. As a result we decided not to proceed to the tax claim counter as we were short of time.

As for the car, it was really old I think. Eellwe faced the following issue:

(1) The right side mirror was missing its back cover, leaving some wiring exposed. We were worried ar first but since the company was aware of it when they gave it to us we assumed that the exposed wores wont be a problem.

(2) The petrol lit does not close properly. Hence when we want to pump petrol we usually found it open.

(3) The key controller does not work and we have to lock the car manually. We usually have to lock and unlock a few times as to ensure that all doors are locked...

Juliana

Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2011 Suzuki Grand Vitara

The rental itself was ok. The vehicle had done 228000km so wasnt perfect and had a crack in the windscreen. The interior had seen better days with the heated seat button having been lost into the panel. The concern from me is what company Icerental used for their vehicle maintenance as the day before we were due to travel back from Akureyri to Keflavik were were driving along and I noticed a wheel wobble. I got out to find that 3 wheel nuts had sheered off. Thankfully I had brought the car, with myself my wife and 4 year old, to a safe stop but this could have ended very differently particularly if it had been a heavy snow day! The recovery was arranged and collected in about an hour. We then were taken back to Akureyri where we had to wait for the fix. In total we lost about 4-5 hours of the trip. I understand there are vehicle defects but from mine and recovery drivers comments this is most likely to have been caused by incorrect wheel changing...

Christopher

Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a 2011 Suzuki Grand Vitara

I would struggle to recommend Icerental 4x4 currently. Being a newish company , they are clearly struggling with the demand and logistics. The external condition of the car was poor and there were many elements that were broken or needed attention eg wipers, central locking , cracked windscreen, rear washer, door seals....to name but a few...but the important element - the tyres, were new and in excellent condition. The car used an exceptional quantity of fuel so perhaps the engine wasn't running as smoothly as it should. It would have been really interesting to have a working external temperature gauge but this car's one was hugely inaccurate.
There was a great deal of confusion about returning the car - firstly the address of the office should be preprogrammed into the sat nav on the home page, secondly either a return journey to the airport OR a local hotel should be offered as standard by all staff so no confusion occurs as it did for us...

Martin

Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a 2011 Suzuki Grand Vitara

We had enogh space for 4 persons and the big bagages.
Unfortunately due to the wind and the slightly" used doors" it made loud noises. The gear was also "used". All in all the car was ok but you could see and feel that it was bit older and much in use.

Markus

Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a 2011 Suzuki Grand Vitara

We had reserved two Suzuki Grand Vitara’s from Icerental 4x4 but only one reservation went through due to a error on their side. As a result, we weren’t on the list to be picked up from the airport, and this caused us to waste time at the airport. They ended up giving us two Jeep Grand Cherokees. The horns on the cars did not work, and there were many times drivers in Iceland suddenly stopped or tried to pull out suddenly in front of us, but we had no way of honking to let them know. We were lucky to not have gotten into an accident. As for Icerental 4x4 the company, they tried to make money off of every little imperfection in the car - thank goodness we had pictures and videos! Northbound should really look at the google reviews for Icerental 4x4 and reconsider offering their services.

Elaine

Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a 2011 Suzuki Grand Vitara

Free Cancellation & Amendments

Got a 2017 dacia duster which we booked. However as soon as we drove off the check engine light went on, so we called icerental immediately. They said it was normal so we went on with our trip. After about 2 weeks after arriving in the west fjords the engine started making weird noices so we called again and a mechanic came. He said it was the timing belt. So now we had to switch up cars. This being said we planned to drive to Reykjavik again following our schedule. However we were asked to drive the broken car back ourselves which we found to be not really customurfriendly and more in the favour of the company itself. Next day we arrived at icerental 4x4 where we switched cars, the car we got this time was even older than the one we had driven and booked in the first place.

Max

Traveled to Iceland in May 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

In general we had a very good experience with Icerental 4x4! We could use a completely new car, which was also a newer model. So we felt very lucky with that. Also all employees were very helpful. They advised us on internet use, helped with our luggage, and the shuttle service from and to the airport was excellent. The only thing we were a bit bothered by was that we felt a bit pushed into getting additional insurance, because a 2000 USD hold on the credit card would be placed if we only went with the basic insurance. Maybe we would have taken the additional insurance in any case, but it didn't really feel like a choice because none of us had that kind of money available for them to hold. We didn't feel well-informed about that in advance. Perhaps this is normal in the industry, I don't know. Other than this minor issue, we were very satisfied about our car and our experience with Icerental 4x4, and I would recommend them!

Davita

Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

OK. Older but driving ok. We had already day 2 problems with unlocking door driver and window right front which did not open. We mailed you about that but we had to adress to pick up company which i found strange. Service could be inproved there. We are your client in my perspectie

Iwan

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2019 and rented a 2011 Ford Expedition

ALEJANDRO

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2018 Hyundai Tucson

We had an overall positive experience renting with Icerental 4x4/Northbound.is while on holiday for 4 nights in Iceland during August 2019. On arrival there was a lady waiting for us with an Icerental 4x4 card in her hand. We were taken straight away to the pick up location, approximately 10 minutes away from the airport. On arrival as there were three groups wanting to pick up their car this process did take a while, probably 15 minutes per group. We were the last group however as we were not in a hurry this was not a problem for us.
The paper work for us was straight forward as we had already booked to have the full insurance cover. However there are a few things that this cover does not include, for example, damage to the chasis underneath the car, the tyres, damage to doors caused by gusts of wind. On their suggestion we took lots of photos of the car and a video prior to leaving the rental building...

Sian Eirian

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2011 Suzuki Grand Vitara

We loved our vehicle and the roof tent. The vehicle was very clean and in great condition. The mattress in the roof tent was comfortable, and we were warm at night (early Aug). The table, chairs, and kitchen kit we rented were also great. Transportation to and from the airport, and the rental process itself, were smooth as well. We had a fantastic 4 day, 3 night road trip experience in Iceland. Our favorite night was camping beneath a waterfall.

Jason

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2019 Dacia Duster

We have been given a Toyata Rav4. This was a good car to discover Iceland with. It was also nice that we got a discount at the N1 gas stations.

Theo

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

Balázs

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2019 Dacia Duster

View all cars from this company

Click here

Everything was fine other than the start to our vacation. It took 2 hours for the whole rental car pickup, transport to the office and a long time with a person who was very unsure of himself to complete the paperwork. We had a deadline that day so we were stressed that this took so long. The girl who was to pick us up at the airport left without making any contact with us, so we had to call the office and wait another 20 minutes for her to return.
Our comment upon leaving your office finally with our two cars was, we should have used a major car rental company. That whole thing was nuts.
Some instructions by the rental car company about what to expect upon arrival would have been helpful. We had no idea how to find your company and what time you expected us and where.
With that said, the cars were fine and the drop off went very well.

Julie

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2019 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

The web search was great! Well laid out, easy to find a compact SUV with automatic transmission at good value. We chose an older Suzuki Grand Vitara which was a classic beater (lol) and performed like a charm on the the extreme gravel "highways" of the West Fjords and down to the coast in east Iceland. We did end up paying extra for insurance (our choice) as we did not realize that the deductible is so high in Iceland ($3,000 Cdn.) We added extra coverage to get it reduced to $1,000 and luckily we did not need to make a claim and pay it. There was a bit of confusion over pick up location as I thought we had specified picking up the car in Reykjavik but they had us down to pick it up at the airport. The communcation between Northbound and IceRental 4X4 was helpful and efficeint and they starightened it out by early afternoon on the pick up day and delivered the car to us in Reykjavik...

Margaret A.

Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2019 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Grand Vitara

car was quite old and worn out (200.000+ km, warning lights didnt work properly, front light didnt work, back doors didnt keep open/shut automatically). no problem for me as I drive a 20 year old car myself, but for some poeple this might be a problem. maybe good idea to tell beforehand that's why Icerental is cheap. better be honest than to get negative reviews on internet. but once again: an old car suits me and it drove really well!

Jurgen

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2019 and rented a 2011 Suzuki Grand Vitara

The car and the service has been excellence. But Thay forgot to explane US, (both me and my Wife were in front of the employee), the way to pay a tunnel ( the Only One,i think!) . Yes,It was Midnight and everybody were tired, but i had to pay the tunnel and an extra charge of 3000 k not for my fault. All the rest has been perfect.

Matteo

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2018 Hyundai Tucson

Peter-Jan

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2018 Suzuki Jimny

There was a bit of a mix up when picking up the vehicle. We were given a Chrysler Aspen and they were quoting a much higher price as they did not have a record of our booking. I pulled up our Booking with Northbound on another of their computers and then was quickly rectified. The vehicle has terrible suspension, poor brakes and steering and we were told to ignore the fact that the engine service light was on, I was extremely impressed dealing with Nirthbound and the agent Thordis was top notch.

David

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2019 and rented a 2011 Ford Expedition