Reviews for Icerental 4x4 in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for Icerental 4x4
Submitted 19. May 2022
Outstanding!
This car was great! We chose it because of the good reviews, unlimited mileage, and no-charge additional driver. This Subaru got us from Reykjavik up to Mývatn and down to Vik, and everywhere in between. No issues, and very good gas mileage as well!
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 16. May 2022
Good
Airport transfer and pick up smooth. Vehicle condition was expected due to age of car, dents, rust and scuffs all pretty standard in Iceland. Drop off was an unnecessarily stressful. Accused of damaging the car on the drivers door. Damage was there pre rental and noted on the contract damage before pick up. Staff member showed picture of door in their records showing two dents present, arguing that this is the damaged that was there prior to rental and not the damage now on the door. Records were clearly not accurate as the two dents in their pictures had 'magically' disappeared. Other staff member stepped in and agreed that they records must have been inaccurate and we were not liable for the damage. Just be sure to scrutinise the car and question/record (take a video) all damage before taking the car. Shame as all other staff we encountered were helpful and friendly. Maybe he was having a bad day?
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 19. May 2022
Bad start for the pick-up. They asked a deposit of 2500€ what wasn’t possible on our credit card’s. Then they forced us to take an insurance instead for 195€. When we got the car , the car was full of scratches. They said everything was on paper and we didn’t have to worry. Glade we toke a lot of photos before we left. On our way we discovered a lot of Flaws. Like handbrakes that doesn’t work etc.
When we turned back the car , it was another guy how checked the car and tried two times to blame some of the scratches to us. Luckily we had our photos from our pick-up that we could show to him. After all , not a good experience with icerental 4x4.
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 06. May 2022
Excellent
Very nice staff, quote good car (the only problem was with blowing / heating - I could only make blowing on the windshield, the other direction didin't work).
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 19. Apr 2022
Outstanding!
I have used Northbound twice and the second time was twice as good! This company gets 5 out of 5 from me!
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 20. Apr 2022
Good
D’un point de vue général mais aussi et surtout en relation avec notre expérience, je recommanderais cette agence .
Ils viennent vous chercher a l’aéroport et vous ramène ( pas de temps ou très peu entre les navettes ) .
En revanche en ce qui concerne l’aspect général des chose et les retours que j’ai pu entendre des français dans la file d’attente de l’aéroport pour rentrer en France la plupart d’entre eux ont eu de mauvaises surprises .
Une famille s’est retrouvé avec une facture de +1000€ pour un mini impact sur le pare-brise alors qu’il était déjà présent a leur arrivée .
Deux autres jeunes couples n’avaient pas pris d’assurance pour les gravillons et ont dû payer 200€ supplémentaires . Sans parler du système de parking islandais assez particulier .. il est assez facile d’avoir quelques petites amendes à régler lorsque vous rendez les clés .

Mes conseils :
- faites bien le tour du véhicule quand vous le prenez . Nous sommes arrivées a 2 h du matin sous la pluie, le vent et -3 degrés . Personne n’a fait le tour avec nous . Mais à notre retour ils avaient la lampe torche et testaient tout : direction , boutons etc …
- n’hésitez pas à louer un routeur WIFI . Très utile au moins au début .
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 11. Apr 2022
Good
To small for our needs, but it was just a car for the day and we did not have to go very far away. Very simple car, with tons of plastics inside but comfortable in its way. Quite dented, scratched and damaged overall, but we really dont' care about it.
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 11. Apr 2022
Excellent
Although the car had about 250.000km and was quite scratched, dented and used, it accomplished our expectations. Enough space for the 4 of us and our luggage, fair consumption, 4x4 traction (maybe we missed tyres in a better condition as a lot of the pikes in the wheels were already gone).
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 29. Mar 2022
Outstanding!
Very good service
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 27. Mar 2022
Outstanding!
I was very nervous about renting a 2011 vehicle, but the Suzuki Grand Vitara performed wonderfully for us! We were very happy with our trip and how this vehicle handled on the gravel roads and in the relatively high winds we experienced on a few of our days. I would rent this car again and would rent from Icerental 4x4 again.
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 27. Mar 2022
Outstanding!
Loved it. Four people each with a backpack and a carryon fit well for the week. We were also surprised by the better than expected fuel economy spending only 2/3 what we had budgeted. Good car - good company.
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 18. Mar 2022
Outstanding!
Very good and easy to work with
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 19. Feb 2022
Outstanding!
The car was perfect for driving around Iceland in the winter conditions.
The shuttle service was great and the price was good value.
rented a vehicle in February 2022
Submitted 21. Feb 2022
Fine
The car was ok, it served its purpose, however it was a relatively old car with big mileage, and consumed a lot, it would definitely increase customer experience if newer cars would be used for the purpose as they would consume much less gas and therefore save the customer quite a decent amount of money while traveling
rented a vehicle in February 2022
Submitted 14. Jan 2022
Very disappointed with the car. Very battered up. Engine light came on halfway through the trip. Doors were not sealed and air was penetrating everywhere. The worst is that they inspect the car on delivery as if there was nothing wrong with it. They intentionally look for something to charge you.
rented a vehicle in January 2022
Submitted 08. Jan 2022
Good
Hello,
the deal by north bound was great! The car was good as well. The pick up went smoothly and the drop off as well.
The colleagues at the drop off were a bit rude (Icerental 4x4) - but maybe because it was 4:00 in the morning :-)
We would definitely consider going for northbound again in case we travel to Iceland!

Thank you
rented a vehicle in January 2022
Submitted 07. Jan 2022
Fine
Driving the car was very nice, good power and lots of space. Unfortunately the car was very old and a lot of damages and problems: window at driverseat could not be opened/difficult to open doors from the inside.
Besides this, because of weather-predictions we had to go home one day earlier so we gave back the car one day earlier, but did not receive any refund..
rented a vehicle in January 2022
Submitted 14. Feb 2022
Outstanding!
Rental was great. The staff were very friendly and were even able to provide us a bigger car that fit our baggage better.
rented a vehicle in December 2021
Submitted 05. Dec 2021
Bad. You gave me a very old car more than 360000 km. The lights were very bad, noisy and you had to drive with the wheel moved to the left to follow straight .
I lost 3 hours changing it .
The workers there said that they knew the problem of that car, a lot of people change that car... so why do they give me that car??? We are in low seasson ...
After that was ok
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 28. Nov 2021
Excellent
Not bad for a ten year old car.
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 21. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 22. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
Staff were very efficient and made whole rental process very easy. I want to change my booking to extend rental period and Anna Heiða made this very easy by email. Pick up and drop off was seamless. We decided to drop the car off night before as we heard mornings were busy and we chose to stay nearby and they gave us a lift to our hotel. Simple and easy booking process, would recommend.
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 24. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
Car was very good and served we need. It had enough room for 3 of us and our luggage. It had sufficient power for get us through the winter road in Iceland.
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 14. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
Verry good experience with Icerental4x4 with Northbound. The vehicle was perfect for our trip in south Iceland! No problem to declare on arrival as departure, treatment fast and efficient and really attractive price.
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 15. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
The service of ice rental 4x4 was very perfect !
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 12. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
Very good and reliable car to travel through the island during storm, snow fall, strong winds and every other weather condition we encountered.
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 05. Nov 2021
Excellent
Great rental experience with Icerental 4x4. We had the car for 5 days and there were no issues. We did purchase the premium insurance on advice from friends and online recommendations and it was worth it. There really are a lot of gravel roads and rocks hitting the windshield so get it. The staff were great and the entire rental process was quick and easy.
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 30. Oct 2021
Hi , we had a great time in Iceland, but the Suzuki is out dated now, it was not a nice car to drive , a lot of thing in the car don’t work right, the high beam switch not working right, the door lock not working right, the hand brake was a joke ,the car was also pulling to the right what you was driving it , the car as got a lot of faults but the main one is for the head lights are so dull when driving in the dark , which made it hard to see the road
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 29. Oct 2021
Excellent
Great company very reliable open 24hra wich is amazing and drop you to airport was great.
But i would suggest to make it clear that you pick people up at the airport as we ended up getting the shuttle to Iceland rentals
Instead of waiting for Iceland rentals 4x4 at arrivals.
Apart from that very happy.
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 31. Oct 2021
Outstanding!
the car was perfect and performed well. The rental car process itself was awful. It took 2 hours from the time we got to the waiting area to the time I drove back to the airport to pick up my wife, because apparently she couldn't come with me in the shuttle to get the car
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 31. Oct 2021
Fine
Partially fine. The car was not the model described and it was with notices in the screen all the travel
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 31. Oct 2021
Outstanding!
Very friendly staff, very good car and amazing service. The only problem was that they gave us the key of the car with the battery almost empty, and so we couldnt lock or unlock the car until we found a new battery in a store.
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 21. Oct 2021
Outstanding!
Felt sketchy since it rattled when RPM was over 3 but beyond that, it did everything we could ever want. The car was a solid choice for us four.
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 22. Oct 2021
Fine
We Made reservations for a Dacia Duster build in the year 2021. We did not get that the car was much older. I did choose a rental company in the Airport but tours was 10 minutes away. When we arrived we had to wait half an hour to get to your office. We didn’t check the car together for scratches and other things wrong with the car but I had to sighn for things the man in the Office had seen wich is not correct. So yes there are things to improve. Good luck with your company.
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 24. Oct 2021
Outstanding!
This was the first time I rented a car. It was quick and easy, we had to change the booking because our flight was changed and it was no problem at all. The drop off and airport transfer was smooth as well.
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 10. Oct 2021
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 12. Oct 2021
Outstanding!
The car was clean and driving it was nice!
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 10. Oct 2021
Outstanding!
Everything was perfect ! We had a great week with the 4x4. And easy pick up and to give it back ! We recommend
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 11. Oct 2021
Fine
The car was OK. It could have used a good cleaning, a headlight was out when we received it, and the car had some rattling while driving. It drove OK, however. The more concerning thing was that the child safety seat Ice rental 4x4 provided was terrible. NONE of the car seats they had would pass any kind of safety standard in any country - they were all 15+ years old, dirty, in poor shape.
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 04. Oct 2021
terrible
the car was 200.000 km old !!!!
i think it we the oder rental car ever seen
the cross lights were not functional
it uses 10l/100km for such a small car
not very good to protect the planet
the driver door didn’t close correctly so i had to fix it manually with tools
when i think that it cost me more than 500€ i prefere to forget
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 08. Oct 2021
It's a good car. IceRental4x4 needs to do a better job of maintaining their vehicles. A couple things we found were:
1. tires were too worn out
2. windshield wiper blades were worn out
3. keyless fob were low on batter
4. vehicle was rusted in the front
5. front lights were not clear
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 03. Oct 2021
Good
Hi, it was a good experience whit a good car
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 04. Oct 2021
Fine
The car was good but the rooftent easily get wet inside starting from the foot side, even when you are inside and the tent is closed.
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 09. Oct 2021
Good
Great customer service! The car was fine. We had a rooftoptent. The tent was fun but we went in late september. It can handle the hard winds just fine, but the rain can be a problem. We had some problems with or matress getting wet after it rained at night and we packed in or tent. Conclusion: great company, rooftent best in Summer season.
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 13. Sep 2021
Excellent
Old car with 195000 km, but in good technical condition
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 11. Sep 2021
Excellent
We had a Honda CRV, and it worked just fine. The dash info center was confusing, but we didn’t use, nor need it since you provided WiFi for our phones. The WiFi did lose battery after being plugged into the console, but once we moved it to the dash, it charged fine. Also, not charging us for bringing it back without a full gas tank was very kind. We had no trouble using our credit cards in Iceland except at the gas stations where you needed a PIN and we didn’t have one as we didn’t bring our bank or debit cards. Most places released the pumps for us to then go inside and pay, but the last stop did not.
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 20. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
Everything went smooth : fast pick-up and drop off from and to the airport. 24hrs breakdown service (we had to use it and got assistance immediately). No hidden costs. Car was in great condition, although the rooftop tent could use a check-up / update. Great value for money in general.
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 14. Sep 2021
Car was fine.
Ecerental 4x4 did not show up in the airport until we called them after 40 minuttes waiting. Check in was fine.
At check out, they went immediately to the buttom of the car and said that maybe something was damaged - I don't know what?? We have not hit anything with the car and I am not sure what the outcome is???
This uncertainty is not a good feeling. What about our deposit??
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 22. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
Thank you very much for your service. It was very convenient and a very good experience. I will definitely use you next time I come to Iceland two thumbs up.
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 06. Sep 2021
Good
Overall experience was good, we did not have a 2018 Hundai Tucson, we had a Honda not sure of the year that had a check engine light on and a definite shake in the transmition at 1500rpm. But it got us where we needed to go.
rented a vehicle in August 2021