Reviews for Icerental 4x4 in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for Icerental 4x4
Submitted 13. Sep 2021
Excellent
Old car with 195000 km, but in good technical condition
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 11. Sep 2021
Excellent
We had a Honda CRV, and it worked just fine. The dash info center was confusing, but we didn’t use, nor need it since you provided WiFi for our phones. The WiFi did lose battery after being plugged into the console, but once we moved it to the dash, it charged fine. Also, not charging us for bringing it back without a full gas tank was very kind. We had no trouble using our credit cards in Iceland except at the gas stations where you needed a PIN and we didn’t have one as we didn’t bring our bank or debit cards. Most places released the pumps for us to then go inside and pay, but the last stop did not.
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 20. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
Everything went smooth : fast pick-up and drop off from and to the airport. 24hrs breakdown service (we had to use it and got assistance immediately). No hidden costs. Car was in great condition, although the rooftop tent could use a check-up / update. Great value for money in general.
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 14. Sep 2021
Car was fine.
Ecerental 4x4 did not show up in the airport until we called them after 40 minuttes waiting. Check in was fine.
At check out, they went immediately to the buttom of the car and said that maybe something was damaged - I don't know what?? We have not hit anything with the car and I am not sure what the outcome is???
This uncertainty is not a good feeling. What about our deposit??
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 22. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
Thank you very much for your service. It was very convenient and a very good experience. I will definitely use you next time I come to Iceland two thumbs up.
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 06. Sep 2021
Good
Overall experience was good, we did not have a 2018 Hundai Tucson, we had a Honda not sure of the year that had a check engine light on and a definite shake in the transmition at 1500rpm. But it got us where we needed to go.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 13. Sep 2021
Excellent
Good car, no problems driving around the island. Plenty of space, rooftent was great and the seat heating was a big plus after a cold night. The only downside was that because the car was fueled with diesel, something with the filter was not right and the cruise control didn't work almost the whole journey. But other than that, everything was great. Booking through northbound was very easy and pleasant. Would recommend!
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 14. Sep 2021
Excellent
Everything was OK. Car was in good condition, quick and easy administrative handling
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 29. Aug 2021
Good
It's a quite basic car inside and under the hood, but it was a reasonable price so it was fair value for money. The engine is underpowered but, given the low speed limits in Iceland, it was only tested on hills so we just changed down a gear or two and it was fine. The car was very clean, and had an excellent spare tyre which we had to put to good use so were very grateful for.
There wasn't anyone to meet us at the airport, so we had to call for our ride which was a little frustrating at the time, but the return process and subsequent transport to the airport were very speedy by contrast.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 20. Aug 2021
Excellent
The car was great for our needs! We chose the cheapest four-seater we could find because we didn’t need luxury and this definitely did the job. Service was very friendly once we arrived at the office, but we did wait quite a while (30 min) at the airport for the shuttle (although I’m not sure if that was because we didn’t know what to look for at first). Thanks for a lovely rental experience!
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 30. Aug 2021
Excellent
Our camperized Suzuki Jimny performed very well through many km of rocky uneven f-roads. The car had about 80k km on its back and the tires were near the end of their life, but we managed to do everything we had to. Not a powerful car but can get you everywhere! The assistance, both at northbound that at Icerental 4x4, was ready and nice. I definitely recommend you this company if you want to save a big bunch of money!
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 23. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Service was really great!
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 28. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Everything went well. We had a great off-road experience. The Suzuki Jimny is a great little Jeep. Good service at Northbound
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 24. Aug 2021
While the price was good, we were quite disappointed by the customer service we received. Despite booking well ahead of time through Northbound and arriving with all the instructed voucher numbers and documentation printed out, Icerental 4x4 had no record of our reservation. They gave our group a very hard time about fulfilling the reservation, and we arrived prior to Northbound's opening hours so no one was available to confirm our reservation or help. Eventually Icerental 4x4 did honor the reservation, for which we were grateful. When we left the parking lot, our car had a squeaking sound in the wheel that got progressively worse as we drove along the ring road. When we called for a mechanic, Icerental quickly responded with a traveling mechanic which was great. Unfortunately though, Icerental expected US to pay for the mechanic even though the problem existed before picking up the car. Would not rent from them again.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 24. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
It was cheap, made fancy noises when driving faster than 50 km/h, had many scratches. Exactly what we paid for, a reliable cheap car.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 02. Sep 2021
Excellent
This car got us where we needed to go. It was roomy for 4. It didn’t have cruise control. Headlight and tail light went out during our 21 day rental. Bonus was the unlimited hot spot. Check in and check out was easy. I would rent here again.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 21. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
It was a great car in good condition. The James baroud tent was great. Also was the kitchen kit. The actual rental company had good service and we had no problems with them.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 19. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
This was my second time renting from this company and I will be giving you my business again! Everything always goes so smoothly, and the customer service is great! Thank you :)
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 15. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Yes so much. The car was good and comfortable. And the service of northbound was great !!!!
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 10. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
We were upgraded to an 2018. It was comfortable but the engine had no pickup- meaning, it struggled to get up hills. It was a bit smaller than our original rental.

Overall, customer support before the trip was excellent. I had to adjust the day and time of our pickup, and it was handled very smoothly.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 16. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
Great car, no problems.
I booked often Icerental 4x4 and it was always a good experience. Kind staff.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 15. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
All good, a value car that proved reliable and big enough for what we needed.
Being able to rent extra camping things was rely helpful. The kitchen kit was brilliant with everything we needed.
Easy pick up and drop off.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 06. Aug 2021
Good
Very well. We lost license plate, although I cannot be sure whether the plate was fastened tightly before the journey.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 05. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Overall I really liked working with them. They were straight forward and helpful.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 24. Jul 2021
Would not recommend this company for your travels! The cars were not reliable! The clutch went out after about 4 hours and they tried to say it was a new clutch and we burned it out! Thank goodness my son-n-law knows a lot about cars and we did not pay for that. We also had trouble with another car so we spent a lot of down time waiting for the cars to be fixed! There has to be a better company to rent from then this one!
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 27. Jul 2021
Excellent
Had no issues whatsoever. Transport to/from the airport was seamless, the car was as described (though did have malfunction in the air conditioning), no issues with price or returning the car. Overall a positive experience.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 22. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
When in Iceland having a proper mean of
transportation is a must. Since we wanted to really explore the island and extent our experience beyond the basic routine covered by majority of travel guides, we decided to take a 4x4 with roof tent option. It was an excellent choice. We had no issues with the car which was perfectly prepared for us by the good people from Icerental 4x4
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 27. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
Icerental 4x4 and Northbound were perfect for our 14-day car rental. Icerental 4x4 was quick to pick us up from the airport, as well as to respond to our pre-trip questions. The Suzuki Grand Vitara was great and got us through lots of adventures around Iceland, including into the Highlands. Great vehicle and service all around, very happy.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 26. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
Great rental experience. We had some questions about extra equipment offered already before arriving in Iceland, and the call was very helpful in deciding what to pack with us. We were able to basically get everything extra with our car that we required for camping including the table, chairs and cooking equipment. The car was great - just what we needed for the ultimate Icelandic camping experience. The car tent was also great and super convenient to set up. The staff showed us everything - how to set it up and all. They also explained everything regarding toll routes and parking and forbidden routes. We decided to get extra insurance on the spot and I cannot stress enough that it's a good idea to get it. We had a scratch on the car from a little accident on the camping ground, and the staff were very understanding and explained everything regarding what insurance covers etc. Overall, super service and a great car and would definitely rent from this place again.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 24. Apr 2021
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 19. Jul 2021
Fine
The initial pick up was a mess. No one was there to shuttle us upon arrival despite clearly communicating our time of arrival. I had to turn on my cell roaming to call the shuttle driver, and he took his sweet time getting there. When he did get to the airport, about 5 other groups needed transport so he only took the drivers to the rental place. I had to go back to the airport to pick up my companion. The car itself, however, was in decent shape, and we completed the ring road without any problems.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 27. Jul 2021
Excellent
I was very satisfied with your outfit. The personnel were very knowledgeable and pleasant to deal with. The car however was not exactly what I expected. It looked worn and beat, and frankly I didn’t think it would make it around The Ring Road. But, it did, and so I was satisfied. Unfortunately I had an attack of kidney stones that forced me to cut my visit short and return home ten days early. That resulted of course in returning my rental to you early and the loss of ten days of use of the vehicle. Quite an expense for me. Up to the time of my kidney stone attack I had a great time accompanied by great weather.
Thanks Rick
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 19. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
Nice, small, easy to park and operate.
But because of the short wheel base and width you need to be careful when driving a highway and on a windy day.
Great little car but next time I might go bigger.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 11. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
Vehicle worked great for highways and mild 4wd roads
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 11. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
Quite an old car, but did the job. Had no problem getting us to Landmannalaugar and Askja, crossing several rivers on the way.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 02. Aug 2021
Good
Our camper was clean, well-serviced and fun to drive once we figured out the reverse. Would be nice to have some directions in English! But we loved it and we had a lot of fun.
We would have appreciated being able to contact Ice Rental when we were late. I realize that they were busy,but we were concerned that our rental would be given away.
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 11. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
No problem with vehicle except the low tire pressure light was on even though the tires were OK. They told us to ignore the light. Be sure to read the insurance options so you know what you are paying. The rate is much better than most rental cars. I got about 11 km per liter of bensín 95. It handles well on gravel roads but not a lot of power on uphill highways.
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 12. Jul 2021
Good
Car match exception, i enjoyed the tent on the car roof
No issues during rental
service was good
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 28. Jun 2021
Outstanding!
Easy place to rent from and the vehicle worked out nicely for us.
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 18. Jun 2021
Outstanding!
Everything was super smooth and easy!
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 21. Jun 2021
Outstanding!
The car was good. It lacked power on the hills, but got good gas milage. When we returned the car we saw your information sheet on the tunnel tolls. It would have saved us a ticket if it was pointed out to us when we rented the car.
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 02. Jun 2021
Outstanding!
While we received a car older then booked, a 2015 Honda CRV, it had more cargo space than the Tucson so we did not mind. The service provided by IceRental 4x4 from start to finish was exemplary. After a slight miscommunication between email conversations and the rental location, the check in and check out of the vehicle went without a hitch, ending with the agent bringing us to the airport in our car rather than have us wait for the next shuttle. We will definitely be using them again.
rented a vehicle in May 2021
Submitted 27. Feb 2021
Outstanding!
The experience con Icerantal was more then posiive
Initially I should have gone in July 2020. And then arrived Covid .....
The company give me a voucher for another trip, and when I decided to come in february 2021 (obviously a less expensive month) they give me a refund for the excess and box the next car
I decided to book a Toyota RAV 4x4 (february in Iceland?? Better to be prepared!)
They waited for me at keflavik airport and the check in of the car was easy end fast
I decided on a Silver Insurance for my week driving on the South Coast , and the car was exactly how i was expecting
I didn't have any problems (tip: drive slooooowly in the strong winds and you'll never have problems , and the rain with the winter tires is not a trouble. Idem for the ice)
I returned the car and the check out was more than easy
When I'll return to Iceland I'll be sure to rent another car from them
rented a vehicle in February 2021
Submitted 13. Nov 2020
Outstanding!
The Suzuki Vitara 4x4 was excellent, a comfortable car suitable for Iceland's gravel roads. Of course, you cannot cross rivers, but I guess that's not allowed with any rental car for obvious reasons.
The people at Northbound are very friendly and easy-going. They picked us up at the airport and drove us to our rental car - very comfortable! Also returning the vehicle was extremely easy. We had an early morning flight so we could simply leave the car at the airport parking garage with the keys and the parking ticket inside.
Absolutely recommend!!!
rented a vehicle in October 2020
Submitted 28. Sep 2020
Finally we didn’t rent a toyota rav4 because company hadn’t any available. Instead of toyota they gave us a suzuki t cross. So we are very disappointed about this. Northbound was an excellent company though.
rented a vehicle in September 2020
Submitted 18. Sep 2020
Excellent
The car was great even though had some serious damages outside. We felt safe all the time.
rented a vehicle in September 2020
Submitted 05. Sep 2020
Good
Everything OK, reliable Car but quite used with 200k+ km. Unfortunately consumes a lot of fuel.
Nice people at the Rental place
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 29. Aug 2020
Good
The car was older and had more wear and tear than expected but did the job well and we cannot complain.

It would help to have been more clear about the tunnel toll in Akureyri which we got fined for 3 times as we did not know where the toll was supposed to be paid and we assumed it was an automatic system linked to the car licence / some magnetic strip that we would pay for at the end.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 03. Sep 2020
We did not get the guaranteed model but a Suzuki Grand Vitara. I think it was a higher category but used a lot of gas and the car seemed really old and noisy. Some things were obviously broken or worn down.
The camping box included what was described but could have been better quality i.e. the thermos didn't keep the heat, the pan was dirty and there was no sharp knife to cut.
Sleeping bags and roof tent were okay but no high quality, they weren't warm enough for the cold nights and the roof tent didn't keep the rain out for long.
We had a great trip and the car with equipment was okay, it enabled us to go relaxed on all roads.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 24. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in August 2020