Reviews for Icerental 4x4 in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for Icerental 4x4
Submitted 27. Jan 2023
Good
rented a vehicle in January 2023
Submitted 27. Jan 2023
Outstanding!
Hi Ivar, thank you for your enquiry. We got a mitsubishi outlander, which was also totally sufficient. The service from Icerental 4x4 was great and everything was matching very easy. And of course your wonderful and amazing country with friendliy people made everything fantastic. thank you very much. Hermann
rented a vehicle in January 2023
Submitted 21. Jan 2023
Outstanding!
Probably the best vehicle rental I have used!
rented a vehicle in January 2023
Submitted 17. Jan 2023
Good
Hi Ivar, The staff at the rental place was exceptional. They were prompt to pick us up and drive us to get the car and to the airport on departure. They were informative and helped with any questions we had. However, there were a few things about the car that weren’t so good. If you went over a certain speed, you could often hear the wind from the windows which made it sound like a window was open slightly but it wasn’t. At times, the car would shake if you went over a certain speed. The car was dirty and had an empty popcorn bag in the back seat and popcorn on the floor. The door behind the driver did not stay open on its own and I’d have to lean against it to keep it open when getting stuff out of it. The gas lever was hard to pop open at times. The gps didn’t recognize some locations and seemed like it needed updating. Sometimes the gps would just stop and make traffic announcements in Icelandic and we’d have to restart the gps. The windshield wipers weren’t great. I also think the one headlight wasn’t working which made it difficult to drive in the dark and I had to use high beams to see anything because the light was so dull. The middle console seemed broken. Just some feedback for you for future renters.
rented a vehicle in January 2023
Submitted 13. Jan 2023
Outstanding!
Checkout and checkin were both very quick and easy. The vehicle served us very well. It would be nice to provide some information with the vehicle about how and when to pay for parking in Reykjavik and at the national parks.
rented a vehicle in January 2023
Submitted 08. Jan 2023
Outstanding!
Everything was simple, efficient and went according to plan: we were met at the airport, quickly shuttled to Icerental 4x4, checkout was quick, no unnecessary pressure to buy additional insurance, just given the info on what is covered and what is not. Car was fine. Return process was equally simple and quick.
rented a vehicle in January 2023
Submitted 09. Jan 2023
Outstanding!
Really happy with the service and the car we received
rented a vehicle in January 2023
Submitted 09. Jan 2023
Outstanding!
really nice rental company, enjoyed every bit of our time using their rental car, and we got to travel the whole southern coast of Iceland, which I think is very impressive 😃🇮🇸. overall no problems with their car and had a comfortable cozy (and most importantly warm, cos its dead cold outside) ride with their car😃. would recommend, for their ease of business, booking, getting the car, returning it and all the packages that they offer to make sure we are safe during our rental period. their cars are nice too 👍🏼😃 totally recommended🇮🇸
rented a vehicle in January 2023
Submitted 30. Dec 2022
Very Good
Nice drive. Boot space a bit small. The description page should say 2 suit cases, 1 hand luggage and a small rucksack.
rented a vehicle in December 2022
Submitted 01. Jan 2023
Very Good
It was as promised: Subaru XV, All Wheel Drive, studded tires. In general, it was a good experience.
rented a vehicle in December 2022
Submitted 23. Dec 2022
Outstanding!
Welk, ist was no F1Bolide ,but ist was OK! I think the lights could be better .
rented a vehicle in December 2022
Submitted 11. Dec 2022
My experience was disappointing frankly. I chose and paid for a 2021 Dacia Duster, however the car I was given couldn’t possibly have been a 2021 with over 160,000 km already on it - by my calculations, it would take driving over 275 MILES every single day for 365 days straight. But to make it worse, a rear tire had a slow leak that made itself known about 1 1/2 hours into our first day. We carefully monitored it and added air daily which added quite a bit of stress to us as we had to constantly find a gas station that was manned and had an air pump. Unfortunately on the last morning - yes the morning we had to drive to the airport - we awoke to a flat tire and had to change it to the spare. Yes, changing a tire in December in Iceland in the dark. We were grateful there was a spare, that the spare had air in it, and that there was also a jack. But again, not the experience and the stress that I wanted/needed especially after PAYING FOR A 2021 vehicle. Clearly we were taken advantage of and did NOT get the vehicle that we had chosen or even anything similar as promised in the contract.
rented a vehicle in December 2022
Submitted 06. Dec 2022
Good
Friendly and convenient service with transfer to/from Keflavik Airport.
rented a vehicle in December 2022
Submitted 06. Dec 2022
Outstanding!
seamless and pleasant
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 28. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
Great company to rent your car from. The transaction of getting the car and returning it was smooth. Car was lovely with no problems what's so ever. Highly recommended
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 27. Nov 2022
Whilst the car did not cause us major issues I was quite shocked to collect a rusty 400,000km + vehicle. The clutch seemed quite worn out, when driving in the wind the door open alarm continued to go off turning on the interior light which felt quite dangerous when driving in the dark and overall the condition of the car was far below what we expected. On arrival we were told someone would be waiting to collect us. It was a shuttle service so a wait was expected but I had to leave my partner with our luggage as the shuttle was too full (as not enough we’re running I presume) and in the end it was nearly an hour from getting to the arrivals area before we got on the road. Staff were polite and did what they could to help but overall I would not use this service again. I don’t agree with writing bad reviews often but in general we were unimpressed with the service and we would use a more mainstream rental company in future with newer cars and locations closer to the airport.
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 27. Nov 2022
Fantastic!
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 20. Nov 2022
Excellent
Great although the wiper blades on the car need replacing. Very noisy and did not clear the screen very well. Otherwise no complaints.
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 20. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 20. Nov 2022
Excellent
I had a really positive experience. Everything was well organised and went according to plan. The staff were friendly and efficient. The car ran well for the whole week. Very happy with my experience.
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 14. Nov 2022
Good
We had a great experience, the car was pretty old but served our needs nicely. Even when we had some issues with the car they made sure the mechanic arrived within an hour!
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 13. Nov 2022
Great
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 11. Nov 2022
Fine
The car worked ok, but it was not a 2021 Dacia Duster, it was an older version of Dacia Duster with more than 200.000 Km when we took it. Door handles were broken and they hurt when you operate them with cold hands. As we started to drive, several warning lights of the car switched on (engine, tyres,...). We had to go back to rental point and ask about it. They told us to ignore that lights and keep on driving, but we were all the trip suffering for the car not to break. Less value than expected.
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 07. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 07. Nov 2022
Excellent
YouTube
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 01. Nov 2022
Great
Good car for our purposes!
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 08. Nov 2022
Great
We liked it a lot - it was a good companion trough all our adventure
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 30. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
The Subaru was great and the team very accommodating. I was impressed with the service and flexibility. Thank you!
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 29. Oct 2022
Very Good
A great experience with icerental 4x4. Good service, very capable off-road vehicle supplied. Did 800km in 3 days and all very straightforward.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 29. Oct 2022
Good
All is good but with smile all is perfect 😔 After we check out your car in your company one week before you say me you drive me in my hotel inkeyflawik ( 3 km) but you don’t want only for the airport and you tell : walk without smile 😳
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 24. Oct 2022
Fine
Customer service terrible. Upon arrival my husband could only come to pick up the car from your depot, 12 minutes. Myself and 2 children stayed behind at the airport. At arrival at the depot my husband realised he didnt have the correct creditcard for the downpayment. So we (myself and 2 kids) had to take a taxi to your office (€27.00). So far so good...... When we arrived we sorted the payment out and came upon a really rude person of your staff. We had a couple of questions concerning our insurance to which he responded if you don't like it there is the door..... needless to say we were not impressed.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 31. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
Great value for the money. Good car condition, very friendly staff, reasonably fast and efficient pickup and dropoff, even with many customers standing in line. All in all, a great experience!
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 26. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
Excellent and so easy to drive. Nice and roomy.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 24. Oct 2022
Hello Our stay in Iceland was greatly disrupted by an incident that took place on the second day. We were driving, when a thick cloud of water vapor began to come out of the car hood: We pulled over quickly and opened the hood, only to find the engine was boiling: the water pump belt was gone, only bits of it remained on the ground, the engine burning, smoking everywhere. I called the rescue service, who responded quickly and said they would send us a replacement car. It took 2 to 3 hours to wait. We then left to wait in a café, leaving the hood open to allow the engine to cool down, in order to avoid any more serious consequences for the head gasket. 3 hours later, the Icerental team met us at the cafe, showing us the damage done by the hood to the fenders of the car: during our absence, a gust of wind had unhooked the hood and opened it very hard, and it had damaged the corners of the right fender and the left fender. We are distributed in the replacement car, a Dacia Duster, after having signed the report of the damaged fenders. At the end of the stay, Icerental demanded from me the payment of 380000 Isk, for the damage suffered at the Vitarra, overestimated estimated price of the repair. There was no way to discuss with the person at the counter who had no decision-making power and we had to leave to catch our plane. So I paid this sum, knowing that I will have to contact Icerental again in a few days, when the actual invoice is established, so that they reimburse me for the overpayment. If I have a share of responsibility in this incident, the biggest part must be taken by Icerental which is at the origin of the problem: a water pump belt NEVER breaks if it is changed by respecting the maintenance book: on the Vitara it must be changed every 100,000 km, and, given the condition of the belt, it had probably never been changed. You should see the vehicle's maintenance book (but I doubt it still exists). To confirm this lack of maintenance, we can also base ourselves on the headlight lenses which are dulled by time and have not been replaced: we drove at night, which was dangerous because the lighting was very weak. In France, the compulsory Technical Control prohibits driving in this state and I suppose that in Iceland it is the same thing: this vehicle has therefore not passed the technical control. (see photo of the headlights of the car). To confirm this company's negligence, the replacement Duster's handbrake is totally ineffective, which is extremely dangerous when stopping the vehicle on a slope: we had to put a stone under the wheel to block it. (I filmed the vehicle moving forward while the handbrake is fully applied) That also cannot pass in a technical control. Also, for your own reputation, I ask you to act with Icerental so that they recognize their share of responsibility and bear part of the repair costs (and I am not talking to you about the damage I suffered by having had to pay a hotel where we could not go because of the 3 hour delay on our trip...) You are a young company, prove yourself worthy of commendation, and I will be grateful. I am waiting for your reply. Cordially Patrick Chapusot
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 15. Oct 2022
Good
The car we have rented for six people met our expectations. Low price for such a huge car. It is an old car but that gave us also a lot of fun.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 14. Oct 2022
Fine
We did not get picked up at the airport even after calling 4 times. When we arrived by taxi at Icerental we met another guy who did not get picked up on his way and he had to pay for a taxi himself too. The car itself was okay, but the check engine light was on, because of a missing sensor. So we did drive with the check engine light all on all the time. Not really what you want to see when you enter a rental car. Everything else was okay. The staff works pretty efficient when it's your turn.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 11. Oct 2022
Good
The car did the job, it got us around all week with minimal issues. The service provided by Icerental 4x4 was great, simple and easy to understand with a friendly service, showing us which roads to avoid, reminding us to be observant for parking fees and telling us to take pictures of the vehicle before our rental and after, should any issues occur. The car itself was a good size, it kept us warm and dry with its heated seats and the 4 wheel drive system worked great, however - The body work (although not an issue to us) was poorly repaired with a large rust patch on the front left wheel arch covered over with some rough hand brush painting. A much bigger issue lied with the parking break - the parking brake simply did not work, it was pulled up to its maximum with no resistance from the cable until the last click where it would very slightly bite with no braking effort, the entire holiday we had to leave the car in gear to prevent it rolling into any obstacle that sat near it. Hill starts were particularly challenging, although we managed, this is a safety concern and other drivers may not feel as comfortable with these issues. The gearbox felt terrible \ poorly maintained, Shifting into 5th gear often came with a crunch indicating something has worn inside the gearbox itself. The car was also slow to start, the battery terminals looked very dirty so may need a clean or require a new battery. We understand that northbound does not provide the car but they list companies to hire from. perhaps this review can be forwarded to icerental 4x4 Northbound provided a good service at a very good price, however the unexpected 2500 pounds deposit was not a delightful shock to the start of our holiday, this is something that should be clearer on the website.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 07. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
The customer service experience was excellent, from the airport pick-up, rental pick-up and return. Everyonm was nice the things were explained well. The car was a joy to drive and it worked for every thing we intended to do on this trip. I wound rent from this company again.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 06. Oct 2022
Despite renting a relatively recent model, the car had more than 235k km, and it was not in great shape - some warnings kept appearing and disappearing on the dashboard, and I was worried the license plate would fall off whenever I would close the trunk. The staff was incompetent and had scammy behavior all around. Upon return they made me acknowledge some damage that was already there during the pick up process, but I could not prove that I wasn't responsible. They then tried to have me signed a document acknowledging that I was responsible for the damages of the rental of another car with a different license plate than the one I rented. Thankfully I took northbound's insurance and was able to be reimbursed for the alleged damages. Due to their all around scammy behavior and incompetence - plus the poor state of the car they rent you, I would strongly recommend anyone renting with them to have an insurance.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 02. Oct 2022
Fine
Not at all. Old vehicle with many problems, non enough alerted in your site. However I appreciated that Icerental refunded me one day of rental
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 02. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
Communication was very quick, car was clean, and it was easy to make changes to our booking. I did originally book a car for F roads but the car we received wasn’t allowed on them, which ended up being fine since we didn’t end up going down any! We rented a car seat, which was clean and in good condition. I didn’t realize it was only forward facing when I booked it so we tried to switch it out but there weren’t any for her weight and rear facing available. Made us a little on edge driving with her forward facing for the first time but everything was fine and there was very little traffic where we explored! I’d definitely recommend Northbound and IceRental 4x4 to others traveling to Iceland.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 30. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Loved it, it was the perfect car, reliable and easy to use. The entire process from start to finish was easy and the people who work there are great.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 02. Nov 2022
Good
Hello Ívar, Thanks for inquiring about my trip. First, we LOVED Iceland. It was absolutely fantastic. We enjoyed the raw nature, Reykjavik, the people, the food, the moss, the baths and so much more. The temperature though... there could be some improvements ;) Joke aside, for the rental, I will copy below the email I sent back to Icerental4x4 after their request for comments. You'll find the details explaining why I gave this score. By the way, as you will see below, I did NOT get a Tucson. I you want to discuss more about this, feel free to write me back. Taak! --- Copy of email sent --- (skipping greetings) Now, about the rental… It’s unfortunately a mixed bag. The good things: • The check-out process was fairly quick and easy. • The car color was nice. A joyful red, far better that something plain like gray. • The driving assistance equipment was fine (collision warning, GPS). • The car was reliable with no serious issues (see below). The bad things: • I did not get the car I ordered. I specifically requested a 2019+ Hyundai Tucson Diesel. On arrival, I was told it was not available anymore, the car being broken according to the representative. I was provided with a Suzuki Vitara 2018 Gas. Although the gas and diesel price is about the same in Iceland, the millage done with a diesel tank is significantly greater. Therefore, I estimated that I paid close to twice the money I should have because of the gas powered Vitara. This is not especially fun. • The Vitara was a terrible car. The interior looked and was cheap. At least it was clean. With 240 000 km on the counter, the car was very tired. The suspension was awfully rough. The transmission was also very tired, having a hard time deciding when to change gear. When climbing a hill, it was constantly doing 2 to 3 back and forth between gears before finally going to the lower one. Not especially comfortable. The doors were simply terrible. They were so light they felt hollow. Also, the system to retain them open was evidently not working and we were obligated to hold them all the time when accessing our stuff on the back seats. • Considering we took the car at the end of September (the 21st), I think winter tires should already have been mounted on the car. We faced snow and ice on the road when we were in the northern part (Akureyri and Mývatn). The tires were somewhat worn-out, not to a dangerous level but close to the level I change them in Canada. For the security of your customers, the car should have had its winter tires at mid-September. By the way, I saw other tourist cars from your competitors that were fitted with winter tires. • After about 2000 km, we received an oil change warning. I promptly checked the oil level and appearance to make sure. It was properly filled and the oil was not even black. Therefore, it was simply the reminder that was not reset properly. Unfortunately, I was stuck with this yellow warning like in the dashboard for the rest of our trip. • Three (3) times during the trip, I received an alert in the car about the radar system being deactivated temporarily. The first time was a bit scary as it appears like a major issue since the console indicator turns red. I finally understood it was not critical but, it remains not fun when you’re in remote areas in another country. • The roof tent maintenance left a lot to be desired. First, the pillows were so damp they were unusable. Furthermore, they did not look very clean. Then, the main mattress was also very humid (not damp though). I understand it’s very complicated for you since you keep the cars outside. Meanwhile, the roof tent would benefit from being opened upon check-in and left to dry for some time – or at least, minimally, the mattress. • The check-in process could be improved. Contrary to the check-out where customers usually have plenty of time, upon check-in, we are usually on tight schedules because of the planes strict departure times. Meanwhile, the process is not optimized for this and the staff processes requests based on the arrival order. Even though I planned some extra time, I still had to wait about 25 minutes for a 3 minutes check-in process. I suggest you reserve a specific line for check-ins. And since customers indicated you when they plan to return their car, it’s easy for you to plan and use the staff for check-outs when no check-ins are expected. Magnús, please take these comments constructively. I really enjoyed my trip. I just think the rental experience could have been a notch more pleasant.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 30. Sep 2022
Good
Generally, the vehicle was ok. It was the perfect size snd easy to drive. However, the lights only worked on bright and then it was as bright as I would expect on for the regular setting. Also, the brakes squeaked terribly. I would not recommend this particular vehicle for a family. I did like the service though. The people we worked with were great and the gentleman that got us going on our adventure was very helpful. We added Wifi because of his advice and we were very thankful we did!!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 24. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
It was great for the purpose.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 21. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
The car was in excellent condition and carried us over 720Km as we toured the southern coast of Iceland, some spots quite Remote so the reliability of the vehicle was paramount. Apple car Play was a nice feature so we could use Waze and listen to our playlist during the ride. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable, and the price was very competitive. Definitely would recommend with a 5-star rating.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 03. Oct 2022
Good
The rental process was very smooth and the inclusion of a shuttle service to and from the rental office was very appreciated! The vehicle itself performed really well and we had very little issues with it. The issues we had were very minor such as the driver's side seat warmer not working and moldy rooftop tent interior. Otherwise we had a lovely time in iceland and it was made a lot better by the easy process of renting and returning the vehicle!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 06. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
Après avoir passé 3 semaines sur les routes islandaise avec le jimny comme ami , il ne m'a pas lâché, il es peut être un peu "mou" dans les montée sinon super véhicule super expérience super compagnie super pays merci a vous et vous recommanderais sans hésitation
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 27. Sep 2022
Very Good
we had doubts about the reliability of the vehicle but they reassured us immediately by taking a tour and checking with us. the stay went well.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 21. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
It was a great car! Thank you!
rented a vehicle in September 2022