Reviews for Icerental 4x4 in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for Icerental 4x4
Submitted 24. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
It was great for the purpose.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 21. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
The car was in excellent condition and carried us over 720Km as we toured the southern coast of Iceland, some spots quite Remote so the reliability of the vehicle was paramount. Apple car Play was a nice feature so we could use Waze and listen to our playlist during the ride. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable, and the price was very competitive. Definitely would recommend with a 5-star rating.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 21. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
It was a great car! Thank you!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 19. Sep 2022
Good
The car worked, but was lackluster. The electrical seemed strange, the passenger door was drafty, there were cigarette burns in the tent and they did not seem to document the damage well as they tried to pin a dent on me, luckily I had video to show that it was already there when I picked it up.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 16. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
I loved it
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 21. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Great value for the cost, car was in good condition, rental process went very smooth. The rooftent was a very good option for two people as well.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 25. Sep 2022
Good
Car is really old, but all works fine.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 12. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
It was a great car especially with the roof tent. Very clean and maintained as well so all in all a good experience.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 03. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
The car was excellent. With only 28000km it was essentially in new condition. The car was clean when we picked it up. The staff were efficient and explained the additional insurance products well. The Subaru XV was perfect for our trip around beautiful Iceland. The only downside was a lack of a backup camera.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 07. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
I liked it very much. I made a trip around the island driving almost 3,5 thousand km. Average speed 90 km/h (due to limits) with a consumption of 6,3 l/100km. All wheel drive system allows for safe crossing of off-road roads. One suggestion - in my opinion that car should get new suspension or at least some maintenance service of suspension.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 29. Aug 2022
I didn't get the 2011 Suzuki Grand Vitara because of leaking engine problem , remote problem and bad state of wheels. It was an old vehicle of almost 300000km. I didn't take the risk so i was forced to change the vehicle for a Subaru XV. With an unjustified additional cost of 60€.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 01. Sep 2022
Not very happy to pay 90000 isk for a minor scratch. We had a photo of the car where the scratch is on, which was taken on the day we rented the car. I left the building feeling betrayed.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 29. Aug 2022
Good
I was happy with the vehicle and service from Icerental4x4. One minor bug was the car being only 7/8 full of fuel and the agent not writing that down at vehicle issue. Luckily I had taken a photo showing the mileage of the vehicle and the fuel gauge level to show the agent at vehicle return as he was sceptical. Will rent from Icerental4x4 again.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 30. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
Good car. No problem driving it all over the country. Easy check in/out.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 28. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
This company was great, they took amazing care of us! When we got there, they only had the older Jimny (only 3 years older so not a big deal), and boy did they go above and beyond to make it right! The customer team was just lovely and so helpful. Pick up and drop off was a breeze and the airport shuttle was great.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 29. Aug 2022
Good
The start was not much too good, we had to Wait at the airport almost an hour And after that the pickup took another hour. But from this beginning all was fine. The car was in good condition And served US perfectly.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 22. Aug 2022
Good
It was more than enough for our trip, as it allowed us to go on every road we planned for.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 18. Aug 2022
Good
Looking at the price and the availability due to late booking I was happy to get a payable car at all and I wasn't expecting too much. With over 238.000 km, the body, seats and transmission was in an acceptable condition, but the inside could have been better cleaned. The windshield was heavily covered with stoneblasts - driving against the sun was impossible due to scattered light. This is a major risk and life threatening - the windshield has to be replaced. The high fuel consumption was also a disappointment. Compared to the car we rented on 04/22 at another company it definitely looses due to the windshield.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 31. Aug 2022
Fantastic!
Very good! They were always friendly and happy to help.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 20. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
The Jimmy was perfect for our adventures in Iceland. We were bless with good weather so the rooftop tent for us was the way to go.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 16. Aug 2022
Iceland was wonderful- this was our 3rd visit. The Suzuki car was ok. It was cheaper because it was older and rather high mileage, but it gave no trouble. The pop up tent on to was a big problem: the mattress and sheets were wet at one end. The seal on the lid was broken and it had rained hard. We could not use it at all. But by day 4, with no rain, it was somewhat drier. The rental team at the depot refused to listen, pronounced the kit dry and ok. Which it probably was by then. But we had to sleep in the car instead as it was not useable to us. So 3 out of 10 on that rental
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 24. Aug 2022
Fine
We rented a Suzuki Jimny with manual gearbox and roof tent. No problems with the car, it was clean and in working order. Unfortunately the tent was very dirty, inside there were cigarette burn marks, and a lot of mold. We had to clean the tent completely before we could use it, it was not hygienic.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 16. Aug 2022
Good
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 28. Aug 2022
Excellent
This type of vehicle is not he perfect one but the rental experience with the company was good and uneventful.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 16. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
Good car. no nonsens friendly service
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 03. Aug 2022
We booked a 2018 Suzuki Jimny, but got one from 2001. When we afsked about it at pick up, the staff said this was one of the last cars built in 2018 before the model got a redesign. However, the vin number clearly showed the car was from 2001, which made it a very poor driving experience. So, use Icerental 4X4 if you want an old beat-up car. This was the major problem among many smaller problems with the car and roof tent, such as a shaking steering wheel and a moldy mattress.
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 29. Jul 2022
Not at all..this big, heavy and expensive american car needs tons of gasoline, had bad brakes and is slow when you try to start driving. The heating system is very strange too....but the worst thing was that we hat twice wheels with a hole in it. We had to call the macanic twice, thow I didnt drive on bad F roads. Glad I could call the ADAC from Germany to get fast help....the broken tire I had to pay for my selfself. In addition we waited at the airport to be taken to the office, but the driver wasnt there on time, so I had to call him and we waited for another 30min. To sum up...that was a very expensive and annoying holiday with that car. The Island was great!
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 31. Jul 2022
Good
We did receive an older model of the car than we had booked. However, we realised this too late and found not turn back. The car was OK. The camping gear rent together with the car was of very low quality. Definitely recommend to rent that somewhere else.
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 05. Aug 2022
Fantastic!
The Suzuki Jimny is a good vehicle to explore Iceland, it does well on un-paved roads and it’s sturdy and solid. It doesn’t go very fast but it’s not a big issue in Iceland. The main issue was with the roof tent when it rains the mattress inside gets a bit wet. All in all it’s a great vehicle to explore Iceland.
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 06. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
It was a perfect car for the roundtrip around Iceland
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 03. Aug 2022
Good
Island ist immer für Abenteuer gut. Der Wagen wurde an Tag 2 getauscht, weil die Handbremse versagte. bei Auto 2 lösten sich am Tag 4 die Radmuttern hi re und 2 Radbolzen brachen dabei ab. Eine Notfallwerkstatt konnte am Sa Nachm notdürftig die beiden fehlenden ersetzen. Am Mo dann Tausch aller 5 Radmuttern. Das Auto hat uns dann um die ganze Insel gebracht.
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 27. Jul 2022
Good
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 29. Jul 2022
It was terrible, I’ve never drove a vehicle that dangerous. The steering-wheel was shaking, it was almost impossible the go straight. I am extremely disappointed with this renting, it was literally exhausting to drive. Very bad braking. In addition to that we would have like that the stairs was attachable outside, because when it’s raining your wet stairs go onto the mattress.
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 25. Jul 2022
Great
It is a very nice and good car for these road conditions on Iceland. It is a very nice idea to meet this car with a roof tent. We booked this car online and it was so easy. Very kindly shuttle service and the handover of the vehicle was easy We will book again via northbound or Icerental 4x4.
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 23. Jul 2022
Excellent
Everything was perfect plus very good customer service.
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 30. Jul 2022
Fine
cannot give a comparison to other companies. My expectations may have been too high. But for me the vehicle was too expensive by its standards. But I don't know at milage Display from 384000km what to expect. Stone chips in the windshield, engine warning Wiper system not properly. Unlocking and locking not properly. But it drove us where we wanted too.
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 28. Jul 2022
Excellent
Our experience was positive, our 4xr fullfiled our expetanios. There were few details we would like to point out. Firstly there was an empty windshell fluid in a front and back container. Secondly one of the camp chairs was fairly unstable, because of nearly broken leg leg. Lastly, travel gas we got was half empty and it only lasted for a week. Our trip was 14 days, we needed to buy a travel gas at a camping store. The staff was professional but no kind or even polite.
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 22. Jul 2022
Outstanding!
Simple: Everything was perfect. Thank you again.
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 23. Jul 2022
Outstanding!
The rental was great, the car was exactly like promised and everything went smoothly.
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 10. Sep 2022
Great
Throughout the 2 weeks we spent touring the Ring Road and making side-excursions, our experience with the 2019 Dacia Duster from Icerental 4x4 was very good. It proved to be a solid, capable and comfortable vehicle, with ample room for over 6' drivers. The vehicle was clean and fully functional. Fuel consumption was as expected. There was an issue early on with the roof tent hydraulics but Icerental 4x4 staff were communicative and arranged to have that repaired as we travelled. Our request to extend the rental was efficiently handled on the road through email. There were no hidden or surprise charges at the end of our trip. Would do it again without hesitation.
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 16. Jul 2022
Outstanding!
Great service. We had an issue with our first car but we could arrange a smooth and free car swap with icerental4x4.
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 15. Jul 2022
Great
Car was perfect. like we know it from other trips. Roof tent was not checked or the company does not get the information of the customers. While heavy rain it gets wet parts at the roof and one time the matrace gets wet while driving in the part where the tent will be closed. They gave us a small amount back for the inconveniance. At the end we had luck that the weather got not much more bad as it was. So the the numbers are a combination of car and tent
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 03. Jul 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 25. Jul 2022
Good
The kind of vehicle with the rooftent was perfect respect to our expectations, but it was really old and worn. It was pretty undriveable (or even dangerous) in wind condition (that means always in Iceland!). The rooftent conditions were ok, but bedding and pillows were unpresentable.
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 09. Jul 2022
Most expensive rental car I’ve ever had, still the best deal we could find. The Suzuki Jimny 4x4 (2018) was an okay car which got us safely over all those icelandic gravel roads. Roof top tent was in a miserable condition: they fixed the damaged zipper of one of the doors with a … TAPE! Windy, rainy weather and the fact you have to un- and refold it all the time didn’t really improve its condition. Mattress came with dents in it. My recommendation: Dump that old piece of sh** and put a new one on the car. Thank you. The water for windscreen wiper was always empty, probably some lack in there. Pick up from the airport was awful, we had to wait for 2 hours. Drop off was fine and worked out quickly. When we gave the car back no one asked if everything was fine or if we had any trouble. The guy who checked our car was busy to find little scratches that weren’t there before… very very picky. As a customer you need to take a lot of pictures and videos of the car’s condition during pick up to prove in the end you didn’t mess it up.
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 14. Jul 2022
Fine
Wir brauchten 3 autos das erste hatte ein elektrisches problem mit dem allrad. Da kann niemand was dafür dieser wurde uns anstandslos ausgetauscht (3h hin und 3h zurück) das auto das gebracht wurde, hatte ein defektes radlager dies ist völlig daneben den wenn man nur ein bischen ahnung von autos hat sollte dies auf einer kurzen probefahrt merken und nicht 3h fahre. Ich also automech. hatte es nach 200m schon gemerkt und selbst meine freundin die keine ahnung hat fand das geräusch extrem laut. Auch dieses fahrzeug wurde anstandslos ausgetauscht wieder 6h fahrt für den vermieter. Der 3 hatte hinten komplett flache reifen aber das war uns dann egal. Fazit, gesellschaft bietet fahrzeuge an die in teils sehr schlechten uustand sind.
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 05. Jul 2022
Outstanding!
The pick up and drop off was a smooth process. The car was brand new and obviously in great condition, I always ensure to take care of the rental car like my own so delivered it back in clean condition, check out was less than 5 minutes. Highly recommend Northbound Ice car rental 4X4
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 12. Jul 2022
Hi We were charged a ridiculous amount of 800€ for just a small scratch because the company told us the need inmediately to paint again all the car.. This quantity didn’t raise even more as we had an insurance that we got at the company. When we got the car, the conditions where not perfect as that area already had some imperfections The conclusion with all this is that icerental really want us to get as much money as the can. They have the advantage that we arrived with little time to go to the airport so we didn’t have enough time to call the police and argue with them. I regret booking with this company. I will not recommend anyone in the future.
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 12. Jul 2022
Outstanding!
I am happy to recommend IceRental 4x4. They gave us a new Subaru which performed very well on the road. The trips back and forth from the airport went smoothly. The staff seemed very helpful and friendly. I have traveled extensively in my life and I can honestly say this turned out to be one of the best experiences I have had with car rental agencies. Thank You. Pat Leonardo
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 26. Jun 2022
Good
It works but it was too old, you should renew the cars
rented a vehicle in June 2022