Reviews for Icerental 4x4 in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for Icerental 4x4
Submitted 24. Apr 2021
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 11. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
Vehicle worked great for highways and mild 4wd roads
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 11. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
Quite an old car, but did the job. Had no problem getting us to Landmannalaugar and Askja, crossing several rivers on the way.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 11. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
No problem with vehicle except the low tire pressure light was on even though the tires were OK. They told us to ignore the light. Be sure to read the insurance options so you know what you are paying. The rate is much better than most rental cars. I got about 11 km per liter of bensín 95. It handles well on gravel roads but not a lot of power on uphill highways.
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 28. Jun 2021
Outstanding!
Easy place to rent from and the vehicle worked out nicely for us.
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 18. Jun 2021
Outstanding!
Everything was super smooth and easy!
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 21. Jun 2021
Outstanding!
The car was good. It lacked power on the hills, but got good gas milage. When we returned the car we saw your information sheet on the tunnel tolls. It would have saved us a ticket if it was pointed out to us when we rented the car.
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 02. Jun 2021
Outstanding!
While we received a car older then booked, a 2015 Honda CRV, it had more cargo space than the Tucson so we did not mind. The service provided by IceRental 4x4 from start to finish was exemplary. After a slight miscommunication between email conversations and the rental location, the check in and check out of the vehicle went without a hitch, ending with the agent bringing us to the airport in our car rather than have us wait for the next shuttle. We will definitely be using them again.
rented a vehicle in May 2021
Submitted 27. Feb 2021
Outstanding!
The experience con Icerantal was more then posiive
Initially I should have gone in July 2020. And then arrived Covid .....
The company give me a voucher for another trip, and when I decided to come in february 2021 (obviously a less expensive month) they give me a refund for the excess and box the next car
I decided to book a Toyota RAV 4x4 (february in Iceland?? Better to be prepared!)
They waited for me at keflavik airport and the check in of the car was easy end fast
I decided on a Silver Insurance for my week driving on the South Coast , and the car was exactly how i was expecting
I didn't have any problems (tip: drive slooooowly in the strong winds and you'll never have problems , and the rain with the winter tires is not a trouble. Idem for the ice)
I returned the car and the check out was more than easy
When I'll return to Iceland I'll be sure to rent another car from them
rented a vehicle in February 2021
Submitted 13. Nov 2020
Outstanding!
The Suzuki Vitara 4x4 was excellent, a comfortable car suitable for Iceland's gravel roads. Of course, you cannot cross rivers, but I guess that's not allowed with any rental car for obvious reasons.
The people at Northbound are very friendly and easy-going. They picked us up at the airport and drove us to our rental car - very comfortable! Also returning the vehicle was extremely easy. We had an early morning flight so we could simply leave the car at the airport parking garage with the keys and the parking ticket inside.
Absolutely recommend!!!
rented a vehicle in October 2020
Submitted 28. Sep 2020
Finally we didn’t rent a toyota rav4 because company hadn’t any available. Instead of toyota they gave us a suzuki t cross. So we are very disappointed about this. Northbound was an excellent company though.
rented a vehicle in September 2020
Submitted 18. Sep 2020
Excellent
The car was great even though had some serious damages outside. We felt safe all the time.
rented a vehicle in September 2020
Submitted 05. Sep 2020
Good
Everything OK, reliable Car but quite used with 200k+ km. Unfortunately consumes a lot of fuel.
Nice people at the Rental place
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 03. Sep 2020
We did not get the guaranteed model but a Suzuki Grand Vitara. I think it was a higher category but used a lot of gas and the car seemed really old and noisy. Some things were obviously broken or worn down.
The camping box included what was described but could have been better quality i.e. the thermos didn't keep the heat, the pan was dirty and there was no sharp knife to cut.
Sleeping bags and roof tent were okay but no high quality, they weren't warm enough for the cold nights and the roof tent didn't keep the rain out for long.
We had a great trip and the car with equipment was okay, it enabled us to go relaxed on all roads.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 29. Aug 2020
Good
The car was older and had more wear and tear than expected but did the job well and we cannot complain.

It would help to have been more clear about the tunnel toll in Akureyri which we got fined for 3 times as we did not know where the toll was supposed to be paid and we assumed it was an automatic system linked to the car licence / some magnetic strip that we would pay for at the end.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 24. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 02. Sep 2020
Excellent
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 29. Aug 2020
Excellent
We rented a Dacia Duster with rooftent and had, before arriving to Iceland, To make changes. There was a fast and good response. At arrival we were picked up at the airport and after a quick explanation we were on route with the car. We were very satisfied with it, the only thing what could have been better, was the matrass. Next time in Iceland we go back to Icerental 4x4.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 31. Aug 2020
Good
The Box between the front seats only make noise, and it's not good for anything.
The back windows wiper blade doesn't work, it only makes two stripes on the window, the window washer for the back window also doesn't work.
Otherwise the car drove us about 3.600 kms without any surprises and so everything is ok.

Klaus
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 03. Sep 2020
Outstanding!
It was really amazing! The car was great and the tent on the root was just perfect for the trip we planned! Thank you very much, guys!
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 09. Sep 2020
Outstanding!
Eine gute, unkomplizierte und zuverlässige Autovermietung. Nur zu empfehlen.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 20. Sep 2020
Outstanding!
The general expirience with Icerental was great. The staff were very friendly and patientlys explained everything to us. The car( Suzuki Vitara) was very goog and i really enjoyed driving with it. One day the oil lamp on our car was on but we were helped very quickly.
I would book my car there again at any time.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 29. Aug 2020
All over it was good. But the car had some warninglights on. Engine, inspection, air pressure in the tired. We always checked. The could be in better condition. It is not really able to go on f-roads with it because of the tired. They were down and should be replace. We didn't go to all places we wanted to go.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 28. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
I have got a well maintained Jimny, especially tires, brakes and windshield wipers worked very well, what is essential when driving on F-roads or in hard weather conditions. Thank you for receiving a clean car with clean equipment and roof tent as well. I have to mention the reliable and quick response from the northbound staff, especially Thordis, when having any question. In total, the booking experience and customer support from northbound.is was outstanding! My best experience in Iceland after already 15 visits!! TAKK FYRIR FROM ISLANDSVINUR NICO!!
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 01. Sep 2020
Outstanding!
Un véhicule confortable, propre et agréable à conduire sur les chemins.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 02. Sep 2020
Outstanding!
The rental service was really good. All of the information was clear. Upon arrival everything was settled already and the returning went really quick as well. Good shuttle service from and to the airport
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 22. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
It was a pleasant surprise, I have never tried it before, but it is certainly something I will do again. Easy to get around, easy to set up camp, and easy to get a good night sleep. And the car was doing his thing too. At a certain point I had to cross 21 rivers, no problem at all. I would do this again without a doubt
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 23. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 25. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Car pickup was I bit hasty and staff seemed impatient, but it was busy in the shop. Otherwise we got our Suzuki in a good state and well cleaned, together with a complete damage report form from previous car damage to the outside car. Drop-off was hassle-free and friendly. Very convenient that dropoff and airport shuttle was possible at 5AM already.
Communication with Northbound was quick and easy.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 21. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 22. Aug 2020
Good
The car was similar but not a Hyundai Tucson but it worked. It was a Honda CR-V with 168.000 km
A lot of damages were already existing, when we took over the car. The checkout was without problems. Take a photo or video before start.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 12. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Smooth renting process, great service, no issues at all. I would definitely use this company again.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 19. Aug 2020
We were disappointed with the rented vehicle: the handbrake did not work, there was no more washer fluid. We did appreciate the heated seats, however ;-)

The procedures for taking the vehicle are simple, we would have appreciated that the inventory of fixtures be established jointly with the lessor and this, to facilitate the inventory of fixtures when the vehicle is handed over at the end of the rental.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 23. Aug 2020
Good
Good experience!
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 24. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Our experience with Icerental 4x4 was excellent ! We had a small leak in the tent and the company provided us with a new one within 90 minutes...although we were on the other side of the country.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 18. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Great car, good price and good service.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 18. Aug 2020
Good
Good experience. Thé suzuki grand Vitara (2011) was old but rent like that so not a surprise. Not new but on the island roads it s à good thing because you are not stressed by the gravel from the other car. V6 motor (sp95/98), powerfull but too much gourmand.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 18. Aug 2020
Good
Best prices I found online. Good transfer to/from airport. The car was not on perfect conditions (one light broken) neither the camping material (seats broken and useless table). They could also improve customer service.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 13. Sep 2020
Outstanding!
Icerental 4x4 has provided a car that was almost new. The whole rental process was fast and hassles free. On the return the staff checked only if the car was severely dameged whiteout trying to force any additional payment.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 30. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
The car is just fantastic. We went on Iceland F-roads without any problems. 4WD mode is working nicely when needed.
About the tent, well, camping during a whole month and still dry inside. Wind is your ennemy tought, just place the car accordingly and no worries.
We extended our rent in a blink of and eye.
Efficient staff and fast.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 21. Aug 2020
Good
It did the job, but it wasn't 100% reliable – once the engine took a few minutes to start on the 1st day, and it was a tad scary, but there were no issues afterwards.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 14. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
I really suggest this company for icelandic rental. The customer service is really efficient, if you have any kind of issue you can contact them every moment and they answer soon taking care of you in the best way. Excellent service!
Everything about the car was perfect and good prices!
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 20. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Dacia Duster was simply perfect! We had an amazing adventure through Icelandic roads: the 4WD allows you to drive on the F-roads, the car is very spacious and easy to drive. Highly recommended!
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 07. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Everything was perfect. Only thing to mention was that there was not an agent waiting for us on the airport when we arrived. But we called the number from the voucher and agent came in like 15mins. No problem. Next time I would choose you again.
We had no issue drive so - didnt need any extra service (like car towing, replacement car) or insurance. Thats where you would have to prove your quality service.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 05. Aug 2020
Good
The Jimny was great for short trips not exceeding 60km/h. Around 80km/h the steering wheel would start to shake and the Jimny became wobbly over the road. Roof tent was excellent, easy to use and setup was a matter of seconds. We chose for the additional kitchen box. The two gas canisters provided were empty so we didn't make use of the cooker.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 20. Aug 2020
Good
The car was technically ok, but could have been cleaner, especially the inside of the windshield. The dimensions of the rooftop tent could be pointed out more clearly. I'm 190cm and could not stretch fully.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 17. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 19. Aug 2020
Good
Das Auto war unseren Anforderungen entsprechend. Enttäuscht waren wir allerdings von dem Dachzelt, da es nach 5 Regentagen nicht mehr bewohnbar war. Die Abdichtung am Heck des Zeltes war undicht und die Matratze konnte man auswringen.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 15. Aug 2020
Excellent
Freundlicher Service, Rückfragen im Vorfeld schnell beantwortwortet.
Mit unserem Dacia Duster waren wir sehr zufrieden, hat auch schwierige Streckenabschnitte zuverlässig gemeistert. Leicht zu fahren.
Lediglich das Dachzelt hatte leichte Mängel. Die Nähte teilweise nicht mehr gut und eine Stelle wäre bei Regen vermutlich nicht dicht. Ansonsten ist ein solches Zelt sehr zu empfehlen. Würde bei Northbound wieder buchen.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 09. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Our Jimny was the perfect balance between comfort and versatility: while the "camping" part is quite simple, with a comfortable bed and a reliable rooftop tent, but almost nothing more, having a 4x4 allowed us to drive some beautiful F-Roads, giving our holiday an additional value.
I'd absolutely suggest this solution, as soon as you know this is far from a motorhome. Might not be for everybody then, but with some adaptability I think it's the best deal.
I'd only suggest to Icerental 4x4 to add few improvements for space organization in the car, mainly in the back (i.e. back seats are not useful at all).
rented a vehicle in July 2020