Reviews for Fara Car Rental in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for Fara Car Rental
Submitted 24. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Great car. Very easy to drive with nice features. It was great to travel all around Iceland.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 24. Sep 2022
Excellent
What a surprise “do you have a personal insurance?” The cost rise from more than 700 to more than 1000. I never see that in other countries. Please made a “all inclusive mode”
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 18. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Great car, nice amenities like heated seats, heated steering wheel, Apple car play, multiple drive settings. Averaged 34 MPG over 10 days and 1500 miles.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 22. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Yes. Car was in great shape. Customer service with Fara was very good.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 14. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Fara was great to work with! Jeep was an excellent vehicle choice for Icelandic roads.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 30. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
The car in general is good. Very comfortable, clean, and easy to drive on paved roads. Some points to take into consideration: - The Mitsubishi Multimedia system has some Android Auto issues and often stops working. It's not a big issue and is not a problem that Fara Car Rental could solve, but it's important to mention. - The car is not so appropriate for some roads, and Fara was very clear about that. If you plan to do more off-road and take some bad roads, consider getting a big 4X4. You can go with the Eclipse, but you are taking more risks. About the staff, pick up and drop process, I'm very impressed with how friendly the staff was with us.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 27. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
I had a great experience with Northbound and would choose them over and over again. They were quick to reply and very helpful through the whole process.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 30. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 17. Aug 2022
Great
It was a Mitsubishi hybrid and it worked well! Aisha was extremely helpful. Everyone was very nice -even their mechanic, who shuttled us because they wanted to get us to the airport ahead of schedule for our departure :)
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 23. Jul 2022
Outstanding!
Арендовал автомобиль на 4 дня, все понравилось. Цены хорошие, ребята работают тоже хорошие.
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 18. Jul 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 23. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
Straight forward process. Pickup was easy as could be and dropoff went without a hitch! Would definitely recommend again.
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 30. Jun 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 27. Jun 2022
Fantastic!
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 24. Jun 2022
Great
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 30. Jun 2022
Outstanding!
We ended up receiving a Mitsubishi Cross-Eclipse which is the same size and category vehicle. We had a great experience, the staff were very courteous, service was great, and the vehicle was almost new. We ended up doing the entire rind road and spent 11 days doing a lot of driving, and the car was comfortable and reliable. I would highly recommend Northbound and Fara.
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 27. May 2022
Outstanding!
My whole experience with Northbound great. Fara took sometime to check us in and give us a rental car as there was some computer problem and information were not transmitted from Northbound to Fara. However, Fara did allow us to keep car for an extra hour to make up the lost time. They did provide excellent airport pick-up and drop-off service.
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 31. May 2022
Hello. My name is Daniel and I rented a car with this company (Jeep Renegade) I PAID to take it outside the established hours. I call to be picked up at Kefkavik airport and they don't pick up the phone and I get an answering machine. After calling a dozen times, we decided to go to the Hotel the 5 people with the cost of traveling to Reykjavík, where we were staying that night. The next day I call during office hours and now they pick up the phone and tell me that they will compensate me financially for what happened because of the company. With the rental, I contract the PREMIUM insurance (includes everything), the car suffers a breakdown, I call and they tell me to take care of it and then they will pay me (because I am 700km from Keflavik). I arrive and return it and they tell me that everything is fine. And they tell me that to receive the compensation they will contact me. No one has sent me an email, nor has anyone called me. I recommend not contracting with this company, they are very unserious and deceive you. In a serious and honorable country like Iceland, these companies give a very bad image.
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 25. May 2022
Outstanding!
Fara rental company is reliable. The employees are very friendly and thorough. The car that I rented was really great, with wifi that eased navigating Iceland.
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 30. Apr 2022
Outstanding!
Fara was an excellent company to rent from. The whole process was smooth and easy. Before my trip I reached out to extend my dates and they willing to help me out. On site every was lovely and easy to talk to. I would definitely rent from them again.
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 04. Apr 2022
Outstanding!
Car was perfect. It made our vacation that much better knowing we had reliable transportation. Thank You
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 31. Mar 2022
Outstanding!
Great service
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 14. Mar 2022
Outstanding!
We really loved the car we rentes, we wished we could take it home with us!
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 10. Feb 2022
Outstanding!
Fara were great, picked me up from the airport promptly and the car was warm and waiting for me at their office. They didn't have any of the car that I ordered in stock but the car they gave me was definitely an upgrade. They gave me a few websites to check for weather and road conditions and also emailed me a couple of times with advice because of an incoming storm.
rented a vehicle in February 2022
Submitted 02. Feb 2022
Outstanding!
Overall the service was excellent. This was my first time hiring abroad and found it to be very easy. The only down side was that we had booked to have a WiFi box with the car but this wasn't included when we picked up the car. Luckily we had enough data available with our mobile phone provider to cover our trip.
rented a vehicle in January 2022
Submitted 26. Dec 2021
Outstanding!
Airport service was perfect. Super good conditions and service.
rented a vehicle in December 2021
Submitted 20. Dec 2021
Outstanding!
Only our Problem is we came early in the Morning , and your office open at 10.00am, but you Pick us early. I did not check the Time , my Fault too. But Van was good for 6 people with Luggage and comfortable ride. good experience. will Recommend to friends. Thanks.
rented a vehicle in December 2021
Submitted 13. Dec 2021
I was disappointed by the experience with Fara. When picking up, Northbound had indicated that the supplier would wait outside of the airport, but Fara required a call for them to pick up at the airport. Once the agent for Fara picked us up and drove us to the location in Keflavik, he proceeded to take about 45 minutes to prepare our paperwork, which included a call to someone else when their computer system wasn't working as expected. He also pressured us to get add-on insurance at about $50 US per day, saying that Iceland winds and weather could be unpredictable (even though the sign on their desk said that wind damage would not be covered with this type of insurance). I declined as I did not feel that this would normally be worth it. He showed us a collection of pictures of the vehicle in its current state and also suggested to take pictures of the vehicle when the light was better (we arrived at 8am, but sun didn't rise until about 10:30am). When we returned the car, the agent who checked us out found a dent on the interior rear door, in an area where the first agent did not take a picture. The drop off agent said that not all agents were as thorough as him when inspecting. When I said that I wasn't sure how that dent would have gotten there, he said that since there was no photo of the interior of the door before, that we would have to pay 60,000 ISK for it to be repaired. I understand that I am technically liable for this damage, and that I should have done a more thorough inspection of the vehicle before driving it off, but I imagine if I had waited a few hours for the sun to rise to take pictures, there would still have been an opportunity for plausible deniability for Fara that I had caused that damage in the intervening time. Anyways, the car itself worked well, and it held up in the Icelandic winter. I appreciated the integrated GPS system and studded winter tires, which both worked well.
rented a vehicle in December 2021
The Supplier Response:
Dear Michael,

Thank you for your feedback. However, there are a few things that need to be mentioned.

On the voucher from Northbound, there is information:
‘’ PICK UP: AFTER obtaining your luggage, please call the
FARA SHUTTLE SERVICE on +354 537 2018. The
SHUTTLE DRIVER will normally arrive within 10-20 minutes
to collect you from the KEF AIRPORT ARRIVALS HALL.’’
We are very sorry. If somehow we mislead you.

Our customer service standards are top quality. We are doing our best to proceed through all the paperwork as fast as possible so our customers can start an incredible journey in Iceland asap.
Unfortunately, sometimes computer systems decide to don’t cooperate. I’m sure we did everything we could to finish the paperwork as fast as possible, even though we are very sorry for the inconvenience. Fortunately, a situation like this is extremely rare.

Iceland is a very unpredictable country, and in some conditions, it is easy to damage the car (even if you are not aware of it). That’s why we recommend our customers complete their protection package to be protected against most of the damages.

Best Regards
Fara Team
Submitted 12. Apr 2022
Outstanding!
Very helpful . Great service . Will definitely use them again when we return later this year
rented a vehicle in December 2021
Submitted 29. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
Excellent car in excellent condition. The guys were very professional and thoroughly recommend this company.
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 29. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
Excellent service from Fara Ehf--the gentleman helping us at check-in and check-out gave superb customer service and ensured all our questions were answered. He also promptly picked us up and dropped us back off at the airport. The vehicle itself was comfortable and safe to carry six people. The costs also cannot be beat with these larger sized vehicles, so definitely recommend this place!
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 28. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
I liked the Ford Puma rental. It handled the Iceland weather and road very well.
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 14. Nov 2021
Excellent
FARA - Great at pick up ( David) Great at drop off ( Dominic ) Customer service was really good The CAR - Perfect for long journeys, made driving easy and made you feel safe. Took the car becasue of Satelite Navigation BUT broke or got switched off within 1st hour and FARA were contacted. No suggestions on what to do so didnt have Radio or SAT NAV for entire journey :( I have let FARA know of my thoughts and await. However, i would still book with them again BUT great drive in the Mazda Cx-30. Price was competitive BUT went for FULL insurance which i thought was a little pricey BUT gave me peice of mind Suggestio - It would be nice if someone was waiting with a board as i did not have a phone and used someone else's Would i use NORTHBOUND - YES Would i use FARA - YES
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 27. Jun 2022
Fine
I loved my rental of the 2019 Subaru Forester but I did not like Fara Car Rentals. The man that was running was not very friendly and was rude. He started our holiday off rough by talking about how much he hated living in Iceland. Not a great thing to hear during your first hour in the country. The car was excellent but I would never rent with Fara ever again.
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 03. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
Everything was perfect I asked for a JEEP COMPAS and FARA gave me exactly this one and put new winter tyres on it. Thanks
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 18. Oct 2021
Outstanding!
Had a great experience with Fara Ehf. Competent and helpful staff, a nearly new Car, all was great. The only thing that was not clear to me was the return policy, since our flight was very early (6 o'clock am), we had to return it one day before. But the company helped by bringing us and our luggage to our hotel.
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 10. Oct 2021
Fine
The experience was going well until I knew the insurance prices and the full deposit policy forced me to fill the deposit because supposedly the deposit was not full, when after going to fill the deposit under penalty of paying one more fee I only managed to get 3 liters of fuel. Overzealous in my opinion
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 29. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
Both of my customer service reps for pick up and drop off were so kind, helpful, honest, and super great?
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 13. Sep 2021
It was a Very Nice vehicle Only Regrets was The USB Charger Did not work so we Could not Use the WIFI Device as it was not Charging. We could not Charge our cellphones so it was Very Difficult to Navigate in a Strange Country. The Staff at Check in was Not Very Polite. Checkout person was Very Polite. We were Charged for WIFI Device Which did Not Work ....
rented a vehicle in September 2021
The Supplier Response:
Dear Mr Patel,

We are very sorry about the inconvenience that meets you while renting a car from us.
Sometimes fuse for lighter pop, and it needs replacement, we can easily arrange replacement anywhere in Iceland.
However, we shouldn’t charge you for the unlimited data in the device you couldn’t use.
That’s why the refund was made straight away.

Best Regards
Fara Team
Submitted 24. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
All thé Travel was perfect ! Thank you
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 27. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Northbound reserved a rental car for us using Fara Rental Car. The process was efficient to the extreme. We were promptly picked up by Fara when we arrived. The gentlemen at Fara were extremely professional and friendly and provided us the perfect car for our journey (1,200 km across Iceland). The car worked great. Extremely positive customer services all the way around - great work, Fara & Northbound!
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 30. Aug 2021
Excellent
Great for traveling around the island.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 17. Aug 2021
Fine
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 15. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
We actually got a 2018 Subaru Forester. It was the perfect car for Iceland and the personnel at FARA could not have been more helpful
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 08. Aug 2021
Good
The Jeep Compass preformed beautifully as we traveled in Icelands. I was especially happy to have it when we went into the Westfjords. It handled the dirt roads, steep inclines and descents beautifully. The staff there during drop off was wonderful. The staff when we picked up not so much. I also was disappointed by having to pay $600.00 for a small scratch on the door. This was so light I did not see it until inspection. I have no idea how it happened. Why I am disappointed is that it could probably have been buffed out it was so light. I also highly doubt that the $600 I paid to have it fixed will actually be used to fix the scratch. I say this because there was damage on the vehicle that I am sure was paid for yet never fixed. Perhaps this is how all rental companies do business? It simply does not seem ethical to me. The car was clean and in good working condition.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 23. Jul 2021
Good
Not the car we ordered (Jeep with less space than Subaru) Good help from Fara and the police-officers when of Vestmannayaer when we left our keys inside the locked car (how is that possible in 2021???)
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 08. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
It worked really well for our group of 8.
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 29. Dec 2020
Outstanding!
The car was in a super neat condition, the team are very nice, kind and supportive even at off hour. Very trustworthy and highly recommended.
rented a vehicle in December 2020
Submitted 15. Oct 2020
Outstanding!
Great car, lived up to all expectations for a tour around the Island including F-roads and bumpy backroad adventures. It had everything you would want such as seat and wheel heating. Good service provided and well organised organisation,
rented a vehicle in September 2020
Submitted 16. Oct 2020
Outstanding!
Vehicle was great except for quite a bit of wind noise from the front door seals. Service both on collection and return of the vehicle was excellent
rented a vehicle in September 2020