Reviews for Fara Car Rental in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for Fara Car Rental
Submitted 30. Apr 2022
Outstanding!
Fara was an excellent company to rent from. The whole process was smooth and easy. Before my trip I reached out to extend my dates and they willing to help me out. On site every was lovely and easy to talk to. I would definitely rent from them again.
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 04. Apr 2022
Outstanding!
Car was perfect. It made our vacation that much better knowing we had reliable transportation. Thank You
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 31. Mar 2022
Outstanding!
Great service
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 14. Mar 2022
Outstanding!
We really loved the car we rentes, we wished we could take it home with us!
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 10. Feb 2022
Outstanding!
Fara were great, picked me up from the airport promptly and the car was warm and waiting for me at their office. They didn't have any of the car that I ordered in stock but the car they gave me was definitely an upgrade. They gave me a few websites to check for weather and road conditions and also emailed me a couple of times with advice because of an incoming storm.
rented a vehicle in February 2022
Submitted 02. Feb 2022
Outstanding!
Overall the service was excellent. This was my first time hiring abroad and found it to be very easy. The only down side was that we had booked to have a WiFi box with the car but this wasn't included when we picked up the car. Luckily we had enough data available with our mobile phone provider to cover our trip.
rented a vehicle in January 2022
Submitted 26. Dec 2021
Outstanding!
Airport service was perfect. Super good conditions and service.
rented a vehicle in December 2021
Submitted 20. Dec 2021
Outstanding!
Only our Problem is we came early in the Morning , and your office open at 10.00am, but you Pick us early. I did not check the Time , my Fault too. But Van was good for 6 people with Luggage and comfortable ride.
good experience. will Recommend to friends. Thanks.
rented a vehicle in December 2021
Submitted 13. Dec 2021
I was disappointed by the experience with Fara. When picking up, Northbound had indicated that the supplier would wait outside of the airport, but Fara required a call for them to pick up at the airport. Once the agent for Fara picked us up and drove us to the location in Keflavik, he proceeded to take about 45 minutes to prepare our paperwork, which included a call to someone else when their computer system wasn't working as expected. He also pressured us to get add-on insurance at about $50 US per day, saying that Iceland winds and weather could be unpredictable (even though the sign on their desk said that wind damage would not be covered with this type of insurance). I declined as I did not feel that this would normally be worth it. He showed us a collection of pictures of the vehicle in its current state and also suggested to take pictures of the vehicle when the light was better (we arrived at 8am, but sun didn't rise until about 10:30am).

When we returned the car, the agent who checked us out found a dent on the interior rear door, in an area where the first agent did not take a picture. The drop off agent said that not all agents were as thorough as him when inspecting. When I said that I wasn't sure how that dent would have gotten there, he said that since there was no photo of the interior of the door before, that we would have to pay 60,000 ISK for it to be repaired. I understand that I am technically liable for this damage, and that I should have done a more thorough inspection of the vehicle before driving it off, but I imagine if I had waited a few hours for the sun to rise to take pictures, there would still have been an opportunity for plausible deniability for Fara that I had caused that damage in the intervening time.

Anyways, the car itself worked well, and it held up in the Icelandic winter. I appreciated the integrated GPS system and studded winter tires, which both worked well.
rented a vehicle in December 2021
The Supplier Response:
Dear Michael,

Thank you for your feedback. However, there are a few things that need to be mentioned.

On the voucher from Northbound, there is information:
‘’ PICK UP: AFTER obtaining your luggage, please call the
FARA SHUTTLE SERVICE on +354 537 2018. The
SHUTTLE DRIVER will normally arrive within 10-20 minutes
to collect you from the KEF AIRPORT ARRIVALS HALL.’’
We are very sorry. If somehow we mislead you.

Our customer service standards are top quality. We are doing our best to proceed through all the paperwork as fast as possible so our customers can start an incredible journey in Iceland asap.
Unfortunately, sometimes computer systems decide to don’t cooperate. I’m sure we did everything we could to finish the paperwork as fast as possible, even though we are very sorry for the inconvenience. Fortunately, a situation like this is extremely rare.

Iceland is a very unpredictable country, and in some conditions, it is easy to damage the car (even if you are not aware of it). That’s why we recommend our customers complete their protection package to be protected against most of the damages.

Best Regards
Fara Team
Submitted 12. Apr 2022
Outstanding!
Very helpful . Great service . Will definitely use them again when we return later this year
rented a vehicle in December 2021
Submitted 29. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
Excellent car in excellent condition.
The guys were very professional and thoroughly recommend this company.
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 29. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
Excellent service from Fara Ehf--the gentleman helping us at check-in and check-out gave superb customer service and ensured all our questions were answered. He also promptly picked us up and dropped us back off at the airport. The vehicle itself was comfortable and safe to carry six people. The costs also cannot be beat with these larger sized vehicles, so definitely recommend this place!
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 28. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
I liked the Ford Puma rental. It handled the Iceland weather and road very well.
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 14. Nov 2021
Excellent
FARA - Great at pick up ( David) Great at drop off ( Dominic )
Customer service was really good
The CAR - Perfect for long journeys, made driving easy and made you feel safe. Took the car becasue of Satelite Navigation BUT broke or got switched off within 1st hour and FARA were contacted. No suggestions on what to do so didnt have Radio or SAT NAV for entire journey :(
I have let FARA know of my thoughts and await. However, i would still book with them again
BUT great drive in the Mazda Cx-30.
Price was competitive BUT went for FULL insurance which i thought was a little pricey BUT gave me peice of mind
Suggestio - It would be nice if someone was waiting with a board as i did not have a phone and used someone else's
Would i use NORTHBOUND - YES
Would i use FARA - YES
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 03. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
Everything was perfect
I asked for a JEEP COMPAS and FARA gave me exactly this one and put new winter tyres on it.
Thanks
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 18. Oct 2021
Outstanding!
Had a great experience with Fara Ehf.
Competent and helpful staff, a nearly new Car, all was great.
The only thing that was not clear to me was the return policy, since our flight was very early (6 o'clock am), we had to return it one day before.
But the company helped by bringing us and our luggage to our hotel.
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 10. Oct 2021
Fine
The experience was going well until I knew the insurance prices and the full deposit policy forced me to fill the deposit because supposedly the deposit was not full, when after going to fill the deposit under penalty of paying one more fee I only managed to get 3 liters of fuel. Overzealous in my opinion
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 29. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
Both of my customer service reps for pick up and drop off were so kind, helpful, honest, and super great?
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 13. Sep 2021
It was a Very Nice vehicle Only Regrets was The USB Charger Did not work so we Could not Use the WIFI Device as it was not Charging.
We could not Charge our cellphones so it was Very Difficult to Navigate in a Strange Country. The Staff at Check in was Not Very Polite. Checkout person was Very Polite.
We were Charged for WIFI Device Which did Not Work ....
rented a vehicle in September 2021
The Supplier Response:
Dear Mr Patel,

We are very sorry about the inconvenience that meets you while renting a car from us.
Sometimes fuse for lighter pop, and it needs replacement, we can easily arrange replacement anywhere in Iceland.
However, we shouldn’t charge you for the unlimited data in the device you couldn’t use.
That’s why the refund was made straight away.

Best Regards
Fara Team
Submitted 24. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
All thé Travel was perfect ! Thank you
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 27. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
Northbound reserved a rental car for us using Fara Rental Car. The process was efficient to the extreme. We were promptly picked up by Fara when we arrived. The gentlemen at Fara were extremely professional and friendly and provided us the perfect car for our journey (1,200 km across Iceland). The car worked great. Extremely positive customer services all the way around - great work, Fara & Northbound!
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 30. Aug 2021
Excellent
Great for traveling around the island.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 17. Aug 2021
Fine
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 15. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
We actually got a 2018 Subaru Forester. It was the perfect car for Iceland and the personnel at FARA could not have been more helpful
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 08. Aug 2021
Good
The Jeep Compass preformed beautifully as we traveled in Icelands. I was especially happy to have it when we went into the Westfjords. It handled the dirt roads, steep inclines and descents beautifully.
The staff there during drop off was wonderful.
The staff when we picked up not so much.
I also was disappointed by having to pay $600.00 for a small scratch on the door. This was so light I did not see it until inspection. I have no idea how it happened. Why I am disappointed is that it could probably have been buffed out it was so light. I also highly doubt that the $600 I paid to have it fixed will actually be used to fix the scratch. I say this because there was damage on the vehicle that I am sure was paid for yet never fixed. Perhaps this is how all rental companies do business? It simply does not seem ethical to me.
The car was clean and in good working condition.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 23. Jul 2021
Good
Not the car we ordered (Jeep with less space than Subaru)
Good help from Fara and the police-officers when of Vestmannayaer when we left our keys inside the locked car (how is that possible in 2021???)
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 08. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
It worked really well for our group of 8.
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 29. Dec 2020
Outstanding!
The car was in a super neat condition, the team are very nice, kind and supportive even at off hour. Very trustworthy and highly recommended.
rented a vehicle in December 2020
Submitted 15. Oct 2020
Outstanding!
Great car, lived up to all expectations for a tour around the Island including F-roads and bumpy backroad adventures. It had everything you would want such as seat and wheel heating. Good service provided and well organised organisation,
rented a vehicle in September 2020
Submitted 16. Oct 2020
Outstanding!
Vehicle was great except for quite a bit of wind noise from the front door seals. Service both on collection and return of the vehicle was excellent
rented a vehicle in September 2020
Submitted 06. Nov 2020
Outstanding!
We had a great experience with Northbound and Fara, no complaints!
rented a vehicle in September 2020
Submitted 15. Sep 2020
Outstanding!
Everything was perfect. A good Service, really nice communication .
Thank you !
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 03. Sep 2020
Outstanding!
Rental with Fara was great. We had no issues giving back the car. The range rover Evoque is a great car, expensive but this is what you need to go on F roads safely. We could go wherever we had planned to visit.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 24. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
It was very good
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 27. Aug 2020
Fine
Car had some technical flaws and was already on 100k kms. Station is around 10mins from KEF airport and we had some waiting time for the transfer
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 09. Sep 2020
Hae Thordis.
I know this is simply a standardized form, and that you already know about the issues we experienced with Fara. We didn't end up with this vehicle (the Hyundai), but they swapped out for a Subaru instead which has been better. In the age of COVID travel and people's plans changing unexpectedly, it would be helpful for the rental agencies to allow early returns and at least partial refunds (if not full) of days left on the contract. I understand the problem this may cause them, but it definitely causes problems for the customer and can also cause future customer loss if someone chooses not the rent from them anymore because of this inflexibility. If they do not want to allow early returns, there should be specific language in the rental terms and conditions stating so to avoid confusion and so that the customer can make a choice about whether to rent from them because of it. For convenience sake when I return to Iceland next year I will not use Fara (and also for the car quality issues), but rather will look for an agency with more flexible date policies in the event of changes and also an agency that is located at the airport for the convenience of not having to be shuttled from farther away. I used Lotus last year and they were better in both regards.

All of that being said, my review of you and Arnar is 5/5. You have gone out of your way to get discounts where possible and make things right. I very much appreciate you! Very excellent customer service. While I will not use Fara, I will definitely use Northbound to help me find another car rental agency.

Terri
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 21. Aug 2020
Excellent
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 16. Aug 2020
Good
L'auto è un po' datata ma confortevole, unico problema impossibile connettere il telefono al sistema audio, nè via bluetooth nè via cavo (abbiamo provato con android ed iphone).
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 01. Sep 2020
We were supposed to get a Automatic 2017 Hyundai ix35 - Guaranteed Model
Vehicle Group: HYUNDAI IX35 TUCSON 2017 EXEC. 4X4 AUTO FREE GPS/4G WIFI BOX (diesel as clearly specified in the reservation process by Nothbund) as reported in the booking and Fara delivered a Subaru XV (PETROL) with 205.000 km on! We have experienced also some light on for low level of oil and some others.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 26. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
We had a very good experience with Fara and our Caddy Maxi life. We were 6 adults in a 7-seats car with enough space for our 7 big bags. The car is 4 wheel driven but is not a real 4x4 car ;-) We did a 13-days tour around Iceland with some some gravel roads, but not into the highlands ;-) We would not do the highlands with this car... The car was very clean. The service was super. We had 2 orange lights the second day and they checked the whole car again: there was no problem, just the reset of the controllights was not set properly... 13 days without any problem - it was summertime though :) We surely do recommend Fara !
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 24. Jul 2020
Good
We enjoyed using the services of Fara. The customer service, including pick-up and drop-off at he airport were very good. The car was not new, but price-quality ratio was OK. It was big enough for our family of five and no problem to store all luggage.
Next time, I will use their service again.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 12. Jul 2020
Good
Var was overall as expected, except transmission did not shift up before +4000 rpm
Service was great, and choosed you bevause of Price and good rewievs
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 29. Jun 2020
Outstanding!
Perfectly! A new, fully equipped, reliable, economical car. Nice and professional service. Simply check-in and out.
Recommend!
rented a vehicle in June 2020
Submitted 07. Jan 2020
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 17. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
Everything ok with Fara touring vehicles,our car good condition and full safety for İceland roads.Thank you "Fara".
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 11. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
Very nice people and easy to deal with. No massive red tape when renting through them. Very laid back approach.
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 12. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
All went well with the rental vehicle.
The car rental company were friendly and helpful and we experienced no problems
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 03. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
I was really pleased with both the car and service provided, very efficient and the staff (Faro) were so friendly and helpful. Car worked a treat in the heavy snowfall and was very comfortable.
rented a vehicle in February 2020
Submitted 03. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
Very comfortable and ideal for 7 people with carry on luggage.
rented a vehicle in February 2020
Submitted 11. Feb 2020
Outstanding!
The customer service experience from FARA was very good. They are very helpful and informative.
rented a vehicle in February 2020