Reviews for Fara Touring Vehicles

We had a very good experience with Fara and our Caddy Maxi life. We were 6 adults in a 7-seats car with enough space for our 7 big bags. The car is 4 wheel driven but is not a real 4x4 car ;-) We did a 13-days tour around Iceland with some some gravel roads, but not into the highlands ;-) We would not do the highlands with this car... The car was very clean. The service was super. We had 2 orange lights the second day and they checked the whole car again: there was no problem, just the reset of the controllights was not set properly... 13 days without any problem - it was summertime though :) We surely do recommend Fara !

Ingrid

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2020 and rented a 2019 Volkswagen Caddy Maxi Life

Var was overall as expected, except transmission did not shift up before +4000 rpm
Service was great, and choosed you bevause of Price and good rewievs

Bjørn

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2020 and rented a 2017 Hyundai ix35

Perfectly! A new, fully equipped, reliable, economical car. Nice and professional service. Simply check-in and out.
Recommend!

Tomasz

Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2020 and rented a 2019 Subaru Forester

View all cars from this company

Click here

Very nice people and easy to deal with. No massive red tape when renting through them. Very laid back approach.

Andrew

Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2020 and rented a 2018 Mitsubishi Outlander

All went well with the rental vehicle.
The car rental company were friendly and helpful and we experienced no problems

Leslie

Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2020 and rented a 2017 Hyundai ix35

Everything ok with Fara touring vehicles,our car good condition and full safety for İceland roads.Thank you "Fara".

Sedat

Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2020 and rented a 2017 Hyundai ix35

Free Cancellation & Amendments

Very comfortable and ideal for 7 people with carry on luggage.

Catherine

Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2020 and rented a 2019 Volkswagen Caddy Maxi Life

I was really pleased with both the car and service provided, very efficient and the staff (Faro) were so friendly and helpful. Car worked a treat in the heavy snowfall and was very comfortable.

Ann-Marie

Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2020 and rented a 2017 Hyundai ix35

FARA Touring came quickly after we called from the Airport and the hand over of the car was also quick and the car was in the expected condition. Returning of the car went just as quick as the pick up. The GSM WIFI has used 2 GB but we had not used it at all and they cancelled it immediately without any discussion. I will also rent here next time.

Jesper Flemmer

Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2020 and rented a 2014 Volvo XC90

The customer service experience from FARA was very good. They are very helpful and informative.

Ye Ping

Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2020 and rented a 2017 Suzuki S-Cross

EVERYTHING went very smoothly. They took us from the airport on time and finally brought us back there. The process of renting a car was easy and hassle free.

Jetchko

Traveled to Iceland in Jan 2020 and rented a 2017 Hyundai ix35

The services offered by Fara Touring vehicles was decent, with airport pickup available within 15mins of a call and as early as 5am. Vehicle condition was very good as well. However, I am actually in the process of sorting out a damage claim by Fara as the right mirror was broken. It appears that the Premium Insurance Package that I have chosen was still not enough to cover this, although I was under the impression that this would reduce my excess liability to 0. The company is now charging me 162,000 ISK for a complete right mirror housing, which seems excessive.

Amos

Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2019 and rented a 2017 Mercedes Benz Vito Tourer

The car wasn't great, it was quite different in terms of what it looked like versus what we received for hire. The car was covered in dents and rust as well as it not being very robust. I opened the door for entry and a wind blew the door back which resulted in me receiving a £1,900 invoice for damage. The hire was only £400 for the week, my holiday in total was £2,000!

Chris

Traveled to Iceland in Jan 2020 and rented a 2017 Suzuki S-Cross

SUBARU FORESTER 4X4 AUTO FREE GPS/4G WIFI BOX 2019 - it was a good vehicle but no instruction manual on how to use the car that would have been helpful, also no snow brush inside the car to clear off the snow and ice. Otherwise the car was great and no issues

Gina

Traveled to Iceland in Jan 2020 and rented a 2019 Jeep Compass

No problems with the car, all went well. Check out/Check in was excellent

Andrew

Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2019 and rented a 2017 Hyundai ix35

I was never able to really try this vehicle since the front light was burnt out. However, the staff was very helpful in finding a solution and giving me an upgrade to a Volvo as well as the refund for the bulbs that I bought to try to replace.

Shawn

Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2019 and rented a 2017 Hyundai ix35

Free Cancellation & Amendments

Car was great (besides small electronics issues that jeep is known for) and whole process to get and return it as well. The price was also good, however there was no mention in northbound that there's fee (3%) for paying with non-icelandic debit/credit card the rest of a price and also no possibility to pay up front 100% in northbound.

Piotr

Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2019 and rented a 2019 Jeep Compass

We hired a vehicle with Fara 10/01/2020 - 12/01/2020. The whole experience was by far the best I have ever seen. The gentleman involved in the airport shuttle, handover and booking process was friendly and a really nice guy.

Fara are a reputable provider of hire vehicles in Iceland and I would not hesitate in using them again!

Thank you so much for your service!

Tim

Traveled to Iceland in Jan 2020 and rented a 2017 Hyundai ix35

Qiyong

Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2020 and rented a Hyundai IX55

My general experience was awesome, they pick you up at the airport. then you go to the office and you get the car, easy and fast, the staff was always so kind and they answered all our questions. The car was excellent. I highly recomend northbound if you are planning to visit the amazing land of ice and fire.

Alvaro

Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2019 and rented a 2019 Jeep Compass

Fara is a young, enthusiastic and energetic team that provided a good user experience for our Iceland itinerary, and they were picked up in person whether we arrived in or left Iceland; the cars they provided were great, although the weather in Iceland was unpredictable , But the car provided us with a good safety guarantee. next time we will come to Iceland in summer and definately we will continually choose Fara.

Bowen

Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2019 and rented a 2017 Hyundai ix35

Great customer service

Mayen

Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2019 and rented a 2017 Hyundai ix35

My experience using Northbound was good, however we were quite disappointed with Fara who you associate with. We were disappointed in the status of our rental vehicle when we received it, with a huge dent in the passenger door which made closing the door a hassle and not having interior surfaces wiped down or windows cleaned. I get that it’s Iceland and we were willing to give it a pass until we returned the vehicle and were charged a dubious wind damage charge of ISK 150,000 for what appears to be slightly bent hinges on the back door. I am looking for a discount on either the overcharged wind damage or a discount on our rental agreement given the condition the car was in when we picked it up. I wanted to give a local company my business but feel we were not treated well, and I will be recommending people go with Hertz if they cannot help me out.

Kyle

Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2019 and rented a 2017 Mercedes Benz Vito Tourer
Supplier response:
Dear Kyle,

We are very sorry to hear that you are not satisfied with our service. As you experienced at the pick up we have a very strict inspection procedure. The vehicle condition form was marked to detail as well as recommending customers to take as many photos as you like to avoid misunderstanding at the drop-off. In addition to this, we took over 30 photos prior to your pick up as well as 6 CCTV live cameras in and outside of our premises. All of these are to be upfront and transparent to our customers at the beginning, to give our customers peace of mind.

If you recall at the pick up our agents also reminded you about wind damage in Iceland, a "How to drive in Iceland" was also provided to you. We appreciate the repair cost in Iceland is much higher than in other countries, especially Mercedes. Please be rest assured that our damage cost matrix is strictly following the average market price here. It has been reviewed and approved by numerous insurance companies in the world.

We thank you again for choosing Fara and your valuable feedback. If you wish to discuss your case further you are more than welcome to contact our Customer Service Manage at [email protected] Our team will continue to try our very best to be more fair and transparent to our customers.

We sincerely hope that all our customers will have a good time at Fara and Iceland.

Kind regards,

JQ

Fara Booking

The car was fine, we covered a lot of distance in the middle of winter and there were no problems with it. The studded snow tyres gripped the road well. The car has sufficient space for 5 adults + luggage.
We were met at the airport and taken about 15mins away to the hire company office, where the details were quickly arranged.

Chris

Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2019 and rented a Hyundai IX55

View all cars from this company

Click here

The car was great, but if the insurance could cover the wind damage during the winter month would be better.

Andrew

Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2019 and rented a 2017 Suzuki S-Cross

The vehicle we got was amazing, it had so many features that I kept discovering them up until the last leg of our trip. I was probably more interested in the scenery that I didn't notice all the car's features at first. It drove really well and even on bumped, pot-laden gravel roads. a 4x4 is definitely a plus!

Kimberly

Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2019 and rented a 2019 Subaru Forester

Amal

Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2019 and rented a 2017 Hyundai ix35

Neoma

Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2019 and rented a 2018 Mitsubishi Outlander

very easy process-picked up at airport and dropped back off, nice reliable vehicle.
No issues would highly recommend

Melissa

Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2019 and rented a 2017 Mercedes Benz Vito Tourer

Excellent service and hassle free handover of vehicle, we picked up a Jeep Compass and drove through the entire ring road in November. Our car was in excellent condition.

Pradheesh

Traveled to Iceland in Nov 2019 and rented a 2019 Jeep Compass