Reviews for Cheap Campervans in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for Cheap Campervans
Submitted 25. May 2022
Fantastic!
We were very pleased with the van.
Easy to maneuver and very fuel efficient.
Comfortable sleeping
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 23. May 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 23. Apr 2022
Outstanding!
Excellent vehicle and excellent service, staff very helpful and freindly.
rented a vehicle in April 2022
Submitted 19. Mar 2022
Fine
Sadly the rental car was not in the best condition. The rooftent was very hard to open and close and one of the engine warning lights was on when we got the car. Also one of the supporting pistons inside the tent was fixed with duck tape. It broke completely during our journey. The service support we got through cheap however was amazingly fast, direct and uncomplicated. All in all the trip was filled with challenges we luckily overcame. Service was great, but it wouldn't be needed if the car was better. In my opinion some tools like a jumper cable should also be in all cars during winter.
rented a vehicle in March 2022
Submitted 28. Feb 2022
Outstanding!
The car was amazing. I never once felt in danger while driving it regardless of whatever conditions Iceland tried to throw at us. The Duster also gets 65mpg which is totally unheard of in America so I have nothing but great reviews.
rented a vehicle in February 2022
Submitted 13. Feb 2022
Outstanding!
The car was really very practical and absolutely sufficient even in hard winter conditions.
The winter tires did good job on roads with snow – only one icy mountain road we could not make.
Driving was really funny – equipment very useful – sleeping area quite fine if you are not more than 175cm.
Highly recommended car type and rental agency – especially price 4 value was perfect.
rented a vehicle in January 2022
Submitted 23. Jan 2022
Outstanding!
Hi there, car was perfect for all we did. The team very nice, special nomination to Benjamin and Ann. Thanks for all.
rented a vehicle in January 2022
Submitted 17. Jan 2022
Outstanding!
I had an excellent experience with Cheap Campervans. The vehicle was clean and included equipment was in excellent condition. Best customer service I have experienced from a car rental company ever as they went out of their way to accommodate my requests after working hours. Highly recommended.
rented a vehicle in January 2022
Submitted 19. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
Perfect van life
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 15. Nov 2021
Fine
Camper was as expected, however there was damage to door on return we got charged 900$CAD after inspecting photos of pick up we notice the damage was already there we just missed it in the initial inspection. now we are in the process of getting are money back
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 17. Nov 2021
Good
It was a nice experience to travel around Iceland with Dacia Dokker Campervan. It wasn't big and confortable, but just enough to enjoy the trip and the country.
Whatever the car isn't ventilated and insulated and we weren't informed. Some nights were very very cold and car was freezed some morning because of condensation and cold.
Maybe you should just informed your clients that cars are fitted out but not ventilated and insulated.
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 01. Dec 2021
The car did as it should have - it got us from point A to point b. However, the seats are not adjustable and were very uncomfortable for us because we are tall. There is zero insulation, not even a headliner, in the back of the van to provide any type of insulation.
I found the best price I could bc we were in Iceland for 25 days, but to be labeled as "cheap vans" on the outside is not necessary. I understand the advertising, but it wasn't appreciated.
Upon pickup, the van was not entirely clean. There was lots of food crumbs and tiny bit of debris that didn't get vacuumed.
The customer service is Terrible. Upon arriving for pick up and returning of the van, I was never greeted by anyone. In fact I was the first to get there but the last to be helped.. I had to wait over hour before ever being helped. The cheap van annex building was where we were told to wait. There was no one there, no sign saying when anyone would show up, ended up going to "happy" building where the other guests were being helped. Only one person working at counter, but several sitting at desks who offered no hello or help to us.
The van had a headlight out, a reverse light out and the check engine light was on up on picking it up. We waited for the mechanic to fix the lights, yet another delay after waiting over an hour to be helped. No keys were with the van, the bedding was not in there, the employee had to go look for these things. the employee did not give us the Wi-Fi which we paid for and also the gps.
I had to go back to the office to pick these items up.
There was no ice scraper with the van,it is winter season in Iceland, why is this important item not included?? I had to use my credit card as a scraper.
The windshield wipers were shit, doing more smearing than clearing.
At drop-off time, we arrived at 1230, only to wait until 1 for someone to show up and help. (Top of the hour is when shuttle departs to go to airport) we had intentions of taking the 1pm. The girl told us we had to wait until 2 for the shuttle and then went back to the "happy" building. This was unacceptable as we were there at 1230. I explained this to her, she took us to airport at 1.
The price was right for the car bc of the length of our trip but I will not rent from this company again because of the terrible customer service. I was never even asked upon returning the car how my trip was. Sad.
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 18. Nov 2021
Excellent
The Camper Was Overall a great choice. The price was really good and the General Service as well. Besides one or two small issues with the car.
rented a vehicle in November 2021
Submitted 02. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
Amazing. It was an incredible experience.
The company was very nice with us and it is very recommendable.
I will repeat again, sure
Thank you so much for the facilities and help in every moment
See you soon
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 28. Oct 2021
Good
The van was pretty good, In good condition and also the staff who give initially to us was very helpful and kind, the only thing that we didn’t know is that the free shuttle to the airport works just until 4:30pm, we arrive 4:25 pm and have to pay a cab to take us to the airport
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 01. Nov 2021
Outstanding!
Cheap Campervans absolutely delivered everything it promised. Free pick-up and drop-off at a nearby hotel at a time of our choosing (you have to contact them separately; we did not hear back to the request written in our booking). The vehicle we rented was as advertised, zero problems. It was also more fuel-efficient than I expected, nice for the environment and also for the wallet in Iceland!

The vehicle had just one USB port delivering 0.45A (2.25W). Nobody said say there would be more, but since USB charging was advertised, I kinda figured it would be either faster charging or 2+ ports. It ended up being fine, we just charged in hotels, but if you are camping in your camper then you might want to bring a lighter-to-USB charger.

If I had a wish, it would be cruise control in the vehicle. The ring road, even if you're driving less than an hour, does get a little tedious to try and not exceed the speed limit (expensive fines) while also not driving way too slow. I'd be willing to pay extra for that.

We also had the WiFi option booked. I did not think we would need it, but my girlfriend wanted it. It was a great choice, since the unlimited data really makes you not worry about anything (even if we used only a few GB in the end and EU Roam Like At Home would also have been fine, I would probably still book it again). You get a little device that creates a WiFi hotspot and connects to the mobile network. Mobile data coverage on the ring road is excellent, we did not notice any places without fast internet available. Best to bring your own micro-USB cable though, because the included cable was short and very wonky (three left twists kinda made it work, but still not great). The device lasts quite long on full charge, though.

Staff was super friendly!
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 11. Oct 2021
Outstanding!
Excellent little campervan at a reasonable price. Had a great time touring round
rented a vehicle in October 2021
Submitted 21. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
The camper van made our trip so easy for an extremely affordable price! The employees were so helpful when we got a flat tire shortly after picking up. We went back and they immediately spruced it up and provided us with a new spare tire and checked all other tires. We were able to drive around with minimal plans on where to stop so we had the most flexibility and then would just stop when we were ready. The stove came in handy for our freeze dried meals we brought and the WiFi is a must for when the gps on your phone is more specific than the one provided. Overall great deal :)
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 14. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
This was THE way to see Iceland! Nice little van, easy to manage on crazy roads, city parking, and dodging sheep. Bed was surprisingly comfortable. Table in the back was somewhat helpful but would have been nice if it was split in 1/2 so that I didn't have to open both doors to get to anything under it. Lots of storage on the side. GREAT, SUPER GREAT price. Convenient transportation to/from airport.
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 11. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
Cheap Campervans was a professional and accommodating organization to work with. They promptly revised my order when I decided to add extra insurance, and the vehicle was as described, and fully supplied with the listed accessories.

They shuttled me to/from KEF airport free of charge, and were pleasant and gracious throughout the experience. Highly recommended!
rented a vehicle in September 2021
Submitted 12. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
Awesome experience! 5 stars without a doubt!
Received a Dacia Dokker in great condition, well equipped for camping. The staff is nice, supplied us with extra blankets and few more surprising (free extra day, pillows, lift to a local pub after returning the car).

Getting & returning the car was really plesant.

Recommended!
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 07. Sep 2021
Outstanding!
It was the right car for what we needed. Great on gas, easy to drive and roomy enough for two not so tall people.
rented a vehicle in August 2021
Submitted 13. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
We had a wonderful experience! The camper was exactly as expected, and we had no problems with it during the entire two week trip. If you are looking for something simple and cheap, this is the way to go. Just be aware that it has no heater, so might not be good for winter camping.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 03. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
The reservation process was very smooth. Any questions or requests were answered and resolved in a timely manner. Communication was excellent, and helpful information was provided to help make the trip more enjoyable. The first vehicle offered had an issue, but another vehicle was provided in a timely manner. The small camper was easy to drive, and able to travel anywhere with ease. The total experience was excellent, and I would not hesitate to repeat the experience.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 30. Jul 2021
Good
Everthing went smoothly, and without any issues. Car worked really well, and we faced no technical difficulties.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 16. Jul 2021
Good
General experience was pretty good! We didn't get picked up from the airport until about 2 hours after we had asked to be. The GPS system didn't work very well at all so I did end up using my phone. Seems like you should give the wifi hotspot for free instead of the GPS.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 05. Aug 2021
Outstanding!
The car was well cleaned and quite new (2 y.o.) very easy to drive and there is a good amount od space to fit everything you want in there.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 12. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
Perfect for our needs! Easy to drive--probably the easiest manual I've driven and the clutch has a hill-holder, so no issues starting out on a hill. The mattresses were surprisingly comfortable. I brought an inflatable just in case and never blew it up. I'm 6'0", so the bed is a little short. However, we figured out that if you sleep with your head in the rear, you can slide the front seats forward and then I had enough room. If you're 6'2" plus, then you might have length issues. We drove the Ring Road with several detours (Seydisfjordur, Dettifoss, Hvitsekur, Stykkisholmur) and spent around $240 USD on diesel fuel, so less than the $300 I was planning on. Stereo has a USB, so you can charge your phone and play music from your phone if you bring a cable. Wish it had cruise control, but that was my only complaint. No A/C, but we didn't really need it. We only needed to roll the windows down on one day and only for a short time (10-15 minutes). Nights didn't drop much, so no need for a heater unless you plan on using in the wintertime. We spent 260 kr a day on ice, so the cooler is not a big deal. I'd happily rent again if I ever return to Iceland.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 20. Sep 2020
Outstanding!
Great service, great prices, good equipment, no complaints.
rented a vehicle in September 2020
Submitted 21. Aug 2020
Good
With this car you got what you paid for, a smaller but functional sleeping option. Also, the gas worked without problems and so we had no problem making cheap food as well. Theres only two things is: 1. The car is not isolated, and so it gets moist and cold during nighttime 2., Sleeping bags are not included and cost 25€ each.
Overall a perfect van for us, as we only used it for sleeping and transportation:)
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 08. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 14. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
I loved it! Much more comfortable than I had expected and also powerful in the steep parts of the road
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 29. Jul 2020
Excellent
simple car in good condition. the inside completely matches the description on the web site. everything basic you need during the travel is there and in a good shape (not old, not broken). extras are also of good quality. everything working very well.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 11. Feb 2020
Outstanding!
It was an amazing experience with Cheap Campervans!
The guys from the office are very kind!
I hope to come back again to Iceland!
rented a vehicle in February 2020
Submitted 29. Sep 2019
Outstanding!
Perfect and cheap. Easy to book and change. Good service all the way from booking to goodbuy.
rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 10. Sep 2019
Excellent
Al recoger nuestra caravana hubo un pequeño problema porque en nuestra reserva nos indicaban que incluía traslado al aeropuerto (devolviéndola a las 8pm)y al llegar a la recepción nos dijeron que no... Tras varios emails la verdad es que resolvieron el problema y nos ofrecieron la opción de coger un taxi que luego nos pagarían. Por ello felicito la atención de Thordis runarsdothy.

La caravana estaba muy limpia y con buenos servicios. Sólo mejoraría un aspecto... Aislar de algún modo la parte trasera dónde se encuentran los colchones, ya que es bastante frío y se condensa humedad en el techo y laterales.
Por lo demás todo muy bien!
Un saludo
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 23. Sep 2019
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 10. Aug 2019
Outstanding!
My travel partner and I had a great time! Check in and vehicle return was easy, friendly and fun. Lovely people. The car worked perfectly for our needs. Would definitely rent again and recommend!
rented a vehicle in July 2019