Reviews for Geysir Car Rental in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for Geysir Car Rental
Submitted 02. Sep 2019
Outstanding!
Highly recommend renting a car from this dealer. They were agile and met up to the appointed place and time. There was the Marathon in Reykjavik this weekend and the dealer helped us with all the convenience since the city was closed. Recommended!
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 26. Aug 2019
Fine
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 23. Aug 2019
Outstanding!
The service was good, we liked the car. It was a very positive experience.
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 15. Aug 2019
Excellent
we got hyundai i10 instead
but its okay.
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 26. Jul 2019
Outstanding!
We were given a small Toyota and the car was great. It was very busy at check-in,but we didn't have to wait too long. It would have been nice just to have been given a small map for exiting the airport, but only large maps were available for a fee. The car return was fast and efficient, it was not at a peak time. The staff were very friendly!
rented a vehicle in July 2019
Submitted 23. Jul 2019
Excellent
We hired a 4x4 for 10 days from Northbound and had no difficulties over the course of the rental. The staff were helpful and patient.
rented a vehicle in July 2019
Submitted 28. Jun 2019
Excellent
rented a vehicle in June 2019
Submitted 20. Mar 2019
Excellent
rented a vehicle in March 2019
Submitted 21. Mar 2019
Outstanding!
We've been given a car in the same category (Hyundai I-20, automatic). The experience was good, easy and quick pick up of the car and easy drop off on our last day. We got all necessary information from both the car rental company and Northbound. I'd definitely recommend to use Northbound is you travel to Iceland!
rented a vehicle in March 2019
Submitted 22. Feb 2019
Northbound is fine... but Geysir Car Rental? Let me tell and you decide. We had a car breakdown near Geysir Hot Spring Area and they didn't send a mechanic, asked us to find volunteers with cars/cables nearby. While talking they asked where we were from...As if this was related to the situation...After 4 hours, they finally sent the mechanic, after several phone calls which most of them they did not pick up.It was really hard to reach them on phone & mail. They did not call us back - not even once to check on us. I mean, if we had been in the middle of a road and not near a touristic area, probably we were frozen waiting.I can't recommend Geysir Car Rental company to anyone having experienced such an incident.
rented a vehicle in February 2019
Submitted 29. Oct 2018
Outstanding!
Great rental experience with Geysir and Northbound. Really easy to pick up and return in central Reykjavik meaning no need for buses to rental locations. Super friendly service and a quality car that was perfect for our trip (Golden Circle).
rented a vehicle in October 2018
Submitted 12. Oct 2018
Outstanding!
Service was quick and easy. Car ran great! Great value.
rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 06. Sep 2018
Excellent
The car itself was very good and trustworthy. I had a small problem that i had with the car and the guy in the office took it very seriously. Other then the small problem the car and the services were really good.
rented a vehicle in August 2018
Submitted 27. Aug 2018
Outstanding!
New car, good on gas mileage.
rented a vehicle in August 2018
Submitted 30. Aug 2018
Outstanding!
Easy process and reasonable price plus great customer service on site at the airport.
rented a vehicle in August 2018
Submitted 19. Aug 2018
Outstanding!
It was smooth and easy! Since I had done everything online beforehand, I basically just had to sign some more papers and present my valid license and then they gave me the keys. The facility was nice with guest WiFi and chargers for me to use while I waited to be assisted.
rented a vehicle in August 2018
Submitted 27. Aug 2018
When we arrived Geysirs premises, it was rather caotic inside. The staff were anonymus, we could not recognize them. And when we at last understood who were the staff, they seemed to have a lot of time doing nothing for the many customers, who had qued up. No general information was given. We waited more than 1 hr. getting our car. The second day of the hire, we punctuated on a mountain road. The car showed to have no spare wheel, only a simple sealing repair set which not could help us. We waited more than 2 hrs. for the roadside service. We got very good help Next day we were offered another car from Geysir, a Toyota Landcruiser, which we had to pick up outside our planned route. The car was allright and equipped with a neccesary spare wheel. We got no inspection form for the New car. The car was very suitable for Our purpose. Northbound should revue Geysirs routines for handling customers. The staff should be recognizeable wearing "official" clothes, and when customers has to wait, they should inform them, and increase the staff capasity.
rented a vehicle in August 2018
Submitted 09. Sep 2018
Outstanding!
Easy pick up and drop off. No issues with the car, straightforward car rental.
rented a vehicle in August 2018
Submitted 07. Sep 2018
Good
Dear Northbound
I choose you, due to the best price. I found the service at northbound very fine, but I do have a couple of comments to Geysir car rental.
First of all I was charged the partial payment twice, both when I booked the car, and payed the remaining amount when I picked up the car. I got the money back, but of course this was still a small point of annoyance.
I tried to point out this to the guy at the rental service, but his level of engagement didn’t show that he cared. In general the guy was not very engaging and most of all gave the feeling that he didn’t want to be there. He didn’t smile at any point.
Except for these things I’m happy with the service, and would defiantly consider using your company again.
rented a vehicle in August 2018
Submitted 26. Aug 2018
Outstanding!
Very good experience. Easy and convenient
rented a vehicle in August 2018
Submitted 09. Aug 2018
Outstanding!
Great little car, very easy to get around in the city and comfortable enough to travel in.
rented a vehicle in July 2018
Submitted 01. Aug 2018
Good
Very good experience! Car was pretty new, (Toyota LC150) onl y 25.000 km.
Fast pick up and drop off!
Helpful employee

I don't put 5 stars on rating just because tires were really too much worn, expecially front ones. They also were old (I can see many fissures in the rubber) and not quality tires (made in China).

Apart tires, great experience and great price. I will rent again from Northbound surely.
rented a vehicle in July 2018
Submitted 22. Aug 2018
Outstanding!
Everything went very smoothly! I also appreciate the great service with cancelling my first car order to upgrade to a different vehicle. If I come back to Iceland I will 100% use Northbound again
rented a vehicle in July 2018
Submitted 29. Jul 2018
Outstanding!
Our car rental with Geysir was exemplary. The vehicle was a new automatic Hilux which was in perfect condition, and drove exceptionally well on the F roads, in addition to other rough Icelandic roads. Having a 4WD not only gave us access to beautiful places, but gave us confidence and safety on some of the more slippery dirt roads when driving in the rain. This was my fourth trip to Iceland, and I will be straight back to Geysir for my next rental.
rented a vehicle in July 2018
Submitted 28. Jul 2018
Outstanding!
The experience was great. After making the initial booking I wanted to add another day to the rental. Runar was in contact with me from the start. My request to change the rental period was processed within an hour or so and I experienced no issues on arrival in Iceland. The service from Geysir Car Rental was also ok. We were given a bigger car (Dacia Logan) instead. The car had a couple of more damages than listed on the agreement. I took lots of pictures and videos of the damages when I picked up the car because I had read many stories about rental companies making a fuss about every little thing. But since I had the standard insurance package I was somewhat lax about reporting these. At the time of return I was again expecting them to make an issue about those previously existing tiny dents but I had no issues what so ever. The payment process as well as the service was smooth. I would recommend it to anybody planning to explore Iceland by road.
rented a vehicle in July 2018
Submitted 18. Jul 2018
Outstanding!
Very good
rented a vehicle in July 2018
Submitted 17. Jul 2018
Outstanding!
Geysir had a relatively fast check out and return process, and the coffee and WC available inside was great after an early arrival and departure. They also had a shuttle bus locater on the TV so you don't have to wait outside in the cold for the shuttle bus back to the airport.
rented a vehicle in July 2018
Submitted 13. Jul 2018
Outstanding!
Quick, efficient and reasonably priced. Received vehicle requested, not “or similar”.
rented a vehicle in July 2018
Submitted 10. Jul 2018
Outstanding!
Excellent , everything was great !
rented a vehicle in July 2018
Submitted 03. Jul 2018
Outstanding!
Our Geysir experience was positive from start to finish. The car, a HyundaI i10, was new and had the features requested. The pickup and dropoff were easy and quite quick.
rented a vehicle in June 2018
Submitted 08. Jul 2018
Outstanding!
I ended up with a different car due to a couple of issues with the one reserved, but the team at Geysir did everything you could expect to get us going quickly. Would happily rent from them again.
rented a vehicle in June 2018
Submitted 03. Jul 2018
Outstanding!
Excellent and quick service.
rented a vehicle in June 2018
Submitted 03. Jul 2018
Good
Hi Runor, thanks for your email following up on our rental at Geysir. As it turned out we were provided a Toyota Yaris instead of the Renault Clio but that was fine as the Yaris ran well and was trouble-free. The only thing that we found strange about the rental was that there wasn’t a walk around conducted together with the agent before being given the keys although we were provided the damage record sheet to review. Not feeling comfortable with that I inspected the car carefully on my own and found that something had been missed, namely damage to the passenger side mirror. The mirror had a large piece of plastic housing broken out of it that was pretty obvious so I immediately pointed that out to the Geysir representative. He told me that he would note this damage on my rental file but I didn’t see him do that and wasn’t comfortable with the way this was handled. When I returned the car half a dozen customers arrived at the same time but there was only one Geysir agent present at that time. Normal procedure when returning a car is to do a walk-around before signing off on things and being given a receipt for the rental. This was not done and once again I found this strange and felt uncomfortable with the procedure. II was instructed instead to place the keys off in the dropbox after I had unloaded my bags and was advised that a receipt would be emailed to me. I still haven’t received an email so I remain concerned that I might see a receipt showing charges for repair costs covering damages that I did not cause. Clearly Geysir was short-staffed when I, along with five other customers, got off the shuttle bus together to return our respective vehicles. There was only one Geysir representative there at that time so I assume that was why I was instructed to drop the keys off in the box. I trust that you can understand my concerns about this process.
rented a vehicle in June 2018
Submitted 10. Jul 2018
Good
Very efficient both on collection of the car and return even at 0500. The car was a bit rattly on the roads that were under repair that we encountered occasionally. The air conditioning did not work which i reported on return of the car.
rented a vehicle in June 2018
Submitted 29. Jun 2018
Excellent
Hi Runar
Thanks for the email. Firstly, thanks to you for managing our request. It was great that you could make all the changes we requested. Our experience with you was very positive.
The vehicle was good (the only issue was that it needed new windscreen wiper blades). It served us well. I think it was worth while to have the 4 WD, even though you could probably get to most places driving carefully in a 2 WD.
The staff at Geysir are OK, but maybe could learn to smile.
The courtesy bus to & from the airport terminal was good.

rented a vehicle in June 2018
Submitted 21. Jun 2018
Outstanding!
Fine
rented a vehicle in June 2018
Submitted 29. Jun 2018
Good
i was given a renault ciñic that was a very good car. i fint thst the extra charge for insurence in iceland was a nusence and not justified.
rented a vehicle in June 2018
Submitted 19. Jun 2018
Excellent
It was easy and convenient. Staff was friendly . We drove a new car , very reliable, hassle free experience. I would recommend Geysir.
rented a vehicle in June 2018
Submitted 23. Jun 2018
Outstanding!
Everything was perfect
rented a vehicle in June 2018
Submitted 22. Jun 2018
Excellent
Generally a good experience. The “check engine” light was on the whole week we had the vehicle but caused no problems.
rented a vehicle in June 2018
Submitted 22. Jun 2018
Outstanding!
We were very pleased with our rental from Geysir/Northbound. The price was significantly less than the major car rental agencies.
rented a vehicle in June 2018
Submitted 14. Jun 2018
Outstanding!
Good, no kind of problems - fast at check in and out. We got a Fiat Panda insted, and guess that that was at leat equvalent.
rented a vehicle in June 2018
Submitted 16. Jun 2018
Outstanding!
Renting a large 4-wheel drive car in Iceland will be expensive and finding a place to fix a flat tire on a Saturday or Sunday while you are riding on the spare can be frustrating. The four tires on our GMC Yukon had large rims (18 inches) while the spare was on a 17-inch rim. We visited several repair places on the South coast to find that nobody could repair the original tire because it was shredded so badly. A couple of places had 17-inch tires, but nobody had an 18 inch. No matter how much insurance you buy (and we bought everything offered), flat tires are not covered. Luckily, on our itinerary, we had to travel back near Keflavik and (on a rainy Sunday) the nice folks at Geysir Car Rental gave us a replacement vehicle so we could continue our trip. We will be renting from them on our next trip to Iceland.
rented a vehicle in June 2018
Submitted 06. Jun 2018
Outstanding!
The reservation system was simple and the pick up location was central to Reykjavík. Drop off at the airport is within walking distance from the terminal but there is also a shuttle bus if you have too much luggage. The staff were efficient.
rented a vehicle in June 2018
Submitted 25. Jun 2018
Good
Diesel would have been better.
Light Alarm engine need reset
rented a vehicle in May 2018
Submitted 31. May 2018
Outstanding!
Car experience seamless
Would recommend highly
rented a vehicle in May 2018
Submitted 03. Jun 2018
Outstanding!
After reading some mixed reviews I was hesitating to rent from Geysir and contacted Northbound where a friendly and competent staff assured me that everything will be allright. So I walked five minutes from the airport to their office, the staff was helpful, quick and friendly, I even got an upgrade and was offered a 4WD. The car was absolutely in good order and returning was not problem at all. My son and I were very happy and I can only recomend Geysir!
rented a vehicle in May 2018
Submitted 02. Jun 2018
Outstanding!
Excellent service, especially at pick up in Keflavik. No problems with car during trip.
rented a vehicle in May 2018
Submitted 11. May 2018
Outstanding!
Fantastic! Great jeep, great staff in the office, easy airport shuttle.
rented a vehicle in April 2018
Submitted 21. Apr 2018
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in April 2018