Reviews for Geysir Car Rental

steven from Canada
Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2019 and rented a 2017 Hyundai i10

James from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a 2016 Suzuki Jimny

We've been given a car in the same category (Hyundai I-20, automatic). The experience was good, easy and quick pick up of the car and easy drop off on our last day. We got all necessary information from both the car rental company and Northbound. I'd definitely recommend to use Northbound is you travel to Iceland!

Alicja from France
Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Swift

View all cars from this company

Click here

Northbound is fine... but Geysir Car Rental? Let me tell and you decide. We had a car breakdown near Geysir Hot Spring Area and they didn't send a mechanic, asked us to find volunteers with cars/cables nearby. While talking they asked where we were from...As if this was related to the situation...After 4 hours, they finally sent the mechanic, after several phone calls which most of them they did not pick up.It was really hard to reach them on phone & mail. They did not call us back - not even once to check on us. I mean, if we had been in the middle of a road and not near a touristic area, probably we were frozen waiting.I can't recommend Geysir Car Rental company to anyone having experienced such an incident.

Pelin from Turkey
Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2019 and rented a 2016 Suzuki Jimny

Great rental experience with Geysir and Northbound. Really easy to pick up and return in central Reykjavik meaning no need for buses to rental locations. Super friendly service and a quality car that was perfect for our trip (Golden Circle).

Dee from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Service was quick and easy. Car ran great! Great value.

Alexander from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2017 Hyundai i10

Free Cancellation & Amendments

Dear Northbound
I choose you, due to the best price. I found the service at northbound very fine, but I do have a couple of comments to Geysir car rental.
First of all I was charged the partial payment twice, both when I booked the car, and payed the remaining amount when I picked up the car. I got the money back, but of course this was still a small point of annoyance.
I tried to point out this to the guy at the rental service, but his level of engagement didn’t show that he cared. In general the guy was not very engaging and most of all gave the feeling that he didn’t want to be there. He didn’t smile at any point.
Except for these things I’m happy with the service, and would defiantly consider using your company again.

Charles from Iceland
Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018 and rented a 2017 Hyundai i10

The car itself was very good and trustworthy. I had a small problem that i had with the car and the guy in the office took it very seriously. Other then the small problem the car and the services were really good.

Tomer from Israel
Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018 and rented a 2017 Hyundai i10

Easy pick up and drop off. No issues with the car, straightforward car rental.

Dekker from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018 and rented a 2017 Ford Escape

Easy process and reasonable price plus great customer service on site at the airport.

Christopher from Canada
Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018 and rented a 2017 Hyundai i30

Very good experience. Easy and convenient

James from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018 and rented a 2017 Hyundai i30

When we arrived Geysirs premises, it was rather caotic inside. The staff were anonymus, we could not recognize them. And when we at last understood who were the staff, they seemed to have a lot of time doing nothing for the many customers, who had qued up. No general information was given. We waited more than 1 hr. getting our car. The second day of the hire, we punctuated on a mountain road. The car showed to have no spare wheel, only a simple sealing repair set which not could help us. We waited more than 2 hrs. for the roadside service. We got very good help Next day we were offered another car from Geysir, a Toyota Landcruiser, which we had to pick up outside our planned route. The car was allright and equipped with a neccesary spare wheel. We got no inspection form for the New car. The car was very suitable for Our purpose. Northbound should revue Geysirs routines for handling customers...

Einar Biørn from Norway
Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018 and rented a 2017 Subaru Outback

New car, good on gas mileage.

Antonio from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018 and rented a 2017 Hyundai i10

Everything went very smoothly! I also appreciate the great service with cancelling my first car order to upgrade to a different vehicle. If I come back to Iceland I will 100% use Northbound again

Sanjay from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2018 and rented a 2017 Renault Clio

It was smooth and easy! Since I had done everything online beforehand, I basically just had to sign some more papers and present my valid license and then they gave me the keys. The facility was nice with guest WiFi and chargers for me to use while I waited to be assisted.

Emily from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018 and rented a 2017 Hyundai i10

Great little car, very easy to get around in the city and comfortable enough to travel in.

Michael from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2018 and rented a 2017 Hyundai i10

Free Cancellation & Amendments

The experience was great. After making the initial booking I wanted to add another day to the rental. Runar was in contact with me from the start. My request to change the rental period was processed within an hour or so and I experienced no issues on arrival in Iceland. The service from Geysir Car Rental was also ok. We were given a bigger car (Dacia Logan) instead. The car had a couple of more damages than listed on the agreement. I took lots of pictures and videos of the damages when I picked up the car because I had read many stories about rental companies making a fuss about every little thing. But since I had the standard insurance package I was somewhat lax about reporting these. At the time of return I was again expecting them to make an issue about those previously existing tiny dents but I had no issues what so ever. The payment process as well as the service was smooth. I would recommend it to anybody planning to explore Iceland by road.

Fizza from Germany
Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2018 and rented a 2017 Renault Clio

Our car rental with Geysir was exemplary. The vehicle was a new automatic Hilux which was in perfect condition, and drove exceptionally well on the F roads, in addition to other rough Icelandic roads. Having a 4WD not only gave us access to beautiful places, but gave us confidence and safety on some of the more slippery dirt roads when driving in the rain. This was my fourth trip to Iceland, and I will be straight back to Geysir for my next rental.

Damian from Australia
Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2018 and rented a 2017 Toyota Land Cruiser

Very good experience! Car was pretty new, (Toyota LC150) onl y 25.000 km.
Fast pick up and drop off!
Helpful employee

I don't put 5 stars on rating just because tires were really too much worn, expecially front ones. They also were old (I can see many fissures in the rubber) and not quality tires (made in China).

Apart tires, great experience and great price. I will rent again from Northbound surely.

Fabio from Italy
Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2018 and rented a 2017 Toyota Land Cruiser

Quick, efficient and reasonably priced. Received vehicle requested, not “or similar”.

CLIFFORD from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2018 and rented a 2017 Subaru Outback

Geysir had a relatively fast check out and return process, and the coffee and WC available inside was great after an early arrival and departure. They also had a shuttle bus locater on the TV so you don't have to wait outside in the cold for the shuttle bus back to the airport.

Elizabeth from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2018 and rented a 2017 Renault Megane Wagon

Very good

Dirk from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2018 and rented a 2017 Renault Megane

Very efficient both on collection of the car and return even at 0500. The car was a bit rattly on the roads that were under repair that we encountered occasionally. The air conditioning did not work which i reported on return of the car.

David from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2018 and rented a 2016 Suzuki Jimny

Excellent , everything was great !

Mohammed from United Arab Emirates
Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2018 and rented a 2017 Chevrolet Suburban

View all cars from this company

Click here

Hi Runar
Thanks for the email. Firstly, thanks to you for managing our request. It was great that you could make all the changes we requested. Our experience with you was very positive.
The vehicle was good (the only issue was that it needed new windscreen wiper blades). It served us well. I think it was worth while to have the 4 WD, even though you could probably get to most places driving carefully in a 2 WD.
The staff at Geysir are OK, but maybe could learn to smile.
The courtesy bus to & from the airport terminal was good.

Raymond from Australia
Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2018 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Diesel would have been better.
Light Alarm engine need reset

gerald from France
Traveled to Iceland in May 2018 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Everything was perfect

Silke from Germany
Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2018 and rented a 2016 Suzuki Jimny

Generally a good experience. The “check engine” light was on the whole week we had the vehicle but caused no problems.

Elwin from Canada
Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2018 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

We were very pleased with our rental from Geysir/Northbound. The price was significantly less than the major car rental agencies.

Vincent from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2018 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Fine

Ruth from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2018 and rented a 2017 Renault Clio