Reviews for Rent.is in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for Rent.is
Submitted 22. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
Very well organized. We rented a camper through Northbound on Rent.is. We arrived at dawn and were waiting for us at the airport, reception open 24/7 and without any problem. Totally recommended. Muy bien organizado. Alquilamos una camper a través de Northbound en Rent.is . Llegamos de madrugada y nos estaban esperando en el aeropuerto, recepción abierta 24/7 y sin ningún problema. Totalmente recomendable.
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 17. Nov 2022
Good
Great budget camper for one or two. This is the 3rd time I used northbound.is. This time I rented the Doblo Maxi for a 2 night November Stopover in Iceland. It was a cheep off-season rental that provided a car and "hotel" one. It has everything you need but the heat only works on campsites with power of which there are not many open during the off-season. With a warm sleeping bag it is not needed. The fuel economy is good. Expect 5-6 l/100km. Make sure you take pictures of all sides of the car before leaving. Having done that saves me because there was some existing damage on the door that I had overlooked. Make sure you get a full fuel tank and if not, take a picture and return it as empty as you got it. They may give you a non-full car and do not refund you money if you bring it back full.
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 11. Nov 2022
Great
Mostly served our needs very well. A few recommended improvements: getting in and out of van for sleeping is difficult. No internal handles on side doors and rear door is small latch with no handles. Mattress is a bit too long and not able to slide forward due to wire cage behind driver's seat, to allow rear door to close easily. Perhaps remove the wire cage (not sure what it's needed for). Place a few hooks on the side walls of the rear for convenience (hanging towel, wet swimwear, headlamp, etc.)
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 09. Nov 2022
Excellent
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 05. Nov 2022
Good
The option for early morning pickup was great. 5:00 versus our friend who booked with camper van Iceland (which actually ended up being europcar) he had to wait until 8:30 when they opened . Our car was dirty , the sleeping bags smelled bad (maybe some sort of deodorizer was used that smelled bad), all the window shades were broken except the trunk hatch one . The car was reliable , although when idling for long the coolant temperature dropped so low that there was no warm air . It was good while driving . The oil change service light was on when we picked the car up and would ding every time we started the engine. The latches for our butane stove case were broken . There were screws and rivets used to fix things inside the camper. One of the rear side windows would not open . The dometic fridge didn’t stay very cool. Our friends rented from Europcar and their van was almost brand new, and had a built in kitchen - and it was the same price . Thank you for your time and making an easy pickup and drop off. ,tucker wimmelman
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 31. Oct 2022
Excellent
Good Morning Ivar, thanks for your question. We had a very great time in your iceland and everything was good! We get a nissan 4x4 but it´s the same. There were a little bit issues at the car but rent.is repairs and check instantly . Very friendly and open 24/7 is very good. We can give back the car in the morning at 04:00 am and so we can sleep the last night in the car and reach our flight at 07:00 am in the morning. Pick up and drop off at the airport were also great. Regards Jörn
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 13. Oct 2022
Good
The car was quite old (I knew that) and worn out.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 15. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
It had everything we needed. Comfortable bed, cooking supplies, table, water jug. The small electric heater kept us warm at night. Easy pick up and return to the airport and good service when picking up and returning the van. Do note: the passenger seat is made for skinny people and as a woman with hips, (185lbs) the seat belt was very uncomfortable and dug into my butt.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 13. Oct 2022
I don't recommend them at all. The heater works only 3 or 4 hours and is extremely noisy, you can't sleep. When I tried to cancel the contract (on the third day of twelve) they told me that they would not give me anything back
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 06. Oct 2022
Great
I upgraded to a Renault Trafic, as I wanted a larger camper. It was a very nice vehicle.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 28. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
The van had everything we needed! Was very nice to have a water jug, table, cooking supplies, bedding etc. We could tell a lot of thought was put into the van renovation and were very grateful during our adventure :) We did experience a flat tire which made us alter our plans and almost missed a whole day of the trip, but we managed. Would recommend checking tire tread on vehicles that are regularly doing the ring road. Petr the airport shuttle driver is so friendly and exceptionally knowledgeable about Iceland. He gave amazing recommendations. We very much enjoyed talking with him both when arriving & departing.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 02. Oct 2022
Fantastic!
I had read lots of reviews and we made the decision to take our campervan from rent.is. We had a great interaction with the staff and our vehicle performed very well. Great gas mileage (which is important) and customer service. We will definitely use northbound.is for any future rentals and referrals in Iceland!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 24. Sep 2022
Fantastic!
The van was good, no problems other than the passenger window would not go down unless the button on the driver side was used.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 02. Oct 2022
Excellent
What an amazing car, the Fiat Doblo Maxi is! I enjoyed my time with it immensely. It drives well, feels well, is quite economical, is comfortable for sleeping in and as a storage base (once you find "your system" of organization). It was clean and had lots of nice features. And the manual gear driving is so much fun! I would buy one of these were I to live in Iceland or a similar country. Rent.is's camping equipment, stove, heater and so on - were also great. The sleeping bags were find for sleeping in up to 4 degrees Celsius without a heater. I highly recommend rent.is! Pros: New! Great to drive, fun Economical Very spacious, huge front pane of glass that makes Iceland feel "right here with you" Great sound system Comfortable Cons: No good place for coffee cups or open drinking cans No reverse sensors (or even better, camera) Fridge is a bit uncomfortable Hard to shut the back door properly from the inside (when going to sleep) - nothing to grab Can't go on F-roads (but most roads are not F-roads, check out https://vegasja.vegagerdin.is/eng/) Pickup was a bit harder than it should have been - couldn't find the shuttle near the airport, and the rent.is guy didn't hold a sign or really go into the Arrivals terminal except for standing near one of the doors for a few minutes every now and then, before leaving and returning again.. but after emailing them and asking for help around, I found the guy and after that the pickup process was completely fine in the office. Tips: Bring your own 12v car plug to multi-USB charger Use Bluetooth or Android Auto Follow the speed limit! Not only is it the right thing to do, there's tons of speed cameras around Iceland and the fines are expensiveeee Remember to pay the toll in some tunnels, like near Akureyri Don't get parking fines!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 05. Oct 2022
Good
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 12. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 23. Sep 2022
Good
It was good until the driver side rear wheel came off as we drove down the road. Lug nuts were stripped so there was no way we could change the tire ourself. Mechanic stated it was the spare that was on the vehicle. After the tire was fixed the warning sensor went off daily but for different tires. I had to purchase a pressure gauge and checked the tire pressures daily. Pressures were normal but had to keep resetting the car sensor. My wife did not feel safe in the vechile after tire fell off. She questioned the tire was fixed but what else should have been examed to ensure our safety and rectify other possible damage as a result of this incident. The fridge only worked for the first 2 days. Gas canister for the stove only lasted 5 minutes and the spare one was empty. More magnets on the curtains are needed. Zippers broken on some of the compartments therefore could not store items properly. Had to purchase a SIM card for our phone as the wi fi was spotty with the rented white square provided with the vehicle. Most items we can forgive. Having a tire fall off is poor maintenance.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 11. Sep 2022
Excellent
All was great on the vehicle except for the cleanliness. Many of the dishes were obviously unwashed and there were multiple bundles of hair on the padding. Bedding could have been better as well with the sleeping bags in rough shape and one obviously meant for a child and not an adult
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 06. Sep 2022
Excellent
We liked the van, very comfortable!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 07. Sep 2022
Fantastic!
Everything was great with our experience. The van worked well for what we needed. The amenities were stocked and clean. However our cooler did not work so we had to be careful what to buy for food. Would definitely recommend this company to a friend!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 11. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
We hired this camper to do the ring road including the highlands at Landmannalaugar for 10 days and it was absolutely perfect! We loved that it was tough and sturdy and got us through all of the river crossings, but also had the ease of showing up to a campsite in the dark and rolling out of the car and into the camper into bed in no time at all. It was absolutely perfect for us two and our teenage son, it actually felt like it was a little bigger than the images which was a nice surprise! Pick up from the airport and drop off of van was smooth and efficient too. Great company and perfect camper for us. Highly recommend them!
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 11. Sep 2022
Very Good
The Vehicle was a different Model than what we booked, but is was comparable and good. Two doors were a little difficult to open/close. The window of the right seat could only be closed with the button on the driverside. The Camper was reliable and the heating system worked very well at night (only a little bit loud). Nice was the USB-Charge in the back of the car. Staff was friendly and pick up/drop off was good, too. Had a really nice time with the camper in Iceland.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 04. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Overall experience was very good. Check in, check out process was really easy. Some topics that could be improved: it was difficult to find the right driver when arriving to keflavik airport. We were not aware theg we had to look for the 'ACE' sign. Battery was often low in the morning, even though we didn't have anything connected to it during the night. Internet device had a diffefent name than given to us Thank you, Mr Meszaros and the crew
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 06. Sep 2022
Good
We were given Nissan instead of Renault in the end. The car was not in the greatest condition, but it was clean and worked well, we had no issues throughout our stay. The car came with sleeping bags, chairs, cooking equipment etc., which was really great. The staff was rather unfriendly and unsupportive, everything seemed to be a problem for them.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 03. Sep 2022
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 31. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
Went great’ was pleased with the deal we got!
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 29. Aug 2022
Good
We received a Nissan . That was oke . But very basic build in bed without any storage room. We enjoyd the table and chairs, the gas fit and water tank. And above the box with pans and cutlery.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 01. Sep 2022
Véhicule tout rouillé 270000 km Une bosse qu on avait pas vu nous a été facturé lors de la restitution du véhicule et la personne était agressive pour qu on reconnaisse notre responsabilité On a dû payer pour ne pas rater notre vol retour
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 26. Aug 2022
While my experience of rental companies is limited, Rent.is seemed mediocre at best. Pricing was very mid range for competitors with the inflated peak-season pricing. We had tentatively checked other providers previously and seen significantly lower prices for advanced booking. When we collected the vehicle, it was in good condition, although had clearly lived a hard life of only 6 months (22 plate, already with some minor issues). Engine light appeared sporadically, and some electrical faults presented intermittently, but it got us around the 2300km trip. Vehicle was pretty dirty on collection, significant amounts of debris and litter under seats from previous users. Crumbs and dirt visible immediately upon entering the vehicle. Staff were helpful upon arrival, but useless when we had issues out on the road. We picked up a windscreen chip from gravel kicked up by a passing car early on, called for advice, they said just to keep going since we had the platinum insurance. Electrical faults caused the car to die around day 7, after driving 200km in one stint (and therefore charging the battery for three hours), parking up for 15 minutes to rest, the car would not start again. We called Rent.is and we were told it was our fault and had to deal with it ourselves. I'm a mechanical engineer, and got it running again, but we were left completely on our own 100km from any sort of town with no help from Rent.is after their vehicle failed. Following on from this, the infotainment system we had been using for navigation was locked. We called Rent.is three times to get the PIN for this, but they refused to provide it, so we had no maps, music, or radio for the rest of the trip (3 days). In addition, the engine light came on regularly throughout the trip, along with marked reductions in fuel efficiency, suggesting a serious issue with the vehicle - which again staff were unwilling to provide any help with. At pickup, they attempted to give us the wrong vehicle (we had booked a Fiat Doblo - they tried giving us a Renault). They were happy to resolve this when I questioned it however, so kudos there. Drop off was fine, very easy, they did not even appear to inspect the vehicle or address any of the calls we had made to them throughout the trip, so I'm hoping the platinum plus insurance is holding out there. Overall, we got lucky. Had our issues been more serious, Rent.is would have left us out on the North coast of Iceland with no vehicle, no help, and no way of getting home. Customer service was appalling, and we were fortunate to get a vehicle that was pretty new. If they offer you a vehicle that is over a year old, DO NOT take it. Ours only had 16000km on the clock, and could have stranded us at any moment. Rent.is will not help you if you are out on your own. I would recommend you visit another provider with a better record of customer service.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 24. Aug 2022
Fantastic!
The car was ok, very good, also equipments.. tent, and kitchen and camping equipment. Also portable wi-Fi was good.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 21. Aug 2022
The interior was of very average quality: the sleeping bags where old and could not close, there where multiple holes in the roof tent and the shades did not close well. A rip-off for the price we paid
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 16. Aug 2022
We didn’t get everything that wa supposed to be included, such as a grill and a propane gas bottle for th burner. People at Rent.is were not really helpful regarding this issue. We also found that the vehicule was not very clean, and that it suffered from a lack of maintenance. The suspension was very poor.
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 09. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
All OK, car working well, service from Renting company was also fully OK
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 07. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 02. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
Great service. Nice team.
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 29. Jul 2022
Outstanding!
Terrific vehicle for our first-visit to Iceland circling the ring road... Heartfelt gratitude for facilitating our journey and a lifetime of cherished experiences and travel photos. I particularly enjoyed, and encourage, you to suggest to customers who (like me) are 6 ft tall and on the wrong side of 50 yrs old to rent a van whose ceiling is tall enough to accommodate standing fully upright while inside the van. Because of the discovery of a mechanical failure in the check-out phase of our originally reserved vehicle, we were (I think) upgraded to the Renault Master which accommodates five passengers. So grateful that, blowing out a tire in the middle of nowhere, your emergency support talked me through accessing and installing the spare tire under the van. The cable assembly that releases the spare tire eventually seized up, preventing it from slackening. So I left the spare tire in the back of the van. Big picture, all minor things. I lucked out in that our tire blowout occurred close to a shop that had and installed a new replacement tire, allowing us to continue our journey with minimal inconvenience. The water pump that dispenses water to the faucet stopped working during the second half of our journey. I couldn't fix that, but no problemo as our water bottles work fine for teeth brushing. Depending on frequency of tire blowouts for your customers. It may be helpful to, during vehicle orientation, walk them through steps of locating rear bumper insertion point for the connection that releases the spare tire beneath the van. Stupidly, with frazzled nerves and challenging roadside breakdown circumstances, it took me forever to locate the right connection. Also, a few wheel lug nuts were frozen and VERY hard for me, a fairly strong and fit man, to remove. I had to support lug wrench against the spare tire and stomp down on it with my full weight to turn two of the lug nuts on our blown tire. I weigh 210 pounds. Because, if our van had been occupied by women, I imagine you'd have had to dispatch a rescue crew a great distance to fix the issue.
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 25. Jul 2022
Good
The campervan met our needs for the budget we had - sleeping bags were warm and mattress was comfortable enough. Suggestions - 1. run a string along the length of the sleeping area so that wet items can be dried. 2. the gas stove was just too cheap - the ignition broke on Day 2. Hob was turned upside down so for 2 days we couldn't work out why the grass was burning and nothing would cook - agent should explain EVERTYHING ! 3. Very confusing pick up instructions. You say on the voucher you will collect the renter from their Keflavik hotel but you don't emphasise that this hotel should be at the airport, not Reykjavik. Guests do not have a sense of where the airport/city is so this needs to be made very clear. I had to make an expensive bus journey from the city to the airport and would have hired the campervan a day early if I had understood the situation correctly. 4. Did I rent the campervan from Northbound or Rent.is?? - the receipt for the deposit came from Northbound but my voucher, rental contract and balance payment were with Rent.is. 5. When I returned the campervan I went first to Flugvallarbraut 752; clearly not the return depot but this was the address on the Northbound receipt. I then had to deal with an agent (Northbound or rent.is??) who did not speak English at all clearly and eventually I understood that I had to return the campervan to the rent.is depot at Flugvellir. There is no return address on the "Information for Voucher xxxx" and I could see 3 different addresses on the receipt, voucher and contract agreement. THIS IS EASILY RESOLVED AND SHOULD BE ADDRESSED IMMEDIATELY. You may think the client is just stupid but the client will think you are badly organised, lacking clarity and will be irritated that the start and end of their trip is so problematic.
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 20. Jul 2022
Outstanding!
Everything was perfect
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 22. Jul 2022
Outstanding!
The van was great, though the table converting into the bed had some issues with screws falling out of the poles towards the end. Also, we were given plug in heaters that did not work for some reason. Otherwise the van worked great, power hook ups, cooler, sleeping bags and pillows, camp chairs and table, and it was extremely clean. It was our first time using a camper sleeper van, and was very convenient for our first experience traveling around Iceland. I would 100% recommend this company and traveling with a camper van to others. The staff were incredibly kind, very helpful and patient, and in particular the manager was amazing for compensating our party with a 1 day free car rental after we returned the van due to the issues we had with the table conversion and failing heaters during our summer trip. That was really unexpected and amazing customer service. This company goes above and beyond. When I visit Iceland again, I will definitely rent again with Rent.is. Thank you so much for making our trip memorable!!
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 15. Jul 2022
Outstanding!
Was very pleased van to drive around, clean The staff was so friendly and caring, all problems was solved with one phone call, from booking and pick up was fast and easy. Would definitely recommend to rent them again
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 14. Jul 2022
Outstanding!
Mi experiencia con renta.is fue fantástica, la Camper era casi nueva y no tuvimos ningún problema. Disfrutamos un montón
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 28. Jun 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 03. Jul 2022
Outstanding!
Yes!!!! Its a excellent alternative for drive in Iceland.
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 04. Jul 2022
Excellent
The car met our expectation perfectly. We got it clean, all equiptment on board, it ran without any issue.
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 26. Jun 2022
Outstanding!
Super experience with northbound ! Very good compagny
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 21. Jun 2022
Good
Hi, We had a great time in Iceland! The rental company were very friendly and easy to deal with. However when we arrived we were downgraded to a different van, which was so small you couldn’t even open the side door or the back door once it was closed! We weren’t offered any sort of compensation for this and it did make the trip quite difficult. I did mention this to (Lukas?) but he told me it was the same, even when there was a Fiat Doblo Maxi parked right there, which is clearly bigger than a Renault Express. Wouldn’t have minded so much if we were offered some financial compensation, or even an apology! As a result everything was very cramped for the whole trip. Other than that it was fine. Would use again, but wouldn’t be my first choice!
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 23. Jun 2022
Very Good
Customer service is excellent. Campervanning is a perfect way to see Iceland. Van was functional but not that user friendly. Needs more hooks, shelves and places to store small items especially at night (glasses, phone, inhaler). Would be nice to have a big map of Iceland on the space above the sink.
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 06. Jul 2022
Excellent
Although our Renault Kangoo was not the newest, the interior was clean. We really appreciated that the car had two sleeping bags, a camping table, two chairs, a gas stove and a small fridge. And we must not forget to mention the webasto heating system, which on colder nights heated our bedroom before we went to bed. In two weeks we drove about 3500 km with an average consumption of 5,5 l/100 km, so for a camper car the fuel economy is very good. There were three usb-a ports (1x at the front and 2x at the rear), but you can use the other two cigarette lighter plugs to charge your device (if you have an adapter). What wasn't there is a phone holder, so be sure to bring your own if you want to use your phone as a navigation. Our overall impression was very good and we really enjoyed our time with this Renault Kangoo.
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 21. Jun 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 18. Jun 2022
Good
rented a vehicle in June 2022