Reviews for
Lava Car Rental in Iceland

1523 Reviews
8.97

Reviews

8.97
1523 total reviews
Great
5-Star
83%
4-Star
13%
3-Star
3%
2-Star
1%
1-Star
0%
Staff
8.8
Value
8.6
Cleanliness
9.5
Pickup
8.8
Dropoff
9.3
Condition
8.9

1481 reviews for Lava Car Rental

Verified reviews from our customers that rented a car from Lava Car Rental

Submitted 11. Jun 2024
Outstanding!
We actually got upgraded to a Mitsubishi Eclipse Cross 4x4. Very capable vehicle for our trip. Very satisfied.
Donald rented a vehicle in June 2024
Submitted 06. Jun 2024
Good
sorry no toyota it whas a kia
Martijn rented a vehicle in May 2024
Submitted 10. Jun 2024
Excellent
Well at first we had a problem because we do not have credit card, but only debit card. But this was our fault because these information are noted several times on the websites and emails. Finally we had to take full insurance on the car which was a little bit more expensive but not horrible (about 120 euro per person). The staff was tell us some basic information about the car and what is inside and where we can find it. Nobody tell us information about the water tank and also the cooker which we found it afterward in some instructions video which we recieved to the email. But this was a little bit complication during first day because we lost some time for found it. Also we had a punch and nobody tell us where we can find tools for change the tyre. This was also a little bit complication for us but in the car there was service manual so hopefully we found these information in that. During the travelling we tried several times calling to the telephone number +354 519 4141. Nobody was answered to us which i rate as horrible because if a cutomer needs help or have some question it is really hard to phone to company Lava car. In the end I evaluate this company good, because as we had a punch nobody wants any extra charge for that. The company is great and I recomended to customers.
Lukas rented a vehicle in May 2024
Submitted 03. Jun 2024
Outstanding!
It was great. Clean, everything worked properly and did the job with no issues.
Lisa rented a vehicle in May 2024
Submitted 29. May 2024
Fantastic!
Car was in good condition and cleaned. It was perfect size for us as advertised. Once picked up from airport everything was smooth. We had difficulty finding pick up zone from airport. Called back and forth three times for instructions until finally finding pick up zone.
Lymaris rented a vehicle in May 2024
Submitted 10. Jun 2024
Very Good
Our experience was good. We had some minor issues but overall, our experience was satisfactory. The camper van came with all amenities listed. We had no issues with the van itself. Even though it was an older model it ran smoothly. I would suggest you check all the supplies before leaving the lot. For example, our electric cooler never worked, so we lost some (expensive) groceries. The plug was registering voltage but the cooler itself never turned on. The zipper of one of our sleeping bags was broken. The stove was also causing some issues in that the flint wouldn't work sometimes, and it would take forever to get the stove to light. Maybe purchasing an emergency lighter would have been useful. Lastly, they have a discount fob you can use at the gas stations, however, upon returning to KEF not a SINGLE gas station would accept the discount fob (we went to three different ones before giving up as we had to catch our return flight). They explained that in order to use the card machine where the fob worked, we needed to have a local bank card/credit card. For some reason they also could not override this from the inside cashiers. They kept saying the cashiers were not connected to the pay stations at the pumps. For some reason there are two pay stations, one for locals and one for foreign payment methods. We did not have this issue when we filled up outside the metro area.
Amanda rented a vehicle in May 2024
Submitted 29. May 2024
Excellent
I had a great experience renting the 2019 Renault Kangoo. It was comfortable and well equipped for my 2 week trip. My only issue is the outlet in the back didn’t work. Had to move the cooler to the front seat.
Leah rented a vehicle in May 2024
Submitted 21. May 2024
Outstanding!
We were upgraded to a Mitsubishi eclipse. The check in and the check out were quite convenient and easy. The car was fine but a owners manual in English would have been nice. We needed to add an extra day to the rental and that was easily accomplished online.
Cecil rented a vehicle in May 2024
Submitted 24. May 2024
Outstanding!
Pick up and return was easy - airport shuttle provided. Detailed video was provided to find the location to be picked up. The car had some issues (passenger door lock worked 25% of the time, leaving passenger in the cold or stuck in the car), tire pressure light came on and would not reset after filling tires with air. Service desk provided helpful pamphlets for our time in Iceland, including info about toll roads, F roads, and parking fees. Included a discount fob (~3 KRN/L) for various gas stations and free coffee vouchers.
Amanda rented a vehicle in May 2024
Submitted 26. May 2024
Fantastic!
We’ve really enjoyed the rental car and the services of Lava Car rental.
E.g.s. rented a vehicle in May 2024
Submitted 20. May 2024
Good
The van was great! Heating was very much appreciated. Only thing missing were more hooks or storage on the walls inside to help dry our clothes.
Alexandre rented a vehicle in May 2024
Submitted 26. May 2024
Outstanding!
Fabio rented a vehicle in May 2024
Submitted 19. May 2024
Outstanding!
The car got the job done for traveling the ring road. Great Vehicle.
Gavin rented a vehicle in May 2024
Submitted 19. May 2024
Outstanding!
Excellent customer service. Easy check in and check out process. Car was as promised.
Monica rented a vehicle in May 2024
Submitted 25. May 2024
Outstanding!
Dear Ivar, our experience has been very good. Online reservation went without any problems. The email exchange before our departure was pleasant and clear. The handling was quick when picking up the car. Contact during our stay was excellent. And everything went quickly when returning the car. Possible else may also be affected by the extensive insurance we have taken out. Transport to and from the airport is well organised. The price of car rental and insurance is on the high side. But we are very satisfied with everything. Best regards, Edwin
Edwin rented a vehicle in May 2024
Submitted 14. May 2024
Outstanding!
Awesome car! Comfortable to sleep in, great communication from Lava Car Rental, easy check in.
Brian rented a vehicle in May 2024
Submitted 14. May 2024
Good
overall good experience I did had to call the office to pick me up at the airport with the shuttle I did not get the Suzuki, but the Mitsubishi , but It was also a decent companion to our adventure
Patrick rented a vehicle in May 2024
Submitted 15. May 2024
Outstanding!
Tutto è andato bene. La macchina che mi hanno dato era più recente di quella noleggiata. L'unico appunto è che il noleggio controlla la macchina alla riconsegna ma non viene vista al ritiro con il cliente per eventuali problemi preesistenti. Mi aspettavo che prima di ritirarla facessimo un giro della carrozzeria e della parte sotto non coperta da assicurazione per verificare assieme che ci sia qualcosa che possa essere contestato alla riconsegna. Comunque tutto et andato bene. Con le chiavi mi hanno fornito due trasponder per uno sconto sul carburante
Sebastiano rented a vehicle in May 2024
Submitted 12. May 2024
Outstanding!
Land cruiser is an excellent car for driving in Iceland, especially on tougher roads in the mountains. Lava Car Rental experience was overall positive, with a minor issue concerning the fuel level at pick-up.
Michael rented a vehicle in May 2024
Submitted 19. May 2024
Great
Michael rented a vehicle in May 2024
Submitted 22. May 2024
Great
Maxim rented a vehicle in May 2024
Submitted 13. May 2024
Fantastic!
We were upgraded to a Mitsubishi Eclipse instead. The car was clean, and the customer service was good, despite it being a very busy day for them. They also provided good flexibility by allowing me to return the car the night before, instead of the morning as I was staying at the Courtyard Marriott nearby. Overall, a very pleasant experience renting from Lava. Thank you!
Furong rented a vehicle in May 2024
Submitted 10. May 2024
Outstanding!
Camper was great! Easy to drive. Bed was comfy for a camper. Has Bluetooth to play music. Spacious. We were worried about luggage space but we fit two backpacks and two carry on size luggage bags with room to spare. Lava was easy to work with and the shuttle was convenient.
Amelia rented a vehicle in May 2024
Submitted 09. May 2024
Good
Ce n'était pas une Suzuki, mais une Mitsubishi.
Lucien rented a vehicle in April 2024
Submitted 28. Apr 2024
Outstanding!
We didn't get the Yaris but instead had an MG which was a comfortable drive and good size but had some very random behaviours
Lee-anne rented a vehicle in April 2024

Why book through Northbound?

Best Price Guarantee

If you find the same vehicle from the same supplier elsewhere, we'll match the price with no added or hidden fees

No Hidden Fees

We do not add any fees on top of your final price, what you see is what you get!

Free Cancellation

We will cancel your booking on request, no questions asked, provided there are more than 48 hours until the pickup date.

Customer Support

We deliver fast responses to your queries with a very high customer satisfaction rating

Dispute Support

Should a dispute arise between you and the supplier, we serve as an intermediary between the two of you, guaranteeing you a response and a conclusion to the issue.