Reviews for Lava Car Rental

The car was OK. The service was bad. PICKUP from the Airport after 2 calls (we and others had to wait 1 hour). They had only one car running for pickup but 2 persons from the staff and therefore only space for 6 persons. No help with baggage.
We had a wheel damage during our journey. We took the most expensive insurance. After a call with LAVS Cars we had the wheel repaired at our own costs. After 6 weeks we are still waiting to receive our money back. DISAPPOINTING
Up to you if you would like to order a car with LAVA Cars.

Cornelia

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2020 and rented a 2019 Dacia Duster

We appreciated the car we rent, but we are very disappointed by the behaviour of Lava Car Rental. We had to change a flat tyre by a new one. We paid for it, we did it with Lava approval. As we subscribed insurances, we sent the invoice to Lava, and we asked to be refunded, but we didn't receive any answer to our 3 mails. Therefore, we will not recommend Lava Car Rent.

VIVIAN

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2020 and rented a 2021 Hyundai Tucson

Everything good with the car and the utilities.
The only problen was in delivery, they daley it 2 hours.
I was trying to call several diferent numbers to know whats was happening and wasnt able to skpek with anyone. Until they emailed me and I asked then to call me.
After that was everithing fine.

Bruno

Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2020 and rented a 2018 Nissan NV200 Camper

View all cars from this company

Click here

Good service but first car had a broken windscreen, which we refuse to take. Friendly service and rather bad communication. They didn't tell us in advance that the office wasn't open when we should return the car. They should have informed us, we shouldn't have to ask.

Åke

Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2020 and rented a 2021 Hyundai Tucson

The service was very good, including picking up and returning the car. The car we got was not in the best shape, but worked fine. However the door broke, so we got a new one with really good service, but this car could also use a small helping hand, so it was in a better shape, fx the lamp inside was hanging, the breaks-lamp was lightening in the display, the heat in the car only worked sometimes and the doors was not in the best shape either. But all in all the car was very fine and worked as it should, and lava provided good service, so we are satisfied. The transporter in general was a very good choice for driving in Iceland, and sleeping in.

Anne Højmark

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2020 and rented a 2018 Volkswagen Transporter

I used the services of Northbound by renting from Lava Car Rental for my trip to Iceland.
I strongly recommend their services for the value for money and they are very serious. I rented a dacia duster in very good condition much cheaper than with international companies.

VINCENT

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2020 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Free Cancellation & Amendments

My experience with Northbound has been great, I could compare prices easily and find best deals. The company to which I made my initial booking has to cancel it and I've received lovely support from Northbound to find the best alternative. I would recommend them with no doubt! Thanks :)

Nuria

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2020 and rented a 2018 Nissan NV200 Camper

Stefano

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2020 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Consegna e restituzione dell’auto veloci. Ottima assistenza. Con la assicurazione Platinum ci è stato restituita la somma spesa per la riparazione del pneumatico.

Marco

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2020 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

I'm writing this 2 and a half years after I visited Iceland but my memory of my trip is still very good. Everything about Lava Car Rental was excellent. The staff were friendly and efficient and the car was great, although at first it felt like it needed a wheel alignment. I soon got used to it, though, so maybe it was my imagination. The only problem was their office is a bit hard to find but otherwise I highly recommend Lava Car Rental.

Craig

Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2018 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

En global la nostra experiència ha estat bona. Vem tenir problema amb tres dels cotxes però finalment es va resoldre i no han tingut cap problema en arreglar-ho. Han estat molt amables sempre i son molt recomanables.

Montserrat

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2020 and rented a 2018 Nissan NV200 Camper

the experience with Lava camper was good with very competitive prices compared to other rentals. the only points that can be improved are: 1) would need darkened side windows or curtains as they are not present. 2) to go off road it is better to put big wheels that soften the impact with the ground. quality and competitive prices with other rentals.

Alessandro

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2020 and rented a 2018 Volkswagen Transporter

LAVA CAR is very good.
The car was fine.
The staff were very friendly and quick to respond.
The prices were good and the reviews were very good.
I recommend LAVA / Northbound.

Bert

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2020 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Hey!
Very nice journey Thanks to you.
Even if the car had more than 185 000 km, it was perfect. Economic (Diesel) and very strong.
I would like to tell you that we were very surprised to find someone speaking french at the front desk. It was very interesting for us. The young Lady gave us very good addresses that we tested. When we come back to Iceland, we certainly choose Northbound again. And we will recommend.
Best regards
Patricia

Patricia

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2020 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

We got an excellent car from Lava Car Rental. We had no problems, the car was clean and comfortable. Pick-up at the airport was very quick and at the office they adapted the original contract to the due to Covid changed plans. Next time we'll use Lava Car Rental again.

Lieven

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2020 and rented a 2021 Hyundai Tucson

The car was excellent, although not the one we originally reserved (we booked a Hyundai Tucson and got a Kia Sportage). We had to wait a bit at the airport at pick-up, but then we were served quickly. In general we are fully satisfied with the service and price (we recommend buying the platinum insurance, very convenient and valuable for Iceland roads). We were also very satisfied with Northbound support service, who always replied to our emails and phone calls within minutes.
Marco

Marco

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2020 and rented a 2021 Hyundai Tucson

Free Cancellation & Amendments

Perfect! This Nissan has everything what we needed.

Joachim

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2020 and rented a 2018 Nissan NV200 Camper

Everything was great: the car was in good conditions, the rental staff was kind and professional, we didn’t have any trouble. We found the best price on northbound for the same kind of car.

Filippo

Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2020 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Excellent service for a reasonable price!

Mathieu

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2020 and rented a 2019 Dacia Duster

All in all it was good rental. The car worked flawlessly for the entire roundtrip. The only thing stopping me from giving 5.0 in rating was the inspection at pickup. The images that Lava took barely proved it was a Dacia Duster. The small dents we found were impossible to see on them, thus forcing me to take new pictures the day after. Not the biggest task in the world but still left me with some uncertainty why even taking such bad pictures.

Staffan

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2020 and rented a 2019 Dacia Duster

Mixed feelings! Pick-up at the airport was great and friendly, but the pick-up at the rental counter was without a word and the car had 2 30 cm long (known) cracks in the windshield, which despite having stickers on grew further during our rental. We had also requested a non-diesel car but got a diesel car and no notice of this before or at pick-up. Drop-off was hassle-free and friendly.

Kristian

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2020 and rented a 2021 Hyundai Tucson

It's ok. Dacia is a fairly simply car. Nothing of unexpected has gone!
The GPS was not available on the car and has been replaced with an Internet connection device: not so bad.

Fabrizio

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2020 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

We booked Toyota Rav4 with Lava Car Rental via Northbound, as they seemed to have the best prices and pretty good automatic transmission car selection. The contact with Northbound prior to pick up was very good. They promptly processed our requests for changes in renal package. We dropped wifi and gps in the end (we decided to go with Tirewire as their offer has unlimited data and is cheaper). The rental was for 16 days in July 2020, we ended up with Kia Sportage instead of Toyota in the end. The car perfomed very well. We were very happy with both Northbound and their partner Lava Car Rental.

Magdalena

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2020 and rented a 2021 Toyota RAV4

Nice and helpfull stuff, good car, smart architecture of interior in a car, easy for using, all equipment for camping included, sleeping bags included...

Leila

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2020 and rented a 2018 Nissan NV200 Camper

View all cars from this company

Click here

Good experience with this company, very helpfull and friendly. I recommend them.

Iskander

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2020 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Car was great and the service really good.

Carlos

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2020 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Lava Car Rental is a very good place to rent a car at - great to have a transfer from/to airport, pick up and drop off of the car was easy. I do recommend Lava car rental.

Dacia Duster - it is a good car to rent.

Kristians

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2020 and rented a 2019 Dacia Duster

Nice and clean car, just sufficient for 2 adults. Fairly new and did the job very well. Equipped with all the necessities for a 2 week visit. Will definitely return to both Northbound and Lava rental.

Bo Bjødstrup

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2020 and rented a 2019 Renault Kangoo Camper

The car was new and comfortable for 4 persons, and ok to visit the interior of Iceland. The price was reasonable.

Pierre

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2020 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

We are satisfied with reception, hold and bring us from the airport and the car himself.
When we wil come back to Iceland we come back to Lava Car Rental.. It was a good experience.

Gerald Berto

Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2020 and rented a 2019 Dacia Duster