Reviews for Lava Car Rental in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for Lava Car Rental
Submitted 10. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
Absolutely stellar customer service from Northbound throughout, despite several changes to our booking due to Covid etc. Thordis could not have done more to make sure we were set up for a great trip. The Dacia Duster from Lava did just fine too :)
Thanks again Northbound.
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 04. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
The pick up and drop off was pretty easy, the car was in great condition, customer service was very friendly and helpful
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 06. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
It was a great car to rent while driving around the island. I also really appreciated the gas mileage and the fact it was diesel.
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 13. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
We had reserved a Toyota RAV4 but ended up with a Hyundai Tuscon which was fine. Rental experience was smooth and eash and price was reasonable. Mobile wifi was super helpful since we were traveling internationally without reliable cell service.
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 24. Jun 2021
Outstanding!
I am lucky to find this site for my car at Lava for my Iceland trip. I got the requested car and the customer car at Lava is also as good as Northbound! 8-)
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 21. Jun 2021
Outstanding!
Car was nice. Never had to use the 4 wheel drive but it was a security blanket. Your staff was very friendly and kind.
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 19. Jun 2021
Outstanding!
Lava was wonderful great service, picked us up st the airport, fast checkout great price
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 14. Jun 2021
Outstanding!
The tires were very, very worn, so I was hydroplaning all over the place even going under the speed limit. The car was also beat to hell, which I thought was the norm, but I met other people with nicer Dusters. However, the customer service was very good with the shuttles and the friendliness of the people. I’m not sure I’d rent from Lava Car Rental again because of the quality of the car, but the people at both Lava and Northbound were really, really great.
rented a vehicle in June 2021
Submitted 31. May 2021
Outstanding!
Great service with Northbound as well as Lava rental
rented a vehicle in May 2021
Submitted 26. Apr 2021
Outstanding!
We had a good experience with Lava Car Rental. The service was quick and the entire procedure of renting and returning the car, was simple and went smooth. We received a Renault instead of the Nissan, which was quite similar. The only downside was that the side door did not open from the inside, just the outside, maybe this could be addressed in the future. The car and its accessories were clean and in good condition. Altogether, we had an amazing time and recommend Lava Car Rental to future travelers.
rented a vehicle in April 2021
Submitted 26. Apr 2021
Excellent
We got antother car from Lava Car Rental: a newer Kangoo Maxi
rented a vehicle in April 2021
Submitted 20. Dec 2020
Excellent
Everything good with the car and the utilities.
The only problen was in delivery, they daley it 2 hours.
I was trying to call several diferent numbers to know whats was happening and wasnt able to skpek with anyone. Until they emailed me and I asked then to call me.
After that was everithing fine.
rented a vehicle in December 2020
Submitted 24. Sep 2020
Good
Good service but first car had a broken windscreen, which we refuse to take. Friendly service and rather bad communication. They didn't tell us in advance that the office wasn't open when we should return the car. They should have informed us, we shouldn't have to ask.
rented a vehicle in September 2020
Submitted 30. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Consegna e restituzione dell’auto veloci. Ottima assistenza. Con la assicurazione Platinum ci è stato restituita la somma spesa per la riparazione del pneumatico.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 24. Nov 2020
We appreciated the car we rent, but we are very disappointed by the behaviour of Lava Car Rental. We had to change a flat tyre by a new one. We paid for it, we did it with Lava approval. As we subscribed insurances, we sent the invoice to Lava, and we asked to be refunded, but we didn't receive any answer to our 3 mails. Therefore, we will not recommend Lava Car Rent.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 30. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 17. Oct 2020
The car was OK. The service was bad. PICKUP from the Airport after 2 calls (we and others had to wait 1 hour). They had only one car running for pickup but 2 persons from the staff and therefore only space for 6 persons. No help with baggage.
We had a wheel damage during our journey. We took the most expensive insurance. After a call with LAVS Cars we had the wheel repaired at our own costs. After 6 weeks we are still waiting to receive our money back. DISAPPOINTING
Up to you if you would like to order a car with LAVA Cars.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 18. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Everything was great: the car was in good conditions, the rental staff was kind and professional, we didn’t have any trouble. We found the best price on northbound for the same kind of car.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 16. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
The car was excellent, although not the one we originally reserved (we booked a Hyundai Tucson and got a Kia Sportage). We had to wait a bit at the airport at pick-up, but then we were served quickly. In general we are fully satisfied with the service and price (we recommend buying the platinum insurance, very convenient and valuable for Iceland roads). We were also very satisfied with Northbound support service, who always replied to our emails and phone calls within minutes.
Marco
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 19. Aug 2020
Good
the experience with Lava camper was good with very competitive prices compared to other rentals. the only points that can be improved are: 1) would need darkened side windows or curtains as they are not present. 2) to go off road it is better to put big wheels that soften the impact with the ground. quality and competitive prices with other rentals.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 20. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Hey!
Very nice journey Thanks to you.
Even if the car had more than 185 000 km, it was perfect. Economic (Diesel) and very strong.
I would like to tell you that we were very surprised to find someone speaking french at the front desk. It was very interesting for us. The young Lady gave us very good addresses that we tested. When we come back to Iceland, we certainly choose Northbound again. And we will recommend.
Best regards
Patricia
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 13. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Perfect! This Nissan has everything what we needed.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 20. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
LAVA CAR is very good.
The car was fine.
The staff were very friendly and quick to respond.
The prices were good and the reviews were very good.
I recommend LAVA / Northbound.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 21. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
My experience with Northbound has been great, I could compare prices easily and find best deals. The company to which I made my initial booking has to cancel it and I've received lovely support from Northbound to find the best alternative. I would recommend them with no doubt! Thanks :)
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 31. Aug 2020
Excellent
En global la nostra experiència ha estat bona. Vem tenir problema amb tres dels cotxes però finalment es va resoldre i no han tingut cap problema en arreglar-ho. Han estat molt amables sempre i son molt recomanables.
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 03. Sep 2020
Outstanding!
I used the services of Northbound by renting from Lava Car Rental for my trip to Iceland.
I strongly recommend their services for the value for money and they are very serious. I rented a dacia duster in very good condition much cheaper than with international companies.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 07. Aug 2020
Excellent
All in all it was good rental. The car worked flawlessly for the entire roundtrip. The only thing stopping me from giving 5.0 in rating was the inspection at pickup. The images that Lava took barely proved it was a Dacia Duster. The small dents we found were impossible to see on them, thus forcing me to take new pictures the day after. Not the biggest task in the world but still left me with some uncertainty why even taking such bad pictures.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 30. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
Car was great and the service really good.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 08. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
We got an excellent car from Lava Car Rental. We had no problems, the car was clean and comfortable. Pick-up at the airport was very quick and at the office they adapted the original contract to the due to Covid changed plans. Next time we'll use Lava Car Rental again.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 03. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Lava Car Rental is a very good place to rent a car at - great to have a transfer from/to airport, pick up and drop off of the car was easy. I do recommend Lava car rental.

Dacia Duster - it is a good car to rent.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 03. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Nice and clean car, just sufficient for 2 adults. Fairly new and did the job very well. Equipped with all the necessities for a 2 week visit. Will definitely return to both Northbound and Lava rental.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 06. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Excellent service for a reasonable price!
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 04. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
Nice and helpfull stuff, good car, smart architecture of interior in a car, easy for using, all equipment for camping included, sleeping bags included...
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 30. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
Good experience with this company, very helpfull and friendly. I recommend them.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 04. Aug 2020
Outstanding!
The car was new and comfortable for 4 persons, and ok to visit the interior of Iceland. The price was reasonable.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 28. Jul 2020
Excellent
It's ok. Dacia is a fairly simply car. Nothing of unexpected has gone!
The GPS was not available on the car and has been replaced with an Internet connection device: not so bad.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 07. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 28. Jul 2020
Good
Mixed feelings! Pick-up at the airport was great and friendly, but the pick-up at the rental counter was without a word and the car had 2 30 cm long (known) cracks in the windshield, which despite having stickers on grew further during our rental. We had also requested a non-diesel car but got a diesel car and no notice of this before or at pick-up. Drop-off was hassle-free and friendly.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 27. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
We booked Toyota Rav4 with Lava Car Rental via Northbound, as they seemed to have the best prices and pretty good automatic transmission car selection. The contact with Northbound prior to pick up was very good. They promptly processed our requests for changes in renal package. We dropped wifi and gps in the end (we decided to go with Tirewire as their offer has unlimited data and is cheaper). The rental was for 16 days in July 2020, we ended up with Kia Sportage instead of Toyota in the end. The car perfomed very well. We were very happy with both Northbound and their partner Lava Car Rental.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 23. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
We are satisfied with reception, hold and bring us from the airport and the car himself.
When we wil come back to Iceland we come back to Lava Car Rental.. It was a good experience.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 17. Jul 2020
Good
The service was very good, including picking up and returning the car. The car we got was not in the best shape, but worked fine. However the door broke, so we got a new one with really good service, but this car could also use a small helping hand, so it was in a better shape, fx the lamp inside was hanging, the breaks-lamp was lightening in the display, the heat in the car only worked sometimes and the doors was not in the best shape either. But all in all the car was very fine and worked as it should, and lava provided good service, so we are satisfied. The transporter in general was a very good choice for driving in Iceland, and sleeping in.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 24. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
Both Northbound and Lava Car Rental provided excellent service. Initially I had booked with another (Solstice) through Northbound, but Solstice cancelled last minute and was not responsive at all. Northbound immediately took action, was very kind and really helped in finding a good alternative which was Lava Car Rental. Lava Car Rental was also very good, they were very responsive, always picked up the phone and were very helpful. So both Northbound and Lava Car Rental I would definitely recommend. We loved the Nissan NV200. You can sit comfortable inside, the bed was good. You could charge your phone, there was a working fridge and you could cook. Also sleeping bags, chairs and table were provided and the car drove well. I would definitely recommend booking through Northbound and with Lava Car Rental.
rented a vehicle in June 2020
Submitted 25. Jun 2020
Good
My experience with Lava rental was really good. They were available for all my questions. The car was in good shape
rented a vehicle in June 2020
Submitted 22. Mar 2020
Good
We had a nice trip with a nice car. Because of the bigger wheels we could go olmost everywhere. Comfertable seats and a 6 gear. In the back enough space for two big suitcases.
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 02. Apr 2020
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 13. Mar 2020
Fine
It was a good experience with Lava Car Rental. The service was fine.
The car drives good, but the exterior had a lot of paint damage. It looked like the car was older than 2017, which we ordered. Fortunately no more damage. we like to come again.
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 14. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
If you are going to rent a car in Iceland in March, rent a 4 wd. The Dacia Duster was reasonably priced and reasonably able for the road conditions we encountered, which included about everything. Good little car and a great trip.
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 09. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
The perfect car for the streets in Iceland.
rented a vehicle in March 2020
Submitted 08. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
From start to finish Northbound kept us informed. Although the car was not pristine everything was great and having rented spotless almost brand new vehicles you can end up worrying about the tiniest blemish that may occur so it was perfect for us! Thank you!
rented a vehicle in February 2020
Submitted 06. Mar 2020
Outstanding!
Todo fue perfecto
rented a vehicle in February 2020