🌋 For the latest information on Iceland's volcanic activity click here

Reviews for
Lava Car Rental in Iceland

1439 Reviews
9.26

Reviews

9.26
1439 total reviews
Excellent
5-Star
83%
4-Star
13%
3-Star
3%
2-Star
1%
1-Star
0%
Staff
8.9
Value
8.8
Cleanliness
9.5
Pickup
8.9
Dropoff
9.4
Condition
9

1439 reviews for Lava Car Rental

Verified reviews from our customers that rented a car from Lava Car Rental

Submitted 29. Feb 2024
Outstanding!
Andrea rented a vehicle in February 2024
Submitted 26. Feb 2024
Outstanding!
Overall very good experience. Good advice and instructions made it easy ahead of car pick up. Friendly services and excellent communication. Easy hand over and return. Good quality car. Very useful tips for the traveler on webpage and via email.
Nils rented a vehicle in February 2024
Submitted 27. Feb 2024
Outstanding!
La experiencia ha estado inmejorable. Todo perfecto, el coche una maravilla y la atencion y traslado al aeropuerto exquisito😉 Repetiría!
Luis rented a vehicle in February 2024
Submitted 25. Feb 2024
Good
I was looking forward to driving the land cruiser that I'd booked, when we picked up the car we were given a Kia Sorento and told they didn't have any landcruisers, so very disappointed. We were told the car had a full tank of fuel and had to return it full, when we drove off in the car we discovered infact it only had 3/4 of a tank but was still expected to return it full. Nobody took us round the car to ensure there wasn't any damage before we drove off, or to explain the features on the car. The Kia was a nice car, just not the quality of car we had paid for. Customer service was lacking, more just sign here and get you out as quickly as possible.
Andrew rented a vehicle in February 2024
Submitted 23. Feb 2024
Outstanding!
Everything was smooth and car was great. We had to modify the reservation before our trip and lava was prompt about fixing it. Car was in great condition, comfortable, and drove well. We drove it through pretty much every weather condition
Uday rented a vehicle in February 2024
Submitted 20. Feb 2024
Outstanding!
Everything went smoothly with our rental. We paid for the full insurance package for this trip. Unfortunately a stone chipped and cracked the windscreen but this was all covered by the insurance with no complications whatsoever. I would definitely recommend Northbound and Lava car rentals.
Justin rented a vehicle in February 2024
Submitted 20. Feb 2024
Outstanding!
Murray rented a vehicle in February 2024
Submitted 17. Feb 2024
Good
Instead of a Hyundai Tucson we received a Toyota RAV4. Though it’s the ‘or similar’ option, afterwards we experienced it as far less comfortable. We specifically chose the Hyundai because we own one in the Netherlands. The advantage would be that we are familiar with the car, making it easier to concentrate on the driving.
Eric rented a vehicle in February 2024
Submitted 23. Feb 2024
Outstanding!
Northbound provided a GREAT experience. We booked with LAVA car rental and when we arrived were upgraded to a Mitsubishi SUV. Communication was perfect.
Anthony rented a vehicle in February 2024
Submitted 13. Feb 2024
Good
The information about where to get a lift from at the airport could be simpler and some of the info was out of date, it mentioned walking past a bank in the airport that is no longer there. It would be easier if they just said outside of exit number ** adjacent to P3 parking or included a map. I'm afraid I can't give many marks for customer service as the guy who picked us up didn't give us any form of greeting whatsoever, did not help us with our bags and seemed to be in a bad mood and didn't speak to us once in the whole journey. It wasn't a great welcome. It was slightly better in the offices but only a bit. On the plus side the car was very nice, clean and good value.
Bernard rented a vehicle in February 2024
Submitted 07. Feb 2024
Outstanding!
The vehicle performed great with the conditions. We had many days with heavy snow & wind. I would recommend more signs to find the building for rental return., the address took me to a parking lot.
Michael rented a vehicle in February 2024
Submitted 10. Feb 2024
Good
We did not understand that the pick up was from outside and that no-one would come into the building to meet us.
Roy rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 29. Jan 2024
Outstanding!
Car easy to drive and with good performance on snowy roads, we didn't have any problems
Daniela rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 28. Jan 2024
Outstanding!
The car was perfect and literally saved our lives. We slipped on the icy road but managed to balance ourselves not to hardly. Hybrid car is amazing, saved a bit on fuel. Lava car insurance covered the damages and customer service is perfect!
Jiajun rented a vehicle in January 2024
Submitted 09. Jan 2024
Outstanding!
The only thing that was a bit tricky was the lever to open the gas tank. It wasn’t really working properly. I had to find something to keep the lever up and go to the tank and try to open the little door. Otherwise, very happy with the service. Also, the WiFi service was great. It would have been so much harder to follow gps directions without it. Was very reassuring to know that I was always within reach, even in more isolated areas. I am overall very happy with the service provided. Will definitely recommend and use again if I ever go back. Thank you!
Paulo rented a vehicle in December 2023
Submitted 12. Jan 2024
Good
Verry nice car, no problemen at all. Good service and a good price. Shuttle taxi was also good aranged. See you guys next time. Thnx
Irving rented a vehicle in December 2023
Submitted 17. Dec 2023
Outstanding!
Absolutely amazing service and an outstanding car. When we were held up after losing our luggage, I rang lava and they came straight away to collect us. After a 23hr flight we needed smooth transition. Every one was polite, professional and very informative. A very streamlined service. Extremely happy
Christopher rented a vehicle in December 2023
Submitted 04. Dec 2023
Outstanding!
Everything was smooth and clear. Booked a Suzuki Vitara, but received a Mitsubishi Eclipse Cross PHEV - a really good car! All in all, best value for money including the additional optional coverage. No hidden costs, all perfect. Pick up and drop off was also extremely smooth.
Spencer rented a vehicle in November 2023
Submitted 20. Nov 2023
Good
The staff was not very friendly, no smile nothing, this was a bit irritating for us. a bit more informations about the nationalparks or even the car would be helpful Also the booked WIFI did not work in the car, we called 3 times, but no response. After 2 calls we were picked up at the airport, then everything was smooth. Tha car itself has been great, and in the end we had a great holiday.
Jessica rented a vehicle in November 2023
Submitted 24. Nov 2023
Fantastic!
I felt the car handled well and was in good condition.
Twyla rented a vehicle in November 2023
Submitted 09. Jan 2024
Outstanding!
The team at Lava helped make our experience in Iceland get off to and end in a great way. The ease and professional way we were able to rent the car was absolute first class. We rented the Dacia Duster and highly recommend the car and Lava Car Rental. Thank you so much The Dennys
Robert rented a vehicle in November 2023
Submitted 17. Nov 2023
Outstanding!
This was my 2nd time renting from Northbound/Lava, and it was seamless and easy! The car was in great shape, and everything was clear with my contract, etc. They don't push the insurance on you too hard which I appreciated, because I have my own. I'll definitely recommend and keep using them!
Jordan rented a vehicle in November 2023
Submitted 14. Nov 2023
Outstanding!
Perfect very comfortable
Damiano rented a vehicle in November 2023
Submitted 11. Nov 2023
Outstanding!
We were upgraded on the car that we originally hired upon arrival which was very nice. We did get the full protection for the car which was a little pricey but didn't want any unexpected costs. Overall very good.
Joshua rented a vehicle in November 2023
Submitted 23. Nov 2023
Outstanding!
My recent experience renting a car through Lava Car Rental via Northbound was nothing short of excellent. This collaborative effort between the two entities resulted in a hassle-free and efficient rental process that greatly enhanced my trip. Booking Process: Utilizing the Northbound platform to access Lava Car Rental's services was a breeze. The interface provided a seamless experience, allowing me to browse available vehicles and complete my reservation with ease. The integration between the third-party service and Lava Car Rental ensured a smooth booking process. Customer Service: The staff at the rental location, affiliated with both Lava Car Rental and Northbound, exhibited the same level of professionalism and efficiency. They seamlessly coordinated my reservation, ensuring a swift and pleasant experience from start to finish. Their dedication to customer satisfaction was evident throughout. Vehicle Quality: The vehicle I rented was in impeccable condition, a testament to the meticulous maintenance standards upheld by Lava Car Rental. It was clean, well-maintained, and provided a comfortable and reliable driving experience throughout my journey. Return Process: Returning the car was just as effortless as the pickup. The joint effort between Lava Car Rental and Northbound ensured a swift inspection and a seamless check-out process. The final billing was accurate and efficiently processed.
Calvin rented a vehicle in October 2023

Why book through Northbound?

Best Price Guarantee

If you find the same vehicle from the same supplier elsewhere, we'll match the price with no added or hidden fees

No Hidden Fees

We do not add any fees on top of your final price, what you see is what you get!

Free Cancellation

We will cancel your booking on request, no questions asked, provided there are more than 48 hours until the pickup date.

Customer Support

We deliver fast responses to your queries with a very high customer satisfaction rating

Dispute Support

Should a dispute arise between you and the supplier, we serve as an intermediary between the two of you, guaranteeing you a response and a conclusion to the issue.