Reviews for Lava Car Rental in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for Lava Car Rental
Submitted 26. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
The best !!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 25. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Perfect experience!
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 22. Sep 2022
Good
The rental process was easy and we enjoyed our trip. However, we were not provided with the 2018 Nissan NV200 Camper Manual but were given a smaller van (Renault Kangoo) and told that this was an upgrade because it was an automatic transmission. This was not the van I had reserved to rent and I wasn't completely satisfied with the van or that the rental company (Lava Car Rental) did not accommodate my reservation nor provide a discount.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 19. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
This was a really cool way to get around Iceland and we had a great time. Everything we needed was included in the campervan and we didn't even need the heating at night we were toasties. Recommend wholeheartedly. Thanks Lava.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 22. Sep 2022
Excellent
It was fine. Easy to drive and excellent fuel economy. Camping for two not so skinny people was rather tight though. Reasonably comfortable bed despite the tight quarters. Very efficient storage design and the van came with all utensils etc that we needed.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 15. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Everything was OK
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 25. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
The car was well equipped and the people at the office have been really nice.
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 07. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
All was perfect
rented a vehicle in September 2022
Submitted 02. Sep 2022
Good
It was a fantastic experience. There were several dings and dents on the van, but it was a smooth, comfortable ride with good gas mileage. It was warm, and the camping gear was perfect for our needs. All together we had an amazing experience. The costumer support was GREAT!
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 07. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Everything was great! Well organized!
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 31. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
Perfect thaks
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 02. Sep 2022
Outstanding!
Hi! We enjoyed our time with the Dacia Duster. The pickup and dropoff with the shuttle was really uncomplicated and the contact persons were absolutely courteous. Thanks a lot! We will recommend Northbaund. Kind regards Margit Neuner
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 04. Sep 2022
Good
Thank you but very dispointed with the car . Always a warning on the dashboard ( tires, injection... ) we never felt safety. The wipers very old and do not dry the window . And the right door in front should have had an accident : even if it closed it was like the window was open ( air and wind could get through) . I told it when we bring back the car but the man did not care about it ...
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 26. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
Wszystko było perfekt. Cała procedura wypożyczania od wstępnych ustaleń, aż do oddania samochodu, który zresztą spisywał się nienagannie. Tylko cena wypożyczenia była bardzo wysoka.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 01. Sep 2022
Fantastic!
Hi Transfers were both immediately. Car was brand new. We had to wait 30 min due to missing car (same happened to the family present when we left). Communication was very reduced. I would liked to have seen a written report on existing damages and a confirmation that the car was returned without new ones. Anyway, all correct on lava cars said. Northbound refunded difference in price to to decreasing prices (thanks again) but we had to ask - so no automatically process. Both, lava and northbound I would choose again. Thanks
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 28. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
Working with Lava car rental was great. We received top tier service. We were upgraded to a Hyundai Tucson and appreciated the electric offset which improved our mileage. The guys at the reception counter were fast and efficient and we loved our airport shuttle gentleman. We would use them again in an instant.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 06. Sep 2022
Fine
Our car was not ready and the staff person simply did not care. They blamed us for not coming on time (flight was delayed) but then let on that the person who was to return the car was late. When I complained the staff person simply shrugged his shoulders and said "write an email." Instead of getting the car at 8am we received it closer to 3 pm. Our vacation was only 4 days. I also requested full insurance and was given a verbal okay but did not receive any email confirmation and had to email again to get it in writing. The car itself was fine, a bit on the older side. Very surprising that there was no cruise control and only one usb charger.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 28. Aug 2022
Good
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 25. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
Reliable van, traveled 5500 km in complete peace of mind.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 24. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
All went well with LAVA Car Rental. Very good service, despite big delay in our flight arrival (late night). Good communication. All very smooth.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 30. Aug 2022
Good
The car was adjusted to our experience
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 25. Aug 2022
Excellent
Yes. It was exactly was we reserved. The only issue we had was with the USB ports. One actually fried my IPhone. Not sure if the full insurance we purchased covers that. As for your staff, they are wonderful. They were there waiting when we walked out of the airport and ready with the van to take us back at drop off. Jon processed our paperwork efficiently and even checked up on us as we made our way around the Ring Road and Snæfellsnes. Thanks for providing a dependable and comfortable for our Iceland adventure. Keep up the great work!
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 27. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
The car rental experience with Northbound and Lava Car Rental was great and we would definitely recommend you guys to our freinds and family travelling to Iceland. The car and the service was up to the mark, however as discussed with the gentleman at lava's office, the Garmin GPS system was not working at all and we could not use it during our entire trip of 12 days. I had asked for the refund for the device, but was told that it was not charged for, however I was surprised to find GPS charges in the final bill. Request you to please help with the GPS's refund.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 31. Aug 2022
Good
The driving was good. As far as the organisation of the inside of the camper goes, however, I find that there is a lot of unused space making camper life quite uncomfortable.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 29. Aug 2022
Excellent
This car was perfect for our Iceland tour
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 21. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
Our experience with the Dacia Duster was great! Very friendly staff. Would definitely rent from this company again! When we arrived at the airport, we just called the company and they were at the airport within 10 minutes to pick us up! Our drop- off was very seamless as well and was a very smooth ride to the airport.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 18. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
The car was great: new, clean, good pick-up. The employees at the company were very helpful. I would use them again. I only rated the pick up below a 5 because they weren't waiting with a card like it said they would so I had to call. As it turned out, the van had already left without us but then turned around to get us, except there wasn't enough room for all 3 of us, so I went and got the car and came back and got the rest of my party. A bummer after a long flight, but only a 7 minute drive, so not too bad. They checked me out first such that the rest of my party only had to wait about 20 minutes for me to get the car and return for them. The same driver then went out of his on our return to get us to the airport quickly, which saved us time, so all worked out fine. I recommend this company and will highly likely use them again on our next trip.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 20. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
Everything was fantastic from the arrival: your staff, the car!!!!! Just perfect!
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 20. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
Cool Team, excellent car, nice price!
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 15. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 14. Aug 2022
We did not have a great experience with Northbound. When we arrived in Reykjavik,we had to call twice for pickup and had to wait an hour and a half after arriving at 10pm on a Saturday night. Needless to say, this was very frustrating. The Dacia we rented was acceptable. The door and body were badly dented in one area. The car was okay but smaller than we expected. Fine for 4 people, but not the 5 indicated, unless 3 very small people (i.e. children). The mats were soaking wet when we got in, so when I put a bag on the floor it got wet. We were happy to find that there was a built-in nav system, but it was clunky in how it worked and misdirected us on the way back to drop off the car, even though the drop off location was in it's system!
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 22. Aug 2022
Excellent
No problems with the car during the rental periode. Minor issue without funtional problems: A plastic part of the rear light was broken off (already at the car pick-up), so that water/rain could flow into the light (electric problems in the future? Does the police complain a damaged but working rear light in Iceland?). Very good communictaion before and during the rental periode. Low/acceptable waiting times at pick-up, return and shuttle service.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 18. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
We had a very positive experience with our rental from Lava in Iceland. We have rented from several other car rental companies in Iceland in the past, and this was probably the easiest pick-up process we've had. The shuttle driver and other employees were very friendly. We had rented a Wifi device, and it never did work properly. Lava was very happy to refund the charge for the Wifi. We did have an unfortunate door ding happen in the parking lot at Jokulsarlon. Because we had our insurance through our credit card company, and not through Lava, we are still working through the details of that. I will let you know if we have any problems wrapping that up. Overall, I felt like the rental was a great value. The car was clean and reliable, and the service was prompt and friendly.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 16. Aug 2022
Excellent
Good option to camp economically in Iceland, with the necessary elements to be comfortable, the vehicle everything and having some small damage went correctly. Overall good choice.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 15. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
Very friendly staff during pickup and drop-off. I was upgraded to a Toyota RAV4 which was really clean, in great condition, and had no issues the entire trip. The mobile WiFi also worked great. I would highly recommended Lava Car Rental to anyone else!
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 13. Aug 2022
Good
Generally speaking it was ok, no issues during our road trip. But we'd like to point out the below aspects: - car fleet should be renewed considering the 230.000km of our Duster - car fleet should be fixed considering the evident damages found on the car - rear camera did not work since the beginning Believe the above can be useful for all the future customers.
rented a vehicle in August 2022
Submitted 09. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 07. Aug 2022
Fantastic!
Nice ride with everything needed to go camping. Had problems with the side door coming off track and doesn't have an inside door latch.
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 06. Aug 2022
Good
It was a easy pick up and drop off but I wished the tires were looked at before I was handed the car. A day into our weeks rental the tire could not be repaired so had to buy a brand new tire for a car I was only planning on driving for few additional days.
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 04. Aug 2022
Fantastic!
It drove well. The van's sliding door was a frequent problem, since it was very difficult to close from the outside and could not be opened from the inside at all.
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 18. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
We really liked the camper. The contact with Northbound and Lava Rental Car went smoothly. After a day we had problems with the heating of the camper. The next day they came to exchange the camper. Great service! The pick-up and drop-off at the airport also went smoothly. In short, recommended to book a motorhome here. We had 2 fantastic weeks in this beautiful country! Joost & Annelies
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 01. Aug 2022
Outstanding!
We had an excellent experience renting through Northbound. Our vehicle was in excellent condition, had no issues our entire 10 day trip, and made experiencing Iceland incredibly easy and enjoyable. The guide magazine for things to do around the Ring Road from Lava Car Rental was super helpful as we made our way around the country. Would definitely recommend to anyone planning a trip to Iceland!
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 24. Jul 2022
Outstanding!
The car was the one we expected, even more. Lava is very efficient in logistical experience : shuttle waiting at airport, very quick to get the car, check-out in 5 minutes before being brought back to airport. Excellent service +++
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 29. Jul 2022
Hello, apparently you "upgraded" the rental we had with lava car rental (so they told us). It was, in every aspect, a downgrade. We booked a Transporter campervan and ended up with a Crafter campervan. It was bigger so used more gas and was harder to druve on dirtroads. But more importantly, it had smallers beds than the Transporter. The crafter we got had two 160 cm beds. I'm 1m95. I barely slept during this trip. I won't go any longer here, I'll post a more in depth review later. But yeah fuck this company and fuck the "upgrades". I'm putting 1 everywhere below as the way the score is calculated does NOT reflect our experience with the car. Iceland was amazing tho.
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 23. Jul 2022
Outstanding!
The car was brand new, full options and in perfect shape. The pickup and drop-off of the car was very smooth. Airport shuttle was fast.
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 19. Jul 2022
Outstanding!
Excellent Service
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 23. Jul 2022
Outstanding!
The car was perfect for our holiday. Very comfortable for 3 people with luggage. We went across the highlands twice and everything was fine. We can highly recommend this car. Lava car rental is a great company. Their shuttle service is very efficient and the whole handling of the rental process is quick and professional
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 19. Jul 2022
Great
Cool but the car was old 189000km and so little to sleep.
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 25. Jul 2022
Excellent
The car was excellent. It had already been driven for over 220.000 kilometres and when comparing with other Lava cars was definitely the oldest we saw, but it was clean, it accelerated well and as things weren't too new, we worried perhaps less! The car had some small dents and rusty bits (from the word "go" and when the car was dropped off the staff started taking photographs of all those parts, which was a bit unsettling but at the end of the day, the car was signed off! Not sure other people would have been happy with the external condition of the car.
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 12. Jul 2022
Outstanding!
We rented a Duster for the last three times we were on Iceland and it fits our needs as we like to cross the country on the gravel roads where we need a 4x4
rented a vehicle in July 2022