Reviews for Lava Car Rental in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for Lava Car Rental
Submitted 25. Jan 2023
Outstanding!
Rien à dire, tout était parfait ! Nous avions réservés un Dacia Duster qui a été le bon compromis. Prise en charge rapide à l’aéroport par navette, ainsi que retour du véhicule
rented a vehicle in January 2023
Submitted 25. Jan 2023
Fine
Good. No problem with thé car . We send an e-mail before to lava and gave thé number fly and thé horaire but there was nobody to thé chek point ! We must call lava ans waiting for thé shuttle
rented a vehicle in January 2023
Submitted 16. Jan 2023
Fine
The Land Cruiser was ideal for our trip needed all the space for 5 adults and luggage, and of course big coats! An amazing country, the service at Lava rentals was disappointing, shuttle bus was not at airport to pick us up even though they had requested flight details beforehand, when eventually got picked up the car was not there and we had to wait about for over an hour, missing our restaurant reservation, all offered was GPS and wifi, we used neither as had maps via car Apple play, on returning the car I forgot to fill tank back up as was wary of our time, was then charged 14.000kr for half tank, a full tank was only 20.000kr, the staff member needs to work on his customer service skills, no conversation at all, kind of rude which was complete opposite to our experience of the 5 days/nights travelling Iceland(not the person on arrival he was very nice and chatty), very disappointed to have been charged for the half tank after initial experience and we also took the full insurance package so I would say Lava rentals did well out of us, we will be back to Iceland as loved the country and the people, but unlikely to rent from Lava next time
rented a vehicle in January 2023
Submitted 15. Jan 2023
Outstanding!
Excellent service provided by Lava. Got the exact car that was booked in very good condition. Smooth transfer from airport to car rental, and vice versa. Minimum time spent to do paperwork, no waiting at counter. Thank you Northbound!
rented a vehicle in January 2023
Submitted 15. Jan 2023
Outstanding!
Everything went smoothly, from rental process to dropping off the vehicle at the end of our trip. No complaints about either LAVA or Northbound.
rented a vehicle in January 2023
Submitted 11. Jan 2023
Excellent
Hi, Lava Car Rental ha da very good Service and very friendly. The Car that we are Rent was perfekt for our excursions. Every time again
rented a vehicle in January 2023
Submitted 10. Jan 2023
Outstanding!
Reasonable car hire price. Accommodating staff and very clean car. Very satisfied customer.
rented a vehicle in January 2023
Submitted 11. Jan 2023
Good
We liked the booking system with Northbound, but picking up the car with Lava rentals was just okay. The man was not very helpful and when we checked the car over after he gave us the keys, we noticed the front passenger door was damaged and a little difficult to close properly. When I went back into the office, he didn't want to come and look at the problem and just told me to take a photo of it, which I did but that was difficult in the dark. When we returned the car, they asked to see the photo and we had to insist the door was already damaged when we picked it up. Everything was ok in the end, and the man that dropped us off at the airport was very kind. The car itself was the absolute minimum of what we needed, its wheelbase was quite low to the ground so we did have problems and got stuck in the snow once. I do have to stress that the weather conditions were exceptionally bad and many of the locals said that the type of snow was unusual. So not really the car's fault, but if we ever go back to Iceland in the winter, we will definitely spend extra and hire a better 4WD.
rented a vehicle in January 2023
Submitted 08. Jan 2023
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in January 2023
Submitted 09. Jan 2023
Outstanding!
The whole experince over all could not be better in my opinion. From the beginning the plan was late and the staff came inside the terminal to find us quick and then we drove off to the office to pick up the car which was brand new and in perfect condition. We had the car for five days and the trip around Iceland was awesome. When we were suppose to drop the car off i manage to drive to the wrong rental dealer and had to reverse and go back, at that moment a car drove up behind me and I bumbed in to his side causing some minor scratches on our car which felt like shit especially now when were about to return it without any damage or scratches. I knew we had the highest, at that time possible insurance but I thought that now comes the big blow and this will probably be very expensive. We signed the collision papers at the other dealer and drove to the Lava office and talked to a very nice guy which I dont remember the name of and he said he had to check with his manager considering the insurance cover pretty much everything except damage the driver causes, I felt like totaly shit considering the small damage but I know it's my fault even though they saw me reversing at the other rental but still tried to drive before me, probably stress or something but hard to blame anyone else when I obviously didn't checked the mirrors or turned my head enough. Anyhow, the guy at Lava got of the phone with his manager and said he had good news, we were free of charge because we had the best insurance and probably because the damages were small. This customer support really impressed me because you often read nightmare stories about situations like this when people have to pay a lot of money even though you thin you're fully covered by the insurance, you really feel that "they" always manage to find som stuff to rip you of, something you missed reading in the contract or so on. I'm sorry about the damage, you cant look to many times in the mirrors, especially not in a crowded and stressed out parking lot. But you let us keep a very good memory of Iceland and the people living there and not end our trip in anger or disapointment. We are coming back to Iceland in the summer time, probably around july this year and we will definetly rent the car with Lava again. Thank you for everything!
rented a vehicle in December 2022
Submitted 04. Jan 2023
Outstanding!
Great car! Did wonderful driving in snowy and icy conditions.
rented a vehicle in December 2022
Submitted 03. Jan 2023
Outstanding!
Good prices, good service, good car.
rented a vehicle in December 2022
Submitted 03. Jan 2023
Excellent
Thank you everything was seamless, easy and the vehicle was an excellent choice
rented a vehicle in December 2022
Submitted 03. Jan 2023
Excellent
This car was excellent in every regard; it handles all types of conditions (included ice, snow, rain and dry roads), and was well-equipped with lots of safety features/options to include lane departure detection, rear camera, Apple Car Play and more. It was comfortable, good handling and got good gas mileage. My only disappointment was that they would not accept American Express credit card.
rented a vehicle in December 2022
Submitted 03. Jan 2023
Outstanding!
The whole car rental experience was smooth. Everyone that we have encountered was pleasant and informative. They answered all the questions and concerns we had. From the car to the roads to the weather. They didn't hesitate to answer us or guide us in the right direction. We actually got stuck in the snow an hour into leaving the car rental company. We didn't know what to do or who to call. I called Northbound's customer service and they reassured us that they will come and get us out. Free of charge too! Within an hour of giving them our GPS location they came to pull us out. They gave us peace of mind for our whole trip, which is important in a foreign country. I highly recommend them and would rent from them again. Awesome first time experience! Thank you!
rented a vehicle in December 2022
Submitted 28. Dec 2022
Outstanding!
Excellent service from Northbound, always answered my questions, rearranged bookings because we kept having to cancel because of covid and then when we were to eventually fly there was a 2 day delay due to Kevlavik being snowed in! Cannot fault and would definitely use again.
rented a vehicle in December 2022
Submitted 02. Jan 2023
Outstanding!
Great service! The car was in perfect condition, studded tires, everything is as it should be. They gave the car clean, immediately wrote down all the scratches that it has, explained what is included and not included in the insurance. The company has a convenient transfer service, which allows you not to worry at all about how to get from / to the airport. And I was also pleasantly surprised by the office working hours, we had a flight already at 7 am and we were able to bring the car by 5 am and we were immediately taken to the airport. Perfect! In the office of the company you can take a magazine, where there is a lot of information about places to go, they also give flyers with all emergency phone numbers and traffic information websites. And as a bonus, there is a chip on the keys for receiving discounts at gas stations and coupons for free coffee. Very nice! And I want to say a special thank you to the staff. Very fast, friendly and high quality service! Thank you very much, if we come again, we will definitely take the car from LavaCar!
rented a vehicle in December 2022
Submitted 26. Dec 2022
Outstanding!
Very good, great customer service, car was fit for purpose and did great in the storms
rented a vehicle in December 2022
Submitted 22. Jan 2023
Outstanding!
I would definitely recommend Lava Car Rental. Their staff are really friendly and super helpful. They have a lovely office where you collect the car from with toilets and hot drinks available. The whole process was super easy with no hidden extras or costs.
rented a vehicle in December 2022
Submitted 13. Dec 2022
Outstanding!
Everything was on point! The van and the staff. I raccomand Lava Car Rental.
rented a vehicle in December 2022
Submitted 23. Dec 2022
Outstanding!
yes, certainly. Very good vehicle suitable for Icelandic roads
rented a vehicle in December 2022
Submitted 08. Dec 2022
Outstanding!
Really good service! Excellent experience
rented a vehicle in December 2022
Submitted 08. Dec 2022
Fantastic!
Was smooth process. I could easily reach out when I needed.
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 05. Dec 2022
Outstanding!
Superb service. Pick up and drop off was quick and easy. Car was in perfect condition, easy to drive and comfortable. Great value price for an AWD too. Will use Lava next time. Thanks.
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 04. Dec 2022
Outstanding!
The car never gave us any concerns, it was good for what we required it for, no need for fancy bells and whistles it was hired for a purpose and it fulfilled it well
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 29. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
Excellent service and great experience. Very professional
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 01. Dec 2022
Outstanding!
Everything very clear and cheapest price. Totally recommended
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 02. Dec 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 26. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
To be honest, no comment, I don’t have any words to say , I’m very happy whit the choice, perfect everything, staff , car , atmosphere, everything go very smooth
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 09. Dec 2022
Outstanding!
It drove great. It wasn't set up for the winter though... Just bare metal on the inside, made for lots of humidity and very very cold nights. Aside from that it was great. I would recommend them during the summer
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 23. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
Had a very good experience with Lava Car Rental from start to final drop off back at airport, I would recommend Lava Car Rental, plus it’s nice not to have a huge security deposit which was the main factor for me choosing Lava Cars
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 22. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
10/10
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 02. Dec 2022
Good
I'm not happy with Lava. First, they rented me a car whose gas cap was almost impossible to open. When I called customer service they were unhelpful. Then they charged me for a tiny ding on the hood. I have no idea if that occurred while I was driving, but it was inconsequential and I shouldnt have been charged.
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 21. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 15. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
Yes perfect for the conditions
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 14. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 08. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
Great, it was just what we needed at a great price. Easy pickup/ transfer etc. if I had a complaint it would be don’t polish the rubber floor Mats, too skippy. 👍
rented a vehicle in November 2022
Submitted 04. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 02. Nov 2022
Great
The experience was great and we found everything we needed to live inside the camper during our stay. The over-night heating system kept us warm while sleeping and the sleeping bags/blankets were in good condition. Unfortunately, one of the windshield wipers broke during our trip so it was quite hard for the driver to see when it rained and mostly at night.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 29. Oct 2022
Fantastic!
The car was absolutely fantastic… we definitely made the right choice and couldn’t have wished for more in a car… only slight issue was the pickup with email communications saying that I would be met by agent in departures and another saying I’d be met outside by P1 parking. I spent an hour waiting and doing laps of the airport. We were at the airport hotel and fortunately the staff there helped me phone Lava to arrange pickup. That said, this was a relatively minor issue, the lava staff were very apologetic and we were still able to get everything sorted very quickly. It didn’t detract from the fact that the lava staff and the car itself were both fantastic.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 29. Oct 2022
The worst experience of rental. They have changed the van that I've ordered with one smaller and with a broken glass. All the nights was very cold and umid because the rear of the van not covered. I will not order a car with Lava car. Regards
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 30. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
Perfect service and communication. Highly recommendwd.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 08. Nov 2022
Outstanding!
We were picked up at the hotel on time. The car we hired as planned. Highly recommended. Nos recogieron en el hotel con puntualidad. El coche que contratamos según lo previsto. Muy recomendable
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 24. Oct 2022
Great
On the first day the shuttle was at the Airport Keflavik on time. The Man who drove us to the rental-office and handed us everything was not very friendly and seems to not like what he was doing. But as we get the Car it was fine. Very clean car. It droves as were we wanted to go. But i would prefer a stronger one for the next trip. Bringing the car back was very easy. The man wich worked here was very nice. Shuttle drove as back to the Airport within 10 minutes.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 21. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
I highly recommend this enterprise. Everything was easy and went really well. Also the service in Lavacar and the guys who worked there were really nice and helpfull. Thanks
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 31. Oct 2022
Good
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 24. Oct 2022
Very Good
Wonderful booking process! Much smaller vehicle than I was expecting and it hardly seats three (small) people. However, we were really happy with how reliable it was and it's gas mileage! The only major note is that we did not learn about how the doors worked when we picked it up. There is no way to get out from the side and the backdoor opening is not clear, which caused quite a panic when we first got in. I would just recommend adding this to your overview when people pick up the vehicle. Last, it would have been great if Lava could have picked us up at the departure zone rather than the Arrivals area. Their directions were a bit confusing as it said to cross the street - we looked around everywhere for our driver, but then he just showed up about 20 mins later. It all worked out and we were so happy with Lava overall, but just a note if they are open to the feedback! :) Thank you for the overall experience and for helping us get around Iceland!
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 23. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
We loved our blue whale to drive us all across Iceland!! When we first got in it was a bit getting used to a 4x4 for me and the lights for oil and the air in the tires came on but the customer service ensured us that everything was fine with the car. And it was. It took us all the way from Reykjavik, to Vik, Hofn, back to Reykjavik and to Kirkjefell. This trip was honestly a trip of a lifetime and as a photographer I couldn’t have asked for better weather, lighting, company and a rental car. Everything went smooth from pick up to drop off and we had coupons for free coffee too. Thank you. That’s all we have to say.
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 22. Oct 2022
Outstanding!
Hello, I’m very happy with my choice of your company to rent a car in Iceland. We had zero problems with the vehicle, it had a lot of futures and was very reliable! Also I would like to thank your customer service team, they are very friendly, helpful and communicative!
rented a vehicle in October 2022
Submitted 23. Oct 2022
Good
Unfortunately, I was disappointed with my experience because the campervan I rented had a broken overnight heater and a broken cooler. I was given a replacement van on the 14th which worked fine but I still lost out on three days of my trip. I couldn't camp those days, I lost the food I put in the cooler, and had to drive over three hours to get the replacement van. All of which severely hindered my vacation. The staff was friendly, but when I went to drop off the car there was only one person working and it took a while.
rented a vehicle in October 2022