Reviews for Lava Car Rental in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for Lava Car Rental
Submitted 15. Jul 2022
Good
Although responsiveness was very good, the vehicle gps, heat, and cooler were lacking. The gps was touchy - we didn’t know when it would work and didn’t have any information about it. No idea what the LEDs meant. The heater smoked and klunked. Didn’t expect it, although it worked fine after a while. Cooler never worked more than a minute or two. Didn’t matter if van was running or not. Was told to put cooler outside instead of using the electricity at night. Ended up using ice to cool food , hard to find ice at stores. Wasted time looking for ice. Service offered to look at it, but we didn’t want to spend our vacation at the shop. Should have already been tested and working. Side door was very difficult to close. My wife had a lot of trouble with it. No problems with engine or function of vehicle.
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 16. Jul 2022
Outstanding!
Un cotxe perfecte per fer la ring route i donar la volta a la illa.
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 11. Jul 2022
Outstanding!
This was a perfect vehicle for driving in Iceland. Good mileage, comfortable ride and 4WD which allows driving on Iceland's F roads.
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 18. Jul 2022
Good
Service from LAVA was perfect ! Airportshuttle But the car was old and the sleepingbags was cold. Other cars from other tourist seem better.
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 10. Jul 2022
Good
We rented a Nissan NV200 camper van for 8 days and things were okish except for the following: - the mattresses didn’t fit the very old and cheap wooden bed frame so 2 people have issues sleeping comfortably in the bed, especially for so many nights like us - condensation on the metal roof which at some point started dripping - tires were pretty worn out, quite dangerous looking - pillow cases were dirty - the water container they provided was old and broken and some of the water leaked around the very cheap electrical system in the back - overall cheap camper for a low price On a happier note they provide 24/7 services and they have a shuttle to/from the airport which is good if you have flights at weird hours
rented a vehicle in July 2022
Submitted 08. Jul 2022
Fine
Not happy at all. We came back and was told that we had to pay for a $330 USD (45.000 KR) for a tiny pea size chip in the glass. We were extremely careful with the car and watched every where we went. Never even noticed it. We didn’t have anything hit the car. I told the guy the chip must have been there when we rented because never had anything hit. The guy that we dealt with was a nervous nelly. Not sure if he is new but he had no clue what he was doing. There was no one there to help us when we arrived. So it made us layer for our departure so I couldn’t stand there and argue. I plan on contacting my credit card company since I would have expected a manager at your store to be able to help me. Also when I arrived back with the car - one of your employees almost hit my car rental with the Tesla he was driving. He didn’t care he almost ran me over backing in while I was getting out of the car to return back to you. Then when he saw me standing - he got himself some coffee and never helped me at all. I would Love to hear back from someone as I plan on putting feedback about your company and how I was treated.
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 08. Jul 2022
Fine
The car ran well and the sleep kit, cook kit, heater,etc. We're good. On the bad side, I had to check 3 cars because each one had something wrong with it. On one the back-door didn't lock. On another the back-door didn't open from the outside. I forgot the problem with the 3rd one. In the end, we took the one with the back-door that didn't open. Not the end of the world, but not acceptable for a rental that is costing so much.
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 18. Jul 2022
Good
Car was reliable, but relatively underpowered compared to most cars passing us. Only problems were with a faulty wiper blade that needed to be repaired. We could not find any store outside of Reykavik to replace it. The other problem was that the tire pressure indicator came on 3 times over the 3 week trip indicating low pressure. The right front tire was slowly leaking and we checked and refilled all the tires each time the warning light. Both of these were reported to Lava upon returning the car.
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 03. Jul 2022
Fantastic!
It was a very good experience with the camper van and we had a nice trip in Iceland.
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 28. Jun 2022
Outstanding!
It was a great car and a great experience! We had six people in our group and although it was a tight fit sometimes it worked out well overall. It worked well on F-Roads, although we didn't do any water crossings or driving on snow so I can't speak to that capability.
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 05. Jul 2022
Outstanding!
We had a very good experience with Lava rental.The car was excellent and so did the service.
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 11. Jul 2022
Very Good
The staff was very accommodating. The van was construction could have been improved. The first van we got had a bent bed frame and wouldn’t lay out so we had to get a second van with a different bed design. They would benefit greatly from adding some Velcro pads to adhere the mattress to the bed frame as well as bungie cords to keep both the bed and gear in place.
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 29. Jun 2022
Outstanding!
Vehicle got the job done. Staff was great. Pickup and drop off were a breeze.
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 28. Jun 2022
Great
Very fine. Easy and professional service. Comfortable car.
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 30. Jun 2022
Good
Car was OK, just enough room to fit 2 persons snugly. However, the overnight heater did not last for over 2 hours, so we had to endure the cold (been raining and crazy cold) and had to sleep inside the sleeping bags. We feedback this to Lava, and staff directed us to closest repair shops, but we could not make it due to our tight travel schedule. Our request for a Vehicle exchange was declined, so we had to endure the cold for the entire trip. After the first few days, the heater totally failed to work at all..... thd cooking stove also did not work. Eventually, Lava only offered us a nominal partial refund as compensation.
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 13. Jul 2022
Good
Globally speaking, we really appreciated our trip all over Iceland which is a beautiful country with so amazing Nature. However, we have to report some problems occurred with our Nissan NV200 van. First of all, it was a van with an important mileage ( about 210 000 kms) and we encountered following issues: • auxiliary battery has been out of order from the first day with , as consequence, no heating in the van. This issue was fixed some days after by changing the battery (done by a LAVA reps). Please however note that during the last night, the heating came down again. • problems regarding the gearbox and/or the clutch. Consequence: It was sometimes difficult to shift gears, mainly first and reverse. This problem was not permanent but got worse over time. I informed LAVA in real time and they suggest me to try to finish my trip in these conditions, as far as possible, which I did. Once again, these problems did not prevent me to enjoy Iceland, but nevertheless caused me real inconveniences.
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 07. Jul 2022
Good
Unfortunately we got an accident car. The passenger door couldn’t close correctly, so it was a bit loud while driving. Furthermore the workshop light was on. The Lava Car Rental staff didn‘t want to provide us with an alternative.
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 29. Jun 2022
Good
We were very happy with the Nissan NV200 Camper. Simple, compact but everything is there.
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 26. Jun 2022
Good
We liked it It was very solid especially on rock routes
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 04. Jul 2022
Very Good
Good vehicule, confortable. OK for 4 people with bagages
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 24. Jun 2022
Good
The car was excellent, except for the tires. We got worn-down tires on our car, which were several times fixed before, as we had to realize. We got two times flat tires during the week, we had to change wheels far from any cities - a half of a weekend, and then, second time a half a day we had to run on spare wheels to find a car service. Lava Car did pay at the end for all the service costs though. The airport shuttle, and the service in general were professional. The two defects did not ruin our week, but it was very embarrassing.
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 06. Jul 2022
Outstanding!
I was very pleased with the booking process. Very good service, comfortable car at an affordable price, I think everything was recommendable
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 25. Jun 2022
Outstanding!
Perfect car for us to travel. Enough space for four people and their luggage. Economic drive. Very pleased driving
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 22. Jun 2022
Outstanding!
Perfect !
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 30. Jun 2022
Hello, I booked a Dacia Duster from Lava car rental. It was a big mistake and we had a terrible experience in Iceland. It didn't go as we expected and dreamed of. Lava people provided us an unfit vehicle to drive, a Duster that was driven already 245000 kms. There were not one but multiple issues with the car, the major one was the miss alignment of the front wheels. Because of this problem we had to change tires two times along the trip and had to skip many places that was planned. We are sorry to inform we never driven a car in such a bad condition. I would have attached a photo if it was possible. While returning the car, the mentioned about a refund and the supervisor will contact us asap. Till now after 5 days no response. Please help us if it is possible
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 14. Jun 2022
Excellent
The car was a bit out of shape: ac not working properly, left door made a lot of noise with the wind, radio connection with the iPhone via cable not working properly. However, the car was a good drive.
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 19. Jun 2022
Good
The trip was great, Iceland is a wonderful place. The Duster performance was fine, it was a little beat up and had lots of km on the odometer(269496), but it got us around and we never had any troubles with it.
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 20. Jun 2022
Outstanding!
I was extremely satisfied with the vehicle. I soon got into an organised routine and it became my cosy little home away from home. I was glad I chose an automatic because of the amount of driving I did. I was also grateful I chose a diesel as I am sure it was more fuel efficient than petrol. The staff at Lava Car Rental were very helpful. James dealt with me at both pick up and drop off. What a nice guy! The only drawback was I could not charge my phone and had to divert to a mobile phone store in Selfoss to seek advice and buy the correct socket and lead. I would advise making sure your phone charges before you leave Lava so you can ask advice if there is a problem. It might be an idea for them to have appropriate phone sockets and leads available for sale or rental there at the office to avoid any panic or distress if you find out when you are miles from nowhere. Other than that, everything was perfect.
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 19. Jun 2022
Outstanding!
Everything from the booking, car pickup, travel through the Ring Road and drop off went very smoothly. Thanks for all the folks behind the scenes at Northbound and Lava Car Rental for making it all work so well.
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 09. Jun 2022
Outstanding!
You were great! You sent updated emails, the car was great and using the Bluetooth we rented from you for our phone to use the GPS was excellent! You are efficient and we will highly recommend you!
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 14. Jun 2022
Very Good
La furgoneta funciono correctamente, venia equipada con todo lo acordado. Cumplio las expectatives y nos hi o un bien servicio. Como Punto de mejora, las colchonetas deberían ser más gruesas,
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 10. Jun 2022
Outstanding!
Pick-up and drop-off at airport was convenient and easy. Great communication emails on what to expect. The automatic van itself was easy to drive and had plenty of power. Cooking utensils are limited but work. Only disappointment was the food cooler which did not remain very cold. Overall, a great service and I will use them again next time.
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 16. Jun 2022
Fantastic!
rented a vehicle in June 2022
Submitted 08. Jun 2022
Outstanding!
Working through Northbound and Lava Car Rental was a great experience. Lava is very well organized and attentive to client needs. I actually had to call them on something and they immediately picked up the phone and told me what I needed to know. I'm a U.S.'er so not used to European style cars like the Duster but it worked out very well and we were a little sad to say goodbye to it.
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 06. Jun 2022
Fantastic!
Pickup took quite a while. Only one staff member was helping customers while more staff members were present.
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 06. Jun 2022
Good
Le véhicule avait plus de 170000 km et une des portières (avant droite) ne se fermait pas bien. Je suis étonnée que l’on loue des voitures avec autant de km … cela ne me semble pas très raisonnable au niveau sécurité. Sinon aucun souci pour les transferts du et vers l’aéroport. On signe sur un iPhone le contrat donc on ne sait pas du tout ce que l’on signe. On reçoit le contrat plus tard par mail avec des photos des endroits abimés du véhicule. Nous avions également fait des photos de notre côté et les avons envoyés au loueur mais il n’y a pas eu de souci au retour.
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 06. Jun 2022
Good
The car was very old with numerous serious dents. A lot of things didn't work well.
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 31. May 2022
Fine
The car was very damaged when we received/picked it up (it was raining and therefore hard to see) so we wrote Lava , about all the errors, but never heard from them about these issues. We where told they would look into the complaint when we returned the car, but still haven’t heard anything. We did also pay too much (but we should get our money back again. Waiting for the money to be transferer). We also but you cc on the e-mail about the errors, when we did not hear from them, but no follow up from Lava rental or your company. This is in our opinion the least to expect. Lava rental says both payment and the missing respons on e-mail is due to a new system. Perhaps, but they did answer us back regarding the wrong payment, so why could they not reply regarding the car.
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 05. Jun 2022
Excellent
Great company, great customer support, very smooth airport transfer. More gas for the cooker would have been fair. (I now know that happy campers provides you with 4 cans, lava only with one, prices are comparable)
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 30. May 2022
Great
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 29. May 2022
Excellent
Excellent car
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 01. Jun 2022
Good
The vehicle was fine, but I did have a problem near the end of my trip. I got a flat tire, the tire was not able to be removed from its cage underneath the vehicle. I had to call roadside assistance, he spent an hour with hammer and chisel getting the tire out. This is not safe, especially if I had been somewhere more remote. The tire was extremely worn down due to misalignment. Lava refunded me the very expensive roadside charge and apologized for the tire. They sure be making sure the spare tire is accessible.
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 31. May 2022
Fantastic!
we booked this car and the experience right from our booking until return went really smooth. the shuttle service to airport was really handy and is 24x7. It was a very easy process overall. Would highly recommend.
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 08. Jun 2022
Outstanding!
I couldn’t be happier with my experience renting from Lava Car rental. I really felt like the staff wanted to make sure I enjoyed my time in Iceland. The emails before arrival were super helpful. The van was easy to find. We got some good travel tips (wouldn’t have gone to Secret Lagoon!) and advice on driving in Iceland. Emails during the trip offering to answer questions were also helpful. Check out was very smooth. Dropped car and got shuttle to the airport very quickly. The car, 2019 white Dacia Duster 4x4, worked great for our family of 5. We did the full ring road but never needed the 4x4. Trunk fit 5 roller bags and several backpacks no problem. Would have loved cruise control too but the speed limiter function was good enough. Overall, highly recommend Lava Car Rental.
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 25. May 2022
Outstanding!
We loved our camper! It was pretty basic, but we didn't spend a lot of time in it except to sleep and store our stuff, so it worked for our purposes. It was also a great price so we didn't expect many bells and whistles. The rental process was easy and the van was clean, ran well, and was gas efficient. There was a check engine light on for most of the trip but they assured us when we picked up the rental that it would be fine, and it was! We drove it a lot and never had issues.
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 27. May 2022
Outstanding!
Great experience.. hopped right in shuttle upon airport arrival at 5 am, quick trip to rental location.. car was ready, clean, worked great, drop off was easy..
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 31. May 2022
Outstanding!
As a mode of transportation it was flawless, as a camper it had a couple of minor issues, like the water container leaking. Nothing too bad, just a slight nuisance.
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 01. Jun 2022
Very Good
We really enjoyed our road trip around the ring road in this van. The van itself did the job. A few things we complained about - we were given a very small cooking pot that could not make food for 2 people if 1, we were given tiny square curtains that did not keep light out of the van, one of the camp chairs we were given was broken, we are pretty sure the exhaust fan for the interior of the van did not work. We raised these complaints to the company and they responded promptly and were very kind in reimbursing us for a new pot. Overall, the van was suitable and our experience with the staff at Lava car was great, just some questionable quality depending on which car you get.
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 24. May 2022
Outstanding!
It was a perfect fit for our journey. Functional and versatile. Plenty of room for the two of us (and our too much luggage). It would easily accommodate another persona and their luggage or four people who are more efficent packers than my daughter and I were.
rented a vehicle in May 2022
Submitted 22. May 2022
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in May 2022