Reviews for Lava Car Rental in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for Lava Car Rental
Submitted 11. Mar 2019
Outstanding!
Great car and great service!
rented a vehicle in March 2019
Submitted 17. Mar 2019
Excellent
The car had all kinds of features that were necessary or comfortable for our journey. Generally it was in a good shape, despite of the missing rear window wiper. The car already had run roundabout 146.000 kilometers, but it did not feel this way.
We could trust in the car and its tires and managed all weather and road conditions.
We did never regret our decision for the car.
rented a vehicle in March 2019
Submitted 06. Mar 2019
Outstanding!
Everything worked very well. No complications and a good and informative service
rented a vehicle in February 2019
Submitted 25. Feb 2019
Outstanding!
Très bon accueil, meilleur rapport qualité prix et très bon avis sur internet, prise en charge a l'aéroport c'est parfait, très bon véhicule, je recommande ce loueur. Grâce à eux nous avons passé de très bonnes vacances.
rented a vehicle in February 2019
Submitted 16. Mar 2019
Excellent
The rental was quick easy and uncomplicated, the car was flawless and I miss it now I‘m home again. The only bad thing was that they warned me about a toll for a tunnel close to Akureyri the day I was flying back home. By then I had already gone through that tunnel and had to pay the toll and because I didn’t book the tunnel in advance, a handeling fee which was double the toll. Other than that I was very happy!
rented a vehicle in February 2019
Submitted 26. Feb 2019
Good
Good service on time and delivered what was promised. Car was great and suited our needs.
rented a vehicle in February 2019
Submitted 02. Mar 2019
Outstanding!
That was very great !!! The car was one of our companion in our trip (our headquarter :) )
We will never forget the landscape we went thank to this car :)
rented a vehicle in February 2019
Submitted 26. Feb 2019
Outstanding!
Great experience with Lava Car!
The guys were extremely professional. The Dacia Duster was the perfect car for my trip.
After my experience i can highly recommend Lava Car rental!
rented a vehicle in February 2019
Submitted 24. Feb 2019
Outstanding!
Very nice first welcome by Lava Car Rental in iceland. De appreciated the service and exelent human attitude of the team!
rented a vehicle in February 2019
Submitted 16. Feb 2019
Outstanding!
AWESOME!
Lava car rental staff is very nice & convenience to communicate. We arrived 30 minutes than flight schedule but they came on time. Returning the car also as easy as any other major rental companies.
rented a vehicle in February 2019
Submitted 19. Feb 2019
Outstanding!
Everything was perfect. Nice service, friendly people and a super price!
rented a vehicle in February 2019
Submitted 17. Feb 2019
Outstanding!
We really liked the dacia, it did a great job in all the wind and snow. The pick up at the airport was right on time and we could bring the car back at 5 in the morning. Nice guys working there. A very positive ecxperience!
rented a vehicle in February 2019
Submitted 01. Mar 2019
Outstanding!
The four-wheel drive Dacia Duster was a good car for the windy and icy conditions we encountered in February, 2019. There was room for luggage for four people, the GPS was accurate, and the diesel fuel and manual transmission were not obstacles. We had a great time and hope to return some day.
rented a vehicle in February 2019
Submitted 15. Feb 2019
Outstanding!
Very good car and service
rented a vehicle in January 2019
Submitted 15. Feb 2019
Outstanding!
Great experience, delivered exactly what we needed for a great trip
rented a vehicle in January 2019
Submitted 18. Feb 2019
Outstanding!
Sweet little SUV, snow tyres brilliant.
No complaints.
rented a vehicle in January 2019
Submitted 18. Feb 2019
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in January 2019
Submitted 26. Jan 2019
Outstanding!
Fantastic ! The staff were very punctual,polite and helpful. We did have a problem with the car ( engine management light came on and loss of power ) but this was sorted very quickly and we soon had a replacement car.I will definitely use this company again.
rented a vehicle in January 2019
Submitted 16. Feb 2019
Outstanding!
I own a ford 350 1 ton pickup and I have always had a pickup. When we arrived I wasn’t sure what to expect when I seen the Dacia Duster. I was worried about how it would handle on the ice and snow. I was very impressed. The duster was awesome and had great traction in the worst of storms. I would go back to Iceland again and rent a duster for sure. Northbound was outstanding. Customer service was great. They picked us up at the gate and delivered us back to the airport. If you are going to rent a car go with Northbound you won’t be disappointed. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
rented a vehicle in January 2019
Submitted 19. Feb 2019
Good
The car I received was pretty banged up, high mileage vehicle ~100,000km on clock. 4WD only activates during low speed driving, and the tyres were regular tyres for a January trip, no studs on. The lights consistently had to be adjusted, as the switch needed to be in "just the right position". However, it did get us everywhere we wanted to go as I drove mainly on Route 1.

Lava car rental however were good, professional and acknowledged all the faults on the car prior to giving me the keys, whether I could have asked for another.. I didn't try.
rented a vehicle in January 2019
Submitted 14. Feb 2019
Outstanding!
The experience with both Northbound and Lava was perfect. They are nice and efficient when you take the car, also they usually pick you up from the airport for free.
The car we rent was new and well kept. I would suggest both without doubts. Enjoy Iceland!!
rented a vehicle in January 2019
Submitted 14. Feb 2019
Outstanding!
Good service!
rented a vehicle in January 2019
Submitted 14. Feb 2019
Outstanding!
Great experience with Lava Car Rental. Very friendly and accomodating. Car was in great condition. Thank you, Northbound!
rented a vehicle in January 2019
Submitted 15. Feb 2019
Outstanding!
Great car rental. Easy and very helpful
rented a vehicle in January 2019
Submitted 01. Feb 2019
Excellent
Friendly and uncomplicated
rented a vehicle in January 2019
Submitted 14. Feb 2019
Outstanding!
Everything was fast and easy. There were no hold ups when we collected and dropped off the car. The car was in great condition and we had no trouble with it. Everything was just excellent. I would 100% recommend to a friend and absolutely use you again if I return to Iceland.
rented a vehicle in January 2019
Submitted 14. Feb 2019
Outstanding!
Northbound had the lowest price we could find and Lava Rental provided a great experience. Truly a breeze. As soon as we came out of the airport, Lava Rental representative was waiting for us, drove 5-10min to the rental place and it took literally 5min to be on the road. That's the beauty of booking and renting from a local well-managed company. Thanks.
rented a vehicle in January 2019
Submitted 14. Feb 2019
Fine
Lava car rentals didn't have any of our details when we arrived at the airport, it was just by chance that someone else was being picked up by them, the reason being is that we booked the day before and so wasn't as yet on the system?! Not good enough, however the driver sorted us out with a vehicle which was good, however the Dacia Duster was a bit of a brute!! ok I guess if you want a 4x4 on the cheap!!!
rented a vehicle in January 2019
Submitted 14. Feb 2019
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in January 2019
Submitted 06. Jan 2019
Outstanding!
The Dacia Duster was the perfect car for our Iceland adventure. It was easy to drive & handled the roads well.
rented a vehicle in December 2018
Submitted 12. Jan 2019
Outstanding!
The rental process was quick and easy. We waited about 15 minutes at the airport but it was the holidays and very busy. Staff were very helpful with the car information. We had no issues. Check in and out process was easy.
rented a vehicle in December 2018
Submitted 07. Jan 2019
Excellent
All went very well
Cheap prices
Old car but did the job well
rented a vehicle in December 2018
Submitted 14. Feb 2019
Outstanding!
It was great! Good transfer to and from the airport and the car ran well.
rented a vehicle in December 2018
Submitted 15. Feb 2019
We had a good experience with the Service of Lava Car Rental but the Car was in really bad shape!
Both Main light Bulps where damaged, we realized it when we where in the north. The automatic Window on the passenger side did not close anymore, the passenger door was damaged and had no stopper.
The Team tried to help us but there was no other car available to switch.

Br Marc

rented a vehicle in December 2018
Submitted 14. Feb 2019
Outstanding!
It was fantastic the Duster was just what we needed
rented a vehicle in December 2018
Submitted 13. Feb 2019
Outstanding!
It was perfect! everything so good. I want to come back and of course I will rest with you again.
rented a vehicle in December 2018
Submitted 13. Feb 2019
Outstanding!
The Lava team were very helpfull and the car is good. I think a few more signs on th eroad to help find the location at night would be great. Iceland was a lovely location the people were all very friendly and helpful. the resturannts were good no complaints about the short vacation.
rented a vehicle in December 2018
Submitted 17. Dec 2018
Outstanding!
amazing great staff great car! not like the normal rental company trying to bleed you of money! best car rental experience ever!
rented a vehicle in December 2018
Submitted 25. Dec 2018
Outstanding!
Excellent service! Flight was 4.5 hours late in arriving and LAVA kept abreast of flight status and contact with us. Pick up went smoothly, paperwork easy, and drop off went without a hitch.
I would highly recommend LAVA.
rented a vehicle in December 2018
Submitted 20. Feb 2019
Outstanding!
This was a great choice when visiting. Don't have any concerns with the location being outside the terminal. We where off in our SUV in less than 15-20 minutes including the shuttle. (Faster than the big rental companies we are all familiar) No high pressure tactics but a friendly atmosphere. I would 100% rent from here again.
rented a vehicle in December 2018
Submitted 29. Nov 2018
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in November 2018
Submitted 18. Mar 2019
Outstanding!
GREAT SERVICE AND GREAT SELECTION OF CARS.....THANKS
rented a vehicle in November 2018
Submitted 02. Jan 2019
Outstanding!
Renting through Northbound was so easy, and the price was the best I could find anywhere for our trip. Lava Car Rental was fantastic (great service, super convenient, immediate communication, painless return), and we absolutely loved taking our Dacia Duster all around Iceland for five days!
rented a vehicle in November 2018
Submitted 30. Nov 2018
Outstanding!
Despite our delay with our flight and luggage, the pick-up at the airport was well taken care off. The check-in was quick. The car was as promised, clean and in a good condition. Because of our early flight, the Lava office was closed, so we could leave the car at the airport parking. Very convenient.
rented a vehicle in November 2018
Submitted 26. Nov 2018
Outstanding!
The car was excellent (Dacia Duster incl heated seats and sat nav). Loved it. I minded the car like it was my own. Prompt pick up from airport. Staff were friendly. Some good tips also at collection point (like being aware of doors opening too quickly when it is windy).

The day I collected, the weather was truly awful (sheets of rain and very very windy). The only suggestion I would have for Lava is that when picking up the car (even in weather like that), a member of staff come with you when inspecting the car.
rented a vehicle in November 2018
Submitted 21. Nov 2018
Outstanding!
Simply great rental company :) We've arrived to the airport in Keflavik where one of the guys from Lava Car rental has been waiting for us. The renting didn't take long and we got a coffee from them as well, what a nice touch to the whole experience. The car was nice, clean, so overall experience was great. I highly recommend this company to get a car in Iceland! Thanks again!
rented a vehicle in November 2018
Submitted 21. Nov 2018
Outstanding!
Dacia Duster is a perfect car for travel in Iceland
rented a vehicle in November 2018
Submitted 12. Nov 2018
Outstanding!
The service was excellent from start to finish. I was able to easily amend the booking as my plans changed. We were met at the airport promptly despite our flight being early and taken by minibus to the Lava premises (only about 5 minutes). The staff were all really friendly and helpful. We were provided with a discount key tag for OB/Olis fuel and a car which was in excellent condition - we were pleasantly surprised to find it had heated seats and Sat Nav and it appeared to be a high spec than the other hundreds of Dusters we came across during the week. The car itself performed excellently and I would not hesitate to use them again! Highly recommend.
rented a vehicle in November 2018
Submitted 18. Nov 2018
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in November 2018
Submitted 11. Nov 2018
Excellent
generally a good experience. car was excellent . the only negative was the manager at Lava. He needs to be more respectful of his customers. I was not advised when I checked out the car that it has to he returned washed. We returned the car muddy from.our last day travels. If I had known this was a policy I would have washed car. In the US this is not even a question, washing the car by rental car company is a given. This policy was pointed out but in very small print when I returned car but upon check out I didnt read the entire small print. Since this is a different policy than I am used to after 35 years of renting cars It should have been told to us. Heres the main issue I had with the manager., We received the car dirty. We had to stop on our journey to wipe down the windows so we could see. When i pointed this out at check in after we were advised of their clean car policy, they disputed my account. basically telling me this wasnt the case and i am making up a story. My wife had to intervene and tell the manager we ABSOLUTELY received a dirty car upon check out. We also waited an hour for lthe pick.up shuttle which was a little disappointing but still not too bad. . They ended up acquiescing and did not charge a ckeaning fee so that was good and we thanked them for this. our shuttle driver was awesome and I give him a A+ very friendly and informative. overall I would rent from Lava on my next trip I would just hope they can believe there customers and not make them stressed out.
rented a vehicle in November 2018