Reviews for Lava Car Rental in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for Lava Car Rental
Submitted 15. Nov 2018
Outstanding!
Perfect! Nice and polite people. Great coffee provided while u wait
rented a vehicle in November 2018
Submitted 08. Nov 2018
Outstanding!
Excellent, the car was clean and ready to turn around the whole island. I will repeat this service if I have the chance to go back to Iceland
rented a vehicle in November 2018
Submitted 10. Nov 2018
Outstanding!
Excellent experience
Very accomadating staff
rented a vehicle in October 2018
Submitted 05. Nov 2018
Outstanding!
Excellent
rented a vehicle in October 2018
Submitted 02. Nov 2018
Outstanding!
Great service at a great price.
rented a vehicle in October 2018
Submitted 02. Nov 2018
Outstanding!
Great car and company, we hadn’t got any problems with renting or returning it
rented a vehicle in October 2018
Submitted 05. Nov 2018
Outstanding!
Everything was as expected, great client service and very competitive price
rented a vehicle in October 2018
Submitted 08. Nov 2018
Outstanding!
Lava car was a very good choice. We were picked up on time at the airport, everything was fast and easy. The car was great, we were very satisfied.
rented a vehicle in October 2018
Submitted 05. Nov 2018
Outstanding!
Great experience! If you're renting a car in Iceland, I would absolutely recommend Lava Car Rental. As I wasn't sure sure how long it would take us to go through customs when we arrived, I had requested a pick up at 6:00 a.m. even though our flight arrived at 4:45 a.m. Customs was quick and by the time we got our luggage, we were ready by 5:15 a.m. I thought we would have to wait 45 minutes, however, Alex, who picked us up, had been monitoring the flight status and was there by 5:20 a.m. He brought us to the office, made us THE BEST coffee ever, went over everything about the rental and we were on our way in no time. The car was exactly what we ordered and in great shape. The drop off was just as easy as the pick up. All in all, we had a fantastic experience and I would recommend this company to anyone.
rented a vehicle in October 2018
Submitted 22. Nov 2018
Excellent
rented a vehicle in October 2018
Submitted 31. Oct 2018
Outstanding!
Easy communication, great service, and valuable price. 10/10 :)
rented a vehicle in October 2018
Submitted 30. Oct 2018
Outstanding!
It was a great experience thanks to a really friendly staff.
rented a vehicle in October 2018
Submitted 11. Nov 2018
Excellent
Practically new car for reasonable price.
In October we were very helpful with 4x4, higher clearance and AUT with manual gear option.
Not to mention the heated steer wheel and seats
rented a vehicle in October 2018
Submitted 29. Oct 2018
Outstanding!
Overall very good.
We did have to wait for 20-30 minutes for the meet and greet when we arrived and they claimed they did not know our flight number which was clearly stated on the reservation confirmation form.
When I was selecting this Tucson, the photo of the car on the website is misleading as there is a panoramic sunroof clearly shown on the 2018 model, which did impact my decision to rent the car. The car we received did not have a panoramic sunroof, so I did feel somewhat misled but didn't say anything as it was indeed a 2018 model with all of the other options I was hoping for.
Otherwise, the guys at Lava were good and the transition on both ends of the experience was smooth.
rented a vehicle in October 2018
Submitted 26. Oct 2018
Outstanding!
Excelente producto,buen precio
rented a vehicle in October 2018
Submitted 31. Oct 2018
Good
Hi Runar, Without being prompted, I wouldn't have written to you, as I was mostly satisfied. Since you asked, and your company is new, these comments may be helpful. My husband and I are not complainers, these are merely observations.
The person who picked us up from the airport was friendly, helpful, kind, funny. He loaded the luggage in and out, cant say enough nice about him. What could have been improved upon was a bit of a tutorial on the car. Many north Americans only drive standard, and although my husband and I learned on sticks, we had a hard time finding reverse (pull up), and the trunk (boot) release on the Dacia need to be explained Both of these things caused some stress on the first day, not a big thing, but would have helped up immensely.
Last thing to comment on, the front tires were bald. We ran into some pretty bad weather in Akureyri. I would recommend your company to anyone for the ease and cost. A tutorial of the car would be helpful and better tires coming into the winter months would elevate you to a level 5.
rented a vehicle in October 2018
Submitted 25. Oct 2018
Good
The car itself was ok in terms of functionality , however the car looked like it was an older model than what I booked and also the GPS never worked ( I am glad I end up getting wifi because if not I don't know how we would have done). Further, the car needs to be aligned . Also, they supposed to pick us up at 5:30 am and they pick us up 1 hour later which delayed our schedule. Other than that the car worked.
rented a vehicle in October 2018
Submitted 30. Oct 2018
Outstanding!
I was very pleased with the rental car, the service provided and the process of checking out and in with the car. It was easy and I experienced nothing but professional and courteous customer service! I would recommend and use Lava car rental and Northbound again!
rented a vehicle in October 2018
Submitted 24. Oct 2018
Outstanding!
It was perfect.
rented a vehicle in October 2018
Submitted 25. Oct 2018
Good
The customer service was great, friendly faces and everyone was helpful. Very much appreciated the pick up from the airport. Although the actual car itself wasn't as great. It had a huge dent on one side, and the door didn't properly close, so cold air would come in. The manual shifter was also temperamental. It also almost didn't start a few times which was a little scary considering we are in a foreign country with not much cell service. The car was also a lot smaller than it appeared online. We wished it was larger since there were four of us. I gave a low rating just for the condition of the car - everything else was great.
rented a vehicle in October 2018
Submitted 24. Oct 2018
Excellent
Nous avons été très satisfait de l'expérience avec Lava Car. Tout s'est bien passé et le personnel était très sympathique. Merci à vous.
rented a vehicle in October 2018
Submitted 21. Oct 2018
Excellent
Generally fine. Your team had the very good fortune of having about ten of us waiting to be picked up to be taken to your car rental site at the very same time. Good for you but a bit unnerving for the clients. You see, I had to go get the car and navigate by myself in an unknown place back to the airport to pick up my wife and bags because your rental van could not accommodate all your clients. It wasn’t hard but for a few moments it was a bit disconcerting. Roundabouts, traffic and a car I am not familiar with makes for tentative driving and decisions.
Other than that the experience was fine. The car handled well and got us where we wanted to go.
rented a vehicle in October 2018
Submitted 19. Oct 2018
Outstanding!
Absolutely amazing. Great people. Very good prices. Will recomend to everyone going to Iceland.
rented a vehicle in October 2018
Submitted 18. Oct 2018
Outstanding!
Excellent! Great value for price paid.
rented a vehicle in October 2018
Submitted 22. Oct 2018
Outstanding!
The employees at Lava Car Rental were extremely helpful and kind with information of the vehicle and of the surrounding area. Vehicle was clean and well equipped for the weeklong journey. I would recommend Northbound for anyone visiting the beautiful landscape of Iceland. Thank you
rented a vehicle in October 2018
Submitted 21. Oct 2018
Outstanding!
100% happy with Lava Car Rental! Great car, owner manual included, fast airport pickup/dropoff (5 min drive, easy check in/out), able to extend rental by 2 days and 4 hours and didn't pay a full day for the extra 4 hours. Even with FULL coverage (every option they offered) and GPS, the car was less expensive than any other company out there.

Great car, great service, and I was happy to support the locals:-)
rented a vehicle in October 2018
Submitted 19. Oct 2018
Outstanding!
Really good, very attentive personnel, got picked up at the airport on time and dropped off on time when returning the car. I had a query before collecting the car and this dealt with quickly. Happy with the car and fuel economy and special thank you to Alex
rented a vehicle in October 2018
Submitted 22. Oct 2018
Outstanding!
Painless, quick, great prices.
rented a vehicle in October 2018
Submitted 31. Oct 2018
Outstanding!
Lava car rental provide a great service. Our flight was delayed by a few hours but as we walked through arrivals they were there patiently waiting! We had a fantastic week in a dacia duster exploring Iceland. Sat nav made life lots easier! There was a bit of waiting around when returning the vehicle as there was no staff working! Eventually somebody did turn up. Thanks northbound for making it easy to choose a rental and get a good price too.
rented a vehicle in October 2018
Submitted 15. Oct 2018
Outstanding!
My experience with Northbound is very positive. Once I chose the SUV, at a very reasonable price, I received a confirmation letter from the company. The SUV was exactly what I was looking for and as described by the company. A well done job. Many thanks. I will use your services again. Cheers. Avi, Canada.
rented a vehicle in October 2018
Submitted 08. Oct 2018
Outstanding!
We loved it. Perfect for our trip around the island! Had everything we needed. Price was really great for what we got. I would definitely recommend it!
rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 07. Oct 2018
Outstanding!
Everything was smooth. Even when I called about check engine sign, they assured me that everything should be ok and let us keep the car for the rest 3 days
rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 19. Oct 2018
Outstanding!
Our experience with Lava Car Rental was excellent. Once we found the Lava representative at the airport we were transported to the Lava rental area and promptly completed paperwork, received our vehicle and were on the road. The only recommendation I have for Lava Car Rental is to include a small map with their paperwork so when travelers are returning their car they know where to go. Lava Car Rental is not in the same area as most car rental companies so it took us a while to figure out where their office was.
rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 04. Oct 2018
Outstanding!
Our experience was excellent. We were met at the crazy, busy airport at 7:30 am. No problem, got instructions and were off in our Duster for 10 days. The car was great. No problems. Made it around the whole island. Duster got us to the West Fjords, Red Beach, Mývatn, to the east (definitely trickiest part where the Ring Road becomes a gravel mountain pass - in the snow), south and back to the Lava office. Since most cars in the States are automatic, it took a short time to get used to shifting again, but couldn’t have done it with an automatic

Would recommend Northbound and Lava without hesitation.

Nancy McHugh
rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 01. Oct 2018
Outstanding!
good dependable car
rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 01. Oct 2018
Good
In general, good experience and good attention in the Lava Rental Car office. They provide transport from the Keflavik airport to Lava office, and return. The car was relatively new and worked well. Extra insurance is convenient, but expensive. In my opinion, good service for driving trough Iceland.
rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 27. Sep 2018
Outstanding!
Our car rental experience was very good. We had quick checkin/checkout, the car was clean and mechanically sound. When I got back to the airport I noticed I had left my phone in the car. I called their number and they went out and found my phone and quickly drove it to the airport and hand delivered it to me! Thanks for going above and beyond with your service.
rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 21. Sep 2018
Outstanding!
We had a great experience with Lava for our car rental needs in Iceland. The pick-up from the airport was easy and the location is very close by. There were no long lines to wait in, unlike most of the other rental car desks in the airport. The return was similarly easy and we were at the airport for check-in within 10 minutes of pulling in to return the car.
rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 22. Sep 2018
Outstanding!
We had a great experience all around. A representative was at the airport to pick us up when we arrived. The Lava office is just a short drive away from the airport. Both the check-in and check-out process was a breeze. The staff was friendly and helpful. The car itself was clean when we received it and ran well the entire week. Great gas mileage.
rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 25. Sep 2018
Outstanding!
Excellent
rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 19. Sep 2018
Outstanding!
I hightly recommend. Everything was set up perfectly and staff was very nice!
rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 27. Sep 2018
Outstanding!
Easy to do business with, I have no complaints. Was easily able to compare prices and make my decision to rent a Dacia Duster from Lava Car Rental.
rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 17. Sep 2018
Good
hello
i gave you 4 from five not because the car, the car are 5 from 5
because you gave me front right wheel was bed, i didn`t notice as i take the car,
only little vibration above 70 kph.and after 3 days i replce the wheel.
rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 09. Sep 2018
Outstanding!
Northbound was an excellent way to find an affordable and reliable rental car from Lava Auto in Iceland. We would highly recommend them and their affiliates to others. Thank you for providing this services!
rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 15. Sep 2018
Outstanding!
We had a great experience with Lava car rental. Booking was easily done online and price was reasonable. Someone was waiting for us at the airport and he was very gracious when we were late because of spending some time in the duty free shop...thank you. Checking in and pickup was easy and fast. Our 2018 Hyundai Tucson performed perfectly, even on the famous Icelandic nonpraved roads. We had the car for two weeks so spent a lot of time in the car on the ring road. It was comfortable for four and handled all our luggage. We rented a diesel and staff went over the car thoroughly and showed us how to use the navigator and other features. We were pleasantly surprised at the gas mileage we got. Lava provided us with a gas discount card and we had no problem finding gas stations along the route..even got a free cup of coffee at the gas stations
rented a vehicle in August 2018
Submitted 02. Oct 2018
Outstanding!
I've read the many reviews online about car rental companies in Iceland (scam scam scam) so I was a little worried during the booking. Lava Car Rental was one of the few with overall good reviews. So i decided to book a Hyundai Tucson from this company for almost $900 (9 days). Yep! That's a lot of money but it seems to be the normal price in Iceland when you book at the last minute. Northbound was 10% cheaper from the company website, so I booked my car here.
The car was brand new with only 6000km. I did not pick any additional insurance (I am covered with American Express) and the guy at the front desk did not try to force me to take any.
We did a quick check of the car as it was perfect (no scratches, etc). We took some pictures to make sure that it was ok. Note: I emailed Lava Car Rental few weeks before my trip to ask for a brand new car.
During our trip, we used the car quite a lot. We drove on the inland roads with a lot of gravel and rocks. We were a little worried at the time but nothing really happened to the car. We washed the car at a gas station (it is free in Iceland).

During the drop off, they looked at the car quickly and did not try to scam us with fake claims. I asked the employee to write the state of the vehicle on our contract to avoid any delayed claim.

Overall very happy with the rental. It was very expensive but it was worth it. We definitely needed a SUV for our trip and the one we got was awesome.

Without a doubt, I recommend LAVA CAR RENTAL ! Best car rental in Iceland! Northbound also is a great platform and offered a cheaper price than directly on the car rental website.

Thanks LAVA CAR and Northbound!
rented a vehicle in August 2018
Submitted 23. Sep 2018
Outstanding!
Excellent. Good communication and attention, very obliging and good advice. Car was in top condition and perfect for the extensive and varied driving we did. Recommend the Rav4 - sturdy, reliable, comfortable and roomy. Highly recommended car hire experience.
rented a vehicle in August 2018
Submitted 14. Sep 2018
Outstanding!
Very good experience generally. They are just two things that could be improved: (1) the tire repair kit in the car was useless: rounded wrench because of very low quality. We got 2 flat tires during our 3-week trip and both times we had to wait for another car to come and ask them to lend us their wrench to unscrew our tire and replace it with our spare tire. (2) The person at the reception of Lava Auto was a bit unfriendly when we gave back the car. Professional yes, but a bit rude. Except from that the car was clean and in good condition, and we really enjoyed the Olis tag that allowed us to get free coffee in their stations.
rented a vehicle in August 2018
Submitted 29. Aug 2018
Outstanding!
Hello,
my travel to Iceland was really a great getaway, each day I found-out new landscapes, it was really magical, my expérience with Lava was also great, guys were kind and helpful, I'll recommend you to my friends.
thanks you very mutch
Best regards,
rented a vehicle in August 2018
Submitted 29. Aug 2018
Excellent
Overall good experience but had to wait for an hour for our car after arriving at the rental place which put us behind schedule. This was 1.5 hours after the time we had scheduled. They were apologetic and offered us snacks while we waited. The car was nice and the WiFi router was great (if we knew this came with the car, we wouldn’t have rented the GPS). Quick service when we dropped off the car.
rented a vehicle in August 2018