Reviews for A Car Rental in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for A Car Rental
Submitted 14. Jul 2021
Outstanding!
Hello Northbound team
Taking it short:
- customer support: 5 (excellent), although we didn't have to overuse it
- car: 5 (excellent), no problems, no surprises, trustworthy Suzuki Jimny
- pick up, drop off: 5 (excellent), on time

Thank you and regards
Adam
rented a vehicle in July 2021
Submitted 27. Jan 2020
Outstanding!
Online rental worked fine. Car was waiting at the airport in excellent condition and with a full tank. I especially appreciated new winter tires during the heavy winter storms. The return was super flexible and they picked up the car with 10 minutes warning time.. (I had a bus to catch ;). Superb, warm recommendation.

BTW; it's a small family owned local business which is nice as well. At least not funding the republicans (har har).
rented a vehicle in January 2020
Submitted 07. Jan 2020
Outstanding!
Loved it - it was an incredibly easy booking process, including making changes along the way via email, and the pick up and drop off was smooth and personal. The car was excellent also.
rented a vehicle in December 2019
Submitted 25. Sep 2019
Excellent
Hiring the car was seamless, it was delivered to our hotel and we were met at the airport short stay car park where the car was collected - great service. Car was in really good condition, drove well and was spotlessly clean. Just don`t order the map!
rented a vehicle in September 2019
Submitted 19. Aug 2019
Outstanding!
Chose Northbound after reading some great reviews online. I was not disappointed. Booking was straightforward and immediate. Communication from the company throughout was superb. The vehicle was just what we needed and in excellent condition. Pickup and drop off all went super smoothly, even to the extent that they found my sons AirPods in the car and will post them back to us. Will definitely use Northbound again.
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 03. Aug 2019
Outstanding!
we had an excellent experience, we picked up the car at our appartment,
all was as we wanted, nice, clean and good car
rented a vehicle in July 2019
Submitted 17. Mar 2019
Outstanding!
I recently rented a Mitsubishi Outlander for our South Coast winter Iceland trip. I found Northbound.is very professional, they were very flexible with the pickup and drop off times, the vehicle was clean, lots of space to accommodate three people and luggage, it handled the challenging road conditions great with auto 4x4 mode always on.
I would highly recommend Norhbound.ie, they are great value for money and I will certainly be using them on my next Icelandic adventure.
rented a vehicle in March 2019
Submitted 18. Sep 2018
Outstanding!
Easy and pleasant experience. Simple and pleasant experience. The man from the company and the car is at the airport when we arrived, just getting ready to drive after reviewing the rental terms. When we were leaving we returned the car at the airport again.
rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 23. Aug 2018
Outstanding!
The guys were amazingly friendly and easy to deal with at pick up / drop off. I sent an inquiry before renting and that person responded quickly and was very helpful as well.

I had an Outlander, and I could have used something with a little bigger tires, or more rugged tires and additional ground clearance for those F roads. Might want to steer people towards something like that if there is any interaction before they book.

That's it, great experience.
rented a vehicle in August 2018
Submitted 21. Aug 2018
Outstanding!
The experience was great. Connecting at the airport went smoothly as well as drop off. The Suzuki Jimny performed well even driving through the rivers. The rental car rep. provided some great tips on driving in Iceland. All in all I have no complaints.
rented a vehicle in August 2018
Submitted 08. Aug 2018
Outstanding!
We didn’t get a RAV4, but a Mitsubishi Outlander. It was brand new and all right to drive. Ivar who was our contact person was kind and reliable and everything went perfect. We are truly satisfied with the booking that we had to change and everything was easy and effortless. Very good service.
rented a vehicle in July 2018
Submitted 13. Aug 2018
Outstanding!
Easy and professional procedure. No problems so far
rented a vehicle in July 2018
Submitted 29. Jul 2018
Good
hello, the car is so good appropiate to discover Iceland, but our experience unlucky it's no perfect, when We just arrived to airport no one was here, so We call to comes here… :(
and the return, when driving in a road 1, a big truck in a speed just move the grave to the
windscreen of the car, and produces a Little damage, so We can to pay 15000kr...
rented a vehicle in July 2018
Submitted 25. Jul 2018
Outstanding!
Very good. They were super helpful, met us at the airport

I wanted them to change the windscreen wipers and they did it without question and came to us to do it.

Great service, no questions about gravel damage or any hassle at all.

Fully recommend.
rented a vehicle in July 2018
Submitted 21. Jul 2018
Excellent
Excellent! Pick up and drop off at our hotel was quick and easy. The representative was very friendly. The car was small, and not new, but that’s what we paid for. Wish there were more amenities that could be filtered when searching for cars. We probably would have paid extra for cruise control and an audio auxiliary jack.
rented a vehicle in July 2018
Submitted 18. Jul 2018
Outstanding!
Very easy! Met at the airport with the car and left with it. Loved the service - friendly, timely and thorough. Would rent through Northbound again. Thank you!
rented a vehicle in July 2018
Submitted 07. Aug 2017
Outstanding!
My experience from A Car Rental was great, the guy who gave me the car (I wish I could remember his name) was extremely helpful and friendly. I also met him at the airport to drop off the car which he made easy. We got the car we expected and it was great on our whole trip.
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 30. Jul 2017
Outstanding!
We had a great experience using this car rental service. We actually did not get the Suzuki Jimmy because they were out, so we got a very nice upgrade to a Toyota SUV (do not recall the name). The service was excellent and better priced than international car rental agencies!
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 30. Jul 2017
Outstanding!
We had a great experience with A Car Rental (Northbound) and have no reservations about recommending this company to fellow travelers. We compared many car rental agencies -
and some were just outrageous in price - liked what we saw, rolled the dice and went with them. The car (a little 4x4 Suzuki automatic) was exactly what we required and we had no issues with it - we took it everywhere around Iceland - into the West Fjords, and completely around the country - even got lost on an "F" Road or two - 16 days and over 3,000 kms later - and it was always reliable. Our Iceland contact was great - he met us at the airport, walked us to the car and took the time to explain the vehicle and give directions and tips. So happy we chose this company over a large global corporation directly - as I I feel A Car Rental and Northbound gave us superior personalized service (and at a much better rate with no hidden fees). Always happy to support local businesses.
rented a vehicle in July 2017
Submitted 24. Feb 2017
Outstanding!
Very friendly staff, easy to get hold of on the phone and smooth delivery/pick up of the vehicle
rented a vehicle in February 2017
Submitted 06. Feb 2017
Outstanding!
The car was delivered to our apartment on time and in excellent condition, we chose the vehicle for driving inland on icy roads Runar gave good advice for our journey, and as we were returning the car to the airport , also gave advice on the journey times, he met us promptly and handover was quick and courteous, we would not hesitate to recommend this company.
rented a vehicle in January 2017