Reviews for Route 1 in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for Route 1
Submitted 27. Aug 2020
Excellent
Good experience with Geysir cars rental, the car was clean but with little stuff broken.
But it wasn't a problem for us.
We used a key box to pick up and give back the Duster. Easy!
The agency is around 7 min walking from Keflavik airport.
We drive all around the road number 1 and Landmannalaugar.
Everything was perfect.
Thank's
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 23. Aug 2020
Good
good experience with this funny but efficient car
rented a vehicle in August 2020
Submitted 26. Jul 2020
Good
A few days before our rental we informed if an upgrade to a 4WD would be possible but unfortunately we didn't receive reaction before our rental pick up time. When we showed up at the address were we would pick up our car it turned out the office had moved to the domestic airport (due to corona) and after a few calls we got a ride there. Geysir said this was Northbounds fault but Northbound said this was Geysirs fault. The Dacia Duster now wasn't available so that was a bummer. I must say things didn't start great, but we received a compensation from Northbound which we appreciated. I think we just had bad luck, but it wasn't quite what we'd expected.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 20. Jul 2020
Excellent
General experience was very good.
Booking via the website was straightforward and easy; prices were very good.
There was some mix-up when picking up the car (in the confirmation it said we had to pick it up at Harpa, but it turned out that we were meant to pick it up elsewhere), but that was all sorted very well and quickly. Also the initial car had a problem with starting, but that can be understood after the covid-19 period where it may not have been used (much). That too was sorted very well.
Contact on the road was also immediate and helpful. Pick-up at the end went smoothly.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 09. Sep 2019
Good
We did not receive a RAV4 - we received a Ford SUV.
Pros - vehicle held all our bags and was comfortable. It got us everyplace we wanted to go. Young lady working at the office quickly changed GPS to English.

Cons - tire light was on and the young lady working said it would go off and the tires were fine, it was because of the diversity of the weather. It never went off upon checking tire pressure at a gas station found right front tire had 24 pounds of air - yes TWENTY-FOUR instead of the required 44. Two other tires had 50 pounds and the other 36 pounds. We corrected the air pressure and everything was fine. GPS was a disappointment and not worth the money. We used my phone and a regular paper map. When we returned the car there was no on in the front area. I could see two men laughing and doing things on a computer in the back and one looked up and saw me but went back to what he was doing. After about 10 minutes he finally came out and asked if I was being helped and quickly jumped into action, did a quick check of our vehicle and said all was fine and got us on our way.
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 04. Sep 2019
Good
Hi Runar, we did not receive a Toyota, it was a Hyundai which was surprisingly pleasant to drive. the GPS we rented was not very easy to use and often created more frustration than usefulness.
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 29. Jul 2019
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in July 2019
Submitted 12. Jul 2019
Good
It was a nice experience.
rented a vehicle in July 2019
Submitted 14. Oct 2018
Outstanding!
Our experience with Route 1 was fantastic. The vehicle was all by new, the staff were friendly and helpful, pick up and return super easy. The only one comment I have is that the Route 1 logo is NOT included on the shuttle bus sign from the airport terminal, so it's a little confusing (it's the 3rd stop), but other than that a great experience.
rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 22. Sep 2018
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 02. Oct 2018
Good
When I came to take my car, I found out that there is no more Route1 company, and company called Geysir bought them. It was reallly wired.
rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 25. Sep 2018
Good
Overall, our experience was good and I would use Route 1 again.
rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 18. Sep 2018
Outstanding!
Except from the fact that the actual rental company I dealed with was called Geysir Car Rental and not Route 1 (never read this name anywhere) my experience was absolutely great. I read a lot of bad reviews and stories about car rental companies in Iceland and I am very happy that it all turned out so well! Thank you very much. I will definitely recommend you guys!
rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 08. Sep 2018
Good
We had a pleasant overall experience with our car rental from Geysir during the recent trip to Iceland. Along with the car we also purchased additional driver insurance and portable wifi. The portable wifi charger didn't work the entire trip and we were not able to use the wifi on our trip. This caused us inconvenience and me and my wife had to use international data and pay additional money for that. When we returned the car we mentioned it to the car rental staff and she said she was not able to do anything. She told us to speak with the car rental company supervisor or Northbound where we initially booked the rental from.
Please look into this for me and we would like to get a refund on the portable wifi charges. Our rental Agreement # is 93950.
rented a vehicle in August 2018
Submitted 04. Sep 2018
Outstanding!
My wife and I have just finished an amazing fly-drive holiday to Iceland. Our trip would not have been the same without our trusty Suzuki Jimny booked through Northbound. Great little 4x4, straight forward process, great service from Northbound's Support Gurus. All in all, very happy with the experience. Look forward to using them again when we return.
rented a vehicle in August 2018
Submitted 16. Sep 2018
Excellent
A little bit of a wait at the airport for our rental but to be fair, a LOT of people arrived at once. They were very helpful and flexible when changes were needed for the rental.
rented a vehicle in August 2018
Submitted 12. Sep 2018
Outstanding!
The Jimny is a great vehicle to rent for two people. The back seats fold down and you can fit 4 luggages, no problem! Good for any road.
The Jimny we had developed mechanical issues shortly after we left Route 1. We contacted the emergency line, Vala answered and she had a driver deliver us another vehicle within the hour! An inconvenient circumstance, but Route 1 promptly resolved the issue and even upgraded us to a Duster for the inconvenience.
rented a vehicle in August 2018
Submitted 01. Sep 2018
Outstanding!
The car rental process was smooth, and the car was great, especially for the price!
rented a vehicle in August 2018
Submitted 12. Sep 2018
Good
Not good. Jimny too old, shaked on every bump. Battery week. Dashboard stopped functioning and needed repair. Also too small for our needs... my bad. But the jeep got us thru F208 road to Landmannaugur and 20 stream crossings. Wipers made too much noise. Radio was poor. For our last 8 days we traded it in for Suzuki Vittara 4-door which was great!
Jimney 2 out of 5. Vittara 5 out of 5. Thanks to all Geysir employees who were wonderful!
rented a vehicle in August 2018
Submitted 30. Jul 2018
Excellent
Check in and out process was easy everyone was friendly and helpful. Facility was nice. Car was average. It was clean. It did make some strange noises which had us a little worried along the way and tape on the tail lights for an unknown reason but overall fine for what we needed it for.
Thank you
rented a vehicle in July 2018
Submitted 27. Jul 2018
Excellent
Pick up and drop off was quick and easy. The car did have a strong odor inside (smelled like kerosine to me, though I'm not sure that's what it was) but it got us around.
rented a vehicle in July 2018
Submitted 27. Jul 2018
Excellent
Great experience and excellent customer service!
rented a vehicle in July 2018
Submitted 23. Jul 2018
Outstanding!
It was amazing I like every thing in Iceland
I'm very happy of car and the service of the company
Thanks a lot
Catherine

Envoyé de mon iPhone
rented a vehicle in July 2018
Submitted 17. Jul 2018
Outstanding!
Really good, the staff were very helpful and clear in their instructions for the car. The car was very good and clean, although the steering pulled to the right hand side, but that didn't take away from an amazing time.
rented a vehicle in July 2018
Submitted 05. Jul 2018
Outstanding!
Everything went perfectly once I fount the rental company at the airport. The signs to find "Route 1" were small and on a sheet with several other logos. The rental location was close, and they accommodated me when I needed to return the car before they even opened. The vehicle was great too!
rented a vehicle in June 2018
Submitted 19. Jun 2018
Outstanding!
I was very happy. The pick-up was timely, the check in short, the GPS essential. The car was a manual, not a problem for us but maybe for others. That might be made more clear. The driver was helpful and knowledgeable about our questions..
rented a vehicle in June 2018
Submitted 26. Jun 2018
Outstanding!
Our car rental experience with route 1 was excellent! Very smooth, great communication and customer service, pricing was the best we could find and the open hours were very convenient!
rented a vehicle in June 2018
Submitted 18. Jun 2018
Outstanding!
Great company. We drove the ring road and got gravel insurance. Returned car with some gravel damage and they didn’t hassle us at all about it. Honest company that didn’t feel like other companies we’ve used in the past where they try to take advantage of you. Would recommend to anyone renting a car in Iceland.
rented a vehicle in May 2018
Submitted 29. May 2018
It was fine overall. Check-in process took a lot longer than we thought it would, and we were lucky to be first in line! It was nice to have 4-wheel drive for a few roads, but overall the car was like a "tin can", the doors didn't shut well, defrost barely worked, and the car was very cheap for the expensive price. Would NOT rent this car again.
rented a vehicle in May 2018
Submitted 01. Mar 2018
Excellent
rented a vehicle in February 2018
Submitted 19. Feb 2018
Outstanding!
Service was great. Easy transportation, short wait, and our vehicle was ready to go when we arrived. The Suzuki Grand Vitara was clean and performed as advertised, which was hreatvwhen we ran into some harsh winter road conditions duringvour visit to Iceland. I would certainly rentvfrom Northbound again!
rented a vehicle in February 2018
Submitted 12. Feb 2018
Outstanding!
Everything happened as planned - the 4 wheel drive car was perfect for Iceland weather - car was clean and operated without incident - particularly liked the studded tires which i think are a must for Iceland. We were met at airport on time and the car was ready at the lot.
rented a vehicle in February 2018
Submitted 09. Feb 2018
Fine
Generally it was OK but there were some negative points:
1. Central locking by key fob was not working and reported to staff. They said it was too expensive to repair so we had to use the key. Main problem with this was the lock freezing so we always had to have a thermos of hot water available!!! Could have been a real problem if the first time it happened wasn't at our hotel.
2. Handover was very quick and staff did not go round the car to agree condition. We were left to inspect the car ourselves and advised to take our own photos, although they apparently had a set of photos. We were not shown them. There was no record of any existing damage provided.
3. The car was not handed over to us with any real advise or quick tour of the car operation, etc. We had to read the manual for example to locate the fuel lock release (initially thought this was an issue with the broken central locking).
4. No advise given on driving in Iceland apart from web site details for weather & road conditions.
rented a vehicle in February 2018
Submitted 08. Mar 2018
Outstanding!
All great, clean car, recommended! Everything was as described. Took out the full insurance, quick return.
rented a vehicle in January 2018
Submitted 22. Jan 2018
Outstanding!
rented a vehicle in January 2018
Submitted 08. Feb 2018
Excellent
Very good, very helpful and straight when we had our accident
rented a vehicle in January 2018
Submitted 17. Jan 2018
We didn’t have a Suzuki Grand Vitara. We ended up using a Toyota RAV4. When we arrived (after waiting at the airport for several hours) we had all the paperwork filled out and received the keys to our car which ended up being a manual when we wanted an automatic. We had to go back inside and wait for a new car to be made ready and a new contract to be drawn up. Seemed extremely disorganized and took a very long time. The car we ended up with was great and reliable but the service was not.
rented a vehicle in January 2018
Submitted 19. Jan 2018
Outstanding!
Straightforward pricing, no pushy upgrades. I actually had to ask about additional insurance instead of hearing a sales pitch. They picked us up at the hotel as well making it very convenient. No complaints at all.
rented a vehicle in January 2018
Submitted 29. Dec 2017
Outstanding!
Great!
rented a vehicle in December 2017
Submitted 24. Dec 2017
Excellent
Very good. Slight delay at airport for agent to pick us up to take us to car at nearby hotel. Nice touch doing the particulars in the comfort of a hotel instead of a busy arrivals area of an airport. Straightforward no messing. No dodgy arrangements. Thorough inspection of car and full tank. Very good experience. Car was reliable and fun. Pretty comfortable for the class and price. Make sure it’s full of screen wash.!!!! The roads are filthy with salt in winter.
rented a vehicle in December 2017
Submitted 16. Dec 2017
Outstanding!
Easy, quick and painless. Pick up was prompt and convenient. Staff were helpful and friendly.
rented a vehicle in December 2017