Reviews for Route 1

Our experience with Route 1 was fantastic. The vehicle was all by new, the staff were friendly and helpful, pick up and return super easy. The only one comment I have is that the Route 1 logo is NOT included on the shuttle bus sign from the airport terminal, so it's a little confusing (it's the 3rd stop), but other than that a great experience.

Blake from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2017 Toyota Land Cruiser

When I came to take my car, I found out that there is no more Route1 company, and company called Geysir bought them. It was reallly wired.

Raviv from Israel
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2017 Toyota RAV4

Lubica from Slovakia
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2017 Hyundai i10

View all cars from this company

Click here

Overall, our experience was good and I would use Route 1 again.

Alan from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

Except from the fact that the actual rental company I dealed with was called Geysir Car Rental and not Route 1 (never read this name anywhere) my experience was absolutely great. I read a lot of bad reviews and stories about car rental companies in Iceland and I am very happy that it all turned out so well! Thank you very much. I will definitely recommend you guys!

Niklas from Germany
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2012 Suzuki Jimny

A little bit of a wait at the airport for our rental but to be fair, a LOT of people arrived at once. They were very helpful and flexible when changes were needed for the rental.

Jean-Christophe from Canada
Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

Free Cancellation & Amendments

We had a pleasant overall experience with our car rental from Geysir during the recent trip to Iceland. Along with the car we also purchased additional driver insurance and portable wifi. The portable wifi charger didn't work the entire trip and we were not able to use the wifi on our trip. This caused us inconvenience and me and my wife had to use international data and pay additional money for that. When we returned the car we mentioned it to the car rental staff and she said she was not able to do anything. She told us to speak with the car rental company supervisor or Northbound where we initially booked the rental from.
Please look into this for me and we would like to get a refund on the portable wifi charges. Our rental Agreement # is 93950.

Nikhil from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Grand Vitara

Not good. Jimny too old, shaked on every bump. Battery week. Dashboard stopped functioning and needed repair. Also too small for our needs... my bad. But the jeep got us thru F208 road to Landmannaugur and 20 stream crossings. Wipers made too much noise. Radio was poor. For our last 8 days we traded it in for Suzuki Vittara 4-door which was great!
Jimney 2 out of 5. Vittara 5 out of 5. Thanks to all Geysir employees who were wonderful!

Arthur from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018 and rented a 2012 Suzuki Jimny

The Jimny is a great vehicle to rent for two people. The back seats fold down and you can fit 4 luggages, no problem! Good for any road.
The Jimny we had developed mechanical issues shortly after we left Route 1. We contacted the emergency line, Vala answered and she had a driver deliver us another vehicle within the hour! An inconvenient circumstance, but Route 1 promptly resolved the issue and even upgraded us to a Duster for the inconvenience.

Mike from Canada
Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018 and rented a 2012 Suzuki Jimny

The car rental process was smooth, and the car was great, especially for the price!

Shashank from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018 and rented a 2017 Hyundai i10

My wife and I have just finished an amazing fly-drive holiday to Iceland. Our trip would not have been the same without our trusty Suzuki Jimny booked through Northbound. Great little 4x4, straight forward process, great service from Northbound's Support Gurus. All in all, very happy with the experience. Look forward to using them again when we return.

Max from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018 and rented a 2012 Suzuki Jimny

Pick up and drop off was quick and easy. The car did have a strong odor inside (smelled like kerosine to me, though I'm not sure that's what it was) but it got us around.

Linda from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2018 and rented a 2017 Hyundai i10

Great experience and excellent customer service!

Francisco Javier from Mexico
Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2018 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Grand Vitara

Check in and out process was easy everyone was friendly and helpful. Facility was nice. Car was average. It was clean. It did make some strange noises which had us a little worried along the way and tape on the tail lights for an unknown reason but overall fine for what we needed it for.
Thank you

Carrie from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2018 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Grand Vitara

It was amazing I like every thing in Iceland
I'm very happy of car and the service of the company
Thanks a lot
Catherine

Envoyé de mon iPhone

Catherine from France
Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2018 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Grand Vitara

Really good, the staff were very helpful and clear in their instructions for the car. The car was very good and clean, although the steering pulled to the right hand side, but that didn't take away from an amazing time.

Henry from Australia
Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2018 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Grand Vitara

Free Cancellation & Amendments

Everything went perfectly once I fount the rental company at the airport. The signs to find "Route 1" were small and on a sheet with several other logos. The rental location was close, and they accommodated me when I needed to return the car before they even opened. The vehicle was great too!

CHRISTINE from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2018 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Grand Vitara

Our car rental experience with route 1 was excellent! Very smooth, great communication and customer service, pricing was the best we could find and the open hours were very convenient!

Allison from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2018 and rented a 2017 Hyundai i10

I was very happy. The pick-up was timely, the check in short, the GPS essential. The car was a manual, not a problem for us but maybe for others. That might be made more clear. The driver was helpful and knowledgeable about our questions..

David from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2018 and rented a 2017 Hyundai i10

Great company. We drove the ring road and got gravel insurance. Returned car with some gravel damage and they didn’t hassle us at all about it. Honest company that didn’t feel like other companies we’ve used in the past where they try to take advantage of you. Would recommend to anyone renting a car in Iceland.

Dale from United States
Traveled to Iceland in May 2018 and rented a 2017 Hyundai i10

It was fine overall. Check-in process took a lot longer than we thought it would, and we were lucky to be first in line! It was nice to have 4-wheel drive for a few roads, but overall the car was like a "tin can", the doors didn't shut well, defrost barely worked, and the car was very cheap for the expensive price. Would NOT rent this car again.

Robert from United States
Traveled to Iceland in May 2018 and rented a 2012 Suzuki Jimny

All great, clean car, recommended! Everything was as described. Took out the full insurance, quick return.

Gabor from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Jan 2018 and rented a 2012 Suzuki Jimny

Julian from Germany
Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2018 and rented a 2012 Suzuki Jimny

Service was great. Easy transportation, short wait, and our vehicle was ready to go when we arrived. The Suzuki Grand Vitara was clean and performed as advertised, which was hreatvwhen we ran into some harsh winter road conditions duringvour visit to Iceland. I would certainly rentvfrom Northbound again!

Jeanee from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2018 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Grand Vitara

View all cars from this company

Click here

Everything happened as planned - the 4 wheel drive car was perfect for Iceland weather - car was clean and operated without incident - particularly liked the studded tires which i think are a must for Iceland. We were met at airport on time and the car was ready at the lot.

Benjamin from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2018 and rented a 2012 Suzuki Jimny

Generally it was OK but there were some negative points:
1. Central locking by key fob was not working and reported to staff. They said it was too expensive to repair so we had to use the key. Main problem with this was the lock freezing so we always had to have a thermos of hot water available!!! Could have been a real problem if the first time it happened wasn't at our hotel.
2. Handover was very quick and staff did not go round the car to agree condition. We were left to inspect the car ourselves and advised to take our own photos, although they apparently had a set of photos. We were not shown them. There was no record of any existing damage provided.
3. The car was not handed over to us with any real advise or quick tour of the car operation, etc. We had to read the manual for example to locate the fuel lock release (initially thought this was an issue with the broken central locking)...

Laurence from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Feb 2018 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Grand Vitara

Very good, very helpful and straight when we had our accident

ORIANE from France
Traveled to Iceland in Jan 2018 and rented a 2012 Suzuki Jimny

Zdenko from Austria
Traveled to Iceland in Jan 2018 and rented a 2012 Suzuki Jimny

Straightforward pricing, no pushy upgrades. I actually had to ask about additional insurance instead of hearing a sales pitch. They picked us up at the hotel as well making it very convenient. No complaints at all.

zach from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Jan 2018 and rented a 2012 Suzuki Jimny

We didn’t have a Suzuki Grand Vitara. We ended up using a Toyota RAV4. When we arrived (after waiting at the airport for several hours) we had all the paperwork filled out and received the keys to our car which ended up being a manual when we wanted an automatic. We had to go back inside and wait for a new car to be made ready and a new contract to be drawn up. Seemed extremely disorganized and took a very long time. The car we ended up with was great and reliable but the service was not.

Sarah from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Jan 2018 and rented a 2015 Suzuki Grand Vitara