Reviews for Star Car Rental

Great experience with Star Car Rental! The camper was perfect! Very comfortable for sleeping and well equipped for cooking our meals! Very nice staff.. quick to answer questions we had before our trip ! We were picked up at the airport and dropped off at the end of our trip! I would recommend friends to rent from Star!

Francois from Canada
Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2019 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

Great car! No problems and it handled bumpy gravel roads very well!

Karmyn from United States
Traveled to Iceland in May 2019 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

V good ....never expected them to be so professional

John David from United Arab Emirates
Traveled to Iceland in May 2019 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

View all cars from this company

Click here

Great service! Initial reservation was easy and all questions were answered in detail. Staff pick up at airport and vehicle rental went smooth. Vehicle drop off and transport back to airport was without problems and super fast with very personable driver in a private vehicle. Dacia Dokker proved to be a reliable vehicle with very good gas mileage. Comfortable sleeping area with pillows and curtains to cover windows front and back. Plenty of supplies provided by Northbound; dishes, silverware, pots and pans, even toilet paper, paper towels, dishwashing liquid, sponge, and a camping stove to cook on. Two chairs, good size table. Everything was there! We rented a cooler box for food supplies. Sleeping area has separate heating system to keep you warm during cooler Iceland nights. Air vent in ceiling ensures fresh air exchange. Vehicle locks from the inside for security. We very much enjoyed our camping experience and will definitely use Northbound's services again!

Britta from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2019 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

Everything was smooth, no issues, professional, the vehicle performed flawlessly, and it was a great way to experience Iceland over 15 days. I would recommend Star Car Rental. I had the vehicle wi-fi option and had coverage on almost the whole island 24/7. The navigation in the car wasn't the greatest. I used my smart phone instead. A great feature on the car nav system was speed limit indicators, various warnings, and speed camera warnings.

MICHAEL from United States
Traveled to Iceland in May 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Star car rental provided an excellent service, meeting us at arrivals at Keflavik airport and returning us to airport at end of hire. Car was very good, almost unused and very clean. Documentation was quick and straightforward. Insurance cover as standard was good.

Andrew from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Free Cancellation & Amendments

Perfect! Amazing car and good services from Northbound. Flexible company.

Sven from Iceland
Traveled to Iceland in Jun 2019 and rented a 2015 Dacia Duster

It was OK. The only thing was the lack of heater, which I asked about several times and was told it was not needed. Night time was HORRIBLE, trembling and shivering all night long. Not feeling your feet and hands was not a good feeling at all.

Jorge from United States
Traveled to Iceland in May 2019 and rented a 2018 Toyota Proace Verso

We had a great experience with our camper van and would happily rent again. The van was brand new and in perfect condition. The pick-up and drop-off process were efficient.

Megan from United States
Traveled to Iceland in May 2019 and rented a 2019 Renault Kangoo Camper

Overall all was great.... the only problem we had was the USB connector in the van was loose and we had to put tape for it to charge our phones.

Jean-Karl from Canada
Traveled to Iceland in May 2019 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

Renting from Star Car Rental was an easy process. The Suzuki Jimney is a fine vehicle for 2 people, even if it is a bit small. However, the rear tires had very little tread left on them, and we had a flat tire in the middle of "nowhere", which took us a while to change, since the jack didn't lift up the vehicle high enough to put on the spare. After that we were very hesitant to go anywhere, in case the other side went flat, and we had no spare. Also, the wiper blades just smeared the water and dust across the windshield, making it difficult to see at times. The right one had the tip coming off the blade.

R. Deedee from United States
Traveled to Iceland in May 2019 and rented a 2016 Suzuki Jimny

Everything was great, the driver picked us up and dropped us off at the airport on time and the car was well maintained and easy to drive. I would use this company again no problem.

Genevieve from Canada
Traveled to Iceland in May 2019 and rented a 2016 Suzuki Jimny

Great price and solid vehicle. Would totally recommend to anyone who is traveling around Iceland. Best part is there wasn’t any silly whimsical graphics on the camper alerting everyone around you that you are a tourist! Will go with this company again when we return.

Chad from United States
Traveled to Iceland in May 2019 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

We had a brilliant trip to Iceland and the car hire worked perfectly

Stuart from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in May 2019 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

First class service from Star Rental, on arrival everything was so easy and efficient. We drove away in our campervan about 1.5hrs after hitting the runway. Camper had everything we needed and was super efficient on fuel. First class and an amazing way to see an awesome country!!

Andrew from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in May 2019 and rented a 2018 Toyota Proace Verso

Very good car. The nights were a little bit cold because there was no isolation, but we know us to help. Great service!! If some of my friends want to visit iceland, I will tell them about you rental service.

Philipp from Germany
Traveled to Iceland in May 2019 and rented a 2018 Toyota Proace Verso

Free Cancellation & Amendments

Overall had a very good experience, easy to deal with, easy pick up and drop off. Car itself was awesome, reliable, great on fuel and had all we needed. Thanks northbound and star car rental, would recommend

Ben from New Zealand
Traveled to Iceland in Apr 2019 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

Our experience with Northbound and Star Rental was perfect! This was our first trip to Iceland and having read good reviews on the internet about Northbound I chose them and selected a Dacia Dokker from Star Rental. We really could not have hoped for a better experience. They were quick to respond to my questions pre-trip, and everything went quickly and smoothly when we arrived. We found ourselves further from Reykjavik than we expected on the second to last day but they graciously extended our drop off time (at no extra charge!) and then helped us enormously in getting from their location to our AirBnB in Reykjavik. All in all, this was the best rental I have ever done and will definitely use them again when we return. Thanks!

Bruce from United States
Traveled to Iceland in May 2019 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

Everything was OK. Because of the well working autonomous heating , there was no need for extra sleeping bags in winter for us, blankets was fine.

Sandis from Latvia
Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

Honest deal, the car was in very good conditions, they gave us all the tips needed for our trip. The car didn't give us any problems and Star Car Rental was always quick to response.

Miguel from Portugal
Traveled to Iceland in Apr 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Everything with Star Car Rental was excellent. Awesome, friendly, and quick service. The car was top notch and handled great. We loved this rental company.

Autumn from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Apr 2019 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

Vanessa Therese from Malta
Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

simone from Italy
Traveled to Iceland in Dec 2018 and rented a 2018 Toyota Proace Verso

Great Car Rental Company with good prices and offering. Very easy, convenient and flexible pick-up and Return. Our Car were in a perfect condition and perfect for the extreme road and weather conditions we experienced in the North. Would book there definitely again.

Florian from Germany
Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

View all cars from this company

Click here

All was fine, very easy to pick up and to leave the car, even when our inward flight was early in the morning. Very convenient.

I don't put 5 stars because of 2 minors improvements that can be easily done (4.5 is not so bad tho) :
- The GPS wasn't updated since 2017 (2 years).
- A snow shovel should be a must in this country (we got stuck into a snowstorm, we manage to get out by clearing snow out with our shows) ;)

Thanks for the overall experience, Would definitely recommend 5/5.

Simon from France
Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

Very good service with easy going staff. A very good selection of cars. Everything ran smoothly with no problems. Always felt the support was there if needed.

Sasha from Croatia
Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a 2017 Land Rover Discovery Sport

All was perfect, clear, easy, beautiful. Thanks

Lucas from Belgium
Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

I had an excellent experience with Star. Gunnar was very helpful and accommodating when I needed to extend my rental. Everything went very smoothly, communication was perfect and I can’t think of anything that would have made our experience smoother. Thank you!

Kaden from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

Great service since we arrived at the airport. Everything was very well explained, from the vehicle thru the climate and weather of Iceland. The vehicles were on excellent conditions and great to drive on the weather and Iceland roads.

Thanks for the great service.

Isaias from Puerto Rico
Traveled to Iceland in Mar 2019 and rented a 2016 Toyota Land Cruiser

Well, we booked in large part because of the online customer service with Josef. He was just great and gave us an answer on everything that felt right, so we felt comfortable making the booking.

Michelle from Australia
Traveled to Iceland in May 2019 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper