Reviews for Star Car Rental

The van was brand new, I think it had less than 100 km on it! Pick up was convenient and turn around time was good, we hit the tarmac at 6:30 am, got our Van and hit the road by 9 am. The young guy who navigated us through the paperwork was helpful and gave us tips about what to expect with weather and road conditions. He gave us some good tips about the vehicle and Iceland in general too. The car was great on gas, especially for doing a lot of mountain and dirt road driving. The wifi was ESSENTIAL, it was usually fast and could handle 3 of us, service wasn't perfect but much better than expected. We hadn't planned much of our trip before arriving. It was easy to look things up on our phones as we drove. We used our phones for navigation as well. The sleeping bags we rented were also brand new, they were rated for -10, our coldest night was -6 and we were all comfortable. The bin with a pot, pan, plates, burner, cleaning supplies etc...

Matthew from Canada
Traveled to Iceland in May 2018 and rented a 2018 Toyota Proace Verso

All the exprience was fantastic. Dokker camper is a good way to move from iceland, it is easy and comfortable.

RAUL from Spain
Traveled to Iceland in Jul 2018 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

Great staff, van had everything we needed, built in heater worked amazing on cold nights
- would recommend this to my friends/family
Constructive feedback:
- wireless nova device stopped working but staff were very accommodating at helping solve issues
- would’ve liked more detailed instructions with van i.e. where horn is located, what to do if check engine light goes on (this happened)
- van drop off location was confusing, no signs outside location
- were still awaiting refund for nova device and charging cord we had to buy

Sasha from Canada
Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

Excellent service all the way around!!!! Will be my number one choice next time I visit Iceland!!!!! Thank you!!!

Julia from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018 and rented a 2018 Toyota Proace Verso

I would recommend Star Car Rental to others. Quick pick up, had everything in clean and working order and quick and easy drop off.

Mars from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

Smooth ride

Torrance Koon Ho from Hong Kong
Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

The car was terrific to drive and very comfortable to sleep in

Jeremy from Australia
Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

We rented campervan for 10 days in Iceland. Everything was smooth with the car and the company. The campervan was perfect and well equiped, staff helpfull and friendly. Totally recommend this company. Hihghest level of service

Robertas from Lithuania
Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

We received excellent service and had no problems at all. Pick up and drop off was quick and efficient. The guy that collected us from the airport was very informative and professional. He walked around the vehicle with us pointing out previous damage and answered any questions we had. I also emailed during our rental and received a quick response. The vehicle itself was great and the heater was a godsend. We don't have any complaints and would definitely hire from you again. Thank you for such a great service.

Luke from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

It was great! They picked us up at the airport even after 4-5hours of delay. The car was what we were expecting for: 4x4, confortable with winter tyres...Perfect!
The only inconvenience was that the wheel pressure was a bit low and we had to pump them after 10-20km. I guess it was because of the recent chage to winter tyres but no more problems.
They were on time to drop the car off as well.
Everything went brilliant!

MARIA from Spain
Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

We had such a great experience renting our van! Staff picked us up from the airport and were very friendly. The van was so clean and suited our needs perfectly. They had the best price and most inclusive insurance policy. I will definitely be renting from them again, as we will certainly be returning to beautiful Iceland!

Marissa from Canada
Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

Our experience was seamless. We were picked up from the airport and took a short 5 min drive to pick up our car. It was exactly what we booked a 2017 Suzuki Vitara, and it worked perfectly for our needs. Drop off was just as seamless. Would definitely recommend this company.

Brittany from Canada
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

Star Car Rental is a very customer-oriented company! Car rental as well as car return in the middle of the night (11:30 pm or 10:30 pm, respectively) was not a problem for them - a huge plus for those travelling with Germania. The car was in a great condition, heating was working quickly, the camping equipment was complete, neat and clean. Nice and friendly staff, too. Thank your very much for making our short trip possible!

Uta from Germany
Traveled to Iceland in Oct 2018 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

We didn't have any problem with the car, it worked absolutely Ok.
The reception and return was also right,

Raquel from Spain
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2017 Dacia Duster

Great

Fanny from France
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2018 Toyota Proace Verso

We were pretty satisfied with our rental. I emailed ahead of time to ask for a recommendation for a car that would fit our family of five and be comfortable at as low a cost as possible and the Hyundai i20 worked very well for that. Our only issues were that the person who was at the airport to pick us up did not bring a car large enough to transport our whole group to the Star Car Rental offices so my husband had to go with him while the rest of us waited at the airport. Also our wifi stopped working midway through our rental and we had a few days without it before it was working again due to the time lag between emails. The Star Rental Company did fix it however once we got our emails back and forth and the car was comfortable and performed well for us. We were able to return our car to the airport parking lot and leave the keys in the car without having to meet anyone for paperwork so that was very convenient...

Christy from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018 and rented a 2016 Hyundai i20

Generally, it was great. The car was small but perfect for two travelers, everything worked perfectly (meeting at the airport, getting the car, giving the car back and transport to the airport) and the car was in a good shape, we had no problem during our week on Iceland (about 1500 km, part of them on F-roads). Also, the Wi-fi provided worked well all the time. Maybe a small comment - it could be useful to provide USB reduction for feeding the Wi-fi and other devices directly in the car (we had our own). In general, I can recommend Jimny and the company to everyone who wants to have a small SUV and a good service for a reasonable price.

Petra from Czech Republic
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2016 Suzuki Jimny

Great trip with our Dacia Dokker Camper from Star Car Rental ! The car was great, perfect for our needs, and now we got wonderful memories of Iceland.

Celine from France
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

Great! The perfect budget-friendly way to adventure Iceland!
THE CAR: In all the Toyota van was awesome! The diesel engine was super efficient and made getting around the island very easy. The heater worked great, which is really helpful at night when temperatures can get really cold. It also had a pretty nice sound system which is great for road trip tunes! The car was immaculate at pick up. The bed was comfortable and spacious. The extra gear, like water tank, pots and pans, cutlery, etc. were very helpful in our travel. It would have been nice to have a lighter from the start to be able to use the propane stove. We had to buy one, but it was no big deal.
THE SERVICE:
Pros: Quick service. Whenever I had any questions I would get an email reply within minutes and it made everything way easier and way less stressful. Very friendly staff. Provided necessary information in the packet at the car pick up...

Raul from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2018 Toyota Proace Verso

Had a very good experience with Northbound Iceland and Star Car Rental. Someone was waiting to pick my husband and I up from the airport to take us to pick up the rental camper, and the whole process was quick with very little paperwork involved. MUCH easier than renting a car in the United States where you have to practically provide your blood type to rent as much as a Geo Metro. Returning the rental was simple, and we got a quick ride to the airport. The 2016 Dacia Dokker camper van was reliable and great on petrol. Any questions that I had prior to picking up our rental were answered very quickly through email, which was greatly appreciated. When in Iceland again, we will go with Northbound Iceland/Star Car Rental. Thank you for helping make our time in Iceland a memorable experience!

Mac from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

The experience has been totally satisfying. The picking up service worked perfect, the van was clean and provided with all items announced. Our trip was excellent.

Carlos from Spain
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

We had a very good experience with Northbound/ Star Car Rental. We had a Suzuki Jimny for 19 days and had no problems. The service was good and friendly. Would definitely recommend them.

Robert from Canada
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2016 Suzuki Jimny

Our initially booked Dacia Dokker was replaced (upgraded) with Toyota Proace, which was actually a very nice and well appreciated surprise. We had a great experience with this campervan in all aspects (driving and camping), it was very convenient and reliable vehicle. Also communication and organization wise, we are very thankful to the teams of Northbound and Star Car Rental! Based on this positive experience, it is quite probable to repeat the trip in next few years.

Atanas from Bulgaria
Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

We just returned from our first visit to Iceland. Northbound.is was very easy to use and helpful in meeting our needs when we needed to upgrade to a larger vehicle. We would definitely recommend Northbound.is to anyone traveling to Iceland.

Lyn from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2017 Suzuki Vitara

Simply outstanding! We could not have asked for more.
The service we received (before, during and after our trip) was second to none, the vehicle and equipment we rented exceeded our expectations. Everything about our trip to Iceland was perfect and Star rental was certainly part of that experience. This vehicle definitely met our needs. I would highly recommend this company and will use them again should we return to Iceland. Friendly and affordable! Note...if I were to do it again, I would rent a 4 wheel drive that could be taken on the F roads. If would have given us the freedom to see more of this incredible country!

Josephine from Canada
Traveled to Iceland in Aug 2018 and rented a 2018 Toyota Proace Verso

Excellent service from the staff, van was superb as were the items provided.

Wifi ran out one day but we called and it was immediately topped up.

Would definitely use again, thank you!

Alex from United Kingdom
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

Very pleasant and nice experience, can was great, it had everything we needed. Transaction went nice and smooth, we got hotel pick up and airport drop off. When we go back to Iceland we will definitely go with Northbound and Star Car Rental.

Vojimir from Serbia
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

Everything went smooth! The car was great and the contact with Star car rental was personal and professional. I wanted to change the rental dates by e-mail, the communication was super fast and helpfull. We definitely recommend star car rental!

Annick from Belgium
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

The rental was very easy. We were picked up within a few minutes of our arrival time, the drive was short to the rental, we paid and signed and were on the road very quickly. Our van was comfortable and very fuel efficient. Ammenities were as advertised. Drop-off very easy too. Perfect experience.

Marcie from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper

The van satisfied all of our needs and was very comfortable. We slept well every night and the van was excellent getting us to all the places we needed. My only complaint would be that the van had no cruise control which would've been very helpful with the slow speed limits in Iceland. Other than that we loved everything else.

Jacob from United States
Traveled to Iceland in Sep 2018 and rented a 2016 Dacia Dokker Camper