Reviews for Orange Car Rental in Iceland

The Best Rental Car Prices in Iceland

Reviews for Orange Car Rental
Submitted 28. Jul 2020
Outstanding!
The experience with Geysir Car Rental was amazing. Your empolyee Gunnar should get a promotion.
rented a vehicle in July 2020
Submitted 01. Sep 2019
Fine
This car is incredibly uncomfortable for a person who is 5' 1" in height. However, it was clean and functional with the exception of the wind damaged and repaired passenger door which did not function well.
Your staff seem unhappy with their jobs and don't seem to realize that they are representing Iceland to visitors. One went out of his way to give us advice on driving the Golden Circle which was great and appreciated. However, the one who received the car back ahould have greeted us nicely and given us a brief overview of the steps involved inthe returns process when we arrived. He really was not friendly at all.
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 02. Sep 2019
Excellent
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 02. Sep 2019
Good
Generally, all was good: the rental got us around Iceland over 2400 km. Some details, however, were irritating. The walk to the shuttle was a bother with all our luggage, in the rain. Other rentals had a representative and car available to the rental office. The actual rental office allowed for pushy renters to check in ahead of others. The standing desks and paperwork were uninviting. The agent could have helped us get to and find our car rather than vaguely saying where we’d find it. Tight, tight lot. Early on road problems ( leaking rear tire pressure required constant refilling; warning lights in German on a Japanese car; unrealistic solutions, like returning the car from far north). We managed on our own. Curt return, “Take everything out of the car and come back so we can go out and check the car for damage,”. Seemingly little problems, unresolved, left a sour taste and poor memories of an otherwise wonderful country. You are the first and last place to make an overall impression.
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 17. Aug 2019
Good
Loved the ease of the pick up.Great wee car for running about in.Nice and clean and easy to drive.
Perhaps a quick point to make,probably a good idea to call the customer if the car they are renting is still on the way back from the airport.My pick up was at 10am but the car did not arrive until 1030
No big deal but you did have my number and I would have just adjusted my schedule accordingly.
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 19. Aug 2019
Outstanding!
I am satisfied of the service and all the staff is very kind.
I will rent from northbound for sure in the future.
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 14. Aug 2019
Outstanding!
Service was great , car was clean and met our needs.
rented a vehicle in August 2019
Submitted 01. Aug 2019
Outstanding!
We ended up with a Suzuki swift. Worked out just fine for us
rented a vehicle in July 2019
Submitted 28. Jul 2019
Excellent
Great customer service, on time delivery and return, and reasonable prices although the car had cracked windshield that was concerning to us.
rented a vehicle in July 2019
Submitted 20. Jul 2019
Excellent
The car was great! The only improvement I’d suggest is programming GPS with a “home” location for the drop off location.
rented a vehicle in July 2019
Submitted 09. Jul 2019
We paid for GPS, but at the time of rental nobody gave it to us. Next day, we had to go to the company in Reykjavik to get it, and wasted a lot of time. Also, there were electrical problems with the car, but there weren't any other cars available.
rented a vehicle in July 2019
Submitted 16. Jun 2019
Did not got the promised car. Was a Suzuki Jimmy. Not really the same class as a Vitata. Would not recommend to anyone.
rented a vehicle in May 2019
Submitted 24. Mar 2019
Fine
The car was fine, but we had a very hard time finding the shuttle to Orange Car Rental and also the rental building itself because the company is now called Geysir and there are no Orange Car Rental signs anywhere. The phone number we were given to call was also wrong. I would recommend Northbound update their information for future renters to avoid this issue as it was quite frustrating.
rented a vehicle in March 2019
Submitted 25. Mar 2019
Outstanding!
We got a Ford Kuga (Upgrade) and it was great
rented a vehicle in March 2019
Submitted 16. Nov 2018
Outstanding!
It was a great trip, a great car, great views, and great people. We are all satisfied by the performance of the car, and also the customer service brought by Orange Car Rental.
rented a vehicle in October 2018
Submitted 26. Oct 2018
Outstanding!
Excellent.
rented a vehicle in October 2018
Submitted 13. Oct 2018
Outstanding!
We like the Ford Transit with automatic gear very roomy good enough for 9 passengers with luggage . Very good customer service . They satisfied our request for changing winter tires in Lake Myvatn .
rented a vehicle in October 2018
Submitted 04. Oct 2018
Hi,

overall the car was OK but I have to tell you that the people we met in the office were very arrogant and rude with us, specially at the beginning. Please fine below the details:

- The car didn't have a rear shelf, we complained about it. First they said this car never comes with a rear shelf. However we saw a few car with it. Then we told them about it and they took one from another car and gave it to us.
- The presure of the tyres was not the correct one (we got the light). They changed it after we came back and the message light about the pressure was ON during the whole trip.
- We tried to change the car because we didn't feel safe with these lights and also because we got a different car than the car booked - However they said it was not possible
- After a few kilometers another service light was ON, we thought it was because the car passed 20000km - Nobody said anything about it and we were scared about the whole trip.

Please let me know if you have further questions.

Best regards,
rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 26. Sep 2018
We were given a Dacia Duster and not the car advertised and i wouldnt say that it was a similar spec swap either knowing the cost diference and standards of the 2 cars
rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 30. Sep 2018
Outstanding!
They actually upgraded us up to a Dacia. Guess they ran out of Jimmys. Excellent service. No problem with the car.
rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 25. Sep 2018
Outstanding!
Great car. Enough space for all of our bags. Drove well and comfortable.
rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 24. Sep 2018
Outstanding!
Everything was fine!
rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 15. Sep 2018
Outstanding!
Good service provided by your staff and the car conditions are great. Keep it up
rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 18. Sep 2018
Outstanding!
Orange upgraded the car to Dusty and it eas wonderful. The car worked really well alk the time we were using it. The only problem we had was tires pressure were unbalanced on all 4 of them which was quite dangerous. Luckily we got them fixed by a petrol station assistant. The rental process was easy and returning the car was hassle free. I love hiw it was handled. Overall it was great
rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 26. Sep 2018
Outstanding!
Our overall experience was very positive and went pretty smoothly. Northbound did an excellent job of answering questions, following up quickly with responses, and assisting any needs we may have had. Upon arrival, the Orange/Geysir shuttle service was different than what was listed on the rental voucher, which caused some confusion and delay. We were instructed a representative would come and get us, while we ended up having to take the airport shuttle. Thankfully, Northbound responded quickly and we were able to get onto the correct shuttle and to the rental facility. The Orange/Geysir vehicle was sufficient for our needs, but definitely a bit more worn than we had hoped, which we did not fully realize until after we had left the rental facility. There were many more scratches, rock dings, and dents we had to have looked over and annotated by the representative before we left the facility. Their initial review of the vehicle annotated only a few of the dings and scratches. Upon leaving the facility, and getting used to the vehicle, we realized the tires were pretty worn, the wiper blades were quite worn, the emergency brake did not sufficiently hold the vehicle on hills, and the driver's seat adjustment mechanism was loose. We understood that this could easily be due to the conditions of the Icelandic roads and the environment the vehicles are driven through. The realized condition of the vehicle did not cause any issues, other than being more worn than we had expected from a rental vehicle and having to be careful when parking on a hill. The return process was pretty seamless. The representative commented how thorough we were about annotating the dings and dents before we left, and how there sure were a lot of them (they all were present on the vehicle before we accepted it and no new ones were put on while we were renting). Ultimately, we were happy with out experience with Northbound. The price was excellent, far cheaper than we could get anywhere else, the vehicle was sufficient for our needs and got us to all the beautiful locations we wanted to see and experience throughout Iceland. We absolutely loved our tour of the country and will highly recommend friends and family to visit Iceland. We will definitely point them towards Northbound for their vehicle rental needs, based on the price and customer service, but may suggest they try to find a company other than Orange/Geysir to ultimately secure the rental vehicle through.
rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 09. Oct 2018
Good
The pickup and return was extremely quick and easy. Only one noticed from the staff the disinterest. The car was already very damaged. But there were no problems with the car.
rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 14. Sep 2018
Outstanding!
Great car and customer service. It’s be great to have a tutorial on the key fob system, as it’s different than what we’re used to and took some figuring out.
rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 14. Sep 2018
Outstanding!
I miscalculated our arrival date - and booked the car for a day earlier than required. But this provided us with an upgrade to a bmw diesel which fit the 5 of us and our luggage well. It was also super for mileage. Our rental experience was very good, thank you.
rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 12. Sep 2018
Outstanding!
We used Northbound to rent a vehicle through Orange Car rental which has now been bought by Geysir car rental and everything went flawlessly. We received the best rate possible using Northbound and I was extremely happy with everything. I would highly recommend this company.
rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 02. Oct 2018
Outstanding!
Everything was just fine
rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 09. Sep 2018
Fine
The car was great but the check in process was a nightmare. It was severely understaffed and it took nearly two hour to get our car. I've never experienced that before.
rented a vehicle in September 2018
Submitted 22. Sep 2018
Good
Heated seats
rented a vehicle in August 2018
Submitted 25. Aug 2018
Good
I expect everything to be more professional as they forgot to hand in the GPS and check the tires.

Beside these, everything was good.
rented a vehicle in August 2018
Submitted 27. Aug 2018
We were "upgraded" to a BMW X-drive, which was delivered to Geysir at Harpa in Reykjavik 1 1/2 hours late. The car ran poorly. It has a drivetrain problem and acceleration is rough. At one point, I could not accelerate at all. But we had to keep the car because we were on a tight time schedule. Returning the car was chaotic. We went to the Keflavik office, which was closed, then to the airport office, which was hard to find. Good thing we had enough time before our flight. Orange never notified us of these changes.
rented a vehicle in August 2018
Submitted 25. Aug 2018
Fine
Your check in process needs to be revised to reduce 2 1/2 hours to 30 minutes or less. From the moment I took a ticket number when I entered your office to the minute we drove away with a car was 150 minutes. If I had not partially prepaid, I would have considered a nearby competitor.

After receiving the car, everything else was fine.
rented a vehicle in August 2018
Submitted 27. Aug 2018
Good
Long wait for the bus and long wait at reception, less service than traditional car rental companies but I suppose that is why the price was better. The car was OK although with lots of dents or scratches well registered at the beginning so that had no influence on our trip.
It is good if you focus on the price.
rented a vehicle in August 2018
Submitted 26. Aug 2018
Fine
OK
rented a vehicle in August 2018
Submitted 24. Aug 2018
Excellent
The car was great, and our pick up and drop off was easy. Thank you.
rented a vehicle in August 2018
Submitted 20. Aug 2018
Excellent
We were upgraded to a BMW suv. It was great!! My only slight negative with the experience was that we had a long wait when we arrived to pick up the car.
rented a vehicle in August 2018
Submitted 28. Aug 2018
Outstanding!
We got a Nissan X-trail instead of the Suzuki Grand Vitara we requested (same class, but slightly better car). Service at pickup was great, and the car as well during our whole journey. We travelled all around Iceland, 16 days and approximately 4700 Km, of which hundreds of Km on gravel roads. Everything went perfect. Car return at the airport was also fast, efficient and smooth.
rented a vehicle in August 2018
Submitted 14. Aug 2018
Very long lines and slow service to get a car. Got an older car than I had ordered, and initially accepted a small refund. Finally drove away in the car, only to discover it was not fit for the road. Dangerously worn brakes!! Drove back and waited more. "Suddenly" they were magically able to find my 2015 Jimny anyway. Why didn't they give it to me in the first place. Whole process took approx 2,5 hours of my valuable vacation. At least I got a car in the end, and it worked well. Drop-off was smooth.
rented a vehicle in August 2018
Submitted 27. Aug 2018
Good
The experience was good. One issue to take in consideration: the rear wheels were very worn. they did not meet the minimum security conditions in my opinion. If I had seen it at the time of check in I would not have picked up that car
rented a vehicle in August 2018
Submitted 20. Aug 2018
Good
Overall it was a good experience; however the car had some noise problems and this made me a little apprehensive during the trip.
But everything went well so I feel satisfied
rented a vehicle in August 2018
Submitted 18. Aug 2018
Good
Rental went well. No major problem. Only issue was the time we had to wait to pick up the car. Lots of people the day we picked it up and we had to wait 2h. But the system with numbers/tickets makes it go smoothly.
rented a vehicle in August 2018
Submitted 24. Aug 2018
Good
The car was okay but not in great condition. We doesn't have any problem during our trip. However, the check-in was difficult and the young guy who served us as a bad attitude and seems to don't wan't to help us.
rented a vehicle in August 2018
Submitted 08. Aug 2018
Outstanding!
Easy process to get and return the car. Staff members are very helpful. We ordered the manual by mistake, but were able to get even a better car automatically.
rented a vehicle in August 2018
Submitted 09. Aug 2018
Fine
Fair experience. Orange Car Rental has merged and become Geysir. The car worked well, but it was dirty when I picked it up and one of the electrical outlets did not work. I also had reserved two cars for my party, but one of the reservations was lost. Fortunately, they were able to resolve that issue quickly.
rented a vehicle in August 2018
Submitted 10. Aug 2018
Excellent
It was a very easy process after arriving at the airport. The shuttle bus to the car rental office was easy to locate and the staff were very friendly even at 12.30am in the morning which was much appreciated. The car was fantastic. Clean and in excellent condition and absolutely no trouble for our 3 day hire period. Drop off was also exceptionally easy. We were very happy with this rental company. The only areas to mention for concern are the car was very heavy on fuel, which we knew before renting and also the car rental was not cheap for 3 days. Again we did know these facts. Thank you for everything.
rented a vehicle in August 2018
Submitted 08. Aug 2018
Excellent
Orange car rental had good prices and packages to go along with the vehicle. The Suzuki Jimny was a great vehicle but was in need of some maintenance. The tires were pretty worn and there was some cosmetic damages that needed fixed. However the car did well on our trip and we had no mechanical issues.
rented a vehicle in July 2018
Submitted 10. Aug 2018
Outstanding!
In the place wasn't the same car as we want to rent, but they found another car in few min, they were kind, nice and very helpful!
rented a vehicle in July 2018